DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 4, 15 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Binley et al. (US 2003/0068409) in view of Potter (US 3,635,444) and Peyton (US 2,669,946):
Regarding claim 1, Binley discloses a variegator comprising a chamber (3,4,5) having a first set of one or more openings (opening of "7" within 3) and a second set of at least two openings (openings of "9" within 3), and one or more conduits (7) suitable for feeding the first set; and at least two conduits (9) suitable for feeding the second set from a conduit opening that is not a required element of the claimed variegator, the second set being below the first set (see Fig. 3); and a static mixer (10) below the second set, said static mixer comprising a series of baffles (see Fig. 3), where the axis of the at least two conduits is disposed perpendicular to the axis of the at least one conduit (see Fig. 3). However, Potter does not disclose the baffles being helical. Potter discloses a series of helical baffles (7) which each divide the mixer into two sections and which divide and recombine material. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have utilized helical baffles such as those taught by Potter, because Binley at [0060] suggests using other conventional baffles. The at least two conduits are not disclosed to branch from a single conduit. Peyton teaches conduits (23) branching from a single conduit (16) in a highly analogous situation. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have provide a single conduit form which the at least two conduits branch as taught by Peyton to avoid duplicating upstream feed structure such as pumps thereby saving cost.
Regarding claim 3, Binley discloses two opposed conduits (7).
Regarding claim 4, the axes of the conduits (7) are perpendicular to the axes of conduits (9).
Regarding claim 15, Fig. 3 would have suggested that the openings corresponding to "9" are very close to the upper end of the static mixer top baffle; it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have varied the scale of the structure depending upon how much mixed material production capacity is desired.
Regarding claim 17, Fig. 3 would have suggested that the openings corresponding to "9" are very close to the upper end of the static mixer top baffle; it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have varied the scale of the structure depending upon how much mixed material production capacity is desired.
Response to Arguments
Applicant correctly points out that Binley does not disclose the claimed conduit that branches into the at least two conduits. However, Peyton (US 2,669,946) is relied upon as teaching this feature.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
DAVID L. SORKIN
Examiner
Art Unit 1774
/DAVID L SORKIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1774