DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 42-49 are pending as of the allowance dated 5/5/26; the withdrawn claims being cancelled by an examiner amendment. Prosecution is reopened to address new references cited by the applicant in an IDS on 8/4/26 with the submission of an RCE.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 42 and 47 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 42: the range limitation, “range in size from 2.1825 nm to
2.3589 nm ± 5%” is indefinite. The range and then the variation of ± 5% (another range) together make a range within a range situation. In addition, the application of the variation of ± 5% is unclear whether it is only for the high end of the range or for both ends.
Claim 47: lack of antecedent basis for titanium dioxide nanocrystals – dependency.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 44 and 45 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. under 35 U.S.C. 103 as unpatentable over Bellam et al “Influence of synthesis temperature on morphology of SBA-16 mesoporous materials with a three-dimensional pore system,” 2010, Microporous and Mesoporous Materials, (129), 106-111. http://dx.doi.org/10.1016/i.micromeso.2009.09.004 (submitted by applicant in the IDS of 8/4/26.
Bellam teaches making said spherical microspheres in exact same steps as claimed in claim 45, except for the 220C. However, Bellam teaches the temperature range from 1, 10, 15, 20, 25, 30 and 40°C, and is a study on the effect of temperature. Therefore, choosing the 22C would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to obtain specific particle size as desired, using the teaching of Bellam. See 2.1: Synthesis.
Claims 42-46 and 48-49 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as unpatentable over Haraguchi et al, “Fabrication and optical characterization of a TiO2 thin film on a silica microsphere”, Surface Science 548 (2004) 59–66, in view of Bellam as applied in rejection 1, and further evidence from Bader et al (US 5,196,267).
Claims 45, 46 and 49: Haraguchi teaches (2. Experiment) coating mesoporous (pore size in fig 2b appears to fall in mesoporous range – see the scale factor on the fig.) silica microspheres (section 3) with titania sol in ethanol and hydroxypropyl (a structuring agent?) (fig 1), and then sintering it at temperature 400º C or 600º C for anatase structure for 20 min. See the left column on page 61 and results and discussions, left column on page 62. The crystals of titania are nanocrystals – see the SEMs in fig. 2. Regarding the sintering temperature of 450º C for sufficient time, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to optimize these conditions to obtain the best results while saving time and cost. Optimizing time and temperature in chemical reactions is well-known and routinely practiced.
Regarding the process of coating, the titanium dioxide nanocrystals are formed in a solution in ethanol, and the microspheres are soaked in it for several hours. Haniguchi is silent on the process of making the SBA-16 microspheres as in claim 45, but Bellam teaches this as shown in rejection 1. Bellam also teaches controlling temperature and soaking time (aging) to 7 days for controlling the morphology. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the teaching of Bellam in the teaching of Haniguchi for effecting such controls.
Titanium isopropoxide- Haraguchi uses titanium tetraethoxide, but the isopropoxide would have been only an obvious equivalent – see evidence of that in Bader, table D.
Anatase phase – see sintering temperature of 400º or 600º C for anatase.
Claims 42, 48: mean pore diameters and surface areas are inherent – the combined references teach the same process of making.
Claim 43: pores not substantially blocked is inherent – same or similar process.
Claim 47 is not rejected under prior art, since making the titanium isopropoxide in argon atmosphere is not taught by the references.
Response to Arguments
Applicant submitted no arguments with this RCE filing.
Conclusion
This reopening of the prosecution and applying a new rejection was necessitated by applicant’s filing of the IDS with new references not found in the earlier prosecution.
/KRISHNAN S MENON/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1771