DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114A request for continued examination under 37 CFR 1.114, including the fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(e), was filed in this application after final rejection. Since this application is eligible for continued examination under 37 CFR 1.114, and the fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(e) has been timely paid, the finality of the previous Office action has been withdrawn pursuant to 37 CFR 1.114. Applicant's submission filed on (3 – 20 – 2026) has been entered.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments and remarks filed (3 – 20 – 2026) have been fully considered but they are not persuasiveApplicant argues…
Savoie / Savoie as modified does not teach the newly amended features of Apparatus for blocking of lenses with a blocking station having a joining position in a first location at which the lenses are connected with a block piece to form block piece-lens pairs and the rest position is different in a second location that is physically displaced from the joining position, the block piece-lens pairs being held in said rest position for a defined waiting period for further hardening of the block material.
Applicant further argues that none of the other applied references make up for the deficiency of Savoie / Savoie as modified
This is not found to be persuasive because…
As noted, Savoie teaches having several position including a joining position, with ([0059]) teaches spectacle lens L has been pressed by means of the holding head 16 of the transport device 18 with defined positioning in three dimensions onto the block piece S, which is disposed in the blocking station 14 above the exposure device 26 and provided with the blocking material M. ([0093]) going on to state that a thermoplastic blocking material such as polycaprolactone or the like (cf. U.S. Pat. No. 5763075 A, Benjamin et al., hereinafter Benjamin) could be used, so that the exposure device (at 26 in FIG. 10) would be redundant. However, in this case it would be necessary to ensure that the feed of blocking material is designed for a thermoplastic medium, which includes appropriate heating of the metering and feed devices for the blocking material and, optionally, cooling of the blocking station. Adding, that the curing is understood to take place while the lens is in a rest position. Highlighting, evidence from (Benjamin, US 5763075 A) (Col. 19, lines 25 – 30) that transforming the blocking composition from a warm state to a cool state requires loss of thermal energy and can be carried out using a variety of cooling techniques. Cooling can take place under ambient conditions in the presence of air only. As such, the exposure to ambient conditions is understood to be a means for curing (partial curing). With Benjamin on (Col. 47, lines 55 – 59) adding that that after the application of the molten blocking material to the lens, the assembly is allowed to set for 10 to 15 seconds, allowing the resin to harden, then the blocked lens was moved and allowed to set for 1 hour prior to further processing. As such, providing for cooling / partial harden to transpire after the deposition of the blocking material, namely at the metering device 24 which is horizontally spaced from the exposure device, ([0057]). Finally, the same concept is taught by Freson in a chronologically overlapping manner by a platform with a carrousel rotation. With Freson teaching on ([0110]) teaches a blocking system as illustrated on (Fig. 3) comprises a carousel 25 comprising four machining stations A, B, C, D. As shown in (Fig. 3) the lens blocking station has at least 4 block piece seats for chronologically overlappingly / simultaneous processing. Highlighting stations, A, B, C and D also comprise a receiving position, joining, rest and removal positions. ([0098]) teaches that advantageously, after the previous providing step d), the method according to the present embodiment further comprises a cooling step e), in which the blocking material 14 cools from its first state temperature to an intermediate state temperature. ([0099]) teaches that the cooling of the blocking material may be active, for example using water cooling, or passive, for example heat exchange with ambient air. ([0103]) teaches the blocking material is then cooled to a blocking state temperature. The final state temperature being close to room temperature, for example around 21° C. ([0104]) teaches the final state temperature is chosen so that the blocking material is solid at such temperature. ([0121]) notes that the second handling device 28 may also carry out the first blocking b), the moving c), the placing f) and the second blocking g) steps of the blocking method as described previously. As such, the apparatus is adapted to move the block piece seats from the joining position (B) into a rest position after partial hardening (C) of the block material of the block piece- lens pairs. Highlighting, that as the blocking material is applied in (B), its beings to cool as its being exposed to ambient conditions, i.e., passive cooling, for example heat exchange with ambient air. As such, moving from (B) to (C) is understood to provide for exposure of the move the block piece seats from the joining position (B) into a rest position after partial hardening (C) of the block material of the block piece- lens pairs
This is unpersuasive because as explained above there was not found to be deficiency in Savoie / Savoie as modified
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
A.) Claim(s) 59 – 62, 64 – 68, 70 – 86 & 93 – 94 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Savoie et al (US 20110067628 A1, hereinafter Savoie) as evidenced by Benjamin et al. (US 5763075 A, hereinafter Benjamin) in view of Freson et al. (US 20100297919 A1, hereinafter Freson)Regarding claim 59,
Apparatus for blocking of lenses with a blocking station
having a joining position in a first location at which the lenses are connected with a block piece to form block piece-lens pairs
which is designed for the at least partially chronologically overlappingly connecting at least each of two lenses being directly connected to a respective block piece that is provided with a block material in an at least partially chronologically overlapping manner,
with an aligning apparatus,
which is designed for at least partially chronologically overlappingly, position-controlled rotating of the lenses around three rotational axes in respectively one defined rotational position, and
with a transport apparatus,
which is designed for at least partially chronologically overlappingly transport of the lenses to a respective block piece that is located in the blocking station and for holding the lenses in the respectively defined rotational position,
wherein the blocking station has at least two block piece seats, each for receiving a respective block piece, and
in a joining position of the block piece seats, the lenses are connectable in a detachable manner to a respective block piece to form a respective block piece-lens pair by means of the transport apparatus being configured to connect the lenses to the block pieces, the block pieces, device in a chronologically at least partially overlapping manner,
the block piece being located in the respective block piece seat and provided with block material, and
wherein the apparatus is adapted to move the block piece seats from the joining position into a rest position after partial hardening of the block material of the block piece- lens pairs,
wherein the rest position is different in a second location that is physically displaced from the joining position,
the block piece-lens pairs being held in said rest position for a defined waiting period for further hardening of the block material.
Savoie teaches the following:
([0002]) teaches that the invention particularly relates to a device for blocking spectacle lenses.
& c.) ([0043]) teaches that a blocking station 14 in which the spectacle lens L can be blocked on a block piece S by means of a temporarily deformable blocking material M, and a transport device 18, which comprises a holding head 16 for the spectacle lens L and by means of which a relative movement between the spectacle lens L held at the holding head 16 on the one hand and the measuring station 12 as well as the blocking station 14 on the other hand can be produced. ([0059]) teaches spectacle lens L has been pressed by means of the holding head 16 of the transport device 18 with defined positioning in three dimensions onto the block piece S, which is disposed in the blocking station 14 above the exposure device 26 and provided with the blocking material M. As such, the exposure device 26 provides for a first location at which the lenses are connected with a block piece to form block piece-lens pairs. ([0089]) teaches (Fig. 34) illustrates that wherein the spectacle lens L is pressed by its workpiece surface F1, which is to be blocked, into the blocking material M, which is applied to the block piece 5. As such, the exposure device 26 provides for a joining position in which the lenses are connected via pressing by means of the holding head 16 of the transport device 18 with a block piece to form block piece-lens pairs. Highlighting, while only one piece is shown being processed. The duplication of parts may be recited regarding implementing a secondary joining of block piece S and lens L in the block station. See In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960).
, e.), g.) & i.) Additionally, regarding the chronologically overlappingly aspect of the apparatus, i.e., the simultaneous processing of more than one lens. The case law for sequential vs simultaneous may be recited. Where, generally, no invention is involved in the broad concept of performing simultaneously operations which have previously been performed in sequence. In re Tatincloux, 108 USPQ 125.
([0043]) teaches a measuring station 12 for detection of the orientation and of geometry data of the spectacle lens L to be blocked. Where the measuring station 12 provides for an aligning apparatus.
([0042]) teaches that the holding head 16 for the spectacle lens L is in that case constructed to be rotatable and tiltable (tilt axes A, B, rotational axis C), with closed-loop control in rotational angle, in three dimensions. ([0081]) teaches that the spectacle lens L is centered by means of the (parallel) grippers 48 on the deposit 46, whereupon the second slide 44 moves rearwardly into measuring position above the optical measuring device 40 of the measuring station 12, where the spectacle lens L is optically measured. ([0084]) teaches that the holding head 16 (of the transport device) is moved along the linear axis X together with the spectacle lens L, which is attached by suction, over the mechanical measuring device 42 of the measuring station 12. ([0085]) adding that the holding head 16 is moved downwardly along the linear axis Z in order to bring the spectacle lens L attached by suction into contact with the mechanical measuring device 42 of the measuring station 1. Highlighting, that the measuring station 12 is understood to utilize the holding head 16 of the transport device 16 in conjunction with the data / measurements as a means for adjusting and position the lenses during production.
([0043]) teaches a transport device 18, which comprises a holding head 16 for the spectacle lens L and by means of which a relative movement between the spectacle lens L held at the holding head 16 on the one hand and the measuring station 12 as well as the blocking station 14 on the other hand can be produced. Additionally, ([0071]) teaches as can be seen particularly in (Fig. 18), the loading unit 50 comprises a loading arm 52 with a longitudinal axis 54, at which a loading head 56 together with at least one sucker 58, in the illustrated exemplifying embodiment two suckers 58 disposed diametrically opposite with respect to the longitudinal axis 54, is or are mounted to be rotatable through 180° about the longitudinal axis 54 of the loading arm 52.
([0047]) teaches that for this purpose a universal ball joint 84 is provided in the center of the lower plate 82. Two drives 86 arranged at 90° between the plates 80, 82 serve for tilting (tilt axes A and B) the upper plate 80 against the force of tension springs 88, which are tensioned between the plates 80, 82 and of which one tension spring 88 is illustrated by way of example in (Fig. 6). A further drive 90 is provided on the upper plate 80 and serves for rotating, with closed-loop control in rotational angle, a hollow shaft 92 (rotational axis C).
As shown in (Fig. 10), the blocking station is only found to have a single seat. However, the duplication of parts may be recited for providing the blocking station with a second seat for holding a second lens. Where, the court held that mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced, see In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960)
& j.) ([0089]) teaches that the spectacle lens L is pressed by its workpiece surface F1, which is to be blocked, into the blocking material M, which is applied to the block piece 5, while leaving the blocking material receiving gap C (see for this purpose also Fig. 20). Highlighting, as shown in (Fig. 20) the block piece being located in the respective block piece seat and provided with block material. Adding, that this pressing is prior to the curing. As such, the attachment is understood to be connected in a detachable manner.
& l.) ([0089]) teaches that the exposure device 26 (cf. Fig. 10) is activated and the blocking material M is cured by means of ultraviolet light. With ([0093]) teaches that although there was explicit discussion above of a blocking material curable by light, it will be evident to the expert that in principle other blocking materials can also be used. Thus, for example, a thermoplastic blocking material such as polycaprolactone or the like (cf. U.S. Pat. No. 5763075 A, Benjamin et al., hereinafter Benjamin) could be used, so that the exposure device (at 26 in FIG. 10) would be redundant. However, in this case it would be necessary to ensure that the feed of blocking material is designed for a thermoplastic medium, which includes appropriate heating of the metering and feed devices for the blocking material and, optionally, cooling of the blocking station. Adding, that the curing is understood to take place while the lens is in a rest position.Highlighting, evidence from (Benjamin, US 5763075 A) (Col. 19, lines 25-30) that transforming the blocking composition from a warm state to a cool state requires loss of thermal energy and can be carried out using a variety of cooling techniques. Cooling can take place under ambient conditions in the presence of air only. As such, the exposure to ambient conditions is understood to be a means for curing (partial curing). Benjamin on (Col. 47, lines 55 – 59) adding that that after the application of the molten blocking material to the lens, the assembly is allowed to set for 10 to 15 seconds, allowing the resin to harden, then the blocked lens was moved and allowed to set for 1 hour prior to further processing.With Savoie noting on ([0057]) that the blocking station 14 is movable by means of the first slide 22 of the transport device 18 from the metering device 24, in which the blocking material M can be centrally or decentrally applied to the block piece S, to the exposure device 26 and vice versa. As such, transportation from the metering device 24, in ambient conditions, is understood to (partially) cure the blocking material M applied to the block piece S. While also providing two different positions a joining position with the metering device and a rest position in ambient conditions caused by movement of the transport device. Highlighting, implementing a thermoplastic blocking material as detailed by Savoie, and then transforming the blocking composition from a warm state to a cool state as detailed by Benjamin would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the processing method of Savoie by cooling the deposited transforming the blocking in ambient conditions as taught by Benjamin, due to the fact it would amount to nothing more than a use of a known cooling technique to harden and cure the thermoplastic block material, for its intended use, in a known environment, to accomplish entirely expected result, as suggested by Benjamin.
As noted above evidenced provided by Benjamin on (Col. 47, lines 55 – 59) adding that that after the application of the molten blocking material to the lens, the assembly is allowed to set for 10 to 15 seconds, allowing the resin to harden, then the blocked lens was moved and allowed to set for 1 hour prior to further processing. As such, the block piece-lens pairs being held in said rest position for a defined waiting period for further hardening of the block material.
Regarding Claim 59, Savoie is ambiguous on chronologically overlappingly connecting at least each of two lenses. In analogous art for a lens blocking apparatus, that comprises a lens blocking station, conveyor and various handling devices, Freson suggests details regarding implementing a carousel in a blocking station as a means to transport a lens and block piece seat in a chronologically overlappingly way, and in this regard, Freson teaches the following:
As illustrated in (Fig. 3) machining stations B provides for a joining position in a first location at which the lenses are connected with a block piece to form block piece-lens pairs. ([0095]) teaches that the blocking material 14 is provided at a first state temperature, the first state temperature being for example above its melting or softening temperature. As such, the material is provided at a first temperature.
, e.), g.), i.), k.) & l.) ([0110]) teaches a blocking system as illustrated on (Fig. 3) comprises a carousel 25 comprising four machining stations A, B, C, D. As shown in (Fig. 3) the lens blocking station has at least 4 block piece seats for chronologically overlappingly / simultaneous processing. Highlighting stations, A, B, C and D also comprise a receiving position, joining, rest and removal positions.
([0098]) teaches that advantageously, after the previous providing step d), the method according to the present embodiment further comprises a cooling step e), in which the blocking material 14 cools from its first state temperature to an intermediate state temperature. ([0099]) teaches that the cooling of the blocking material may be active, for example using water cooling, or passive, for example heat exchange with ambient air. ([0103]) teaches the blocking material is then cooled to a blocking state temperature. The final state temperature being close to room temperature, for example around 21° C. ([0104]) teaches the final state temperature is chosen so that the blocking material is solid at such temperature. ([0121]) notes that the second handling device 28 may also carry out the first blocking b), the moving c), the placing f) and the second blocking g) steps of the blocking method as described previously. As such, the apparatus is adapted to move the block piece seats from the joining position (B) into a rest position after partial hardening (C) of the block material of the block piece- lens pairs. Highlighting, that as the blocking material is applied in (B), its beings to cool as its being exposed to ambient conditions, i.e., passive cooling, for example heat exchange with ambient air. As such, moving from (B) to (C) is understood to provide for exposure of the move the block piece seats from the joining position (B) into a rest position after partial hardening (C) of the block material of the block piece- lens pairs
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the production method and apparatus for blocking lenses that comprises a blocking station, conveyor and various handling devices, of Savoie. By modifying the blocking station to include a carousel as a means for transporting the lens and blocking seats within the blocking station, as taught by Freson. Highlighting, implementation of carousel provides a means for processing several articles at once, (Fig. 3). Furthermore, the simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results and/or the use of known technique to improve similar devices (methods, or products) in the same way allows for the recitation of KSR case law. Where, "A person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known option within his or her technical grasp. If this leads to the anticipated success, it is likely the product not of innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense." KSR int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 127 S. Ct. 1727, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
Regarding claim 60 as applied to claim 59,
Wherein the aligning apparatus is designed in addition to the at least partially chronologically overlappingly, position- controlled moving of the lenses along a linear axis.
Savoie teaches the following:
([0042]) teaches that the holding head 16 for the spectacle lens L is in that case constructed to be rotatable and tiltable (tilt axes A, B, rotational axis C), with closed-loop control in rotational angle, in three dimensions. Additionally, ([0081]) teaches that the spectacle lens L is centered by means of the (parallel) grippers 48 on the deposit 46, whereupon the second slide 44 moves rearwardly into measuring position above the optical measuring device 40 of the measuring station 12, where the spectacle lens L is optically measured.
Regarding claim 61 as applied to claim 59,
herein the aligning apparatus has two aligning devices, which in each case are designed for position-controlled rotation of the lenses around three rotational axes in the respectively defined rotational position.
Savoie teaches the following:
([0042]) teaches that the holding head 16 for the spectacle lens L is in that case constructed to be rotatable and tiltable (tilt axes A, B, rotational axis C), with closed-loop control in rotational angle, in three dimensions. ([0046]) teaches that it is possible through the rotational axis C to align the spectacle lens L—optionally after detection in the measuring station 12 and recognition of the position of the spectacle lens L—in accordance with its angular position with respect to the prescription toroidal axis. Accordingly, the case law for the duplication of parts may be recited regarding the modification of the apparatus to include a second aligning device (holding head). Where, the court held that mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced. Additionally, the case law for sequential vs simultaneous may be recited. Where, generally, no invention is involved in the broad concept of performing simultaneously operations which have previously been performed in sequence. In re Tatincloux, 108 USPQ 125.
Regarding claim 62 as applied to claim 61,
Wherein the two aligning devices are designed for position-controlled moving of the lenses along a linear axis.
Savoie teaches the following:
([0042]) teaches that the holding head 16 for the spectacle lens L is in that case constructed to be rotatable and tiltable (tilt axes A, B, rotational axis C), with closed-loop control in rotational angle, in three dimensions. Additionally, ([0081]) teaches that the spectacle lens L is centered by means of the (parallel) grippers 48 on the deposit 46, whereupon the second slide 44 moves rearwardly into measuring position above the optical measuring device 40 of the measuring station 12, where the spectacle lens L is optically measured.
Regarding claim 64 as applied to claim 59,
Wherein, in the joining position of the block piece seats, the lenses can be pressed by means of the transport apparatus in each case into the block material of a block piece that is located in the respective block piece seat and that is provided with block material.
Savoie teaches the following:
([0049]) teaches that by virtue of this special design of the holding head 16, spectacle lenses L with any desired geometry can be attached by suction and transported, with maintenance of their position, by means of the transport device 18, wherein even higher forces which, for example, act on the spectacle lens L during the blocking process can be transmitted. ([0089]) teaches the holding head 16 together with the spectacle lens L attached by suction, which in a given case was or is now positioned. The lens is moved along the linear axis Z into the calculated (Z) blocking position, wherein the spectacle lens L is pressed by its workpiece surface F1, which is to be blocked, into the blocking material M, which is applied to the block piece 5, while leaving the blocking material receiving gap C (see for this purpose also Fig. 20).
Regarding claim 65 as applied to claim 59,
Wherein the blocking station is rotatable around a rotational axis with its block piece seats relative to the transport apparatus
Savoie teaches the following:
([0072]) teaches that the block piece S is insertable by means of the loading unit 50 into the blocking station 14, which is disposed in the transfer position (FIG. 4), on the first slide 22 of the transport device 18.([0083]) teaches that the holding head 16 together with the spectacle lens L attached by suction then travels upwardly along the linear axis Z. The first slide 22 together with the blocking station 14 moves forwardly into transfer position (linear axis Y), wherein the righthand flap 116 (see FIG. 27) in the housing 38 opens.
Regarding Claim 65, Savoie is silent on the blocking station is rotatable around a rotational axis can be moved with its block piece seats relative to the transport apparatus. In analogous art as applied above, Freson suggests details regarding implementing a carousel in a blocking station as a means to transport a lens and block piece seat in a chronologically overlappingly way, and in this regard, Freson teaches the following:
([0110]) teaches a blocking system as illustrated on (Fig. 3) comprises a carousel 25 comprising four machining stations A, B, C, D. As shown in (Fig. 3) the lens blocking station has four steps that transpire chronologically overlappingly / simultaneously.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the production method and apparatus for blocking lenses that comprises a blocking station, conveyor and various handling devices, of Savoie. By modifying the blocking station to include a carousel as a means for transporting the lens and blocking seats within the blocking station, as taught by Freson. Highlighting, implementation of carousel provides a means for processing several articles at once, (Fig. 3). Furthermore, the simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results and/or the use of known technique to improve similar devices (methods, or products) in the same way allows for the recitation of KSR case law. Where, "A person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known option within his or her technical grasp. If this leads to the anticipated success, it is likely the product not of innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense." KSR int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 127 S. Ct. 1727, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
Regarding claim 66 as applied to claim 59,
Wherein the block piece seats are coupled with respect to movement.
Savoie teaches the following:
([0083]) teaches that the holding head 16 together with the spectacle lens L attached by suction then travels upwardly along the linear axis Z. The first slide 22 together with the blocking station 14 moves forwardly into transfer position (linear axis Y), wherein the righthand flap 116 (see FIG. 27) in the housing 38 opens. Highlighting, as shown in (Figs. 1-2) the blocking station 14 movement due to the first slide 22, moves the entire station including the block piece(s) and block piece seat(s) holding its/their respective piece(s). Accordingly, the block piece seats are coupled with the block stations movement.
Regarding claim 67 as applied to claim 59,
Wherein the block piece seats can be moved into a receiving position, in which each block piece can be arranged in respectively one block piece seat, and
block material can be applied on the block pieces that are located in the block piece seats.
Savoie teaches the following:
& b.) ([0057]) teaches that the blocking station 14 is movable by means of the first slide 22 of the transport device 18 from the metering device 24, in which the blocking material M can be centrally or de-centrally applied to the block piece S, to the exposure device 26 and vice versa.
Regarding claim 68 as applied to claim 59,
Wherein the block piece seats can be moved into the joining position.
Savoie teaches the following:
([0059]) teaches that after the spectacle lens L has been pressed by means of the holding head 16 of the transport device 18 with defined positioning in three dimensions onto the block piece S, which is disposed in the blocking station 14. ([0083]) teaches that the holding head 16 together with the spectacle lens L attached by suction then travels upwardly along the linear axis Z. The first slide 22 together with the blocking station 14 moves forwardly into transfer position (linear axis Y), wherein the righthand flap 116 (see FIG. 27) in the housing 38 opens. Highlighting, as shown in (Figs. 1-2) the blocking station 14 movement due to the first slide 22, moves the entire station including the block piece(s) and block piece seat(s) holding its/their respective piece(s). Accordingly, the block piece seats are coupled with the block stations movement.
Regarding claim 70 as applied to claim 59,
Wherein the block piece seats can be moved into a removal position, in which the block piece-lens pairs can be removed from the block piece seats.
Savoie teaches the following:
([0054]) teaches that for further automation of the blocking device 10 a loading unit 50 is provided in front of the housing 38 of the blocking device 10, by means of which loading unit both the spectacle lenses L and the block pieces S can be fed to the blocking device 10 and additionally the spectacle lenses L blocked on the block pieces S can be removed from the blocking device 10. As can be seen particularly in (Fig. 18), the loading unit 50 comprises a loading arm 52 with a longitudinal axis 5. ([0091]) teaches that the loading arm 52 travels downwardly in order to remove the spectacle lens L, which is blocked on the block piece S, from the blocking station 14 and then travels back upwardly, whereupon the loading head 56 is pivoted through 180° so that the blocked spectacle lens L is disposed at the top.
Regarding claim 71 as applied to claim 67,
Wherein the blocking station has four pairs of block piece seats each with two block piece seats
which are arranged in the blocking station so that a first block piece seat pair can move into the receiving position,
while a second block piece seat pair can be moved into the joining position, and
a third block piece seat pair can be moved into the rest position, and
a fourth block piece seat pair can be moved into the removal position.
Savoie teaches the following:
([0042]) teaches that the holding head 16 for the spectacle lens L is in that case constructed to be rotatable and tiltable (tilt axes A, B, rotational axis C), with closed-loop control in rotational angle, in three dimensions. ([0046]) teaches that it is possible through the rotational axis C to align the spectacle lens L—optionally after detection in the measuring station 12 and recognition of the position of the spectacle lens L—in accordance with its angular position with respect to the prescription toroidal axis. Accordingly, the case law for the duplication of parts may be recited regarding the modification of the apparatus to include a second aligning device (holding head). Where, the court held that mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced. Additionally, the case law for sequential vs simultaneous may be recited. Where, generally, no invention is involved in the broad concept of performing simultaneously operations which have previously been performed in sequence. In re Tatincloux, 108 USPQ 125.
([0057]) teaches that the blocking station 14 is movable by means of the first slide 22 of the transport device 18 from the metering device 24, in which the blocking material M can be centrally or de-centrally applied to the block piece S, to the exposure device 26 and vice versa.
([0059]) teaches that after the spectacle lens L has been pressed by means of the holding head 16 of the transport device 18 with defined positioning in three dimensions onto the block piece S, which is disposed in the blocking station 14. ([0083]) teaches that the holding head 16 together with the spectacle lens L attached by suction then travels upwardly along the linear axis Z. The first slide 22 together with the blocking station 14 moves forwardly into transfer position (linear axis Y), wherein the righthand flap 116 (see FIG. 27) in the housing 38 opens. Highlighting, as shown in (Figs. 1-2) the blocking station 14 movement due to the first slide 22, moves the entire station including the block piece(s) and block piece seat(s) holding its/their respective piece(s). Accordingly, the block piece seats are coupled with the block stations movement.
([0057]) teaches an exposure device 26, which is horizontally spaced from the metering device 24 and by means of which the blocking material M can be exposed for curing. ([0059]) adding that while leaving the blocking material receiving gap G, exposure is carried out in the exposure device 26 from below through the transparent block piece S by means of an ultraviolet lamp (not shown), wherein optionally several exposure processes are undertaken.
([0054]) teaches that for further automation of the blocking device 10 a loading unit 50 is provided in front of the housing 38 of the blocking device 10, by means of which loading unit both the spectacle lenses L and the block pieces S can be fed to the blocking device 10 and additionally the spectacle lenses L blocked on the block pieces S can be removed from the blocking device 10. As can be seen particularly in (Fig. 18), the loading unit 50 comprises a loading arm 52 with a longitudinal axis 5. ([0091]) teaches that the loading arm 52 travels downwardly in order to remove the spectacle lens L, which is blocked on the block piece S, from the blocking station 14 and then travels back upwardly, whereupon the loading head 56 is pivoted through 180° so that the blocked spectacle lens L is disposed at the top. Highlighting, that the use of the receiving position, joining position, rest position and removal position simultaneously in place of sequentially allows for the recitation of sequential vs simultaneous case law. Where, generally, no invention is involved in the broad concept of performing simultaneously operations which have previously been performed in sequence. In re Tatincloux, 108 USPQ 125.
Regarding Claim 71, Savoie teaches the above detailed. Including that the duplication of parts can be recited regarding the blocking station having at least two block piece seats. As such, Savoie is vague on the blocking station has at least two block piece seats. In analogous art as applied above, Freson suggests details regarding implementing a carousel in a blocking station as a means to transporting multiple lenses and block piece seats in a chronologically overlappingly way, and in this regard, Freson teaches the following:
, b.) c.) & d.) & e.) ([0110]) teaches a blocking system as illustrated on FIG. 3 comprises a carousel 25 comprising four machining stations A, B, C, D. As shown in (Fig. 3) the lens blocking station has at least 4 block piece seats for chronologically overlappingly / simultaneous processing. Highlighting stations, A, B, C and D also comprise a receiving position, joining, rest and removal positions, respectively.
The same rejection rationale, and analysis that was used previously for claim 59, can be applied here and should be referred to for this claim as well.Regarding claim 72 as applied to claim 59,
Wherein the transport apparatus is designed for removing lenses from the aligning apparatus,
wherein the transport apparatus has at least two retaining heads for holding the lenses in the respectively defined rotational position and
by means of the aligning apparatus by means of its aligning devices, the lenses can be rotated relative to the respective retaining head in the respectively defined rotational position.
Savoie teaches the following:
& b.) ([0087] – [0089]) teaches the fabrication process in which the holding head 16 together with the spectacle lens L attached by suction are moved from station to station. Where the holding head 16 together with the spectacle lens L attached by suction, which in a given case was or is now positioned in three dimensions by tilting about the tilt axes A, B and rotation about the rotational axis ([0090]) adding that the vacuum in the holding head 16 is switched off in order to release the sucked-on spectacle lens L. The holding head 16 is moved upwardly along the linear axis Z. The first slide 22 moves the blocking station 14 forwardly out of the housing 38 into the transfer position (linear axis Y). Where the vacuum component of the holding head 16 acts as applicants retaining heads.
Regarding the modification of the apparatus to include a second aligning device (holding head) Accordingly, the case law for the duplication of parts may be recited regarding the modification of the apparatus to include a second aligning device (holding head). Where, the court held that mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced. Additionally, the case law for sequential vs simultaneous may be recited. Where, generally, no invention is involved in the broad concept of performing simultaneously operations which have previously been performed in sequence. In re Tatincloux, 108 USPQ 125.
([0042]) teaches that the holding head 16 for the spectacle lens L is in that case constructed to be rotatable and tiltable (tilt axes A, B, rotational axis C), with closed-loop control in rotational angle, in three dimensions. ([0046]) teaches that it is possible through the rotational axis C to align the spectacle lens L—optionally after detection in the measuring station 12 and recognition of the position of the spectacle lens L—in accordance with its angular position with respect to the prescription toroidal axis. ([0081]) teaches that the spectacle lens L is centered by means of the (parallel) grippers 48 on the deposit 46, whereupon the second slide 44 moves rearwardly into measuring position above the optical measuring device 40 of the measuring station 12, where the spectacle lens L is optically measured. As such, the measuring station 12 is understood to utilize the holding head 16 of the transport device 16 in conjunction with the data / measurements as a means for adjusting and position the lenses during production.
Regarding claim 73 as applied to claim 59,
Wherein the transport apparatus has two linear axes that run parallel to one another.
Savoie teaches the following:
([0050]) teaches that the horizontal slide 102 is guided on the base 100 by way of a pair of horizontally extending guide rails 106 and associated carriages, whilst the vertical slide 104 is guided on the horizontal slide 102 by way of a pair of vertically extending guide rails 108 and associated carriages
Regarding claim 74 as applied to claim 73,
Wherein one of the two linear axes is position-controlled.
Savoie teaches the following:
([0050]) teaches that associated with each of the slides 102, 104 is a drive 110, 112, for example a stepping motor with a ball screw, by way of which the respective slide 102, 104 is linearly displaceable in closed-loop position-controlled manner (linear axes X and Z). The sensor system (rotation transmitter, length measuring system, etc.) required for that purpose is, like the rotational or tilt axes A, B, C in the holding head 16, not shown in the figures.
Regarding claim 75 as applied to claim 73,
Wherein the lenses are moveable along the one linear axis in particular sequentially to the aligning apparatus and
along the position-controlled linear axis at least partially chronologically overlapping with respect to a respective block piece that is located in the blocking station.
Savoie teaches the following:
([0046]) teaches that the holding head 16 for the spectacle lens L is in that case constructed to be rotatable and tiltable (tilt axes A, B, rotational axis C), with closed-loop control in rotational angle, in three dimensions. It is possible through the rotational axis C to align the spectacle lens L—optionally after detection in the measuring station 12 and recognition of the position of the spectacle lens L—in accordance with its angular position with respect to the prescription toroidal axis. ([0052]) teaches wherein the spectacle lens L to be blocked is transportable by means of the holding head 16 of the transport device 18 from the optical measuring device 40 to the mechanical measuring device 42 found on the measuring station 12.
([0050]) teaches as can also be inferred from FIGS. 1 to 6, the holding head 16 for the spectacle lens L is movable, with closed-loop control in position, by means of a cross-table arrangement 20 of the transport device 18 in direction towards a block piece S disposed in the blocking station 14 and away therefrom (Z axis) as well as transversely thereto (X axis). ([0051]) teaches as shown in, in particular, FIGS. 1, 3 , 4 and 10, the blocking station 14 is arranged on a first slide 22 of the transport device 18, which is movable with closed-loop control in position transversely (Y axis) to the holding head 16 for the spectacle lens L.
Regarding claim 76 as applied to claim 73,
Wherein the transport apparatus has a first lens traversing device, with one linear axis and another linear axis,
wherein by means of the first lens traversing device, the lenses can move sequentially to the aligning apparatus in its aligning devices.
Savoie teaches the following:
& b.) ([0050]) teaches that associated with each of the slides 102, 104 is a drive 110, 112, for example a stepping motor with a ball screw, by way of which the respective slide 102, 104 is linearly displaceable in closed-loop position-controlled manner (linear axes X and Z). The sensor system (rotation transmitter, length measuring system, etc.) required for that purpose is, like the rotational or tilt axes A, B, C in the holding head 16, not shown in the figures. Where a drive 110 or 112 acts as a first and second traversing device. Highlighting, that this is best shown in (Fig. 6).
Regarding claim 77 as applied to claim 76,
Wherein the transport apparatus has a second lens traversing device in particular with the other preferred position- controlled linear axis and another preferred position-controlled linear axis,
wherein by means of the second lens traversing device, the lenses can be removed at least partially chronologically overlapping from the aligning apparatus, in particular from its aligning devices,
are moveable at least partially chronologically overlapping from the aligning apparatus from its aligning devices, to a respective block piece that is located in the locking station to a block piece seat pair of the blocking station in its joining position, and
are connectable at least partially chronologically overlapping with the respective block piece that is provided respectively with the block material to respectively one block piece-lens pair.
Savoie teaches the following:
([0050]) teaches that associated with each of the slides 102, 104 is a drive 110, 112, for example a stepping motor with a ball screw, by way of which the respective slide 102, 104 is linearly displaceable in closed-loop position-controlled manner (linear axes X and Z). The sensor system (rotation transmitter, length measuring system, etc.) required for that purpose is, like the rotational or tilt axes A, B, C in the holding head 16, not shown in the figures. Where a drive 110 or 112 acts as a first and second traversing device. Highlighting, that this is best shown in (Fig. 6).
([0052]) teaches wherein the spectacle lens L to be blocked is transportable by means of the holding head 16 of the transport device 18 from the optical measuring device 40 to the mechanical measuring device 42 found on the measuring station 12.
& d.) ([0059]) teaches after the spectacle lens L has been pressed by means of the holding head 16 of the transport device 18 with defined positioning in three dimensions onto the block piece S, which is disposed in the blocking station 14 above the exposure device 26 and provided with the blocking material M. Highlighting, that after the pressing by means of the holding head, the lens and blocking material M are understood to form a connection / bond. Highlighting, that while no discrepancies are perceived to exist regarding the connection of the block piece and lens. However, the case law for making integral and/or making separable may be recited, see In re Larson, 340 F.2d 965, 968, 133 USPQ 347, 349 (CCPA 1965), In re Lockhart, 90 USPQ 214 and/or In re Dulberg, 289 F.2d 522, 523, 129 USPQ 348, 349 (CCPA 1961), respectively.
Regarding claim 78 as applied to claim 59,
Wherein the apparatus has precisely one centering device for centering a lens that is to be blocked and
an optical measuring station for acquiring orientation and geometry information of a lens that is to be blocked, and
the transport apparatus is designed for sequential transport of the lenses to the centering device and to the measuring station.
Savoie teaches the following:
([0054]) teaches that the transport device 18 has, according to, in particular, FIGS. 1 to 4 and 9, a second slide 44 which carries a transparent (annular) support 46 with a (parallel) gripper 48 for centering gripping of the spectacle lens L, wherein the support 46 together with the gripper 48 is, for simplification of the loading process and for better protection of the measuring device 40
([0052]) teaches that measuring station 12—provided in the illustrated embodiment, but redundant in the case of other forms of acquisition of the appropriate data (for example by input at or data transmission to the blocking device 10)—comprises an optical measuring device 40 for position recognition of the spectacle lens L and a mechanical measuring device 42.
([0081]) teaches the spectacle lens L is centered by means of the (parallel) grippers 48 on the deposit 46, whereupon the second slide 44 moves rearwardly into measuring position above the optical measuring device 40 of the measuring station 12. As such, transport device allows for lenses to be transported sequentially between the centering device and the measuring station
Regarding claim 79 as applied to claim 78,
Wherein the transport apparatus has a lens feeding device, by means of which the lenses can be removed sequentially from the supply container, can be moved from the supply container to the centering device, and can be placed in the centering device.
Savoie teaches the following:
([0048]) teaches that as best shown in (Fig. 5) the transport unit comprises a lens clamping unit 66, which is shown in more detail in FIGS. 7 and 8 and which has a sucker lip 68 for sucking on the spectacle lens L. Adding, that the case law for simulations vs sequential can be recited. Where, generally, no invention is involved in the broad concept of performing simultaneously operations which have previously been performed in sequence. In re Tatincloux, 108 USPQ 125.
Regarding claim 80 as applied to claim 78,
Wherein the transport apparatus has a pivoting device, by means of which the lenses can be removed sequentially from the centering device and
can be moved from the centering device to a transfer position, and can be pivoted by 180°.
Savoie teaches the following:
& b.) ([0047]) teaches that two drives 86 arranged at 90° between the plates 80, 82 serve for tilting (tilt axes A and B) the upper plate 80 against the force of tension springs 88, which are tensioned between the plates 80, 82 and of which one tension spring 88 is illustrated by way of example in FIG. 6. A further drive 90 is provided on the upper plate 80 and serves for rotating, with closed-loop control in rotational angle, a hollow shaft 92 (rotational axis C).([0092]) teaches that the loading head 56 is pivoted through 180° so that the spectacle lens L blocked on the block piece S is disposed at the bottom, whereupon the loading arm 52 is pivoted about the pivot axis 60 over the work box 140.
Regarding claim 81 as applied to claim ,
Wherein the transport apparatus has a first lens traversing device, by means of which the lenses can be received sequentially from the transfer position, can be moved to the measuring station, can be placed in the measuring station, can be moved to the aligning apparatus, and can be placed in the aligning apparatus.
Savoie teaches the following:
([0050]) teaches that associated with each of the slides 102, 104 is a drive 110, 112, for example a stepping motor with a ball screw, by way of which the respective slide 102, 104 is linearly displaceable in closed-loop position-controlled manner (linear axes X and Z). The sensor system (rotation transmitter, length measuring system, etc.) required for that purpose is, like the rotational or tilt axes A, B, C in the holding head 16, not shown in the figures. Where a drive 110 or 112 acts as a first and/or second traversing device. Highlighting, that this is best shown in (Fig. 6).
Regarding claim 82 as applied to claim 81,
Wherein the transport apparatus has a second lens traversing device, by means of which the lenses can be removed at least partially chronologically overlapping from the aligning apparatus, can be moved from the aligning apparatus, to a respective block piece that is located in the blocking station, to a block piece seat pair of the blocking station in the joining position, and in each case are connectable with the respective block piece of a respective block piece lens pair that is provided respectively with block material.
Savoie teaches the following:
([0050]) teaches that associated with each of the slides 102, 104 is a drive 110, 112, for example a stepping motor with a ball screw, by way of which the respective slide 102, 104 is linearly displaceable in closed-loop position-controlled manner (linear axes X and Z). The sensor system (rotation transmitter, length measuring system, etc.) required for that purpose is, like the rotational or tilt axes A, B, C in the holding head 16, not shown in the figures. Where a drive 110 or 112 acts as a first and/or second traversing device. Highlighting, that this is best shown in (Fig. 6). ([0050]) adding that as can also be inferred from FIGS. 1 to 6, the holding head 16 for the spectacle lens L is movable, with closed-loop control in position, by means of a cross-table arrangement 20 of the transport device 18 in direction towards a block piece S disposed in the blocking station 14 and away therefrom (Z axis) as well as transversely thereto (X axis). ([0055]) teaching that in which a block piece S is insertable into the blocking station 14 or a spectacle lens L blocked on a block piece S is removable from the blocking station 14.
Regarding claim 83 as applied to claim 59,
Wherein the apparatus has a conveyor belt, by means of which a supply container for lenses and block pieces is moveable exclusively in one direction.
Savoie teaches the following:
([0071]) teaching a positionally correct insertion of the block piece S into the blocking station 14 and into a work box 140, which is placed on a conveyor belt 142 arranged in front of the blocking device 10. The rotation about the latter axis is produced by means of the step motor and gearwheel transmission (neither shown) ([0071]) adding that two suckers 58, which allows, in particular, a positionally correct insertion of the block piece S into the blocking station 14 and into a work box 140, which is placed on a conveyor belt 142 arranged in front of the blocking device 10.
Regarding claim 84 as applied to claim 59,
Further comprising at least one block piece seat for a block piece, wherein a major axis of the block piece seat is inclined with respect to vertical.
Savoie teaches the following:
([0068]) teaches a second clamping ring 76, which is arranged below the first clamping ring 72 and rotatable with respect to the first clamping ring 72. ([0068]) adding that the second clamping ring having radially extending clamping projections 78 by way of which the clamping projections V of the block piece S bearing against the clamping jaws 74 of the first clamping ring 72 in the received state of the block piece S can be clamped. Formed at the clamping projections 78 of the second clamping ring 76 (and, as an introduction aid, optionally also at the clamping jaws 74 of the first clamping ring 72) are inclined surfaces 138 by way of which rotation of the second clamping ring 76 relative to the first clamping ring 72 is produced when the block piece S is pressed into the blocking station 14.
Regarding claim 85 as applied to claim 59,
Further comprising a block material feeding device
wherein the block material feeding device is designed for automated locating of a thermoplastic block material in the solid aggregate state, for heating in certain areas of the thermoplastic block material, and for metered dispensing of the molten block material.
Savoie teaches the following:
([0057]) teaches that the blocking station 14 is movable by means of the first slide 22 of the transport device 18 from the metering device 24, in which the blocking material M can be centrally or de-centrally applied to the block piece S, to the exposure device 26 and vice versa.
([0060]) the metering device 24 comprises a metering head 28 which is movable, namely pivotable, in direction towards a block piece S disposed in the blocking station 14 and away therefrom, so that the blocking material M is feedable in a position of the metering head 28 near the block piece S and the feed of the blocking material M can be terminated with movement of the metering head 28 away from the position near the block piece S to a position remote from the block piece S. ([0061]) teaching that the feed device 32 for the blocking material M comprises, according to FIGS. 2, 4, 16 and 17, a receiving space 34 for an exchangeable blocking material cartridge K, from which the blocking material M is displaceable by compressed air action of a cartridge piston P. ([0093]) teaches a thermoplastic blocking material such as polycaprolactone or the like (cf. U.S. Pat. No. 5,763,075) could be used, so that the exposure device (at 26 in FIG. 10) would be redundant. However, in this case it would be necessary to ensure that the feed of blocking material is designed for a thermoplastic medium, which includes appropriate heating of the metering and feed devices for the blocking material and, optionally, cooling of the blocking station.
Regarding claim 86 as applied to claim 85,
Further comprising means for cooling the block material located in the block material feeding device.
Savoie teaches the following:
([0093]) teaches a thermoplastic blocking material such as polycaprolactone or the like (cf. U.S. Pat. No. 5,763,075) could be used, so that the exposure device (at 26 in FIG. 10) would be redundant. However, in this case it would be necessary to ensure that the feed of blocking material is designed for a thermoplastic medium, which includes appropriate heating of the metering and feed devices for the blocking material and, optionally, cooling of the blocking station.
Regarding claim 93,
Apparatus for blocking of lenses, comprising:
a blocking station which is designed for at least partially chronologically overlappingly connecting having a joining position in which at least each of two lenses is directly connected to a respective block piece that is provided with a block material in an at least partially chronologically overlapping manner,
an aligning apparatus
which is designed for at least partially chronologically overlappingly, position-controlled rotating of the lenses around three rotational axes in a respectively defined rotational position, and
a transport apparatus
which is designed for at least partially chronologically overlappingly transporting the lenses to a respective block piece that is located in the blocking station and for holding the lenses in the respectively defined rotational position,
wherein the blocking station has at least two block piece seats, each for receiving a respective block piece with block material, and
wherein the transport device is operative for detachably connecting the lenses to a respective block piece to form a respective block piece- lens pair in the joining position of the block piece seats in said chronologically at least partially overlapping manner, and
wherein the apparatus is adapted to move the block piece seats from the joining position into a rest position after partial hardening of the block material of the block piece-lens pairs
enabling a time segment of another blocking process to take place simultaneously with a time segment of a hardening process,
partial hardening of the block material of the block piece-lens pairs,
wherein the rest position is different in a location that is physically displaced from the joining position, the block piece-lens pairs being held in said rest position for a defined waiting period for further hardening of the block material.
Savoie teaches the following:
([0002]) teaches that the invention particularly relates to a device for blocking spectacle lenses.
([0043]) teaches that the blocking station 14 in which the spectacle lens L can be blocked on a block piece S by means of a temporarily deformable blocking material M, and a transport device 18, which comprises a holding head 16 for the spectacle lens L and by means of which a relative movement between the spectacle lens L held at the holding head 16 on the one hand and the measuring station 12 as well as the blocking station 14 on the other hand can be produced. ([0087]) teaches that in (Fig. 32) the blocking material M is applied in a predetermined amount to the block piece S by means of the metering head 28 of the metering device 24, whereupon the metering head 28 is pivoted back. ([0089]) teaches (Fig. 34) illustrates that wherein the spectacle lens L is pressed by its workpiece surface F1, which is to be blocked, into the blocking material M, which is applied to the block piece 5. ([0059]) notes that the spectacle lens L is been pressed by means of the holding head 16 of the transport device 18.As such, a joining position in which the lenses are connected via pressing by means of the holding head 16 of the transport device 18 with a block piece to form block piece-lens pairs is understood to be disclosed. Highlighting, while only one piece is shown being processed. The duplication of parts may be recited regarding implementing a secondary joining of block piece S and lens L in the block station. See In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960).
, c.), e.), & g.) regarding the chronologically overlappingly aspect of the apparatus, i.e., the simultaneous processing of more than one lens. The case law for sequential vs simultaneous may be recited. Where, generally, no invention is involved in the broad concept of performing simultaneously operations which have previously been performed in sequence. In re Tatincloux, 108 USPQ 125.
([0043]) teaches a measuring station 12 for detection of the orientation and of geometry data of the spectacle lens L to be blocked
([0042]) teaches that the holding head 16 for the spectacle lens L is in that case constructed to be rotatable and tiltable (tilt axes A, B, rotational axis C), with closed-loop control in rotational angle, in three dimensions. ([0081]) teaches that the spectacle lens L is centered by means of the (parallel) grippers 48 on the deposit 46, whereupon the second slide 44 moves rearwardly into measuring position above the optical measuring device 40 of the measuring station 12, where the spectacle lens L is optically measured. ([0084]) teaches that the holding head 16 (of the transport device) is moved along the linear axis X together with the spectacle lens L, which is attached by suction, over the mechanical measuring device 42 of the measuring station 12. ([0085]) adding that the holding head 16 is moved downwardly along the linear axis Z in order to bring the spectacle lens L attached by suction into contact with the mechanical measuring device 42 of the measuring station 1. Highlighting, that the measuring station 12 is understood to utilize the holding head 16 of the transport device 16 in conjunction with the data / measurements as a means for adjusting and position the lenses during production.
([0043]) teaches a transport device 18, which comprises a holding head 16 for the spectacle lens L and by means of which a relative movement between the spectacle lens L held at the holding head 16 on the one hand and the measuring station 12 as well as the blocking station 14 on the other hand can be produced. Alternatively, and/or additionally, ([0071]) teaches as can be seen particularly in FIG. 18, the loading unit 50 comprises a loading arm 52 with a longitudinal axis 54, at which a loading head 56 together with at least one sucker 58, in the illustrated exemplifying embodiment two suckers 58 disposed diametrically opposite with respect to the longitudinal axis 54, is or are mounted to be rotatable through 180° about the longitudinal axis 54 of the loading arm 52
([0071]) teaches for further automation of the blocking device 10 a loading unit 50 is provided in front of the housing 38 of the blocking device 10. As can be seen particularly in FIG. 18, the loading unit 50 comprises a loading arm 52 with a longitudinal axis 54, at which a loading head 56 together with at least one sucker 58, in the illustrated exemplifying embodiment two suckers 58 disposed diametrically opposite with respect to the longitudinal axis 54, is or are mounted to be rotatable through 180° about the longitudinal axis 54 of the loading arm 52, wherein the loading arm 52 itself is pivotable about a pivot axis 60 extending perpendicularly to the longitudinal axis 54 of the loading arm 52 and is manually adjustable along the pivot axis 60, i.e. upwardly and downwardly in (Fig. 18)
As shown in (Fig. 10) the blocking station is only found to have a single seat. However, the duplication of parts may be recited for providing the blocking station with a second seat for holding a second lens. Where, the court held that mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced, see In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960)
& i.) ([0089]) teaches that the spectacle lens L is pressed by its workpiece surface F1, which is to be blocked, into the blocking material M, which is applied to the block piece 5, while leaving the blocking material receiving gap C (see for this purpose also Fig. 20). Highlighting, as shown in (Fig. 20) the block piece being located in the respective block piece seat and provided with block material. Adding, that this pressing is prior to the curing. As such, the attachment is understood to be connected in a detachable manner.
([0089]) teaches that the exposure device 26 (cf. FIG. 10) is activated and the blocking material M is cured by means of ultraviolet light. Adding, that the curing is understood to take place while the lens is in a rest position. With ([0093]) teaches that although there was explicit discussion above of a blocking material curable by light, it will be evident to the expert that in principle other blocking materials can also be used. Thus, for example, a thermoplastic blocking material such as polycaprolactone or the like (cf. U.S. Pat. No. 5,763,075) could be used, so that the exposure device (at 26 in FIG. 10) would be redundant. However, in this case it would be necessary to ensure that the feed of blocking material is designed for a thermoplastic medium, which includes appropriate heating of the metering and feed devices for the blocking material and, optionally, cooling of the blocking station. Highlighting, evidence from (Benjamin, US-5,763,075) (Col. 47, lines 55-59) teaches that that after the application of the molten blocking material to the lens, the assembly is allowed to set for 10 to 15 seconds, allowing the resin to harden, then the blocked lens was moved and allowed to set for 1 hour prior to further processing.
([0089]) teaches that the exposure device 26 (cf. FIG. 10) is activated and the blocking material M is cured by means of ultraviolet light. Adding, that the curing is understood to take place while the lens is in a rest position. With ([0093]) teaches that although there was explicit discussion above of a blocking material curable by light, it will be evident to the expert that in principle other blocking materials can also be used. Thus, for example, a thermoplastic blocking material such as polycaprolactone or the like (cf. U.S. Pat. No. 5,763,075, Benjamin et al., hereinafter Benjamin) could be used, so that the exposure device (at 26 in FIG. 10) would be redundant. However, in this case it would be necessary to ensure that the feed of blocking material is designed for a thermoplastic medium, which includes appropriate heating of the metering and feed devices for the blocking material and, optionally, cooling of the blocking station. Highlighting, evidence from (Benjamin, US-5,763,075) (Col. 19, lines 25-30) that transforming the blocking composition from a warm state to a cool state requires loss of thermal energy and can be carried out using a variety of cooling techniques. Cooling can take place under ambient conditions in the presence of air only. As such, the exposure to ambient conditions is understood to be a means for curing (partial curing). Benjamin on (Col. 47, lines 55-59) adding that that after the application of the molten blocking material to the lens, the assembly is allowed to set for 10 to 15 seconds, allowing the resin to harden, then the blocked lens was moved and allowed to set for 1 hour prior to further processing.With Savoie noting on ([0057]) that the blocking station 14 is movable by means of the first slide 22 of the transport device 18 from the metering device 24, in which the blocking material M can be centrally or decentrally applied to the block piece S, to the exposure device 26 and vice versa. As such, transportation from the metering device 24, in ambient conditions, is understood to (partially) cure the blocking material M applied to the block piece S. While also providing two different positions a joining position with the metering device and a rest position in ambient conditions caused by movement of the transport device.
As noted above evidenced provided by Benjamin on (Col. 47, lines 55 – 59) adding that that after the application of the molten blocking material to the lens, the assembly is allowed to set for 10 to 15 seconds, allowing the resin to harden, then the blocked lens was moved and allowed to set for 1 hour prior to further processing. As such, the block piece-lens pairs being held in said rest position for a defined waiting period for further hardening of the block material.
Regarding Claim 93, Savoie is ambiguous on chronologically overlappingly connecting at least each of two lenses. In analogous art for a lens blocking apparatus, that comprises a lens blocking station, conveyor and various handling devices, Freson suggests details regarding implementing a carousel in a blocking station as a means to transport a lens and block piece seat in a chronologically overlappingly way, and in this regard, Freson teaches the following:
, c.), e.), g.), i.) & j.) ([0110]) teaches a blocking system as illustrated on FIG. 3 comprises a carousel 25 comprising four machining stations A, B, C, D. As shown in (Fig. 3) the lens blocking station has at least 4 block piece seats for chronologically overlappingly / simultaneous processing. Highlighting stations, A, B, C and D also comprise a receiving position, joining, rest and removal positions.
As illustrated in (Fig. 3) machining stations B provides for a joining position in a first location at which the lenses are connected with a block piece to form block piece-lens pairs. ([0095]) teaches that the blocking material 14 is provided at a first state temperature, the first state temperature being for example above its melting or softening temperature. As such, the material is provided at a first temperature.
([0098]) teaches that advantageously, after the previous providing step d), the method according to the present embodiment further comprises a cooling step e), in which the blocking material 14 cools from its first state temperature to an intermediate state temperature. ([0099]) teaches that the cooling of the blocking material may be active, for example using water cooling, or passive, for example heat exchange with ambient air. ([0103]) teaches the blocking material is then cooled to a blocking state temperature. The final state temperature being close to room temperature, for example around 21° C. ([0104]) teaches the final state temperature is chosen so that the blocking material is solid at such temperature. ([0121]) notes that the second handling device 28 may also carry out the first blocking b), the moving c), the placing f) and the second blocking g) steps of the blocking method as described previously. As such, the apparatus is adapted to move the block piece seats from the joining position (B) into a rest position after partial hardening (C) of the block material of the block piece- lens pairs. Highlighting, that as the blocking material is applied in (B), its beings to cool as its being exposed to ambient conditions, i.e., passive cooling, for example heat exchange with ambient air. As such, moving from (B) to (C) is understood to provide for exposure of the move the block piece seats from the joining position (B) into a rest position after partial hardening (C) of the block material of the block piece- lens pairs.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the production method and apparatus for blocking lenses that comprises a blocking station, conveyor and various handling devices, of Savoie. By modifying the blocking station to include a carousel as a means for transporting the lens and blocking seats within the blocking station, as taught by Freson. Highlighting, implementation of carousel provides a means for processing several articles at once, (Fig. 3). Furthermore, the simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results and/or the use of known technique to improve similar devices (methods, or products) in the same way allows for the recitation of KSR case law. Where, "A person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known option within his or her technical grasp. If this leads to the anticipated success, it is likely the product not of innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense." KSR int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 127 S. Ct. 1727, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).Regarding claim 94,
Apparatus for blocking of lenses with a blocking station
at which at least each of two lenses being directly connected to a respective block piece that is provided with a block material in an at least partially chronologically overlapping manner,
with an aligning apparatus,
which is designed for at least partially chronologically overlappingly, position-controlled rotating of the lenses around three rotational axes in respectively one defined rotational position, and
with a transport apparatus,
which is designed for at least partially chronologically overlappingly transport of the lenses to a respective block piece that is located in the blocking station and for holding the lenses in the respectively defined rotational position,
wherein the blocking station has at least two block piece seats,
at each of four locations, a first location being a receiving position at which block pieces are received,
a second location being a joining position at which the lenses are connected with a block piece to form block piece-lens pairs,
a third location being a rest position at which the block piece-lens pairs are held a defined waiting period for further hardening of the block material, and
the fourth location being a removal position in which the block piece-lens pairs are removed from the block piece seats,
wherein the blocking station is mounted to move a first block piece seat pair into the receiving position at the same time as a second block piece seat pair is moved into the joining position, a third block piece seat pair is moved into the rest position, and a fourth block piece seat pair is moved into the removal position.
Savoie teaches the following:
([0002]) teaches that the invention particularly relates to a device for blocking spectacle lenses.
([0043]) teaches that a blocking station 14 in which the spectacle lens L can be blocked on a block piece S by means of a temporarily deformable blocking material M, and a transport device 18, which comprises a holding head 16 for the spectacle lens L and by means of which a relative movement between the spectacle lens L held at the holding head 16 on the one hand and the measuring station 12 as well as the blocking station 14 on the other hand can be produced. ([0087]) teaches that in (Fig. 32) the blocking material M is applied in a predetermined amount to the block piece S by means of the metering head 28 of the metering device 24, whereupon the metering head 28 is pivoted back. ([0089]) teaches (Fig. 34) illustrates that wherein the spectacle lens L is pressed by its workpiece surface F1, which is to be blocked, into the blocking material M, which is applied to the block piece 5. ([0059]) notes that the spectacle lens L is been pressed by means of the holding head 16 of the transport device 18.As such, a joining position in which the lenses are connected via pressing by means of the holding head 16 of the transport device 18 with a block piece to form block piece-lens pairs is understood to be disclosed. Highlighting, while only one piece is shown being processed. The duplication of parts may be recited regarding implementing a secondary joining of block piece S and lens L in the block station. See In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960).
, d.) f.) Additionally, regarding the chronologically overlappingly aspect of the apparatus, i.e., the simultaneous processing of more than one lens. The case law for sequential vs simultaneous may be recited. Where, generally, no invention is involved in the broad concept of performing simultaneously operations which have previously been performed in sequence. In re Tatincloux, 108 USPQ 125.
([0043]) teaches a measuring station 12 for detection of the orientation and of geometry data of the spectacle lens L to be blocked. Where the measuring station 12 provides for an aligning apparatus.
([0043]) teaches a transport device 18, which comprises a holding head 16 for the spectacle lens L and by means of which a relative movement between the spectacle lens L held at the holding head 16 on the one hand and the measuring station 12 as well as the blocking station 14 on the other hand can be produced. Additionally, ([0071]) teaches as can be seen particularly in FIG. 18, the loading unit 50 comprises a loading arm 52 with a longitudinal axis 54, at which a loading head 56 together with at least one sucker 58, in the illustrated exemplifying embodiment two suckers 58 disposed diametrically opposite with respect to the longitudinal axis 54, is or are mounted to be rotatable through 180° about the longitudinal axis 54 of the loading arm 52.
([0047]) teaches that for this purpose a universal ball joint 84 is provided in the center of the lower plate 82. Two drives 86 arranged at 90° between the plates 80, 82 serve for tilting (tilt axes A and B) the upper plate 80 against the force of tension springs 88, which are tensioned between the plates 80, 82 and of which one tension spring 88 is illustrated by way of example in FIG. 6. A further drive 90 is provided on the upper plate 80 and serves for rotating, with closed-loop control in rotational angle, a hollow shaft 92 (rotational axis C).
As shown in (Fig. 10), the blocking station is only found to have a single seat. However, the duplication of parts may be recited for providing the blocking station with a second seat for holding a second lens. Where, the court held that mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced, see In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960)
Regarding Claim 94, Savoie is ambiguous on chronologically overlappingly connecting at least each of two lenses. In analogous art for a lens blocking apparatus, that comprises a lens blocking station, conveyor and various handling devices, Freson suggests details regarding implementing a carousel in a blocking station as a means to transport a lens and block piece seat in a chronologically overlappingly way, and in this regard, Freson teaches the following:
, d.), f.), h.), i.), j.), k.) & l.) ([0110]) teaches a blocking system as illustrated on FIG. 3 comprises a carousel 25 comprising four machining stations A, B, C, D. As shown in (Fig. 3) the lens blocking station has at least 4 block piece seats for chronologically overlappingly / simultaneous processing. Highlighting stations, A, B, C and D also comprise a receiving position, joining, rest and removal positions.
As detailed in (Fig. 3) the machining stations A provides for a receiving position.
As illustrated in (Fig. 3) machining stations B provides for a joining position in a first location at which the lenses are connected with a block piece to form block piece-lens pairs. ([0095]) teaches that the blocking material 14 is provided at a first state temperature, the first state temperature being for example above its melting or softening temperature. As such, the material is provided at a first temperature.
([0098]) teaches that advantageously, after the previous providing step d), the method according to the present embodiment further comprises a cooling step e), in which the blocking material 14 cools from its first state temperature to an intermediate state temperature. ([0099]) teaches that the cooling of the blocking material may be active, for example using water cooling, or passive, for example heat exchange with ambient air. ([0103]) teaches the blocking material is then cooled to a blocking state temperature. The final state temperature being close to room temperature, for example around 21° C. ([0104]) teaches the final state temperature is chosen so that the blocking material is solid at such temperature. ([0121]) notes that the second handling device 28 may also carry out the first blocking b), the moving c), the placing f) and the second blocking g) steps of the blocking method as described previously. As such, the apparatus is adapted to move the block piece seats from the joining position (B) into a rest position after partial hardening (C) of the block material of the block piece- lens pairs. Highlighting, that as the blocking material is applied in (B), its beings to cool as its being exposed to ambient conditions, i.e., passive cooling, for example heat exchange with ambient air. As such, moving from (B) to (C) is understood to provide for exposure of the move the block piece seats from the joining position (B) into a rest position after partial hardening (C) of the block material of the block piece- lens pairs.
As detailed in (Fig. 3), the machining stations D provides for a removal position.
As detailed in (Fig. 3), the carrousel provides for the blocking station to be mounted and move a first block piece seat pair into the receiving position at the same time as a second block piece seat pair is moved into the joining position, a third block piece seat pair is moved into the rest position, and a fourth block piece seat pair is moved into the removal position.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the production method and apparatus for blocking lenses that comprises a blocking station, conveyor and various handling devices, of Savoie. By modifying the blocking station to include a carousel as a means for transporting the lens and blocking seats within the blocking station, as taught by Freson. Highlighting, implementation of carousel provides a means for processing several articles at once, (Fig. 3). Furthermore, the simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results and/or the use of known technique to improve similar devices (methods, or products) in the same way allows for the recitation of KSR case law. Where, "A person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known option within his or her technical grasp. If this leads to the anticipated success, it is likely the product not of innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense." KSR int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 127 S. Ct. 1727, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).B.) Claim(s) 84, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Savoie in view of Freson and in further view of Cormier et al. (US-2017/0,239,774, hereinafter Cormier)
Regarding claim 84,
Further comprising at least one block piece seat for a block piece, wherein a major axis of the block piece seat is inclined with respect to vertical.
Savoie teaches the following:
([0068]) teaches a second clamping ring 76, which is arranged below the first clamping ring 72 and rotatable with respect to the first clamping ring 72. ([0068]) adding that the second clamping ring having radially extending clamping projections 78 by way of which the clamping projections V of the block piece S bearing against the clamping jaws 74 of the first clamping ring 72 in the received state of the block piece S can be clamped. Formed at the clamping projections 78 of the second clamping ring 76 (and, as an introduction aid, optionally also at the clamping jaws 74 of the first clamping ring 72) are inclined surfaces 138 by way of which rotation of the second clamping ring 76 relative to the first clamping ring 72 is produced when the block piece S is pressed into the blocking station 14.
Regarding Claim 84, Savoie as modified by Freson utilized the duplication of parts concerning the blocking station having at least two block piece seats. As such, Savoie is vague on the blocking station has at least two block piece seats. In analogous art for a lens blocking apparatus that comprises a block station, and a block piece seat, Cormier suggests details regarding optimizing the block piece seat’s position via inclining and in this regard, Cormier teaches the following:
([0054]) teaches workpiece support 12 at the prism ring 44 of FIG. 15 is not chamfered with respect to the blocker axis V (prism angle of 0°, the workpiece support 12′ at the prism ring 44′ according to FIG. 17 is chamfered or inclined with respect to the blocker axis V (here by a prism angle of 5°). A plurality of differently chamfered prism rings 44, 44′, which are, for example, stepped by degrees (0°, 1°, 2°, 3°, etc.) can be stocked here so as to cover the desired range of prism angles for blocking. As such, an inclined block piece seat is understood to be a binary option where the block piece seat is either inclined or not. Furthermore, an inclined block piece seat is understood to impact the desired range of prism angles that are blocked
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the production method and apparatus for blocking lenses that comprises a blocking station, conveyor and various handling devices, of Savoie as modified. By augmenting the block piece seat to have an incline, as taught by Cormier. Highlighting, implementing an inclined block piece seat provides a means for tailoring the desired range of prism angles that are blocked, ([0054]). Accordingly, the case law for result effective variable may be recited regarding implementing an inclined block piece seat. Where, it is well settled that determination of optimum values of cause effective variables such as these process parameters is within the skill of one practicing in the art. In re Boesch, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980). Furthermore, choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success, i.e., an inclined block piece seat or not inclined block piece seat and/or the simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results allows for the recitation of KSR case law. Where, "A person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known option within his or her technical grasp. If this leads to the anticipated success, it is likely the product not of innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense." KSR int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 127 S. Ct. 1727, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
ConclusionThe prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Savoie et al. (US 6110017 A) – teaches in the (Abstract) that the invention pertains to an improved method, a lapping tool head and a lens polishing apparatus for carrying out the method, for polishing ophthalmic lenses. The apparatus has a lapping tool head, a flexible membrane covering a lapping portion of the tool head, and pump and nozzle for pumping abrasive slurry over the lapping tool head.
Kok et al. (US 6632080 B1) – teaches in the (Abstract) a device for producing disposable lenses providing a concave mold and a convex mold for each lens, filing the concave mold with liquid starting material for the lens, and positioning the convex mold so as to enclose the starting material includes a first carousel, a first station, which is arranged along the first carousel, for depositing the concave mold at a set position on the carousel, a second station for filling the deposited concave mold with starting material for a lens, a third station for depositing the convex mold so as to enclose the starting material, and a fourth station for removing the assembly having concave mold and convex mold with enclosed starting material the first carousel.
Schafer et al. (US 20090011688 A1) – teaches in the (Abstract) a machine for processing optical work pieces having a work piece spindle for the work piece driving rotationally about a work piece rotation axis. At least one processing unit has a tool that can machine the workpiece, and an adjusting mechanism causes a relative movement between the work piece spindle and tool to selectively enable loading, unloading and processing of the work piece.
Schneider et al. (US 20130270759 A1) – teaches in the (Abstract) a device for blocking eyeglass lenses onto blocks using a bonding mass, by which the eyeglass lens is connected to the block in a form-fit and/or force-closed manner, having several stations, between which the eyeglass lens and/or the block is transported, at least one blocking station, in which the block is connected to the eyeglass lens using the bonding mass, a transport arm having a retaining head arranged thereon for positioning the eyeglass lens in the blocking station
Cormier et al. (US 20170239774 A1) – teaches in the (Abstract) a device for blocking workpieces has an aligning station that includes a workpiece support for aligning a workpiece. A blocking station comprises a block piece mount and serves to block the aligned workpiece by use of a block material on a block piece, which can be mounted in the block piece mount in a centered manner in relation to a substantially vertically extending blocker axis.
Takeichi et al. (US 20210101246 A1) – teaches in the (Abstract) An eyeglass lens peripheral edge processing system includes a plurality of eyeglass manufacturing devices and a robot arm. The plurality of eyeglass manufacturing devices 1 perform mutually different steps out of a plurality of steps for processing the eyeglass lens, and include mutually different housings. The robot arm includes an arm unit and a holding unit. The arm unit has a plurality of joint portions.
/Andrés E. Behrens Jr./Examiner, Art Unit 1741
/JaMel M Nelson/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1743