DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
The following is a final office action in response to the communication filed 11/5/2025.
Claims 1-4, 6-9, 32-54 are currently pending and have been examined.
Priority
The applicant’s claim for benefit of Provisional Patent Application Serial No. 62/693,715 filed 07/03/2018 has been received and acknowledged.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s amendments and associated arguments, filed 11/5/2025, with respect to the rejection of the claims under 35 U.S.C. §103(a) have been considered but not persuasive. The combination of Alzahrani (US 20170369162) in view of McAndrew et al. (US 20130311009) teach the amended limitations of claim 1. See updated rejection below, which reflects the new ground for rejection presented in the Decision on Appeal dated June 17, 2025, and further addresses the amended claim limitations.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 6-9, 33-34, 36-39, 41-42, 45, and 47-51 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Alzahrani (US 20170369162) in view of McAndrew et al. (US 20130311009).
Regarding claim 1, Alzahrani discloses:
A method of transporting cargo, said method comprising:
… an unmanned Wing In Ground Effect vessel (UWIG) with one or more storage compartments;
Alzahrani 0008 "Wing-in-Ground (WIG) effect bottom design provid[ing] high hydrodynamic performance [for] the multi-mode UA V while skimming and cruising over water surfaces." Alzahrani 0122 further discloses "a new way of using UA Vs for cargo and goods and delivery services from one location to another."
transporting cargo from local storage to said UWIG…; loading said cargo into the one or more UWIG storage compartments; … ; selectively taxiing said UWIG to a take-off location …;
Because Alzahrani discloses an unmanned aerial vehicle for transporting goods, Alzahrani teaches or suggests the limitations of transporting cargo from local storage to said UWIG, loading said cargo into the one or more UWIG storage compartments, taxing said UWIG, flying said UWIF, and unloading said cargo. See Alzahrani 0122-0123, for reference see Fig. 29-30.
flying said UWIG below four hundred ninety two feet (492') from said take-off location to a delivery location; and
Alzahrani discloses that the unmanned aerial vehicle comprises a "Wing-in-Ground (WIG) effect bottom design provid[ing] high hydrodynamic performance [for] the multi-mode UA V while skimming and cruising over water surfaces," which means it flies below four hundred ninety two feet ( 492').
unloading said cargo from said one or more UWIG storage compartments.
Because Alzahrani discloses an unmanned aerial vehicle for transporting goods, Alzahrani teaches or suggests the limitations of claim 1 of transporting cargo from local storage to said UWIG, loading said cargo into the one or more UWIG storage compartments, taxing said UWIG, flying said UWIF, and unloading said cargo. See Alzahrani 0122-0123, for reference see Fig. 29-30.
Alzahrani does not disclose receiving an indication of an assignment of a new delivery by an unmanned vehicle which is taught by McAndrew. McAndrew. See 0005, 0026.
It would have been obvious for a skilled artisan at the time of filing to provide the indication of a new delivery of McAndrew to the aerial vehicle of Alzahrani in order to provide a flight plan to Alzahrani' s unmanned vehicle to transport goods between locations.
Alzahrani also does not disclose conducting a pre-takeoff checklist and initiating actions (e.g., said selectively taxiing said UWIG to a take-off location, as disclosed by Alzahrani) responsive to results of said pre-takeoff checklist, which is disclosed by McAndrew. See McAndrew, in Paragraphs 0005, 0026, 0062, 0075, 0148-0149.
It would have been obvious for a skilled artisan at the time of filing to provide the take-off checklist of McAndrew to the aerial vehicle of Alzahrani in order to provide ensure readiness for flight of Alzahrani' s unmanned vehicle in support of successful transport goods between locations.
Regarding Claim 2, the combination of Alzahrani and McAndrew disclose the limitations of claim 1. The combination of Alzahrani and McAndrew further discloses: before transporting cargo to said UWIG said method further comprising said UWIG: initiating a UWIG system power up responsive to said indication; conducting a pre-flight checklist; and selectively initiating transporting and loading said cargo responsive to results of said pre-flight checklist.
Because Alzahrani discloses an unmanned aerial vehicle for transporting goods, Alzahrani teaches or suggests the limitations of transporting cargo from local storage to said UWIG, and loading said cargo into the one or more UWIG storage compartments. See Alzahrani 0122-0123.
Alzahrani also does not disclose conducting a pre-takeoff checklist and initiating actions (e.g., said selectively transporting cargo, as taught or suggested by Alzahrani) responsive to results of said pre-takeoff checklist, which is disclosed by McAndrew. See McAndrew, in Paragraphs 0005, 0026, 0062, 0075, 0148-0149,teaches an example list of commands includes: activation or resumption of a flight plan or contingency flight plan, tele-supervision command and control, launch commands, landing commands, pre-flight-checklist-condition verification, engine start commands following pre-flight-checklist-condition verification, rate and position "nudge" (minor adjustment) commands concerning up to four degrees of freedom, wave-off commands, waypoint vector commands, manual override commands, flight-route-modification commands, training commands (e.g., MILES commands), emergency commands, shutdown commands, render useless commands, and anti-collision light commands. In addition to the example list of commands and other commands discussed herein, many other types of commands may be communicated.
See claim 1 for rationale to combine.
Regarding Claim 3, the combination of Alzahrani and McAndrew disclose the limitations of claim 2. The combination of Alzahrani and McAndrew further discloses: wherein when said results indicate checklist failure said UWIG aborts delivery and returns to a powered down state, and otherwise said UWIG initiates transporting and loading.
Because Alzahrani discloses an unmanned aerial vehicle for transporting goods, Alzahrani teaches or suggests the limitations of transporting cargo from local storage to said UWIG, loading said cargo into the one or more UWIG storage compartments, taxing said UWIG, flying said UWIF, and unloading said cargo. See Alzahrani 0122-0123.
McAndrew, in paragraphs 0005, 0026, 0062, 0075, 0083, 0116 and 0148-0149, teaches or suggests implementing a flight plan or aborting a mission plan for an autonomous cargo plane after detecting an error in order to potentially retool said mission plan, e.g. returning to a powered down state after said failing
Regarding Claim 6, the combination of Alzahrani and McAndrew disclose the limitations of claim 1. The combination of Alzahrani and McAndrew further discloses: wherein when said results indicate checklist failure said UWIG aborts delivery and returns to a local dock, and otherwise said UWIG takes off.
Because Alzahrani discloses an unmanned aerial vehicle for transporting goods, Alzahrani teaches or suggests the limitations of transporting cargo from local storage to said UWIG, loading said cargo into the one or more UWIG storage compartments, taxing said UWIG, flying said UWIF, and unloading said cargo, e.g. otherwise taking off. See Alzahrani 0122-0123.
McAndrew, in paragraphs 0005, 0026, 0036, 0062, 0075, 0083, 0093 0116 and 0148-0149, teaches or suggests implementing a flight plan or aborting a flight plan for an autonomous cargo plane after detecting an error/issue in order to make updates via communication links (which may be a tether).
Regarding Claim 7, the combination of Alzahrani and McAndrew disclose the limitations of claim 37. The combination of Alzahrani and McAndrew further discloses: wherein upon arrival of said UWIG at said delivery location, said method further comprises said UWIG: taxiing to an unloading dock; and said UWIG managing unloading said cargo.
Because Alzahrani discloses an unmanned aerial vehicle for transporting goods, Alzahrani teaches or suggests the limitations of transporting cargo from local storage to said UWIG, loading said cargo into the one or more UWIG storage compartments, taxing said UWIG, flying said UWIF, landing said UIF at a delivery location, and unloading said cargo. See Alzahrani 0122-0123, Fig. 29-30.
Regarding Claim 8, the combination of Alzahrani and McAndrew disclose the limitations of claim 7. The combination of Alzahrani and McAndrew further discloses: after cargo is unloaded said method further comprising said UWIG returning to a powered down state.
Because Alzahrani discloses an unmanned aerial vehicle for transporting goods, Alzahrani teaches or suggests the limitations of transporting cargo from local storage to said UWIG, loading said cargo into the one or more UWIG storage compartments, taxing said UWIG, flying said UWIF, and unloading said cargo. See Alzahrani 0122-0123.
McAndrew further teaches or suggets the command to return to a powered down state, see 0075 shutdown commands.
It would have been obvious for a skilled artisan at the time of filing to provide the shutdown command of McAndrew to the aerial vehicle of Alzahrani after transport and unloading of goods is complete.
Regarding Claim 9, the combination of Alzahrani and McAndrew disclose the limitations of claim 1. The combination of Alzahrani and McAndrew further discloses: wherein said UWIG is capable of fully autonomous operation.
Alzahrani, in paragraphs 0026, 0056, and 0063, teachers or suggests autonomous mission plans for the unmanned aircraft
Regarding Claim 33, the combination of Alzahrani and McAndrew disclose the limitations of claim 1. The combination of Alzahrani and McAndrew further discloses: wherein said take-off location is in open water.
Alzahrani, in paragraphs 0051, 0055, 0121-0123, teachers or suggest unmanned WIG vehicle for cargo delivery skimming, flying, landing on water.
Regarding Claim 34, the combination of Alzahrani and McAndrew disclose the limitations of claim 1. The combination of Alzahrani and McAndrew further discloses: wherein flying said UWIG below four hundred ninety two feet (492') comprises flying said UWIG in ground effect from said take-off location to said delivery location.
Alzahrani discloses that the unmanned aerial vehicle comprises a "Wing-in-Ground (WIG) effect bottom design provid[ing] high hydrodynamic performance [for] the multi-mode UA V while skimming and cruising over water surfaces," which means it flies below four hundred ninety two feet ( 492'). Because Alzahrani discloses an unmanned aerial vehicle for transporting goods, Alzahrani teaches or suggests the limitations of transporting cargo from local storage to said UWIG, loading said cargo into the one or more UWIG storage compartments, taxing said UWIG, flying said UWIF, and unloading said cargo. See Alzahrani 0122-0123.
Regarding Claim 36, the combination of Alzahrani and McAndrew disclose the limitations of claim 34. The combination of Alzahrani and McAndrew further discloses: wherein flight between said take- off location and said delivery location is over a body of water.
Alzahrani, in paragraphs 0051, 0055, 0121-0123, teachers or suggest unmanned WIG vehicle for cargo delivery skimming, flying, landing on water.
Regarding Claim 37, the combination of Alzahrani and McAndrew disclose the limitations of claim 34. The combination of Alzahrani and McAndrew further discloses: wherein flight between said take- off location and said delivery location further comprises taxiing from open water to said delivery location.
Alzahrani, in paragraphs 0051, 0055, 0121-0123, teachers or suggest unmanned WIG vehicle for cargo delivery skimming, flying, landing on water. Because Alzahrani discloses an unmanned aerial vehicle for transporting goods, Alzahrani teaches or suggests the limitations of transporting cargo from local storage to said UWIG, loading said cargo into the one or more UWIG storage compartments, taxing said UWIG, flying said UWIF, and unloading said cargo. See Alzahrani 0122-0123
Regarding Claim 38, the combination of Alzahrani and McAndrew disclose the limitations of claim 1. The combination of Alzahrani and McAndrew further discloses: wherein said UWIG is semi- autonomous.
McAndrew discloses that the aerial vehicle may operate manually or autonomous and that during either manual or autonomous flight, the FTCM may support maneuver constraints (i.e. semi-autonomous), see [0058].
It would have been obvious for a skilled artisan to enable semi-autonomous flight operability as in McAndrew to the aerial vehicle of Alzahrani in order to facilitate hand-off operations when the autonomous vehicle is incapable or completing an operation/function without intervention due to system failure, changes to environment, etc.
Regarding Claim 39, the combination of Alzahrani and McAndrew disclose the limitations of claim 38. The combination of Alzahrani and McAndrew further discloses: said indication of assignment and initiating transporting cargo is initiated at a remote-control location.
Because Alzahrani discloses an unmanned aerial vehicle for transporting goods, Alzahrani teaches or suggests the limitations of transporting cargo from local storage to said UWIG, loading said cargo into the one or more UWIG storage compartments, taxing said UWIG, flying said UWIF, and unloading said cargo. See Alzahrani 0122-0123. McAndrew further teaches or suggests the initiation of said flight plan by ground control via communication protocols. a See McAndrew, in Paragraphs 0005, 0026, 0062, 0075, 0148-0149.
Regarding claim 41, Alzahrani discloses:
an unmanned Wing In Ground Effect vessel (UWIG) with one or more storage compartments;
Alzahrani 0008 "Wing-in-Ground (WIG) effect bottom design provid[ing] high hydrodynamic performance [for] the multi-mode UA V while skimming and cruising over water surfaces." Alzahrani 0122 further discloses "a new way of using UA Vs for cargo and goods and delivery services from one location to another."
transporting cargo from local storage to said UWIG…; loading said cargo into the one or more UWIG storage compartments; taxiing said UWIG to a take-off location in open water; flying said UWIG in ground effect from said take-off location to an open water landing location; taxiing said UWIG from said open water landing location to a delivery location; unloading said cargo from said one or more UWIG storage compartments; and transporting cargo from said UWIG to local storage at said delivery location.
Because Alzahrani discloses an unmanned aerial vehicle for transporting goods, Alzahrani teaches or suggests the limitations of transporting cargo from local storage to said UWIG, loading said cargo into the one or more UWIG storage compartments, taxing said UWIG, flying said UWIF, and unloading said cargo. See Alzahrani 0122-0123, Fig. 29-30. In addition, Alzahrani, in paragraphs 0051, 0055, 0121-0123, teachers or suggest unmanned WIG vehicle for cargo delivery skimming, flying, landing on water.
Alzahrani does not disclose receiving an indication of an assignment of a new delivery by an unmanned vehicle, or initiation of actions based on said indication, which is taught by McAndrew. See McAndrew, in Paragraphs 0005, 0026, 0062, 0075, 0148-0149.
It would have been obvious for a skilled artisan to provide the indication of a new delivery, and initiation of the respective process, of McAndrew to the aerial vehicle of Alzahrani in order to provide a flight plan to Alzahrani' s unmanned vehicle to transport goods between locations.
Regarding Claim 42, the combination of Alzahrani and McAndrew disclose the limitations of claim 41. The combination of Alzahrani and McAndrew further discloses: before transporting cargo to said UWIG said method further comprising said UWIG: initiating a UWIG system power up responsive to said indication; conducting a pre-flight checklist; and whenever said results indicate checklist failure said UWIG: aborting delivery, and returning to a powered down state; otherwise initiating transporting and loading said cargo.
Because Alzahrani discloses an unmanned aerial vehicle for transporting goods, Alzahrani teaches or suggests the limitations of transporting cargo from local storage to said UWIG, loading said cargo into the one or more UWIG storage compartments, taxing said UWIG, flying said UWIF, and unloading said cargo. See Alzahrani 0122-0123.
Alzahrani does not explicitly disclose powering up conducting a pre-takeoff checklist and initiating actions responsive to results of said pre-takeoff checklist (e.g., checklist failure, as disclosed by Alzahrani, see at last 0062, 0115-0116), which is disclosed by McAndrew. See McAndrew, in Paragraphs 0005, 0026, 0062, 0075, 0148-0149.
It would have been obvious for a skilled artisan to provide the take-off checklist and execution of associated responses of McAndrew to the aerial vehicle of Alzahrani in order to provide ensure readiness for flight of Alzahrani' s unmanned vehicle in support of successful transport goods between locations.
Regarding Claim 45, the combination of Alzahrani and McAndrew disclose the limitations of claim 41. The combination of Alzahrani and McAndrew further discloses: before taxiing to said take-off location said method further comprising said UWIG: conducting a pre-takeoff checklist; and whenever said results indicate checklist failure: said UWIG aborts delivery, and returns to a local dock; otherwise initiating taxiing to said take-off location.
Because Alzahrani discloses an unmanned aerial vehicle for transporting goods, Alzahrani teaches or suggests the limitations of transporting cargo from local storage to said UWIG, loading said cargo into the one or more UWIG storage compartments, taxing said UWIG, flying said UWIF, and unloading said cargo. See Alzahrani 0122-0123.
McAndrew, as shown above, teaches or suggests conducting a pre-takeoff checklist and initiating actions (e.g., delivery process, as taught or suggested by Alzahrani, see claim 1) responsive to results of said pre-takeoff checklist, which is disclosed by McAndrew. See McAndrew, in Paragraphs 0005, 0026, 0036, 0062, 0075, 0083, 0093 0116 and 0148-0149, teaches or suggests implementing a flight plan or aborting a flight plan for an autonomous cargo plane after detecting an error/issue in order to make updates via communication links (which may be a tether)
Regarding Claim 47, the combination of Alzahrani and McAndrew disclose the limitations of claim 41. The combination of Alzahrani and McAndrew further discloses: wherein at said delivery location, said method further comprises said UWIG: taxiing to an unloading dock; and managing unloading said cargo.
Because Alzahrani discloses an unmanned aerial vehicle for transporting goods, Alzahrani teaches or suggests the limitations of transporting cargo from local storage to said UWIG, loading said cargo into the one or more UWIG storage compartments, taxing said UWIG, flying said UWIF, landing said UIF at a delivery location, and unloading said cargo. See Alzahrani 0122-0123, Fig. 29-30.
Regarding Claim 48, the combination of Alzahrani and McAndrew disclose the limitations of claim 47. The combination of Alzahrani and McAndrew further discloses: wherein after cargo is unloaded said method further comprising said UWIG returning to a powered down state.
Because Alzahrani discloses an unmanned aerial vehicle for transporting goods, Alzahrani teaches or suggests the limitations of transporting cargo from local storage to said UWIG, loading said cargo into the one or more UWIG storage compartments, taxing said UWIG, flying said UWIF, and unloading said cargo. See Alzahrani 0122-0123, Fig. 29-30.
McAndrew further discloses the command to return to a powered down state, see 0075 shutdown commands.
It would have been obvious for a skilled artisan at the time of filing to provide the shutdown command of McAndrew to the aerial vehicle of Alzahrani after transport and unloading of goods is complete.
Regarding Claim 49, the combination of Alzahrani and McAndrew disclose the limitations of claim 41. The combination of Alzahrani and McAndrew further discloses: wherein said UWIG is semi- autonomous.
McAndrew discloses that the aerial vehicle may operate manually or autonomous and that during either manual or autonomous flight, the FTCM may support maneuver constraints (i.e. semi-autonomous), see [0058].
It would have been obvious for a skilled artisan to enable semi-autonomous flight operability as in McAndrew to the aerial vehicle of Alzahrani in order to facilitate hand-off operations when the autonomous vehicle is incapable or completing an operation/function without intervention due to system failure, changes to environment, etc.
Regarding Claim 50, the combination of Alzahrani and McAndrew disclose the limitations of claim 49. The combination of Alzahrani and McAndrew further discloses: said indication of assignment and initiating transporting cargo is initiated at a remote-control location.
Because Alzahrani discloses an unmanned aerial vehicle for transporting goods, Alzahrani teaches or suggests the limitations of transporting cargo from local storage to said UWIG, loading said cargo into the one or more UWIG storage compartments, taxing said UWIG, flying said UWIF, and unloading said cargo. See Alzahrani 0122-0123. McAndrew further teaches or suggests the initiation of said flight plan by ground control via communication protocols. a See McAndrew, in Paragraphs 0005, 0026, 0062, 0075, 0148-0149.
Regarding Claim 51, the combination of Alzahrani and McAndrew disclose the limitations of claim 41. The combination of Alzahrani and McAndrew further discloses: wherein said UWIG is capable of fully autonomous operation.
Alzahrani, in paragraphs 0026, 0056, and 0063, teachers or suggests autonomous mission plans for the unmanned aircraft
Claim(s) 4, 32, 40, 43, and 44 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Alzahrani (US 20170369162) in view of McAndrew et al. (US 20130311009) and further in view of Costa (US 2009/0241797).
Regarding Claim 32, the combination of Alzahrani and McAndrew disclose the limitations of claim 1. The combination of Alzahrani and McAndrew further discloses: wherein transporting cargo from said local storage to said UWIG comprises: pre-loading cargo for assigned delivery into one or more … unit load devices; and moving said standard unit load devices from local storage to said UWIG, said standard unit load devices being loaded into said one or more UWIG storage compartments.
Because Alzahrani discloses an unmanned aerial vehicle for transporting goods, Alzahrani teaches or suggests the limitations of transporting cargo from local storage to said UWIG, and loading said cargo into the one or more UWIG storage compartments. See Alzahrani 0122-0123.
Alzaharani does not disclose the loading of cargo into IATA standard load devices, which is disclosed by Costa. See [0045], loading cargo into IATA standard containers.
It would have been obvious for a skilled artisan to utilize a IATA standard unit load device of Costa in the aerial vehicle of Alzahrani in order to provide adequate protection to the aircraft systems of Alzahrani' s unmanned vehicle into which the packages are loaded for delivery of contained goods.
Regarding Claim 4, the combination of Alzahrani and McAndrew disclose the limitations of claim 32. The combination of Alzahrani and McAndrew further discloses:
wherein upon arrival of said cargo at said UWIG, loading said cargo is managed from said UWIG.
Because Alzahrani discloses an unmanned aerial vehicle for transporting goods, Alzahrani teaches or suggests the limitations of transporting cargo from local storage to said UWIG, loading said cargo into the one or more UWIG storage compartments, taxing said UWIG, flying said UWIF, and unloading said cargo
Regarding Claim 40, the combination of Alzahrani and McAndrew disclose the limitations of claim 7. The combination of Alzahrani and McAndrew further discloses: wherein managing unloading said cargo comprises: unloading one or more … standard unit load devices from said UWIG; and moving said standard unit load devices from said UWIG to local storage.
Because Alzahrani discloses an unmanned aerial vehicle for transporting goods, Alzahrani teaches or suggests the limitations of transporting cargo from local storage to said UWIG, loading said cargo into the one or more UWIG storage compartments, taxing said UWIG, flying said UWIF, and unloading said cargo. See Alzahrani 0122-0123, Fig. 29-30. Alzaharani does not disclose the loading of cargo into IATA standard load devices, which is disclosed by Costa. See [0045], loading cargo into IATA standard containers.
It would have been obvious for a skilled artisan to utilize a IATA standard unit load device of Costa in the aerial vehicle of Alzahrani in order to provide adequate protection to the aircraft systems of Alzahrani' s unmanned vehicle into which the packages are loaded for delivery of contained goods.
Regarding Claim 43, the combination of Alzahrani and McAndrew disclose the limitations of claim 41. The combination of Alzahrani and McAndrew further discloses: wherein cargo for assigned delivery is pre-loaded into one or more … standard unit load devices and transporting cargo from said local storage to said UWIG comprises moving said standard unit load devices from local storage to said UWIG, said standard unit load devices being loaded into said one or more UWIG storage compartments.
Because Alzahrani discloses an unmanned aerial vehicle for transporting goods, Alzahrani teaches or suggests the limitations of transporting cargo from local storage to said UWIG, and loading said cargo into the one or more UWIG storage compartments. See Alzahrani 0122-0123.
Alzaharani does not disclose the loading of cargo into IATA standard load devices, which is disclosed by Costa. See [0045], loading cargo into IATA standard containers.
It would have been obvious for a skilled artisan to utilize a IATA standard unit load device of Costa in the aerial vehicle of Alzahrani in order to provide adequate protection to the aircraft systems of Alzahrani' s unmanned vehicle into which the packages are loaded for delivery of contained goods.
Regarding Claim 44, the combination of Alzahrani and McAndrew disclose the limitations of claim 43. The combination of Alzahrani and McAndrew further discloses: wherein upon arrival of said cargo at said UWIG, loading said cargo is managed from said UWIG.
Because Alzahrani discloses an unmanned aerial vehicle for transporting goods, Alzahrani teaches or suggests the limitations of transporting cargo from local storage to said UWIG, loading said cargo into the one or more UWIG storage compartments, taxing said UWIG, flying said UWIF, and unloading said cargo
Claim(s) 35 and 46 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Alzahrani (US 20170369162) in view of McAndrew et al. (US 20130311009) in view of Navot et al. (US 20160196755)
Regarding Claim 35, the combination of Alzahrani and McAndrew disclose the limitations of claim 34. The combination of Alzahrani and McAndrew further discloses:
wherein during flight between said take-off location and said delivery location said UWIG temporarily leaves ground effect for obstacle avoidance.
Alzahrani discloses that the unmanned aerial vehicle comprises a "Wing-in-Ground (WIG) effect bottom design provid[ing] high hydrodynamic performance [for] the multi-mode UA V while skimming and cruising over water surfaces," which means it flies below four hundred ninety two feet ( 492'). Because Alzahrani discloses an unmanned aerial vehicle for transporting goods, Alzahrani teaches or suggests the limitations of transporting cargo from local storage to said UWIG, loading said cargo into the one or more UWIG storage compartments, taxing said UWIG, flying said UWIF, and unloading said cargo. See Alzahrani 0122-0123. Alzahrni also discloses identifying an obstacle, see [0064], and the ability to operate at medium altitudes [0124], which suggests that ability to temporarily leave ground effect for obstacle avoidance. This concept is more explicitly disclosed by Navot. See Fig. 5 Element 506; Paragraphs [0049]-[0050] and [0057]-[0058], i.e. a vehicle using evasive maneuvers during ground effect flight to fly up and a void the obstacle.
It would have been obvious for a skilled artisan at the time of filing to apply the obstacle avoidance system of Navot in the aerial vehicle of Alzahrani in order to enable evasive maneuvers, including increasing altitude, when obstacles are detected.
Regarding Claim 46, the combination of Alzahrani and McAndrew disclose the limitations of claim 41. The combination of Alzahrani and McAndrew further discloses: wherein flight between said take- off location and said open water landing location is over a body of water, said UWIG temporarily leaving ground effect for obstacle avoidance. See rejection of analogous claim 35 above.
Claim(s) 52-54 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Alzahrani (US 20170369162) in view of McAndrew et al. (US 20130311009) in view of Costa (US 2009/0241797) and further in view of Navot et al. (US 20160196755).
Regarding claim 52, Alzahrani discloses:
A method of transporting cargo, said method comprising:
… an unmanned Wing In Ground Effect vessel (UWIG) with one or more storage compartments;
Alzahrani 0008 "Wing-in-Ground (WIG) effect bottom design provid[ing] high hydrodynamic performance [for] the multi-mode UA V while skimming and cruising over water surfaces." Alzahrani 0122 further discloses "a new way of using UA Vs for cargo and goods and delivery services from one location to another."
…
transporting cargo pre-loaded … from local storage to said UWIG; loading said standard unit load devices into the one or more UWIG storage compartments, said UWIG managing said loading; taxiing said UWIG to an open water take-off location; flying said UWIG in ground effect from said take-off location to an open water landing location, …; taxiing said UWIG from said open water landing location to a delivery location; unloading said cargo from said one or more UWIG storage compartments, said UWIG managing said unloading; and transporting cargo from said UWIG to local storage at said delivery location.
Because Alzahrani discloses an unmanned aerial vehicle for transporting goods, Alzahrani teaches or suggests the limitations of transporting cargo from local storage to said UWIG, loading said cargo into the one or more UWIG storage compartments, taxing said UWIG, flying said UWIF, and unloading said cargo. See Alzahrani 0122-0123, Fig. 29-30.
Alzahrani does not disclose receiving an indication of an assignment of a new delivery by an unmanned vehicle which is taught by McAndrew. See McAndrew 0005, 0026
It would have been obvious for a skilled artisan to provide the indication of a new delivery of McAndrew to the aerial vehicle of Alzahrani in order to provide a flight plan to Alzahrani' s unmanned vehicle to transport goods between locations.
Alzahrani also does not explicitly disclose powering up, conducting a pre-takeoff checklist and initiating actions and whenever said results indicate checklist failure said UWIG: aborting delivery, and returning to a powered down state, conducting a pre-takeoff checklist; and whenever said results indicate checklist failure: said UWIG aborts delivery, and returns to a local dock, which are functions taught or suggested by McAndrew. See McAndrew, in Paragraphs 0005, 0026, 0062, 0075, 0148-0149, teaches or suggests implementing a flight plan (powering up) or aborting a flight plan (a powered down state) for an autonomous cargo plane after detecting an error/issue in order to make updates via communication links (which may be a tether).
The combination of Alzahrani and McAndrew do not teach the user of one or more International Air Transport Association (IATA) standard unit load devices, which is disclosed by Costa. See [0045], loading cargo into IATA standard containers.
It would have been obvious for a skilled artisan to utilize a IATA standard unit load device of Costa in the aerial vehicle of Alzahrani in order to provide adequate protection to the aircraft systems of Alzahrani' s unmanned vehicle into which the packages are loaded for delivery of contained goods.
Alzahrni also discloses obstacle detection, see [0064], and the ability to operate at medium altitudes [0124], which suggests that ability to temporarily leave ground effect for obstacle avoidance. This concept is more explicitly disclosed by Navot. See Fig. 5 Element 506; Paragraphs [0049]-[0050] and [0057]-[0058], i.e. a vehicle using evasive maneuvers during ground effect flight to fly up and a void the obstacle.
It would have been obvious for a skilled artisan at the time of filing to apply the obstacle avoidance system of Navot in the aerial vehicle of Alzahrani in order to enable evasive maneuvers, including increasing altitude, when obstacles are detected.
Regarding claim 53, the combination of Alzahrani, McAndrew, Costa, and Navot disclose the limitations of claim 52. The combination of Alzahrani, McAndrew, Costa, and Navot further discloses: wherein said UWIG is semi-autonomous, flight between said take-off location and said open water landing location is over a body of water, and said indication of assignment and initiating transporting and loading cargo is initiated at a remote-control location.
Alzahrani, in paragraphs 0051, 0055, 0121-0123, teachers or suggest unmanned WIG vehicle for cargo delivery skimming, flying, landing on water. Because Alzahrani discloses an unmanned aerial vehicle for transporting goods, Alzahrani also teaches or suggests the limitations of transporting cargo from local storage to said UWIG, loading said cargo into the one or more UWIG storage compartments, taxing said UWIG, flying said UWIF, and unloading said cargo. McAndrew discloses the initiation of said flight plan by ground control (a remote location) via communication protocols. a See McAndrew, in Paragraphs 0005, 0026, 0062, 0075, 0148-0149. McAndrew also discloses that the aerial vehicle may operate manually or autonomous and that during either manual or autonomous flight, the FTCM may support maneuver constraints (i.e. semi-autonomous), see [0058].
It would have been obvious for a skilled artisan to enable semi-autonomous flight operability as in McAndrew to the aerial vehicle of Alzahrani in order to facilitate hand-off operations when the autonomous vehicle is incapable or completing an operation/function without intervention due to system failure, changes to environment, etc.
Regarding claim 54, the combination of Alzahrani, McAndrew, Costa, and Navot disclose the limitations of claim 52. The combination of Alzahrani, McAndrew, Costa, and Navot further discloses: wherein said UWIG is operating fully autonomously, and after cargo is unloaded said method further comprising said UWIG returning to a powered down state.
Alzahrani, in paragraphs 0026, 0056, and 0063, teachers or suggests autonomous mission plans for the unmanned aircraft. Because Alzahrani discloses an unmanned aerial vehicle for transporting goods, Alzahrani teaches or suggests the limitations of transporting cargo from local storage to said UWIG, loading said cargo into the one or more UWIG storage compartments, taxing said UWIG, flying said UWIF, and unloading said cargo. See Alzahrani 0122-0123, Fig. 29-30..
McAndrew further teaches or suggets the command to return to a powered down state, see 0075 shutdown commands.
It would have been obvious for a skilled artisan at the time of filing to provide the shutdown command of McAndrew to the aerial vehicle of Alzahrani after transport and unloading of goods is complete.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ABBY J FLYNN/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3663