DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-3, 5-6, 8-10, 12-13, 15-18, 20-21, 23-25, 27, 28, 30-34, 35-38 are subject to examination. Claims 4, 7, 14, 22, 29, 11, 19, 26 are cancelled.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-6, 8-13, 15-21, 23-28, 30-34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Further claim 1 contains: “determining that universal integrated circuit card (UICC) of the UE comprises initial subscriber information”, “determining that one or more elementary files associated with generation of a subscription concealed identifier (SUCI) to use to establish a secure connection with a 5G new radio (NR) based network are not available”
Rather, figure 4 contains following:
Contrary to what is claimed, specification contains:
[0035] In an operational aspect, a UE 104 may use information, such as but not limited to, a protection scheme identifier (e.g., ECIES A, ECIES B, Proprietary, etc.), a Home Network (HN) public key, a routing indicator (RI) to assist with enabling access to services (e.g., 5G NR based services). Such information may be stored in memory such as a Secure File System (SFS), etc. Further, in the operational aspect, where a card (e.g., UICC) associated with the UE 104 is a pre-5G based card, concealed identifier component 198 may prompt the UE 104 to read the information (e.g., protection scheme, HN public key, RI, etc.) from the memory (e.g., Secure File System, software, etc.). Additionally, or in an alternative operational aspect, where a card (e.g., UICC) associated with the UE 104 is 5G based card, concealed identifier component 198 may prompt the UE 104 to read parameters from elementary files (e.g., EF-Suci_Calc_Info, EF-RI, etc.) based on service availability in the 5G based card. If the 5G based card supports SUCI calculation, then a GET_IDENTITY request may be sent to the 5G based card to obtain the SUCI. In an aspect, the SUCI may be used for a registration procedure to camp on a 5G NR based network, thereby allowing access to 5G NR services.
[0055] UE 402 may include pre-5G identifier card component 420 and/or, in an optional aspect, 5G identifier card component 440 which may enable UE 402 to access services from a RAT (e.g., 5G NR based RAT) while using a concealed identifier (e.g., SUCT).
[0055] UE 402 may include pre-5G identifier card component 420 and/or, in an optional aspect, 5G identifier card component 440 which may enable UE 402 to access services from a RAT (e.g., 5G NR based RAT) while using a concealed identifier (e.g., SUCT). In an aspect, pre-5G identifier card component 420 may include information, such as but not limited to, SUCI calculation information 422, routing indicator 428, and IMSI based information 430. In an aspect, SUCI calculation information 422 may include EFs used by UE 402 for support of subscribe identity privacy. For example, SUCI calculation information 422 may include parameters such as, but not limited to, a Protection Scheme Identifier 424, Home Network Public Key 426, etc., which may be used in calculating the SUCI. Further, routing indicator 428 may be obtained from an EF (e.g., EF-RI). As it is described in further depth with reference to FIGs. 5 and 6, routing indicator 428, and IMSI based information 430 may also be used by pre- 5G identifier card component 420 in calculating the SUCI. IMSI based information 430 may include values, such as but not limited to, mobile country codes (MCC), Mobile Network Code (MNC), mobile subscription identification number (MSIN), etc. In an operational aspect, pre-5G identifier card component 420 may calculate a SUCI based on Protection Scheme Identifier 424 and Home Network Public Key 426 from SUCI calculation information 422, routing indicator 428, and MCC, MNC, and MSIN from IMSI based information 430.
[0056] As noted above, in an optional aspect, UE 402 may include 5G identifier card component 440 which may include elementary files (EFs) 432. In an aspect, EFs 432 may be defined in a service table. For example, the service table and EFs may be EFust (USIM Service Table) Service Numbers 124 (Service n°124) and/or 125 (Service n°125) as defined in 3GPP TS 31.102 Section 4.2.8 Release 15. Service 124 indicates whether Subscriber Identity Privacy Support is available, and Service 125.
Hence, the specification does not support, first to:
The step, generating the SUCI to use to establish the secure connection with the 5G NR based network based on the additional subscriber information along with the initial subscriber information, is not implemented by the specification.
Contrary to the claimed “initial subscriber information” with different/separate claimed elementary file, following is supported:
In short, the specification fails to support following “combination” of limitations in the following claimed “sequence”:
Further claims 31-34 contain, “at least”, which includes in addition to the UICC, different/other UICCs than the claimed UICC, which is not supported by the specification.
Claims 9, 12, 13, 16, 20, 21, 24, 27, 28 are subject to same rejections as the claims 1, 5, 6.
First:
determining that universal integrated circuit card (UICC) of the UE comprises initial subscriber information
Note: the outcome of this step remains same: Any UICC merely stores the claimed information.
Second:
determining that one or more elementary files associated with generation of a subscription concealed identifier (SUCI) to use to establish a secure connection with a 5G new radio (NR) based network are not available
Note: As claimed some/other one or more elementary files part of another UICC etc.. is not available
Third:
obtaining additional subscriber information from a secure file system (SFS) of the UE, “separate” from the UICC, wherein the additional subscriber information comprises a protection scheme identifier, a home network key identifier, a home network public key, a routing indicator, or any combination thereof
Note: “secure file system” is not limited to part of UICC of first step and also not part of for example, “for the elementary files”.
Meaning not limited to two UICCs/(storage), but three different UICCs/(storage)
fourth
generating the SUCI, based at least in part on the additional subscriber information and the initial subscriber information, to use to establish the secure connection with the 5G NR based network;
Meaning “the elementary file” is not limited to part of UICC of first step/(storage of ), and also not part of the secure file system
and establishing the secure connection with the 5G NR based network based on the SUCI.
Similar to claim 1, claims 9, 16, 24 contain combination of steps, along with using not limited to two, storages, as claimed, and the claimed sequence of steps is not implemented in the specification/figures.
The specification does not support “to use to”. which can be replaced with “to”
“obtaining, based at least in part on determining that the one or more elementary files are not available” is also not supported by the specification. It includes “obtaining, based at least in part on not determining that the one or more elementary files are not available, as what all is included in the “at least” in not defined in the specification.
Claims 9, 16, 24 contain similar claimed subject matter and hence subject to the same rejections.
Claims 2-6, 8, 10-13, 15, 17-23, 25-28, 30-34 are dependent claims of claims 1, 9, 16, 24 and hence subject to same rejections.
Claim Limitation Interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or
pre-AIA 35 USC § 112, Sixth Paragraph
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “means for determining”, “means for obtaining”, “means for generating”, “means for establishing”, “means for using”, “means for failing”, in the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 9, 16, 24, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakarmi et al., 10631161 in view of Yang et al., 20170171742 and Sharp et al., 20140143826.
Referring to claim 1, 9, 16, 24, Nakarmi substantially discloses a method of wireless communications, by a user equipment (UE), an apparatus for wireless communication, comprising, by a user equipment (UE), comprising: an apparatus for wireless communication, comprising: a universal integrated circuit card (UICC); a secure memory; and at least one processor coupled to the secure memory and UICC and configured to: a computer-readable medium storing computer executable code, the code when executed by a processor cause the processor to: (abstract): determining that a universal integrated circuit card (UICC) of the UE comprises initial subscriber information (
(16) when the SUCI-Calculation-Indicator is changed to a value indicating that the SUCI should be calculated in the USIM from a value indicating that the SUCI should be calculated in the ME (17) when a SUCI-Calculation-Indicator is set to a value indicating that the SUCI should be calculated in the USIM, deleting any locally stored information required for calculation of the SUCI. (21) some solutions ensure that the HN has effective control of which part of the UE, i.e., USIM or ME, calculates the SUCI. Additionally, some solutions enable the HN to be aware of which part of the UE, i.e., USIM or ME, the SUCI calculation is performed in. Consequently, the HN gets confidence on the effectiveness of the better privacy that it is offering to its users. Further, some solutions ensure that SUCI is not unintentionally calculated in an erroneous part of the UE, col., 3, lines 45-56
Note: the one-time identifier is a Subscribed Unique Concealed Identifier (SUCI); and the permanent identifier is a Subscriber Unique Permanent Identifier (SUPI), encrypted SUPI = SUCI
wherein the additional subscriber information comprises a protection scheme identifier, a home network key identifier, a home network public key, a routing indicator, or any combination thereof;
(113) Thus, the method may comprise providing to the ME information required for calculation of the SUCI only when the SUCI-Calculation-Indicator is set to a value indicating that the SUCI should be calculated in the ME. More specifically, the method may comprise, in response to a request from the ME for information required for calculation of the SUCI, providing said information to the ME. The method may further comprise, in response to said request from the ME, returning said value of the SUCI-Calculation-Indicator to the ME. (114) As described above with reference to FIG. 5, the method may comprise, when a SUCI-Calculation-Indicator is set to a value indicating that the SUCI should be calculated in the ME, in response to a request from the ME for the SUCI, rejecting said request. In addition, the method may further comprise, in response to said request from the ME for the SUCI, returning the information required for calculation of the SUCI to the ME. In addition, the method may further comprise, in response to said request from the ME for the SUCI, returning said value of the SUCI-Calculation-Indicator to the ME. (115) The information required for calculation of the SUCI may comprise a public key of the Home Network, HN, or may comprise information identifying an encryption scheme that is to be used in the calculation of the SUCI, col., 24, lines 36-56
generating SUCI based at least in part on the additional subscriber information and the initial subscriber information to use to establish the secure connection with the 5G NR based network and establishing the secure connection with the 5G NR based network based on the SUCI.
(4) The calculation of SUCI means the UE encrypting the SUPI. This is done before the SUCI is transferred over-the-air between the UE and the 5G network. The encryption is of asymmetric type and uses the HN's public key (denoted HN public key). The HN makes the HN public key available to the UE. There could be multiple ways of doing the asymmetric encryption of the SUPI for calculating the SUCI, these ways denoted as encryption schemes, col., 2, lines 8-11
determining that elementary file, associated with generation of a subscription concealed identifier (SUCI) to use to establish a secure connection with a 5G new radio (NR) based network, is not available; obtaining, based on determining that the elementary file is not available, additional subscriber information from a storage,
To use a particular 5G network offered by a particular MNO, users are required to have a sort of contractual relationship with that MNO, that relationship being generally called the subscription. In cases when the user lacks a subscription to some particular MNO (e.g., in a so-called roaming scenario), the relationship is achieved by roaming agreements between the MNO where the user has a subscription, i.e., the user's Home Network (HN) and the MNO that the user is being served, i.e., the Visited Network (VN). Each subscription in a MNO's 5G network is identified by a unique long-term identifier called the Subscription Permanent Identifier (SUPI). Users wirelessly access a 5G network over-the-air using wireless device known as User Equipment (UE). Before providing any service, a 5G network needs to identify a user, i.e., the user's subscription, behind a UE. For this purpose of identification, UEs in earlier generation of mobile networks (4G, 3G, and 2G) used to send users' unique long-term identifier over-the-air. This was considered a privacy issue because users could be tracked or identified by any unauthorized entity capable of intercepting message or acting as man-in-the-middle over-the-air. However, in a 5G network, its MNO has an ability to offer better privacy to its users so that their unique long-term identifiers (i.e., SUPIs) are not visible over-the-air. That ability comes from a mechanism in which UEs, instead of sending SUPIs, calculate and send concealed identifiers over-the-air, which is called the Subscription Concealed Identifier (SUCI). The MNO makes available to UEs all information that are necessary for the calculation of SUCI, col., 1, lines 40-55.
Nakarmi does not specifically mention, which Yang discloses determining EF is available or not and performing action based on the determination (determining whether corresponding EF is available or not for further processing, para 31).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention disclosed by Nakarmi to implement these limitations and also one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because it could provide utilizing well-known accessing a file. When there is no corresponding elementary file then a connection associated with the corresponding elementary file would not be possible. Setting up a connection using an alternative way would enable establishing a connection even when the file is not available, para 31.
Nakarmi and Yang does not specifically mention, which Sharp discloses secure file system (SFS) of the UE, separate from the UICC (determining whether corresponding EF is available or not for further processing, secure file system, para 58, 47).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention disclosed by Nakarmi to implement these limitations and also one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because it could provide utilizing well-known use of SFS and UICC. Storing the elementary file separately means storing at remote place as compared to the UICC. Sharp discloses that different/plurality of UICCs, eUICCs, SIMS, eSIMs can be used where the elementary file can be store separately than the information. Regardless of where the elementary file is stored, it would be available for use. Hence, the storing and retaining of the data would be provided at remote place by using the SFS, with increased security, para 47, 58.
Claims 1, 9, 16, 24, 31-34, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kwok et al., 10419922 in view of Yang et al., 20170171742 and Sharp et al., 20140143826.
Referring to claim 1, 9, 16, 24, Kwok substantially discloses a method of wireless communications, by a user equipment (UE), an apparatus for wireless communication, comprising, by a user equipment (UE), comprising: an apparatus for wireless communication, comprising: a universal integrated circuit card (UICC); a secure memory; and at least one processor coupled to the secure memory and UICC and configured to: a computer-readable medium storing computer executable code, the code when executed by a processor cause the processor to: (abstract): determining that a universal integrated circuit card (UICC) of the UE comprises initial subscriber information (
Note: the one-time identifier is a Subscribed Unique Concealed Identifier (SUCI); and the permanent identifier is a Subscriber Unique Permanent Identifier (SUPI), encrypted SUPI = SUCI
(34) An action 204 comprises determining whether the device 102 is connecting to a 5G network or to a different, legacy network. If the device is connecting to a legacy network other than a 5G network, or to any network that does not support concealed subscriber identifiers, an action 206 is performed of obtaining the unconcealed subscriber identifier 118 from the SIM 104 that is currently installed in the device 102 (i.e., the SIM 104(a) or 104(b)). (35) An action 210 is performed if the device 102 is connecting to a 5G network or other network that supports concealment of subscriber identifiers. The action 210 comprises determining whether the concealed subscriber identifier 120 is available from the SIM 104. In the 5G environment, this may comprise reading the Universal SIM Service Table (UF-UST) of the SIM 104, which indicates the services supported by the SIM 104. In particular, the action 212 comprises determining that both of services nº 124 and nº 125 are available. The availability of service nº 124 indicates that SUCI identifier privacy is supported. The availability of service nº 125 indicates that the SIM 104 itself is capable of calculating and providing the SUCI, col., lines 36-48
wherein the additional subscriber information comprises a protection scheme identifier, a home network key identifier, a home network public key, a routing indicator, or any combination thereof;
(36) If the concealed subscriber identifier 120 is available from the SIM 104, an action 212 is performed of obtaining the concealed subscriber identifier 120 from the SIM 104.
(37) If the concealed subscriber identifier 120 is not available from the SIM 104, an action 216 is performed of determining whether the home network key 116, for encrypting the unconcealed subscriber identifier 118, is available from the SIM 104. This action may comprise determining whether the SIM 104 specifies that the nº 125 service is available. If the nº 125 service is available, the SIM 104 is capable of calculating the concealed subscriber identifier. If the nº 125 service is unavailable, the SIM 104 is not capable of calculating the concealed subscriber identifier.
(38) If the home network key 116 is available from the SIM 104 (i.e., service nº 125 is available), an action 218 is performed of obtaining the home network key 116 (referred to as KPUB in FIG. 2) and the unconcealed subscriber identifier 118 from the SIM 104. These parameters are stored by the SIM 104 in an elementary file (EF) and are referred to as Subscription Concealed Identifier Calculation Information. (SUCI_Calc_Info).
(39) An action 220 is then performed of encrypting the unconcealed subscriber identifier 118 using the home network key 116 to generate the concealed subscriber identifier 120.
(40) If no home network key is available from the SIM 104 (service nº 125 is not available), an action 224 is performed of determining whether the home network key 114 of the home network specified by the currently installed SIM is stored in the memory 110 of the device 102. This is the case in FIG. 1A. In FIG. 1B, the home network key 114 is not the home key of the SIM-specified home network. Col., 6, lines 1-38
(41) If the home network key of the SIM-specified home network is stored by and available from the device 102, an action 226 is performed of obtaining the home network key 114 from the memory 110 of the device 102 and obtaining an unconcealed subscriber identifier 118 from the SIM 104. The action 220 is then performed, comprising encrypting the unconcealed subscriber identifier 118 using the home network key 114 to generate the concealed subscriber identifier 120. The action 222 is then performed of sending the concealed subscriber identifier 120 to the network 112 for registration and authentication with the home network specified by the SIM 104. (42) If the home network key of the SIM-specified home network is not stored by and available from the device 102, an action 228 is performed of obtaining the unconcealed subscriber identifier 118 from the SIM 104. The action 230 is then performed, comprising sending the unconcealed subscriber identifier 118 to the network 112 for authentication col., 6, lines 45-55
generating the SUPI, based at least in part on the additional subscriber information and the initial subscriber information to use to establish the secure connection with the 5G NR based network and establishing the secure connection with the 5G NR based network based on the SUCI.
(36) If the concealed subscriber identifier 120 is available from the SIM 104, an action 212 is performed of obtaining the concealed subscriber identifier 120 from the SIM 104.
(37) If the concealed subscriber identifier 120 is not available from the SIM 104, an action 216 is performed of determining whether the home network key 116, for encrypting the unconcealed subscriber identifier 118, is available from the SIM 104. This action may comprise determining whether the SIM 104 specifies that the nº 125 service is available. If the nº 125 service is available, the SIM 104 is capable of calculating the concealed subscriber identifier. If the nº 125 service is unavailable, the SIM 104 is not capable of calculating the concealed subscriber identifier.
(38) If the home network key 116 is available from the SIM 104 (i.e., service nº 125 is available), an action 218 is performed of obtaining the home network key 116 (referred to as KPUB in FIG. 2) and the unconcealed subscriber identifier 118 from the SIM 104. These parameters are stored by the SIM 104 in an elementary file (EF) and are referred to as Subscription Concealed Identifier Calculation Information. (SUCI_Calc_Info).
(39) An action 220 is then performed of encrypting the unconcealed subscriber identifier 118 using the home network key 116 to generate the concealed subscriber identifier 120.
(40) If no home network key is available from the SIM 104 (service nº 125 is not available), an action 224 is performed of determining whether the home network key 114 of the home network specified by the currently installed SIM is stored in the memory 110 of the device 102. This is the case in FIG. 1A. In FIG. 1B, the home network key 114 is not the home key of the SIM-specified home network.
(41) If the home network key of the SIM-specified home network is stored by and available from the device 102, an action 226 is performed of obtaining the home network key 114 from the memory 110 of the device 102 and obtaining an unconcealed subscriber identifier 118 from the SIM 104. The action 220 is then performed, comprising encrypting the unconcealed subscriber identifier 118 using the home network key 114 to generate the concealed subscriber identifier 120. The action 222 is then performed of sending the concealed subscriber identifier 120 to the network 112 for registration and authentication with the home network specified by the SIM 104.
(42) If the home network key of the SIM-specified home network is not stored by and available from the device 102, an action 228 is performed of obtaining the unconcealed subscriber identifier 118 from the SIM 104. The action 230 is then performed, comprising sending the unconcealed subscriber identifier 118 to the network 112 for authentication. col., 6, lines 1-55
Kwok does not specifically mention, which Yang discloses determining EF is available or not and performing action based on the determination (determining whether corresponding EF is available or not for further processing, para 31).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention disclosed by Kwok to implement these limitations and also one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because it could provide utilizing well-known accessing a file. When there is no corresponding elementary file then a connection associated with the corresponding elementary file would not be possible. Setting up a connection using an alternative way would enable establishing a connection even when the file is not available, para 31.
Kwok and Yang does not specifically mention, which Sharp discloses secure file system (SFS) of the UE, separate from the UICC (determining whether corresponding EF is available or not for further processing, para 58, 47).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention disclosed by Kwok to implement these limitations and also one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because it could provide utilizing well-known use of SFS and UICC. Storing the elementary file separately means storing at remote place as compared to the UICC. Sharp discloses that different/plurality of UICCs, eUICCs, SIMS, eSIMs can be used where the elementary file can be store separately than the information. Regardless of where the elementary file is stored, it would be available for use. Hence, the storing and retaining of the data would be provided at remote place by using the SFS, with increased security, para 47, 58.
Claims 31-34, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakarmi in view of Yang, Sharp, and Kwok et al., 10419922.
Referring to claim 31-34, Nakarmi, Yang, Sharp do not disclose, which Kwok discloses,
the determining is based on the UICC being not compatible with the 5G based network (
A 5G SIM stores an encryption key, referred to herein as the home network key, that is used for encrypting the SUPI and creating the SUCI. In some cases, a 5G SIM itself may be capable of generating the SUCI based on its stored home network key and SUPI. In other cases, the device may retrieve the home network key and the SUPI from the SIM and perform the encryption to create the SUCI. When a legacy SIM is installed in a 5G-capable device, a 5G-capable device may be configured to establish 5G connections even when the device is using a legacy SIM that is not 5G compatible. Prior to and/or in preparation for network authentication, the device determines whether a SUCI is available from the SIM. If the device can obtain the SUCI from the SIM, the device proceeds with network authentication using this SUCI. If the SUCI is not available from the SIM, the device determines whether the home network key is available from the SIM. If the home network key is available from the SIM, the device obtains the SUPI from the SIM and encrypts it using the home network key to create the SUCI. In the case of a legacy SIM that is issued by another network operator, authentication is still possible using an unconcealed subscriber identifier (col., 3, lines 25-64), The SIM 104 may be either a 5G SIM 104(a) or a legacy SIM 104(b). The term SIM as used herein is intended to encompass various types of SIMs, including universal SIMs (USIMs) embedded SIMs (eSIMs), integrated SIMs (iSIMs), universal integrated circuit cards (eUICCs), etc., col., 4, lines 4-9, col., 4, lines 4-9,
The legacy SIM 104(b) contains an unconcealed subscriber identifier 118(b), but does not contain an encryption key for encrypting the unconcealed subscriber identifier 118(b). As with the unconcealed subscriber identifier 118(a), the unconcealed subscriber identifier 118(b) is an identifier that is globally unique to the SIM 104(b). In the 5G environment, the unconcealed subscriber identifier 118(b) may be a SUPI, which in turn may comprise or contain an IMSI such as used in 4th-generation (4G) or older communication networks col., 4, lines 43-53.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention disclosed by Nakarmi to implement these limitations and also one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because regardless of whether the UICC is compatible or not with the 5G network a connection would be made using the 5G network. Upon determining that the UICC is not compatible, a determination would be made to elect one of the options that would still enable establishing a secure connection using the SUCI, col., 3, lines 25-64.
Kwok also discloses overlapping teachings / corresponding to a service number (
(38) If the home network key 116 is available from the SIM 104 (i.e., service nº 125 is available), an action 218 is performed of obtaining the home network key 116 (referred to as KPUB in FIG. 2) and the unconcealed subscriber identifier 118 from the SIM 104. These parameters are stored by the SIM 104 in an elementary file (EF) and are referred to as Subscription Concealed Identifier Calculation Information. (SUCI_Calc_Info), col., 6, lines 12-18.
(24) The SIM 104 may be either a 5G SIM 104(a) or a legacy SIM 104(b). The term SIM as used herein is intended to encompass various types of SIMs, including universal SIMs (USIMs) embedded SIMs (eSIMs), integrated SIMs (iSIMs), universal integrated circuit cards (eUICCs), etc. col., 4, lines 4-8.
Referring to claim 31-34, Kwok also discloses,
the determining is based on the UICC being not compatible with the 5G based network (
A 5G SIM stores an encryption key, referred to herein as the home network key, that is used for encrypting the SUPI and creating the SUCI. In some cases, a 5G SIM itself may be capable of generating the SUCI based on its stored home network key and SUPI. In other cases, the device may retrieve the home network key and the SUPI from the SIM and perform the encryption to create the SUCI. When a legacy SIM is installed in a 5G-capable device, a 5G-capable device may be configured to establish 5G connections even when the device is using a legacy SIM that is not 5G compatible. Prior to and/or in preparation for network authentication, the device determines whether a SUCI is available from the SIM. If the device can obtain the SUCI from the SIM, the device proceeds with network authentication using this SUCI. If the SUCI is not available from the SIM, the device determines whether the home network key is available from the SIM. If the home network key is available from the SIM, the device obtains the SUPI from the SIM and encrypts it using the home network key to create the SUCI. In the case of a legacy SIM that is issued by another network operator, authentication is still possible using an unconcealed subscriber identifier (col., 3, lines 25-64), The SIM 104 may be either a 5G SIM 104(a) or a legacy SIM 104(b). The term SIM as used herein is intended to encompass various types of SIMs, including universal SIMs (USIMs) embedded SIMs (eSIMs), integrated SIMs (iSIMs), universal integrated circuit cards (eUICCs), etc., col., 4, lines 4-9, col., 4, lines 4-9,
The legacy SIM 104(b) contains an unconcealed subscriber identifier 118(b), but does not contain an encryption key for encrypting the unconcealed subscriber identifier 118(b). As with the unconcealed subscriber identifier 118(a), the unconcealed subscriber identifier 118(b) is an identifier that is globally unique to the SIM 104(b). In the 5G environment, the unconcealed subscriber identifier 118(b) may be a SUPI, which in turn may comprise or contain an IMSI such as used in 4th-generation (4G) or older communication networks col., 4, lines 43-53.
Claims 5, 12, 20, 27, 8, 15, 23, 30, 2, 3, 17, 18, 10, 25, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakarmi in view of Yang, Sharp, Kwok an and Li, CN 109391937 A
Referring to claim 5, 12, 20, 27, Kwok, Nakarmi, Yang, Sharp do not disclose, which Li discloses wherein the UICC is a 5G UICC (if the USIM card of the terminal is 5G USIM card, the public key of the home network terminal can directly pre-configured in USIM card according to 5G, or public key encryption the user home network configured by OTA USIM card to 5G of permanent identification, and performing corresponding authentication process, para 10, page 9.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention disclosed by Nakarmi to implement these limitations and also one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because 5G based network card would be able to support the 5G network connection. When the USIM card of the terminal is 5G USIM card, the public key of the home network terminal can directly pre-configured in USIM card according to 5G, or public key encryption the user home network configured by OTA USIM card to 5G of permanent identification, and performing corresponding authentication process, para 10, page 9.
Referring to claim 8, 15, 23, 30, Li discloses wherein the UE is pre-configured with the additional subscriber information (if the USIM card of the terminal is 5G USIM card, the public key of the home network terminal can be directly pre-configured in USIM card according to 5G, or public key encryption the user home network configured by OTA USIM card to 5G of permanent identification, and performing corresponding authentication process, para 10, page 9.
Referring to claim 2, 17, Li discloses the UICC is a pre-5G network based card (the terminal is using a traditional (legacy) USIM card, such as using fourth generation (4 generation, 4G) USIM card, because the traditional USIM card is not the public key of the pre-configured home network, and the traditional USIM card is not to configure the function of the public key of the home network through the OTA, so how to obtain the public key of the home network, a problem urgently to be solved at present, 1st para, page 2).
Kwok discloses wherein the initial subscriber information includes international mobile subscriber identity (IMSI) associated information ((3) 5G Technical Specifications (3GPP TS 33.501) set forth a protocol for storage and transmission of subscriber identifiers. In accordance with these protocols, a subscriber's identity is represented as a globally unique subscription permanent identifier (SUPI) stored in the subscriber's SIM. The SUPI contains the IMSI col., 1, lines 20-28
wherein the generating the SUCI comprises using the IMSI associated information and with the additional subscriber information to generate the SUCI ( SUPI is based on and includes an international mobile subscriber identifier (IMSI) that is unique to the SIM 104. (27) In some cases, the 5G SIM 104(a) is capable of generating a concealed subscriber identifier 120, referred to as a subscription concealed identifier (SUCI) in the 5G environment, by encrypting the unconcealed subscriber identifier 118(a) with the home network key 116 of the SIM 104(a). The device 102 can then obtain the concealed subscriber identifier 120 from the 5G SIM 104(a). In other cases, the device 102 may retrieve the home network key 116 from the SIM 104(a) and encrypt the unconcealed subscriber identifier 118(a) to create the concealed subscriber identifier 120. Col., 4., lines 28-30.
Referring to claim 3, 10, 18, 25, Nakarmi discloses wherein the IMSI associated information comprises mobile country code (MCC) information, mobile network code (MNC) information, mobile subscription identification number (MSIN), or any combination thereof (
(3) 5G is a next generation of mobile networks developed by a standards developing organization called the 3GPP. The earlier generations of mobile networks were called 4G/LTE, 3G/UMTS, and 2G/GSM. A 5G network is maintained and its services are offered by the so-called Mobile Network Operators (MNOs). MNOs are distinguishable from each other by two types of codes, namely the Mobile Country Code (MCC) and the Mobile Network Code (MNC). To use a particular 5G network offered by a particular MNO, users are required to have a sort of contractual relationship with that MNO, that relationship being generally called the subscription. In cases when the user lacks a subscription to some particular MNO (e.g., in a so-called roaming scenario), the relationship is achieved by roaming agreements between the MNO where the user has a subscription, i.e., the user's Home Network (HN) and the MNO that the user is being served, i.e., the Visited Network (VN). Each subscription in a MNO's 5G network is identified by a unique long-term identifier called the Subscription Permanent Identifier (SUPI). Users wirelessly access a 5G network over-the-air using wireless device known as User Equipment (UE). Before providing any service, a 5G network needs to identify a user, i.e., the user's subscription, behind a UE. For this purpose of identification, UEs in earlier generation of mobile networks (4G, 3G, and 2G) used to send users' unique long-term identifier over-the-air. This was considered a privacy issue because users could be tracked or identified by any unauthorized entity capable of intercepting message or acting as man-in-the-middle over-the-air. However, in a 5G network, its MNO has an ability to offer better privacy to its users so that their unique long-term identifiers (i.e., SUPIs) are not visible over-the-air. That ability comes from a mechanism in which UEs, instead of sending SUPIs, calculate and send concealed identifiers over-the-air, which is called the Subscription Concealed Identifier (SUCI). The MNO makes available to UEs all information that are necessary for the calculation of SUCI., 2nd para, col., 1)
Claims 5, 12, 20, 27, 8, 15, 23, 30, 2, 17, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kwok in view of Yang, Sharp and Li
Referring to claim 5, 12, 20, 27, Kwok Yang, Sharp do not disclose, which Li discloses wherein the UICC is a 5G based network card (if the USIM card of the terminal is 5G USIM card, the public key of the home network terminal can directly pre-configured in USIM card according to 5G, or public key encryption the user home network configured by OTA USIM card to 5G of permanent identification, and performing corresponding authentication process, para 10, page 9.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention disclosed by Kwok to implement these limitations and also one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because 5G based network card would be able to support the 5G network connection. When the USIM card of the terminal is 5G USIM card, the public key of the home network terminal can directly pre-configured in USIM card according to 5G, or public key encryption the user home network configured by OTA USIM card to 5G of permanent identification, and performing corresponding authentication process, para 10, page 9.
Referring to claim 8, 15, 23, 30, Li discloses wherein the UE is pre-configured with the additional subscriber information (if the USIM card of the terminal is 5G USIM card, the public key of the home network terminal can be directly pre-configured in USIM card according to 5G, or public key encryption the user home network configured by OTA USIM card to 5G of permanent identification, and performing corresponding authentication process, para 10, page 9.
Kwok discloses storing the additional subscriber information in the secure storage location in the UE (other than uicc/sim, memory,
(23) When configuring the device 102, the provisioning network operator 106 may store a public encryption key 114, also referred to herein as a home network key 114, in the memory 110 of the device 102. The home network key 114 may be the public part of an asymmetrical public/private key pair that is unique to the provisioning network operator 106. In other embodiments, the home network key 114 may comprise another type of key, such as a symmetrical key. In some embodiments, storing the home network public key in the memory 110 may be performed as part of a secure provisioning process, )
Referring to claim 2, 17, Li discloses the UICC is a pre-5G network based card (the terminal is using a traditional (legacy) USIM card, such as using fourth generation (4 generation, 4G) USIM card, because the traditional USIM card is not the public key of the pre-configured home network, and the traditional USIM card is not to configure the function of the public key of the home network through the OTA, so how to obtain the public key of the home network, a problem urgently to be solved at present, 1st para page 2).
Kwok discloses wherein the initial subscriber information includes international mobile subscriber identity (IMSI) associated information ((3) 5G Technical Specifications (3GPP TS 33.501) set forth a protocol for storage and transmission of subscriber identifiers. In accordance with these protocols, a subscriber's identity is represented as a globally unique subscription permanent identifier (SUPI) stored in the subscriber's SIM. The SUPI contains the IMSI col., 1, lines 20-28
wherein the generating the SUCI comprises using the IMSI associated information and with the additional subscriber information to generate the SUCI ( SUPI is based on and includes an international mobile subscriber identifier (IMSI) that is unique to the SIM 104. (27) In some cases, the 5G SIM 104(a) is capable of generating a concealed subscriber identifier 120, referred to as a subscription concealed identifier (SUCI) in the 5G environment, by encrypting the unconcealed subscriber identifier 118(a) with the home network key 116 of the SIM 104(a). The device 102 can then obtain the concealed subscriber identifier 120 from the 5G SIM 104(a). In other cases, the device 102 may retrieve the home network key 116 from the SIM 104(a) and encrypt the unconcealed subscriber identifier 118(a) to create the concealed subscriber identifier 120. Col., 4., lines 28-30
Claims 3, 18, 10, 25, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kwok in view of Yang, Sharp, Li and Nakarmi.
Referring to claim 3, 18, Li, Kwok Yang, Sharp do not disclose, which Nakarmi discloses wherein the IMSI associated information comprises mobile country code (MCC) information, mobile network code (MNC) information, mobile subscription identification number (MSIN), or any combination thereof (
(3) 5G is a next generation of mobile networks developed by a standards developing organization called the 3GPP. The earlier generations of mobile networks were called 4G/LTE, 3G/UMTS, and 2G/GSM. A 5G network is maintained and its services are offered by the so-called Mobile Network Operators (MNOs). MNOs are distinguishable from each other by two types of codes, namely the Mobile Country Code (MCC) and the Mobile Network Code (MNC). To use a particular 5G network offered by a particular MNO, users are required to have a sort of contractual relationship with that MNO, that relationship being generally called the subscription. In cases when the user lacks a subscription to some particular MNO (e.g., in a so-called roaming scenario), the relationship is achieved by roaming agreements between the MNO where the user has a subscription, i.e., the user's Home Network (HN) and the MNO that the user is being served, i.e., the Visited Network (VN). Each subscription in a MNO's 5G network is identified by a unique long-term identifier called the Subscription Permanent Identifier (SUPI). Users wirelessly access a 5G network over-the-air using wireless device known as User Equipment (UE). Before providing any service, a 5G network needs to identify a user, i.e., the user's subscription, behind a UE. For this purpose of identification, UEs in earlier generation of mobile networks (4G, 3G, and 2G) used to send users' unique long-term identifier over-the-air. This was considered a privacy issue because users could be tracked or identified by any unauthorized entity capable of intercepting message or acting as man-in-the-middle over-the-air. However, in a 5G network, its MNO has an ability to offer better privacy to its users so that their unique long-term identifiers (i.e., SUPIs) are not visible over-the-air. That ability comes from a mechanism in which UEs, instead of sending SUPIs, calculate and send concealed identifiers over-the-air, which is called the Subscription Concealed Identifier (SUCI). The MNO makes available to UEs all information that are necessary for the calculation of SUCI., 2nd para col., 1)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention disclosed by Kwok to implement these limitations and also one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because mobile country code (MCC) information, mobile network code (MNC) information, mobile subscription identification number (MSIN), or any combination thereof had been in use for long and would be utilized. To use a particular 5G network offered by a particular MNO, users are required to have a sort of contractual relationship with that MNO, that relationship being generally called the subscription. In cases when the user lacks a subscription to some particular MNO (e.g., in a so-called roaming scenario), the relationship is achieved by roaming agreements between the MNO where the user has a subscription, i.e., the user's Home Network (HN) and the MNO that the user is being served, i.e., the Visited Network (VN). 2nd para col., 1
Referring to claim 3, 10, 18, 25, Nakarmi discloses wherein the IMSI associated information comprises mobile country code (MCC) information, mobile network code (MNC) information, mobile subscription identification number (MSIN), or any combination thereof (
(3) 5G is a next generation of mobile networks developed by a standards developing organization called the 3GPP. The earlier generations of mobile networks were called 4G/LTE, 3G/UMTS, and 2G/GSM. A 5G network is maintained and its services are offered by the so-called Mobile Network Operators (MNOs). MNOs are distinguishable from each other by two types of codes, namely the Mobile Country Code (MCC) and the Mobile Network Code (MNC). To use a particular 5G network offered by a particular MNO, users are required to have a sort of contractual relationship with that MNO, that relationship being generally called the subscription. In cases when the user lacks a subscription to some particular MNO (e.g., in a so-called roaming scenario), the relationship is achieved by roaming agreements between the MNO where the user has a subscription, i.e., the user's Home Network (HN) and the MNO that the user is being served, i.e., the Visited Network (VN). Each subscription in a MNO's 5G network is identified by a unique long-term identifier called the Subscription Permanent Identifier (SUPI). Users wirelessly access a 5G network over-the-air using wireless device known as User Equipment (UE). Before providing any service, a 5G network needs to identify a user, i.e., the user's subscription, behind a UE. For this purpose of identification, UEs in earlier generation of mobile networks (4G, 3G, and 2G) used to send users' unique long-term identifier over-the-air. This was considered a privacy issue because users could be tracked or identified by any unauthorized entity capable of intercepting message or acting as man-in-the-middle over-the-air. However, in a 5G network, its MNO has an ability to offer better privacy to its users so that their unique long-term identifiers (i.e., SUPIs) are not visible over-the-air. That ability comes from a mechanism in which UEs, instead of sending SUPIs, calculate and send concealed identifiers over-the-air, which is called the Subscription Concealed Identifier (SUCI). The MNO makes available to UEs all information that are necessary for the calculation of SUCI., 2nd para col., 1)
Claims 6, 13, 21, 28, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kwok in view of Yang, Sharp, Li and Aubert, CN 1643536 A.
Referring to claim(s) 6, 13, 21, 28, Li discloses 5G UICC (if the USIM card of the terminal is 5G USIM card, the public key of the home network terminal can directly pre-configured in USIM card according to 5G, or public key encryption the user home network configured by OTA USIM card to 5G of permanent identification, and performing corresponding authentication process para 10, page 9
Kwok in view of Yang, Sharp, Li do not specifically mention about, failing to retrieve elementary file, which is well-known in the art, which Aubert discloses, para 5, page 4.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention disclosed by Kwok to implement these limitations and also one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because it could provide utilizing well-known elementary file when available. When the file is not available the service table would not be available to show which services are available. The file would not enable further processing of the contents of the file for configuration associated with the device, para 5, page 4.
Claims 6, 13, 21, 28, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakarmi in view of Yang, Sharp, Li, Kwok and Aubert, CN 1643536 A.
Referring to claim(s) 6, 13, 21, 28, Li discloses 5G UICC (if the USIM card of the terminal is 5G USIM card, the public key of the home network terminal can directly pre-configured in USIM card according to 5G, or public key encryption the user home network configured by OTA USIM card to 5G of permanent identification, and performing corresponding authentication process para 10, page 9
Kwok in view of Yang, Sharp, Li do not specifically mention about, failing to retrieve elementary file, which is well-known in the art, which Aubert discloses, para 5, page 4.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention disclosed by Kwok to implement these limitations and also one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because it could provide utilizing well-known elementary file when available. When the file is not available the service table would not be available to show which services are available. The file would not enable further processing of the contents of the file for configuration associated with the device, para 5, page 4.
Claims 6, 13, 21, 28, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kwok in view of Yang, Sharp, Li and Dandra, 2016/0269568.
Referring to claim(s) 6, 13, 21, 28, Li discloses 5G UICC (if the USIM card of the terminal is 5G USIM card, the public key of the home network terminal can directly pre-configured in USIM card according to 5G, or public key encryption the user home network configured by OTA USIM card to 5G of permanent identification, and performing corresponding authentication process, para 10, page 9
Kwok in view of Yang, Sharp, Li do not specifically mention about, failing to retrieve elementary file, which is well-known in the art, which Dandra discloses, para 13, 28.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention disclosed by Kwok to implement these limitations and also one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because it could provide utilizing well-known elementary file when available. When the file is not available the service table would not be available to show which services are available. The file would not enable further processing of the contents of the file for configuration associated with the device, para 5, page 4.
Claims 35-38, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kwok et al., 10419922 in view of Yang et al., 20170171742 and Sharp et al., 20140143826 and WANG et al., WO 2018006627 A1.
Referring to claim 35-38, Kwok discloses the additional subscriber information as rejected above. Sharp discloses well-known, secure file system, para 58, 47. Kwok, Yang, Sharp do not disclose, which Wang discloses, wherein the additional subscriber information is received via unicast or broadcast transmission and stored in the SFS (
the device sends a broadcast message carrying the public key; and the UE receives and stores the public key. The UE obtains the global public key.) last fifth para, page 30. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention disclosed by Kwok to implement these limitations and also one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because the public key is needed for secure communication. Upon receiving the public key it would be utilized for generating information so that a communication would be possible, last fifth para, page 30.
Claims 35-38, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakarmi in view of Yang, Sharp, Li, Kwok and WANG et al., WO 2018006627 A1.
Referring to claim 35-38, Nakarmi and Kwok discloses the additional subscriber information as rejected above. Sharp discloses well-known, secure file system, para 58, 47. Kwok, Nakarmi, Yang, Sharp do not disclose, which Wang discloses, wherein the additional subscriber information is received via unicast or broadcast transmission and stored in the SFS (
the device sends a broadcast message carrying the public key; and the UE receives and stores the public key. The UE obtains the global public key.) last fifth para, page 30. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention disclosed by Nakarmi to implement these limitations and also one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because the public key is needed for secure communication. Upon receiving the public key it would be utilized for generating information so that a communication would be possible, last fifth para, page 30
Response to Arguments
Remarks/Arguments filed 8/29/25, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Therefore, rejection of claims 1-3, 5-6, 8-10, 12-13, 15-18, 20-21, 23-25, 27, 28, 30-34, 35-38 is maintained.
Regarding remarks,
However, the above cited paragraphs of the specification does not define what is limited as “initial subscriber information”. It does not show determining of multiple elementary files. It does not show multiple files that together used to establish a secure connection (earlier). It does not show different multiple files that together used to establish a secure connection (earlier).
Below claimed combination is not seen in the above paragraphs.
First:
determining that universal integrated circuit card (UICC) of the UE comprises initial subscriber information
Note: the outcome of this step remains same: Any UICC merely stores the claimed information.
Second:
determining that one or more elementary files associated with generation of a subscription concealed identifier (SUCI) to use to establish a secure connection with a 5G new radio (NR) based network are not available
Note: As claimed some/other one or more elementary files part of another UICC etc.. is not available
Third:
obtaining additional subscriber information from a secure file system (SFS) of the UE, “separate” from the UICC, wherein the additional subscriber information comprises a protection scheme identifier, a home network key identifier, a home network public key, a routing indicator, or any combination thereof
Note: “secure file system” is not limited to part of UICC of first step and also not part of for example, “for the elementary files”.
Meaning not limited to two UICCs/(storage), but three different UICCs/(storage)
fourth
generating the SUCI, based at least in part on the additional subscriber information and the initial subscriber information, to use to establish the secure connection with the 5G NR based network;
Meaning “the elementary file” is not limited to part of UICC of first step/(storage of ), and also not part of the secure file system
and establishing the secure connection with the 5G NR based network based on the SUCI.
It contains combination of steps, along with using not limited to two storages.
Regarding the remarks for the limitations,
Limitations of claim 1 including "determining that one or more elementary files, associated with generation of a subscription concealed identifier (SUCI) to use to establish a secure connection with a 5G new radio (NR) based network, are not available; obtaining, based at least in part on determining that the one or more elementary files are not available, additional subscriber information from a secure file system (SFS) of the UE, separate from the UICC, wherein the additional subscriber information comprises a protection scheme identifier, a home network key identifier, a home network public key, a routing indicator, or any combination thereof,
As claimed the initial subscriber information is a mere information and not defined.
The cited prior discloses it:
(16) when the SUCI-Calculation-Indicator is changed to a value indicating that the SUCI should be calculated in the USIM from a value indicating that the SUCI should be calculated in the ME (17) when a SUCI-Calculation-Indicator is set to a value indicating that the SUCI should be calculated in the USIM, deleting any locally stored information required for calculation of the SUCI. (21) some solutions ensure that the HN has effective control of which part of the UE, i.e., USIM or ME, calculates the SUCI. Additionally, some solutions enable the HN to be aware of which part of the UE, i.e., USIM or ME, the SUCI calculation is performed in. Consequently, the HN gets confidence on the effectiveness of the better privacy that it is offering to its users. Further, some solutions ensure that SUCI is not unintentionally calculated in an erroneous part of the UE, col., 3, lines 45-56
(4) The calculation of SUCI means the UE encrypting the SUPI. This is done before the SUCI is transferred over-the-air between the UE and the 5G network. The encryption is of asymmetric type and uses the HN's public key (denoted HN public key). The HN makes the HN public key available to the UE. There could be multiple ways of doing the asymmetric encryption of the SUPI for calculating the SUCI, these ways denoted as encryption schemes, col., 2, lines 8-11
(34) An action 204 comprises determining whether the device 102 is connecting to a 5G network or to a different, legacy network. If the device is connecting to a legacy network other than a 5G network, or to any network that does not support concealed subscriber identifiers, an action 206 is performed of obtaining the unconcealed subscriber identifier 118 from the SIM 104 that is currently installed in the device 102 (i.e., the SIM 104(a) or 104(b)). (35) An action 210 is performed if the device 102 is connecting to a 5G network or other network that supports concealment of subscriber identifiers. The action 210 comprises determining whether the concealed subscriber identifier 120 is available from the SIM 104. In the 5G environment, this may comprise reading the Universal SIM Service Table (UF-UST) of the SIM 104, which indicates the services supported by the SIM 104. In particular, the action 212 comprises determining that both of services nº 124 and nº 125 are available. The availability of service nº 124 indicates that SUCI identifier privacy is supported. The availability of service nº 125 indicates that the SIM 104 itself is capable of calculating and providing the SUCI, col., lines 36-48
Nakarmi substantially discloses a method of wireless communications, by a user equipment (UE), an apparatus for wireless communication, comprising, by a user equipment (UE), comprising: an apparatus for wireless communication, comprising: a universal integrated circuit card (UICC); a secure memory; and at least one processor coupled to the secure memory and UICC and configured to: a computer-readable medium storing computer executable code, the code when executed by a processor cause the processor to: (abstract): determining that a universal integrated circuit card (UICC) of the UE comprises initial subscriber information (
(16) when the SUCI-Calculation-Indicator is changed to a value indicating that the SUCI should be calculated in the USIM from a value indicating that the SUCI should be calculated in the ME (17) when a SUCI-Calculation-Indicator is set to a value indicating that the SUCI should be calculated in the USIM, deleting any locally stored information required for calculation of the SUCI. (21) some solutions ensure that the HN has effective control of which part of the UE, i.e., USIM or ME, calculates the SUCI. Additionally, some solutions enable the HN to be aware of which part of the UE, i.e., USIM or ME, the SUCI calculation is performed in. Consequently, the HN gets confidence on the effectiveness of the better privacy that it is offering to its users. Further, some solutions ensure that SUCI is not unintentionally calculated in an erroneous part of the UE, col., 3, lines 45-56
Note: the one-time identifier is a Subscribed Unique Concealed Identifier (SUCI); and the permanent identifier is a Subscriber Unique Permanent Identifier (SUPI), encrypted SUPI = SUCI
wherein the additional subscriber information comprises a protection scheme identifier, a home network key identifier, a home network public key, a routing indicator, or any combination thereof;
(113) Thus, the method may comprise providing to the ME information required for calculation of the SUCI only when the SUCI-Calculation-Indicator is set to a value indicating that the SUCI should be calculated in the ME. More specifically, the method may comprise, in response to a request from the ME for information required for calculation of the SUCI, providing said information to the ME. The method may further comprise, in response to said request from the ME, returning said value of the SUCI-Calculation-Indicator to the ME. (114) As described above with reference to FIG. 5, the method may comprise, when a SUCI-Calculation-Indicator is set to a value indicating that the SUCI should be calculated in the ME, in response to a request from the ME for the SUCI, rejecting said request. In addition, the method may further comprise, in response to said request from the ME for the SUCI, returning the information required for calculation of the SUCI to the ME. In addition, the method may further comprise, in response to said request from the ME for the SUCI, returning said value of the SUCI-Calculation-Indicator to the ME. (115) The information required for calculation of the SUCI may comprise a public key of the Home Network, HN, or may comprise information identifying an encryption scheme that is to be used in the calculation of the SUCI, col., 24, lines 36-56
generating SUCI based at least in part on the additional subscriber information and the initial subscriber information to use to establish the secure connection with the 5G NR based network and establishing the secure connection with the 5G NR based network based on the SUCI.
(4) The calculation of SUCI means the UE encrypting the SUPI. This is done before the SUCI is transferred over-the-air between the UE and the 5G network. The encryption is of asymmetric type and uses the HN's public key (denoted HN public key). The HN makes the HN public key available to the UE. There could be multiple ways of doing the asymmetric encryption of the SUPI for calculating the SUCI, these ways denoted as encryption schemes, col., 2, lines 8-11
determining that elementary file, associated with generation of a subscription concealed identifier (SUCI) to use to establish a secure connection with a 5G new radio (NR) based network, is not available; obtaining, based on determining that the elementary file is not available, additional subscriber information from a storage,
To use a particular 5G network offered by a particular MNO, users are required to have a sort of contractual relationship with that MNO, that relationship being generally called the subscription. In cases when the user lacks a subscription to some particular MNO (e.g., in a so-called roaming scenario), the relationship is achieved by roaming agreements between the MNO where the user has a subscription, i.e., the user's Home Network (HN) and the MNO that the user is being served, i.e., the Visited Network (VN). Each subscription in a MNO's 5G network is identified by a unique long-term identifier called the Subscription Permanent Identifier (SUPI). Users wirelessly access a 5G network over-the-air using wireless device known as User Equipment (UE). Before providing any service, a 5G network needs to identify a user, i.e., the user's subscription, behind a UE. For this purpose of identification, UEs in earlier generation of mobile networks (4G, 3G, and 2G) used to send users' unique long-term identifier over-the-air. This was considered a privacy issue because users could be tracked or identified by any unauthorized entity capable of intercepting message or acting as man-in-the-middle over-the-air. However, in a 5G network, its MNO has an ability to offer better privacy to its users so that their unique long-term identifiers (i.e., SUPIs) are not visible over-the-air. That ability comes from a mechanism in which UEs, instead of sending SUPIs, calculate and send concealed identifiers over-the-air, which is called the Subscription Concealed Identifier (SUCI). The MNO makes available to UEs all information that are necessary for the calculation of SUCI, col., 1, lines 40-55.
Nakarmi does not specifically mention, which Yang discloses determining EF is available or not and performing action based on the determination (determining whether corresponding EF is available or not for further processing, para 31).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention disclosed by Nakarmi to implement these limitations and also one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because it could provide utilizing well-known accessing a file. When there is no corresponding elementary file then a connection associated with the corresponding elementary file would not be possible. Setting up a connection using an alternative way would enable establishing a connection even when the file is not available, para 31.
Nakarmi and Yang does not specifically mention, which Sharp discloses secure file system (SFS) of the UE, separate from the UICC (determining whether corresponding EF is available or not for further processing, secure file system, para 58, 47).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention disclosed by Nakarmi to implement these limitations and also one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because it could provide utilizing well-known use of SFS and UICC. Storing the elementary file separately means storing at remote place as compared to the UICC. Sharp discloses that different/plurality of UICCs, eUICCs, SIMS, eSIMs can be used where the elementary file can be store separately than the information. Regardless of where the elementary file is stored, it would be available for use. Hence, the storing and retaining of the data would be provided at remote place by using the SFS, with increased security, para 47, 58.
Referring to claim 1, 9, 16, 24, Kwok substantially discloses a method of wireless communications, by a user equipment (UE), an apparatus for wireless communication, comprising, by a user equipment (UE), comprising: an apparatus for wireless communication, comprising: a universal integrated circuit card (UICC); a secure memory; and at least one processor coupled to the secure memory and UICC and configured to: a computer-readable medium storing computer executable code, the code when executed by a processor cause the processor to: (abstract): determining that a universal integrated circuit card (UICC) of the UE comprises initial subscriber information (
Note: the one-time identifier is a Subscribed Unique Concealed Identifier (SUCI); and the permanent identifier is a Subscriber Unique Permanent Identifier (SUPI), encrypted SUPI = SUCI
(34) An action 204 comprises determining whether the device 102 is connecting to a 5G network or to a different, legacy network. If the device is connecting to a legacy network other than a 5G network, or to any network that does not support concealed subscriber identifiers, an action 206 is performed of obtaining the unconcealed subscriber identifier 118 from the SIM 104 that is currently installed in the device 102 (i.e., the SIM 104(a) or 104(b)). (35) An action 210 is performed if the device 102 is connecting to a 5G network or other network that supports concealment of subscriber identifiers. The action 210 comprises determining whether the concealed subscriber identifier 120 is available from the SIM 104. In the 5G environment, this may comprise reading the Universal SIM Service Table (UF-UST) of the SIM 104, which indicates the services supported by the SIM 104. In particular, the action 212 comprises determining that both of services nº 124 and nº 125 are available. The availability of service nº 124 indicates that SUCI identifier privacy is supported. The availability of service nº 125 indicates that the SIM 104 itself is capable of calculating and providing the SUCI, col., lines 36-48
wherein the additional subscriber information comprises a protection scheme identifier, a home network key identifier, a home network public key, a routing indicator, or any combination thereof;
(36) If the concealed subscriber identifier 120 is available from the SIM 104, an action 212 is performed of obtaining the concealed subscriber identifier 120 from the SIM 104.
(37) If the concealed subscriber identifier 120 is not available from the SIM 104, an action 216 is performed of determining whether the home network key 116, for encrypting the unconcealed subscriber identifier 118, is available from the SIM 104. This action may comprise determining whether the SIM 104 specifies that the nº 125 service is available. If the nº 125 service is available, the SIM 104 is capable of calculating the concealed subscriber identifier. If the nº 125 service is unavailable, the SIM 104 is not capable of calculating the concealed subscriber identifier.
(38) If the home network key 116 is available from the SIM 104 (i.e., service nº 125 is available), an action 218 is performed of obtaining the home network key 116 (referred to as KPUB in FIG. 2) and the unconcealed subscriber identifier 118 from the SIM 104. These parameters are stored by the SIM 104 in an elementary file (EF) and are referred to as Subscription Concealed Identifier Calculation Information. (SUCI_Calc_Info).
(39) An action 220 is then performed of encrypting the unconcealed subscriber identifier 118 using the home network key 116 to generate the concealed subscriber identifier 120.
(40) If no home network key is available from the SIM 104 (service nº 125 is not available), an action 224 is performed of determining whether the home network key 114 of the home network specified by the currently installed SIM is stored in the memory 110 of the device 102. This is the case in FIG. 1A. In FIG. 1B, the home network key 114 is not the home key of the SIM-specified home network. Col., 6, lines 1-38
(41) If the home network key of the SIM-specified home network is stored by and available from the device 102, an action 226 is performed of obtaining the home network key 114 from the memory 110 of the device 102 and obtaining an unconcealed subscriber identifier 118 from the SIM 104. The action 220 is then performed, comprising encrypting the unconcealed subscriber identifier 118 using the home network key 114 to generate the concealed subscriber identifier 120. The action 222 is then performed of sending the concealed subscriber identifier 120 to the network 112 for registration and authentication with the home network specified by the SIM 104. (42) If the home network key of the SIM-specified home network is not stored by and available from the device 102, an action 228 is performed of obtaining the unconcealed subscriber identifier 118 from the SIM 104. The action 230 is then performed, comprising sending the unconcealed subscriber identifier 118 to the network 112 for authentication col., 6, lines 45-55
generating the SUPI, based at least in part on the additional subscriber information and the initial subscriber information to use to establish the secure connection with the 5G NR based network and establishing the secure connection with the 5G NR based network based on the SUCI.
(36) If the concealed subscriber identifier 120 is available from the SIM 104, an action 212 is performed of obtaining the concealed subscriber identifier 120 from the SIM 104.
(37) If the concealed subscriber identifier 120 is not available from the SIM 104, an action 216 is performed of determining whether the home network key 116, for encrypting the unconcealed subscriber identifier 118, is available from the SIM 104. This action may comprise determining whether the SIM 104 specifies that the nº 125 service is available. If the nº 125 service is available, the SIM 104 is capable of calculating the concealed subscriber identifier. If the nº 125 service is unavailable, the SIM 104 is not capable of calculating the concealed subscriber identifier.
(38) If the home network key 116 is available from the SIM 104 (i.e., service nº 125 is available), an action 218 is performed of obtaining the home network key 116 (referred to as KPUB in FIG. 2) and the unconcealed subscriber identifier 118 from the SIM 104. These parameters are stored by the SIM 104 in an elementary file (EF) and are referred to as Subscription Concealed Identifier Calculation Information. (SUCI_Calc_Info).
(39) An action 220 is then performed of encrypting the unconcealed subscriber identifier 118 using the home network key 116 to generate the concealed subscriber identifier 120.
(40) If no home network key is available from the SIM 104 (service nº 125 is not available), an action 224 is performed of determining whether the home network key 114 of the home network specified by the currently installed SIM is stored in the memory 110 of the device 102. This is the case in FIG. 1A. In FIG. 1B, the home network key 114 is not the home key of the SIM-specified home network.
(41) If the home network key of the SIM-specified home network is stored by and available from the device 102, an action 226 is performed of obtaining the home network key 114 from the memory 110 of the device 102 and obtaining an unconcealed subscriber identifier 118 from the SIM 104. The action 220 is then performed, comprising encrypting the unconcealed subscriber identifier 118 using the home network key 114 to generate the concealed subscriber identifier 120. The action 222 is then performed of sending the concealed subscriber identifier 120 to the network 112 for registration and authentication with the home network specified by the SIM 104.
(42) If the home network key of the SIM-specified home network is not stored by and available from the device 102, an action 228 is performed of obtaining the unconcealed subscriber identifier 118 from the SIM 104. The action 230 is then performed, comprising sending the unconcealed subscriber identifier 118 to the network 112 for authentication. col., 6, lines 1-55
Kwok does not specifically mention, which Yang discloses determining EF is available or not and performing action based on the determination (determining whether corresponding EF is available or not for further processing, para 31).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention disclosed by Kwok to implement these limitations and also one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because it could provide utilizing well-known accessing a file. When there is no corresponding elementary file then a connection associated with the corresponding elementary file would not be possible. Setting up a connection using an alternative way would enable establishing a connection even when the file is not available, para 31.
Kwok and Yang does not specifically mention, which Sharp discloses secure file system (SFS) of the UE, separate from the UICC (determining whether corresponding EF is available or not for further processing, para 58, 47).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention disclosed by Kwok to implement these limitations and also one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because it could provide utilizing well-known use of SFS and UICC. Storing the elementary file separately means storing at remote place as compared to the UICC. Sharp discloses that different/plurality of UICCs, eUICCs, SIMS, eSIMs can be used where the elementary file can be store separately than the information. Regardless of where the elementary file is stored, it would be available for use. Hence, the storing and retaining of the data would be provided at remote place by using the SFS, with increased security, para 47, 58.
Conclusion
Note: As per the prosecution history, numerous interviews have been conducted and numerous office actions with rejections have been done. MPEP 1201 was also cited.
Pertinent prior art - Wang et al., WO 2019138133 A1
The illustrated user equipment 12 may include an integrated circuit card (ICC) 12A. The ICC12A may be, for example, a universal integrated circuit card (UICC) running a universal subscriber identification module (USIM) application. In any case, the user equipment 12 and / or the ICC12A may be associated with a particular subscriber 13. The user equipment 12 and / or the ICC12A stores, accesses, or otherwise uses a particular subscriber identifier that identifies, for example, a particular subscriber 13's subscription to a home network, such as a home PLMN. You may. The subscriber identifier or its derivative may be used to identify the subscriber 13 and authenticate to the wireless communication network 10. If the subscriber identifier is assigned to the subscriber 13 for a long period of time or permanently, the subscriber identifier may also be referred to as the subscriber persistent identifier (SUPI) 20 shown in FIG. 1 as being stored in the ICC12A. good. In an embodiment where the network 10 is a 5G network, the subscriber identifier may be a globally unique 5G identifier in the form of either an international mobile subscriber identifier (IMSI) or a network access identifier (NAI) (second last paragraph, page 6)
determining that initial subscriber information associated with a universal integrated circuit card (UICC) to generate SUCI to use to establish a secure connection with a 5G new radio (NR) based network;
(when the network is 5G, the identifier with necessary subscriber information is needed for the secure connection, usage of SUCI/MCC/MNC/MSIN/HN public k key identifier that can support the 5G network,
As shown in FIG. 2A, the SUCI or SUCI portion 34 includes a mobile country code (MCC) field 34B, a mobile network code (MNC) field 34C, and a secret mobile subscriber identification number (MSIN) field 34D. include. The SUCI or SUCI portion 34 may also include an encryption method identifier field 34E and / or a home network (HN) public key identifier field 34F. The MCC field 34B combined with the MNC field 34C uniquely identifies the mobile network operator (carrier). The concealed MSIN field 34D, once unconfidential, uniquely identifies the subscriber of the mobile network operator. The encryption method identifier field 34E identifies the encryption method used or used to encrypt the SUCI or SUCI portion 34 (eg, more specifically, the concealed MSIN field 34D). The home network public key identifier field 34F indicates the home network public key used or used to encrypt the SUCI or SUCI portion 34 (eg, more specifically the secret MSIN field 34D). In addition to and / or apart from these fields, SUCI or SUCI portion 34 according to some embodiments also includes a subdomain code field as field 34A. The subdomain code field 34A is dedicated to indicate the subdomain code described herein (first paragraph, page 8)
obtaining additional subscriber information from a secure storage location which is separate from the UICC (UE containing several USIMs, UICCs, ICCs),
The term NG UE 52 may also be used to include universal subscriber identification modules (USIMs), universal integrated circuit cards (UICCs), and mobile devices (MEs) (fifth paragraph, page 14),
the claimed secure storage location is not something different than multiple USIMs, UICCs, ICCs, etc of the Wang. Wang also discloses multiple USIMs, UICCs, ICCs, etc for storing the information, which includes not storing all the information in one UICC. Wang does not mention that only single UICC must be used for all the information (and not use his mentioned multiple USIMs, UICCs, ICCs, etc).
The illustrated user equipment 12 may include an integrated circuit card (ICC) 12A. The ICC12A may be, for example, a universal integrated circuit card (UICC) running a universal subscriber identification module (USIM) application. In any case, the user equipment 12 and / or the ICC12A may be associated with a particular subscriber 13. The user equipment 12 and / or the ICC12A stores, accesses, or otherwise uses a particular subscriber identifier that identifies, for example, a particular subscriber 13's subscription to a home network, such as a home PLMN. You may. The subscriber identifier or its derivative may be used to identify the subscriber 13 and authenticate to the wireless communication network 10. If the subscriber identifier is assigned to the subscriber 13 for a long period of time or permanently, the subscriber identifier may also be referred to as the subscriber persistent identifier (SUPI) 20 shown in FIG. 1 as being stored in the ICC12A. good. In an embodiment where the network 10 is a 5G network, the subscriber identifier may be a globally unique 5G identifier in the form of either an international mobile subscriber identifier (IMSI) or a network access identifier (NAI) (second last paragraph, page 6)
generating the subscription concealed identifier (SUCD based on the additional subscriber information (home network public key, etc.,) along with the initial subscriber information (MCC/MNC/MSIN, etc.,);
As shown in FIG. 2A, the SUCI or SUCI portion 34 includes a mobile country code (MCC) field 34B, a mobile network code (MNC) field 34C, and a secret mobile subscriber identification number (MSIN) field 34D. include. The SUCI or SUCI portion 34 may also include an encryption method identifier field 34E and / or a home network (HN) public key identifier field 34F. The MCC field 34B combined with the MNC field 34C uniquely identifies the mobile network operator (carrier). The concealed MSIN field 34D, once unconfidential, uniquely identifies the subscriber of the mobile network operator. The encryption method identifier field 34E identifies the encryption method used or used to encrypt the SUCI or SUCI portion 34 (eg, more specifically, the concealed MSIN field 34D). The home network public key identifier field 34F indicates the home network public key used or used to encrypt the SUCI or SUCI portion 34 (eg, more specifically the secret MSIN field 34D). In addition to and / or apart from these fields, SUCI or SUCI portion 34 according to some embodiments also includes a subdomain code field as field 34A. The subdomain code field 34A is dedicated to indicate the subdomain code described herein (first paragraph, page 8)
establishing the secure connection with the 5G NR based network based on the SUCI
(using SUCI to send/receive authentication information request/response over the network, with encryption/key/secure information, last three paragraphs page 17).
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/HARESH N PATEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2496