DETAILED ACTION
Disposition of Claims
Claims 90-109 are pending in the application. Claims 1-89 have been cancelled.
Amendments to claims 90, 93, 99 and 109, filed on 4/20/2026, have been entered in the above-identified application.
Claim Objections
Claim 93 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 93 recites the limitation “wherein collagen content is more than 50% of total weight of natural fiber fibrils in the suspension.” Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 109 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 109 recites the limitation “wherein collagen content is more than 50% of total weight of natural fiber fibrils in the suspension.” Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 91 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 91 recites the limitation “thereby forming staple fibers,” while a filament is
being claimed. It is unclear if the claimed staple fibers are the same as or different from the
filament that is extracted from the surface.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 or 103
Claim(s) 90-109 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Bowlin ‘032 (US 2004/0116032 A1).
Regarding claims 90, 92-93, 99-100 and 103-109, Bowlin ‘032 teaches a matrix of collagen that is obtained through a method of electroprocessing (Abstract). This processing may comprise electrospinning collagen fibers, or it may comprise electrospraying collagen droplets ([0010]). Electrospun collagen has a repeating, banded pattern when it is examined by electron microscopy ([0036]). This banded pattern is typical of collagen fibrils produced by natural processes (i.e. banded pattern is observed in collagen when it is produced by cells ([0036], [0055] and [0073]). Collagen from rawhide, or any other source can be isolated and prepared for electroprocessing ([0076]). For example, hide can be cut into small pieces, frozen and fragmented into small pieces, lyophilized and used as a crude mixture of raw material for electroprocessing ([0076]). Other isolation procedures are also possible, i.e., acid hydrolysis or the isolation of collagen to form a gel dispersion ([0076]). Adding other specific materials into the collagen can further modify material properties ([0077]-[0078]). For example, adding a natural material like elastin or a synthetic material like rubber can be expected to produce leather with novel elastic properties ([0077]; also see [0044] and Examples 2-3).
Claims 90, 92-93, 99-100 and 102-109 include product-by-process limitations. The product being claimed appears to be the same as or obvious over the prior art product, in which case differences in process are not considered to impart patentability. Thus, the burden is shifted to Applicant to show that any differences in process would result in a difference, including an unobvious difference, between the claimed product and the prior art product.
Regarding claims 91, 94-98 and 101-102, Bowlin ‘032 remains as applied above, teaching the claimed limitations.
Bowlin ‘032 does not explicitly disclose staple fibers.
However, Bowlin ‘032 teaches that processing may comprise electrospinning collagen fibers, or it may comprise electrospraying collagen droplets ([0010]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to have produced the collagen fibers in the form of staple fibers because Bowlin ‘032’s teaching of electrospinning either fibers or droplets would have suggested electro-processed material ranging in length from droplets to fibers, which would include staple fibers lengths.
Claims 91, 94-98 and 101-102 also include product-by-process limitations. The product being claimed appears to be the same as or obvious over the prior art product, in which case differences in process are not considered to impart patentability. Thus, the burden is shifted to Applicant to show that any differences in process would result in a difference, including an unobvious difference, between the claimed product and the prior art product.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 90-109 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Nain (US 2010/0028999 A1) teaches highly aligned arrays of polymeric fibers having isodiameters ranging from sub 50 nm to microns with lengths of several millimeters (Abstract and [0086]). Polymers include collagen and elastin ([0080]).
Iddon (WO 2013/050428 A1) teaches a medical wound dressing that includes a biodegradable porous scaffold (Abstract). Examples of suitable biodegradable materials include elastin and collagen (page 11, lines 31-34). The fibers may be continuous, semi-continuous or staple fibers (page 13, line 36).
/Kevin Worrell/Examiner, Art Unit 1789
/MARLA D MCCONNELL/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1789