DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 33-37 and 41-44 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 33 recited “a square lattice porous structure.” For support of this element, applicant cites figures 8(a) and (b) and 9(a) and 9(b). Figure 8(a) and (b) show only pore shapes, which is not a lattice (a lattice is a pattern.) Figures 9(a) and (b) are unreadable in the disclosure.
Claims 33-37 and 41-44 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
The term “square lattice porous structure” has no support in the original disclosure. Applicant cited figures 8(a) and (b) as supporting this structure in the argument, with SEM photos, but these figures do not describe a lattice, but just pores; and the pores are not square shaped as argued. 8(a) appears to be a “D” shape. 8(b) shows an incomplete pore, with one corner, highlighted, having a square corner, but that wouldn’t make the entire pore square. There are several other pictures showing pores and none are square. Applicant also cites figures 9(a) and (b) as showing square lattice, (mislabeled 1(a) and (b)?) However, since these pictures are not in the original disclosure, unless stipulated with supporting evidence, they are new matter. Original figures 9(a) and (b) are not clear. Page 30 only describes “an ordered structure.’
Also, “a period of time sufficient to form nanocrystals” appears new matter. Support is only for “an hour.”
Claim 42: while the range of pore diameter claimed can be verified by the three data points in page 33 of the disclosure, there is no support for the +/- 5% variation claimed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 33-36, 41 and 43-44 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as unpatentable over Haraguchi et al, “Fabrication and optical characterization of a TiO2 thin film on a silica microsphere”, Surface Science 548 (2004) 59–66, in view of Sun et al, Mesostructured SBA-16 with excellent hydrothermal, thermal and mechanical
stabilities: Modified synthesis and its catalytic application, Journal of Colloid and Interface Science 333 (2009) 317–323, and further evidence from Bader et al (US 5,196,267).
Haraguchi teaches coating mesoporous (pore size in fig 2b appears to fall in mesoporous range – see the scale factor on the fig.) silica microspheres (section 3) with titania sol in ethanol and hydroxypropyl (a structuring agent?) (fig 1), and then sintering it at temperature 400 C, or 600 C for anatase structure for 20 min. See left col. On page 61 and results and discussions, left column on page 62. The crystals of titania are nanocrystals – see the SEMs in fig. 2. Regarding the sintering temperature of 450 C for sufficient time, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to optimize these conditions to obtain the best results and saving time and cost. Optimizing time and temperature in chemical reactions is well-known and routinely practiced.
Titanium isopropoxide- Haraguchi uses titanium tetraethoxide, but the isopropoxide would have been only an obvious equivalent – see evidence of that in Bader, table D.
Anatase phase – see sintering temperature of 400 or 600 C for anatase.
Claim 43: pores not substantially blocked is inherent – same or similar process.
Haraguchi does not teach the synthesis of mesoporous silica microspheres and is silent whether it has “square lattice structure”. Nonetheless, Fig. 2b of Haraguchi shows the surface of the silica microspheres as porous and the pore sizes visible are in the very low nm, mesoporous, range (see the scale factor). Haraguchi also describes the surface structure as porous under the second paragraph under section 3, results and discussions, and also the TiO2 as being nanoparticles (akin to applicant’s argument that a pore is a small opening on the surface.)
Sun teaches synthesizing the mesoporous silica microspheres and specifically the advantages of using F127 surfactant. See the abstract. Sun teaches that the SBA-16 has excellent hydrothermal, thermal and mechanical properties. They form microspheres with 3-D cubic arrangements of pores (would be a square lattice in 2-D). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to use the teaching of Sun in the teaching of Haraguchi to have SBA-16 or similar supports for their improved properties.
Dependent claims 39-41 are also obvious from the teaching of Haraguchi in view of Sun. Sun teaches pluronic F127 as template, has the lattice structure (figures; Id.)
Response to Arguments
Arguments are either addressed in the rejection of are moot – new grounds for rejection.
Conclusion
/KRISHNAN S MENON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1777 heck the