DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-2 and 4-6 are presented for examination, wherein claims 5-6 are withdrawn. Claims 3 and 7 are cancelled.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nose (US 2015/0180024); alternatively, Nose (Id) in view of Yamada et al (US 2016/0226100); alternatively, Nose (Id) in view of Kawakami et al (JP 2008/016446).
Regarding previously amended independent claim 1, Nose teaches a sodium secondary battery (e.g. item 8) including an improved positive electrode (e.g. item 2), a negative electrode (e.g. item 1), and an electrolyte layer (e.g. item 3) therebetween, said electrolyte layer may be composed of a liquid electrolyte or a solid electrolyte with sodium-ion conductivity (e.g. ¶¶ 0008-10, 122-126, 129, 135, and 145-146, 154-155, 157, and 197 plus e.g. Figure 4),
wherein a combination of said negative electrode and said solid electrolyte layer with sodium-ion conductivity (hereinafter “battery component”) reading on the preamble limitation “member,”
wherein the previously amended preamble limitation “for an all-solid-state sodium-ion secondary battery” is interpreted as merely intended use and does not patentably distinguish the instant invention from the art, see e.g. MPEP § 2111.02,
wherein said battery component comprising:
(1) said electrolyte layer (e.g. item 3) composed of said solid electrolyte with sodium-ion conductivity (e.g. supra), wherein said solid electrolyte may be e.g. Na3Zr2Si2PO12 (i.e. NASICON, see instant specification, at e.g. ¶¶ 0034-35) or beta-alumina solid electrolyte (e.g. ¶¶ 0146 and 154), reading on “a solid electrolyte made of a sodium ion-conductive oxide;” and,
(2) said negative electrode (e.g. item 1) may include a negative electrode active material layer (e.g. item 4) and a negative electrode current collector (e.g. item 5),
wherein said negative electrode active material layer is in direct contact with said electrolyte layer,
wherein said negative electrode active material layer may be in a “plate or foil form;”
wherein said negative electrode active material layer may be a layer that contains only a negative electrode active material;
wherein said negative electrode active material may be a metal species capable of alloying with and releasing sodium, such as at least one of Sn, Sb, and Pb; and,
said negative electrode active material layer may be formed by e.g. applying a slurry that contains said negative electrode material by a desired method such as a dip coating method, spray coating method, roller coating method, doctor blade method, gravure coating method or screen printing method, drying the applied slurry and, as needed, pressing the same
(e.g. ¶¶ 0123-126, 136, 145, and 159 plus e.g. Figure 4), noting the claimed “film” is not patentably distinguished from the taught “foil” and/or “plate,” see also e.g. MPEP § 2144.04(IV)(B), absence persuasive evidence that the particular configuration of the claimed active material layer is significant, see also instant specification, at e.g. ¶0022; alternatively, said negative electrode active material layer is made of a substantially identical composition by a substantially identical process (see supra, incorporated by reference, compared with the instant specification, at e.g. ¶¶ 0021-22, noting that the metal film or alloy film may be formed by e.g. “liquid phase deposition methods, such as plating, the sol-gel method, and spin coating” (emphasis added),
reading on the previously amended, previously amended limitation “a negative electrode layer made only of a metal film or only of a metal alloy film capable of absorbing and releasing sodium and provided on the solid electrolyte,”
wherein said negative electrode active material layer has a thickness that varies depending on the structure of the target sodium secondary battery, such as preferably within a range of 0.1 μm to 1,000 μm (e.g. ¶0129), which includes 0.1 µm, establishing a prima facie case of obviousness of the claimed range, see also MPEP § 2144.05(I), reading on the previously amended limitation “a thickness of the negative electrode layer is in a range of 0.05 µm to 3 µm,”
Regarding the previously added process limitation “the metal film or the metal alloy film is one of a physical vapor deposited film, a chemical vapor deposited film, or a plated film” (emphasis added), the support for “plated film” appears to be the following:
[0022] In this embodiment, from the viewpoint of allowing the negative electrode layer 3 to adhere to the solid electrolyte 2, the negative electrode layer 3 is preferably formed of a metal film or an alloy film. When the adhesion between the negative electrode layer 3 and the solid electrolyte 2 is increased, the charge-discharge cycle characteristics can be further increased. In addition, when the negative electrode layer 3 is formed of a metal film or an alloy film, the negative electrode layer 3 can be densified. Thus, not only the thickness of the negative electrode layer 3 can be reduced, but also the electrically conductive network of the film in an in-plane direction thereof can be widened, so that the electronic resistance of the negative electrode layer 3 can be reduced. As a result, an excellent rate characteristic is provided. Examples of a method for forming the metal film or the alloy film include: physical vapor deposition methods, such as evaporation coating and sputtering; and chemical vapor deposition methods, such as thermal CVD, MOCVD, and plasma CVD. Alternatively, other methods for forming the metal film or the alloy film include liquid phase deposition methods, such as plating, the sol-gel method, and spin coating.
(instant specification, at e.g. ¶0022, emphasis added.) Similarly, Nose teaches said negative electrode active material layer may be in a “plate or foil form;”
wherein said negative electrode active material layer may be a layer that contains only a negative electrode active material;
wherein said negative electrode active material may be a metal species capable of alloying with and releasing sodium, such as at least one of Sn, Sb, and Pb; and,
said negative electrode active material layer may be formed by e.g. applying a slurry that contains said negative electrode material by a desired method such as a dip coating method, spray coating method, roller coating method, doctor blade method, gravure coating method or screen printing method, drying the applied slurry and, as needed, pressing the same
(e.g. supra), so the process does not patentably distinguish the instant invention from the art, see also e.g. MPEP § 2113; alternatively, at least one of the expressly taught coating method results in said negative electrode active material layer in the form of a “plate” form, reading on said previously added limitation.
Regarding the previously added limitation “an amount of the negative electrode on the solid electrolyte is in a range of 0.01 mg/cm2 to 5 mg/cm2,” Nose teaches said negative electrode active material layer, wherein said negative electrode active material layer may be in said “plate or foil form;” said negative electrode active material layer may be said layer that contains only a negative electrode active material; said negative electrode active material may be a metal species capable of alloying with and releasing sodium, such as at least one of Sn, Sb, and Pb; and, said thickness of 0.1 μm to 1,000 μm, which includes 0.1 µm (e.g. supra), and further teaches said negative electrode active material may be applied by e.g. slurry, such as dip coating or spray coating, but not limited thereto (e.g. ¶0136), but does not expressly teach said previously added limitation.
However, Nose teaches a substantially identical negative electrode active material layer (e.g. supra, incorporated herein by reference, compared with instant specification, at e.g. ¶¶ 0021-22 and 26-27) made by a substantially identical process (e.g. supra, active material applied by e.g. slurry, such as dip coating or spray coating, compared with instant specification, such as liquid phase deposition methods, “such as plating, the sol-gel method, and spin coating,” at e.g. ¶¶ 0022-23 and 26-27), establishing a prima facie case of obviousness of said limitation, see also e.g. MPEP § 2112.01.
In a first alternative regarding the previously added limitation “an amount of the negative electrode on the solid electrolyte is in a range of 0.01 mg/cm2 to 5 mg/cm2,” Nose teaches said sodium battery, wherein said metal active material, such as at least one of Sn, Sb, and Pb (e.g. supra).
Further, Yamada teaches a nonaqueous electrolyte secondary battery, wherein said battery may be e.g. a lithium secondary battery, a lithium ion secondary battery, a sodium secondary battery, a sodium ion secondary battery, wherein said battery may include a negative electrode comprising a negative electrode active material layer with a negative electrode active material that may be an elemental substance or alloy comprising lithium, graphite, silicon, tin (Sn), antimony (Sb), and bismuth (Bi); and, wherein a suitable weight per area and density of said negative electrode is 2.3 or 4.0 mg/cm2 (e.g. ¶¶ 0124, 264-270, 298, 742-744, and 493), which is assumed to be uniform throughout said negative electrode, since there is not an indication of a concentration gradient through the disclosure.
As a result, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to manufacture the negative electrode active material layer of Nose with the uniform weight per area of 2.3 or 4.0 mg/cm2, as taught by Yamada, since Yamada teaches it is a suitable weight per area for use in batteries.
In a second alternative regarding the previously added limitation “an amount of the negative electrode on the solid electrolyte is in a range of 0.01 mg/cm2 to 5 mg/cm2,” Nose teaches said sodium battery, wherein said metal active material, such as at least one of Sn, Sb, and Pb, may be the only component within said negative electrode layer or may further include said binder (e.g. supra), wherein its invention replaces lithium as an active material for lithium batteries by sodium, noting that Na ions are larger than Li ions (e.g. ¶0043).
Further, Kawakami teaches a negative electrode layer for use in a secondary battery, such as a lithium secondary battery, said negative electrode layer comprising active material particles composed of a metal, such as tin, and a binder, wherein said electrode material layer preferably has a density of 0.5-3.0 g/cm3, preferably in the range of 0.9-2.5 g/cm3, since if the density of said electrode material layer is too high, expansion during insertion of lithium increases, resulting in peeling from the current collector, whereas if the density of the electrode material layer is too low, the resistance of the electrode increases, resulting in a decrease in charge/discharge efficiency and a large voltage drop during battery discharge; similarly the positive electrode active material layer has an density of 0.5-3.5 g/cm3, preferably in the range of 0.6-3.5 g/cm3, in order to optimize the power and energy density of said positive electrode (e.g. ¶¶ 0001, 21, 22-26, 28-31, 48-50, 117, and 136).
As a result, it would have been obvious a person of ordinary skill in the art to optimize the negative electrode active material layer of Nose, which includes said tin active material, to within about 0.5-3.0 g/cm3 (converted to 500-3,000 mg/cm3) since Kawakami teaches said density optimizes the expansion/contraction and peeling characteristics of a negative electrode active material layer containing tin as an active material.
The examiner appreciates that the Kawakami battery is a lithium battery, whereas the Nose battery is a sodium battery. However, lithium and sodium are in the same Group in the Periodic Table, and while not identical, have similar physical, chemical, and ionic characteristics. As a result, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to try using the taught density of Kawakami as a starting point to optimize the negative electrode active material of Nose to the taught range of 0.5-3.0 g/cm3.
Here, Nose teaches said active material layer may be 0.1 μm to 1,000 μm thick (e.g. supra, converted to 0.00001-0.1 cm), so the surface density may calculate to be e.g. 0.03-50 mg/cm2, establishing a prima facie case of obviousness of the claimed range, see also e.g. MPEP § 2144.05(I), reading on said previously added limitation.
Regarding previously amended, previously amended claim 2, Nose or Nose as modified teaches the battery component of claim 1, wherein said negative electrode active material layer may be in a “plate or foil form;” and, said negative electrode active material may be metals such as at least one of Sn, Sb, and Pb (e.g. supra), so said negative electrode active material may be composed of two or more metals of Sn, Sb, and Pb, reading on the previously amended, previously amended limitation “the metal film or metal alloy film further contains at least one element selected from the group consisting of Sn, Bi, Sb, and Pb.”
Regarding previously amended claim 4, Nose or Nose as modified teaches the battery component of claim 1, wherein said solid electrolyte may be e.g. Na3Zr2Si2PO12 (i.e. NASICON) or beta-alumina solid electrolyte beta-alumina solid electrolyte (e.g. supra), reading on “the solid electrolyte is β-alumina, β”-alumina or NASICON crystals.”
Alternatively, claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nose (US 2015/0180024), as provided supra, in view of Yamada et al (Id); alternatively, over Nose (Id) in view of Yamada et al (US 2016/0226100), as provided supra; alternatively, over Nose (Id) in view of Kawakami et al (JP 2008/016446), as provided supra, and further in view of Ikejiri et al (WO 2015/087734 with citations to US 2017/0005337).
Regarding previously amended, previously amended claim 2, Nose or Nose as modified teaches the battery component of claim 1, wherein said negative electrode active material layer may be in a “plate or foil form;” and, said negative electrode active material may be metals such as at least one of Sn, Sb, and Pb, as provided supra.
Further, Yamada teaches a nonaqueous electrolyte secondary battery, wherein said battery may be e.g. a lithium secondary battery, a lithium ion secondary battery, a sodium secondary battery, a sodium ion secondary battery, wherein said battery may include a negative electrode comprising a negative electrode active material layer with a negative electrode active material that may be an elemental substance or alloy comprising lithium, graphite, silicon, tin (Sn), antimony (Sb), and bismuth (Bi); and, wherein a suitable weight per area and density of said negative electrode is 2.3 or 4.0 mg/cm2 (e.g. ¶¶ 0124, 264-270, 298, 742-744, and 493), which is assumed to be uniform throughout said negative electrode, since there is not an indication of a concentration gradient through the disclosure.
As a result, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to combine/substitute at least some of the Sn and/or Sb negative electrode active material composition of Nose/Nose as modified with the bismuth negative electrode active material composition of Yamada, since Yamada teaches tin (Sn), antimony (Sb), and/or bismuth (Bi) are equivalent negative electrode active materials, see also e.g. MPEP § 2144.06.
In the alternative, Ikejiri teaches an all-solid-state sodium battery (e.g. ¶0001) comprising a sodium-ion conductive component and/or a sodium-ion conductive solid electrolyte layer (e.g. item 3 plus e.g. Figure 1) comprising e.g. β-alumina, β”-alumina, or NASICON crystal (e.g. ¶¶ 0028, 39-43, 51, 90, 111, and 124); and, a negative electrode (e.g. item 4) comprising a negative composite material layer (e.g. item 7) as an electrode plus a negative electrode current collector (e.g. item 8) configured to collect a current of said negative composite material, wherein said negative composite material layer comprises an active material crystal, a sodium-ion conductive crystal, and an amorphous phase, plus further may optionally comprise a conductive agent, wherein said active material crystal may comprise a crystal of at least one kind of metal selected from Sn, Bi, and Sb, wherein said negative composite material layer may be applied onto one surface of said sodium-ion conductive solid electrolyte layer (e.g. ¶¶ 0009, 17, 27, 34, 39, 48-51, and 57-58).
As a result, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to combine/substitute at least some of the Sn and/or Sb negative electrode active material composition of Nose/Nose as modified with the bismuth negative electrode active material composition of Ikejiri, since Ikejiri teaches Sn, Sb, and/or Bi are equivalent negative electrode active materials, see also e.g. MPEP § 2144.06.
Nose as modified reading on the previously amended limitation “the metal or metal alloy further contains at least one element selected from the group consisting of Sn, Bi, Sb, and Pb.”
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed February 5, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
First, the applicant alleges the following.
With the unique combination of features recited in Applicant’s claim 1, including the above-emphasized features, Applicant has been able to provide a member for a power storage device including a densified negative electrode layer formed as a metal film or an alloy film on a solid electrolyte having a reduced thickness and resistance, and exhibiting better charge-discharge cycle characteristics (see, for example, paragraphs [0019] and [0035] of Applicant's specification).
In the present claimed invention, as shown, for example, in the non-limiting example embodiment of Fig. 1 of Applicant’s drawings, a negative electrode layer 3 is provided on a solid electrolyte 2 made of a sodium ion-conductive oxide. The negative electrode layer is made only of a metal film or only of a metal alloy film capable of absorbing and releasing sodium, and the metal film or the metal alloy film is one of a physical vapor deposited film, a chemical vapor deposited film, or a plated film.
In contrast, at the time of Applicant’s claimed invention and at the time of the invention of Nose, it was understood by one of ordinary skill in the art that a negative electrode layer of an all-solid-state sodium-ion battery was a mixture of a solid electrolyte and a negative electrode active material. In accordance with MPEP 609.05(c), Applicant has submitted an Information Disclosure Statement to provide prior art references (JP 2000-311710, JP 2001-015162, and JP 2001-015162) in support of Applicant’s arguments regarding the state of the art at the time of Applicant’s claimed invention. Each of paragraph [0022] of JP 2000-311710, paragraph [0018] of JP 2001-015162, and paragraphs [0016] to [0018] of JP H11-283664 discloses that a negative electrode layer of a conventional all-solid-state battery requires a mixture of a solid electrolyte and a negative electrode active material in order to, e.g., promote ion conductivity. Additionally, JP H11-283664 discloses that an intermediate layer 5, 6 between the negative electrode and the solid electrolyte functions as part of the negative electrode layer in the all-solid-state battery such that the negative electrode layer is a mixture of a solid electrolyte and a negative electrode active material (see, for example, the Abstract and claim 1 of JP H11-283664).
(Remarks, at 4:6-5:3, bolded underlining added.)
In response, the examiner respectfully notes that the argument is not commensurate with the scope of the art.
Here, the art does not require the battery that includes a solid electrolyte to be an all-solid-state battery.
Rather it teaches a battery that may include an electrolyte that directly contacts the negative electrode active material layer, wherein said electrolyte may be a solid electrolyte with sodium ion conductivity.
An all-solid state battery is a very specific type of battery that includes a solid electrolyte, which is further limited by requiring—as the term “all-solid-state” indicates—no liquid in the battery.
In comparison, batteries that include a solid electrolyte layer may further include liquid electrolyte/liquid solvent/ionic liquid.
Examples of such batteries with a solid electrolyte layer that includes liquid electrolyte/liquid solvent/ionic liquid include the following, which are provided merely for illustrative purposes:
a) a thin film of liquid electrolyte/solvent, e.g. as e.g. a wetting agent, between the solid electrolyte layer and e.g. the cathode active material layer;
b) a thin film of ionic liquid, e.g. as e.g. a wetting agent, between the solid electrolyte layer and e.g. the cathode active material layer, wherein ionic liquids may be liquid at room temperature or solid at room temperature but liquid at operating temperature;
c) a composite solid electrolyte layer with a small amounts of liquid electrolyte/solvent (e.g. <10% of the electrolyte) therein;
d) a composite solid electrolyte layer with a small amounts of ionic liquid electrolyte therein, wherein ionic liquids may be liquid at room temperature or solid at room temperature but liquid at operating temperature;
e) a composite of solid electrolyte mesh with a small amount of gel electrolyte therein (wherein such gel electrolyte is a polymer electrolyte with a small amount of liquid electrolyte/liquid solvent/ionic liquid)—noting gel electrolytes may be considered “solid electrolytes;” and,
f) gel electrolyte layer between the cathode active material layer and anode active material layer, noting that gel electrolytes include a small amount of liquid electrolyte/liquid solvent/ionic liquid—further noting gel electrolytes may be considered “solid electrolytes.”
Several references are filed with the instant Office action—merely for illustrative purposes:
i) Tang et al (Tang et al, Interface engineering of sodium metal anode for all-solid-state sodium batteries, Vol.623, Iss.15 J. Power Sources, 2024);
ii) Dong et al (Dong et al, Solid-State Electrolytes for Sodium Metal Batteries: Recent Status and Future Opportunities, Vol.34 Iss.5 Adv. Functional Mat’l, 2023);
iii) Li et al (Li et al, Interface chemistry for sodium metal anodes/batteries: a review, Vol.2 Iss.6 Chem. Synth., 2022);
iv) Huo et al (Huo et al, Solid-state batteries: from ‘all-solid’ to ‘almost-solid,’ Nat’l Sci. Rev. 2023); and,
v) Renogy website (Renogy website, Solid-State Batteries Today: What’s Real, What’s Semi-Solid, 2025).
Second, the applicant alleges the following.
The description in paragraph [0154] of Nose that “if any of these solid electrolytes is mixed in the positive electrode and the negative electrode, a sodium secondary battery is also allowed to function as an all-solid-state battery” is consistent with what was understood by one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of Applicant’s claimed invention regarding the state of the art requiring that, in order to provide an all-solid-state battery, the negative electrode layer must contain a mixture of a solid electrolyte and a negative electrode active material.
In the Response to Arguments section of the Office Action, the Examiner continued to allege that paragraph [0154] of Nose does not require that the solid electrolyte be mixed in the positive electrode and the negative electrode in order to form an all-solid-state battery.
(Remarks, at 5:4-6:2.)
In response, the examiner respectfully notes that the argument is not commensurate with the scope of the Office action. The November 5, 2025 Response to Arguments is reproduced below for ease of reference.
In response, the examiner respectfully notes that the argument is not commensurate with the scope of the art.
Here, the art expressly teaches the electrolyte of said electrolyte layer may be a solid electrolyte
[0145] The electrolyte layer contains at least an electrolyte that enables sodium ion conduction between the positive electrode and the negative electrode.
[0146] The electrolyte has sodium ion conductivity, and examples thereof include a liquid electrolyte, a gel electrolyte obtained by gelling a liquid electrolyte with a polymer, and a solid electrolyte.
(Nose, at e.g. ¶¶ 0145-146, emphasis added.)
Further, while the art teaches that where both the positive electrode and negative electrode include solid electrolyte therein, then the battery may function as an all-solid-state battery, it does not require a sodium battery that includes a solid electrolyte layer to have solid electrolyte within the positive and negative electrodes. Instead, it indicates the following.
[0154] The solid electrolyte is not particularly limited, as long as it has Na ion conductivity. Examples of oxide solid electrolytes include Na3Zr2Si2PO12 and beta-alumina solid electrolytes include Na2S—P2S5. Examples of complex hydride solid electrolytes include Na2(BH4)(NH2). If any of these solid electrolytes is mixed in the positive electrode and the negative electrode, a sodium secondary battery is also allowed to function as an all-solid-state battery.
(Nose, at e.g. ¶0154, emphasis added.)
The response noted that the art does not require the battery to be an “all-solid-state battery” to have the electrolyte be a solid electrolyte that conducts sodium ions.
Third, the applicant alleges the following.
For at least the following reasons, Applicant respectfully submits that the Examiner misinterprets the disclosure of Nose, in particular, paragraph [0154] of Nose.
The only mentions of a “solid electrolyte” in the disclosure of Nose are in paragraphs [0003], [0146], [0154], and [0155] of Nose.
Paragraph [0146] of Nose lists examples of electrolytes, such as a liquid electrolyte, a gel electrolyte obtained by gelling a liquid electrolyte with a polymer, or a solid electrolyte. Paragraph [0155] of Nose only discloses that the solid electrolyte may be non-crystalline or crystalline, and that the average particle diameter (D50) of the solid electrolyte is, for example, within a range of 1 nm to 100 pm, preferably within a range of 10 nm to 30 µm.
Paragraph [0154] of Nose, reproduced below, discloses the condition precedent for obtaining an all-solid-state battery, i.e., a battery containing a solid electrolyte, using the well-known “IF-THEN” grammatical construct.
[0154] The solid electrolyte is not particularly limited, as long as it has Na ion conductivity. Examples of oxide solid electrolytes include Na3Zr2SiPO12 and beta-alumina solid electrolytes include Na2S-P2S5. Examples of complex hydride solid electrolytes include Na2(BH4)(NH2). If any of these solid electrolytes is mixed in the positive electrode and the negative electrode, a sodium secondary battery is also allowed to function as an all-solid-state battery. (emphasis added)
The above-emphasized sentence in Nose using the IF-THEN grammatical construct clearly establishes that IF solid electrolytes are mixed in the positive and negative electrodes, THEN an all-solid-state battery is obtained. Put another way, IF solid electrolytes are NOT mixed in the positive and negative electrodes, THEN an all-solid-state battery is NOT obtained, clearly establishing that the state of the art at the time of Applicant’s claimed invention was that an all-solid-state battery required that the negative electrode layer contain a mixture of a solid electrolyte and a negative electrode active material. The above-emphasized sentence in Nose is meaningless if it does not require the solid electrolyte be mixed in the positive electrode and the negative electrode in order to obtain an all-solid-state battery. If the solid electrolyte of Nose is not mixed in the positive electrode and the negative electrode, then an all-solid-state battery is not obtained. Thus, the last sentence of paragraph [0154] of Nose can only be correctly interpreted to disclose the necessary structure of the positive electrode and the negative electrode when used in combination with a solid electrolyte to obtain an all-solid-state battery. In other words, the above-emphasized sentence of Nose is not just one possibility of obtaining an all-solid-state battery, it is the essential condition for obtaining an all-solid-state battery. This is further evidenced by the state of the art described in the prior art references discussed above in which it was known that a negative electrode layer of an all-solid-state battery was a mixture of the solid electrolyte and the negative electrode active material.
Thus, each of Nose, Nose in view of Yamada, and Nose in view of Kawakami fails to teach or suggest the features of “A member for an all-solid-state sodium-ion secondary battery, the member comprising ...” “a solid electrolyte made of a sodium ion-conductive oxide,” “a negative electrode layer made only of a metal film or only of a metal alloy film capable of absorbing and releasing sodium and provided on the solid electrolyte,” and “the metal film or the metal alloy film is one of a physical vapor deposited film, a chemical vapor deposited film, or a plated film,” as recited in Applicant's claim 1.
Accordingly, Applicant respectfully requests reconsideration and withdrawal of each of the rejections of claim 1 under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Nose, Nose in view of Yamada, and Nose in view of Kawakami.
(Remarks, at 6:3-7:3, bolding and italicized underling in the original plus bolded underlining added.)
In response, the examiner respectfully notes that the argument is not commensurate with the scope of the art and the scope of the Office action.
The discussions supra are incorporated herein by reference.
Fourth, the applicant alleges the following.
The Examiner relied upon Ikejiri to allegedly cure the deficiencies of Nose, Yamada, and Kawakami. However, Ikejiri also fails to teach or suggest the features discussed above. Thus, Applicant respectfully submits that Ikejiri fails to cure the deficiencies of Nose, Yamada, and Kawakami described above.
In view of the foregoing remarks, Applicant respectfully submits that claim 1 is
allowable. Claims 2 and 4 depend upon claim 1, and are therefore allowable for at least the reasons that claim 1 is allowable.
(Remarks, at 8:1-8:2.)
In response, the examiner respectfully refers supra.
Conclusion
The art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure.
Wazchsman et al (US 2020/0075960);
Hu et al (US 2019/0088986);
Liu et al (US 2018/0323474);
Yamaguchi (US 2018/0204686);
Zhamu et al (US 2017/0207488);
Zhamu et al (US 2017/0207484);
Zhamu et al (US 2017/0317388);
Ikeda et al (US 2015/0280220);
Nakatsutsumi et al (US 2015/0155601);
Green (US 2013/0224583); and,
Joshi et al (US 2013/0183546).
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/YOSHITOSHI TAKEUCHI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1723