DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
A reply was filed on 06/11/2026. The amendments to the claims have been entered. Claims 1-10, 12, and 15 are pending in the application and examined herein.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claims 1-10, 12, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “obtaining signal values from test points of the component during energizing and discharging steps of a selected component”. It is unclear the relationship between the “energizing and discharging steps” in the limitation and the previously recited steps of “a first step of energizing the stationary gripper coil to a fully energized state”, “a second step of energizing the stationary gripper coil to a reduced state”, “a third step of energizing the moveable gripper coil to a fully energized state”, “a fourth step of discharging the stationary gripper coil to the inactive state”, and “a fifth step of energizing the lift coil to a fully energized state”. Additionally, it is unclear if the “selected component” is referring to the same feature as the previously recited “component to be tested”. For purposes of examination, Examiner is interpreting the “energizing and discharging operations” as intending to refer to the previously recited energizing and discharging steps. Examiner is further interpreting the “selected component” as referring to the same feature as the “component to be tested”.
Claim 1 recites “generating an impedance deviation, wherein a graphical output displaying the selected component includes signal values obtained from the test points of the selected component, wherein the impedance deviation is configured to indicate degradation of the selected component when the present impedance deviates from the predetermined reference impedance by a predetermined amount”. It is unclear what is meant by “generating an impedance variation”. For example, it is unclear if the claim is intending to require generating a deviation between two impedances (e.g., causing an impedance that differs from another impedance). It is further unclear the scope encompassed by “an impedance deviation”. For example, it is unclear if the “deviation” refers to a value (e.g., a difference between a first impedance and a second impedance) or something else. This further renders unclear how a “deviation” can be “configured to indicate degradation” and the relationship between the “impedance deviation” and the “predetermined amount” by which the “present impedance deviates from the predetermined reference impedance”. It is further unclear if the claim is intending to require a positively recited step of displaying or generating a “graphical output”. This further renders the antecedent basis for the phrase “the graphical output” in claim 3 unclear. Additionally, it is unclear if the “signal values” are intending to refer to the same values as the previously recited “signal values obtained from the test points of the component”.
Claim 3 recites “a control unit configured to compare the present impedance to the predetermined reference impedance to generate the impedance deviation”. Parent claim 1 previously recites “comparing the present impedance to a predetermined reference impedance”. It is unclear if the “compar[ing]” in claim 3 is referring to the same “comparing” previously recited in parent claim 1 or another step of “comparing”.
Claim 6 recites “wherein establishing the predetermined reference impedance includes recording one or more determined impedances corresponding to the component”. The antecedent basis for this phrase is unclear. While parent claim 1 previously recites a step of “comparing the present impedance to a predetermined reference impedance”, there is no prior recitation of a step of “establishing the predetermined reference impedance”. Additionally, the relationships between the various recited impedances are unclear. Specifically, parent claim 1 recites “determin[ing] a present impedance of the selected component”. It is unclear if the “one or more determined impedances” is referring to or includes the previously recited “determine[d] present impedance” or different impedance values.
Claim 8 recites “displaying the signal values obtained from the test points associated with the component on a graphical display”. Parent claim 1 previously recites “a graphical output displaying the selected component includes signal values obtained from the test points of the selected component”. It is unclear the relationship between the “graphical display” and “displaying ... on a graphical display” recited in claim 8 and the “graphical output” recited in parent claim 1. Additionally, it is unclear the relationship between the “signal values obtained from the test points associated with the component” (as in claim 8) and the “signal values obtained from the test points of the selected component” (as in parent claim 1). Are these signal values referring to the same signal values? In other words, is claim 8 intended to recite “the test points of the component”? Alternatively, are there different signal values obtained from the test points? If so, which of the signal values and/or the test points are “associated with the component”? Further, what does it mean for something to be “associated with” the component? Does this require a direct link with the component? For purposes of examination, Examiner is interpreting the “graphical display” as referring to the “graphical output” previously recited in parent claim 1. Examiner is further interpreting the “signal values” as referring to the “signal values” previously recited in parent claim 1.
Claim 9 recites “wherein the graphical output includes plotting the signal values over a period of time”. This phrase is unclear. It is unclear if the claim is intending to recite a step of “plotting the signal values”, that the graphical output includes a plot of the signal values, or something else.
Claims 9 and 10 recite “at least one energy state and transition between energy states of the component, wherein the at least one energy state includes at least one of the fully energized state, the reduced state, and the inactive state”. However, parent claim 1 recites multiple fully energized state, reduced states, and inactive states. For example, the fully energized state of the stationary gripper coil, the fully energized state of the movable gripper coil, and the fully energized state of the lift coil. It is therefore unclear which of the previously recited states the features in claims 9 and 10 are intending to refer to and the relationship between the “at least one energy state” and the “transition between energy states” and the various previously recited states.
Claims 9-10 and 12 recite “wherein the component is selected from the group consisting of the lift coil, the moveable gripper coil, and the stationary gripper coil”. Parent claim 1 previously recites “wherein the component is selected from a group consisting of the lift coil, the moveable gripper coil, and the stationary gripper coil”. It is unclear if claims 9-10 and 12 are merely restating the previously recited phrase from parent claim 1 (the “component” in claims 9-10 and 12 thus being the same as the “component” in claim 1), if the claims are intending to recite another selection of another component, or something else. For purposes of examination, Examiner is interpreting the claims as merely restating the previously recited phrase from parent claim 1 and not requiring another selection of another component.
Claim 12 recites “wherein generate of the graphical output displayed indicating degradation operations are performed on the component”. This phrase is unclear. It is unclear if the claim is intending to recite a step of “generating”, if the claim is intending to refer to the step of “generating” previously recited in parent claim 1, if the claim is intending to specify a feature which “generates”, or something else.
Claim 12 recites “wherein the component is selected from the group consisting of the lift coil, the moveable gripper coil, and the stationary gripper coil during six stages of a rod withdrawal sequence”. It is unclear what occurs “during six stages of a rod withdrawal sequence”. For example, it is unclear if selection of the component occurs “during six stages of a rod withdrawal sequence” or something else. This further renders unclear the relationship between the recited stages (i.e., the “first stage”, “second stage”, “third stage”, “fourth stage”, “fifth stage”, and “sixth stage”) and the previously recited steps in parent claim 1 (i.e., the “first step”, “second step”, “third step”, “fourth step”, and “fifth step”).
Claim 15 recites “obtaining signal values from the one or more test points of a selected component”. It is unclear if the “selected component” is referring to the same feature as the previously recited “component to be tested”. Additionally, while the claim previously recites “one or more test points of the control rod movement mechanism”, there is no prior recitation of “one or more test points of a selected component”. For purposes of examination, Examiner is interpreting the “selected component” as referring to the same feature as the “component to be tested”.
Claim 15 recites “the signal values obtained from the one or more test points during operation of the nuclear power plant”. It is unclear if the “operation of the nuclear power plant” is intending to refer to the “energizing and discharging steps of the selected component” or if additional values are obtained.
Claim 15 recites “providing a graphical output configured to display identification of the selected component and the signal values obtained from the one or more test points of the selected component, wherein a displayed impedance deviation is configured to indicate degradation of the component when the present impedance deviates from the predetermined reference impedance by a predetermined amount”. It is unclear the relationship between the “displayed impedance deviation” and the remaining steps of the claimed method. For example, it is unclear if the “graphical output” is intended to also display the “impedance deviation” and/or if “display[ing] impedance deviation” is the same as “display[ing] ... the signal values obtained from the one or more test points”. It is further unclear the scope encompassed by the “impedance deviation”. For example, it is unclear if the “deviation” refers to a value (e.g., a difference between a first impedance and a second impedance) or something else. This further renders unclear how a “deviation” can be “configured to indicate degradation” and the relationship between the “impedance deviation” and the “predetermined amount” by which the “present impedance deviates from the predetermined reference impedance”.
Any claim not explicitly addressed above is rejected because it is dependent on a rejected base claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-10, 12, and 15, as best understood, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent No. 3,619,635 (“Thompson”) in view of “Detection and Mitigating Rod Drive Control System Degradation in Westinghouse PWRs” (“Gunther”) further in view of “Advanced Cable-Testing Techniques for Nuclear Power Plants” (“Hashemian”).
Regarding claims 1-2, 4, and 8, Thompson (previously cited) discloses a method of operating a control rod movement mechanism of a nuclear power plant (1:66-73, 5:52-54), wherein the control rod movement mechanism includes at least a stationary gripper (“stationary gripper”), a moveable gripper (“movable gripper”), a stationary gripper coil (“stationary coil”), a moveable gripper coil (“movable coil”), and a lift coil (“lift coil”) (1:66-2:12, 5:52-70), the method comprising:
a first step of energizing the stationary gripper coil to a fully energized state to mechanically latch the stationary gripper to a control rod (“control rod”) (5:66-70),
a second step of energizing the stationary gripper coil to a reduced state when the stationary gripper is mechanically latched to the control rod, wherein the reduced state is not an inactive state (5:54-56, 5:66-70),
a third step of energizing the moveable gripper coil to a fully energized state to mechanically latch the moveable gripper to the control rod when the stationary gripper coil is in the reduced state and the stationary gripper is mechanically latched to the control rod (5:57-62),
a fourth step of discharging the stationary gripper coil to the inactive state to unlatch the stationary gripper from the control rod when the moveable gripper is mechanically latched to the control rod (5:58-62, 5:65-66), and
a fifth step of energizing the lift coil to a fully energized state to mechanically lift the control rod a predetermined distance relative to the stationary gripper (5:62-65).
Thompson does not appear to disclose performing testing on one of the coils. However, Gunther (previously cited) (see FIG. 5 (p. 11)) is also directed towards a control rod movement mechanism and teaches continuously monitoring the control rod movement mechanism during reactor operations (p. 11: “The system ... permits continuous monitoring of the rods during normal power operation”). Specifically, Gunther teaches:
performing electrical testing on each of a lift coil, a movable gripper coil, and a stationary gripper coil during operation of the control rod movement mechanism (p. 9: “This technique can be performed at any time during operation as well to detect changes in coil characteristics”; p. 11: “a system which detects degradation in the CRDM through on-line analysis of current signals and noise that is generated during rod motion”, “the system analyzes five parameters for each CRDM: current data from three coils (lift coil, movable gripper coil, and stationary gripper coil)”); and
generating a graphical output (“coil plot”) for each of the coils using values obtained from the electrical testing for each of the coils, wherein the graphical output is configured to indicate degradation of the respective coil (p. 11: “The movement ... induces a current which appears as a dip on the coil current plot. By analyzing the degree of dip on each current curve ... information on ... coil ... is obtained”; p. 12: “It may be possible to detect degrading circuits by examining several common electrical parameters such as coil resistance”; p. 14: “a current signature analysis technique [in which] each coil current is traced during rod motion. Analysis of the recorded data determines ... the coil integrity”).
Gunther further teaches such monitoring of the coils prevents failure of the control rod movement mechanism (p. 6: “Of the data reviewed which described failures of the coil assembly, a large majority were the result of a failure of the stationary gripper coil”; p. 9: “inspection, surveillance, monitoring, and maintenance activities which could be used to detect and mitigate degradation of electrical and electronic components within the control rod drive system”). It would have therefore been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date (“POSA”) to have employed Gunther’s coil monitoring method in Thompson’s control rod movement mechanism operation method for the maintenance and safety benefits thereof. Thus, modification of Thompson’s method in order to monitor and mitigate degradation of the control rod movement mechanism, as suggested by Gunther, would have been obvious to a POSA.
As discussed above, Gunther teaches performing the electrical testing on each of the coils during the operation of the control rod movement mechanism (p. 9: “This technique can be performed at any time during operation as well to detect changes in coil characteristics”; p. 11: “a system which detects degradation in the CRDM through on-line analysis of current signals and noise that is generated during rod motion”). Since Thompson discloses the operation of the control rod movement mechanism includes the energizing and the discharging of the coils ([0028]-[0031]), the modified Thompson teaches performing the electrical testing during the energizing and discharging steps of the coils.
Gunther teaches the electrical testing measures the currents of the coils (p. 11: “current data from three coils”), but does not appear to specifically teach determining an impedance of the coils. However, Hashemian (previously cited) is also directed towards electrical testing of nuclear reactor components and teaches an integrated testing system to monitor degradation of a specific component (p. 425: “development of a complete turnkey program for cable testing, aging assessment, cable life management, equipment selection ... that can be used on ... cables, and other wiring in NPPs”). Specifically, Hashemian teaches the integrated testing system utilizes both current measurements (“leakage current measurement”) and impedance measurements (“ac impedance measurement module”) to monitor degradation of a component (“Device Under Test”), such as a component of a control rod movement mechanism (p. 418: “Used together, electrical methods like insulation resistance ... and LCR tests provide an overall picture of the cable’s health”; p. 421: “In NPPs, the TDR method is useful for testing ... control rod drive mechanism (CRDM) cables, and a variety of other NPP components”). Hashemian teaches (see FIGS. 10 (p. 426), 11 (p. 427)):
providing a user interface (“user interface”) configured to enable a user to identify a component to be tested (“Device Under Test”, “equipment under test”), and obtaining signal values from test points of the selected component (p. 425: “selection of appropriate tests for the equipment under test”; pp. 427-428: “staff must ... select the appropriate tests; identify equipment to perform the tests, determine what to test, where to test, and when to test”; p. 427: “A truly holistic cable-testing system will ... enable users to decide which testing tool to use in which situation, ... which are appropriate for specific elements of the cable system”);
using an impedance measuring unit (“LCR instrument”, “LCR meter”) configured to obtain the signal values obtained from the test points to determine a present impedance of the component based on the signal values obtained from the test points (p. 418: “Impedance measurement methods ... are also used to provide information about the insulation quality”; p. 419: “The LCR test uses an LCR instrument [] of LCR meter to make impedance measurements”; p. 421: “any significant change in impedance along the cable will cause a reflection that will appear on the TDR signature as a peak or valley whose amplitude depends on the characteristics of the cable impedance”);
comparing the present impedance to a predetermined reference impedance (p. 419: “Imbalances, mismatches, or unexpectedly high or low impedances between the cable leads indicate problems caused by cable degradation and aging”; p. 425: “compare the current results for a given system with past results”; p. 426: “historical data trending: to provide trending of the current data versus previous tests to identify slight changes that could indicate a problem”); and
generating a graphical output displaying the component including the signal values obtained from the test points of the component (p. 425: “user interface: ... display of data for acquisition and analysis, interface to central database”; p. 426: “data review: for visual ‘sanity check’ inspection of data and to provide quick summary of test parameters.... [R]eport generation: to provide printouts of analysis techniques and acquired data”; see also FIGS. 4-7), wherein the graphical output is configured to display an impedance deviation indicating degradation of the component when the present impedance deviates from the predetermined reference impedance by a predetermined amount (p. 421: “any significant change in impedance ... will cause a reflection that will appear on the TDR signature as a peak or valley”; p. 426: “historical data trending: to provide trending of the current data versus previous tests to identify slight changes that could indicate a problem”).
Hashemian further teaches this integrated testing system, including current testing and impedance testing, provides for a monitoring system that employs all relevant and effective testing methods to indicate clear correlations between test results and the degradation of the component which individual testing methods by themselves cannot provide (p. 428). It would have therefore been obvious to a POSA to utilize Hashemian’s electrical testing method to monitor the modified Thompson’s coils for the benefits thereof. Thus, further modification of Thompson’s method to have employed a more holistic and complete evaluation of the coils, as suggested by Hashemian, would have been obvious to a POSA.
Regarding claim 3, Thompson in view of Gunther and Hashemian teaches the method of claim 1. Hashemian further teaches the signal values are voltage and current values (FIG. 3 (p. 420)) and a control unit (“Cable Testing Database”) is configured to perform the comparing and the generating the graphical output operations (FIG. 11 (p. 427); see also FIGS. 4-7). Thus, the modified Thompson, employed with Gunther’s coil monitoring and Hashemian’s electrical testing, would have resulted in the features of claim 3.
Regarding claim 5, Thompson in view of Gunther and Hashemian teaches the method of claim 1. Hashemian further teaches the predetermined reference impedance corresponds to a historical impedance measurement of the component (p. 425: “compare the current results for a given system with past results”; p. 426: “historical data trending: to provide trending of the current data versus previous tests to identify slight changes that could indicate a problem”). Thus, the modified Thompson, employed with Gunther’s coil monitoring and Hashemian’s electrical testing, would have resulted in the features of claim 5.
Regarding claim 6, Thompson in view of Gunther and Hashemian teaches the method of claim 1. Hashemian further teaches the predetermined reference impedance includes one or more determined impedances corresponding to the component (FIG. 11 (p. 427); p. 426: “data review: for visual ‘sanity check’ inspection of data and to provide quick summary of test parameters”, “historical data trending: to provide trending of the current data versus previous tests to identify slight changes that could indicate a problem”, “report generation: to provide printouts of analysis techniques and acquired data”; see FIGS. 4-7). Thus, the modified Thompson, employed with Gunther’s coil monitoring and Hashemian’s electrical testing, would have resulted in the features of claim 6.
Regarding claim 7, Thompson in view of Gunther and Hashemian teaches the method of claim 1. Gunther further teaches it is common maintenance practice to measure a resistance of the coils to determine a temperature of the at least one component and detect degrading circuits (Table 2; p. 12: “It may be possible to detect degrading circuits by examining several common electrical parameters such as coil resistance”; p. 14: “A common practice of measuring the resistances of cables, connectors, and coil resistances”). Hashemian also teaches the electrical testing includes measuring a resistance of the component (p. 425: “resistance/voltage measurement module”). Thus, the modified Thompson, employed with Gunther’s coil monitoring and Hashemian’s electrical testing, would have resulted in the features of claim 7.
Regarding claims 9, Thompson in view of Gunther and Hashemian teaches the method of claim 8. As discussed above, Thompson discloses the coils of the control rod movement mechanism undergo at least one energy state and transition between energy states, including the fully energized states, the reduced states, and the inactive states (5:52-70). Gunther further teaches the graphical output includes a plot of the signal values over a time period while the control rod movement mechanism cable circuits are in operation (FIG. 5 (p. 11), p. 11: “The movement ... induces a current which appears as a dip on the coil current plot”). Hashemian also teaches the graphical output includes a plot of the signal values over a time period (FIG. 11 (p. 427)). Thus, the modified Thompson, employed with Gunther’s coil monitoring and Hashemian’s electrical testing, would have resulted in the features of claim 9.
Regarding claim 10, Thompson in view of Gunther and Hashemian teaches the method of claim 1. As discussed above, Thompson discloses the coils of the control rod movement mechanism undergo at least one energy state and transitions between energy states including the fully energized states, the reduced states, and the inactive states (5:52-70). Gunther further teaches that the obtained signal values are recorded over a length of time while the control rod movement mechanism cable circuits are in operation (p. 11: “The system ... permits continuous monitoring of the rods during normal power operation”). Hashemian further teaches recording the present impedance over a length of time (FIG. 11 (p. 427); p. 426: “data review: for visual ‘sanity check’ inspection of data and to provide quick summary of test parameters.... [R]eport generation: to provide printouts of analysis techniques and acquired data”; see FIGS. 4-7). Thus, the modified Thompson, employed with Gunther’s coil monitoring and Hashemian’s electrical testing, would have resulted in the features of claim 10.
Regarding claim 12, Thompson in view of Gunther and Hashemian teaches the method of claim 1. Gunther further teaches the coil monitoring is performed on the component during a rod withdrawal sequence (p. 11: “a system which detects degradation in the CRDM through on-line analysis of current signals ... generated during rod motion”). Thompson discloses the rod withdrawal sequence includes:
a first stage in which the stationary gripper coil is energized at the reduced state and the stationary gripper is solely latched to the rod (5:54-56, 5:66-70);
a second stage in which the stationary gripper coil is energized to the fully energized state and the moveable gripper coil is energized to the fully energized state to latch the moveable gripper to the rod (5:57-62, 5:66-70);
a third stage in which the stationary gripper coil is discharged to the inactive state such that the moveable gripper is solely latched to the rod (5:58-62);
a fourth stage in which the lift coil is energized to the fully energized state until the rod is lifted the predetermined distance (5:62-65);
a fifth stage in which the lift coil is discharged to the reduced state until the stationary grip coil is energized to the fully energized state to latch the stationary grip to the rod (5:66-70); and
a sixth stage in which the lift coil is discharged to a lift coil inactive state and the moveable gripper coil is discharged to a movable gripper inactive state, and the stationary grip coil is discharged to the reduced state (5:66-70).
Thus, the modified Thompson, employed with Gunther’s coil monitoring and Hashemian’s electrical testing, would have resulted in the features of claim 12.
Regarding claim 15, Thompson discloses a method of operating a control rod movement mechanism of a nuclear power plant (1:66-73, 5:52-54), wherein the control rod movement mechanism includes at least a stationary gripper (“stationary gripper”), a moveable gripper (“movable gripper”), a stationary gripper coil (“stationary coil”), a moveable gripper coil (“movable coil”), and a lift coil (“lift coil”) (1:66-2:12, 5:52-70), the method comprising:
a first step (i.e., the claimed “second step”) of energizing the stationary gripper coil to a fully energized state to latch the stationary gripper to a control rod (“control rod”) (5:66-70),
a second step (i.e., the claimed “third step”) of energizing the stationary gripper coil to a reduced state when the stationary gripper is latched to the control rod, wherein the reduced state is not an inactive state (5:54-56, 5:66-70),
a third step (i.e., the claimed “fourth step”) of energizing the moveable gripper coil to a fully energized state to latch the moveable gripper to the control rod when the stationary gripper coil is in the reduced state (5:57-62),
a fourth step (i.e., the claimed “fifth step”) of discharging the stationary gripper coil to the inactive state to unlatch the stationary gripper from the control rod when the moveable gripper is latched to the control rod (5:58-62, 5:65-66), and
a fifth step (i.e., the claimed “sixth step”) of energizing the lift coil to a fully energized state to lift the control rod a predetermined distance relative to the stationary gripper (5:62-65).
Thompson does not appear to disclose performing testing on one of the coils. However, Gunther (see FIG. 5 (p. 11)) is also directed towards a control rod movement mechanism and teaches continuously monitoring the control rod movement mechanism during reactor operations (p. 11: “The system ... permits continuous monitoring of the rods during normal power operation”). Specifically, Gunther teaches:
providing an electrical connector configured to connect to one or more test points of the control rod movement mechanism (p. 2: “The coil stack assembly includes a coil housing, an electrical conduit and connector, and three electro-magnetic operating coils”);
performing electrical testing on each of a lift coil, a movable gripper coil, and a stationary gripper coil during operation of the control rod movement mechanism (p. 9: “This technique can be performed at any time during operation as well to detect changes in coil characteristics”; p. 11: “a system which detects degradation in the CRDM through on-line analysis of current signals and noise that is generated during rod motion”, “the system analyzes five parameters for each CRDM: current data from three coils (lift coil, movable gripper coil, and stationary gripper coil)”); and
providing a graphical output (“coil plot”) configured to display identification of the component and the signal values obtained from the electrical testing for each of the coils, wherein the graphical output displayed is configured to indicate degradation of the respective coil (p. 11: “The movement ... induces a current which appears as a dip on the coil current plot. By analyzing the degree of dip on each current curve ... information on ... coil ... is obtained”; p. 12: “It may be possible to detect degrading circuits by examining several common electrical parameters such as coil resistance”; p. 14: “a current signature analysis technique [in which] each coil current is traced during rod motion. Analysis of the recorded data determines ... the coil integrity”).
Gunther further teaches such monitoring of the coils prevents failure of the control rod movement mechanism (p. 6: “Of the data reviewed which described failures of the coil assembly, a large majority were the result of a failure of the stationary gripper coil”; p. 9: “inspection, surveillance, monitoring, and maintenance activities which could be used to detect and mitigate degradation of electrical and electronic components within the control rod drive system”). It would have therefore been obvious to a POSA to have employed Gunther’s coil monitoring method in Thompson’s control rod movement mechanism operation method for the maintenance and safety benefits thereof. Thus, modification of Thompson’s method in order to monitor and mitigate degradation of the control rod movement mechanism, as suggested by Gunther, would have been obvious to a POSA.
As discussed above, Gunther teaches performing the electrical testing on each of the coils during the operation of the control rod movement mechanism (p. 9: “This technique can be performed at any time during operation as well to detect changes in coil characteristics”; p. 11: “a system which detects degradation in the CRDM through on-line analysis of current signals and noise that is generated during rod motion”). Since Thompson discloses the operation of the control rod movement mechanism includes the energizing and the discharging of the coils ([0028]-[0031]), the modified Thompson teaches performing the electrical testing during the energizing and discharging steps of the coils.
Gunther teaches the electrical testing measures the currents of the coils (p. 11: “current data from three coils”), but does not appear to specifically teach determining an impedance of the coils. However, Hashemian is also directed towards electrical testing of nuclear reactor components and teaches an integrated testing system to monitor degradation of a specific component (p. 425: “development of a complete turnkey program for cable testing, aging assessment, cable life management, equipment selection ... that can be used on ... cables, and other wiring in NPPs”). Specifically, Hashemian teaches the integrated testing system utilizes both current measurements (“leakage current measurement”) and impedance measurements (“ac impedance measurement module”) to monitor degradation of a component (“Device Under Test”), such as a component of a control rod movement mechanism (p. 418: “Used together, electrical methods like insulation resistance ... and LCR tests provide an overall picture of the cable’s health”; p. 421: “In NPPs, the TDR method is useful for testing ... control rod drive mechanism (CRDM) cables, and a variety of other NPP components”). Hashemian teaches (see FIGS. 10 (p. 426), 11 (p. 427)):
providing a user interface (“user interface”) configured to enable a user to identify a component to be tested (“Device Under Test”, “equipment under test”), and obtaining signal values from one or more test points of the selected component (p. 425: “selection of appropriate tests for the equipment under test”; pp. 427-428: “staff must ... select the appropriate tests; identify equipment to perform the tests, determine what to test, where to test, and when to test”; p. 427: “A truly holistic cable-testing system will ... enable users to decide which testing tool to use in which situation, ... which are appropriate for specific elements of the cable system”);
using an impedance measuring unit (“LCR instrument”, “LCR meter”) configured to obtain the signal values obtained from the one or more test points to determine a present impedance of the component based on the signal values obtained from the one or more test points (p. 418: “Impedance measurement methods ... are also used to provide information about the insulation quality”; p. 419: “The LCR test uses an LCR instrument [] of LCR meter to make impedance measurements”; p. 421: “any significant change in impedance along the cable will cause a reflection that will appear on the TDR signature as a peak or valley whose amplitude depends on the characteristics of the cable impedance”);
comparing the present impedance to a predetermined reference impedance (p. 419: “Imbalances, mismatches, or unexpectedly high or low impedances between the cable leads indicate problems caused by cable degradation and aging”; p. 425: “compare the current results for a given system with past results”; p. 426: “historical data trending: to provide trending of the current data versus previous tests to identify slight changes that could indicate a problem”); and
providing a graphical output configured to display identification of the component and the signal values obtained from the one or more test points of the component (p. 425: “user interface: ... display of data for acquisition and analysis, interface to central database”; p. 426: “data review: for visual ‘sanity check’ inspection of data and to provide quick summary of test parameters.... [R]eport generation: to provide printouts of analysis techniques and acquired data”; see also FIGS. 4-7), wherein the graphical output displayed is configured to display an impedance deviation indicating degradation of the component when the present impedance deviates from the predetermined reference impedance by a predetermined amount (p. 421: “any significant change in impedance ... will cause a reflection that will appear on the TDR signature as a peak or valley”; p. 426: “historical data trending: to provide trending of the current data versus previous tests to identify slight changes that could indicate a problem”).
Hashemian further teaches this integrated testing system, including current testing and impedance testing, provides for a monitoring system that employs all relevant and effective testing methods to indicate clear correlations between test results and the degradation of the component which individual testing methods by themselves cannot provide (p. 428). It would have therefore been obvious to a POSA to utilize Hashemian’s electrical testing method to monitor the modified Thompson’s coils for the benefits thereof. Thus, further modification of Thompson’s method to have employed a more holistic and complete evaluation of the coils, as suggested by Hashemian, would have been obvious to a POSA.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s amendments to the claims overcome the prior claim objections and 35 U.S.C. 112(a) rejections.
Applicant’s amendments to the claims overcome some, but not all, of the prior 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejections and have created new issues as discussed above.
Applicant’s arguments directed towards the prior art rejections (Remarks, p. 8) have been fully considered, but are directed towards newly added and/or amended claim language and are therefore addressed in the rejections above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Prosecution on the merits is closed. See MPEP 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
RCE Eligibility
Since prosecution is closed, this application is now eligible for a request for continued examination (RCE) under 37 CFR 1.114. Filing an RCE helps to ensure entry of an amendment to the claims, specification, and/or drawings.
Interview Information
Contact Information
Examiner Jinney Kil can be reached at (571) 270-5217, on Monday-Thursday from 8:30AM-6:30PM ET. Supervisor Jack Keith (SPE) can be reached at (571) 272-6878.
/JINNEY KIL/Examiner, Art Unit 3646