DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to applicant’s filing dated November 6, 2025.
Status of Claims
Claims 8, 9, 23-25, 44, 45, and 60-66 are pending in the instant application. Acknowledgement is made of Applicant's remarks and amendments filed November 6, 2025. Acknowledgement is made of Applicant's amendment of claim 8, 23-25, and 63-66. Claims 1-7, 10-22, 26-43, and 46-59 were previously canceled.
Applicants elected without traverse (i) ketamine as the agent species, (ii) PMS as the menstrually related disorder species, and (iii) irritability as the menstrually related symptom in the reply filed on October 28, 2021. Examination was expanded to the following species: premenstrual dysphoric disorder (PMDD) and anxiety in the Office Action dated February 14, 2022.
In order to accelerate prosecution, examination has been expanded to the following species: mood swings, because mood swings was identified during the prior art search.
New claims 63 and 65 are directed to the elected species, irritability. New claims 64 and 66 are directed to the expanded species, mood swings. Thus, claims 63-66 are presently under examination.
Claims 8, 9, 23-25, 44, 45, and 60-66 are presently under examination as they relate to the elected species: (i) ketamine, (ii) PMS, and (iii) irritability, and expanded species PMDD, and mood swings.
Priority
The present application is a 371 of PCT/US17/63836 filed on November 30, 2017, which claims benefit of US Provisional Application Nos 62/427,814 and 62/568,488 filed on November 30, 2016 and October 5, 2017, respectively. The effective filing date of the instant application is November 30, 2016.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on November 6, 2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Objections and/or Rejections and Response to Arguments
Rejections and/or objections not reiterated from previous office actions are hereby withdrawn. The following rejections and/or objections are either reiterated (Maintained Objections and/or Rejections) or newly applied (New Objections and/or Rejections, Necessitated by Amendment or New Objections and/or Rejections, NOT Necessitated by Amendment). They constitute the complete set presently being applied to the instant application.
New Objections and/or Rejections
Necessitated by Claim Amendment
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 8, 9, 23-25, 44, and 60-66 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Weg (US 2014/0057988 A1, cited in a previous Office Action) in view of Freeman (Psychoneuroendocrinology, 2003; 28(Suppl 3):25-37, cited in a previous Office Action), Irwin et al (J Palliat Med, 2010; 13(7):903-8); Lara et al (Int J Neuropsychopharm, 2013; 16:2111–2117); and Erickson et al (US 2015/0196501 A1, cited in a previous Office Action).
Regarding claims 8, 9, 60, and 63-66, Weg teaches a method for treating the development of anxiety in a subject comprising administering an NMDA receptor antagonist (claim 1) wherein the NMDA receptor antagonist comprises ketamine (claim 2). Weg further teaches "anxiety" refers to an emotional state of apprehension or other unease that is distressing or otherwise unpleasant to a person; anxiety may also occur comorbidly with other mental disorders or may be a symptom of them, such as in premenstrual dysphoric syndrome [0005]. Weg further teaches the method comprises the administration of the anxiolytic agent by a variety of routes including transmucosal [0023]. Thus, Weg teaches a method of treating premenstrual dysphoric syndrome wherein the symptom is anxiety comprising administering ketamine, including via transmucosal administration. A subject suffering from premenstrual dysphoric disorder reads on a subject experiencing menstrually related symptoms. Regarding the elected menstrually related disorder species, PMS, PMDD is a form of PMS as evidenced by Freeman (Psychoneuroendocrinology, 2003; 28(Suppl 3):25-37). Freeman teaches premenstrual dysphoric disorder is a severe dysphoric form of PMS (abstract). Thus, PMDD reads on PMS.
Weg does not explicitly teach the subject is experiencing menstrually related symptoms including irritability or mood swings.
However, Freeman teaches symptoms required to diagnose PMDD include anxiety, mood swings, and irritability (Table 3); PMS clearly involves emotional symptoms such as irritability, mood swings, tension and depression; and irritability may be the cardinal symptom of the syndrome (page 28. 2nd paragraph). Thus, a subject suffering from PMDD reads on a subject in need of treatment of anxiety, irritability and/or mood swings.
Irwin teaches ketamine has many properties that make it a good candidate for treating depression and anxiety (page 903, right, 2nd paragraph). Irwin teaches S.B. had severe anxiety symptoms related to shortness of breath; she reported one to three panic attacks per day; she was noticeably anxious during the initial interview; she also reported feeling irritable, which was confirmed by her caregiver/roommate; she would shout and appear extremely irritated when the phone rang or the dog would bark (page 904, left, 2nd paragraph); by 120 minutes after ketamine dosing, she no longer had suicidal thoughts and noted a significant improvement in her depression and anxiety; S.B. expressed hope for the future and no longer felt irritable; the overt signs of anxiety and irritability she displayed prior to ketamine dosing were absent (page 904, right, 2nd paragraph).
Lara teaches ketamine administered to one subject every 7 days, 20 doses the clinical outcome included a clear reduction of irritability and to another subject every 7 days continuous treatment for ~4 months the clinical outcome included less mood swings and irritability (page 2114, Table 1).
As such, since Weg teaches a method of treating premenstrual dysphoric syndrome wherein the symptom is anxiety comprising administering ketamine, including via transmucosal administration and that PMDD is a form of PMS; since Freeman teaches symptoms required to diagnose PMDD include anxiety, mood swings, and irritability and irritability may be the cardinal symptom of the syndrome of PMS; since Irwin teaches a method of treating anxiety comprising administering ketamine wherein the subject is experiencing irritability wherein the irritability is treated; and since Lara teaches ketamine treatment resulted in reduction of mood swings and irritability, it would have been prima facie obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of treating premenstrual dysphoric syndrome wherein the symptom is anxiety comprising administering ketamine, including via transmucosal administration taught by Weg to treat a subject suffering from premenstrual dysphoric syndrome wherein the symptom is anxiety experiencing irritability and/or mood swings with an expectation of success, since the prior art establishes that ketamine is useful for treating irritability in a subject experiencing anxiety and for reducing irritability and mood swings.
Regarding claims 23 and 24, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to initiate the method of treating premenstrual dysphoric syndrome wherein the symptom is anxiety experiencing irritability and/or mood swings comprising administering ketamine, including via transmucosal administration following or just prior to the appearance of irritability and/or mood swings in view of the cited art since the art establishes that ketamine is useful for treating irritability in a subject experiencing anxiety and for reducing irritability and mood swings.
Regarding claim 44, Weg does not explicitly teach the ketamine is enantiomerically pure S-(+)-ketamine.
However, Erickson teaches emerging evidence supports the use of ketamine for treatment of mood, anxiety, and expressive symptoms in children with bipolar disorder [0022] and that the composition may comprise racemic ketamine, the composition may comprise S-ketamine, or the composition may comprise greater than 99% of the S enantiomer of ketamine [0032]. Thus, Erikson establishes that S-ketamine is useful for treating anxiety and is safe for use in children.
Weg does not explicitly teach the ketamine is administered daily or intermittently or that there is at least one week during which no ketamine is administered (instant claims 8 and 25). However, Weg does teach administration of 2 to 3 teaches administration of active agent prior to undergoing procedure and experiences relieve from anxiety (see Examples I-VI) and night before flight and day of flight to relieve anxiety (Example VII). Moreover, Erickson teaches a randomized double-blind, placebo-controlled parallel group pilot study of four ascending doses of intranasal ketamine with open-label extension [0085], all visits were at least 4 days apart, with maximum of 8+/-2 days between visits [0087], subjects are age ≥12 and <31 years old [0062], ketamine will be compounded into a mucosal atomization device which delivers 10 mg of atomized ketamine per 0.1 cc spray, in Phase 1, participants will self-administer 2 sprays at visit 1, 4 sprays at visit 2, 6 sprays at visit 3, and 8 sprays at visit 4, unless subject reaches treatment response, prior to Phase 2, all subjects will undergo a 2 week wash-out period, in Phase 2, all patients will receive active drug in ascending doses of 20 mg at week 1, 40 mg week 2, 60 mg week 3, 80 mg week 4, unless subject reaches treatment response [0088], and outcome measures include Anxiety Depression and Mood Scale [0092]. It would have been prima facie obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to treat utilize the treatment regimen and doses of ketamine taught by Weg and Erickson as a starting point for optimizing the amount of ketamine for use in a method of treating premenstrual dysphoric disorder or symptom thereof wherein the symptom is anxiety with an expectation of success, since the prior art establishes that these doses are known to be safe to administer to humans and to measure Anxiety Depression and Mood Scale outcomes and because dosage and treatment regimen are result-effective variables, i.e. a variable that achieves a recognized result. Therefore, the determination of the optimum or workable dosages would have been well within the practice of routine experimentation by the skilled artisan. Furthermore, absent any evidence demonstrating a patentable difference between the compositions and the criticality of the claimed dosage range, the determination of the optimum or workable dosing regimen given the guidance of the prior art would have been generally prima facie obvious to the skilled artisan. Please see MPEP 2144.05 [R-2](II)(A) and In re Aller, 220 F. 2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). ("[W]here the general conditions of claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.").
Regarding the amounts of ketamine of instant claims 8, 44, and 62, Erickson teaches emerging evidence supports the use of ketamine for treatment of mood, anxiety, and expressive symptoms in children with bipolar disorder [0022], ketamine is compounded into a mucosal atomization device which delivers 20 mg of atomized ketamine per 0.1 cc spray; the subject will self-administer (or administer with the help of a caregiver) ketamine every four to seven days; on the first administration, 2 sprays are administered; on subsequent administration days, one spray will be added to the dosage, unless the subject reaches treatment response as described herein [0040] and subject measures include Anxiety Depression and Mood Scale [0041]. Moreover, Erickson teaches a composition comprising ketamine [0031], wherein the composition is administered weekly, every two to seven days or on a daily basis [0034], the composition may be administered in an escalating dose [0034], wherein the dose administered comprises 20 to 120 mg ketamine, such dosage may be administered at regular intervals, for example daily, weekly, or every 1 to 7 days, every 2 to 6 days, every 3 to 5 days, or any combination thereof, the dosage may vary among individuals and may generally be a weekly dose with a supplemental dosage as needed [0035]. Moreover, Erickson teaches ketamine doses ranging from 30-120 mg per dose in 12 youth ages 6 to 19 years in open-label study resulted in improved symptoms in bipolar disorder.
As such, since Weg teaches a method for treating premenstrual dysphoric disorder or symptom thereof, wherein the symptom is anxiety comprising administering ketamine; since Freeman teaches anxiety, irritability and mood swings are required symptoms for diagnosing PMDD; and since Erickson teaches ketamine is known in the art to treat mood, anxiety, and expressive symptoms, that doses of 30-120 mg are known to be safe to administer to children, and that outcomes in Anxiety Depression and Mood Scale are measured as a treatment outcome at these doses, it would have been prima facie obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to treat utilize the doses of ketamine taught by Erickson as a starting point for optimizing the amount of ketamine for use in a the method of treating premenstrual dysphoric syndrome wherein the symptom is anxiety having irritability and/or mood swings comprising administering ketamine, including via transmucosal administration with an expectation of success, since the prior art establishes that these doses are known to be safe to administer to children.
Regarding claims 23 and 24, Weg teaches a method of treating, ameliorating or preventing the onset of anxiety in a subject comprises administering to such subject an NMDA receptor antagonist; the NMDA receptor antagonist may comprise ketamine and its pharmaceutically acceptable salts, and is administered as a premedication; instances of use in this manner include administration prior to an anxiety causing event (abstract). It would have been prima facie obvious to treat premenstrual dysphoric syndrome wherein the symptom is anxiety, irritability, and mood swings to initiate treatment with ketamine just prior to the appearance of anxiety, irritability, and mood swings or following the appearance of anxiety, irritability, and mood swings, since the prior art establishes that anxiety, irritability and mood swings are required symptoms for diagnosing PMDD; that ketamine is useful for treating anxiety that is a symptom of PMDD and for treating, ameliorating or preventing the onset of anxiety; and that ketamine is known in the art to treat mood, anxiety, and expressive symptoms.
Regarding claim 61, Weg administration of active agent night before flight and day of flight to relieve anxiety (Example VII) for treating anxiety. It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to administer the ketamine in the evening to treat premenstrual dysphoric syndrome wherein the symptom is anxiety since the prior art teaches it is suitable to administer ketamine in the evening or during the day to treat anxiety.
Taken together, all this would result in the practice of the method of claims 8, 9, 23-25, 44, and 60-66 with a reasonable expectation of success.
Claim 45 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Weg (US 2014/0057988 A1, cited in a previous Office Action) in view of Freeman (Psychoneuroendocrinology, 2003; 28(Suppl 3):25-37, cited in a previous Office Action), Irwin et al (J Palliat Med, 2010; 13(7):903-8); Lara et al (Int J Neuropsychopharm, 2013; 16:2111–2117); and Erickson et al (US 2015/0196501 A1, cited in a previous Office Action) as applied to claims 8, 9, 23-25, 44, and 60-66 above, and further in view of Hashimoto et al (WO 2015/037248 A1, cited in a previous Office Action).
Regarding claim 45, as set forth above, the combined teachings of Weg, Freeman, Irwin, Lara, and Erickson suggest a method of treating premenstrual dysphoric syndrome wherein the symptom is anxiety experiencing irritability and/or mood swings comprising administering ketamine, including via transmucosal administration in a dose and treatment regimen that renders the instantly claimed dose and treatment regimen obvious (see above 103 rejection). The cited art does not explicitly teach the ketamine is pure R-(-)-ketamine.
However, Hashimoto teaches R(-)-ketamine or a pharmacologically acceptable salt thereof may be used as an agent to be used for treatment and/or prevention of depressive symptoms such as anxiety [0041]; R(-)-ketamine or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof can be safely used because of having less side effects found in S( + )-ketamine and RS( +/-)-ketamine; its dosage per day varies depending on the condition and body weight of a patient, the kind of a compound, an administration route, and the like; in terms of the amount of an active ingredient, it is desired that the dosage in the case of parenteral administration be from about 0.01 to 1,000 mg/person/day, preferably from 0.1 to 500 mg/person/day, and the dosage in the case of oral administration be from about 0.01 to 500 mg/person/day, preferably from 0.1 to 100 mg/person/day [0051].
As such, since Weg, Freeman, Irwin, Lara, and Erickson suggest a method of treating premenstrual dysphoric syndrome wherein the symptom is anxiety experiencing irritability and/or mood swings comprising administering ketamine, including via transmucosal administration in a dose and treatment regimen that renders the instantly claimed dose and treatment regimen obvious; and since Hashimoto teaches R(-)-ketamine is useful for treating symptoms including anxiety, ketamine is known in the art to treat mood, anxiety, and expressive symptoms and R(-)-ketamine or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof can be safely used because of having less side effects found in S-(+)-ketamine and RS-(+/-)-ketamine, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to utilize R(-)-ketamine as the ketamine in the method of treating premenstrual dysphoric syndrome wherein the symptom is anxiety experiencing irritability and/or mood swings, since the prior art teaches R(-)-ketamine has less side effects than S( + )-ketamine or racemic ketamine. Moreover, it would have been prima facie obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to treat utilize the doses of R(-)-ketamine taught by Hashimoto as a starting point for optimizing the amount of R(-)-ketamine for use in a method of treating premenstrual dysphoric disorder or symptom thereof; wherein the symptom is anxiety with an expectation of success, since the prior art establishes that these doses are useful for treating symptoms such as anxiety and because dosage and treatment regimen are result-effective variables, i.e. a variable that achieves a recognized result. Therefore, the determination of the optimum or workable dosages would have been well within the practice of routine experimentation by the skilled artisan. Furthermore, absent any evidence demonstrating a patentable difference between the compositions and the criticality of the claimed dosage range, the determination of the optimum or workable dosing regimen given the guidance of the prior art would have been generally prima facie obvious to the skilled artisan. Please see MPEP 2144.05 [R-2](II)(A) and In re Aller, 220 F. 2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). ("[W]here the general conditions of claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.").
Taken together, all this would result in the practice of the method of claim 45 with a reasonable expectation of success.
Response to Arguments
Since a new rejection was issued (see above), it is the Examiner’s belief that most of the arguments presented by Applicant have been considered/answered in the rejection itself.
Conclusion
Claims 8, 9, 23-25, 44, and 60-66 are rejected.
No claim is allowed.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Rayna Rodriguez/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1628