DETAILED ACTION
1.The Applicant’s response to the office action filed on August 04, 2026 is acknowledged.
Status of the Application
2. Claims 1-2, 4-5, 8-12, 18-19, 21-23 and 26-28, 30 are pending. New claim 31 is added. Claims 13-17 have been withdrawn from further consideration as being drawn to nonelected group. Claims 3, 6-7, 20 and 24-25 are canceled. The Applicant’s arguments have been fully considered and found persuasive in-part for the following reasons.
Claim Objection-withdrawn
3. Th objection to claim 29 has been withdrawn in view of the amendment.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112-withdrawn
4. The rejection of claims under 35 USC 112(b) has been withdrawn in view of the amendment.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103-maintained
The factual inquiries for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness.
Claims 1-2, 4-5, 8-10, 12, 18-19, 21-23, 26-28 and 31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mehta (US 2015/0167059) in view of Guo et al. (US 5,780,233).
Mehta teaches a single-stranded hydrolysis probe of claim 1, 5, 8, 23, 26-28, and a pair of probes of claims 12, 31, for use in a real-time PCR for detection of a SNP (single nucleotide polymorphism) in a nucleic acid target sequence, said probe comprising: a) a single stranded oligonucleotide sequence complementary to a region of the nucleic acid target sequence comprising said SNP and a mismatch forming a hairpin towards 3’ end (para 0004-0007, 0032-0038, 0046, 0054, 0074-0075); and
b) a pair of interactive labels, at least one label being signal-generating and the labels being effectively positioned on the oligonucleotide to quench the generation of a detectable signal, said labels being separated by a nuclease susceptible cleavage site (para 0046, 0054),
c) wherein said single-stranded probe is blocked at its 3’-end terminus (para 0034, 0074-0075); and
d) wherein the probe sequence has a length of 23 to 30 nucleotides wherein all but one nucleotide (mismatch) of the 23 to 40 nucleotides of the probe adopted to be complementary to the region of the nucleic acid sequence comprising said SNP (para 0038, 0007).
With reference to claim 2, 19, Mehta teaches said mismatch to the target comprises A-A or C-A mismatch (para 0011).
With reference to claim 8, 22, Mehta teaches the at least one label being signal-generating is a fluorophore and the other label of the pair of interactive labels is a quencher, which interacts with said fluorophore, distinguishable from each other through quantitative method (real-time PCR) (0046, 0054).
With reference to claim 9-10, 21, Mehta teaches said nucleic acid target sequence is a from a microorganism or a mammal and the SNP is activating mutation (para 0031, 0067).
With reference to claim 18, Mehta teaches a kit for the detection of a SNP in a nucleic acid target sequence via real-time PCR, comprising a) at least one hydrolysis probe of claim 1 or at least one pair of hydrolysis probes wherein at least one hydrolysis probe anneals within a nucleic acid target sequence comprising said SNP, and b) a set of oligonucleotide primers for performing a real-time PCR for the amplification of a region comprising the nucleic acid target sequence, wherein each oligonucleotide
primer is selected to anneal to its complementary template upstream of any probe of a) annealed to the same nucleic acid strand (para 0062-0064).
However, Mehta did not specifically teach position of the SNP and mismatch in said probe as claimed in claims 1, 4-5, 12, 18 and 31.
Guo et al. teach a SNP probe of claims1-2, 4-5, 8-10, 12, 18-19, 21-23, 26-28 and 31, comprising a SNP matching nucleotide and one mismatch (artificial mismatch) wherein the SNP and a mismatch positions vary between 4 and 19 of the probe which is in the central portion of the probe or between 5’ and 3’ terminus (col. 2, line 27-43, col. 4, line 47-67, col. 5, line 1-67, col. 6, line 1-29, col. 7, line 17-67, fig. 1-5), wherein Guo et al. teach an increase in probe length increases the specificity of recognizing the polymorphism (col. 9, line 29-51).
It would be prima facie obvious to one of the ordinary person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the hydrolysis probe as taught by Mehta with a probe comprising complementary sequence with the position of SNP and mismatch in the probe as taught by Guo et al. to improve the detection of SNP in a target nucleic acid. The ordinary person skilled in the art would have motivated to combine the hydrolysis probe of Mehta with the probe sequence comprising varying positions of a SNP and an artificial mismatch in a probe as taught by Guo et al. and have a reasonable expectation of success that the combination would result in developing an improved SNP probe because Guo et al. explicitly taught that probes designed to complementary base sequence to a SNP position and an artificial mismatch would provide superior discrimination of SNP and improve the specificity of the probe in recognizing true mismatches in the target (col. 7, line 17-67) and such a modification of the probe design targeting SNP is considered obvious over the cited prior art.
Response to Arguments:
With reference to the rejection of claims under 35 USC 103 as being obvious over Mehta in view of Guo et al., the Applicant’s arguments and the amendment have been fully considered and found unpersuasive. With reference to the Applicant’s arguments drawn to 3’ hairpin loop of the probe as taught by Mehta, and no motivation to modify the probe as taught by Mehta, the applicant’s arguments have been found unpersuasive. The Applicant’s also argue that the probe as taught by Guo et al. has 24-30 nucleotides and comprises additional multiple mismatches, would not be obvious over the claim 1 directed to a long probe with a single mismatch to achieve complete SNP discrimination. The arguments have been found unpersuasive. First, the claims are in comprising format and according to MPEP 2111.03 any additional elements are within the scope of the claims, thus hairpin loop or additional mismatches for multiple SNPs are within the scope of the claims as presented. Second, claim 1 as presented does not require complete SNP discrimination using only one mismatch. Third, the length of the probe as claimed is not a long probe because the probe length as claimed ranges from 23-30 nucleotides which is within the scope of the probe as taught by Guo et al. Further, as discussed in the rejection Guo et al. teach long probe increases the specificity of identifying a SNP. With reference to no motivation to combine the references, the Applicant’s arguments have been found unpersuasive. As discussed in the rejection, The ordinary person skilled in the art would have motivated to combine the hydrolysis probe of Mehta with a probe sequence comprising varying positions of a SNP and an artificial mismatch in a probe as taught by Guo et al. and have a reasonable expectation of success that the combination would result in developing an improved SNP probe because Guo et al. explicitly taught that probes designed to complementary base sequence to a SNP position and an artificial mismatch would provide superior discrimination of SNP and improve the specificity of the probe in recognizing true mismatches in the target (col. 7, line 17-67) and such a modification of the probe design targeting SNP is considered obvious over the cited prior art. For all the above, the rejection has been maintained and restated to include new claim 31.
Conclusion
Claims 11 and 30 are free of prior art.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Suryaprabha Chunduru
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1681
/SURYAPRABHA CHUNDURU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1681