DETAILED ACTION
Claims 2-20 and 52 are pending in this application.
Examiner's Remark
The broadest reasonable interpretation of a method (or process) independent claims 2 and 52 having contingent limitations requires only those steps that must be performed and does not include steps that are not required to be performed because the condition(s) precedent are not met. For example, assume a method claim requires step A if a first condition happens and step B if a second condition happens. If the claimed invention may be practiced without either the first or second condition happening, then neither step A or B is required by the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim. If the claimed invention requires the first condition to occur, then the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim requires step A. If the claimed invention requires both the first and second conditions to occur, then the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim requires both steps A and B (See MPEP 2111.04). The “based at least in part on determining…" of independent claims 2 and 52 recites different action that result from mutually exclusive conditions with respect to the threshold value which renders the claims contingent.
Response to Amendment
This Office Action is in response to applicant’s communication filed on May 27th, 2026. The applicant’s remark and amendments to the claims were considered with the results that follow.
In response to the last Office Action, Claims 2-3, 5-13, 15-20, and 52 are amended. Claims 1, and 21-51 are canceled. As a result, claims 2-20 and 52 are pending in this application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pg. , filed on , with respect to the rejections of claims 2, 12, and 52 under 35 U.S.C 103 have been fully considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection necessitated by applicants amendments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 12, and 52 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over K.R Patent Application Publication 2014/0098597 issued to KIM et al. (hereinafter as "KIM") in view of WO International Patent Publication 2015/134739 issued to KAGAN et al. (hereinafter as "KAGAN") in view of U.S Patent 9,357,250 issued to Newman et al. (hereinafter as "Newman") in further view of U.S Patent Application Publication 2010/0138761 issued to Shannon B. Barnes (hereinafter as "Barnes").
Regarding claim 2, KIM teaches a method for determining one or more user devices suitable for displaying media assets matching a search query (KIM: [0197]; In addition, rather than simply duplicating the same or prioritized content, the search results are provided in a plurality of pages based primarily on time, importance, or match, similarity, or interest for a search term. The page may be more important and the similarity corresponding to the search word may be high. [0261]; digital device (s) paired due to the limitation of display size, resolution, etc.), comprising: receiving, at a first user device, a search query from a user (KIM: [0035]; An embodiment of a service system for providing a smart search service described in this specification includes a digital device that pairs with at least one server, receives a user's search word, and obtains a first search result based on a first search engine);
transmitting the search query to a database (KIM: [0035]; An embodiment of a service system for providing a smart search service described in this specification includes a digital device that pairs with at least one server, receives a user's search word, and obtains a first search result based on a first search engine);
receiving, from the database, search result information regarding media assets matching the search query, wherein the search result information includes a single set of non-duplicative entries for the media assets matching the search query (KIM: [0197]; In addition, rather than simply duplicating the same or prioritized content, the search results are provided in a plurality of pages based primarily on time, importance, or match, similarity, or interest for a search term. The page may be more important and the similarity corresponding to the search word may be high);
KIM does not explicitly teach determining a display resolution of the first user device.
However, KAGAN teaches determining a display resolution of the first user device (KAGAN:[0064]; the formatting data may specify to the searching device how to display (e.g., render using particular content, dimensions, resolution, and relative proportions) one or more of the search results on the searching device. [0073]; the user would like to view the selected result on a larger screen, assuming that the searching device (e.g., a smart watch) has a relatively limited display screen size and that the performing device (e.g., a smartphone, or a tablet) has a relatively larger display screen size. [0079]; A result object may also include formatting data (e.g., instructions) that defines how to render a displayed result…the formatting data that defines how to render the displayed result may be device-specific data that indicates different formatting and arrangement depending on display capabilities of the searching device {Examiner interprets determining a display resolution by determining how to format the data to the specific device by obtaining the dimensions and resolution to help format the search results to display the results on the device});
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify KIM (teaches searching for media assets matching the search query, each of the media assets matching the search query corresponding to a media entry in a single set of non-duplicative media entries and the media entries corresponding to the media assets displayed on the second user device are not the same media entries as the media entries corresponding to the media assets displayed on the first user device) with the teachings of KAGAN (teaches determining a display resolution of the first user device). One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a combination of providing better results in formatting data in such the results are formatted to be suitable based on the display capability
(See KAGAN: [0079]). In addition, the references (KIM and KAGAN) teach features that are directed to analogous art and they are directed to the same field of endeavor as KIM and KAGAN are directed to matching search queries and determining a condition on the results to locate relevant results.
The modification of KIM and KAGAN teaches claimed invention substantially as claimed, however the modification of KIM and KAGAN does not explicitly teach based at least in part on determining that a number of the media assets matching the search query exceeds a threshold number of media assets, wherein the threshold number of media assets is based on the selecting a first subset of the media assets matching the search query and not exceeding the threshold number of media assets that is based on the determined display resolution of the first user device; generating for display, on the first user device, the first subset of the media assets.
However, Newman teaches based at least in part on determining that a number of the media assets matching the search query exceeds a threshold number of media assets (Newman: Col 7, lines 20-23; As the user is typing the search term, the search term may be sent to the cloud 40, which is representative of the internet and/or a database repository of media content, videos, movies, TV shows, etc. Col 7, lines 37-40; The query results may also be sent to secondary device 20, and these query results may be displayed in a layout format suitable to the user interface of the display of secondary device. Col 8, lines 1-2; The display of primary device 30 may also show search results from the same search query that was entered in FIG. 2. Col 9, lines 22-26; However, in other cases, the specific listing desired by the viewer may be in the view on primary device 30 but not in the view of secondary device 20 due to the size difference between the screens and fewer results being displayed on secondary device 20 {Examiner correlates the threshold of the number of media assets based on the size difference and layout of the display device, where the secondary device is smaller thus hold a limit amount of results}), wherein the threshold number of media assets is based on the(Newman: Col 7, lines 37-40; The query results may also be sent to secondary device 20, and these query results may be displayed in a layout format suitable to the user interface of the display of secondary device. Col 9, lines 22-26; However, in other cases, the specific listing desired by the viewer may be in the view on primary device 30 but not in the view of secondary device 20 due to the size difference between the screens and fewer results being displayed on secondary device 20 {Examiner correlates the results being selected not exceeding the threshold associated to the layout format of the device associated to the number of items displayed in the given layout of the device tied to the resolution of the device});
selecting a first subset of the media assets matching the search query and not exceeding the threshold number of media assets that is based on the determined display resolution of the first user device (Newman: Col 7, lines 20-23; As the user is typing the search term, the search term may be sent to the cloud 40, which is representative of the internet and/or a database repository of media content, videos, movies, TV shows, etc. Col 7, lines 37-40; The query results may also be sent to secondary device 20, and these query results may be displayed in a layout format suitable to the user interface of the display of secondary device. Col 9, lines 22-26; However, in other cases, the specific listing desired by the viewer may be in the view on primary device 30 but not in the view of secondary device 20 due to the size difference between the screens and fewer results being displayed on secondary device 20 {Examiner correlates the results being selected not exceeding the threshold associated to the layout format of the device associated to the number of items displayed in the given layout of the device tied to the resolution of the device. Thus the smaller device holds a smaller amount which contains the first sets of results});
generating for display, on the first user device, the first subset of the media assets (Newman: Col 7, lines 37-40; The query results may also be sent to secondary device 20, and these query results may be displayed in a layout format suitable to the user interface of the display of secondary device. Col 9, lines 22-26; However, in other cases, the specific listing desired by the viewer may be in the view on primary device 30 but not in the view of secondary device 20 due to the size difference between the screens and fewer results being displayed on secondary device 20 {Examiner correlates the first user device as the secondary device which is the smaller device with smaller capacity in holding the first set of results}).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify KIM (teaches searching for media assets matching the search query, each of the media assets matching the search query corresponding to a media entry in a single set of non-duplicative media entries and the media entries corresponding to the media assets displayed on the second user device are not the same media entries as the media entries corresponding to the media assets displayed on the first user device) with the teachings of KAGAN (teaches determining a display resolution of the first user device) with the further teachings of Newman (teaches determining whether a number of the media assets matching the search query exceeds a threshold number of media assets…selecting the first subset based on determining that the number of the media assets that is based on the determined display resolution of the first user device…). One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a combination of providing better results in formatting data in such the results are formatted to be suitable based on the display capability (See Newman: Col 6, lines 42-44). In addition, the references (KIM, KAGAN, and Newman) teach features that are directed to analogous art and they are directed to the same field of endeavor as KIM, KAGAN, and Newman are directed to matching search queries and determining a condition on the results to locate relevant results.
The modification of KIM, KAGAN, and Newman teaches claimed invention substantially as claimed, however, the modification of KIM, KAGAN, and Newman does not explicitly teach automatically pushing and populating a second subset of media assets matching the search query at a second user device without input selecting the second subset, wherein the entries corresponding to the second subset of the media assets are not the same entries as the entries corresponding to the first subset of the media assets; and generating for display, on at least one of the first or second user devices, an indication that the pushed second subset of the media assets are viewable on the second user device.
However, Barnes teaches automatically pushing and populating a second subset of media assets matching the search query at a second user device without input selecting the second subset (Barnes: [0010]; provide for a user to use one device to search for content and then to more easily push that content to another device for viewing or consumption. [0012]; In embodiments, content that was first viewed on the PC may be pushed to the digital television via an Universal Plug and Play (UPnP) action. The action may be used to avoid having to re-input everything into a browser of the digital television, for example. [0022]-[0023]; In embodiments, content that was first viewed on one of devices 114 (e.g., a PC) may be pushed to connected device 108 via an action. In embodiments, device 114 provides the defined action to connected device 108 via pushed content engine 1 16. Pushed content engine 116 uses the provided action to download the content and prepare to display the content overlayed on the main content that is currently being displayed via connected device 108 (e.g., display device 1 10). [0035]; In embodiments, pushed content section 204 may first display a link of some sort that, when activated by a user, may cause the pushed content to be downloaded and displayed by connected device 108.
[0044]; An action is defined or created and used to push the content to the other device (block 306). In embodiments the action has two parameters. The first parameter indicates content that a first device (e.g., device 114) is currently viewing or has viewed. The second parameter indicates content that the other device (e.g., connected device 108) is to cause to be displayed or made available to a user {Examiner correlates the action that is defined and created as the procedure to push and populate the action that was defined (instructions stating a second subset of media assets matching the search query) to be pushed to the other device (second device)}), wherein the entries corresponding to the second subset of the media assets are not the same entries as the entries corresponding to the first subset of the media assets (Barnes: [0044]; An action is defined or created and used to push the content to the other device (block 306). In embodiments the action has two parameters. The first parameter indicates content that a first device (e.g., device 114) is currently viewing or has viewed. The second parameter indicates content that the other device (e.g., connected device 108) is to cause to be displayed or made available to a user {Examiner correlates the action parameter created as representing a query search results view on the first device and the second parameter being directed to the second device having a different parameter operating independently instructing the second device to render a specific or different results}); and
generating for display, on at least one of the first or second user devices, an indication that the pushed second subset of the media assets are viewable on the second user device (Barnes: [0010]; Various embodiments of the invention may be generally directed to techniques to push content to a connected device. Embodiments of the invention provide for a user to use one device to search for content and then to more easily push that content to another device for viewing or consumption. [0023]; In embodiments, device 114 provides the defined action to connected device 108 via pushed content engine 1 16 uses the provided action to download the content and prepare to display the content overlayed on the main content that is currently being displayed via connected device 108 (e.g., display device 1 10). [0035]; In embodiments, pushed content section 204 may first display a link of some sort that, when activated by a user, may cause the pushed content to be downloaded and displayed by connected device 108. [0044]; An action is defined or created and used to push the content to the other device (block 306). In embodiments the action has two parameters. The first parameter indicates content that a first device (e.g., device 114) is currently viewing or has viewed. The second parameter indicates content that the other device (e.g., connected device 108) is to cause to be displayed or made available to a user).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify KIM (teaches searching for media assets matching the search query, each of the media assets matching the search query corresponding to a media entry in a single set of non-duplicative media entries and the media entries corresponding to the media assets displayed on the second user device are not the same media entries as the media entries corresponding to the media assets displayed on the first user device) with the teachings of KAGAN (teaches determining a display resolution of the first user device) with the teachings of Newman (teaches determining whether a number of the media assets matching the search query exceeds a threshold number of media assets…selecting the first subset based on determining that the number of the media assets that is based on the determined display resolution of the first user device…) with the further teachings of Barnes (teaches automatically pushing and populating a second subset of media assets matching the search query at a second user device without input selecting the second subset; and generating for display, on at least one of the first or second user devices, an indication that the pushed second subset of the media assets are viewable on the second user device). One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a combination of providing better results in enhancing the user experience by moving content between connected devices (See Barnes: [0010]). In addition, the references (KIM, KAGAN, Newman, and Barnes) teach features that are directed to analogous art and they are directed to the same field of endeavor as KIM, KAGAN, Newman, and Barnes are directed to receiving and displaying content between media devices.
Regarding claim 12, KIM teaches a system for determining one or more user devices suitable for displaying media assets matching a search query (KIM: [0197]; In addition, rather than simply duplicating the same or prioritized content, the search results are provided in a plurality of pages based primarily on time, importance, or match, similarity, or interest for a search term. The page may be more important and the similarity corresponding to the search word may be high. [0261]; digital device (s) paired due to the limitation of display size, resolution, etc), comprising: a first user device (KIM:[0025]; As used herein, the term & quot; digital device & quot; includes all electronic devices capable of performing at least one of, for example, transmitting, receiving, processing and outputting data. To this end, digital devices are paired or connected (hereinafter referred to as ‘pairing’) with other digital devices through a wired / wireless network to transmit and receive data);
a second user device (KIM: [0025]; As used herein, the term & quot; digital device & quot; includes all electronic devices capable of performing at least one of, for example, transmitting, receiving, processing and outputting data. To this end, digital devices are paired or connected (hereinafter referred to as ‘pairing’) with other digital devices through a wired / wireless network to transmit and receive data);
a memory (KIM: [0065]; The mobile device 300 includes a wireless communication unit 310, an A / V input unit 320, a user input unit 330, a sensing unit 340, an output unit 350, a memory 360);
control circuitry configured to: receive, at the first user device, a search query from a user (KIM: [0035]; An embodiment of a service system for providing a smart search service described in this specification includes a digital device that pairs with at least one server, receives a user’s search word, and obtains a first search result based on a first search engine. [0196]-[0197]; a search page provided by the search engines based on search results performed through different search engines in each digital device.In addition, rather than simply duplicating the same or prioritized content, the search results are provided in a plurality of pages based primarily on time, importance, or match, similarity, or interest for a search term);
transmit the search query to a database(KIM:[0035]; An embodiment of a service system for providing a smart search service described in this specification includes a digital device that pairs with at least one server, receives a user’s search word, and obtains a first search result based on a first search engine);
receive, from the database, search result information regarding media assets matching the search query, wherein the search result information includes a single set of non- duplicative entries for the media assets matching the search query (KIM: [0197]; In addition, rather than simply duplicating the same or prioritized content, the search results are provided in a plurality of pages based primarily on time, importance, or match, similarity, or interest for a search term. The page may be more important and the similarity corresponding to the search word may be high);
KIM does not explicitly teach determine a display resolution of the first user device.
However, KAGAN teaches determine a display resolution of the first user device (KAGAN:[0064]; the formatting data may specify to the searching device how to display (e.g., render using particular content, dimensions, resolution, and relative proportions) one or more of the search results on the searching device. [0073]; the user would like to view the selected result on a larger screen, assuming that the searching device (e.g., a smart watch) has a relatively limited display screen size and that the performing device (e.g., a smartphone, or a tablet) has a relatively larger display screen size. [0079]; A result object may also include formatting data (e.g., instructions) that defines how to render a displayed result…the formatting data that defines how to render the displayed result may be device-specific data that indicates different formatting and arrangement depending on display capabilities of the searching device {Examiner interprets determining a display resolution by determining how to format the data to the specific device by obtaining the dimensions and resolution to help format the search results to display the results on the device});
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify KIM (teaches searching for media assets matching the search query, each of the media assets matching the search query corresponding to a media entry in a single set of non-duplicative media entries and the media entries corresponding to the media assets displayed on the second user device are not the same media entries as the media entries corresponding to the media assets displayed on the first user device) with the teachings of KAGAN (teaches determining a display resolution of the first user device). One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a combination of providing better results in formatting data in such the results are formatted to be suitable based on the display capability
(See KAGAN: [0079]). In addition, the references (KIM and KAGAN) teach features that are directed to analogous art and they are directed to the same field of endeavor as KIM and KAGAN are directed to matching search queries and determining a condition on the results to locate relevant results.
The modification of KIM and KAGAN teaches claimed invention substantially as claimed, however the modification of KIM and KAGAN does not explicitly teach based at least in part on determining that a number of the media assets matching the search query exceeds a threshold number of media assets, wherein the threshold number of media assets is based on the selecting a first subset of the media assets matching the search query and not exceeding the threshold number of media assets that is based on the determined display resolution of the first user device; generating for display, on the first user device, the first subset of the media assets.
However, Newman teaches based at least in part on determining that a number of the media assets matching the search query exceeds a threshold number of media assets (Newman: Col 7, lines 20-23; As the user is typing the search term, the search term may be sent to the cloud 40, which is representative of the internet and/or a database repository of media content, videos, movies, TV shows, etc. Col 7, lines 37-40; The query results may also be sent to secondary device 20, and these query results may be displayed in a layout format suitable to the user interface of the display of secondary device. Col 8, lines 1-2; The display of primary device 30 may also show search results from the same search query that was entered in FIG. 2. Col 9, lines 22-26; However, in other cases, the specific listing desired by the viewer may be in the view on primary device 30 but not in the view of secondary device 20 due to the size difference between the screens and fewer results being displayed on secondary device 20 {Examiner correlates the threshold of the number of media assets based on the size difference and layout of the display device, where the secondary device is smaller thus hold a limit amount of results}), wherein
the threshold number of media assets is based on the determined display resolution of the first user device (Newman: Col 7, lines 37-40; The query results may also be sent to secondary device 20, and these query results may be displayed in a layout format suitable to the user interface of the display of secondary device. Col 9, lines 22-26; However, in other cases, the specific listing desired by the viewer may be in the view on primary device 30 but not in the view of secondary device 20 due to the size difference between the screens and fewer results being displayed on secondary device 20 {Examiner correlates the results being selected not exceeding the threshold associated to the layout format of the device associated to the number of items displayed in the given layout of the device tied to the resolution of the device});
select a first subset of the media assets matching the search query and not exceeding the threshold number of media assets that is based on the determined display resolution of the first user device (Newman: Col 7, lines 20-23; As the user is typing the search term, the search term may be sent to the cloud 40, which is representative of the internet and/or a database repository of media content, videos, movies, TV shows, etc. Col 7, lines 37-40; The query results may also be sent to secondary device 20, and these query results may be displayed in a layout format suitable to the user interface of the display of secondary device. Col 9, lines 22-26; However, in other cases, the specific listing desired by the viewer may be in the view on primary device 30 but not in the view of secondary device 20 due to the size difference between the screens and fewer results being displayed on secondary device 20 {Examiner correlates the results being selected not exceeding the threshold associated to the layout format of the device associated to the number of items displayed in the given layout of the device tied to the resolution of the device. Thus the smaller device holds a smaller amount which contains the first sets of results});
generate for display, on the first user device, the first subset of the media assets (Newman: Col 7, lines 37-40; The query results may also be sent to secondary device 20, and these query results may be displayed in a layout format suitable to the user interface of the display of secondary device. Col 9, lines 22-26; However, in other cases, the specific listing desired by the viewer may be in the view on primary device 30 but not in the view of secondary device 20 due to the size difference between the screens and fewer results being displayed on secondary device 20 {Examiner correlates the first user device as the secondary device which is the smaller device with smaller capacity in holding the first set of results});
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify KIM (teaches searching for media assets matching the search query, each of the media assets matching the search query corresponding to a media entry in a single set of non-duplicative media entries and the media entries corresponding to the media assets displayed on the second user device are not the same media entries as the media entries corresponding to the media assets displayed on the first user device) with the teachings of KAGAN (teaches determining a display resolution of the first user device) with the further teachings of Newman (teaches determining whether a number of the media assets matching the search query exceeds a threshold number of media assets…selecting the first subset based on determining that the number of the media assets that is based on the determined display resolution of the first user device…). One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a combination of providing better results in formatting data in such the results are formatted to be suitable based on the display capability (See Newman: Col 6, lines 42-44). In addition, the references (KIM, KAGAN, and Newman) teach features that are directed to analogous art and they are directed to the same field of endeavor as KIM, KAGAN, and Newman are directed to matching search queries and determining a condition on the results to locate relevant results
The modification of KIM, KAGAN, and Newman teaches claimed invention substantially as claimed, however, the modification of KIM, KAGAN, and Newman does not explicitly teach automatically pushing and populating a second subset of media assets matching the search query at a second user device without input selecting the second subset, wherein the entries corresponding to the second subset of the media assets are not the same entries as the entries corresponding to the first subset of the media assets; and generating for display, on at least one of the first or second user devices, an indication that the pushed second subset of the media assets are viewable on the second user device.
However, Barnes teaches automatically pushing and populating a second subset of media assets matching the search query at a second user device without input selecting the second subset (Barnes: [0010]; provide for a user to use one device to search for content and then to more easily push that content to another device for viewing or consumption. [0012]; In embodiments, content that was first viewed on the PC may be pushed to the digital television via an Universal Plug and Play (UPnP) action. The action may be used to avoid having to re-input everything into a browser of the digital television, for example. [0022]-[0023]; In embodiments, content that was first viewed on one of devices 114 (e.g., a PC) may be pushed to connected device 108 via an action. In embodiments, device 114 provides the defined action to connected device 108 via pushed content engine 1 16. Pushed content engine 116 uses the provided action to download the content and prepare to display the content overlayed on the main content that is currently being displayed via connected device 108 (e.g., display device 1 10). [0035]; In embodiments, pushed content section 204 may first display a link of some sort that, when activated by a user, may cause the pushed content to be downloaded and displayed by connected device 108.
[0044]; An action is defined or created and used to push the content to the other device (block 306). In embodiments the action has two parameters. The first parameter indicates content that a first device (e.g., device 114) is currently viewing or has viewed. The second parameter indicates content that the other device (e.g., connected device 108) is to cause to be displayed or made available to a user {Examiner correlates the action that is defined and created as the procedure to push and populate the action that was defined (instructions stating a second subset of media assets matching the search query) to be pushed to the other device (second device)}), wherein the entries corresponding to the second subset of the media assets are not the same entries as the entries corresponding to the first subset of the media assets (Barnes: [0044]; An action is defined or created and used to push the content to the other device (block 306). In embodiments the action has two parameters. The first parameter indicates content that a first device (e.g., device 114) is currently viewing or has viewed. The second parameter indicates content that the other device (e.g., connected device 108) is to cause to be displayed or made available to a user); and
generating for display, on at least one of the first or second user devices, an indication that the pushed second subset of the media assets are viewable on the second user device (Barnes: [0010]; Various embodiments of the invention may be generally directed to techniques to push content to a connected device. Embodiments of the invention provide for a user to use one device to search for content and then to more easily push that content to another device for viewing or consumption. [0023]; In embodiments, device 114 provides the defined action to connected device 108 via pushed content engine 1 16 uses the provided action to download the content and prepare to display the content overlayed on the main content that is currently being displayed via connected device 108 (e.g., display device 1 10). [0035]; In embodiments, pushed content section 204 may first display a link of some sort that, when activated by a user, may cause the pushed content to be downloaded and displayed by connected device 108. [0044]; An action is defined or created and used to push the content to the other device (block 306). In embodiments the action has two parameters. The first parameter indicates content that a first device (e.g., device 114) is currently viewing or has viewed. The second parameter indicates content that the other device (e.g., connected device 108) is to cause to be displayed or made available to a user).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify KIM (teaches searching for media assets matching the search query, each of the media assets matching the search query corresponding to a media entry in a single set of non-duplicative media entries and the media entries corresponding to the media assets displayed on the second user device are not the same media entries as the media entries corresponding to the media assets displayed on the first user device) with the teachings of KAGAN (teaches determining a display resolution of the first user device) with the teachings of Newman (teaches determining whether a number of the media assets matching the search query exceeds a threshold number of media assets…selecting the first subset based on determining that the number of the media assets that is based on the determined display resolution of the first user device…) with the further teachings of Barnes (teaches automatically pushing and populating a second subset of media assets matching the search query at a second user device without input selecting the second subset; and generating for display, on at least one of the first or second user devices, an indication that the pushed second subset of the media assets are viewable on the second user device). One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a combination of providing better results in enhancing the user experience by moving content between connected devices (See Barnes: [0010]). In addition, the references (KIM, KAGAN, Newman, and Barnes) teach features that are directed to analogous art and they are directed to the same field of endeavor as KIM, KAGAN, Newman, and Barnes are directed to receiving and displaying content between media devices.
Regarding claim 52, KIM teaches a method for determining one or more user devices suitable for displaying media assets matching a search query (KIM: [0197]; In addition, rather than simply duplicating the same or prioritized content, the search results are provided in a plurality of pages based primarily on time, importance, or match, similarity, or interest for a search term. The page may be more important and the similarity corresponding to the search word may be high. [0261]; digital device (s) paired due to the limitation of display size, resolution, etc), comprising: receiving, at a first user device, a search query from a user (KIM: [0035]; An embodiment of a service system for providing a smart search service described in this specification includes a digital device that pairs with at least one server, receives a user's search word, and obtains a first search result based on a first search engine);
searching for media assets matching the search query, each of the media assets matching the search query corresponding to a media entry in a single set of non-duplicative media entries (KIM: [0197]; In addition, rather than simply duplicating the same or prioritized content, the search results are provided in a plurality of pages based primarily on time, importance, or match, similarity, or interest for a search term. The page may be more important and the similarity corresponding to the search word may be high);
KIM does not explicitly teach determining a display capacity of the first user device.
However, KAGAN teaches determining a display capacity of the first user device (KAGAN:[0064]; the formatting data may specify to the searching device how to display (e.g., render using particular content, dimensions, resolution, and relative proportions) one or more of the search results on the searching device. [0073]; the user would like to view the selected result on a larger screen, assuming that the searching device (e.g., a smart watch) has a relatively limited display screen size and that the performing device (e.g., a smartphone, or a tablet) has a relatively larger display screen size. [0079]; A result object may also include formatting data (e.g., instructions) that defines how to render a displayed result…the formatting data that defines how to render the displayed result may be device-specific data that indicates different formatting and arrangement depending on display capabilities of the searching device {Examiner interprets determining a display resolution by determining how to format the data to the specific device by obtaining the dimensions and resolution to help format the search results to display the results on the device});
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify KIM (teaches searching for media assets matching the search query, each of the media assets matching the search query corresponding to a media entry in a single set of non-duplicative media entries and the media entries corresponding to the media assets displayed on the second user device are not the same media entries as the media entries corresponding to the media assets displayed on the first user device) with the teachings of KAGAN (teaches determining a display resolution of the first user device). One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a combination of providing better results in formatting data in such the results are formatted to be suitable based on the display capability
(See KAGAN: [0079]). In addition, the references (KIM and KAGAN) teach features that are directed to analogous art and they are directed to the same field of endeavor as KIM and KAGAN are directed to matching search queries and determining a condition on the results to locate relevant results.
The modification of KIM and KAGAN teaches claimed invention substantially as claimed, however the modification of KIM and KAGAN does not explicitly teach based at least in part on determining that a number of the media assets matching the search query exceeds a threshold number of media assets, wherein the threshold number of media assets is based on the
However, Newman teaches based at least in part on determining that a number of the media assets matching the search query exceeds a threshold number of media assets (Newman: Col 7, lines 20-23; As the user is typing the search term, the search term may be sent to the cloud 40, which is representative of the internet and/or a database repository of media content, videos, movies, TV shows, etc. Col 7, lines 37-40; The query results may also be sent to secondary device 20, and these query results may be displayed in a layout format suitable to the user interface of the display of secondary device. Col 8, lines 1-2; The display of primary device 30 may also show search results from the same search query that was entered in FIG. 2. Col 9, lines 22-26; However, in other cases, the specific listing desired by the viewer may be in the view on primary device 30 but not in the view of secondary device 20 due to the size difference between the screens and fewer results being displayed on secondary device 20), wherein
the threshold number of media assets is based on the determined display capacity of the first user device (Newman: Col 7, lines 37-40; The query results may also be sent to secondary device 20, and these query results may be displayed in a layout format suitable to the user interface of the display of secondary device. Col 9, lines 22-26; However, in other cases, the specific listing desired by the viewer may be in the view on primary device 30 but not in the view of secondary device 20 due to the size difference between the screens and fewer results being displayed on secondary device 20 {Examiner correlates the results being selected not exceeding the threshold associated to the layout format of the device associated to the number of items displayed in the given layout of the device tied to the resolution of the device});
selecting a first subset of the media assets matching the search query and not exceeding the threshold number of media assets that is based on the determined display capacity of the first user device (Newman: Col 7, lines 20-23; As the user is typing the search term, the search term may be sent to the cloud 40, which is representative of the internet and/or a database repository of media content, videos, movies, TV shows, etc. Col 7, lines 37-40; The query results may also be sent to secondary device 20, and these query results may be displayed in a layout format suitable to the user interface of the display of secondary device. Col 9, lines 22-26; However, in other cases, the specific listing desired by the viewer may be in the view on primary device 30 but not in the view of secondary device 20 due to the size difference between the screens and fewer results being displayed on secondary device 20 {Examiner correlates the results being selected not exceeding the threshold associated to the layout format of the device associated to the number of items displayed in the given layout of the device tied to the resolution of the device});
generating for display, on the first user device, the first subset of the media assets (Newman: Col 7, lines 37-40; The query results may also be sent to secondary device 20, and these query results may be displayed in a layout format suitable to the user interface of the display of secondary device. Col 9, lines 22-26; However, in other cases, the specific listing desired by the viewer may be in the view on primary device 30 but not in the view of secondary device 20 due to the size difference between the screens and fewer results being displayed on secondary device 20).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify KIM (teaches searching for media assets matching the search query, each of the media assets matching the search query corresponding to a media entry in a single set of non-duplicative media entries and the media entries corresponding to the media assets displayed on the second user device are not the same media entries as the media entries corresponding to the media assets displayed on the first user device) with the teachings of KAGAN (teaches determining a display resolution of the first user device) with the further teachings of Newman (teaches determining whether a number of the media assets matching the search query exceeds a threshold number of media assets…selecting the first subset based on determining that the number of the media assets that is based on the determined display resolution of the first user device…). One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a combination of providing better results in formatting data in such the results are formatted to be suitable based on the display capability (See Newman: Col 6, lines 42-44). In addition, the references (KIM, KAGAN, and Newman) teach features that are directed to analogous art and they are directed to the same field of endeavor as KIM, KAGAN, and Newman are directed to matching search queries and determining a condition on the results to locate relevant results.
The modification of KIM, KAGAN, and Newman teaches claimed invention substantially as claimed, however, the modification of KIM, KAGAN, and Newman does not explicitly teach automatically pushing and populating a second subset of media assets matching the search query at a second user device without input selecting the second subset, wherein the entries corresponding to the second subset of the media assets are not the same entries as the entries corresponding to the first subset of the media assets; and generating for display, on at least one of the first or second user devices, an indication that the pushed second subset of the media assets are viewable on the second user device.
However, Barnes teaches automatically pushing and populating a second subset of at a second user device without input selecting the second subset provide for a user to use one device to search for content and then to more easily push that content to another device for viewing or consumption. [0012]; In embodiments, content that was first viewed on the PC may be pushed to the digital television via an Universal Plug and Play (UPnP) action. The action may be used to avoid having to re-input everything into a browser of the digital television, for example. [0022]-[0023]; In embodiments, content that was first viewed on one of devices 114 (e.g., a PC) may be pushed to connected device 108 via an action. In embodiments, device 114 provides the defined action to connected device 108 via pushed content engine 1 16. Pushed content engine 116 uses the provided action to download the content and prepare to display the content overlayed on the main content that is currently being displayed via connected device 108 (e.g., display device 1 10). [0035]; In embodiments, pushed content section 204 may first display a link of some sort that, when activated by a user, may cause the pushed content to be downloaded and displayed by connected device 108.
[0044]; An action is defined or created and used to push the content to the other device (block 306). In embodiments the action has two parameters. The first parameter indicates content that a first device (e.g., device 114) is currently viewing or has viewed. The second parameter indicates content that the other device (e.g., connected device 108) is to cause to be displayed or made available to a user {Examiner correlates the action that is defined and created as the procedure to push and populate the action that was defined (instructions stating a second subset of media assets matching the search query) to be pushed to the other device (second device)}), wherein the media entries corresponding to the second subset of the media assets are not the same media entries as the media entries corresponding to the first subset of the media assets (Barnes: [0044]; An action is defined or created and used to push the content to the other device (block 306). In embodiments the action has two parameters. The first parameter indicates content that a first device (e.g., device 114) is currently viewing or has viewed. The second parameter indicates content that the other device (e.g., connected device 108) is to cause to be displayed or made available to a user); and
generating for display, on at least one of the first or second user devices, an indication that the pushed second subset of the media assets are viewable on the second user device (Barnes: [0010]; Various embodiments of the invention may be generally directed to techniques to push content to a connected device. Embodiments of the invention provide for a user to use one device to search for content and then to more easily push that content to another device for viewing or consumption. [0023]; In embodiments, device 114 provides the defined action to connected device 108 via pushed content engine 1 16 uses the provided action to download the content and prepare to display the content overlayed on the main content that is currently being displayed via connected device 108 (e.g., display device 1 10). [0035]; In embodiments, pushed content section 204 may first display a link of some sort that, when activated by a user, may cause the pushed content to be downloaded and displayed by connected device 108. [0044]; An action is defined or created and used to push the content to the other device (block 306). In embodiments the action has two parameters. The first parameter indicates content that a first device (e.g., device 114) is currently viewing or has viewed. The second parameter indicates content that the other device (e.g., connected device 108) is to cause to be displayed or made available to a user).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify KIM (teaches searching for media assets matching the search query, each of the media assets matching the search query corresponding to a media entry in a single set of non-duplicative media entries and the media entries corresponding to the media assets displayed on the second user device are not the same media entries as the media entries corresponding to the media assets displayed on the first user device) with the teachings of KAGAN (teaches determining a display resolution of the first user device) with the teachings of Newman (teaches determining whether a number of the media assets matching the search query exceeds a threshold number of media assets…selecting the first subset based on determining that the number of the media assets that is based on the determined display resolution of the first user device…) with the further teachings of Barnes (teaches automatically pushing and populating a second subset of media assets matching the search query at a second user device without input selecting the second subset; and generating for display, on at least one of the first or second user devices, an indication that the pushed second subset of the media assets are viewable on the second user device). One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a combination of providing better results in enhancing the user experience by moving content between connected devices (See Barnes: [0010]). In addition, the references (KIM, KAGAN, Newman, and Barnes) teach features that are directed to analogous art and they are directed to the same field of endeavor as KIM, KAGAN, Newman, and Barnes are directed to receiving and displaying content between media devices.
Claims 3, 6, 9-11, 13, 16, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over K.R Patent Application Publication 2014/0098597 issued to KIM et al. (hereinafter as "KIM") in view of WO International Patent Publication 2015/134739 issued to KAGAN et al. (hereinafter as "KAGAN") in view of U.S Patent 9,357,250 issued to Newman et al. (hereinafter as "Newman") in view of U.S Patent Application Publication 2010/0138761 issued to Shannon B. Barnes (hereinafter as "Barnes") in further view of U.S Patent Application Publication 2016/0142783 issued to Bagga et al. (hereinafter as “Bagga”).
Regarding claim 3, the modification of KIM, KAGAN, Newman, and Barnes teaches claimed invention substantially as claimed, however the modification of KIM, KAGAN, Newman, and Barnes does not explicitly teach selecting the first subset of the media assets matching the search query and not exceeding the threshold comprises: ranking the media assets matching the search query based on the users profile; selecting the first subset based on the ranking of the media assets matching the search query.
Bagga teaches selecting the first subset of the media assets matching the search query and not exceeding the threshold comprises: ranking the media assets matching the search query based on the users profile; selecting the first subset based on the ranking of the media assets matching the search query (Bagga: [0081]; Accordingly, search results 708 for media providers that match the user’s text search criteria are displayed higher than search results 710 for media assets that match the user’s text search criteria. For example, if the user typed in “Fox,” then television stations that have “Fox” in their name may be displayed before video programs that have “Fox” in their name. In this way, the search system may assume that the user is more likely to be searching for the television station than the particular program. [0109]; If the total number of media asset lists does not exceed the threshold, then the method may proceed to step 818 to select which lists from the currently existing lists are to be displayed at a user device. [0117]; The score may be associated with the particular user device and the user account. In another embodiment, the score for each media asset may be associated with a plurality of user profiles if it is determined that a plurality of different users consume content at a given user device. Such a score may indicate that the media content score is based on the consumption history, browsing history, and preferences of a composite user viewership of a plurality of users).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify KIM (teaches searching for media assets matching the search query, each of the media assets matching the search query corresponding to a media entry in a single set of non-duplicative media entries and the media entries corresponding to the media assets displayed on the second user device are not the same media entries as the media entries corresponding to the media assets displayed on the first user device) with the teachings of KAGAN (teaches determining a display resolution of the first user device) with the teachings of Newman (teaches determining whether a number of the media assets matching the search query exceeds a threshold number of media assets…selecting the first subset based on determining that the number of the media assets that is based on the determined display resolution of the first user device…) with the teachings of Barnes (teaches automatically pushing and populating a second subset of media assets matching the search query at a second user device without input selecting the second subset; and generating for display, on at least one of the first or second user devices, an indication that the pushed second subset of the media assets are viewable on the second user device) with the further teachings of Bagga (teaches selecting the first subset of the media assets matching the search query and not exceeding the threshold comprises: ranking the media assets matching the search query based on the users profile; selecting the first subset based on the ranking of the media assets matching the search query). One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a combination of providing better results in formatting data in such the results are selected to be more efficiently choosing to display one of the list (See Bagga: [0018]). In addition, the references (KIM, KAGAN, Newman, Barnes, and Bagga) teach features that are directed to analogous art and they are directed to the same field of endeavor as KIM, KAGAN, Newman, Barnes, and Bagga are directed to receiving and displaying content between media devices.
Regarding claim 6, the modification of KIM, KAGAN, Newman, and Barnes teaches claimed invention substantially as claimed, however the modification of KIM, KAGAN, Newman, and Barnes does not explicitly teach the indication further indicates that the number of the media assets matching the search query exceeds the threshold number of media assets.
Bagga teaches the indication further indicates that the number of the media assets matching the search query exceeds the threshold number of media assets (Bagga: [0110]; In step 817, if the total number of currently existing media asset lists is determined to exceed the threshold number of lists to be maintained, the computing device may determine whether there exist any additional criteria for checking media asset lists similarity that have not been used for the removal of similar media asset lists).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify KIM (teaches searching for media assets matching the search query, each of the media assets matching the search query corresponding to a media entry in a single set of non-duplicative media entries and the media entries corresponding to the media assets displayed on the second user device are not the same media entries as the media entries corresponding to the media assets displayed on the first user device) with the teachings of KAGAN (teaches determining a display resolution of the first user device) with the teachings of Newman (teaches determining whether a number of the media assets matching the search query exceeds a threshold number of media assets…selecting the first subset based on determining that the number of the media assets that is based on the determined display resolution of the first user device…) with the teachings of Barnes (teaches automatically pushing and populating a second subset of media assets matching the search query at a second user device without input selecting the second subset; and generating for display, on at least one of the first or second user devices, an indication that the pushed second subset of the media assets are viewable on the second user device) with the further teachings of Bagga (teaches selecting the first subset of the media assets matching the search query and not exceeding the threshold comprises: ranking the media assets matching the search query based on the users profile; selecting the first subset based on the ranking of the media assets matching the search query). One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a combination of providing better results in formatting data in such the results are selected to be more efficiently choosing to display one of the list (See Bagga: [0018]). In addition, the references (KIM, KAGAN, Newman, Barnes, and Bagga) teach features that are directed to analogous art and they are directed to the same field of endeavor as KIM, KAGAN, Newman, Barnes, and Bagga are directed to receiving and displaying content between media devices.
Regarding claim 9, the modification of KIM, KAGAN, Newman, and Barnes teaches claimed invention substantially as claimed, however the modification of KIM, KAGAN, Newman, and Barnes does not explicitly teach based on determining that a second number of media assets matching a second search query does not exceed the threshold number of media assets that is based on the determined display resolution of the first user device, generating for display, on the first user device, the media assets matching the second search query.
Bagga teaches based on determining that a second number of media assets matching a second search query does not exceed the threshold number of media assets that is based on the determined display resolution of the first user device, generating for display, on the first user device, the media assets matching the second search query (Bagga: [0044]; Media assets may be determined to be a match with a certain attribute related to the predetermined search query if the media asset includes a tag or metadata identifier for that particular attribute. Media asset tags may be searched to find media assets matching all of the media attributes in the identified menu category. [0109]; If the total number of media asset lists does not exceed the threshold, then the method may proceed to step 818 to select which lists from the currently existing lists are to be displayed at a user device {See Bagga: [0095]; Such a request is typically initiated by the system or the application servers once enough new content becomes available to generate new personalized menus reflecting new and different combinations of new and preexisting media assets}).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify KIM (teaches searching for media assets matching the search query, each of the media assets matching the search query corresponding to a media entry in a single set of non-duplicative media entries and the media entries corresponding to the media assets displayed on the second user device are not the same media entries as the media entries corresponding to the media assets displayed on the first user device) with the teachings of KAGAN (teaches determining a display resolution of the first user device) with the teachings of Newman (teaches determining whether a number of the media assets matching the search query exceeds a threshold number of media assets…selecting the first subset based on determining that the number of the media assets that is based on the determined display resolution of the first user device…) with the teachings of Barnes (teaches automatically pushing and populating a second subset of media assets matching the search query at a second user device without input selecting the second subset; and generating for display, on at least one of the first or second user devices, an indication that the pushed second subset of the media assets are viewable on the second user device) with the further teachings of Bagga (teaches selecting the first subset of the media assets matching the search query and not exceeding the threshold comprises: ranking the media assets matching the search query based on the users profile; selecting the first subset based on the ranking of the media assets matching the search query). One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a combination of providing better results in formatting data in such the results are selected to be more efficiently choosing to display one of the list (See Bagga: [0018]). In addition, the references (KIM, KAGAN, Newman, Barnes, and Bagga) teach features that are directed to analogous art and they are directed to the same field of endeavor as KIM, KAGAN, Newman, Barnes, and Bagga are directed to receiving and displaying content between media devices.
Regarding claim 10, the modification of KIM, KAGAN, Newman, and Barnes teaches claimed invention substantially as claimed, however the modification of KIM, KAGAN, Newman, and Barnes does not explicitly teach receiving, at the first user device, a selection of a media asset from the first subset of the media assets; generating for display, on the first user device, the selected media asset.
Bagga teaches receiving, at the first user device, a selection of a media asset from the first subset of the media assets (Bagga: [0050]; In some other embodiments, a user may manually select which media asset list of the cluster is selected for display at the personalized media interface 300 as the representative media asset list of each cluster of similar media asset lists. Alternatively or additionally, an administrator with access to remote servers, such as an application server 107, from which media menus may be downloaded to a user device may select which media asset lists are selected for display at personalized media interfaces of user devices in communication with the remote servers. [0068]; For example, the user may have a user account that is associated with multiple user devices on which the user consumes media content. The media schedule screens displayed on these different user devices may recommend different media content items. If it is determined that the user watches family oriented media content on the living room television, then the media schedule screen 500 associated with the living room television may have family friendly media items scheduled in the empty timeslots of different channels. However, if it is determined that the user watches adult content on the master bedroom television, then the media schedule screen 500 associated with the master bedroom television may have adult themed media items scheduled in the empty timeslots of different channels);
generating for display, on the first user device, the selected media asset (Bagga: [0050]; In some other embodiments, a user may manually select which media asset list of the cluster is selected for display at the personalized media interface 300 as the representative media asset list of each cluster of similar media asset lists. Alternatively or additionally, an administrator with access to remote servers, such as an application server 107, from which media menus may be downloaded to a user device may select which media asset lists are selected for display at personalized media interfaces of user devices in communication with the remote servers. [0068]; If it is determined that the user watches family oriented media content on the living room television, then the media schedule screen 500 associated with the living room television may have family friendly media items scheduled in the empty timeslots of different channels. However, if it is determined that the user watches adult content on the master bedroom television, then the media schedule screen 500 associated with the master bedroom television may have adult themed media items scheduled in the empty timeslots of different channels).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify KIM (teaches searching for media assets matching the search query, each of the media assets matching the search query corresponding to a media entry in a single set of non-duplicative media entries and the media entries corresponding to the media assets displayed on the second user device are not the same media entries as the media entries corresponding to the media assets displayed on the first user device) with the teachings of KAGAN (teaches determining a display resolution of the first user device) with the teachings of Newman (teaches determining whether a number of the media assets matching the search query exceeds a threshold number of media assets…selecting the first subset based on determining that the number of the media assets that is based on the determined display resolution of the first user device…) with the teachings of Barnes (teaches automatically pushing and populating a second subset of media assets matching the search query at a second user device without input selecting the second subset; and generating for display, on at least one of the first or second user devices, an indication that the pushed second subset of the media assets are viewable on the second user device) with the further teachings of Bagga (teaches selecting the first subset of the media assets matching the search query and not exceeding the threshold comprises: ranking the media assets matching the search query based on the users profile; selecting the first subset based on the ranking of the media assets matching the search query). One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a combination of providing better results in formatting data in such the results are selected to be more efficiently choosing to display one of the list (See Bagga: [0018]). In addition, the references (KIM, KAGAN, Newman, Barnes, and Bagga) teach features that are directed to analogous art and they are directed to the same field of endeavor as KIM, KAGAN, Newman, Barnes, and Bagga are directed to receiving and displaying content between media devices.
Regarding claim 11, the modification of KIM, KAGAN, Newman, and Barnes teaches claimed invention substantially as claimed, however the modification of KIM, KAGAN, Newman, and Barnes does not explicitly teach receiving, at the second user device, a selection of a media asset from the second subset of the media assets; generating for display, on the first user device, the selected media asset.
Bagga teaches receiving, at the second user device, a selection of a media asset from the second subset of the media assets (Bagga: [0050]; In some other embodiments, a user may manually select which media asset list of the cluster is selected for display at the personalized media interface 300 as the representative media asset list of each cluster of similar media asset lists. Alternatively or additionally, an administrator with access to remote servers, such as an application server 107, from which media menus may be downloaded to a user device may select which media asset lists are selected for display at personalized media interfaces of user devices in communication with the remote servers. [0068]; For example, the user may have a user account that is associated with multiple user devices on which the user consumes media content. The media schedule screens displayed on these different user devices may recommend different media content items. If it is determined that the user watches family oriented media content on the living room television, then the media schedule screen 500 associated with the living room television may have family friendly media items scheduled in the empty timeslots of different channels. However, if it is determined that the user watches adult content on the master bedroom television, then the media schedule screen 500 associated with the master bedroom television may have adult themed media items scheduled in the empty timeslots of different channels);
generating for display, on the first user device, the selected media asset (Bagga: [0050]; In some other embodiments, a user may manually select which media asset list of the cluster is selected for display at the personalized media interface 300 as the representative media asset list of each cluster of similar media asset lists. Alternatively or additionally, an administrator with access to remote servers, such as an application server 107, from which media menus may be downloaded to a user device may select which media asset lists are selected for display at personalized media interfaces of user devices in communication with the remote servers. [0068]; If it is determined that the user watches family oriented media content on the living room television, then the media schedule screen 500 associated with the living room television may have family friendly media items scheduled in the empty timeslots of different channels. However, if it is determined that the user watches adult content on the master bedroom television, then the media schedule screen 500 associated with the master bedroom television may have adult themed media items scheduled in the empty timeslots of different channels).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify KIM (teaches searching for media assets matching the search query, each of the media assets matching the search query corresponding to a media entry in a single set of non-duplicative media entries and the media entries corresponding to the media assets displayed on the second user device are not the same media entries as the media entries corresponding to the media assets displayed on the first user device) with the teachings of KAGAN (teaches determining a display resolution of the first user device) with the teachings of Newman (teaches determining whether a number of the media assets matching the search query exceeds a threshold number of media assets…selecting the first subset based on determining that the number of the media assets that is based on the determined display resolution of the first user device…) with the teachings of Barnes (teaches automatically pushing and populating a second subset of media assets matching the search query at a second user device without input selecting the second subset; and generating for display, on at least one of the first or second user devices, an indication that the pushed second subset of the media assets are viewable on the second user device) with the further teachings of Bagga (teaches selecting the first subset of the media assets matching the search query and not exceeding the threshold comprises: ranking the media assets matching the search query based on the users profile; selecting the first subset based on the ranking of the media assets matching the search query). One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a combination of providing better results in formatting data in such the results are selected to be more efficiently choosing to display one of the list (See Bagga: [0018]). In addition, the references (KIM, KAGAN, Newman, Barnes, and Bagga) teach features that are directed to analogous art and they are directed to the same field of endeavor as KIM, KAGAN, Newman, Barnes, and Bagga are directed to receiving and displaying content between media devices.
Regarding claim 13, the modification of KIM, KAGAN, Newman, and Barnes teaches claimed invention substantially as claimed, however the modification of KIM, KAGAN, Newman, and Barnes does not explicitly teach the control circuitry configured to select the first subset of the media assets matching the search query and not exceeding the threshold number of media assets comprises control circuitry configured to: rank the media assets matching the search query based on the user’s profile; select the first subset based on the ranking of the media assets matching the search query.
Bagga teaches the control circuitry configured to select the first subset of the media assets matching the search query and not exceeding the threshold number of media assets comprises control circuitry configured to: rank the media assets matching the search query based on the user’s profile (Bagga: [0081]; Accordingly, search results 708 for media providers that match the user’s text search criteria are displayed higher than search results 710 for media assets that match the user’s text search criteria. For example, if the user typed in “Fox,” then television stations that have “Fox” in their name may be displayed before video programs that have “Fox” in their name. In this way, the search system may assume that the user is more likely to be searching for the television station than the particular program. [0109]; If the total number of media asset lists does not exceed the threshold, then the method may proceed to step 818 to select which lists from the currently existing lists are to be displayed at a user device. [0117]; The score may be associated with the particular user device and the user account. In another embodiment, the score for each media asset may be associated with a plurality of user profiles if it is determined that a plurality of different users consume content at a given user device. Such a score may indicate that the media content score is based on the consumption history, browsing history, and preferences of a composite user viewership of a plurality of users);
select the first subset based on the ranking of the media assets matching the search query (Bagga: [0112]-[0113]; In step 829, as shown in FIG. 8C, once redundant media asset lists have been removed, the computing device may receive a request to rank a plurality of different menus or media asset lists with respect to each other. Such a request may be automatically generated by the system upon determining that media assets have been selected for display at a user device. In order to personalize a page of recommended menus to the user as best as possible, media asset lists that are determined to be of the greatest user interest may be ranked higher and displayed before the remainder of the recommended media asset lists. For example, the computing device may determine which of the generated lists will be generated for display by checking user preferences for types of lists the user would like to view).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify KIM (teaches searching for media assets matching the search query, each of the media assets matching the search query corresponding to a media entry in a single set of non-duplicative media entries and the media entries corresponding to the media assets displayed on the second user device are not the same media entries as the media entries corresponding to the media assets displayed on the first user device) with the teachings of KAGAN (teaches determining a display resolution of the first user device) with the teachings of Newman (teaches determining whether a number of the media assets matching the search query exceeds a threshold number of media assets…selecting the first subset based on determining that the number of the media assets that is based on the determined display resolution of the first user device…) with the teachings of Barnes (teaches automatically pushing and populating a second subset of media assets matching the search query at a second user device without input selecting the second subset; and generating for display, on at least one of the first or second user devices, an indication that the pushed second subset of the media assets are viewable on the second user device) with the further teachings of Bagga (teaches selecting the first subset of the media assets matching the search query and not exceeding the threshold comprises: ranking the media assets matching the search query based on the users profile; selecting the first subset based on the ranking of the media assets matching the search query). One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a combination of providing better results in formatting data in such the results are selected to be more efficiently choosing to display one of the list (See Bagga: [0018]). In addition, the references (KIM, KAGAN, Newman, Barnes, and Bagga) teach features that are directed to analogous art and they are directed to the same field of endeavor as KIM, KAGAN, Newman, Barnes, and Bagga are directed to receiving and displaying content between media devices.
Regarding claim 16, the modification of KIM, KAGAN, Newman, and Barnes teaches claimed invention substantially as claimed, however the modification of KIM, KAGAN, Newman, and Barnes does not explicitly teach the indication further indicates that the number of the media assets matching the search query exceeds the threshold number of media assets.
Bagga teaches the indication further indicates that the number of the media assets matching the search query exceeds the threshold number of media assets (Bagga: [0110]; In step 817, if the total number of currently existing media asset lists is determined to exceed the threshold number of lists to be maintained, the computing device may determine whether there exist any additional criteria for checking media asset lists similarity that have not been used for the removal of similar media asset lists).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify KIM (teaches searching for media assets matching the search query, each of the media assets matching the search query corresponding to a media entry in a single set of non-duplicative media entries and the media entries corresponding to the media assets displayed on the second user device are not the same media entries as the media entries corresponding to the media assets displayed on the first user device) with the teachings of KAGAN (teaches determining a display resolution of the first user device) with the teachings of Newman (teaches determining whether a number of the media assets matching the search query exceeds a threshold number of media assets…selecting the first subset based on determining that the number of the media assets that is based on the determined display resolution of the first user device…) with the teachings of Barnes (teaches automatically pushing and populating a second subset of media assets matching the search query at a second user device without input selecting the second subset; and generating for display, on at least one of the first or second user devices, an indication that the pushed second subset of the media assets are viewable on the second user device) with the further teachings of Bagga (teaches selecting the first subset of the media assets matching the search query and not exceeding the threshold comprises: ranking the media assets matching the search query based on the users profile; selecting the first subset based on the ranking of the media assets matching the search query). One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a combination of providing better results in formatting data in such the results are selected to be more efficiently choosing to display one of the list (See Bagga: [0018]). In addition, the references (KIM, KAGAN, Newman, Barnes, and Bagga) teach features that are directed to analogous art and they are directed to the same field of endeavor as KIM, KAGAN, Newman, Barnes, and Bagga are directed to receiving and displaying content between media devices.
Regarding claim 19, the modification of KIM, KAGAN, Newman, and Barnes teaches claimed invention substantially as claimed, however the modification of KIM, KAGAN, Newman, and Barnes does not explicitly teach based on determining that a second number of the media assets matching a second search query does not exceed the threshold number of media assets that is based on the determined display resolution of the first user device, generate for display, on the first user device, the media assets matching the second search query.
Bagga teaches based on determining that a second number of the media assets matching a second search query does not exceed the threshold number of media assets that is based on the determined display resolution of the first user device, generate for display, on the first user device, the media assets matching the second search query (Bagga: [0044]; Media assets may be determined to be a match with a certain attribute related to the predetermined search query if the media asset includes a tag or metadata identifier for that particular attribute. Media asset tags may be searched to find media assets matching all of the media attributes in the identified menu category. [0109]; If the total number of media asset lists does not exceed the threshold, then the method may proceed to step 818 to select which lists from the currently existing lists are to be displayed at a user device {See Bagga: [0095]; Such a request is typically initiated by the system or the application servers once enough new content becomes available to generate new personalized menus reflecting new and different combinations of new and preexisting media assets}).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify KIM (teaches searching for media assets matching the search query, each of the media assets matching the search query corresponding to a media entry in a single set of non-duplicative media entries and the media entries corresponding to the media assets displayed on the second user device are not the same media entries as the media entries corresponding to the media assets displayed on the first user device) with the teachings of KAGAN (teaches determining a display resolution of the first user device) with the teachings of Newman (teaches determining whether a number of the media assets matching the search query exceeds a threshold number of media assets…selecting the first subset based on determining that the number of the media assets that is based on the determined display resolution of the first user device…) with the teachings of Barnes (teaches automatically pushing and populating a second subset of media assets matching the search query at a second user device without input selecting the second subset; and generating for display, on at least one of the first or second user devices, an indication that the pushed second subset of the media assets are viewable on the second user device) with the further teachings of Bagga (teaches selecting the first subset of the media assets matching the search query and not exceeding the threshold comprises: ranking the media assets matching the search query based on the users profile; selecting the first subset based on the ranking of the media assets matching the search query). One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a combination of providing better results in formatting data in such the results are selected to be more efficiently choosing to display one of the list (See Bagga: [0018]). In addition, the references (KIM, KAGAN, Newman, Barnes, and Bagga) teach features that are directed to analogous art and they are directed to the same field of endeavor as KIM, KAGAN, Newman, Barnes, and Bagga are directed to receiving and displaying content between media devices.
Regarding claim 20, the modification of KIM, KAGAN, Newman, and Barnes teaches claimed invention substantially as claimed, however the modification of KIM, KAGAN, Newman, and Barnes does not explicitly teach the control circuitry is further configured to: receive, at the first user device, a selection of a media asset from the first subset of the media assets; generate for display, on the first user device, the selected media asset;
Bagga teaches the control circuitry is further configured to: receive, at the first user device, a selection of a media asset from the first subset of the media assets (Bagga: [0050]; In some other embodiments, a user may manually select which media asset list of the cluster is selected for display at the personalized media interface 300 as the representative media asset list of each cluster of similar media asset lists. Alternatively or additionally, an administrator with access to remote servers, such as an application server 107, from which media menus may be downloaded to a user device may select which media asset lists are selected for display at personalized media interfaces of user devices in communication with the remote servers. [0068]; For example, the user may have a user account that is associated with multiple user devices on which the user consumes media content. The media schedule screens displayed on these different user devices may recommend different media content items. If it is determined that the user watches family oriented media content on the living room television, then the media schedule screen 500 associated with the living room television may have family friendly media items scheduled in the empty timeslots of different channels. However, if it is determined that the user watches adult content on the master bedroom television, then the media schedule screen 500 associated with the master bedroom television may have adult themed media items scheduled in the empty timeslots of different channels);
generate for display, on the first user device, the selected media asset (Bagga: [0050]; In some other embodiments, a user may manually select which media asset list of the cluster is selected for display at the personalized media interface 300 as the representative media asset list of each cluster of similar media asset lists. Alternatively or additionally, an administrator with access to remote servers, such as an application server 107, from which media menus may be downloaded to a user device may select which media asset lists are selected for display at personalized media interfaces of user devices in communication with the remote servers. [0068]; If it is determined that the user watches family oriented media content on the living room television, then the media schedule screen 500 associated with the living room television may have family friendly media items scheduled in the empty timeslots of different channels. However, if it is determined that the user watches adult content on the master bedroom television, then the media schedule screen 500 associated with the master bedroom television may have adult themed media items scheduled in the empty timeslots of different channels).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify KIM (teaches searching for media assets matching the search query, each of the media assets matching the search query corresponding to a media entry in a single set of non-duplicative media entries and the media entries corresponding to the media assets displayed on the second user device are not the same media entries as the media entries corresponding to the media assets displayed on the first user device) with the teachings of KAGAN (teaches determining a display resolution of the first user device) with the teachings of Newman (teaches determining whether a number of the media assets matching the search query exceeds a threshold number of media assets…selecting the first subset based on determining that the number of the media assets that is based on the determined display resolution of the first user device…) with the teachings of Barnes (teaches automatically pushing and populating a second subset of media assets matching the search query at a second user device without input selecting the second subset; and generating for display, on at least one of the first or second user devices, an indication that the pushed second subset of the media assets are viewable on the second user device) with the further teachings of Bagga (teaches selecting the first subset of the media assets matching the search query and not exceeding the threshold comprises: ranking the media assets matching the search query based on the users profile; selecting the first subset based on the ranking of the media assets matching the search query). One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a combination of providing better results in formatting data in such the results are selected to be more efficiently choosing to display one of the list (See Bagga: [0018]). In addition, the references (KIM, KAGAN, Newman, Barnes, and Bagga) teach features that are directed to analogous art and they are directed to the same field of endeavor as KIM, KAGAN, Newman, Barnes, and Bagga are directed to receiving and displaying content between media devices.
Claims 4-5 and 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over K.R Patent Application Publication 2014/0098597 issued to KIM et al. (hereinafter as "KIM") in view of WO International Patent Publication 2015/134739 issued to KAGAN et al. (hereinafter as "KAGAN") in view of U.S Patent 9,357,250 issued to Newman et al. (hereinafter as "Newman") in view of
U.S Patent Application Publication 2010/0138761 issued to Shannon B. Barnes (hereinafter as "Barnes") in further view of U.S Patent 8,042,133 issued to Shintani et al. (hereinafter as "Shintani").
Regarding claim 4, the modification of KIM, KAGAN, Newman, and Barnes teaches claimed invention substantially as claimed, however the modification of KIM, KAGAN, Newman, and Barnes does not explicitly teach retrieving, from memory, a minimum font size suitable for display on the first user device, wherein the generating for display, on the first user device, the first subset of the media assets comprises generating for display, on the first user device, the first subset of the media assets in the minimum font size.
Shintani teaches retrieving, from memory, a minimum font size suitable for display on the first user device, wherein generating for display, on the first user device, the first subset of the media assets comprises generating for display, on the first user device, the first subset of the media assets in the minimum font size (Shintani: Col 8, lines 58-60; Step 3020 arises if no user-supplied display characteristics input exists. In step 3020 of the present invention, a portion of the block of data is selected, based on minimum display characteristics. Col 9, lines 5-10; The present embodiment chooses a minimum display characteristic, such as minimum AR, minimum display device size, and minimum resolution, to provide a readable display of EPG data for all possible display devices. Col 10, lines 26-29; deciding the appropriate portion and formatting of block of data, such as the electronic programming information (EPG), for subsequent presentation to a display device. Col 11, lines 36-40; However, if the size input is not a high value, then process 4000 proceeds to step 4020. This latter case accounts for a small display device. Alternatively, size input can be compared to a predetermined threshold value to decide whether to proceed to step 4018 or step 4020. Col 11, lines 52-53; the block of data is decreased to accommodate a smaller size of display device).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify KIM (teaches searching for media assets matching the search query, each of the media assets matching the search query corresponding to a media entry in a single set of non-duplicative media entries and the media entries corresponding to the media assets displayed on the second user device are not the same media entries as the media entries corresponding to the media assets displayed on the first user device) with the teachings of KAGAN (teaches determining a display resolution of the first user device) with the teachings of Newman (teaches determining whether a number of the media assets matching the search query exceeds a threshold number of media assets…selecting the first subset based on determining that the number of the media assets that is based on the determined display resolution of the first user device…) with the teachings of Barnes (teaches automatically pushing and populating a second subset of media assets matching the search query at a second user device without input selecting the second subset; and generating for display, on at least one of the first or second user devices, an indication that the pushed second subset of the media assets are viewable on the second user device) with the further teachings of Shintani (teaches retrieving, from memory, a minimum font size suitable for display on the first user device; determining, based on the minimum font size, a threshold relating to a suitable number of media assets for display on the first user device). One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a combination of providing better results in viewing the listing by accommodating to the different size of information to be represented to the user so that the representation would be gradual and visible to the user (See Shintani: Col 8, lines 57-60). In addition, the references (KIM, KAGAN, Newman, Barnes, and Shintani) teach features that are directed to analogous art and they are directed to the same field of endeavor as KIM, KAGAN, Newman, Barnes, and Shintani are directed to receiving and displaying content between media devices.
Regarding claim 5, the modification of KIM, KAGAN, Newman, Barnes, and Shintani teaches claimed invention substantially as claimed, and Shintani further teaches determining the minimum font size based on the display resolution associated with the first user device (Shintani: Col 8, lines 38-43; the display characteristics of the display device provided by the user can include inputs such as the resolution… the aspect ratio (AR), and the physical size of the display. Additionally, the user can input a user-definable font type and font size for the text of the data to be displayed. Col 8, lines 58-60; a portion of the block of data is selected, based on minimum display characteristics. Col 10, lines 3-7; That is, when the appropriate amount of choices for display format and size have been evaluated, the best choice is…is used in the evaluation step. Col 10, lines 30-32; Process 4000 begins with step 4002. In step 4002 of the present embodiment, display characteristics of a display device are received);
storing, in the memory, the minimum font size suitable for display on the first user device (Shintani: Col 8, lines 39-43; the display characteristics of the display device provided by…can include…such as the resolution…and font size for the text of the data to be displayed. Col 8, lines 57-60; a portion of the block of data is selected, based on minimum display characteristics. Col 9, lines 6-10; The present embodiment chooses a minimum display characteristic, such as minimum AR, minimum display device size, and minimum resolution, to provide a readable display of EPG data for all possible display devices. Col 9, lines 60-63; That is, a different portion, or an increment value of a display device format, e.g. screen size, is retrieved from memory 210 and implemented with respect to a portion of the data block, also stored in memory 210).
Regarding claim 14, the modification of KIM, KAGAN, Newman, and Barnes teaches claimed invention substantially as claimed, however the modification of KIM, KAGAN, Newman, and Barnes does not explicitly teach retrieving, from memory, a minimum font size suitable for display on the first user device, wherein generating for display, on the first user device, the first subset of the media assets comprises generating for display, on the first user device, the first subset of the media assets in the minimum font size
Shintani teaches the retrieving, from memory, a minimum font size suitable for display on the first user device, wherein generating for display, on the first user device, the first subset of the media assets comprises generating for display, on the first user device, the first subset of the media assets in the minimum font size (Shintani: Col 8, lines 58-60; Step 3020 arises if no user-supplied display characteristics input exists. In step 3020 of the present invention, a portion of the block of data is selected, based on minimum display characteristics. Col 9, lines 5-10; The present embodiment chooses a minimum display characteristic, such as minimum AR, minimum display device size, and minimum resolution, to provide a readable display of EPG data for all possible display devices. Col 10, lines 26-29; deciding the appropriate portion and formatting of block of data, such as the electronic programming information (EPG), for subsequent presentation to a display device. Col 11, lines 36-40; However, if the size input is not a high value, then process 4000 proceeds to step 4020. This latter case accounts for a small display device. Alternatively, size input can be compared to a predetermined threshold value to decide whether to proceed to step 4018 or step 4020. Col 11, lines 52-53; the block of data is decreased to accommodate a smaller size of display device).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify KIM (teaches searching for media assets matching the search query, each of the media assets matching the search query corresponding to a media entry in a single set of non-duplicative media entries and the media entries corresponding to the media assets displayed on the second user device are not the same media entries as the media entries corresponding to the media assets displayed on the first user device) with the teachings of KAGAN (teaches determining a display resolution of the first user device) with the teachings of Newman (teaches determining whether a number of the media assets matching the search query exceeds a threshold number of media assets…selecting the first subset based on determining that the number of the media assets that is based on the determined display resolution of the first user device…) with the teachings of Barnes (teaches automatically pushing and populating a second subset of media assets matching the search query at a second user device without input selecting the second subset; and generating for display, on at least one of the first or second user devices, an indication that the pushed second subset of the media assets are viewable on the second user device) with the further teachings of Shintani (teaches retrieving, from memory, a minimum font size suitable for display on the first user device; determining, based on the minimum font size, a threshold relating to a suitable number of media assets for display on the first user device). One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a combination of providing better results in viewing the listing by accommodating to the different size of information to be represented to the user so that the representation would be gradual and visible to the user (See Shintani: Col 8, lines 57-60). In addition, the references (KIM, KAGAN, Newman, Barnes, and Shintani) teach features that are directed to analogous art and they are directed to the same field of endeavor as KIM, KAGAN, Newman, Barnes, and Shintani are directed to receiving and displaying content between media devices.
Regarding claim 15, the modification of KIM, KAGAN, Newman, Barnes, and Shintani teaches claimed invention substantially as claimed, and Shintani further teaches the control circuitry is further configured to: determine the minimum font size based on the display resolution associated with the first user device (Shintani: Col 8, lines 38-43; the display characteristics of the display device provided by the user can include inputs such as the resolution… the aspect ratio (AR), and the physical size of the display. Additionally, the user can input a user-definable font type and font size for the text of the data to be displayed. Col 8, lines 58-60; a portion of the block of data is selected, based on minimum display characteristics. Col 10, lines 3-7; That is, when the appropriate amount of choices for display format and size have been evaluated, the best choice is…is used in the evaluation step. Col 10, lines 30-32; Process 4000 begins with step 4002. In step 4002 of the present embodiment, display characteristics of a display device are received. Col 11, lines 52-53; the block of data is decreased to accommodate a smaller size of display device);
store, in the memory, the minimum font size suitable for display on the first user device (Shintani: Col 8, lines 39-43; the display characteristics of the display device provided by…can include…such as the resolution…and font size for the text of the data to be displayed. Col 8, lines 57-60; a portion of the block of data is selected, based on minimum display characteristics. Col 9, lines 6-10; The present embodiment chooses a minimum display characteristic, such as minimum AR, minimum display device size, and minimum resolution, to provide a readable display of EPG data for all possible display devices. Col 9, lines 60-63; That is, a different portion, or an increment value of a display device format, e.g. screen size, is retrieved from memory 210 and implemented with respect to a portion of the data block, also stored in memory 210).
Claims 7-8 and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over K.R Patent Application Publication 2014/0098597 issued to KIM et al. (hereinafter as "KIM") in view of WO International Patent Publication 2015/134739 issued to KAGAN et al. (hereinafter as "KAGAN") in view of U.S Patent 9,357,250 issued to Newman et al. (hereinafter as "Newman") in view of
U.S Patent Application Publication 2010/0138761 issued to Shannon B. Barnes (hereinafter as "Barnes") in further view of U.S Patent Application Publication 2010/0131983 issued to Shannon et al. (hereinafter as “Shannon”).
Regarding claim 7, the modification of KIM, KAGAN, Newman, and Barnes teaches claimed invention substantially as claimed, however the modification of KIM, KAGAN, Newman, and Barnes does not explicitly teach receiving, at the at least one of the first user device and the second user device, a user selection of the indication, wherein the automatically populating the second user device with the pushed second subset of the media assets is further based on receiving the user selection of the indication.
Shannon teaches receiving, at the at least one of the first user device and the second user device, a user selection of the indication, wherein the automatically populating the second user device with the pushed second subset of the media assets is further based on receiving the user selection of the indication (Shannon: [0026]; The media guidance applications may be provided as on-line applications (i.e., provided on a web-site), or as stand-alone applications or clients on hand-held computers, PDAs, mobile telephones, or other mobile devices. The various devices and platforms that may implement media guidance applications are described in more detail below. [0032]; A display combining listings for content from different types of media sources is sometimes referred to as a “mixed-media” display. The various permutations of the types of listings that may be displayed that are different than display 100 may be based on user selection or guidance application definition (e.g., a display of only recorded and broadcast listings, only on-demand and broadcast listings, etc.). As illustrated, listings 114, 116, and 118 are shown as spanning the entire time block displayed in grid 102 to indicate that selection of these listings may provide access to a display dedicated to on-demand listings, recorded listings, or Internet listings, respectively). [0041]; After the selection of modules for a particular tab in a dashboard application display, media content listings within respective modules may be automatically configured by the dashboard application or manually customized by the user. Listings may also be manually added to or deleted from the modules by the user. [0043]; In one embodiment, the media content listings may be personalized based on one or more learned user household viewing habits from, for example, a user profile. User profile information may be provided by a user, automatically compiled, or obtained from related applications).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify KIM (teaches searching for media assets matching the search query, each of the media assets matching the search query corresponding to a media entry in a single set of non-duplicative media entries and the media entries corresponding to the media assets displayed on the second user device are not the same media entries as the media entries corresponding to the media assets displayed on the first user device) with the teachings of KAGAN (teaches determining a display resolution of the first user device) with the teachings of Newman (teaches determining whether a number of the media assets matching the search query exceeds a threshold number of media assets…selecting the first subset based on determining that the number of the media assets that is based on the determined display resolution of the first user device…) with the teachings of Barnes (teaches automatically pushing and populating a second subset of media assets matching the search query at a second user device without input selecting the second subset; and generating for display, on at least one of the first or second user devices, an indication that the pushed second subset of the media assets are viewable on the second user device) with the further teachings of Shannon (teaches a user selection of the indication, wherein the second subset of the media assets is generated for display on the second user device based on receiving the user selection of the indication). One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a combination of providing better results in displaying to the users a desirable experience for the various guidance information for the different user equipment devices (See Shannon [0076]). In addition, the references (KIM, KAGAN, Newman, Barnes, and Shannon) teach features that are directed to analogous art and they are directed to the same field of endeavor as KIM, KAGAN, Newman, Barnes, and Shannon are directed to utilizing multiple display devices in multimedia content access.
Regarding claim 8, the modification of KIM, KAGAN, Newman, and Barnes teaches claimed invention substantially as claimed, however the modification of KIM, KAGAN, Newman, and Barnes does not explicitly teach the automatically populating the second user device with the pushed second subset of the media assets is
Shannon teaches the automatically populating the second user device with the pushed second subset of the media assets is After the selection of modules for a particular tab in a dashboard application display, media content listings within respective modules may be automatically configured by the dashboard application or manually customized by the user. Listings may also be manually added to or deleted from the modules by the user. [0043]; In one embodiment, the media content listings may be personalized based on one or more learned user household viewing habits from, for example, a user profile. User profile information may be provided by a user, automatically compiled, or obtained from related applications {See Shannon: [0026]; The media guidance applications may be provided as on-line applications (i.e., provided on a web-site), or as stand-alone applications or clients on hand-held computers, PDAs, mobile telephones, or other mobile devices. The various devices and platforms that may implement media guidance applications are described in more detail below}).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify KIM (teaches searching for media assets matching the search query, each of the media assets matching the search query corresponding to a media entry in a single set of non-duplicative media entries and the media entries corresponding to the media assets displayed on the second user device are not the same media entries as the media entries corresponding to the media assets displayed on the first user device) with the teachings of KAGAN (teaches determining a display resolution of the first user device) with the teachings of Newman (teaches determining whether a number of the media assets matching the search query exceeds a threshold number of media assets…selecting the first subset based on determining that the number of the media assets that is based on the determined display resolution of the first user device…) with the teachings of Barnes (teaches automatically pushing and populating a second subset of media assets matching the search query at a second user device without input selecting the second subset; and generating for display, on at least one of the first or second user devices, an indication that the pushed second subset of the media assets are viewable on the second user device) with the further teachings of Shannon (teaches a user selection of the indication, wherein the second subset of the media assets is generated for display on the second user device based on receiving the user selection of the indication). One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a combination of providing better results in displaying to the users a desirable experience for the various guidance information for the different user equipment devices (See Shannon [0076]). In addition, the references (KIM, KAGAN, Newman, Barnes, and Shannon) teach features that are directed to analogous art and they are directed to the same field of endeavor as KIM, KAGAN, Newman, Barnes, and Shannon are directed to utilizing multiple display devices in multimedia content access.
Regarding claim 17, the modification of KIM, KAGAN, Newman, and Barnes teaches claimed invention substantially as claimed, however the modification of KIM, KAGAN, Newman, and Barnes does not explicitly teach receiving, at the at least one of the first user device and the second user device, a user selection of the indication, wherein the automatically populating the second user device with the pushed second subset of the media assets is further based on receiving the user selection of the indication.
Shannon teaches receiving, at the at least one of the first user device and the second user device, a user selection of the indication, wherein the automatically populating the second user device with the pushed second subset of the media assets is further based on receiving the user selection of the indication (Shannon: [0026]; The media guidance applications may be provided as on-line applications (i.e., provided on a web-site), or as stand-alone applications or clients on hand-held computers, PDAs, mobile telephones, or other mobile devices. The various devices and platforms that may implement media guidance applications are described in more detail below. [0032]; A display combining listings for content from different types of media sources is sometimes referred to as a “mixed-media” display. The various permutations of the types of listings that may be displayed that are different than display 100 may be based on user selection or guidance application definition (e.g., a display of only recorded and broadcast listings, only on-demand and broadcast listings, etc.). As illustrated, listings 114, 116, and 118 are shown as spanning the entire time block displayed in grid 102 to indicate that selection of these listings may provide access to a display dedicated to on-demand listings, recorded listings, or Internet listings, respectively). [0041]; After the selection of modules for a particular tab in a dashboard application display, media content listings within respective modules may be automatically configured by the dashboard application or manually customized by the user. Listings may also be manually added to or deleted from the modules by the user. [0043]; In one embodiment, the media content listings may be personalized based on one or more learned user household viewing habits from, for example, a user profile. User profile information may be provided by a user, automatically compiled, or obtained from related applications).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify KIM (teaches searching for media assets matching the search query, each of the media assets matching the search query corresponding to a media entry in a single set of non-duplicative media entries and the media entries corresponding to the media assets displayed on the second user device are not the same media entries as the media entries corresponding to the media assets displayed on the first user device) with the teachings of KAGAN (teaches determining a display resolution of the first user device) with the teachings of Newman (teaches determining whether a number of the media assets matching the search query exceeds a threshold number of media assets…selecting the first subset based on determining that the number of the media assets that is based on the determined display resolution of the first user device…) with the teachings of Barnes (teaches automatically pushing and populating a second subset of media assets matching the search query at a second user device without input selecting the second subset; and generating for display, on at least one of the first or second user devices, an indication that the pushed second subset of the media assets are viewable on the second user device) with the further teachings of Shannon (teaches a user selection of the indication, wherein the second subset of the media assets is generated for display on the second user device based on receiving the user selection of the indication). One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a combination of providing better results in displaying to the users a desirable experience for the various guidance information for the different user equipment devices (See Shannon [0076]). In addition, the references (KIM, KAGAN, Newman, Barnes, and Shannon) teach features that are directed to analogous art and they are directed to the same field of endeavor as KIM, KAGAN, Newman, Barnes, and Shannon are directed to utilizing multiple display devices in multimedia content access.
Regarding claim 18, the modification of KIM, KAGAN, Newman, and Barnes teaches claimed invention substantially as claimed, however the modification of KIM, KAGAN, Newman, and Barnes does not explicitly teach the automatically populating the second user device with the pushed second subset of the media assets is
Shannon teaches the automatically populating the second user device with the pushed second subset of the media assets is After the selection of modules for a particular tab in a dashboard application display, media content listings within respective modules may be automatically configured by the dashboard application or manually customized by the user. Listings may also be manually added to or deleted from the modules by the user. [0043]; In one embodiment, the media content listings may be personalized based on one or more learned user household viewing habits from, for example, a user profile. User profile information may be provided by a user, automatically compiled, or obtained from related applications {See Shannon: [0026]; The media guidance applications may be provided as on-line applications (i.e., provided on a web-site), or as stand-alone applications or clients on hand-held computers, PDAs, mobile telephones, or other mobile devices. The various devices and platforms that may implement media guidance applications are described in more detail below}).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify KIM (teaches searching for media assets matching the search query, each of the media assets matching the search query corresponding to a media entry in a single set of non-duplicative media entries and the media entries corresponding to the media assets displayed on the second user device are not the same media entries as the media entries corresponding to the media assets displayed on the first user device) with the teachings of KAGAN (teaches determining a display resolution of the first user device) with the teachings of Newman (teaches determining whether a number of the media assets matching the search query exceeds a threshold number of media assets…selecting the first subset based on determining that the number of the media assets that is based on the determined display resolution of the first user device…) with the teachings of Barnes (teaches automatically pushing and populating a second subset of media assets matching the search query at a second user device without input selecting the second subset; and generating for display, on at least one of the first or second user devices, an indication that the pushed second subset of the media assets are viewable on the second user device) with the further teachings of Shannon (teaches a user selection of the indication, wherein the second subset of the media assets is generated for display on the second user device based on receiving the user selection of the indication). One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a combination of providing better results in displaying to the users a desirable experience for the various guidance information for the different user equipment devices (See Shannon [0076]). In addition, the references (KIM, KAGAN, Newman, Barnes, and Shannon) teach features that are directed to analogous art and they are directed to the same field of endeavor as KIM, KAGAN, Newman, Barnes, and Shannon are directed to utilizing multiple display devices in multimedia content access.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
U.S Patent 2016/0077710 issued to LEWIS et al. (hereinafter as “LEWIS”) teaches continuation playback of media content by different devices in which causes a stream of media content data to be received from a stream source and output by a first portion of the device before the buffered content is delivered to the second device.
U.S Patent Application Publication 2016/0196048 issued to Khoury et al. (hereinafter as “Khoury”) teaches mobile computing device coupled to multiple display devices allowing the content to be concurrently displayed between different devices.
U.S Patent Application Publication 2016/0188681 issued to Savliwala et al. (hereinafter as “Savliwala”) teaches utilizing a search device and viewing device and splitting the search results among different devices.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact Information
8/19/2026
/ANDREW N HO/Examiner
Art Unit 2169
/SHERIEF BADAWI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2169