Detailed Action
Summary
This is the Non-Final Office Action based on application 16/483714 RCE filed 03/27/2026.
Claims 1 & 24-26, 36, 40 & 55-64 have been examined and fully considered.
Claims 2-17, 27-35, 37-39, an 41-46 and & 47-54 are cancelled.
Claims 55-64 are newly added.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
The claimed invention is not directed to patent eligible subject matter. Based upon consideration of all of the relevant factors with respect to the claim as a whole, claim(s) 1 & 24-26, 36, 40 & 55-64 is/are determined to be directed to mean a natural correlation and abstract idea. The rationale for this determination is explained below:
As instantly claimed in Claims 1 & 24-26, 36, 40, & 55-64, applicant is detecting a level of C4c and sometimes prolactin or another marker, “obtaining,” cross sectional images of the lungs, and the either use it to screen for lung cancer or classify an indeterminant lung nodule. The claims encompass both an abstract idea and also a natural correlation/law of nature judicial exception. Nothing claimed instantly that makes the measured compounds or the correlation significantly more than the judicial exception (natural correlation/law of nature-if a person was sitting around with a level of c4c in them, they would have the same cancer state as being claimed), nor is there anything which takes the information from the judicial exception and practically applies it ( as shown by law of what is considered practical application).
With respect to the three-step inquiry for 101 guidance:
Step 1: Whether the claims fall within any statutory category
Yes, independent Claims 1 & 57 are both drawn towards methods.
Step 2A, Prong 1: Whether the claim/s recites a judicial exception
Independent Claims 1 & 57 recite the judicial exception of a natural correlation/law of nature & abstract idea which is detecting the level of the natural compound of c4c and identifying the patient as having lung cancer if the level is a certain level and not having cancer if it is at another level.
Claim 1 also recites the abstract idea of, “classifying,” in both the claim preamble and the claim body, however the classifying is related to whether the patient have stage I or II lung cancer, so even though the word “diagnosis,” is not used, that is what is being done. Classifying and screening are also mental processes which are abstract ideas. Diagnoses based on biomarkers(c4c) (being greater or lower than the level found in a control)- which is what is being done instantly are natural correlations which are law of nature judicial exceptions.
Claim 57 recites the abstract idea of “screening,” in the preamble and “classifying,” and “identifying,” in the claim body which are mental processes which are abstract ideas. to a reference which are mental processes/abstract ideas. The screening, classifying, and identifying are related to whether the patient have stage I or II lung cancer, so even though the word “diagnosis,” is not used, that is what is being done. Diagnoses based on biomarkers (c4c) (being greater or lower than the level found in a control)- which is what is being done instantly are natural correlations which are law of nature judicial exceptions.
Step 2A, Prong 2: Whether the claims as wholes integrate the recited judicial exceptions into a practical application of the exception.
The answer to this for Claims 1 & 57 is no.
For claim 1, in addition to the claimed steps which are judicial exceptions as shown above, the below is claimed:
obtaining cross sectional images of the lungs, which are machine generated (from a patient who is asymptomatic for Stage I or II lung cancer)
detecting an indeterminant lung nodule on the cross sectional image
detecting C4c level in plasma or serum of the subject.
Obtaining images, as generally claimed can reading on someone handing a doctor and image, or the image being provided to view/visually detect to a doctor on a computer. Therefore, the claimed “obtaining,” and “detecting,” can read on mental process/abstract ideas through broadest reasonable interpretation.
That the imaging is “machine generated,” does not change matters and no actual imaging is required in the claim given how obtaining and detecting can be interpreted. Further, even if a positive imaging step were required to be done by a machine---- this is considered to be data gathering to perform the judicial exception and therefore is insignificant extra-solution activity and does not practically apply the judicial exception. See MPEP 2106.05(g).
The claimed detecting of c4c level in plasma or serum of patient is interpreted similarly. Especially at the level of generality claimed, this detecting this is considered to be data gathering to perform the judicial exception and therefore is insignificant extra-solution activity and does not practically apply the judicial exception. See MPEP 2106.05(g).
The final step of Claim 1 is “classifying,” the nodule found in one of the images as malignant in comparison to a sample that does not have stage I or II lung cancer, based on the level of c4c. This natural correlation--- level of c4c indicates whether a patient with an indeterminant nodule has lung cancer or not in comparison to a reference/control, is the claimed natural correlation judicial exception itself. It and “classifying,” are also mental processes (the natural correlation = a mathematical a comparison) which are abstract ideas.
Claim 1 also requires that “the subject is asymptomatic for Stage I or Stage II lung cancer,” and that a plasma or serum sample is used. The fact that the subject tested is asymptomatic and that the blood or plasma sample is from an asymptomatic subject, also does not practically apply the judicial exception. Again--- the sample used, is just used to perform data gathering to accomplish the judicial exceptions as shown above for the detecting of c4c step. Therefore, this is also considered to be insignificant extra-solution activity and therefore to not practically apply the judicial exceptions. See MPEP 2106.05(g).
Independent Claim 57 requires the same steps as Claim 1, for
obtaining cross sectional images of the lungs, which are machine generated (from a patient who is asymptomatic for Stage I or II lung cancer)
detecting a lung nodules which can be any of malignant, benign, or indeterminant on the cross sectional image
detecting C4c level in plasma or serum of the subject.
For Claim 57 as in Claim 1, obtaining images, as generally claimed can reading on someone handing a doctor and image, or the image being provided to view/visually detect to a doctor on a computer. Therefore, the claimed “obtaining,” and “detecting,” can read on mental process/abstract ideas through broadest reasonable interpretation.
That the imaging is “machine generated,” does not change matters and no actual imaging is required in the claim given how obtaining and detecting can be interpreted. Further, even if a positive imaging step were required to be done by a machine---- this is considered to be data gathering to perform the judicial exception and therefore is insignificant extra-solution activity and does not practically apply the judicial exception. See MPEP 2106.05(g).
The claimed detecting of c4c level in plasma or serum of patient is interpreted similarly. Especially at the level of generality claimed, this detecting this is considered to be data gathering to perform the judicial exception and therefore is insignificant extra-solution activity and does not practically apply the judicial exception. See MPEP 2106.05(g).
The final steps in Claim 57 of “classifying,” and “ the nodule found in one of the images as malignant in comparison to a sample that does not have stage I or II lung cancer, based on the level of c4c, and then “identifying,” the subject as having stage I or II lung cancer if one or more malignant modules are detected, is all judicial exceptions. The natural correlation--- level of c4c indicates whether a patient with an indeterminant nodule has lung cancer or not in comparison to a reference/control, is the claimed natural correlation judicial exception itself. “Identifying,” a patient as have the stage II or III lung cancer is a mental process based on the “classifying,” above, so it is also a judicial exception of an abstract idea.
Claim 57 also requires that “the subject is asymptomatic for Stage I or Stage II lung cancer,” and that a plasma or serum sample is used. The fact that the subject tested is asymptomatic and that the blood or plasma sample is from an asymptomatic subject, also does not practically apply the judicial exception. Again--- the sample used, is just used to perform data gathering to accomplish the judicial exceptions as shown above for the detecting of c4c step. Therefore, this is also considered to be insignificant extra-solution activity and therefore to not practically apply the judicial exceptions. See MPEP 2106.05(g).
Further--- for both Claims 1 & 57, nothing is claimed after the final claim step wherein lung cancer is diagnosed/identified or classified, such as a particular treatment.
Step 2B: Do the claims recite any elements which are significantly more than the abstract idea?
The answer for Claims 1 & 57 is no.
Both independent Claims 1 & 57 require the same steps in addition to the judicial exceptions identified above. They are:
obtaining cross sectional images of the lungs, which are machine generated (from a patient who is asymptomatic for Stage I or II lung cancer)
detecting a lung nodule/s based on the cross sectional image
detecting C4c level in plasma or serum of the subject.
The obtaining images, or “machine generated,” images and instantly claimed, especially at the level of generality claimed is well understood, routine and conventional (WURC). Things which are WURC are not considered to add significantly more to a judicial exception. Further, as generally claimed the claimed detecting of the image can reading on someone handing a doctor and image, or the image being provided to view/visually detect to a doctor on a computer. Therefore, the claimed “obtaining,” and “detecting,” can read on mental process/abstract ideas through broadest reasonable interpretation. See MPEP 2106.05 (d) for what is considered WURC and “laboratory techniques as well-understood, routine, conventional activity.”
The claimed detecting of c4c level in plasma or serum of patient is interpreted similarly. Especially at the level of generality claimed, general detecting, of c4c is WURC—see the prior art rejection below for teaching of this. Using plasma samples (from subjects who don’t have cancer versus ones that do) is also something that is WURC in the art, so does not add significantly more. See MPEP 2106.06 (d).
Even further, in Claims 1 & 57 “classifying,” and “the nodule found in one of the images as malignant in comparison to a sample that does not have stage I or II lung cancer, based on the level of c4c, and/or then “identifying,” the subject as having stage I or II lung cancer if one or more malignant modules are detected, is all judicial exceptions. The natural correlation--- level of c4c indicates whether a patient with an indeterminant nodule has lung cancer or not in comparison to a reference/control, is the claimed natural correlation judicial exception itself. “Identifying,” a patient as have the stage II or III lung cancer is a mental process based on the “classifying,” above, so it is also a judicial exception of an abstract idea. Therefore, these are part of the judicial exceptions themselves and therefore do not add significantly more.
The dependent claims undergo a similar analysis.
Claim 24-26 & 58-60, specify further the rules for the diagnosis (which is a natural correlation and abstract idea), the type of cancer and biomarkers detected. These are all parts of the natural correlation itself, and therefore not significantly more at step 2B nor a practical application at Step 2A/2.
With respect to Claims 36 & 61, it is specified that a CT scanner is used as the imaging machine. While a CT scanner is a machine, it does not solve the problems above. CT imaging still reads as insignificant extra solution activity and also can be interpreted from the claim which it depends from as just getting an obtained CT image. Further- even if the CT scan is performed, it is done for data gathering so is insignificant extra solution activity and therefore does not practically apply at Step 2A/2. Further using CT images is WURC and therefore does not add significantly more at Step 2 B.
In Claims 56 & 64 it is claimed that an immunoassay is performed using ELISA. At this time- these things are claimed a such a level of generality that they are WURC and therefore do not add significantly more at Step 2B. Also, at the level of generality claimed, is just used for data gathering so does not practically apply at Step 2A/2.
Claims 40, 55, 62-63, read the same as USPTO eligibility example 29, Claim 2. Anti-c4c does not practically apply the judicial exception at step 2A/2 and is WURC, so does not add significantly more at step 2B. Detection of c4c and it’s correlation with the claimed identifying and classifying is part of the judicial exception itself.
See MPEP 2106.04 & 2016.05.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 & 24-26, 36, 40 & 55-64 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over MANGUERRA in US 20150099656 in view of PILELY in “A specific assay for quantification of human C4c by use of anti-c4c monoclonal antibody” in view of KEARNEY in US 20130217057.
With respect to Claim 1, 24 & 57-59, MANGUERRA et al. teaches of methods and kits for the early detection of pathogens, precise identification of the etiologic agent, and improved disease surveillance (abstract). MANGUERRA et al. more specifically teach of detecting cancer (paragraph 0071, 0073, 0272), and of detecting both prolactin (paragraph 0073) and C4c (paragraph 0078) and of using lung cells (so detecting cancer in lung cells) (paragraph 0320) and of detecting in comparison to a control value/reference sample from a healthy subject (paragraph 0310). MANGUERRA et al. further teach of the present invention relates to an in vitro method for diagnosing at least one target disease in a subject, said target disease being known to induce the synthesis of at least one target antibody in said subject, comprising performing the immunoassay of the invention, wherein said subject is diagnosed to be suffering from said at least one target disease if the amount of said at least one target antibody is higher than a control value (paragraph 0306).
MANGUERRA et al. teach of using malignant or normal non-malignant samples (paragraph 0157)
Though teaching of detection of c4c, MANGUERRA does not teach specifically of c4c “fragment,” so PILELY is used to remedy this,
PILELY et al. teach of detection method using monoclonal antibody (mAb) that is able to detect fluid phase C4c fragment without interference from other products generated from the complement component C4(full-length) (as is done instantly). Specifically, PILELY teaches of c4c Mab 99-72-18 (Figure 1 description & 2.3, first paragraph, 2.6, second paragraph).
The C4c specific mAb was tested in different enzyme-linked immunosorbent assay (ELISA)(immunoassay) combinations with various types of in vitro activated sera and samples from factor I deficient patients. The specificity of the mAb was further evaluated by immunoprecipitation techniques and by analysis of eluted fragments of C4 after immunoaffinity chromatography. The anti-C4c mAb was confirmed to be C4c fragment specific, as it showed no cross-reactivity with native (un-cleaved) C4, C4b, iC4b, or C4d fragments. Also, no reaction was observed with C4 fragments in factor I deficient plasma or serum samples(abstract).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant invention to detect c4c “fragment,” as is done in PILELY in the method of MANGUERRA due to the advantage and promise complement system biomarkers and c4c fragment specifically show as tools for pathogenesis (PILELY, abstract).
Since MANGUERRA et al. call out cancers, but do not specifically call out the phrase “lung cancer”, or teach of using nodules, and further MANGUERRA and PILELY do not teach of associated imaging or lung cancer detection or stage screening/identification/classification, KEARNEY is used to remedy this.
KEARNEY et al. teaches of the patient having primary malignant nodules or non-malignant nodules (Table 7, 8, paragraph 0004, 0027). KEARNEY et al. also teach of the cancer being small cell or non-small cell (Table 8) and of the subject being at risk for lung cancer (paragraph 0007).
KEARNEY also teach of screening/ classifying/identifying the stage of cancer which can be any of stages I-IV (paragraph 0027, 0057, Table 6) and that the patient which CT imaging is performed for can be asymptomatic (paragraph 0002).
KEARNEY et al. teach of a method to diagnose or classify a subject as having lung cancer or a non-cancerous condition, and to distinguish between different types of cancer e.g., malignant versus benign, SCLC versus NSCLC stages) (abstract). KEARNEY et al. also teach of using the specific biomarkers prolactin (Table 2) and CRP (Table 6) as biomarkers. KEARNEY et al. further teach of these methods finding use in screening methods for lung conditions, and particularly lung cancer diagnostics. More importantly, the invention finds use in determining the clinical management of a patient. That is, the method of invention are useful in ruling in or ruling out a particular treatment protocol for an individual subject, and in therapeutic drug monitoring/selection which make the instant methods obvious to screen or monitor treatments by biomarker levels (paragraph 0029, 0053-0054, 0068, 0108, 0110), and specifically of determining biomarker levels by immunoassay (paragraph 0093). KEARNEY et al. also teach of the detection of C4 detection of lung cancer (would include C4c fragment). Kearney et al. teach of C4BPA and of detecting C4 lung cancers (which would include c4c fragment protein as claimed) (Table 6). KEARNEY et al. further teach of using CT scanning imaging for one or more images by a CT machine- which spit out cross sectional images (paragraph 0002, 0005, 0027, 0053, 004, 0098, 0025, Claim 5). KEARNEY et al. further teach of detecting the patient having primary malignant nodules or non-malignant nodules (Table 7, 8 paragraph 0004, 0027). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the instant invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to diagnose lung cancer as is done in KEARNEY in the cancer diagnostic method of MANGUERRA and PILEY due to the need in the art for better diagnostics for lung cancer conditions (KEARNERY, paragraph 0004).
Further- regarding the claimed order of performing the claimed imaging and determining/measurement steps for C4c- in many places applicant claims that these steps can be performed in any order. Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill to change these, step around dependent on availability of imaging machine or assay labs. Further—See MPEP 2144.04 In reBurhans, 154 F.2d 690, 69 USPQ 330 (CCPA 1946) (selection of any order of performing process steps is prima facie obvious in the absence of new or unexpected results).
Further, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to screen the stage of cancer as is done in KEARNEY in the methods of MANGUERRA and PILELY due to the advantage this offers in making a pathological interpretation (Table 8).
With respect to Claims 25-26, 59, KEARNEY teach of the cancer being small cell or non-small cell (Table 8) and of the subject being at risk for lung cancer (paragraph 0007).
With respect to Claim 60, PILEY and MANGUERRA teach of the above, but do not teach of the claimed smoking history. KEARNEY is used to remedy this. KEARNEY teaches of the patients having a 30 year smoking history (paragraph 0081), and of monitoring age as well (Table 8), with the age median being 65 (Table 17). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to use patients in these grouping as is done in KEARNEY in the methods of PILEY and MANGUERRA due to the fact that these groups are known to be associated with lung cancer risk (KEARNEY, paragraph 0081).
With respect to Claims 36 & 61, KEARNEY et al. teach of using CT scanning imaging (paragraph 0002, 0005, 0027, 0053, 004, 0098, 0025, Claim 5).
With respect to Claim 40, 55-56, 62-64, PILEY et al. teach that the C4c specific mAb was tested in different enzyme-linked immunosorbent assay (ELISA)(immunoassay) combinations with various types of in vitro activated sera (serum) and samples from factor I deficient patients(abstract). PILEY further teaches of using anti-C4c mAb was confirmed to be C4c fragment specific, as it showed no cross-reactivity with native (un-cleaved) C4, C4b, iC4b, or C4d fragments. Also, no reaction was observed with C4 fragments in factor I deficient plasma or serum samples(abstract). PILEY et al. teach that the C4c (complement component C4c) specific mAb (monoclonal antibody) was tested in different enzyme-linked immunosorbent assay (ELISA)(immunoassay) combinations with various types of in vitro activated sera and samples from factor I deficient patients(abstract). See reason for combination from above.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 03/27/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The prior objections are overcome by amendments dated 03/27/2026 which cancelled the prior claims which were objected to.
The prior 112, 2nd rejection was also overcome due to the cancellation of the claims where there were issues with in amendments dated 03/27/2026.
With respect to the 101 rejection, applicant has amended the claims significantly on 03/27/2026. Therefore, these amendments are addressed in the 101 rejection as shown above. All claimed remain rejected under 101.
With respect to the 103 prior art rejection applicant argues that none of the prior art references used individually, Manguerra, Pilely, or Kearny teach of the claimed inventions by themselves.
In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
With respect to the prior art, the examiner will note- that at the level of generality instantly claimed—the prior art references make the instant claims obvious.
With respect to the PILELY reference, applicant argues that the references do not teach of detecting c4c, specifically for lung cancer. The examiner maintains that PILELY does in fact specifically teach of this detection of c4c(abstract) and it being a marker for inflammatory diseases (of which cancer) is one of--- as shown in the above rejection.
Applicant specifically argues that Pilely does not teach of lung cancer detection/prognosis (which is what the instant claims are drawn towards). The examiner see this, but would like to point out that this is in fact why MANGUERRA and KEARNEY were used. Further- PILELY does in fact recognize the complement systems of which C4 is part are therefore potential biomarkers for any acute and chronic inflammatory diseases—of which cancer is known to be one of (PILEY, Page 88, column 1, paragraph 1).
Applicant argues that Manguerra does not teach of C4c detection specific to lung cancer, but instead mentions it in relation to autoimmune disease and that the overall reference is more specific to methods for detecting target antibodies and kits for this.
With respect to this, though the examiner sees that the specific mention of C4c(fragment) in Manguerra is with respect to autoimmune disease (paragraph 0078) however, the rest of the reference makes it clear that cancers and autoimmune diseases are often and can be detected by the same antibody compounds (Manguerra, paragraph 0003 & 0272). Therefore, the examiner disagrees with applicant and maintains that the combination of PILELY, MANGUERRA, and KEARNEY make the instant invention obvious.
With respect to Kearney, applicant argues that again that Kearney does not teach of using C4c for detection for lung cancer detection. With respect to this- the examiner would like to point out that C4c detection was already taught by PILELY and a 103 rejection was made and therefore KEARNEY does not have to.
Further- KEARNEY et al. still does in fact teach of detecting C4 fragments and the association with cancer. Specifically, Kearney et al. teach of the detection of C4b- and it’s association with lung cancer (Table 6). Since C4b is a fragment of C4 as is the claimed C4c--- the teaching in KEARNEY teaches of detecting generally a C4 associated cancer- lung cancer (which would include c4c fragment protein as claimed)(Table 6). Applicant argues that this is not a teaching of the C4c fragment specifically and the examiner agrees, but maintains that C4c detection for inflammatory disease conditions was already taught above by PILELY.
Applicant also argues that KEARNEYS teaching of indeterminant nodules (paragraph 0004) would not play a diagnostic role, since the subject can also have no nodules. The examiner disagrees with this, as in the case where there are nodules, they would absolutely have a diagnostic role and therefore, still read on the instant claims.
Applicant further argues that they do not think KEARNEY and MANGUERRA cure the purported deficiencies of PILELY and also that one would not be motivated to change the principle of operation or indication of PILELY or MANGUERRA and that there would be no reasonable expectation of success and that the office is using improper hindsight bias. The examiner has already responded to these above in that KEARNEY And MANGUERRA would not be changing the principle of operation or indication of PILELY since PILELY is specific to inflammatory disorders whether chronic or acute (which cancer is one of) and therefore the examiner is not using improper hindsight and that there would be reasonable expectation of success
The examiner disagrees with applicant’s arguments that are on record, and all claims remain rejected.
Conclusion
/REBECCA M FRITCHMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1758