DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
The amendments submitted 12-17-2025 are being considered by the examiner.
Claims 1, 7, and 10 have been amended.
Claims 3-4 and 11 have been cancelled.
No new claims have been introduced.
Claims 1-2, 5-10, and 12 are currently pending.
The official correspondence below is a first action non-final on an RCE.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 7,and 10 are objected to because of the following informalities: “identifying a total braking power needed bring” should read “identifying a total braking power needed --to-- bring”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 6, 10, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Herden (US 20130338860 A1) in view of Donnelly (US 20050189887 A1) and in further view of Gross (US 20100292875 A1).
REGARDING CLAIM 1, Herden discloses, recognizing a sliding condition in at least one unit that is wheel-slide-controlled (Herden: [0016] identifying at least one axle which has inadmissible brake slip during the emergency braking and at which inadmissible brake slip occurs outside a predefined optimum brake slip range, [0017] b) identifying at least one axle which has no, or admissible, brake slip during the emergency braking and by which a larger friction braking force can be transmitted than by the at least one axle with inadmissible brake slip, [0018] c) adapting the friction braking forces at the at least one axle which has no, or admissible, brake slip such that by at least partially compensating the friction braking force which is lost at the at least one axle owing to the inadmissible brake slip, a deviation of the actual deceleration of the rail vehicle or of the rail vehicle train from a setpoint deceleration predefined by the emergency braking request by this adaptation); wherein a wheel slide protection system is active in the at least one unit (Herden: [0016] identifying at least one axle which has inadmissible brake slip during the emergency braking and at which inadmissible brake slip occurs outside a predefined optimum brake slip range, [0017] b) identifying at least one axle which has no, or admissible, brake slip during the emergency braking and by which a larger friction braking force can be transmitted than by the at least one axle with inadmissible brake slip, [0018] c) adapting the friction braking forces at the at least one axle which has no, or admissible, brake slip such that by at least partially compensating the friction braking force which is lost at the at least one axle owing to the inadmissible brake slip, a deviation of the actual deceleration of the rail vehicle or of the rail vehicle train from a setpoint deceleration predefined by the emergency braking request by this adaptation), whereby a braking force for the at least one unit is reduced (Herden: [0042] An additional antiskid device prevents locking of the wheel sets during braking … By means of the antiskid valves, the brake cylinder pressure C is reduced, maintained or increased depending on requirements) in response to the recognition of the sliding condition to prevent sliding (Herden: [ABS] A method for controlling an emergency brake device of a rail vehicle or rail vehicle train consisting of several rail vehicles having axles braked by friction brakes, wherein an emergency braking operation is started by an emergency braking input, including identifying at least one axle having inadmissible brake slip during the emergency braking operation; [0045] a) identifying at least one axle which has inadmissible brake slip during the emergency braking and at which inadmissible brake slip occurs outside a predefined optimum brake slip range); retrieving a type of friction prevailing on the at least one wheel-slide-controlled unit (Herden: [ABS] identifying at least one axle having no or admissible brake slip during the emergency braking operation by which axle a larger friction braking force can be transferred than by the at least one axle having inadmissible brake slip); wherein Kmu_0 is either greater than or less than 1 depending on the type of friction prevailing on the at least one wheel-slide controlled unit forming a function for the value mu_0 and a function for the value Kmu_0, over the entire length of the units in the longitudinal direction of a rail vehicle based on the determined values of mu_0 and Kmu_0 of the wheel-slide-controlled units (Herden: [0016] identifying at least one axle which has inadmissible brake slip during the emergency braking and at which inadmissible brake slip occurs outside a predefined optimum brake slip range, [0017] b) identifying at least one axle which has no, or admissible, brake slip during the emergency braking and by which a larger friction braking force can be transmitted than by the at least one axle with inadmissible brake slip, [0018] c) adapting the friction braking forces at the at least one axle which has no, or admissible, brake slip such that by at least partially compensating the friction braking force which is lost at the at least one axle owing to the inadmissible brake slip, a deviation of the actual deceleration of the rail vehicle or of the rail vehicle train from a setpoint deceleration predefined by the emergency braking request by this adaptation); comparing a current braking request at each of the units including the units that are and are not wheel-slide-controlled, to the value of the function of Kmu_0 at the site of the respective braking request (Herden: [0016-0018]; ALSO SEE ¶0048-0049, [ABS] identifying at least one axle having no or admissible brake slip during the emergency braking operation by which axle a larger friction braking force can be transferred than by the at least one axle having inadmissible brake slip; and adjusting the friction braking forces on the at least one axle having no or admissible brake slip such that the adjustment can maintain a deviation of the actual deceleration of the rail vehicle from a target deceleration; [0007] undesired formation of flat areas...the braking force at the affected axle is reduced in order to arrive approximately in the region of static friction or of optimum brake slip again; ¶0026 discloses braking distribution based on conditions at respective axels); and changing each braking request at each of the units including the units that are and are not wheel-slide-controlled, toward the respective value of the function of Kp0 at the site of the respective braking request thereby achieving a braking force at each of the units to maintain the total braking power of the rail vehicle (Herden: [ABS] identifying at least one axle having no or admissible brake slip during the emergency braking operation by which axle a larger friction braking force can be transferred (examiner: "changing each braking request") than by the at least one axle having inadmissible brake slip (examiner: this is controlling all wheels/axles); and adjusting the friction braking forces on the at least one axle having no or admissible brake slip such that the adjustment can maintain a deviation of the actual deceleration of the rail vehicle from a target deceleration (examiner: this is "identifying a total braking power needed bring the rail vehicle to a standstill up to a given stopping point, or to achieve a particular reduced speed at a given track point". While "track point" terminology is not explicitly recited, this can be performed at any track point); [0007] undesired formation of flat areas...the braking force at the affected axle is reduced in order to arrive approximately in the region of static friction or of optimum brake slip again (examiner: this is "toward the respective value of the function of Kp0 at the site of the respective braking request thereby achieving a braking force at each of the units to maintain the total braking power of the rail vehicle"); ¶0026 discloses braking distribution based on conditions at respective axels).
In this case, admissible and inadmissible friction is interpreted as lowered and extremely low friction values.
Herden does not explicitly recite the terminology, “Kmu_0 at the site” (modified/available adhesion value). However, Herden discloses "no", "admissible", and "inadmissible" slip at an axel/wheel (see at least [ABS]; [0054-0055]). Which, is parallel in service and result, and discloses a modified mu value at the site of the break request.
In this case, the current adhesion value in slip/slide is interpreted as the max value percentage available or a modified mu, because the currently available mu, or Kmu, at an axel/wheel/bogie is also the current prevailing max.
Herden does not explicitly recite the terminology “to the value of the function of Kµ0 at the site of the respective braking request”. However, Herden discloses “identifying at least one axle which has no, or admissible” brake slip during braking and by which “a larger friction braking force can be transmitted” than by an axle with inadmissible brake slip, and the axel with inadmissible slip has a reduced braking force applied to achieve a region of static friction or of optimum brake slip again. Which is interpreted as “comparing a braking request at each unit…”, and degerming if a modified braking function can be applied, which reads on the claim.
The examiner submits that Herden discloses determining max adhesion values and max percent of available adhesion compared to a known max mu. Herden discloses no slip, permissible slip, and inadmissible slip (anything but perfect adhesion is the prevailing friction at the wheels under slide prevention). Herden does not explicitly disclose, “determining the values of a maximum friction value in a region of microslippage (mu_0) and a maximum determined fraction of mu_0 (Kmu_0) for only each unit that is wheel-slide- controlled, wherein kmu_0 is either greater than or less than 1 depending on the type of friction prevailing; wherein both the function for the value µ0 and the function for the value Kµ0 are in each case constant, formed by the mean value of the respective values of µ0 and Kµ0 at the wheel-slide-controlled units, or wherein both the function for the value µ0 and the function for the value Kµ0 is linear, formed by the respective values of µ0 and Kµ0 of two wheel-slide-controlled units, or wherein both the function for the value µ0 and the function for the value Kµ0 is a function of at least second degree, formed by the respective values of µ0 and Kµ0 of several wheel-slide-controlled units”.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Donnelly discloses, determining the values of a maximum friction value in a region of microslippage (mu_0) (Donnelly: [0103]; [0107-0108]; [0144]) and a maximum determined fraction of mu_0 (Kmu_0) for only each unit that is wheel-slide- controlled (Donnelly: [0019] ... a lookup table of adhesion coefficients and associated locomotive/track/environmental conditions is used to predict the onset of wheel slip and/or skid … ; [0022] … a controller predicts the onset of wheel slip using a variable, such as a torque, a tractive effort, a traction motor current and/or a traction motor speed associated with the requested notch setting; [0108] ¶108 discloses testing to confirm/re-establish maximum and percent of maximum adhesion; [0111] ...If wheel slip is detected, the level of tractive effort at which it occurs is recorded and the wheel slip control logic described above automatically activates until wheel slip is terminated. The level of the wheel slip adhesion coefficient is then lowered to reflect new wheel slip conditions and the adhesion region is appropriately updated … ), wherein both the function for the value µ0 and the function for the value Kµ0 are in each case constant, formed by the mean value of the respective values of µ0 and Kµ0 at the wheel-slide-controlled units, or wherein both the function for the value µ0 and the function for the value Kµ0 is linear, formed by the respective values of µ0 and Kµ0 of two wheel-slide-controlled units, or wherein both the function for the value µ0 and the function for the value Kµ0 is a function of at least second degree, formed by the respective values of µ0 and Kµ0 of several wheel-slide-controlled units (Donnelly: [0094] Lines of constant torque (or tractive effort) 11003 represent lines of constant adhesion factor (or coefficient of friction). FIG. 11 shows one such line of constant adhesion factor 11003. For any torque above this line, wheel slip will occur ... [0095] FIG. 12 shows a plot of traction motor tractive effort 12001 versus motor speed 12002. As the rpms of the motor 12002 increase, the tractive effort 12001 output by the motor decreases. Since torque is proportional to tractive effort, the form of the torque versus motor rpms is the same. Lines of constant tractive effort (or torque) 12003 represent lines of constant adhesion factor (or coefficient of friction). FIG. 12 shows one such line of constant adhesion factor 12003. For any tractive effort above this line, wheel slip will occur; [0104] At the beginning of an operation, the adhesion limit 14003 for wheel slip is shown. If wheel slip occurs prior to the limit 14003, then a new torque or tractive effort limit 14004 is determined from the current monitoring device such as depicted in FIG. 13. If wheel slip continues to recur, then the adhesion limit can be further reduced to a new value 14005; [FIG. 14(mu and modified mu are constant)]), for the benefit of detecting and remedying wheel-slippage on individual wheels or axles (minimizing or preventing the development of flat spots, longer breaking distances.
In this case, current adhesion value in slip/slide is interpreted as the max value percentage available (modified mu). The examiners submits that under the broadest reasonable interpretation, all wheel/axels/bogies are persistently under wheel-slide-control.
The examiner submits that a modified mu can only be more or less than the original mu value (steel on steel mu coefficient).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify a method disclosed by Herden to include maximum and minimum available adhesion values taught by Donnelly. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification, with a reasonable expectation for success, in order to detect and remedy wheel-slippage on individual wheels or axles (minimizing or preventing the development of flat spots, longer breaking distances).
The examiner respectfully submits that Herden, as modified, discloses, identifying a total braking power needed bring the rail vehicle to a standstill up to a given stopping point, or to achieve a particular reduced speed at a given track point (Herden: [ABS]; [0007]).
However, should it be found that Herden, as modified, fails to disclose, identifying a total braking power needed bring the rail vehicle to a standstill up to a given stopping point, or to achieve a particular reduced speed at a given track point, in the same field of endeavor, Gross discloses, identifying a total braking power needed bring the rail vehicle to a standstill up to a given stopping point, or to achieve a particular reduced speed at a given track point (Gross: [0009] In order then to actually generate the determined required braking force, the management computer actuates these brake systems individually even in the normal operating mode when all the brake systems are functionally capable. In doing so, the management computer distributes the required braking force; [0019] The travel to a stopping point can then be controlled better until the rail vehicle comes to a standstill. As a result of the control of an electric brake system which is made possible and which can be controlled dynamically, a desired stopping point can be reached quickly with a high degree of accuracy), for the benefit of preventing overheating or mechanical damage.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method disclosed by a modified Herden to include a desired stopping point taught by Gross. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to prevent overheating or mechanical damage.
REGARDING CLAIM 2, Herden, as modified, remains as applied above to claim 1, and further, Herden also discloses, the changing of each braking request toward the respective value of the function of Kµ0 is done only for such braking requests that are increased thereby (Herden: [0042]; also see at least ¶0048-0049; [0029]).
REGARDING CLAIM 6, Herden, as modified, remains as applied above to claim 1, and further, Herden also discloses, at least one of the functions of the values for mu_0 and Kmu_0 is adapted based on further factors of influence including at least one of position of the rail vehicle, weather, moisture, velocity, outdoor temperature, weight of the vehicle, axle spacings, or direction of travel (Herden: [0003]).
REGARDING CLAIM 10, Herden discloses, recognizing that at least one unit is wheel-slide-controlled (Herden: [0030]); when it is in a condition of sliding and when a wheel slide protection system is active in the at least one unit (Herden: [ABS]; [0016-0018]; [0045]); retrieving a type of friction prevailing on the at least one wheel-slide-controlled unit (Herden: [ABS]); wherein Kmu_0 is either greater than or less than 1 depending on the type of friction prevailing on the at least one wheel-slide controlled unit forming a function for the value mu_0 and a function for the value Kmu_0, over the entire length of the units in the longitudinal direction of a rail vehicle based on the determined values of mu_0 and Kmu_0 of the wheel-slide-controlled units (Herden: [0016-0019]); comparing a current braking request at each of the units including the units that are and are not wheel-slide-controlled, to the value of the function of Kmu_0 at the site of the respective braking request (Herden: [0017-0018]; ALSO SEE ¶0048-0049, [ABS]; [0007]; ¶0026 discloses braking distribution based on conditions at respective axels); and changing each braking request at each of the units including the units that are and are not wheel-slide-controlled, toward the respective value of the function of Kp0 at the site of the respective braking request thereby achieving a braking force at each of the units to maintain the total braking power of the rail vehicle (Herden: [ABS]; [0007] (examiner: this is "toward the respective value of the function of Kp0 at the site of the respective braking request thereby achieving a braking force at each of the units to maintain the total braking power of the rail vehicle"); ¶0026 discloses braking distribution based on conditions at respective axels).
In this case, admissible and inadmissible friction is interpreted as low and extremely low friction values.
Herden does not explicitly recite the terminology, “Kmu_0 at the site” (modified/available adhesion value). However, Herden discloses "no", "admissible", and "inadmissible" slip at an axel/wheel. Which, is parallel in service and result, and discloses a modified mu value at the site of the break request.
In this case, the current adhesion value in slip/slide is interpreted as the max value percentage available or a modified mu, because the currently available mu, or Kmu, at an axel/wheel/bogie is also the current prevailing max.
Herden does not explicitly recite the terminology “to the value of the function of Kµ0 at the site of the respective braking request”. However, Herden discloses “identifying at least one axle which has no, or admissible” brake slip during braking and by which “a larger friction braking force can be transmitted” than by an axle with inadmissible brake slip, and the axel with inadmissible slip has a reduced braking force applied to achieve a region of static friction or of optimum brake slip again. Which is interpreted as “comparing a braking request at each unit…”, and degerming if a modified braking function can be applied, which reads on the claim.
The examiner submits that Herden discloses determining max adhesion values and max percent of available adhesion compared to a known max mu. Herden discloses no slip, permissible slip, and inadmissible slip (anything but perfect adhesion is the prevailing friction at the wheels under slide prevention). Herden does not explicitly disclose, “determining the values of a maximum friction value in a region of microslippage (mu_0) and a maximum determined fraction of mu_0 (Kmu_0) for only each unit that is wheel-slide- controlled, wherein kmu_0 is either greater than or less than 1 depending on the type of friction prevailing; wherein both the function for the value µ0 and the function for the value Kµ0 are in each case constant, formed by the mean value of the respective values of µ0 and Kµ0 at the wheel-slide-controlled units, or wherein both the function for the value µ0 and the function for the value Kµ0 is linear, formed by the respective values of µ0 and Kµ0 of two wheel-slide-controlled units, or wherein both the function for the value µ0 and the function for the value Kµ0 is a function of at least second degree, formed by the respective values of µ0 and Kµ0 of several wheel-slide-controlled units”.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Donnelly discloses, determining the values of a maximum friction value in a region of microslippage (mu_0) (Donnelly: [0103]; [0107-0108]; [0144]) and a maximum determined fraction of mu_0 (Kmu_0) for only each unit that is wheel-slide- controlled (Donnelly: [0019]; [0022]; [0108] ¶108 discloses testing to confirm/re-establish maximum and percent of maximum adhesion; [0111]), wherein both the function for the value µ0 and the function for the value Kµ0 are in each case constant, formed by the mean value of the respective values of µ0 and Kµ0 at the wheel-slide-controlled units, or wherein both the function for the value µ0 and the function for the value Kµ0 is linear, formed by the respective values of µ0 and Kµ0 of two wheel-slide-controlled units, or wherein both the function for the value µ0 and the function for the value Kµ0 is a function of at least second degree, formed by the respective values of µ0 and Kµ0 of several wheel-slide-controlled units (Donnelly: [0094-0095]; [0104]; [FIG. 14(mu and modified mu are constant)]), for the benefit of detecting and remedying wheel-slippage on individual wheels or axles (minimizing or preventing the development of flat spots, longer breaking distances.
In this case, current adhesion value in slip/slide is interpreted as the max value percentage available (modified mu). The examiners submits that under the broadest reasonable interpretation, all wheel/axels/bogies are persistently under wheel-slide-control.
The examiner submits that a modified mu can only be more or less than the original mu value (steel on steel mu coefficient).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify a method disclosed by Herden to include maximum and minimum available adhesion values taught by Donnelly. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification, with a reasonable expectation for success, in order to detect and remedy wheel-slippage on individual wheels or axles (minimizing or preventing the development of flat spots, longer breaking distances).
The examiner respectfully submits that Herden in view of Donnelly discloses, identifying a total braking power needed bring the rail vehicle to a standstill up to a given stopping point, or to achieve a particular reduced speed at a given track point (Herden: [ABS]; [0007]).
However, should it be found that Herden fails to disclose, identifying a total braking power needed bring the rail vehicle to a standstill up to a given stopping point, or to achieve a particular reduced speed at a given track point, in the same field of endeavor, Gross discloses, identifying a total braking power needed bring the rail vehicle to a standstill up to a given stopping point, or to achieve a particular reduced speed at a given track point (Gross: [0009]; [0019]), for the benefit of preventing overheating or mechanical damage.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method disclosed by a modified Herden to include a desired stopping point taught by Gross. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to prevent overheating or mechanical damage.
REGARDING CLAIM 12, Herden, as modified, remains as applied above to claim 1. Further, Herden, as modified, discloses, determining that dynamic addition of a requested total braking power of all units is not possible-due to temporarily inadequate adhesion or friction conditions between the wheel and the rail (Herden: [0017-0018]; ALSO SEE ¶0048-0049); increasing of the requested total braking power of all units, so that a compensating of a lost stopping distance is possible at a later time when the adhesion and friction conditions are suitable for this (Herden: [0042]; [0048-0049]; [0029]).
Claims 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Herden (US 20130338860 A1) in view of Donnelly (US 20050189887 A1) and in further view of Gross (US 20100292875 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Schreiber (EP 0621156 A2).
REGARDING CLAIM 5, Herden, as modified, remains as applied above to claim 1, and further, Herden in view of Donnelly and Gross do not explicitly disclose, both the function for the value µ0 and the function for the value Kµ0 is a function of at least second degree, formed by the respective values of µ0 and Kµ0 of several wheel-slide-controlled units.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Schreiber discloses, (Schreiber: see at least ¶[0016]), for the benefit taking into account the gradient of the adhesion characteristic curve behavior, to obtain an essential operating point parameter in the slope of the traction characteristic that is of the optimum slip speed relative to the related vehicle speed.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify a method for controlling an antiskid-regulated friction brake system of a rail vehicle disclosed by a modified Herden to include taking into account the gradient of the adhesion characteristic curve taught by Schreiber. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to take into account the gradient of the adhesion characteristic curve behavior, to obtain an essential operating point parameter in the slope of the traction characteristic that is of the optimum slip speed relative to the related vehicle speed.
Claim(s) 7-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Herden (US 20130338860 A1) in view of Schreiber (EP 0621156 A2) and in further view of Gross (US 20100292875 A1) and Donnelly (US 20050189887 A1).
REGARDING CLAIM 7, Herden discloses, recognizing that at least one unit is wheel-slide-controlled (Herden: [ABS]; [0045]), wherein the at least one unit is wheel-slide-controlled when it is in a condition of sliding and when a wheel slide protection system is active in the at least one unit (Herden: [0016-0018); comparing the current braking request at each of the units to the function of the value Kmu_0 at the site of the respective braking request (Herden: [0016-0018]; [0048-0049]); and changing each braking request at each of the units toward the respective value of the function of Kmu_0 at the site of the respective braking request thereby achieving a braking force at each of the units to maintain the total braking power of the rail vehicle (Herden: [ABS]; [0007]; ¶0026 discloses braking distribution based on conditions at respective axels).
In this case, admissible and inadmissible friction is interpreted as low and extremely low friction values.
Herden does not explicitly disclose, ascertaining of a function for the values of a maximum friction value in a region of microslippage (mu_0) and maximum determined fraction of p0 (Kmu_0) based on one or more gradient determinations of friction vs. slip at least at one of the units with subsequent evaluation, without one of the units being wheel-slide-controlled, wherein Kmu_0 is either greater than or less than 1 depending on a type of friction at the at least one of the units.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Schreiber discloses, ascertaining of a function for the values of a maximum friction value in a region of microslippage (mu_0) and maximum determined fraction of p0 (Kmu_0) based on one or more gradient determinations of friction vs. slip at least at one of the units with subsequent evaluation, without one of the units being wheel-slide-controlled, wherein Kmu_0 is either greater than or less than 1 depending on a type of friction at the at least one of the units (Schreiber: [0014]), for the benefit of linearizing this non-linear behavior, to obtain an essential operating point parameter in the slope of the traction characteristic, that is to say one which has been prescribed by a locomotive driver or engineer, can be limited to such an extent that an operating point becomes established in the region of the optimum operating point, that is of the optimum slip speed relative to the related vehicle speed.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method disclosed by Herden to include gradients and linearization taught by Schreiber. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to linearize this non-linear behavior, to obtain an essential operating point parameter in the slope of the traction characteristic, that is to say one which has been prescribed by a locomotive driver or engineer, can be limited to such an extent that an operating point becomes established in the region of the optimum operating point, that is of the optimum slip speed relative to the related vehicle speed.
The examiner respectfully submits that Herden, as modified, discloses, identifying a total braking power needed bring the rail vehicle to a standstill up to a given stopping point, or to achieve a particular reduced speed at a given track point (Herden: [ABS]; [0007]); ¶0026 discloses braking distribution based on conditions at respective axels).
However, should it be found that Herden, as modified, fails to disclose, identifying a total braking power needed bring the rail vehicle to a standstill up to a given stopping point, or to achieve a particular reduced speed at a given track point, in the same field of endeavor, Gross discloses, identifying a total braking power needed bring the rail vehicle to a standstill up to a given stopping point, or to achieve a particular reduced speed at a given track point (Gross: [0009]; [0019]), for the benefit of preventing overheating or mechanical damage.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method disclosed by a modified Herden to include a desired stopping point taught by Gross. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to prevent overheating or mechanical damage.
The examiner submits that Herden discloses determining max adhesion values and max percent of available adhesion compared to a known max mu. Herden discloses no slip, permissible slip, and inadmissible slip (anything but perfect adhesion is the prevailing friction at the wheels under slide prevention). Herden does not explicitly disclose, wherein both the function for the value µ0 and the function for the value Kµ0 are in each case constant, formed by the mean value of the respective values of µ0 and Kµ0 at the wheel-slide-controlled units, or wherein both the function for the value µ0 and the function for the value Kµ0 is linear, formed by the respective values of µ0 and Kµ0 of two wheel-slide-controlled units, or wherein both the function for the value µ0 and the function for the value Kµ0 is a function of at least second degree, formed by the respective values of µ0 and Kµ0 of several wheel-slide-controlled units.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Donnelly discloses, both the function for the value µ0 and the function for the value Kµ0 are in each case constant, formed by the mean value of the respective values of µ0 and Kµ0 at the wheel-slide-controlled units, or wherein both the function for the value µ0 and the function for the value Kµ0 is linear, formed by the respective values of µ0 and Kµ0 of two wheel-slide-controlled units, or wherein both the function for the value µ0 and the function for the value Kµ0 is a function of at least second degree, formed by the respective values of µ0 and Kµ0 of several wheel-slide-controlled units (Donnelly: [0094-0095]; [0104]; [FIG. 14(mu and modified mu are constant)]), for the benefit of detecting and remedying wheel-slippage on individual wheels or axles (minimizing or preventing the development of flat spots, longer breaking distances.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify a method disclosed by a modified Herden to include maximum and minimum available adhesion values taught by Donnelly. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification, with a reasonable expectation for success, in order to detect and remedy wheel-slippage on individual wheels or axles (minimizing or preventing the development of flat spots, longer breaking distances).
REGARDING CLAIM 8, Herden, as modified, remains as applied above to claim 7, and further, Herden also discloses, the changing of each braking request toward the respective value of the function of Kµ0 is done only for such braking requests that are increased thereby (Herden: [0042]; ALSO SEE ¶[0048-0049], [0016-0019]; [0029]).
REGARDING CLAIM 9, Herden, as modified, remains as applied above to claim 7, and further, Herden also discloses, determining that dynamic addition of a requested total braking power of all units is not possible due to temporarily inadequate adhesion or friction conditions between the wheel and the rail (Herden: [0017-0018]; [0048-0049]); and increasing of the requested total braking power of all units, so that a compensating of a lost stopping distance is possible at a later time when the adhesion and friction conditions are suitable for this (Herden: [0029]; [0042]; [0048-0049]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. To the examiner’s best understanding, the applicant has contended that the prior art of record fails to disclose:
forming a function for the value µ0 and a function for the value Kµ0, over the entire length of the units in the longitudinal direction of a rail vehicle
Herden (US 20130338860 A1): [0016] a) identifying at least one axle which has inadmissible brake slip during the emergency braking and at which inadmissible brake slip occurs outside a predefined optimum brake slip range, [0017] b) identifying at least one axle which has no, or admissible, brake slip during the emergency braking and by which a larger friction braking force can be transmitted than by the at least one axle with inadmissible brake slip, [0018] c) adapting the friction braking forces at the at least one axle which has no, or admissible, brake slip such that by at least partially compensating the friction braking force which is lost at the at least one axle owing to the inadmissible brake slip, a deviation of the actual deceleration of the rail vehicle or of the rail vehicle train from a setpoint deceleration predefined by the emergency braking request by this adaptation
based on the determined values of µ0 and Kµ0 of the wheel-slide-controlled units
Herden (US 20130338860 A1): [0017] b) identifying at least one axle which has no, or admissible, brake slip during the emergency braking and by which a larger friction braking force can be transmitted than by the at least one axle with inadmissible brake slip
comparing a current braking request at each of the units including the units that are and are not wheel-slide-controlled
Herden (US 20130338860 A1): [0016-0018]; ALSO SEE ¶0048-0049, [ABS] identifying at least one axle having no or admissible brake slip during the emergency braking operation by which axle a larger friction braking force can be transferred than by the at least one axle having inadmissible brake slip; and adjusting the friction braking forces on the at least one axle having no or admissible brake slip such that the adjustment can maintain a deviation of the actual deceleration of the rail vehicle from a target deceleration;
[0007] undesired formation of flat areas...the braking force at the affected axle is reduced in order to arrive approximately in the region of static friction or of optimum brake slip again;
¶0026 discloses braking distribution based on conditions at respective axels
wherein both the function for the value µ0 and the function for the value Kµ0 are in each case constant, formed by the mean value of the respective values of µ0 and Kµ0 at the wheel-slide-controlled units, or wherein both the function for the value µ0 and the function for the value Kµ0 is linear, formed by the respective values of µ0 and Kµ0 of two wheel-slide-controlled units, or wherein both the function for the value µ0 and the function for the value Kµ0 is a function of at least second degree, formed by the respective values of µ0 and Kµ0 of several wheel-slide-controlled units.
Donnelly (US 20050189887 A1): [0094] Lines of constant torque (or tractive effort) 11003 represent lines of constant adhesion factor (or coefficient of friction). FIG. 11 shows one such line of constant adhesion factor 11003. For any torque above this line, wheel slip will occur ... [0095] FIG. 12 shows a plot of traction motor tractive effort 12001 versus motor speed 12002. As the rpms of the motor 12002 increase, the tractive effort 12001 output by the motor decreases. Since torque is proportional to tractive effort, the form of the torque versus motor rpms is the same. Lines of constant tractive effort (or torque) 12003 represent lines of constant adhesion factor (or coefficient of friction). FIG. 12 shows one such line of constant adhesion factor 12003. For any tractive effort above this line, wheel slip will occur;
[0104] At the beginning of an operation, the adhesion limit 14003 for wheel slip is shown. If wheel slip occurs prior to the limit 14003, then a new torque or tractive effort limit 14004 is determined from the current monitoring device such as depicted in FIG. 13. If wheel slip continues to recur, then the adhesion limit can be further reduced to a new value 14005; [FIG. 14(mu and modified mu are constant)]
The examiner respectfully disagrees.
As cited above, and in previous correspondences, the prior art of record discloses, specifically Herden (US 20130338860 A1), forming (bring together parts to create) a function (an activity for a purpose; a relationship involving one or more variables) ([0016-0018] mu coefficients for a plurality of axels based upon a braking request), based upon adhesion for all axels ([0016-0018] axels with allowable and not allowable slip), and increasing requests at axels that have permissible slip (examiner: modified mu). To the examiner’s best understanding, Herden (US 20130338860 A1) explicitly disclose the contentions limitations, as cited above. Further, to the examiner’s best understanding, the prior art has been given a superficial reading, possibly for an explicit recitation of an equation, rather than being considered for content/context regarding how Herden (US 20130338860 A1) “brings together parts to create (forming)” “an activity for a purpose; a relationship involving one or more variables (a function)” based upon mu as respective axels.
Lastly, as cited above, Donnelly (US 20050189887 A1) discloses a mu and a modified mu are constants in predicting and managing slip. Because the prior art of record discloses that which is claimed, the examiner respectfully maintains the rejection of the independent claims under 35 USC §103, obviousness.
Conclusion
/A.S./Examiner, Art Unit 3663
/ANGELA Y ORTIZ/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3663