Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 15-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 15-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KANG et al. (US 20210084640 as supported by provisional 62454000 filed on 02/02/2017) in view of NOH et al. (US 11206177), LEE et al. (US 20180049149), PARK et al. (US 20200021413 as support by provisional app. 62453005 filed on 02/01/2017), TOMEBA et al. (US 20200014446 with foreign application JP 2016-191050 filed on 09/29/2016), and GUO et al. (US 20180219664 as supported by provisional app. 62453284 filed on 02/01/2017).
Regarding claim 15, KANG et al. (US 20210084640 as supported by provisional 62454000) teaches a user equipment (UE) in communication with a base station (BS) in a wireless communication system (fig. 8), the UE comprising:
a receiver that receives, from the BS, a Channel State Information (CSI) report setting including time-domain behavior of CSI reporting that designates aperiodic, periodic, or semi-persistent (par. 216, The base station may request periodic CSI reporting, semi-persistent CSI reporting, and/or aperiodic CSI reporting to the UE); and
a processor that performs the CSI reporting based on the aperiodic, periodic, or semi- persistent (par. 216, The base station may request periodic CSI reporting, semi-persistent CSI reporting, and/or aperiodic CSI reporting to the UE),
wherein the CSI reporting setting includes a higher layer parameter codebook information that includes information indicating at least a codebook applied in the UE in accordance with a number of antenna ports (par. 187, the CSI fed back by the UE includes channel quality information (CQI), a precoding matrix index (PMI), and a rank indicator (RI). Hereinafter, CQI feedback, PMI feedback, and RI feedback will be described in detail; par. 192, CSI PMI/RI feedback configuration…the PMI codebook…fed back by the UE… Nt represents the number of transmission antenna ports…the size of the PMI codebook is defined regardless of the number of transmission layers. In this case, R, the number of transmission layers coincides with a rank value of the precoding matrix (Nt.times.R matrix); table 7 PMI feedback type through higher layer configured),
wherein when the aperiodic CSI-RS is designated, the periodic CSI reporting and the semi- persistent CSI reporting is not selected (fig. 8, par. 223, a transmission period of the CSI-RS may be configured to be equal to or smaller than (i.e., so that CSI-RS transmission is more frequently performed than the CSI reporting) the CSI reporting period… a method for configuring the aperiodic CSI-RS transmission to be performed more frequently than the CSI reporting may also be considered),
and wherein the higher layer parameter codebook information includes information indicating at least the codebook applied in the UE in accordance with the number of antenna ports (par. 187, the CSI fed back by the UE includes channel quality information (CQI), a precoding matrix index (PMI), and a rank indicator (RI). Hereinafter, CQI feedback, PMI feedback, and RI feedback will be described in detail; par. 192, CSI PMI/RI feedback configuration…the PMI codebook…fed back by the UE… Nt represents the number of transmission antenna ports…the size of the PMI codebook is defined regardless of the number of transmission layers. In this case, R, the number of transmission layers coincides with a rank value of the precoding matrix (Nt.times.R matrix); table 7 PMI feedback type through higher layer configured).
However, KANG does not teach wherein the receiver receives a resource setting of CSI-RSs transmission; wherein the resource setting of the CSI-RSs transmission includes information that indicates that precoders applied to the CSI-RSs in the CSI-RS transmission; a multiplexing position on an odd resource block (RB) on which the CSI-RSs are multiplexed or a multiplexing position on an even RB in a resource block on which the CSI-RSs are multiplexed;
But, NOH et al. (US 11206177) in a similar or same field of endeavor teaches wherein the receiver receives a resource setting of CSI-RSs transmission (col. 7 line 5-7, col. 25 lines 5-10, CSI-RS configuration information); and wherein the resource setting of the CSI-RSs transmission includes information that indicates that precoders applied to the CSI-RSs in the CSI-RS transmission (col. 25 lines 5-10, the CSI-RS configuration information is configured with a non-precoded CSI-RS, the CSI-RS configuration information may further include information for expressing a number of resources aggregated for transmission of the CSI-RS); a multiplexing position on an odd resource block (RB) on which the CSI-RSs are multiplexed or a multiplexing position on an even RB in a resource block on which the CSI-RSs are multiplexed (col. 7 line 5-7, col. 7 lines 20-22, col. 13 lines 35-41, col. 13 line 66-col. 14 line 15, the CSI-RS configuration information includes information indicating a frequency comb type in which the CSI-RS is transmitted…The eNB separately or simultaneously configures the time comb comb.sub.T or the frequency comb comb.sub.F and notifies the UE of a time/frequency resource in which each CSI-RS subgroup is to be transmitted…the time comb of the second CSI-RS subgroup B and the time comb of the third CSI-RS subgroup C are set to 0 and 1, respectively, such that CSI-RS ports belonging to the subgroup B are transmitted every 10 ms in odd CSI-RS subframes, and CSI-RS ports belonging to the subgroup C are transmitted every 10 ms in even CSI-RS subframes…0 indicates that a CSI-RS subgroup is transmitted in odd PRBs, and 1 indicates that a CSI-RS subgroup is transmitted in even PRBs);
Thus, it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effectively filing date of the claimed invention to implement the system or method as taught by NOH in the system of KANG to configure CSI-RS transmission.
The motivation to provide proper distribution of a resource for a reference signal and a resource for traffic channel transmission to achieve optimal performance in terms of the overall system capacity.
However, KANG does not teach precoders applied to the CSI-RSs in the CSI-RS transmission are different.
But, LEE in a similar or same field of endeavor teaches wherein the receiver receives a resource setting of CSI-RSs transmission (par. 95, an eNB can provide configuration information (e.g., DMTC) on a specific RS (e.g., CSI-RS for the purpose of discovery) to a UE); and using OFDM for communication (par. 46, 54, OFDM) and wherein the resource setting of the CSI-RSs transmission includes information that indicates that precoders applied to the CSI-RSs in the CSI-RS transmission are different (par. 95, the eNB transmits each of a plurality of RSs to which a different precoding is applied based on the configuration information on the RS and a UE can individually report on an average power level (e.g., CSI-RSRP (reference signal received power) of each of the precoded RSs).
Thus, it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effectively filing date of the claimed invention to implement the system or method as taught by LEE in the system of KANG and NOH to indicating different precoders.
The motivation to reduce base station cost and backhaul network maintenance cost while extending service coverage and improving channel capacity and SINR in next-generation mobile communication systems (LEE par. 6).
However, KANG do not teach wherein the resource setting includes Code Division Multiplexing (CDM) information;
But, PARK et al. (US 20200021413) in a similar or same field of endeavor teaches wherein the resource setting includes Code Division Multiplexing (CDM) information (par. 450, 473, The eNB may signal to the UE information on each CDM (i.e., information indicating which CDM is applied) (e.g., information on CDM is not applied (No CDM), CDM-2, CDM-4, CDM-6, or CDM-8) or a subset thereof); wherein the resource setting of the CSI-RSs transmission includes a multiplexing position in a resource block (RB) (par. 450, 473, in the case of the 1/2 density, among 32 ports, a Comb Type transmission of a scheme of transmitting 16 ports to even RBs and remaining 16 ports to odd RBs is supported. In order to support the lower density, the eNB may configure the density value for the UE over the higher layer signaling (e.g., RRC signaling or MAC CE) even in the NR and in a plurality of CSI-RS patterns corresponding to M value and CDM value constituting the N-port, the CSI-RS may be transmitted in schemes in which different periods and offsets are configured), and wherein the multiplexing position is a multiplexing position on an odd RB or a multiplexing position on an even RB (par. 324, 450, 473, in the case of the 1/2 density, among 32 ports, a Comb Type transmission of a scheme of transmitting 16 ports to even RBs and remaining 16 ports to odd RBs is supported).
Thus, it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effectively filing date of the claimed invention to implement the system or method as taught by PARK in the system of KANG, NOH, and LEE to map CSI-RS.
The motivation would have been to improve the CSI-RS density to guarantee channel estimation performance.
However, KANG does not teach information includes information indicating at least the codebook applied in the UE in accordance with restriction information.
But, TOMEBA et al. (US 20200014446) in a similar or same field of endeavor teaches wherein the higher layer parameter codebook information includes information indicating at least the codebook applied in the UE in accordance with the number of antenna ports and restriction information (par. 96, 100, The configuration information of the NP CSI-RS includes some or all of the number of antenna ports, information related to the Codebook Subset Restriction (CBSR), information related to the codebook, interference measurement restriction that is a configuration whether or not to put a resource limit for measuring interference).
Thus, it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effectively filing date of the claimed invention to implement the system or method as taught by TOMEBA in the system of KANG, NOH, LEE, and PARK for measuring.
The motivation would have been to reduce measuring interference.
However, KANG does not teach information that indicates a timing offset value being designated when the periodic and semi-persistent CSI-RS are transmitted.
But, GUO et al. (US 20180219664) in a similar or same field of endeavor teaches information that indicates a timing offset value being designated when the periodic and semi-persistent CSI-RS are transmitted (par. 86, If the CSI-RS transmission is periodic or a semi-persistent transmission, the slot offset and periodicity can be configured).
Thus, it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effectively filing date of the claimed invention to implement the system or method as taught by GUO in the system of KANG, NOH, LEE, PARK, and TOMEBA to configure offset and periodicity of CSI-RS.
The motivation would have been to provide flexibility to support various applications.
Regarding claim 16, KANG et al. (US 20210084640 as supported by provisional 62454000) teaches the UE according to claim 15, wherein when the aperiodic CSI-RS is designated, the semi- persistent CSI reporting is not selected (fig. 8, par. 223, a transmission period of the CSI-RS may be configured to be equal to or smaller than (i.e., so that CSI-RS transmission is more frequently performed than the CSI reporting) the CSI reporting period… a method for configuring the aperiodic CSI-RS transmission to be performed more frequently than the CSI reporting may also be considered).
Regarding claim 17, KANG et al. (US 20210084640 as supported by provisional 62454000) teaches a method of acquiring Channel State Information (CSI) in a wireless communication system (fig. 8), the method comprising:
transmitting, from a Base Station (BS) to a User Equipment (UE), a CSI reporting setting including time-domain behavior of CSI reporting that designates aperiodic, periodic, or semi-persistent (par. 216, The base station may request periodic CSI reporting, semi-persistent CSI reporting, and/or aperiodic CSI reporting to the UE); and
performing, with the UE, the CSI reporting based on the aperiodic, periodic, or semi- persistent (par. 216, The base station may request periodic CSI reporting, semi-persistent CSI reporting, and/or aperiodic CSI reporting to the UE),
wherein the CSI reporting setting includes a higher layer parameter codebook information that includes information indicating at least a codebook applied in the UE in accordance with a number of antenna ports (par. 187, the CSI fed back by the UE includes channel quality information (CQI), a precoding matrix index (PMI), and a rank indicator (RI). Hereinafter, CQI feedback, PMI feedback, and RI feedback will be described in detail; par. 192, CSI PMI/RI feedback configuration…the PMI codebook…fed back by the UE… Nt represents the number of transmission antenna ports…the size of the PMI codebook is defined regardless of the number of transmission layers. In this case, R, the number of transmission layers coincides with a rank value of the precoding matrix (Nt.times.R matrix); table 7 PMI feedback type through higher layer configured), and
wherein when the aperiodic CSI-RS is designated, the periodic CSI reporting and the semi- persistent CSI reporting is not selected (fig. 8, par. 223, a transmission period of the CSI-RS may be configured to be equal to or smaller than (i.e., so that CSI-RS transmission is more frequently performed than the CSI reporting) the CSI reporting period… a method for configuring the aperiodic CSI-RS transmission to be performed more frequently than the CSI reporting may also be considered); and wherein the higher layer parameter codebook information includes information indicating at least the codebook applied in the UE in accordance with the number of antenna ports (par. 187, the CSI fed back by the UE includes channel quality information (CQI), a precoding matrix index (PMI), and a rank indicator (RI). Hereinafter, CQI feedback, PMI feedback, and RI feedback will be described in detail; par. 192, CSI PMI/RI feedback configuration…the PMI codebook…fed back by the UE… Nt represents the number of transmission antenna ports…the size of the PMI codebook is defined regardless of the number of transmission layers. In this case, R, the number of transmission layers coincides with a rank value of the precoding matrix (Nt.times.R matrix); table 7 PMI feedback type through higher layer configured).
However, KANG does not teach wherein the UE receives a resource setting of CSI-RSs transmission; wherein the resource setting of the CSI-RSs includes information that indicates that precoders applied to the CSI-RSs in the CSI-RS transmission; a multiplexing position on an odd resource block (RB) on which the CSI-RSs are multiplexed or a multiplexing position on an even RB in a resource block on which the CSI-RSs are multiplexed;
But, NOH et al. (US 11206177) in a similar or same field of endeavor teaches wherein the UE receives a resource setting of CSI-RSs transmission (col. 7 line 5-7, col. 25 lines 5-10, CSI-RS configuration information); wherein the resource setting of the CSI-RSs includes information that indicates that precoders applied to the CSI-RSs in the CSI-RS transmission (col. 25 lines 5-10, the CSI-RS configuration information is configured with a non-precoded CSI-RS, the CSI-RS configuration information may further include information for expressing a number of resources aggregated for transmission of the CSI-RS); a multiplexing position on an odd resource block (RB) on which the CSI-RSs are multiplexed or a multiplexing position on an even RB in a resource block on which the CSI-RSs are multiplexed (col. 7 line 5-7, col. 7 lines 20-22, col. 13 lines 35-41, col. 13 line 66-col. 14 line 15, the CSI-RS configuration information includes information indicating a frequency comb type in which the CSI-RS is transmitted…The eNB separately or simultaneously configures the time comb comb.sub.T or the frequency comb comb.sub.F and notifies the UE of a time/frequency resource in which each CSI-RS subgroup is to be transmitted…the time comb of the second CSI-RS subgroup B and the time comb of the third CSI-RS subgroup C are set to 0 and 1, respectively, such that CSI-RS ports belonging to the subgroup B are transmitted every 10 ms in odd CSI-RS subframes, and CSI-RS ports belonging to the subgroup C are transmitted every 10 ms in even CSI-RS subframes…0 indicates that a CSI-RS subgroup is transmitted in odd PRBs, and 1 indicates that a CSI-RS subgroup is transmitted in even PRBs);
Thus, it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effectively filing date of the claimed invention to implement the system or method as taught by NOH in the system of KANG to configure CSI-RS transmission.
The motivation to provide proper distribution of a resource for a reference signal and a resource for traffic channel transmission to achieve optimal performance in terms of the overall system capacity.
However, KANG does not teach precoders applied to the CSI-RSs in the CSI-RS transmission are different.
But, LEE in a similar or same field of endeavor teaches wherein the UE receives a resource setting of CSI-RSs transmission (par. 95, an eNB can provide configuration information (e.g., DMTC) on a specific RS (e.g., CSI-RS for the purpose of discovery) to a UE); and using OFDM for communication (par. 46, 54, OFDM) and wherein the resource setting of the CSI-RSs includes information that indicates that precoders applied to the CSI-RSs in the CSI-RS transmission are different (par. 95, the eNB transmits each of a plurality of RSs to which a different precoding is applied based on the configuration information on the RS and a UE can individually report on an average power level (e.g., CSI-RSRP (reference signal received power) of each of the precoded RSs).
Thus, it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effectively filing date of the claimed invention to implement the system or method as taught by LEE in the system of KANG and NOH to indicating different precoders.
The motivation to reduce base station cost and backhaul network maintenance cost while extending service coverage and improving channel capacity and SINR in next-generation mobile communication systems (LEE par. 6).
However, KANG do not teach wherein the resource setting includes Code Division Multiplexing (CDM) information;
But, PARK et al. (US 20200021413) in a similar or same field of endeavor teaches wherein the resource setting includes Code Division Multiplexing (CDM) information (par. 450, 473, The eNB may signal to the UE information on each CDM (i.e., information indicating which CDM is applied) (e.g., information on CDM is not applied (No CDM), CDM-2, CDM-4, CDM-6, or CDM-8) or a subset thereof); wherein the resource setting of the CSI-RSs transmission includes a multiplexing position in a resource block (RB) (par. 450, 473, in the case of the 1/2 density, among 32 ports, a Comb Type transmission of a scheme of transmitting 16 ports to even RBs and remaining 16 ports to odd RBs is supported. In order to support the lower density, the eNB may configure the density value for the UE over the higher layer signaling (e.g., RRC signaling or MAC CE) even in the NR and in a plurality of CSI-RS patterns corresponding to M value and CDM value constituting the N-port, the CSI-RS may be transmitted in schemes in which different periods and offsets are configured), and wherein the multiplexing position is a multiplexing position on an odd RB or a multiplexing position on an even RB (par. 324, 450, 473, in the case of the 1/2 density, among 32 ports, a Comb Type transmission of a scheme of transmitting 16 ports to even RBs and remaining 16 ports to odd RBs is supported).
Thus, it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effectively filing date of the claimed invention to implement the system or method as taught by PARK in the system of KANG, NOH, and LEE to map CSI-RS.
The motivation would have been to improve the CSI-RS density to guarantee channel estimation performance.
However, KANG does not teach information includes information indicating at least the codebook applied in the UE in accordance with restriction information.
But, TOMEBA et al. (US 20200014446) in a similar or same field of endeavor teaches wherein the higher layer parameter codebook information includes information indicating at least the codebook applied in the UE in accordance with the number of antenna ports and restriction information (par. 96, 100, The configuration information of the NP CSI-RS includes some or all of the number of antenna ports, information related to the Codebook Subset Restriction (CBSR), information related to the codebook, interference measurement restriction that is a configuration whether or not to put a resource limit for measuring interference).
Thus, it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effectively filing date of the claimed invention to implement the system or method as taught by TOMEBA in the system of KANG, NOH, LEE, and PARK for measuring.
The motivation would have been to reduce measuring interference.
However, KANG does not teach information that indicates a timing offset value being designated when the periodic and semi-persistent CSI-RS are transmitted.
But, GUO et al. (US 20180219664) in a similar or same field of endeavor teaches information that indicates a timing offset value being designated when the periodic and semi-persistent CSI-RS are transmitted (par. 86, If the CSI-RS transmission is periodic or a semi-persistent transmission, the slot offset and periodicity can be configured).
Thus, it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effectively filing date of the claimed invention to implement the system or method as taught by GUO in the system of KANG, NOH, LEE, PARK, and TOMEBA to configure offset and periodicity of CSI-RS.
The motivation would have been to provide flexibility to support various applications.
Regarding claim 18, KANG et al. (US 20210084640 as supported by provisional 62454000) teaches a Base Station (BS) in communication with user equipment (UE) in a wireless communication system (fig. 8), the BS comprising: a processor that designates aperiodic, periodic, or semi-persistent as time-domain behavior in a Channel State Information (CSI) reporting setting (par. 216, The base station may request periodic CSI reporting, semi-persistent CSI reporting, and/or aperiodic CSI reporting to the UE); and a transmitter that transmits the CSI reporting setting to the UE such that the UE performs CSI reporting based on the aperiodic, periodic, or semi-persistent (par. 216, The base station may request periodic CSI reporting, semi-persistent CSI reporting, and/or aperiodic CSI reporting to the UE), wherein the CSI reporting setting includes a higher layer parameter codebook information that includes information indicating at least a codebook applied tin the UE in accordance with a number of antenna ports (par. 187, the CSI fed back by the UE includes channel quality information (CQI), a precoding matrix index (PMI), and a rank indicator (RI). Hereinafter, CQI feedback, PMI feedback, and RI feedback will be described in detail; par. 192, CSI PMI/RI feedback configuration…the PMI codebook…fed back by the UE… Nt represents the number of transmission antenna ports…the size of the PMI codebook is defined regardless of the number of transmission layers. In this case, R, the number of transmission layers coincides with a rank value of the precoding matrix (Nt.times.R matrix); table 7 PMI feedback type through higher layer configured), and wherein the higher layer parameter codebook information includes information indicating at least the codebook applied in the UE in accordance with the number of antenna ports (par. 187, the CSI fed back by the UE includes channel quality information (CQI), a precoding matrix index (PMI), and a rank indicator (RI). Hereinafter, CQI feedback, PMI feedback, and RI feedback will be described in detail; par. 192, CSI PMI/RI feedback configuration…the PMI codebook…fed back by the UE… Nt represents the number of transmission antenna ports…the size of the PMI codebook is defined regardless of the number of transmission layers. In this case, R, the number of transmission layers coincides with a rank value of the precoding matrix (Nt.times.R matrix); table 7 PMI feedback type through higher layer configured).
However, KANG does not teach wherein the UE receives a resource setting of CSI-RSs transmission; wherein the resource setting of the CSI-RSs includes information that indicates that precoders applied to the CSI-RSs in the CSI-RS transmission; a multiplexing position on an odd resource block (RB) on which the CSI-RSs are multiplexed or a multiplexing position on an even RB in a resource block on which the CSI-RSs are multiplexed;
But, NOH et al. (US 11206177) in a similar or same field of endeavor teaches wherein the UE receives a resource setting of CSI-RSs transmission (col. 7 line 5-7, col. 25 lines 5-10, CSI-RS configuration information); wherein the resource setting of the CSI-RSs includes information that indicates that precoders applied to the CSI-RSs in the CSI-RS transmission (col. 25 lines 5-10, the CSI-RS configuration information is configured with a non-precoded CSI-RS, the CSI-RS configuration information may further include information for expressing a number of resources aggregated for transmission of the CSI-RS); a multiplexing position on an odd resource block (RB) on which the CSI-RSs are multiplexed or a multiplexing position on an even RB in a resource block on which the CSI-RSs are multiplexed (col. 7 line 5-7, col. 7 lines 20-22, col. 13 lines 35-41, col. 13 line 66-col. 14 line 15, the CSI-RS configuration information includes information indicating a frequency comb type in which the CSI-RS is transmitted…The eNB separately or simultaneously configures the time comb comb.sub.T or the frequency comb comb.sub.F and notifies the UE of a time/frequency resource in which each CSI-RS subgroup is to be transmitted…the time comb of the second CSI-RS subgroup B and the time comb of the third CSI-RS subgroup C are set to 0 and 1, respectively, such that CSI-RS ports belonging to the subgroup B are transmitted every 10 ms in odd CSI-RS subframes, and CSI-RS ports belonging to the subgroup C are transmitted every 10 ms in even CSI-RS subframes…0 indicates that a CSI-RS subgroup is transmitted in odd PRBs, and 1 indicates that a CSI-RS subgroup is transmitted in even PRBs);
Thus, it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effectively filing date of the claimed invention to implement the system or method as taught by NOH in the system of KANG to configure CSI-RS transmission.
The motivation to provide proper distribution of a resource for a reference signal and a resource for traffic channel transmission to achieve optimal performance in terms of the overall system capacity.
However, KANG does not teach precoders applied to the CSI-RSs in the CSI-RS transmission are different.
But, LEE in a similar or same field of endeavor teaches wherein the UE receives a resource setting of CSI-RSs transmission (par. 95, an eNB can provide configuration information (e.g., DMTC) on a specific RS (e.g., CSI-RS for the purpose of discovery) to a UE); and using OFDM for communication (par. 46, 54, OFDM) and wherein the resource setting of the CSI-RSs transmission includes information that indicates that precoders applied to the CSI-RSs in the CSI-RS transmission are different (par. 95, the eNB transmits each of a plurality of RSs to which a different precoding is applied based on the configuration information on the RS and a UE can individually report on an average power level (e.g., CSI-RSRP (reference signal received power) of each of the precoded RSs).
Thus, it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effectively filing date of the claimed invention to implement the system or method as taught by LEE in the system of KANG and NOH to indicating different precoders.
The motivation to reduce base station cost and backhaul network maintenance cost while extending service coverage and improving channel capacity and SINR in next-generation mobile communication systems (LEE par. 6).
However, KANG do not teach wherein the resource setting includes Code Division Multiplexing (CDM) information;
But, PARK et al. (US 20200021413) in a similar or same field of endeavor teaches wherein the resource setting includes Code Division Multiplexing (CDM) information (par. 450, 473, The eNB may signal to the UE information on each CDM (i.e., information indicating which CDM is applied) (e.g., information on CDM is not applied (No CDM), CDM-2, CDM-4, CDM-6, or CDM-8) or a subset thereof); wherein the resource setting of the CSI-RSs transmission includes a multiplexing position in a resource block (RB) (par. 450, 473, in the case of the 1/2 density, among 32 ports, a Comb Type transmission of a scheme of transmitting 16 ports to even RBs and remaining 16 ports to odd RBs is supported. In order to support the lower density, the eNB may configure the density value for the UE over the higher layer signaling (e.g., RRC signaling or MAC CE) even in the NR and in a plurality of CSI-RS patterns corresponding to M value and CDM value constituting the N-port, the CSI-RS may be transmitted in schemes in which different periods and offsets are configured), and wherein the multiplexing position is a multiplexing position on an odd RB or a multiplexing position on an even RB (par. 324, 450, 473, in the case of the 1/2 density, among 32 ports, a Comb Type transmission of a scheme of transmitting 16 ports to even RBs and remaining 16 ports to odd RBs is supported).
Thus, it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effectively filing date of the claimed invention to implement the system or method as taught by PARK in the system of KANG, NOH, and LEE to map CSI-RS.
The motivation would have been to improve the CSI-RS density to guarantee channel estimation performance.
However, KANG does not teach information includes information indicating at least the codebook applied in the UE in accordance with restriction information.
But, TOMEBA et al. (US 20200014446) in a similar or same field of endeavor teaches wherein the higher layer parameter codebook information includes information indicating at least the codebook applied in the UE in accordance with the number of antenna ports and restriction information (par. 96, 100, The configuration information of the NP CSI-RS includes some or all of the number of antenna ports, information related to the Codebook Subset Restriction (CBSR), information related to the codebook, interference measurement restriction that is a configuration whether or not to put a resource limit for measuring interference).
Thus, it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effectively filing date of the claimed invention to implement the system or method as taught by TOMEBA in the system of KANG, NOH, LEE, and PARK for measuring.
The motivation would have been to reduce measuring interference.
However, KANG does not teach information that indicates a timing offset value being designated when the periodic and semi-persistent CSI-RS are transmitted.
But, GUO et al. (US 20180219664) in a similar or same field of endeavor teaches information that indicates a timing offset value being designated when the periodic and semi-persistent CSI-RS are transmitted (par. 86, If the CSI-RS transmission is periodic or a semi-persistent transmission, the slot offset and periodicity can be configured).
Thus, it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effectively filing date of the claimed invention to implement the system or method as taught by GUO in the system of KANG, NOH, LEE, PARK, and TOMEBA to configure offset and periodicity of CSI-RS.
The motivation would have been to provide flexibility to support various applications.
Regarding claim 19, KANG et al. (US 20210084640 as supported by provisional 62454000) teaches a wireless communication system (fig. 8) comprising: a user equipment (UE) and a base station (BS), the UE comprising: a receiver that receives, from the BS, a Channel State Information (CSI) report setting including time-domain behavior of CSI reporting that designates aperiodic, periodic, or semi-persistent (par. 216, The base station may request periodic CSI reporting, semi-persistent CSI reporting, and/or aperiodic CSI reporting to the UE); and a first processor that performs the CSI reporting based on the aperiodic, periodic, or semi-persistent (par. 216, The base station may request periodic CSI reporting, semi-persistent CSI reporting, and/or aperiodic CSI reporting to the UE), the BS comprising: a second processor that designates aperiodic, periodic, or semi-persistent as time- domain behavior in the Channel State Information (CSI) reporting setting (par. 216, The base station may request periodic CSI reporting, semi-persistent CSI reporting, and/or aperiodic CSI reporting to the UE); and a transmitter that transmits the CSI reporting setting to the UE such that the UE performs CSI reporting based on the aperiodic, periodic, or semi-persistent (par. 216, The base station may request periodic CSI reporting, semi-persistent CSI reporting, and/or aperiodic CSI reporting to the UE), wherein the CSI reporting setting includes a higher layer parameter codebook information that includes information indicating at least a codebook applied tin the UE in accordance with a number of antenna ports (par. 187, the CSI fed back by the UE includes channel quality information (CQI), a precoding matrix index (PMI), and a rank indicator (RI). Hereinafter, CQI feedback, PMI feedback, and RI feedback will be described in detail; par. 192, CSI PMI/RI feedback configuration…the PMI codebook…fed back by the UE… Nt represents the number of transmission antenna ports…the size of the PMI codebook is defined regardless of the number of transmission layers. In this case, R, the number of transmission layers coincides with a rank value of the precoding matrix (Nt.times.R matrix); table 7 PMI feedback type through higher layer configured), and wherein when the aperiodic CSI-RS is designated, the periodic CSI reporting and the semi-persistent CSI reporting is not selected (fig. 8, par. 223, a transmission period of the CSI-RS may be configured to be equal to or smaller than (i.e., so that CSI-RS transmission is more frequently performed than the CSI reporting) the CSI reporting period… a method for configuring the aperiodic CSI-RS transmission to be performed more frequently than the CSI reporting may also be considered), and
wherein the higher layer parameter codebook information includes information indicating at least the codebook applied in the UE in accordance with the number of antenna ports (par. 187, the CSI fed back by the UE includes channel quality information (CQI), a precoding matrix index (PMI), and a rank indicator (RI). Hereinafter, CQI feedback, PMI feedback, and RI feedback will be described in detail; par. 192, CSI PMI/RI feedback configuration…the PMI codebook…fed back by the UE… Nt represents the number of transmission antenna ports…the size of the PMI codebook is defined regardless of the number of transmission layers. In this case, R, the number of transmission layers coincides with a rank value of the precoding matrix (Nt.times.R matrix); table 7 PMI feedback type through higher layer configured).
However, KANG does not teach wherein the receiver receives a resource setting of CSI-RSs transmission; wherein the resource setting of the CSI-RSs transmission includes information that indicates that precoders applied to the CSI-RSs in the CSI-RS transmission; a multiplexing position on an odd resource block (RB) on which the CSI-RSs are multiplexed or a multiplexing position on an even RB in a resource block on which the CSI-RSs are multiplexed;
But, NOH et al. (US 11206177) in a similar or same field of endeavor teaches wherein the receiver receives a resource setting of CSI-RSs transmission (col. 7 line 5-7, col. 25 lines 5-10, CSI-RS configuration information); and wherein the resource setting of the CSI-RSs transmission includes information that indicates that precoders applied to the CSI-RSs in the CSI-RS transmission (col. 25 lines 5-10, the CSI-RS configuration information is configured with a non-precoded CSI-RS, the CSI-RS configuration information may further include information for expressing a number of resources aggregated for transmission of the CSI-RS); a multiplexing position on an odd resource block (RB) on which the CSI-RSs are multiplexed or a multiplexing position on an even RB in a resource block on which the CSI-RSs are multiplexed (col. 7 line 5-7, col. 7 lines 20-22, col. 13 lines 35-41, col. 13 line 66-col. 14 line 15, the CSI-RS configuration information includes information indicating a frequency comb type in which the CSI-RS is transmitted…The eNB separately or simultaneously configures the time comb comb.sub.T or the frequency comb comb.sub.F and notifies the UE of a time/frequency resource in which each CSI-RS subgroup is to be transmitted…the time comb of the second CSI-RS subgroup B and the time comb of the third CSI-RS subgroup C are set to 0 and 1, respectively, such that CSI-RS ports belonging to the subgroup B are transmitted every 10 ms in odd CSI-RS subframes, and CSI-RS ports belonging to the subgroup C are transmitted every 10 ms in even CSI-RS subframes…0 indicates that a CSI-RS subgroup is transmitted in odd PRBs, and 1 indicates that a CSI-RS subgroup is transmitted in even PRBs);
Thus, it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effectively filing date of the claimed invention to implement the system or method as taught by NOH in the system of KANG to configure CSI-RS transmission.
The motivation to provide proper distribution of a resource for a reference signal and a resource for traffic channel transmission to achieve optimal performance in terms of the overall system capacity.
However, KANG does not teach precoders applied to the CSI-RSs in the CSI-RS transmission are different.
But, LEE in a similar or same field of endeavor teaches wherein the receiver receives a resource setting of CSI-RSs transmission (par. 95, an eNB can provide configuration information (e.g., DMTC) on a specific RS (e.g., CSI-RS for the purpose of discovery) to a UE); and using OFDM for communication (par. 46, 54, OFDM) and wherein the resource setting of the CSI-RSs transmission includes information that indicates that precoders applied to the CSI-RSs in the CSI-RS transmission are different (par. 95, the eNB transmits each of a plurality of RSs to which a different precoding is applied based on the configuration information on the RS and a UE can individually report on an average power level (e.g., CSI-RSRP (reference signal received power) of each of the precoded RSs).
Thus, it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effectively filing date of the claimed invention to implement the system or method as taught by LEE in the system of KANG and NOH to indicating different precoders.
The motivation to reduce base station cost and backhaul network maintenance cost while extending service coverage and improving channel capacity and SINR in next-generation mobile communication systems (LEE par. 6).
However, KANG do not teach wherein the resource setting includes Code Division Multiplexing (CDM) information;
But, PARK et al. (US 20200021413) in a similar or same field of endeavor teaches wherein the resource setting includes Code Division Multiplexing (CDM) information (par. 450, 473, The eNB may signal to the UE information on each CDM (i.e., information indicating which CDM is applied) (e.g., information on CDM is not applied (No CDM), CDM-2, CDM-4, CDM-6, or CDM-8) or a subset thereof); wherein the resource setting of the CSI-RSs transmission includes a multiplexing position in a resource block (RB) (par. 450, 473, in the case of the 1/2 density, among 32 ports, a Comb Type transmission of a scheme of transmitting 16 ports to even RBs and remaining 16 ports to odd RBs is supported. In order to support the lower density, the eNB may configure the density value for the UE over the higher layer signaling (e.g., RRC signaling or MAC CE) even in the NR and in a plurality of CSI-RS patterns corresponding to M value and CDM value constituting the N-port, the CSI-RS may be transmitted in schemes in which different periods and offsets are configured), and wherein the multiplexing position is a multiplexing position on an odd RB or a multiplexing position on an even RB (par. 324, 450, 473, in the case of the 1/2 density, among 32 ports, a Comb Type transmission of a scheme of transmitting 16 ports to even RBs and remaining 16 ports to odd RBs is supported).
Thus, it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effectively filing date of the claimed invention to implement the system or method as taught by PARK in the system of KANG, NOH, and LEE to map CSI-RS.
The motivation would have been to improve the CSI-RS density to guarantee channel estimation performance.
However, KANG does not teach information includes information indicating at least the codebook applied in the UE in accordance with restriction information.
But, TOMEBA et al. (US 20200014446) in a similar or same field of endeavor teaches wherein the higher layer parameter codebook information includes information indicating at least the codebook applied in the UE in accordance with the number of antenna ports and restriction information (par. 96, 100, The configuration information of the NP CSI-RS includes some or all of the number of antenna ports, information related to the Codebook Subset Restriction (CBSR), information related to the codebook, interference measurement restriction that is a configuration whether or not to put a resource limit for measuring interference).
Thus, it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effectively filing date of the claimed invention to implement the system or method as taught by TOMEBA in the system of KANG, NOH, LEE, and PARK for measuring.
The motivation would have been to reduce measuring interference.
However, KANG does not teach information that indicates a timing offset value being designated when the periodic and semi-persistent CSI-RS are transmitted.
But, GUO et al. (US 20180219664) in a similar or same field of endeavor teaches information that indicates a timing offset value being designated when the periodic and semi-persistent CSI-RS are transmitted (par. 86, If the CSI-RS transmission is periodic or a semi-persistent transmission, the slot offset and periodicity can be configured).
Thus, it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effectively filing date of the claimed invention to implement the system or method as taught by GUO in the system of KANG, NOH, LEE, PARK, and TOMEBA to configure offset and periodicity of CSI-RS.
The motivation would have been to provide flexibility to support various applications.
Regarding claim 20, KANG teaches the UE according to claim 15, wherein trigger information for the CSI reporting is indicated to the UE via downlink control information (DCI) (par. 197, the base station triggers the aperiodic CSI feedback through a downlink control channel such as a Physical Downlink Control Channel (PDCCH)/enhanced PDCCH (ePDCCH)).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
LEE et al. (US 20110194551) teaches wherein the resource setting of the CSI-RSs transmission includes a multiplexing position in a resource block (RB) (par. 450, 473,), and wherein the multiplexing position is a multiplexing position on an odd RB or a multiplexing position on an even RB (par. 450, 473,).
/THINH D TRAN/for /Thinh Tran/, Patent Examiner of Art Unit 2466 12/24/2025