Detailed Office Action
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Indefiniteness Rejection
4. Claims 6 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The units specified for the hydroxyl numbers within each claim do not correspond to those conventionally employed; accordingly, the claimed hydroxyl numbers cannot be understood or reconciled with hydroxyl numbers of the prior art.
Double Patenting
6. Claims 1-3, 5, 7, 15, 18-21, and 23 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-3, 5, 9, and 12 of copending Application No. 18/005,261 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because each set of claims is drawn to a a two-component, solventless adhesive composition comprising an isocyanate component and an isocyanate reactive component comprising (1) an amine-initiated polyol comprising two or more primary hydroxyl groups and a backbone incorporating tertiary amines and (2) a phosphate ester polyol. Additionally, the composition of the copending application comprises additional polyols, such as those of instant claim 5.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Prior Art Rejection
8. Claims 1-7, 9, 11, and 13-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Roock et al. (US 2016/0090515 A1) in view of WO 2015/168670 A1.
Roock et al. disclose two part polyurethane adhesives comprising a polyol composition component and a polyisocyanate component, wherein the polyol composition component comprises an amine-initiated polyol with a suitable polyol being polyether tetrol initiated with ethylenediamine. The polyisocyanate component includes polyisocyanate species that meet those claimed. See paragraphs [0046], [0049], [0059]+, and [0096]+; and examples.
9. Though Roock et al. fail to disclose the claimed phosphate ester polyol and coupling agents, these components were known components of polyurethane adhesive compositions at the time of invention, as evidenced by WO 2015/168670 A1. . The secondary reference discloses that the phosphate ester polyols act as phosphate functional adhesion promoters, and the examples demonstrate that the presence of these components yields adhesives having improved laminating properties. See paragraphs [0001], [0015], and [0023]+ within the secondary reference. The secondary reference further discloses phosphate ester polyols produced by reacting polyphosphoric acid with polyol and polyisocyanate. See paragraph [0034]. Silane coupling agents are disclosed within paragraph [0049] and other additives, corresponding to those claimed, are set forth within paragraph [0050]. Accordingly, since it has been held that it obvious to use a known compound for its known use or function, the position is taken that it would have been obvious to incorporate these components into the adhesive composition of the primary reference, so as to obtain an adhesive having improved laminating properties. Regarding claim 11, since the respective amine-initiated polyol of the primary reference and claim are produced in the same manner using the same reactants, one would have expected that the polyols of the primary reference possess comparable viscosities. Regarding claim 13, given the disclosure within paragraphs [0034] and [0084] of the primary reference, the position is taken that producing a phosphate ester polyol having the claimed properties would have been within the capabilities of the skilled artisan.
10. Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Roock et al. (US 2016/0090515 A1) in view of Waddington et al. (US 2003/0100699 A1) and WO 2015/168670 A1.
Roock et al. disclose two part polyurethane adhesives comprising a polyol composition component and a polyisocyanate component, wherein the polyol composition component comprises an amine-initiated polyol with a suitable polyol being polyether tetrol initiated with ethylenediamine. The polyisocyanate component includes polyisocyanate species that meet those claimed. See paragraphs [0046], [0049], [0059]+, and [0096]+; and examples.
11. Though Roock et al. fail to disclose the use of the claimed compound, the use of an amine corresponding to that claimed as an autocatalytic polyol within polyurethane formulations was known at time of invention, as evidenced by the teachings of Waddington et al. (see abstract). Accordingly, the position is taken that it would have been obvious to incorporate such a compound within the composition of the primary reference for the purpose of introducing further autocatalytic characteristics into the composition.
12. Though Roock et al. fail to disclose the claimed phosphate ester polyol, phosphate ester polyols were known components of polyurethane adhesive compositions at the time of invention, as evidenced by WO 2015/168670 A1. The secondary reference discloses that the phosphate ester polyols act as phosphate functional adhesion promoters, and the examples demonstrate that the presence of these components yields adhesives having improved laminating properties. See paragraphs [0001], [0015], and [0023]+ within the secondary reference. Furthermore, the secondary reference discloses phosphate ester polyols produced by reacting polyphosphoric acid with polyol and polyisocyanate. See paragraph [0034]. Accordingly, since it has been held that it obvious to use a known compound for its known use or function, the position is taken that it would have been obvious to incorporate these components into the adhesive composition of the primary reference, so as to obtain an adhesive having improved laminating properties.
13. Applicants have argued that their showings of unexpected results rebut the prima facie case of obviousness. In response, the examiner has considered the argued showings; however, they are insufficient to overcome the prior art rejections, because the claims are not commensurate in scope with the argued showings in terms of reactant species and amounts. Considering the scope of instant claim 1 relative to the argued inventive examples, the argued showings are of far more limited scope than the instant claims; accordingly, the showings fail to establish that the argued unexpected results hold for the full scope of the claims. It has been held that the claims must be commensurate in scope with examples demonstrating unexpected results. In re Greenfield, 571 F.2d 1185, 1189, 197 USPQ 227, 230 (CCPA 1978).
Allowable Subject Matter
14. Claim 12 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/RABON A SERGENT/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1765