DETAILED ACTION
Claims 2-20 and 52 are pending in this application.
Examiner's Remark
The broadest reasonable interpretation of a method (or process) independent claims 2 and 52 having contingent limitations requires only those steps that must be performed and does not include steps that are not required to be performed because the condition(s) precedent are not met. For example, assume a method claim requires step A if a first condition happens and step B if a second condition happens. If the claimed invention may be practiced without either the first or second condition happening, then neither step A or B is required by the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim. If the claimed invention requires the first condition to occur, then the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim requires step A. If the claimed invention requires both the first and second conditions to occur, then the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim requires both steps A and B (See MPEP 2111.04). The “determination step" of independent claims 2 and 52 recites different action that result from mutually exclusive conditions with respect to the threshold value which renders the claims contingent.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
This Office Action is in response to applicant’s communication filed on October 27th, 2025. The applicant’s remark and amendments to the claims were considered with the results that follow.
In response to the last Office Action, Claims 2, 4, 5, 12, 14, and 15 are amended. Claim 1 has been canceled. Claim 52 has been added. As a result, claims 2-20 and 52 are pending in this application.
Applicant’s argument filed on October 27th, 2025, with respects to claims 1-20 being rejected under 35 U.S.C 101 as being non-statutory subject matter because the claim(s) as a whole are not significantly more than the abstract idea have overcome the rejection. The rejection has been withdrawn in view of the amendments and arguments filed on October 27th, 2025.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to 35 USC 101 rejection have been considered and rejection has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, see pg. 12-13, filed on October 27th, 2025, with respect to the rejections of claims 2, 12, and 52 under 35 U.S.C 103 have been fully considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection necessitated by applicants amendments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 12, and 52 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over K.R Patent Application Publication 2014/0098597 issued to KIM et al. (hereinafter as "KIM") in view of WO International Patent Publication 2015/134739 issued to KAGAN et al. (hereinafter as "KAGAN") in further view of U.S Patent 9,357,250 issued to Newman et al. (hereinafter as "Newman").
Regarding claim 2, KIM teaches a method for determining one or more user devices suitable for displaying media assets matching a search query (KIM: [0197]; In addition, rather than simply duplicating the same or prioritized content, the search results are provided in a plurality of pages based primarily on time, importance, or match, similarity, or interest for a search term. The page may be more important and the similarity corresponding to the search word may be high. [0261]; digital device (s) paired due to the limitation of display size, resolution, etc.), comprising: receiving, at a first user device, a search query from a user (KIM: [0035]; An embodiment of a service system for providing a smart search service described in this specification includes a digital device that pairs with at least one server, receives a user's search word, and obtains a first search result based on a first search engine);
transmitting the search query to a database (KIM: [0035]; An embodiment of a service system for providing a smart search service described in this specification includes a digital device that pairs with at least one server, receives a user's search word, and obtains a first search result based on a first search engine);
receiving, from the database, search result information regarding media assets matching the search query, wherein the search result information includes a single set of non-duplicative entries for the media assets matching the search query (KIM: [0197]; In addition, rather than simply duplicating the same or prioritized content, the search results are provided in a plurality of pages based primarily on time, importance, or match, similarity, or interest for a search term. The page may be more important and the similarity corresponding to the search word may be high);
KIM does not explicitly teach determining a display resolution of the first user device.
However, KAGAN teaches determining a display resolution of the first user device (KAGAN:[0064]; the formatting data may specify to the searching device how to display (e.g., render using particular content, dimensions, resolution, and relative proportions) one or more of the search results on the searching device. [0073]; the user would like to view the selected result on a larger screen, assuming that the searching device (e.g., a smart watch) has a relatively limited display screen size and that the performing device (e.g., a smartphone, or a tablet) has a relatively larger display screen size. [0079]; A result object may also include formatting data (e.g., instructions) that defines how to render a displayed result…the formatting data that defines how to render the displayed result may be device-specific data that indicates different formatting and arrangement depending on display capabilities of the searching device {Examiner interprets determining a display resolution by determining how to format the data to the specific device by obtaining the dimensions and resolution to help format the search results to display the results on the device});
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify KIM (teaches searching for media assets matching the search query, each of the media assets matching the search query corresponding to a media entry in a single set of non-duplicative media entries and the media entries corresponding to the media assets displayed on the second user device are not the same media entries as the media entries corresponding to the media assets displayed on the first user device) with the teachings of KAGAN (teaches determining a display resolution of the first user device). One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a combination of providing better results in formatting data in such the results are formatted to be suitable based on the display capability
(See KAGAN: [0079]). In addition, the references (KIM and KAGAN) teach features that are directed to analogous art and they are directed to the same field of endeavor as KIM and KAGAN are directed to matching search queries and determining a condition on the results to locate relevant results.
The modification of KIM and KAGAN teaches claimed invention substantially as claimed, however the modification of KIM and KAGAN does not explicitly teach determining whether a number of the media assets matching the search query exceeds a threshold number of media assets, wherein the threshold number of media assets is based on thedetermined display resolution of the first user device; selecting a first subset of the media assets matching the search query and not exceeding the threshold number of media assets based on determining that the number of the media assets matching the search query exceeds the threshold that is based on the determined display resolution of the first user device; automatically pushing and populating a second subset of at a second user device without input selecting the second subset based on determining that the number of the media assets matching the search query exceeds the threshold that is based on the determined display resolution of the first user device, wherein the entries corresponding to the second subset of the media assets are not the same entries as the entries corresponding to the first subset of the media assets; generating for display, on the first user device, the first subset of the media assets.
However, Newman teaches determining whether a number of the media assets matching the search query exceeds a threshold number of media assets (Newman: Col 7, lines 20-23; As the user is typing the search term, the search term may be sent to the cloud 40, which is representative of the internet and/or a database repository of media content, videos, movies, TV shows, etc. Col 7, lines 37-40; The query results may also be sent to secondary device 20, and these query results may be displayed in a layout format suitable to the user interface of the display of secondary device. Col 8, lines 1-2; The display of primary device 30 may also show search results from the same search query that was entered in FIG. 2. Col 9, lines 22-26; However, in other cases, the specific listing desired by the viewer may be in the view on primary device 30 but not in the view of secondary device 20 due to the size difference between the screens and fewer results being displayed on secondary device 20 {Examiner correlates the threshold of the number of media assets based on the size difference and layout of the display device, where the secondary device is smaller thus hold a limit amount of results}), wherein the threshold number of media assets is based on thedetermined display resolution of the first user device (Newman: Col 7, lines 37-40; The query results may also be sent to secondary device 20, and these query results may be displayed in a layout format suitable to the user interface of the display of secondary device. Col 9, lines 22-26; However, in other cases, the specific listing desired by the viewer may be in the view on primary device 30 but not in the view of secondary device 20 due to the size difference between the screens and fewer results being displayed on secondary device 20 {Examiner correlates the results being selected not exceeding the threshold associated to the layout format of the device associated to the number of items displayed in the given layout of the device tied to the resolution of the device});
selecting a first subset of the media assets matching the search query and not exceeding the threshold number of media assets based on determining that the number of the media assets matching the search query exceeds the threshold that is based on the determined display resolution of the first user device (Newman: Col 7, lines 20-23; As the user is typing the search term, the search term may be sent to the cloud 40, which is representative of the internet and/or a database repository of media content, videos, movies, TV shows, etc. Col 7, lines 37-40; The query results may also be sent to secondary device 20, and these query results may be displayed in a layout format suitable to the user interface of the display of secondary device. Col 9, lines 22-26; However, in other cases, the specific listing desired by the viewer may be in the view on primary device 30 but not in the view of secondary device 20 due to the size difference between the screens and fewer results being displayed on secondary device 20 {Examiner correlates the results being selected not exceeding the threshold associated to the layout format of the device associated to the number of items displayed in the given layout of the device tied to the resolution of the device. Thus the smaller device holds a smaller amount which contains the first sets of results});
automatically pushing and populating a second subset of at a second user device without input selecting the second subset based on determining that the number of the media assets matching the search query exceeds the threshold that is based on the determined display resolution of the first user devicThe results from the search query may be conveyed back to primary device 30, and these results may be displayed in a layout format suitable to the user interface of the display of primary device 30. The query results may also be sent to secondary device 20, and these query results may be displayed in a layout format suitable to the user interface of the display of secondary device 20. Col 9, lines 22-26; However, in other cases, the specific listing desired by the viewer may be in the view on primary device 30 but not in the view of secondary device 20 due to the size difference between the screens and fewer results being displayed on secondary device 20. Col 9, lines 31-36; If a viewer wants to see more information regarding the fifth listed result, which is not currently shown on secondary device 20, the user of secondary device 20 may scroll down in the results, causing the results to shift up and the fifth result to appear while the first result is rotated off the screen. Col 9, lines 56-58; As a result, a navigation push command with the configuration data for this search result may be sent to primary device 30.
Col 11, lines 21-23; discussion that navigation state stack 60 is the current stack for a device (primary or secondary). The current navigation state status of stack 60 is displaying search results. Col 11, lines 28- 34; a navigation push command will be generated, and navigation state stack 62 represents this scenario. In this scenario, the status of stack 62. The device which generated the navigation push may send the navigation push to all other synchronized devices, which will update the navigation state stacks of these devices {Examiner correlates that when a navigation state displays the search results. This navigation push is updated to the other stack of the devices which automatically populates the other devices with search results. However note that the secondary device may be smaller in such when the results are push the format of the display of the second device has a threshold based on the display resolution and configuration data. Pushing that data to the other devices where the primary device may have a bigger screen would handle the larger display result}), wherein
the entries corresponding to the second subset of the media assets are not the same entries as the entries corresponding to the first subset of the media assets (Newman: Col 8, lines 3-8; The search results shown on primary device 30 do not exactly match the search results shown on secondary device 20, but the three search results shown on primary device 30 correspond to those shown on secondary device 20. Additionally, the specific layout format of primary device 30 may show different information. Col 9, lines 22-26; However, in other cases, the specific listing desired by the viewer may be in the view on primary device 30 but not in the view of secondary device 20 due to the size difference between the screens and fewer results being displayed on secondary device 20);
generating for display, on the first user device, the first subset of the media assets (Newman: Col 7, lines 37-40; The query results may also be sent to secondary device 20, and these query results may be displayed in a layout format suitable to the user interface of the display of secondary device. Col 9, lines 22-26; However, in other cases, the specific listing desired by the viewer may be in the view on primary device 30 but not in the view of secondary device 20 due to the size difference between the screens and fewer results being displayed on secondary device 20 {Examiner correlates the first user device as the secondary device which is the smaller device with smaller capacity in holding the first set of results}).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify KIM (teaches searching for media assets matching the search query, each of the media assets matching the search query corresponding to a media entry in a single set of non-duplicative media entries and the media entries corresponding to the media assets displayed on the second user device are not the same media entries as the media entries corresponding to the media assets displayed on the first user device) with the teachings of KAGAN (teaches determining a display resolution of the first user device) with the further teachings of Newman (teaches determining whether a number of the media assets matching the search query exceeds a threshold number of media assets…selecting the second subset based on determining that the number of the media assets matching the search query exceeds the threshold that is based on the determined display resolution of the first user device…). One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a combination of providing better results in formatting data in such the results are formatted to be suitable based on the display capability (See Newman: Col 6, lines 42-44). In addition, the references (KIM, KAGAN, and Newman) teach features that are directed to analogous art and they are directed to the same field of endeavor as KIM, KAGAN, and Newman are directed to matching search queries and determining a condition on the results to locate relevant results.
Regarding claim 12, KIM teaches a system for determining one or more user devices suitable for displaying media assets matching a search query (KIM: [0197]; In addition, rather than simply duplicating the same or prioritized content, the search results are provided in a plurality of pages based primarily on time, importance, or match, similarity, or interest for a search term. The page may be more important and the similarity corresponding to the search word may be high. [0261]; digital device (s) paired due to the limitation of display size, resolution, etc), comprising: a first user device (KIM:[0025]; As used herein, the term & quot; digital device & quot; includes all electronic devices capable of performing at least one of, for example, transmitting, receiving, processing and outputting data. To this end, digital devices are paired or connected (hereinafter referred to as ‘pairing’) with other digital devices through a wired / wireless network to transmit and receive data);
a second user device (KIM: [0025]; As used herein, the term & quot; digital device & quot; includes all electronic devices capable of performing at least one of, for example, transmitting, receiving, processing and outputting data. To this end, digital devices are paired or connected (hereinafter referred to as ‘pairing’) with other digital devices through a wired / wireless network to transmit and receive data);
a memory (KIM: [0065]; The mobile device 300 includes a wireless communication unit 310, an A / V input unit 320, a user input unit 330, a sensing unit 340, an output unit 350, a memory 360);
control circuitry configured to: receive, at the first user device, a search query from a user (KIM: [0035]; An embodiment of a service system for providing a smart search service described in this specification includes a digital device that pairs with at least one server, receives a user’s search word, and obtains a first search result based on a first search engine. [0196]-[0197]; a search page provided by the search engines based on search results performed through different search engines in each digital device.In addition, rather than simply duplicating the same or prioritized content, the search results are provided in a plurality of pages based primarily on time, importance, or match, similarity, or interest for a search term);
transmit the search query to a database(KIM:[0035]; An embodiment of a service system for providing a smart search service described in this specification includes a digital device that pairs with at least one server, receives a user’s search word, and obtains a first search result based on a first search engine);
receive, from the database, search result information regarding media assets matching the search query, wherein the search result information includes a single set of non- duplicative entries for the media assets matching the search query (KIM: [0197]; In addition, rather than simply duplicating the same or prioritized content, the search results are provided in a plurality of pages based primarily on time, importance, or match, similarity, or interest for a search term. The page may be more important and the similarity corresponding to the search word may be high);
KIM does not explicitly teach determine a display resolution of the first user device.
However, KAGAN teaches determine a display resolution of the first user device (KAGAN:[0064]; the formatting data may specify to the searching device how to display (e.g., render using particular content, dimensions, resolution, and relative proportions) one or more of the search results on the searching device. [0073]; the user would like to view the selected result on a larger screen, assuming that the searching device (e.g., a smart watch) has a relatively limited display screen size and that the performing device (e.g., a smartphone, or a tablet) has a relatively larger display screen size. [0079]; A result object may also include formatting data (e.g., instructions) that defines how to render a displayed result…the formatting data that defines how to render the displayed result may be device-specific data that indicates different formatting and arrangement depending on display capabilities of the searching device {Examiner interprets determining a display resolution by determining how to format the data to the specific device by obtaining the dimensions and resolution to help format the search results to display the results on the device});
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify KIM (teaches searching for media assets matching the search query, each of the media assets matching the search query corresponding to a media entry in a single set of non-duplicative media entries and the media entries corresponding to the media assets displayed on the second user device are not the same media entries as the media entries corresponding to the media assets displayed on the first user device) with the teachings of KAGAN (teaches determining a display resolution of the first user device). One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a combination of providing better results in formatting data in such the results are formatted to be suitable based on the display capability
(See KAGAN: [0079]). In addition, the references (KIM and KAGAN) teach features that are directed to analogous art and they are directed to the same field of endeavor as KIM and KAGAN are directed to matching search queries and determining a condition on the results to locate relevant results.
The modification of KIM and KAGAN teaches claimed invention substantially as claimed, however the modification of KIM and KAGAN does not explicitly teach determining whether a number of the media assets matching the search query exceeds a threshold number of media assets, wherein the threshold number of media assets is based on thedetermined display resolution of the first user device; selecting a first subset of the media assets matching the search query and not exceeding the threshold number of media assets based on determining that the number of the media assets matching the search query exceeds the threshold that is based on the determined display resolution of the first user device; automatically pushing and populating a second subset of at a second user device without input selecting the second subset based on determining that the number of the media assets matching the search query exceeds the threshold that is based on the determined display resolution of the first user device, wherein the entries corresponding to the second subset of the media assets are not the same entries as the entries corresponding to the first subset of the media assets; generating for display, on the first user device, the first subset of the media assets.
However, Newman teaches determine whether a number of the media assets matching the search query exceeds a threshold number of media assets (Newman: Col 7, lines 20-23; As the user is typing the search term, the search term may be sent to the cloud 40, which is representative of the internet and/or a database repository of media content, videos, movies, TV shows, etc. Col 7, lines 37-40; The query results may also be sent to secondary device 20, and these query results may be displayed in a layout format suitable to the user interface of the display of secondary device. Col 8, lines 1-2; The display of primary device 30 may also show search results from the same search query that was entered in FIG. 2. Col 9, lines 22-26; However, in other cases, the specific listing desired by the viewer may be in the view on primary device 30 but not in the view of secondary device 20 due to the size difference between the screens and fewer results being displayed on secondary device 20 {Examiner correlates the threshold of the number of media assets based on the size difference and layout of the display device, where the secondary device is smaller thus hold a limit amount of results}), wherein
the threshold number of media assets is based on the determined display resolution of the first user device (Newman: Col 7, lines 37-40; The query results may also be sent to secondary device 20, and these query results may be displayed in a layout format suitable to the user interface of the display of secondary device. Col 9, lines 22-26; However, in other cases, the specific listing desired by the viewer may be in the view on primary device 30 but not in the view of secondary device 20 due to the size difference between the screens and fewer results being displayed on secondary device 20 {Examiner correlates the results being selected not exceeding the threshold associated to the layout format of the device associated to the number of items displayed in the given layout of the device tied to the resolution of the device});
select a first subset of the media assets matching the search query and not exceeding the threshold number of media assets based on determining that the number of the media assets matching the search query exceeds the threshold that is based on the determined display resolution of the first user device (Newman: Col 7, lines 20-23; As the user is typing the search term, the search term may be sent to the cloud 40, which is representative of the internet and/or a database repository of media content, videos, movies, TV shows, etc. Col 7, lines 37-40; The query results may also be sent to secondary device 20, and these query results may be displayed in a layout format suitable to the user interface of the display of secondary device. Col 9, lines 22-26; However, in other cases, the specific listing desired by the viewer may be in the view on primary device 30 but not in the view of secondary device 20 due to the size difference between the screens and fewer results being displayed on secondary device 20 {Examiner correlates the results being selected not exceeding the threshold associated to the layout format of the device associated to the number of items displayed in the given layout of the device tied to the resolution of the device. Thus the smaller device holds a smaller amount which contains the first sets of results});
automatically push and populate a second subset of at a second user device without input selecting the second subset based on determining that the number of the media assets matching the search query exceeds the threshold that is based on the determined display resolution of the first user device (Newman: Col 7, lines 34-40; The results from the search query may be conveyed back to primary device 30, and these results may be displayed in a layout format suitable to the user interface of the display of primary device 30. The query results may also be sent to secondary device 20, and these query results may be displayed in a layout format suitable to the user interface of the display of secondary device 20. Col 9, lines 22-26; However, in other cases, the specific listing desired by the viewer may be in the view on primary device 30 but not in the view of secondary device 20 due to the size difference between the screens and fewer results being displayed on secondary device 20. Col 9, lines 31-36; If a viewer wants to see more information regarding the fifth listed result, which is not currently shown on secondary device 20, the user of secondary device 20 may scroll down in the results, causing the results to shift up and the fifth result to appear while the first result is rotated off the screen. Col 9, lines 56-58; As a result, a navigation push command with the configuration data for this search result may be sent to primary device 30.
Col 11, lines 21-23; discussion that navigation state stack 60 is the current stack for a device (primary or secondary). The current navigation state status of stack 60 is displaying search results. Col 11, lines 28- 34; a navigation push command will be generated, and navigation state stack 62 represents this scenario. In this scenario, the status of stack 62. The device which generated the navigation push may send the navigation push to all other synchronized devices, which will update the navigation state stacks of these devices {Examiner correlates that when a navigation state displays the search results. This navigation push is updated to the other stack of the devices which automatically populates the other devices with search results. However note that the secondary device may be smaller in such when the results are push the format of the display of the second device has a threshold based on the display resolution and configuration data. Pushing that data to the other devices where the primary device may have a bigger screen would handle the larger display result}), wherein
the entries corresponding to the second subset of the media assets are not the same entries as the entries corresponding to the media assets selected in the first subset of the media assets (Newman: Col 8, lines 3-8; The search results shown on primary device 30 do not exactly match the search results shown on secondary device 20, but the three search results shown on primary device 30 correspond to those shown on secondary device 20. Additionally, the specific layout format of primary device 30 may show different information. Col 9, lines 22-26; However, in other cases, the specific listing desired by the viewer may be in the view on primary device 30 but not in the view of secondary device 20 due to the size difference between the screens and fewer results being displayed on secondary device 20);
generate for display, on the first user device, the first subset of the media assets (Newman: Col 7, lines 37-40; The query results may also be sent to secondary device 20, and these query results may be displayed in a layout format suitable to the user interface of the display of secondary device. Col 9, lines 22-26; However, in other cases, the specific listing desired by the viewer may be in the view on primary device 30 but not in the view of secondary device 20 due to the size difference between the screens and fewer results being displayed on secondary device 20 {Examiner correlates the first user device as the secondary device which is the smaller device with smaller capacity in holding the first set of results});
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify KIM (teaches searching for media assets matching the search query, each of the media assets matching the search query corresponding to a media entry in a single set of non-duplicative media entries and the media entries corresponding to the media assets displayed on the second user device are not the same media entries as the media entries corresponding to the media assets displayed on the first user device) with the teachings of KAGAN (teaches determining a display resolution of the first user device) with the further teachings of Newman (teaches determining whether a number of the media assets matching the search query exceeds a threshold number of media assets…selecting the second subset based on determining that the number of the media assets matching the search query exceeds the threshold that is based on the determined display resolution of the first user device…). One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a combination of providing better results in formatting data in such the results are formatted to be suitable based on the display capability (See Newman: Col 6, lines 42-44). In addition, the references (KIM, KAGAN, and Newman) teach features that are directed to analogous art and they are directed to the same field of endeavor as KIM, KAGAN, and Newman are directed to matching search queries and determining a condition on the results to locate relevant results
Regarding claim 52, KIM teaches a method for determining one or more user devices suitable for displaying media assets matching a search query (KIM: [0197]; In addition, rather than simply duplicating the same or prioritized content, the search results are provided in a plurality of pages based primarily on time, importance, or match, similarity, or interest for a search term. The page may be more important and the similarity corresponding to the search word may be high. [0261]; digital device (s) paired due to the limitation of display size, resolution, etc), comprising: receiving, at a first user device, a search query from a user (KIM: [0035]; An embodiment of a service system for providing a smart search service described in this specification includes a digital device that pairs with at least one server, receives a user's search word, and obtains a first search result based on a first search engine);
searching for media assets matching the search query, each of the media assets matching the search query corresponding to a media entry in a single set of non-duplicative media entries (KIM: [0197]; In addition, rather than simply duplicating the same or prioritized content, the search results are provided in a plurality of pages based primarily on time, importance, or match, similarity, or interest for a search term. The page may be more important and the similarity corresponding to the search word may be high);
KIM does not explicitly teach determining a display capacity of the first user device.
However, KAGAN teaches determining a display capacity of the first user device (KAGAN:[0064]; the formatting data may specify to the searching device how to display (e.g., render using particular content, dimensions, resolution, and relative proportions) one or more of the search results on the searching device. [0073]; the user would like to view the selected result on a larger screen, assuming that the searching device (e.g., a smart watch) has a relatively limited display screen size and that the performing device (e.g., a smartphone, or a tablet) has a relatively larger display screen size. [0079]; A result object may also include formatting data (e.g., instructions) that defines how to render a displayed result…the formatting data that defines how to render the displayed result may be device-specific data that indicates different formatting and arrangement depending on display capabilities of the searching device {Examiner interprets determining a display resolution by determining how to format the data to the specific device by obtaining the dimensions and resolution to help format the search results to display the results on the device});
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify KIM (teaches searching for media assets matching the search query, each of the media assets matching the search query corresponding to a media entry in a single set of non-duplicative media entries and the media entries corresponding to the media assets displayed on the second user device are not the same media entries as the media entries corresponding to the media assets displayed on the first user device) with the teachings of KAGAN (teaches determining a display resolution of the first user device). One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a combination of providing better results in formatting data in such the results are formatted to be suitable based on the display capability
(See KAGAN: [0079]). In addition, the references (KIM and KAGAN) teach features that are directed to analogous art and they are directed to the same field of endeavor as KIM and KAGAN are directed to matching search queries and determining a condition on the results to locate relevant results.
The modification of KIM and KAGAN teaches claimed invention substantially as claimed, however the modification of KIM and KAGAN does not explicitly teach determining whether a number of the media assets matching the search query exceeds a threshold number of media assets, wherein the threshold number of media assets is based on thedetermined display resolution of the first user device; selecting a first subset of the media assets matching the search query and not exceeding the threshold number of media assets based on determining that the number of the media assets matching the search query exceeds the threshold that is based on the determined display resolution of the first user device; automatically pushing and populating a second subset of at a second user device without input selecting the second subset based on determining that the number of the media assets matching the search query exceeds the threshold that is based on the determined display resolution of the first user device, wherein the entries corresponding to the second subset of the media assets are not the same entries as the entries corresponding to the first subset of the media assets; generating for display, on the first user device, the first subset of the media assets.
However, Newman teaches determining whether a number of the media assets matching the search query exceeds a threshold number of media assets (Newman: Col 7, lines 20-23; As the user is typing the search term, the search term may be sent to the cloud 40, which is representative of the internet and/or a database repository of media content, videos, movies, TV shows, etc. Col 7, lines 37-40; The query results may also be sent to secondary device 20, and these query results may be displayed in a layout format suitable to the user interface of the display of secondary device. Col 8, lines 1-2; The display of primary device 30 may also show search results from the same search query that was entered in FIG. 2. Col 9, lines 22-26; However, in other cases, the specific listing desired by the viewer may be in the view on primary device 30 but not in the view of secondary device 20 due to the size difference between the screens and fewer results being displayed on secondary device 20), wherein
the threshold number of media assets is based on the determined display capacity of the first user device (Newman: Col 7, lines 37-40; The query results may also be sent to secondary device 20, and these query results may be displayed in a layout format suitable to the user interface of the display of secondary device. Col 9, lines 22-26; However, in other cases, the specific listing desired by the viewer may be in the view on primary device 30 but not in the view of secondary device 20 due to the size difference between the screens and fewer results being displayed on secondary device 20 {Examiner correlates the results being selected not exceeding the threshold associated to the layout format of the device associated to the number of items displayed in the given layout of the device tied to the resolution of the device});
selecting a first subset of the media assets matching the search query and not exceeding the threshold number of media assets based on determining that the number of the media assets matching the search query exceeds the threshold that is based on the determined display capacity of the first user device (Newman: Col 7, lines 20-23; As the user is typing the search term, the search term may be sent to the cloud 40, which is representative of the internet and/or a database repository of media content, videos, movies, TV shows, etc. Col 7, lines 37-40; The query results may also be sent to secondary device 20, and these query results may be displayed in a layout format suitable to the user interface of the display of secondary device. Col 9, lines 22-26; However, in other cases, the specific listing desired by the viewer may be in the view on primary device 30 but not in the view of secondary device 20 due to the size difference between the screens and fewer results being displayed on secondary device 20 {Examiner correlates the results being selected not exceeding the threshold associated to the layout format of the device associated to the number of items displayed in the given layout of the device tied to the resolution of the device});
automatically pushing and populating a second subset of media assets matching the search query at a second user device without input selecting the second subset based on determining that the number of the media assets matching the search query exceeds the threshold that is based on the determined display capacity of the first user device (Newman: Col 7, lines 34-40; The results from the search query may be conveyed back to primary device 30, and these results may be displayed in a layout format suitable to the user interface of the display of primary device 30. The query results may also be sent to secondary device 20, and these query results may be displayed in a layout format suitable to the user interface of the display of secondary device 20. Col 9, lines 22-26; However, in other cases, the specific listing desired by the viewer may be in the view on primary device 30 but not in the view of secondary device 20 due to the size difference between the screens and fewer results being displayed on secondary device 20. Col 9, lines 31-36; If a viewer wants to see more information regarding the fifth listed result, which is not currently shown on secondary device 20, the user of secondary device 20 may scroll down in the results, causing the results to shift up and the fifth result to appear while the first result is rotated off the screen. Col 9, lines 56-58; As a result, a navigation push command with the configuration data for this search result may be sent to primary device 30.
Col 11, lines 21-23; discussion that navigation state stack 60 is the current stack for a device (primary or secondary). The current navigation state status of stack 60 is displaying search results. Col 11, lines 28- 34; a navigation push command will be generated, and navigation state stack 62 represents this scenario. In this scenario, the status of stack 62. The device which generated the navigation push may send the navigation push to all other synchronized devices, which will update the navigation state stacks of these devices {Examiner correlates that when a navigation state displays the search results. This navigation push is updated to the other stack of the devices which automatically populates the other devices with search results. However note that the secondary device may be smaller in such when the results are push the format of the display of the second device has a threshold based on the display resolution and configuration data. Pushing that data to the other devices where the primary device may have a bigger screen would handle the larger display result}), wherein
the media entries corresponding to the second subset of the media assets are not the same media entries as the media entries corresponding to the first subset of the media assets (Newman: Col 8, lines 3-8; The search results shown on primary device 30 do not exactly match the search results shown on secondary device 20, but the three search results shown on primary device 30 correspond to those shown on secondary device 20. Additionally, the specific layout format of primary device 30 may show different information. Col 9, lines 22-26; However, in other cases, the specific listing desired by the viewer may be in the view on primary device 30 but not in the view of secondary device 20 due to the size difference between the screens and fewer results being displayed on secondary device 20);
generating for display, on the first user device, the first subset of the media assets (Newman: Col 7, lines 37-40; The query results may also be sent to secondary device 20, and these query results may be displayed in a layout format suitable to the user interface of the display of secondary device. Col 9, lines 22-26; However, in other cases, the specific listing desired by the viewer may be in the view on primary device 30 but not in the view of secondary device 20 due to the size difference between the screens and fewer results being displayed on secondary device 20).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify KIM (teaches searching for media assets matching the search query, each of the media assets matching the search query corresponding to a media entry in a single set of non-duplicative media entries and the media entries corresponding to the media assets displayed on the second user device are not the same media entries as the media entries corresponding to the media assets displayed on the first user device) with the teachings of KAGAN (teaches determining a display resolution of the first user device) with the further teachings of Newman (teaches determining whether a number of the media assets matching the search query exceeds a threshold number of media assets…selecting the second subset based on determining that the number of the media assets matching the search query exceeds the threshold that is based on the determined display resolution of the first user device…). One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a combination of providing better results in formatting data in such the results are formatted to be suitable based on the display capability (See Newman: Col 6, lines 42-44). In addition, the references (KIM, KAGAN, and Newman) teach features that are directed to analogous art and they are directed to the same field of endeavor as KIM, KAGAN, and Newman are directed to matching search queries and determining a condition on the results to locate relevant results.
Claims 3, 6, 9-11, 13, 16, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over K.R Patent Application Publication 2014/0098597 issued to KIM et al. (hereinafter as "KIM") in view of WO International Patent Publication 2015/134739 issued to KAGAN et al. (hereinafter as "KAGAN") in view of U.S Patent 9,357,250 issued to Newman et al. (hereinafter as "Newman").
in further view of U.S Patent Application Publication 2016/0142783 issued to Bagga et al. (hereinafter as “Bagga”).
Regarding claim 3, the modification of KIM, KAGAN, and Newman teaches claimed invention substantially as claimed, however the modification of KIM, KAGAN, and Newman does not explicitly teach selecting the first subset of the media assets matching the search query and not exceeding the threshold comprises: ranking the media assets matching the search query based on the users profile; selecting the first subset based on the ranking of the media assets matching the search query.
Bagga teaches selecting the first subset of the media assets matching the search query and not exceeding the threshold comprises: ranking the media assets matching the search query based on the users profile; selecting the first subset based on the ranking of the media assets matching the search query (Bagga: [0081]; Accordingly, search results 708 for media providers that match the user’s text search criteria are displayed higher than search results 710 for media assets that match the user’s text search criteria. For example, if the user typed in “Fox,” then television stations that have “Fox” in their name may be displayed before video programs that have “Fox” in their name. In this way, the search sy