Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of Claims
Claims 1, 3, 5-6, 11-13, 40, 41, 50, 51, 68, 99, and 101-107 are pending. Claims 41, 50, 51, and 68 are drawn to the nonelected invention. Claim 71 is canceled. Claims 106 and 107 are new. Claims 1, 3, 5-6, 11-13, 40, 99 and 101-107 are under examination.
Maintained Rejections
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 5-6, 11-13, 40, 99 and 101-106 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liang et al. (US2016/0266131A1, published 09/15/2016, of record) in view of Suzuki et al. (US Patent No. 8193350B2, 06/05/2012, of record).
With respect to claims 1, 99, and 101, Liang teaches a water-soluble light harvesting multichromophores that have an ultraviolet absorption maximum and the multichromophores include a conjugated segment including a fused 6-5-6 tricyclic co-monomer (see abstract). Liang further teaches in the abstract that the multichromophores may include an acceptor chromophore covalently linked to the multichromophore in energy-receiving proximity. Liang teaches acceptor chromophore refers to a light-absorbing molecule that is capable of receiving or absorbing energy transferred from the multichromophore and the acceptor chromophore can either emit as light the energy received from the multichromophore or dissipate the energy as heat (see middle of para. [0121]). Liang further teaches any convenient fluorescent dye is utilized in the polymeric tandem dyes as an acceptor chromophore and fluorescent dye and fluorophore are used interchangeable and they may be a BODIPY and derivatives such as BODIPY FL, BODIPY 530/550, BODIPY 558/568, BODIPY 564/570, BODIPY 581/591, BODIPY 630/650, BODIPY 650/665, BODIPY R6G, BODIPY TMR, BODIPY TR (see para. [00126]) which would read on an acceptor fluorophore configured in energy-receiving proximity to the light harvesting multichromophore and having a structure of formula (I). Liang teaches the multichromophore having formula (V) and linked to an acceptor chromophore—C1 which would read on L1 is a linker and Z is the light harvesting multichromophore (see paras. [0128]-[0135] and [0153]). Liang teaches PEG water soluble moieties are linked to C1 wherein the dye is linked to L1 that is PEG moiety (see para. [0153]). Liang teaches the fluorene co-monomer has sidechain group with PEG moieties (O(CH2CH2O)n wherein n is 8-16 (see para. [0183]). Liang teaches the subject polymeric dyes are for labeling, separation, detection and/or analysis (see para. [0214]).
Formula (V) as follows:
Liang teaches the polymeric tandem dye of formula (V) having the claimed G1, G2, F, M1, M2, L, and wherein a, c, d, and f are each independently 0 or 1 (see paras. [0128]-[0133]), which would read on w, x, y, and z represent % molarity of the units in the multichromophore of formula (XIIa). For example, Liang teaches the multichromophores include, as part of the polymeric backbone (see para. [0095]).
With respect to having an emission spectrum with a FWHM of 35 nm or less in width when measured in phosphate buffered saline (PBS), the recitation is directed to the intended use of when the compound is measured in PBS. The recitations of intended use of the claimed BODIPY compounds must result in a structural difference between the claimed BODIPY compounds (i.e., formula I) and the prior art’s BODIPY compounds in order to patentably distinguish the claimed compounds from the prior art’s compounds. Because BODIPY compounds of the prior art read on the claimed BODIPY compounds, the prior art’s BODIPY compounds are capable of producing the emission spectrum in PBS.
Even though Liang teaches the acceptor chromophore may be BODIPY and derivatives (i.e., as claimed N1), Liang does not explicitly exemplify the claimed BODIPY fluorophore derivatives of formula (I) with an emission spectrum that has a FWHM of 35 nm or less in width.
Suzuki teaches a novel fluorescent compound having a high light fastness, high fluorescence quantum yield and sharp absorption spectrum, which emits fluorescence having a wavelength in long wavelength region, as well as its use as a labeling agent and having the boron dipyrromethene skeleton (see abstract). Suzuki teaches, for example, that fluorescent compounds 6-8 have a very small full width at half maximum height and so have a sharp fluorescence spectrum and it was proved that the higher the electron donating property of the introduced groups, the larger the amount of the shift to longer wavelength (see col. 53, lines 64-67). Suzuki further teaches the FWHM (nm) is below 35 nm in width (see Table 4). Suzuki teaches that fluorescent compound according to the present invention has a long fluorescence wavelength, measurement can be attained even in the presence of biological substances such as body tissues, blood, lipids, and water without being optically disturbed by these substances (see col. 3, lines 55-67). Suzuki teaches in Fig. 1 that fluorescent compound 8 retained the absorbance of 95% or more even after 1 week and the results show that fluorescent compound 8 has a very high light fastness. Thus, it is thought that the compound can be applied to analysis reagent used for a long time or used as a novel dye material or optical material having a high durability, which could not be attained by the conventional dyes (see 54, lines 48-57).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used any of the disclosed BODIPY fluorophore derivatives (see para. [0126]) with the polymeric tandem dye of formula (V) as taught by Liang because Liang teaches said BODIPY derivatives are utilized in the polymeric tandem dyes as acceptor chromophores (C1) and these disclosed BODIPY structures have the ability to receive or absorb energy transferred from the multichromophore and emit light energy received from the multichromophore. Because the disclosed BODIPY fluorophore derivatives are conjugated to formula (V) for a specific purpose, as taught by Liang, it would be obvious to have attached the disclosed BODIPY for its functional ability in polymeric tandem dye. Thus, it would have been obvious that the BODIPY fluorophore derivatives that read on the structures of the instant claimed formula (I) would produce the claimed function.
Furthermore, it would have been obvious to have used formula (V) of Liang with the BODIPY fluorophore derivatives of Suzuki because Suzuki teaches that (1) their BODIPY fluorophore derivatives have a high light fastness that contain high fluorescence quantum yield to produce a sharp absorption spectrum and (2) the compound can be applied to analysis reagent used for a long time, which could not be attained by the conventional dyes. Because Liang recognizes the functional aspects of BODIPY structures with respect to formula (V), it would have been obvious to have used Suzuki's BODIPY fluorophore derivatives for its sharp absorption spectrum.
With respect to the L1 linker, it would have been obvious to have used PEG moieties ((CH2CH2O)n wherein n is 8-16) to conjugate BODIPY fluorophore derivatives in formula (V) because Liang teaches the acceptor chromophore (C1) covalently attached in formula (V) and the PEG moieties are recognized linkers in polymeric tandem dye structures. Additionally, it would have been obvious to have used the PEG moieties of the light harvesting multichromophore to conjugate Suzuki’s BODIPY fluorophore derivatives because Liang teaches attaching the BODIPY or derivatives to the water soluble light harvesting multichromophore for detection.
The person would have a reasonable expectation of success in conjugating BODIPY fluorophore derivatives in formula (V) because it has been well recognized by Liang to attach BODIPY fluorophore derivatives as acceptor chromophores.
With regard to claim 3, Liang teaches the acceptor chromophore of formula V may be BODIPY FL, BODIPY 530/550, BODIPY 558/568, BODIPY 564/570, BODIPY 581/591, BODIPY 630/650, BODIPY 650/665, BODIPY R6G, BODIPY TMR, BODIPY TR (see para. [00126]) which would read on the polymeric tandem dye with instant formula (I). Therefore, it would have been obvious that Liang’s acceptor fluorophore produces the claimed function when used in formula V.
With regard to claim 5, Liang teaches PEG water soluble moieties are linked to the acceptor chromophore (see para. [0153]). Liang does not explicitly teach that the structure of formula (I) is substituted with a water soluble group (i.e., PEG). However, it would have been obvious to have used PEG as a substituent because Liang recognizes PEG moieties as linkers for the polymeric tandem dye.
With regard to claim 6, Liang teaches L1 is a non-conjugated linker (see para. [0118]).
With regard to claims 11-13, Liang does not teach the structure of formula (lla) or (llb). As stated above, Suzuki teaches fluorescent compounds 6-8 (see col. 53, lines 64-67) which would read on the limitations Z11 and Z12 and the R21-R23. Thus, it would have been obvious to have used the polymeric tandem dyes of Liang with the BODIPY fluorophore derivatives of Suzuki because Suzuki teaches that their BODIPY fluorophore derivatives have a high light fastness that contain high fluorescence quantum yield and sharp absorption spectrum.
With regard to claim 40, Liang teaches in Example 1 a plurality of F1,M1,M2, and L1 are substituted with water solubilizing groups (WSGs) as claimed (see para. [0262], structure 1).
With respect to claims 102-105, as stated above, Liang teaches PEG moieties (CH2CH2O)n wherein n is 8-16 (see para. [0183]), which would read on the linker has a backbone of between 2-100 atoms, 4-100 atoms, 4-20 atoms and linear linker.
With respect to claim 106, Liang teaches BODIPY FL, BODIPY R6G, BODIPY TMR, BODIPY 581/591, BODIPY TR, BODIPY 630/650 and BODIPY 650/665 (see para. [0126]).
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 3, 5-6, 11-13, 40, 99 and 101-106 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-44 of U.S. Patent No. 9719998B2 (‘998) (of record 05/25/2023) in view of in view of Liang et al. (US2016/0266131A1, published 09/15/2016, of record) and Suzuki et al. (US Patent No. 8193350B2, 06/05/2012, of record).
With respect to instant claims 1 and 99, Patent No. ‘998 recites:
And an acceptor chromophore -C1 covalently linked to the multichromophore in energy-receiving proximity therewith and a, c, d, and f are each independently 0 or 1 and b and e are 1 or 2.
Patent ‘998 does not recite BODIPY fluorophore derivatives of formula (I) and having an emission spectrum with a FWHM of 35 nm or less in width when measured in PBS.
It would have been obvious to the person at the time of filing to have used the recited structures of Patent ‘998 with any of the disclosed BODIPY fluorophore derivatives as taught by Liang because Liang teaches said BODIPY derivatives are utilized in the polymeric tandem dyes as acceptor chromophores (C1) and conjugated to the polymeric tandem dye for being capable of receiving or absorbing energy transferred from the multichromophore and emitting light energy received from the multichromophore. Because any of the disclosed BODIPY fluorophore derivatives can be conjugated to the polymeric tandem dye as taught by Liang, the disclosed BODIPY fluorophore derivatives that have the structures of the claimed formula (I) would be obvious to be attached to said structures recited in Patent ‘988 for its ability to receive or absorb energy transferred and emit light energy received from the multichromophore to produce emissions. Thus, the conjugation of these BODIPY fluorophore derivatives to said structures would produce the claimed emission, as Liang discloses BODIPY fluorophore derivatives having the claimed formula (I).
Furthermore, it would have been obvious to have used the structures as recited in Patent ‘998 with the BODIPY fluorophore derivatives of Suzuki because Suzuki teaches that (1) their BODIPY fluorophore derivatives have a high light fastness that contain high fluorescence quantum yield to produce a sharp absorption spectrum and (2) the compound can be applied to analysis reagent used for a long time or optical material having a high durability, which could not be attained by the conventional dyes. Therefore, the person would have used the BODIPY fluorophore derivatives of Suzuki because Liang recognizes the function of incorporating BODIPY fluorophore derivatives to said structures and Suzuki teaches that the fluorescent compound 8 has a long fluorescence wavelength, measurement can be attained even in the presence of biological substances, and the compound can be applied to analysis reagents.
With respect to having an emission spectrum with a FWHM of 35 nm or less in width when measured in PBS, the recitation is directed to the intended use of when the compound is measured in PBS. The recitation of intended use of the claimed BODIPY compounds must result in a structural difference between the claimed BODIPY compounds (i.e., formula I) and the prior art’s BODIPY compounds in order to patentably distinguish the claimed compounds from the prior art’s compounds. Because BODIPY compounds of the prior art read on the claimed BODIPY compounds, the prior art’s BODIPY compounds are capable of producing the emission spectrum in PBS.
With respect to the L1 linker, it would have been obvious to have used PEG moieties ((CH2CH2O)n wherein n is 8-16) to conjugate BODIPY fluorophore derivatives with the recited structures of Patent ‘998 because Liang teaches the acceptor chromophore (C1) covalently attached in formula (V) and the PEG moieties are recognized linkers in polymeric tandem dye structures. Additionally, it would have been obvious to have used the PEG moieties of the light harvesting multichromophore to conjugate Suzuki’s BODIPY fluorophore derivatives because Liang teaches attaching the BODIPY or derivatives to the water soluble light harvesting multichromophore for detection.
The person would have a reasonable expectation of success in conjugating BODIPY fluorophore derivatives to the Patent’s structures because it has been well recognized by Liang to attach BODIPY fluorophore derivatives as acceptor chromophores.
With respect to instant claim 3, Patent ‘998 does not recite explicitly recite the claimed function. However, it would have been obvious that the BODIPY fluorophore of Liang or Suzuki would produce the claimed function, as it reads on the claimed formula (I).
With respect to instant claim 5, Patent ‘998 claim 9 recites the water solubilizing structure.
With respect to instant claim 6, Patent ‘998 claim 35 recites a PEG moiety.
With respect to instant claims 11-13, Patent ‘998 does not recite the structure of formula (IIa) or formula (IIb). As stated above, Suzuki teaches fluorescent compounds 6-8 (see col. 53, lines 64-67) which would read on the limitations Z11 and Z12 and the R21-R23. Thus, it would have been obvious to have used the recited structures of Patent ‘998 with the BODIPY fluorophore derivatives of Suzuki because Suzuki teaches that their BODIPY fluorophore derivatives have a high light fastness that contain high fluorescence quantum yield and sharp absorption spectrum.
With respect to instant claim 40, Patent ‘998 claim 9 recites:
wherein n is 1-20 (PEG), which reads on the claimed water solubilizing group.
With respect to instant claims 101 and 105, Patent ‘988 claim 35 recites PEG moiety.
With respect to instant claims 102-104, Patent ‘998 recites in claim 9 that PEG structure (CH2CH2O) wherein n is 1-20. Because the recited PEG linker overlaps in lengths with the instant claimed length of 2-100 atoms, 4-100 atoms, and 4-20 atoms, it would have been prima facie obvious to have produced the instant claimed lengths.
With respect to instant claim 106, Patent ‘998 does not recite the claimed BODIPY dyes. Liang teaches BODIPY FL, BODIPY R6G, BODIPY TMR, BODIPY 581/591, BODIPY TR, BODIPY 630/650 and BODIPY 650/665 (see para. [0126]). It would have been obvious to have used these dyes because Liang has disclosed that these dyes are convenient fluorescent dyes (see para. [0126]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 107 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The closest prior art of record is Liang. The reference teaches polymeric tandem dyes with BODIPY derivatives as fluorophores. However, Liang does not teach or reasonably suggest the claimed N1 having the chemical structures as recited in claim 107.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 01/21/2026 (arguments with 10 pages) have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues on page 17 that claim 1 is amended to state that F1,M1,M2, and L1 form a П conjugated backbone and the polymeric tandem dye has an effective Stokes shift of 100 nm or more. This limitation further narrows the scope of the claim and directly relates to the unexpected results regarding Stokes shift.
Applicant has submitted structures (under Remarks) of BODIPY FL, BODIPY R6G, BODIPY TMR, BODIPY 581/591, BODIPY TR, BODIPY 630/650 and BODIPY 650/665 from Table 1, which is unclear why these structures have been submitted. These are well recognized BODIPY dyes. Meanwhile, it appears that D1-D8 have different structures than BODIPY FL, BODIPY R6G, BODIPY TMR, BODIPY 581/591, BODIPY TR, BODIPY 630/650 and BODIPY 650/665 in Table 1 because D1-D8 have different measured functional characteristics.
Applicant argues on pages 18-19 that overall, the Fig. 4 example illustrates a significant technical problem and namely, a compound with small Stokes shifts has absorption and emission maximums that are very close. Due to the obfuscation of the full emission profile, the utility of the dye is significantly reduced. To remedy these issues, the present inventors designed compounds wherein the narrow emission BODIPY dyes with small Stokes shifts were used as acceptor fluorophores that were paired with donor multichromophores. Page 21, therefore, the effective Stokes shift of the tandem dye in FIG. 5B is about 150 nm. Hence, adding a donor multichromophore to the BODIPY dye caused an increased in Stokes shift from about 5 nm to about 150 nm, which represents an increase of at least 1500%. Applicant states that Table 2 of the specification provides the experimental evidence wherein several different BODIPY dyes experienced a very large increase in effective Stoke shift. Applicant argues on page 22 that these technical results is highly unexpected in view of the cited art. Applicant contends that the present specification describes the unexpected result that pairing a narrow emission BODIPY dye as claimed with a multichromophore would cause a very large increase in the effective Stokes shift.
The arguments are not found persuasive because Liang teaches the claimed formula (XIIa) (see above) and also teaches polymeric tandem dye. Therefore, Liang’s polymeric tandem dyes would form the П conjugated backbone and produce the effective Stokes shift of 100 nm (as claimed). Note that the claims are directed to a product, therefore, if the structure of Liang’s polymeric tandem dyes read on the claimed structure, then it would be capable of producing the claimed function.
With respect to claim 106, it appears that D1-D8 have different structures than BODIPY FL, BODIPY R6G, BODIPY TMR, BODIPY 581/591, BODIPY TR, BODIPY 630/650 and BODIPY 650/665 in Table 1 (based from measured functional characteristics). However, BODIPY FL, BODIPY R6G, BODIPY TMR, BODIPY 581/591, BODIPY TR, BODIPY 630/650 and BODIPY 650/665 have been taught in Liang as convenient fluorescent dyes for polymeric tandem dyes as an acceptor chromophore. Although these are in the alternative forms, the person would recognize that anyone of these dyes is convenient to be used in Liang’s polymeric tandem dyes. Because Liang recognizes any of these fluorophores can be used in the polymeric tandem dye formula and Liang specifically discloses these dyes as convenient fluorescent dyes, the incorporation of these dyes into the disclosed formula would produce the function and results.
Furthermore, MPEP 716.02(d) states that for results of unexpectedly improved results, the objective evidence of nonobviousness must be Commensurate in scope with the claims which the evidence is offered to support.
Additionally, MPEP 716.02(d)(I) states that the nonobviousness of a broader claimed range can be supported by evidence based on unexpected results from testing a narrower range if one of ordinary skill in the art would be able to determine A TREND in the exemplified data which would allow the artisan to reasonably extend the probative value thereof. In re Kollman, 595 F.2d 48, 201 USPQ 193 (CCPA 1979) (Claims directed to mixtures of an herbicide known as "FENAC" with a diphenyl ether herbicide in certain relative proportions were rejected as prima facie obvious. Applicant presented evidence alleging unexpected results testing three species of diphenyl ether herbicides over limited relative proportion ranges. The court held that the LIMITED number of species exemplified DID NOT provide an adequate basis for concluding that similar results would be obtained for the other diphenyl ether herbicides within the scope of the generic claims....The court did not find the evidence sufficient to rebut the prima facie case of obviousness because there was "no adequate basis for reasonably concluding that the great number and variety of compositions included in the claims would behave in the SAME manner as the tested composition.") (Emphasis added).
In this particular case, the evidence provided in Table 2 as argued by Applicant is directed to a more defined chemical structure of the polymeric tandem dyes of formula (XIIa). First, the claimed BODIPY derivatives include, for examples, the structures of Table 1, which encompass comparative examples of commercial BODIPY derivatives that were not contained in the unexpected results as argued by Applicant. No where in the specification discloses the structures of D1-D8. Because BODIPY FL, BODIPY R6G, BODIPY TMR, BODIPY 581/591, BODIPY TR, BODIPY 630/650 and BODIPY 650/665 in Table 1 do not share the functional characteristics of D1-D8, these compounds are not the same. Even if they were, the overall structure of the polymeric tandem dyes of Example 1 are very specific to produce the results. It is not just the BODIPY dyes, but rather the entire structure of formula (XIIa). Meanwhile, Table 1 of the instant disclosure has shown that even if the structure of BODIPY FL, BODIPY R6G, BODIPY TMR, BODIPY 581/591, BODIPY TR, BODIPY 630/650 and BODIPY 650/665 are the same to D1-D8, the functional outcomes are different.
Second, as reminded, Liang (closest prior art) also teaches some of the claimed BODIPY derivatives and the claimed location of its BODIPY derivatives on the polymeric tandem dye. Third, the multichromophore is a more defined chemical structure to produce the superior and unexpected results as evidenced in Fig. 5B and Table 2. As stated in the MPEP 716.02(d)(I), a broader claimed range can be supported by evidence based on unexpected results from testing a narrower range, if there is a trend in the exemplified data. However, in this case, the person would NOT be able to determine the chemical structure trend of the claimed polymeric tandem dye of formula (XIIa) to conclude that the claimed structures provide the superior or unexpected data as argued by Applicant. Thus, the claimed structures are not commensurate in scope with the unexpected data.
Similarly, Applicant argues unexpected results with respect to the nonstatutory double patenting rejections. The arguments are not found persuasive for the reasons stated above. For the reasons, the rejections are maintained.
Conclusion
/N.P.N/Examiner, Art Unit 1678
/SHAFIQUL HAQ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1678