DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of the Claims
Claims 1-13, 15-20, 23, 24, 26-40, 43, and 45 have been canceled. Claims 42 and 44 previously were withdrawn. Accordingly, claims 14, 21, 22, 25, and 41 remain pending and under examination. The claim set filed 6/16/26 has been entered and is under examination.
Withdrawn Rejections
The following rejections are withdrawn in view of Applicant’s claim amendments filed 6/16/2026: the rejection of claim 22 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO2008/051461A2 (hereafter, “Roszell”) in view of US 2006/0177392A1 (hereafter, “Walden”), US 2010/0310476A1 (hereafter, “Tamarkin” et al), and US 5,145,675 (hereafter, “Won”).
Response to Arguments and Declaration
Applicant’s arguments filed 6/16/2026 (hereafter, “Remarks”) have been fully considered and are addressed as follows. The previously issued rejections are withdrawn in view of the new claim language requiring container and chamber parameters newly recited in claim 22. Applicant’s argument that the previously cited references do not teach this feature is persuasive. It is noted that no amendments have been filed in claim 14 or those depending therefrom.
Applicant argues that there is a declaration of Dr. Nacht showing clinical studies. It is noted that this document is labeled “OATH” in the file wrapper. The declaration of Dr. Sergio Nacht establishes his expertise in the field and argues that the combination of claimed elements provide combined benefits of sebum reduction, keratinization, and bacterial proliferation in a single topical formulation with reduced side effects in view of particular acne pathogenesis. The inventor and declarant further argues that the combination claimed provides technical distinctions over cited references considered individually (pages 3-4 of the declaration). Finally, Dr. Nacht outlines clinical study data comparing Formula A which is a combination of trans-retinoic acid and antibiotic and formula B including isotretinoin in addition where Formula B shows better results over an 8 week time period, alongside reduced undesirable side effects. Applicant asserts at point no. 20 that these differences were statistically significant. Applicant concludes that the claims are distinguished over the cited art and that the claimed formulation achieves unexpected technical results. In reply, Applicant’s arguments have been considered but are not persuasive since the presented evidence is not commensurate in scope with the claimed invention. Specifically, the efficacy results presented do not appear to identify concentrations of formulation components within the various ranges instantly claimed.
Particularly on page 3 of Remarks, Applicant delineates teachings of individual references cited and concludes that the claimed invention presents a combination of elements not taught by the individual references. In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
Applicant argues on pages 5 and 6 of Remarks that instability of active agents including retinoids and tetracyclines result in a recognized challenge and not a routine formulation exercise on account of alleged complex and unpredictable elements. In reply, Applicant’s argument has been fully considered but is not persuasive in view of the preponderance of evidence in the record reasonably suggesting benefits of each claimed component and rationale for combining claimed elements as detailed in the record.
On page 7 of Remarks, Applicant asserts that using Won to teach the delivery mechanism element claimed requires selections and determinations guided by only applicant’s disclosure. In reply, this argument is not persuasive in view of Won’s specific teaching of active agents in beads considered not alone but in combination with additional references’ cited teachings of providing benefits from multiple active agents.
Maintained Rejections
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 14, 25, and 41 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO2008/051461A2 (hereafter, “Roszell”) in view of US 2006/0177392A1 (hereafter, “Walden”), US 2010/0310476A1 (hereafter, “Tamarkin” et al), and US 5,145,675 (hereafter, “Won”).
The instant claims are drawn to a formulation containing 13-cis-retinoic acid in concentrations from 0.005% to 0.15% and another retinoid with keratolytic therapeutic action in acne in a cosmetically acceptable aqueous vehicle and containing antioxidants and preservatives suitable to protect retinoids against oxidation. The “other retinoid” is limited to being an all-trans-retinoic acid in a concentration of from 0.025% to 0.1% and the antibiotic to tetracycline in a concentration from 1 to 5%. The structural components included in the claim 1 are interpreted to be 13-cis--retinoic acid, another specified retinoid, water, vehicle, antioxidants, and preservatives, as further specified in the claims. The claims further recite at least one active ingredient to be included in a slow-release porous polymeric system as further specified in the claims, limited to particle size, pore diameter, and pore volume characteristics wherein said polymeric system is composed of ethylene glycol dimethacrylate. As to the claim language “wherein the formulation is administered daily”, this language is not considered to further limit the structure otherwise addressed herein since this pertains to a method of use and not the product or properties of the claimed formulation itself.
Roszell teaches acne treatment compositions including an anti-acne component which may include clindamycin, retinoic acid, salicylic acid, benzoyl peroxide, sulphacetamide, adapalene, or mixtures thereof (see page 14, lines 2-10). The formulations may include water and are therefore considered aqueous and to have one or more active ingredients in aqueous phase (see page 15, lines 29-33; see also Roszell claim 10) and are for topical application including for instance emollient agents and are therefore considered “cosmetically acceptable” as in claim 14 (see paragraph bridging pages 19 and 20). Roszell names vitamin E among emollients which is also an antioxidant for instance (see page 19, line 24 and page 21, lines 16-33)(“antioxidants” as in claim 14). Roszell includes preservatives (see page 20, line 26 – page 21, line 4)(limitation of claim 14). Roszell does specify the retinoic acid component generally to be included in an amount between about 0.05 wt% and 12 wt% (see Roszell claim 3 in particular)(overlapping range of claim 14-17). Roszell teaches the formulations may be both aqueous and in the form of an emulsion.
Roszell teaches retinoic acid for instance as the anti-acne functional component to be included alone or in a combination with other anti-acne components (see Roszell claim 2), however Roszell does not specify the instantly claimed combination of 13-cis-retinoic acid and another retinoid which has instantly been elected to be all trans retinoic acid. It is noted that Roszell does teach the retinoic acid component to be provided in an amount of about 0.05 to about 0.1% by weight (see page 15, line 22), a range overlapping and/or including the instantly claimed ranges with respect to each the 13-cis-retinoic acid species of retinoic acid and the all-trans-retinoic acid species of retinoic acid/”the other retinoid” as in claim 14).
Walden cures this deficiency. Walden teaches acne compositions for topical application. Walden teaches that the retinoid component of his acne compositions may consist of one or more of isomers of retinol including all-trans-retinol and 13-cis-retinol among others (see [0027]) with all-transretinol being preferred (see also Walden claim 7).
Both Roszell and Walden are directed to acne-treating formulations. It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to substitute a combination of all-trans-retinol and 13-cis-retinol at least as “obvious to try” from the finite combinations of retinoid active agents taught by Walden in place of Roszell’s anti-acne retinoic acid component in general, and to further perform routine optimization procedures as to the amounts of these components upon use in combination where one reasonably would have expected success from a starting point of a total amount of retinoic acid within Roszell’s recommended range of 0.05 to 0.1% by weight. One would have been motivated to do so based on Walden’s state-of-the art teaching with regard to acne active agents which are topical retinoids (see [0014]) and subsequently based on routine optimization of known equivalents as taught by Walden and recommended amounts of known equivalents as specified by Walden.
Roszell teaches a polymer may be included in the acne treatment composition to provide a desired controlled, prolonged release rate (see page 15, line 9).
As to claims 25 and 41, all formulation components have been addressed above, and the severe inflammatory acne reference pertains only to a method of use and the administration schedule also pertains only to a method of use. Wherein the cited references are directed to anti-acne formulations, it is the examiner’s position that the formulations addressed above may be applied and/or used according to the intended use encompassed in claims 25 and 41.
Further regarding the tetracycline component of claim 14, the teachings of Roszell and Walden have been delineated above. Neither of these teaches tetracycline as instantly elected (antibiotic). Tamarkin cures this deficiency.
Tamarkin teaches topical formulations for treating various conditions including acne (see abstract in particular; see also [0003]) including acne vulgaris, inflammatory acne and various other skin conditions (see [0133]). Tamarkin recommends tetracycline such as doxycycline or minocycline for the treatment of acne (see [0429], [0430], [0431]) wherein the antibiotic may be included in an amount of about 0.1% to about 10% by weight of a total topical formulation (see Tamarkin claim 1), a range including the instantly claimed range of 1 to 5%.
Roszell, Walden, and Tamarkin are all directed to anti-acne compositions such as those including an anti-biotic agent. It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to add a tetracycline as taught by Tamarkin to a formulation of Roszell and Walden, with a reasonable expectation of success. One would have been motivated to do so based on Tamarkin’s teaching of desirable antibiotic efficacy in topical anti-acne formulations in a concentration overlapping with the claimed concentration. See MPEP 2144 regarding overlapping ranges of each component.
As to the polymer system recited in claim 14, Roszell teaches a polymer component to provide sustained release of the anti-acne component (see abstract, in particular), however Roszell does not specify porosity, particle size, or pore diameter and volume characteristics of the sustained release polymer. Won cures this deficiency.
Won teaches products for the controlled release of active substances upon topical application. The active agents are retained as impregnants inside pores of porous solid particles or microspheres wherein the pores comprise a continuous open network permitting outward diffusion of the impregnants at a controlled rate depending on pore size (see abstract, in particular). The polymers may be in the form of beads typically in the range of 5 to 100 microns and usually about 20 microns for instance (see last sentence in column 2)(a value within the range of 10 to 25 micrometers as recited in claim 14) and have a total pore volume in the range of 0.1 to 2.0 cc/g usually 0.3 to 1 cc/g (range overlapping range in at end of claim 14) and average pore diameters ranging preferably from about 0.003 to 1 micron (see column 3, lines 45-52), a range within the parameters of claim 14 which are noted not to numerically limit a pore diameter in the last line of claim 14. Won recommends acne treatment agents such as benzoyl peroxide and salicylic acid among active agents (column 18, lines 1-7); Won describes the loading of impregnated beads in an aqueous phase (see column 5, first full paragraph). Won specifies that the controlled release of the active substance provided by the polymeric delivery system affords a prolonged activity of the substance on the skin (“slow-release…” as in claim 14 as newly recited). Further limitations of claim 22 have been addressed above in regard to claim 14.
Further regarding the claim language “loaded” as recited three lines from the end of claim 14, it is noted that this language is directed to a process of making the claimed formulation [product] and not the product itself and is therefore not considered to distinguish over the prior art which as outlined above appears to have the same or substantially the same structure (and function) as instantly claimed.
Roszell, Walden, Tamarkin, and Won are all directed to formulations which may include anti-acne agents for topical application. It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to incorporate at least benzoyl peroxide in porous microbead carrier having controlled (“slow”) release properties as taught by Won for the controlled delivery of at least benzoyl peroxide as taught by Roszell, with a reasonable expectation of success. One would have been motivated to do so to the specification of Won as a specific direction to Roszell’s generally disclosed polymeric controlled delivery vehicle. One would have been motivated to do so to provide desirable controlled rate delivery of an active substance such as benzoyl peroxide as taught by Won using the polymer beads sized and having pore volume and diameter characteristics taught by Won, with a reasonable expectation of success.
Further regarding the particular inclusion of ethylene glycol dimethacrylate in a porous polymeric system as in claim 14, Won further teaches ethylene glycol dimethacrylate as instantly elected as a polymer bead material component (see column 6, lines 32-35) and further specifies this compound among particularly preferred polymer delivery systems (see column 6, lines 62 and 65-66). See also examples and Table 5.1 for instance. Further regarding the size parameters claimed, Won teaches the pore volume to be in the range of 0.01 cc/g to about 4.0 cc/g, pore diameter int eh range of 0.001 to about 3.0 microns, and bead diameter in the range of from about 10 to 40 microns (see claims 5-7 of Won in particular), features overlapping the ranges recited in claim 14.
Claim(s) 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO2008/051461A2 (hereafter, “Roszell”) in view of US 2006/0177392A1 (hereafter, “Walden”), US 2010/0310476A1 (hereafter, “Tamarkin” et al), and US 5,145,675 (hereafter, “Won”) as applied to claims 14, 25, and 41 above, and further in view of US2005/0169948 A1 (hereafter, “Bernstein”).
The teachings of Roszell, Walden, Tamarkin, and Won have been delineated above. While, as noted above, these teach an antibiotic which is tetracycline, these do not specify erythromycin as in claim 21.
Bernstein cures this deficiency. Bernstein teaches compositions for topical treatment of acne vulgaris or acne rosacea. Bernstein teaches clindamycin and erythromycin to be equivalents with retinoic acid and other chemical agents known in the art to be beneficial to acne vulgaris or acne rosacea (see [0005]).
Roszell, Walden, Tamarkin, Won, and Bernstein are directed to formulations for treating acne and/or topical application. It would have been prima facie obvious to substitute erythromycin as taught by Bernstein for Roszell’s clindamycin (see Roszell claim 2 and page 15, line 23). It is noted that Tamarkin generally discloses erythromycin among a long list of antibiotic benefit agents (see [0105]), however Roszell and Bernstein in particular are provided for motivation or selecting erythyromycin tetracycline. One would have been motivated to do so based on Bernstein’s disclosure of clindamycin and erythromycin as equivalent known acne treatment agents.
New Grounds of Rejection Necessitated by Amendments filed 6/16/2026
Claim 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO2008/051461A2 (hereafter, “Roszell”) in view of US 2006/0177392A1 (hereafter, “Walden”), US 5,145,675 (hereafter, “Won”), and KR20050105442A (hereafter, “Embil”, newly cited).
The instant claim is drawn to a formulation containing 13-cis-retinoic acid in concentrations from 0.005% to 0.15% and another retinoid with keratolytic therapeutic action as well as a bactericidal agent which is benzoyl peroxide, as further specified in the claims. Claim 22 further requires a container with retinoid and bactericidal agents packed separately in chambers; this new claim language is interpreted to require a packaging feature with separate compartments but is otherwise interpreted to pertain to a method of making which is not the statutory class under examination.
Roszell teaches acne treatment compositions including an anti-acne component which may include clindamycin, retinoic acid, salicylic acid, benzoyl peroxide, sulphacetamide, adapalene, or mixtures thereof (see page 14, lines 2-10). The formulations may include water and are therefore considered aqueous and to have one or more active ingredients in aqueous phase (see page 15, lines 29-33; see also Roszell claim 10) and are for topical application including for instance emollient agents and are therefore considered to meet the intended use recited in the preamble of claim 22 (see paragraph bridging pages 19 and 20). Roszell does specify the retinoic acid component generally to be included in an amount between about 0.05 wt% and 12 wt% (see Roszell claim 3 in particular)(overlapping range). Roszell teaches retinoic acid for instance as the anti-acne functional component to be included alone or in a combination with other anti-acne components (see Roszell claim 2), however Roszell does not specify the instantly claimed combination of 13-cis-retinoic acid and another retinoid which has instantly been elected to be all trans retinoic acid. It is noted that Roszell does teach the retinoic acid component to be provided in an amount of about 0.05 to about 0.1% by weight (see page 15, line 22), a range overlapping and/or including the instantly claimed ranges with respect to each the 13-cis-retinoic acid species of retinoic acid and the all-trans-retinoic acid species of retinoic acid/”the other retinoid”); Roszell further teaches a benzoyl peroxide component to be included in an amount of about 5.0 to 12.0 wt% (see page 15, line 25 in particular), a range overlapping the instantly claimed range. Roszell teaches a polymer may be included in the acne treatment composition to provide a desired controlled, prolonged release rate (see page 15, line 9).
Walden cures this deficiency. Walden teaches acne compositions for topical application. Walden teaches that the retinoid component of his acne compositions may consist of one or more of isomers of retinol including all-trans-retinol and 13-cis-retinol among others (see [0027]) with all-transretinol being preferred (see also Walden claim 7).
Both Roszell and Walden are directed to acne-treating formulations. It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to substitute a combination of all-trans-retinol and 13-cis-retinol at least as “obvious to try” from the finite combinations of retinoid active agents taught by Walden in place of Roszell’s anti-acne retinoic acid component in general, and to further perform routine optimization procedures as to the amounts of these components upon use in combination where one reasonably would have expected success from a starting point of a total amount of retinoic acid within Roszell’s recommended range of 0.05 to 0.1% by weight. One would have been motivated to do so based on Walden’s state-of-the art teaching with regard to acne active agents which are topical retinoids (see [0014]) and subsequently based on routine optimization of known equivalents as taught by Walden and recommended amounts of known equivalents as specified by Walden.
As to the polymer system recited in claim 22, Roszell teaches a polymer component to provide sustained release of the anti-acne component (see abstract, in particular), however Roszell does not specify porosity, particle size, or pore diameter and volume characteristics of the sustained release polymer. Won cures this deficiency.
Won teaches products for the controlled release of active substances upon topical application. The active agents are retained as impregnants inside pores of porous solid particles or microspheres wherein the pores comprise a continuous open network permitting outward diffusion of the impregnants at a controlled rate depending on pore size (see abstract, in particular). The polymers may be in the form of beads typically in the range of 5 to 100 microns and usually about 20 microns for instance (see last sentence in column 2)(a value within the range of 10 to 25 micrometers) and have a total pore volume in the range of 0.1 to 2.0 cc/g usually 0.3 to 1 cc/g (range overlapping) and average pore diameters ranging preferably from about 0.003 to 1 micron (see column 3, lines 45-52), a range within the parameters of claim 22. Won recommends acne treatment agents such as benzoyl peroxide and salicylic acid among active agents (column 18, lines 1-7); Won describes the loading of impregnated beads in an aqueous phase (see column 5, first full paragraph). Won specifies that the controlled release of the active substance provided by the polymeric delivery system affords a prolonged activity of the substance on the skin. Further regarding the particular inclusion of ethylene glycol dimethacrylate in a porous polymeric system as in claim 22, Won further teaches ethylene glycol dimethacrylate as instantly elected as a polymer bead material component (see column 6, lines 32-35) and further specifies this compound among particularly preferred polymer delivery systems (see column 6, lines 62 and 65-66). See also examples and Table 5.1 for instance. Further regarding the size parameters claimed, Won teaches the pore volume to be in the range of 0.01 cc/g to about 4.0 cc/g, pore diameter int eh range of 0.001 to about 3.0 microns, and bead diameter in the range of from about 10 to 40 microns (see claims 5-7 of Won in particular).
Roszell, Walden, and Won are all directed to formulations which may include anti-acne agents for topical application. It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to incorporate at least benzoyl peroxide in porous microbead carrier having controlled (“slow”) release properties as taught by Won for the controlled delivery of at least benzoyl peroxide as taught by Roszell, with a reasonable expectation of success. One would have been motivated to do so to the specification of Won as a specific direction to Roszell’s generally disclosed polymeric controlled delivery vehicle. One would have been motivated to do so to provide desirable controlled rate delivery of an active substance such as benzoyl peroxide as taught by Won using the polymer beads sized and having pore volume and diameter characteristics taught by Won, with a reasonable expectation of success.
None of the aforementioned references speak to the container and chamber separation as newly described in claim 22. Embil cures this deficiency.
Like the aforementioned references, Embel pertains to formulations for the treatment of dermatological conditions such as acne (see abstract, in particular). Embel specifies that when active components have stability limitations particularly when combined such as those comprising antibacterial agents such as benzoyl peroxide and antibiotics, that first and second active-ingredient formulations for topical administration for acne treatment for instance may be provided by a product which includes storage containers for separation prior to dispensing for direct application (see abstract, in particular). Accordingly, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to provide separate storage chambers for storage for multiple acne-treating active agents from Roszell and Walden using a delivery system comprising chambers of a container as taught by Embel to facilitate separate storage and concurrent or similar application for acne treating benefit. One would have been motivated to do so since Embel teaches that active agents for treating acne have stability limitations which may be resolved by a dual or multi-chamber dispensing system for the very same type of active agents to be delivered from for instance aqueous carrier bases and/or a polymeric delivery system (see abstract, in particular).
Conclusion
No claim is allowed.
/AUDREA B CONIGLIO/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1617