DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Claims 1-4, 7, 9-10, 12, 16-17, 20-26, 28-29, 33 and 38-41 are withdrawn. Claims 5-6, 8, 11, 13-15, 18-19, 30-32 are cancelled. Claims 27 and 36 are amended. Claims 27 and 34-36 are presently examined.
Applicant’s arguments regarding the objection to the claims have been fully considered and are persuasive. The objection of 9/24/2025 is withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments regarding the rejection under 35 USC 112(b) have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejection of 9/24/2025 is overcome.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 27 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Fursa (US 11,240,885) in view of Mironov (US 10,051,890).
Regarding claim 27, Fursa discloses an electrically operated aerosol generating device (figure 1, reference numeral 100), which is considered to meet the claim limitation of an apparatus, that accommodates an aerosol generating article within it (column 16, lines 3-27, figure 1, reference numeral 10). An inductor coil surrounds at least a portion of the article and defines a magnetic axis which corresponds to the longitudinal axis of the device (column 16, lines 3-27, figure 1, reference numeral 200). The area of the article defined by the inductor coil is considered to meet the claim limitation of a heating zone. The inductor has a plurality of flux concentrator segments (column 18, lines 21-63, figure 5, reference numerals 531, 532, 533, 534, 535) that have varying magnetic permeabilities so that a desired level of electromagnetic flux is achieved in the article during use (column 18, lines 64-67, column 19, lines 1-13). It is evident that the magnetic fields differ at each concentrator segment since the electromagnetic fluxes are different, that the magnetic flux in one region must be greater in one region than a different region since the flux would otherwise be consistent throughout the length, and it is additionally evident that the magnetic field at any point is a sum since the magnetic field generated by each concentrator will extend at least to adjacent concentrators. Electronics within the device control the supply of power to the inductor from the power source (column 8, lines 5-11), which is considered to meet the claim limitation of a controller. The heating occurs at a desired operating temperature (column 10, lines 37-41). Fursa does not explicitly disclose measuring a current using a detector.
Mironov teaches an aerosol generating article that uses a susceptor to heat aerosol forming substrate (abstract) where the apparent resistance of a susceptor is indirectly measured by measuring the DC current used to produce the fluctuating magnetic field (column 6, lines 32-49) so that the temperature can be precisely controlled to a desired level (column 14, lines 13-31).
It would therefore have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the controller of Fursa with the DC current measurement of Mironov. One would have been motivated to do so since Fursa discloses an article that is heated at a desired operating temperature and Mironov teaches measuring current to allow precise temperature control.
Claims 34 and 35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Fursa (US 11,240,885) in view of Mironov (US 10,051,890) as applied to claim 27 above, and further in view of Basil (US 2017/0224015).
Regarding claims 34 and 36, modified Fursa teaches all the claim limitations as set forth above. Modified Fursa does not explicitly teach using two coils.
Basil teaches an induction heating system for use with a smoking pipe that heats a smoking material using eddy currents (abstract). Two induction coils are interleaved with each other and energized for different lengths of time to better control the temperature of the bowl being heated [0013].
It would therefore have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide two interleaved coils in modified Fursa instead of a single coil. One would have been motivated to do so since Basil teaches that providing two interleaved coils provides better control of the temperature of the bowl being heated.
Regarding claim 35, Fursa discloses that the coil is helically wound (column 17, lines 11-29), and this arrangement is not changed by the modification of claim 34).
Response to Arguments
Regarding the rejections under 35 USC 103, applicant’s arguments have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues (a) that modified Fursa does not teach providing multiple magnetic fields and (b) that the dependent claims are allowable due to dependence on an allowable claim.
Regarding (a), Fursa discloses that the discrete flux concentrators result in a tuned magnetic field (column 4, lines 24-39). This indicates that each flux concentrator generates its own magnetic field, which are then summed up to create an overall magnetic field throughout the device of Fursa. These are the multiple magnetic fields that are considered to meet the claim limitation of a plurality of varying magnetic fields.
Regarding (b), all examined claims, including the examined independent claim, are rejected as set forth above.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/RUSSELL E SPARKS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1755