DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1, 3-8 and 14 were rejected in the Office Action from 11/06/2025
Applicant filed a response, amended claims 1 and 7, and added claim 15. Claims 2, 13 and 15 were previously cancelled.
Claims 1, 3-12, 14 and 16 are currently pending in the application, of claims 9-12 are withdrawn from consideration.
Claims 1, 3-8, 14 and 16 are being examined on the merits in this Office Action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-5, 7-8 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (KR 20140066336) and further, in view of Marple et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2008/0026293) and Miura et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2015/0207113). Yoshizawa (U.S. Patent 6,132,900) and Lee et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2016/0099439) are provided as additional evidence.
Regarding claim 1, 3-4 and 14, Kim teaches an anti-corrosion-treated cylindrical battery (i.e., rustproof washer for a secondary battery and a secondary battery including the same) (abstract), comprising:
an electrode assembly (300) (i.e., power generation device) comprising a positive electrode, a negative electrode, and a separator mounted therein (page 2) (see figure below);
a cylindrical can (200) (i.e., can) having an open upper end (i.e., secondary battery includes a can, a cap assembly coupled to an upper opening of the can); (page 2)
a cap assembly (400) coupled to the cylindrical can (page 2) via a crimping unit (i.e., beading portion) (page 5) located at an outer circumferential surface of an upper part of the cylindrical can (as shown in figure 3 below), the crimping unit including a portion of the open upper end having a bent shape extending radially inwards (as shown in figure 3 below); and
an anti-corrosive gasket (500) (i.e., rustproof washer) extending between and contacting the cylindrical can (200) and the cap assembly (400) (as shown in figure 3) (page 5) (Note: the upper cap 410 is part of the cap assembly 400 therefore, it reads on the claimed limitation), a portion of the anti-corrosive gasket being exposed to an external environment outside of the cylindrical can and the cap assembly (as shown in figure 3 below and figure 4), wherein the anti-corrosive gasket (500) comprises a volatile corrosion inhibitor and a base resin (page 2), the volatile corrosion inhibitor comprising a polymer resin and a sodium-nitrate-based material (i.e., a polymer resin and NaNO2 or NaNO3) (page 3), the sodium-nitrate- based material being dispersed throughout the anti-corrosive gasket (i.e., NaNO2 and NaNo3 may be mixed with the polymer resin to obtain a vapor-proof rustproofing agent. This is mixed with the base resin, extruded and then rubbed in a washer-like shape to produce a rust-proof washer) (page 3).
Kim teaches a weight the volatile corrosion inhibitor is 1 to 30 percent of a weight of the base resin (page 3),
a weight percent of the sodium-nitrate-based material is 3 to 30 percent of a weight of the polymer resin (page 3), and
the sodium-nitrate-based material is at least one of NaNO2 and NaNo3, the sodium-nitrate- based material being dispersed throughout the anti-corrosive gasket (i.e., NaNO2 and NaNo3 may be mixed with the polymer resin to obtain a vapor-proof rustproofing agent. This is mixed with the base resin, extruded and then rubbed in a washer-like shape to produce a rust-proof washer) (page 3).
Kim teaches both the polymer resin and the base resin can include one selected from the group consisting of polypropylene, polybutylene terephthalate, polyethylene, Teflon, polytetrafluoroethylene, rayon, polybiscose and polynosic or a mixture of two or more thereof (page 3). As such, one of ordinary skill in the art could have consider selecting the polymer resin and the base resin to be identical having polypropylene or being different as one or a mixture of the components above can be selected for both, the polymer resin and the base resin.
Kim does not teach the specifics of the anti-corrosive gasket located at an inside of the crimping unit surrounded by the crimping unit.
Marple, also directed to a battery (i.e., electrochemical cell), teaches a battery (110) (see figure 1 below) (paragraph [0039]) having a crimping unit (114) (i.e., cell closure) (see figure 1) (paragraph [0042]) where a cylindrical can (112) (i.e., container) and a cap assembly (115) (i.e., terminal cover) is coupled (see figure 1) (paragraph [0042]), and an anti-corrosive gasket (116) (paragraph [0042], [0045]) located inside the crimping unit and surrounded by the crimping unit (see figure 1). Marple teaches the gasket prevent corrosion and inhibit leakage of electrolyte through and around the components in the crimping unit (114) (paragraph [0045]).
Kim provides the guidance that an anti-corrosion gasket can be placed between the cylindrical can and the cap assembly to prevent corrosion of the cap assembly (page 2). Marple teaches the anti-corrosive gasket located at an inside of the crimping unit surrounded by the crimping unit, providing anti corrosion properties and preventing leakage around and between components. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kim and include a gasket inside the crimping unit and surrounded by the crimping unit as suggested by Marple in order to further prevent corrosion and inhibit leakage of electrolyte through and around or between the components of the crimping unit.
Kim does not explicitly articulate the specifics of the anti-corrosive gasket is configured to prevent corrosion in the crimping unit in high-temperature and high-humidity conditions for an extended period of time. However, since Kim, as modified by Marple teaches identical materials for the anti-corrosive gasket as the one claimed, it would be reasonable to expect the same properties and characteristics to include stability or prevent the occurrence of corrosion in high-temperature and high-humidity conditions for an extended time. Nonetheless, Kim recognizes an improvement is required in the crimping unit to address the problem of corrosion in high temperature and high humidity atmosphere and such is addressed with a volatile corrosion inhibitor (VCI) (page 1). As such, one of ordinary skill in the art would understand that adding a VCI to the gasket in the location as claimed (which Marple suggests) would also increase prevention of corrosion in high-temperature and high-humidity conditions. Nonetheless, additional guidance is provided below.
Miura, directed to a non-aqueous secondary battery (abstract), teaches gasket that includes polymer resins such as polypropylene, polyethylene terephthalate and polybutylene terephthalate (paragraph [0072]). Miura teaches the gasket provides high compression ratio and prevents volatilization of electrolytic solution as well as intrusion of moisture inside the battery and such increase battery stability under high-temperature environment. As evidenced by Miura, a gasket with similar composition as Kim, can provide stability under high-temperature conditions. Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would understand that the gasket of Kim would also exhibit the same characteristics.
Provided as additional evidence, Yoshizawa, also directed to a battery (abstract) teaches an anti-corrosive gasket (4) located inside a crimping unit and surrounded by the crimping unit (abstract) (see figure 1) between a cylindrical can (1) (i.e., cell container) and cap assembly (see figure 1 below) (C3, L30-67). Yoshizawa teaches the gasket is coated with an anti-corrosion agent (C8, L1-10) suggesting it provides protection against corrosion. As such it is clear that the area where the gasket is located (see figure below) including the crimping unit and the cap assembly is corrosion resistant.
Kim provides the guidance that an anti-corrosion gasket can be placed between the cylindrical can and the cap assembly to prevent corrosion of the cap assembly (page 2). Yoshizawa teaches a gasket inside and surrounded by the crimping unit that is corrosion resistant. It would therefore be obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the battery of Kim to include an anti-corrosion gasket located inside of the crimping unit and surrounded by the cramping unit as taught by Yoshizawa to predictably improve resistance against corrosion in that particular area. In addition, if it was known that a material provides protection against corrosion and it was observed that an area not protected against corrosion is corroded, it would be obvious to a skilled artisan to use the material to further provide corrosion resistance in that particular area. For instance, provided as additional evidence, Lee teaches a battery can (i.e., corrosion resistant tube) (paragraph [0008]) that includes a volatile corrosion inhibitor (VIC) and a base resin (paragraph [0017]) which provides an excellent corrosion inhibiting property capable of enhancing safety of the battery and prevent occurrence of corrosion in the outer surface of the can (paragraph [0018]).
All the references recognize the need of components with anti-corrosive properties where they can be used between the cylindrical can and cap assembly (Kim), inside the crimping and surrounded by the crimping unit (Marple) (Yoshiwaza) or in the can (Lee). As such, one of ordinary skill in the art could have consider having any of the components of the battery to be treated or to include a corrosion inhibitor (i.e., VCI) in order to decrease occurrence of corrosion in the entire battery or a particular area or component.
Regarding claim 5, Kim teaches the sodium-nitrate-based material is dispersed throughout the anti-corrosive gasket in a crystalline state (i.e., NaNO2 and NaNo3 can be dispersed in crystals in a rust-proof washer) (page 4),
and a region of gamma-iron (III) oxide (7-Fe2O3) having a thickness ranging from 10A to 1000 A is disposed at an end of the crimping unit of the cylindrical can (page 4).
Regarding claim 7, Kim teaches the cap assembly comprises a top cap (i.e., upper cap) sealing the open end of the cylindrical can, the top cap contacting a protruding portion of the gasket (as shown in figure 3) (page 5);
a positive temperature coefficient (PTC) element (i.e., PTC device) contacting the top cap (page 5); and
a safety vent, one surface of which contacts the PTC element and a portion of another surface of which contacts the gasket (as shown in figure 3) (page 5).
Regarding claim 8, Kim teaches the battery further comprising a current interrupt device (i.e., current blocking member) welded to a lower end of the safety vent (as shown in figure 3), a lower part of the current interrupt device being connected to the electrode assembly (i.e., lower end of the safety vent is connected to the positive electrode of the power generation device through the current blocking member and the positive electrode lead) (page 5).
Claims 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (KR 20140066336) and further, in view of Marple et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2008/0026293) and Miura et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2015/0207113) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Lee et al. (KR 20160043724).
Regarding claim 6, Kim teaches the cap assembly comprises a top cap (i.e., upper cap) sealing the open end of the cylindrical can (as shown in figure 3) (page 5); and a safety vent electrically connected to the electrode assembly (page 5).
Kim does not explicitly teach the safety vent one surface of which contacts a side surface, an upper surface, and a lower surface of the top cap and another surface of which is has a bent shape and contacts an inner circumferential surface of the gasket.
Lee, also directed to a battery (abstract), teaches a battery having a cap assembly and a gasket (abstract), the cap assembly including a top cap (page 6) and a safety vent (page 6). Further, Lee teaches one surface of the safety vent contacts a side surface, an upper surface, and a lower surface of the top cap (i.e., wraps around the top cap) (page 4) and another surface of which is has a bent shape and contacts an inner circumferential surface of the gasket (as shown in figure 4 below) (page 4). Lee teaches such configuration provides a connection between the safety vent and the cap assembly (page 4).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the battery of Kim to include a safety vent with the configuration of Lee in order to provide a connection between the safety vent and the cap assembly.
Claims 15 is are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (KR 20140066336) and further, in view of Marple et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2008/0026293), Miura et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2015/0207113) and Lee et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2013/0273401). Yoshizawa (U.S. Patent 6,132,900) and Lee et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2016/0099439) are provided as additional evidence.
Regarding claim 15, Kim teaches an anti-corrosion-treated cylindrical battery (i.e., rustproof washer for a secondary battery and a secondary battery including the same) (abstract), comprising:
an electrode assembly (300) (i.e., power generation device) comprising a positive electrode, a negative electrode, and a separator mounted therein (page 2) (see figure below);
a cylindrical can (200) (i.e., can) having an open upper end (i.e., secondary battery includes a can, a cap assembly coupled to an upper opening of the can); (page 2)
a cap assembly (400) coupled to the cylindrical can (page 2) via a crimping unit (i.e., beading portion) (page 5) located at an outer circumferential surface of an upper part of the cylindrical can (as shown in figure 3 below), the crimping unit including a portion of the open upper end having a bent shape extending radially inwards (as shown in figure 3 below), the cap assembly comprising a top cap assembly comprising a top cap (i.e., cap 410) sealing the open upper end of the cylindrical can (page 5) (see figure 3) and a positive temperature coefficient (PTC) element (i.e., PTC device) contacting the top cap (page 5); and
an anti-corrosive gasket (500) (i.e., rustproof washer) extending between and contacting the cylindrical can (200) and the cap assembly (400) (as shown in figure 3) (page 5) (Note: the upper cap 410 is part of the cap assembly 400 therefore, it reads on the claimed limitation), a portion of the anti-corrosive gasket being exposed to an external environment outside of the cylindrical can and the cap assembly (as shown in figure 3 below and figure 4), wherein the anti-corrosive gasket (500) comprises a volatile corrosion inhibitor and a base resin (page 2), the volatile corrosion inhibitor comprising a polymer resin and a sodium-nitrate-based material (i.e., a polymer resin and NaNO2 or NaNO3) (page 3), the sodium-nitrate- based material being dispersed throughout the anti-corrosive gasket (i.e., NaNO2 and NaNo3 may be mixed with the polymer resin to obtain a vapor-proof rustproofing agent. This is mixed with the base resin, extruded and then rubbed in a washer-like shape to produce a rust-proof washer) (page 3).
Kim teaches a weight the volatile corrosion inhibitor is 1 to 30 percent of a weight of the base resin (page 3),
a weight percent of the sodium-nitrate-based material is 3 to 30 percent of a weight of the polymer resin (page 3), and
the sodium-nitrate-based material is at least one of NaNO2 and NaNo3, the sodium-nitrate- based material being dispersed throughout the anti-corrosive gasket (i.e., NaNO2 and NaNo3 may be mixed with the polymer resin to obtain a vapor-proof rustproofing agent. This is mixed with the base resin, extruded and then rubbed in a washer-like shape to produce a rust-proof washer) (page 3).
Kim teaches both the polymer resin and the base resin can include one selected from the group consisting of polypropylene, polybutylene terephthalate, polyethylene, Teflon, polytetrafluoroethylene, rayon, polybiscose and polynosic or a mixture of two or more thereof (page 3). As such, one of ordinary skill in the art could have consider selecting the polymer resin and the base resin to be identical having polypropylene or being different as one or a mixture of the components above can be selected for both, the polymer resin and the base resin.
Kim does not teach a thickness of the PTC element ranging from 0.2 to 0.4 mm, and a thickness of the portion of the top cap that contacts the PTC element ranging from 0.3 to 0.5 mm.
Lee, also directed to a cylindrical battery (abstract), teaches the battery having a cap assembly (30) with a top cap (32) and PTC (34) (paragraph [0097]). Further, Lee teaches PTC having a thickness of 0.2 to 0.4mm (paragraph [0078]) and the top cap having a thickness of 0.3-0.5 mm (paragraph [0079]). Lee teaches if the thickness of the PTC is too thick, the inner resistance thereof rises and the size of the battery increases, so the capacity may be reduced an if the thickness is too thin, desired current-interrupting effect is difficult to obtained at a high temperature and the PTC device may break even by external impact (paragraph [0078]). Moreover, Lee teaches if the thickness of the top cap is too thin, a desired mechanical hardness is difficult to be obtained and if the thickness is too thick, the size and weigh increase, so the capacity of the battery may be reduced (paragraph [0079]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kim to have the thickness of the PTC and top cap in the range as disclosed by Lee in order to optimize battery capacity and desire current-interrupting effect.
Kim does not teach the specifics of the anti-corrosive gasket located at an inside of the crimping unit surrounded by the crimping unit.
Marple, also directed to a battery (i.e., electrochemical cell), teaches a battery (110) (see figure 1 below) (paragraph [0039]) having a crimping unit (114) (i.e., cell closure) (see figure 1) (paragraph [0042]) where a cylindrical can (112) (i.e., container) and a cap assembly (115) (i.e., terminal cover) is coupled (see figure 1) (paragraph [0042]), and an anti-corrosive gasket (116) (paragraph [0042], [0045]) located inside the crimping unit and surrounded by the crimping unit (see figure 1). Marple teaches the gasket prevent corrosion and inhibit leakage of electrolyte through and around the components in the crimping unit (114) (paragraph [0045]).
Kim provides the guidance that an anti-corrosion gasket can be placed between the cylindrical can and the cap assembly to prevent corrosion of the cap assembly (page 2). Marple teaches the anti-corrosive gasket located at an inside of the crimping unit surrounded by the crimping unit, providing anti corrosion properties and preventing leakage around and between components. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kim and include a gasket inside the crimping unit and surrounded by the crimping unit as suggested by Marple in order to further prevent corrosion and inhibit leakage of electrolyte through and around or between the components of the crimping unit.
Kim does not explicitly articulate the specifics of the anti-corrosive gasket is configured to prevent corrosion in the crimping unit in high-temperature and high-humidity conditions for an extended period of time. However, since Kim, as modified by Marple teaches identical materials for the anti-corrosive gasket as the one claimed, it would be reasonable to expect the same properties and characteristics to include stability or prevent the occurrence of corrosion in high-temperature and high-humidity conditions for an extended time. Nonetheless, Kim recognizes an improvement is required in the crimping unit to address the problem of corrosion in high temperature and high humidity atmosphere and such is addressed with a volatile corrosion inhibitor (VCI) (page 1). As such, one of ordinary skill in the art would understand that adding a VCI to the gasket in the location as claimed (which Marple suggests) would also increase prevention of corrosion in high-temperature and high-humidity conditions. Nonetheless, additional guidance is provided below.
Miura, directed to a non-aqueous secondary battery (abstract), teaches gasket that includes polymer resins such as polypropylene, polyethylene terephthalate and polybutylene terephthalate (paragraph [0072]). Miura teaches the gasket provides high compression ratio and prevents volatilization of electrolytic solution as well as intrusion of moisture inside the battery and such increase battery stability under high-temperature environment. As evidenced by Miura, a gasket with similar composition as Kim, can provide stability under high-temperature conditions. Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would understand that the gasket of Kim would also exhibit the same characteristics.
Provided as additional evidence, Yoshizawa, also directed to a battery (abstract) teaches an anti-corrosive gasket (4) located inside a crimping unit and surrounded by the crimping unit (abstract) (see figure 1) between a cylindrical can (1) (i.e., cell container) and cap assembly (see figure 1 below) (C3, L30-67). Yoshizawa teaches the gasket is coated with an anti-corrosion agent (C8, L1-10) suggesting it provides protection against corrosion. As such it is clear that the area where the gasket is located (see figure below) including the crimping unit and the cap assembly is corrosion resistant.
Kim provides the guidance that an anti-corrosion gasket can be placed between the cylindrical can and the cap assembly to prevent corrosion of the cap assembly (page 2). Yoshizawa teaches a gasket inside and surrounded by the crimping unit that is corrosion resistant. It would therefore be obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the battery of Kim to include an anti-corrosion gasket located inside of the crimping unit and surrounded by the cramping unit as taught by Yoshizawa to predictably improve resistance against corrosion in that particular area. In addition, if it was known that a material provides protection against corrosion and it was observed that an area not protected against corrosion is corroded, it would be obvious to a skilled artisan to use the material to further provide corrosion resistance in that particular area. For instance, provided as additional evidence, Lee teaches a battery can (i.e., corrosion resistant tube) (paragraph [0008]) that includes a volatile corrosion inhibitor (VIC) and a base resin (paragraph [0017]) which provides an excellent corrosion inhibiting property capable of enhancing safety of the battery and prevent occurrence of corrosion in the outer surface of the can (paragraph [0018]).
All the references recognize the need of components with anti-corrosive properties where they can be used between the cylindrical can and cap assembly (Kim), inside the crimping and surrounded by the crimping unit (Marple) (Yoshiwaza) or in the can (Lee). As such, one of ordinary skill in the art could have consider having any of the components of the battery to be treated or to include a corrosion inhibitor (i.e., VCI) in order to decrease occurrence of corrosion in the entire battery or a particular area or component.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 02/04/2026 have been fully considered. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Lee.
Applicant further argues that the gasket of Kim is not exposed to external environment.
Examiner respectfully disagree. The anti-corrosion washer, which as indicated has been interpreted as the gasket, is in fact exposed to an external environment of the battery.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHRISTIAN ROLDAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1723