DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of Application
Receipt of the amendments to the claims and applicant arguments/remarks, filed 12/20/2024, is acknowledged.
Claims 1-6, 8-20 are pending in this action. Claim 7 has been cancelled previously. Claims 1, 16 have been amended. Claims 1-6, 8-20 are currently under consideration.
Any rejection or objection not reiterated in this action is withdrawn. Applicant's amendments necessitated new ground(s) of rejection presented in this office action.
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Priority
This application is a 371 of PCT/EP2018/055847, filed March 8, 2018, which claims benefit of foreign priority to EP17160206.3, filed March 9, 2017.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claims 1-6, 8-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Newly amended independent claim 1 recites the limitation “wherein 50% of the 1st active pharmaceutical ingredient is released in a first release phase and 50% in a second release phase” that is unclear. First, it is noted that the instant claim discloses a dosage form that exhibits a bi-modal release profile of the first and/or second active pharmaceutical ingredient, wherein said active ingredients are incorporated in different structural constituents/elements. Second, it is noted that the disclosed dosage form comprises (i) an immediate release core comprising a 1st active ingredient; (ii) a 1st delay-release layer; (iii) a 2nd sustained release layer; and (iv) a 3rd immediate release layer comprising a 2nd active ingredient. Therefore, it is unclear (i) what is understood as “bi-modal release dosage form”; and (ii) how the 1st active ingredient (located in an immediate release core covered by two delay/sustain release layers) can be released in a 1st release phase. To this point, it is noted that “[i]f a claim is amenable to two or more plausible constructions, applicant is required to amend the claim to more precisely define the metes and bounds of the claimed invention or the claim is indefinite under §112, ¶ 2. Ex parte Miyazaki, 89 USPQ2d 1207 (BPAI 2008) (expanded panel).” Further, it is noted that “Claiming a result without reciting what materials produce that result is the epitome of an indefinite claim. Such a claim fails to delineate with any reasonable certainty the requirements of the formulation. Forest Labs., Inc. v. Teva Pharms. USA, Inc. 2017 U.S. App. LEXIS 24877. Third, it is noted that the instant claim recites the limitation “the 1st and/or 2nd active pharmaceutical ingredient or the pharmaceutically acceptable salt, the isomeric form, the prodrug, or metabolite thereof is methylphenidate or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof” that is unclear. Does this claim disclose a dosage form comprising methylphenidate or a salt thereof that also can be isomers, prodrugs, or metabolites of methylphenidate? Similar is applied to claim 9. Clarification is required.
Claims 2-6, 8, 10-20 are rejected as being dependent on rejected independent claim 1 and failing to cure the defect.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, 8-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goldenheim et al., US 2004/0131680 (hereinafter referred to as Goldenheim), in view of Shojaei et al., US 2007/0264323 (hereinafter referred to as Shojaei), and further in view of Barnscheid et al., US 2014/0356428 (hereinafter referred to as Barnscheid), and Melamed, US 2010/0069402.
Goldenheim teaches solid oral controlled release methylphenidate/drug formulations comprising, e.g., 20 mg of drug (as a single dose), and providing bimodal drug release profile, i.e., (i) a rapid initial release of up to 45% of the dose after 0.25 hr, and (ii) prolonged release of 30-80% of the dose after 4 hr (Claims 1, 8; Title, Abstract). Goldenheim further teaches the use of methylphenidate (containing erythro and threo isomers) or hydrochloride salt thereof for treatment of attention deficit hypoactive disorder and can be administered only once, i.e., in the morning (Para. 0013; 0015, 0028, 0050-0051) as applied to claims 1, 9-10, 12-14).
Goldenheim teaches that the final drug product is a solid oral capsule/tablet containing methylphenidate in particulate form such as beads, pellets, granules, etc., wherein each particle contains a series of layers with different release characteristics, i.e., (i) an outer immediate release layer; (ii) a release delaying layer; (iii) a controlled release layer; and (iv) an immediate release core (Para. 0029, 0033, 0055, 0057 as applied to claims 1-3). To this point, Goldenheim specifically teaches that upon oral administration, the formulation provides (i) a rapid dissolution and absorption of the outer layer comprising a portion of the drug in immediate release form, thereby resulting in a rapid rise of the drug to therapeutic plasma levels; followed by (ii) a period of no absorption (due to an enteric coating); followed thereafter by (iii) a controlled release of the drug from the formulation to maintain plasma levels (Para. 0055).
Goldenheim teaches that sustained release coatings may include (i) pH-dependent coating to release the drug in desired areas of the gastro-intestinal tract (e.g., the stomach or small intestine), wherein said coating may include such polymers as shellac, cellulose acetate phthalate, polyvinyl acetate phthalate, hydroxypropyl methylcellulose phthalate, methacrylic acid ester copolymers, etc. (Para. 0065 as applied to claims 5, 15); and (ii) pH independent coating to achieve optimal release regardless of pH-changes in the environmental fluid by using in said coating alkylcellulosic polymer(s), e.g., ethyl cellulose, hydroxypropyl methylcellulose (i.e., retarded polymer; Para. 0065-0068, 0085 as applied to claims 1, 6, 16-18).
Goldenheim teaches that the release profile of said formulations can be altered by inclusion of additional ingredients/excipients, e.g., binders, plasticizers, lubricants, and/or the beads/pellets may be optionally overcoated with a barrier agent, e.g., to separate the drug from the hydrophobic controlled release coating (Para. 0084, 0085, 0114, 0119 as applied to claims 4 and 8).
Goldenheim provides examples of preparing immediate release beads of methylphenidate HCl and hydroxypropyl methylcellulose (Example 1) that further coated with an enteric coating comprising methacrylic acid copolymer (here as Eudragit® L 30 D-55 plasticized with triethyl citrate and talc; Example 5), and further coated with an immediate release layer comprising the same drug (Example 6A).
Goldenheim does not specifically teach coating a 1st delayed-release layer (an enteric layer) with a 2nd sustained release layer (claim 1).
Shojaei teaches multi-layered compositions that can be in form of tablets or capsules, and wherein said compositions may include (i) an immediate release component/layer/core, (ii) a delayed release component having an enteric coating layer that delays the release of the drug for a lag time (Abstract; Para. 0029, 0054; 0063, 0074). To this point, Shojaei teaches that said enteric coating may include such polymers as polyvinyl acetate phthalate, pH dependent methacrylic acid copolymer (Para. 0114, 0137). Further, Shojaei teaches that one can also use “a protective layer” coated over the enteric layer to reduce the water penetration rate through the enteric coating layer, and thus increase the lag time of the drug release, wherein said protective layer may include such polymers as cellulose derivatives (e.g., hydroxyethyl cellulose, hydroxypropyl cellulose, hydroxypropyl methylcellulose for providing bimodal drug release), polyvinylpyrrolidone (Para. 0012, 0139).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a protective layer over enteric coating as taught by Shojaei preparing dosage forms taught by Goldenheim. One would do so with expectation of beneficial results, because Shojaei teaches that said approach allows controlling water penetration rate through the enteric coating layer and increasing/controlling the lag time of the drug release.
Goldenheim also does not teach the use of different drugs (i.e., “and/or term” in claim 1), drugs/compounds for abuse protection/prevention (claim 11), and/or the use of said oral dosage forms for treatment of allergic rhinitis (claim 20).
Barnscheid teaches solid, oral dosage forms with bimodal release profile that contain a 1st pharmacologically active ingredient in a prolonged release form and a 2nd pharmacologically active ingredient in an immediate release form (Para. 0060). Barnscheid specifically teaches that said dosage forms include: (i) pharmacologically active ingredients that have a potential of abuse, e.g., methylphenidate or salt thereof (Para. 0142), (ii) coatings that may include such compounds as hydroxypropyl methylcellulose phthalate, cellulose acetate phthalate, ethyl cellulose, polyvinylpyrrolidone, polyvinyl acetate, hydroxypropyl methylcellulose, polyvinyl acetate phthalate, etc., and (iii) suitable excipients (Para. 0098-0101). Barnscheid teaches that one can use in said solid dosage forms “gel-formers”, i.e., polymers/compounds forming a gel (e.g., hydroxypropyl methylcellulose, polyethylene oxide, polyvinyl alcohol, etc.) when the dosage form is dissolved in water/alcohol mixtures, allowing thereby to minimize the amount of drug to be drawn into a syringe (Para. 0451-0453).
Melamed teaches a method of treating attention deficit hyperactivity disorder in patients with allergic rhinitis by administering to said patients compositions comprising methylphenidate in combination with antihistamine (Abstract; Para. 0002, 0012, 0017, 0038-0039, 0057).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use different drugs and/or compounds for abuse prevention as taught by Barnscheid preparing dosage forms taught by Goldenheim and Shojaei. One would do so with expectation of beneficial results, because Barnscheid teaches that said approach provides dosage forms suitable for combination therapy and protected from abuse. It also would be obvious to use/try the dosage forms as taught by Goldenheim, Shojaei and Barnscheid and comprising methylphenidate in combination with a different drug (e.g., antihistamine) to treat allergic rhinitis as taught by Melamed. One would do so with expectation of beneficial results, because Melamed teaches said approach can be used for treating comorbid allergic rhinitis and behavioral disorders either with a single medication or by the synergistic effect created by a plurality of medications.
Regarding the claimed properties of the disclosed compositions (i.e., suitable for administration period of at least 20 hrs; release of active ingredients), it is noted that the cited prior art teaches formulations comprising the same components and active agents (e.g., methylphenidate or salt thereof). Thus, it is expected that since the prior art is comprised of the same components, the same beneficial properties and effects would also be provided.
Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
US 2009/0123554 - teaches oral controlled release formulations comprising multi-layer beads comprising: (i) a core comprising methylphenidate or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof; (ii) a controlled release layer coated over the core; (iii) a release delaying layer coated over the controlled release layer; and (iv) an outer layer coated over the release delaying layer and comprising a second portion of methylphenidate or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof.
US 2012/0189695 – teaches extended release pharmaceutical dosage forms comprising a drug (e.g., methylphenidate or an analog, derivative, isomer or enantiomer, polymorph, or prodrug thereof), wherein said dosage forms comprise beads/pellets (comprising a 1st portion of the drug) comprising a sustained-release coating and a controlled release coating, and wherein said coated beads/pellets form a tablet core, and said tablet core further comprising an immediate-release coating comprising a 2nd portion of the drug.
US 6,419,960 and/or US 6,673,367 – teach controlled release formulations/tablets comprising methylphenidate, wherein said formulations/tablets comprise beads containing immediate release core and a series of layers with different characteristics, e.g., an outer immediate release layer, a release delaying layer (enteric coat), a controlled release layer over an immediate release layer, and wherein said tablets can be administered only once, e.g., in the morning.
US 6,322,819 – teaches pulsed dose drug delivery systems/tablets comprising an immediate release component/core comprising an active agent, an enteric delayed release layer, a protective layer, and an immediate release layer.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments, filed 12/20/2024, have been fully considered, but they were not found to be persuasive for the reasons set forth above. New arguments and rejection have been added to the record to clarify the position of the examiner and/or to address newly introduced amendments. Additional examiner’s comments are set forth next.
As best understood, the applicant discloses a bi-modal dosage form comprising methylphenidate or a hydrochloride salt thereof as active pharmaceutical ingredient(s), wherein in a first immediate release phase 30-50% of methylphenidate is released, and that in a second delayed release the remaining 70-50% of methylphenidate is released. Applicant teaches that said solid said dosage forms (i) can be administrated once per day, and can be used for any therapy in which a first immediate release of said active ingredient is required or beneficial, and later a second, delayed release of said active ingredient is needed; (ii) show less variability from patient to patient in the delayed release phase (caused by the pH variability in the gut); (iii) while being easy to produce with low manufacturing variability and high patient compliance and safety. Applicant is advised to clarify the claim language, compounds/constituents that can be included into the claimed structural constituents for providing claimed/desired properties, and clearly point out the patentable novelty, which the applicant thinks the claims present in view of the state of the art disclosed by the references cited, to place the application in condition for allowance.
Conclusion
No claim is allowed at this time.
/OLGA V. TCHERKASSKAYA/
Examiner, Art Unit 1615
/Robert A Wax/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1615