DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on 6/8/2026 has been entered. Claim(s) 1-3, 9-10, 25 and 31 is/are currently amended. Claim(s) 16, 18, 21-23, 29, 32-37 and 40-42 has/have been cancelled. Claim(s) 1-15, 17, 19-20, 24-28, 30-31 and 38-39 is/are pending and is/are under examination in this office action.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's argument, filed on 6/8/2026, with respect to 103 rejection has been fully considered but is moot in view of the new grounds of rejection presented below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-15, 17, 19-20, 24-28, 30-31 and 38 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al (US 20120000578 A1).
Regarding claims 1, 3-14, 24-28, 30-31 and 38, Wang teaches an aluminum alloy having chemical composition overlapping the claimed ranges:
Element
Claim
Wang [abstract]
Mg
>1% to 5 % (claim 1); 1.8-5% (claim 2); >1.8% to 4% (claim 39)
about 0.1 to about 1.0 wt %
Si
1.2-4 % (claim 1); >1.8% to 3% (claim 24)
about 0.5 to about 14 wt %
Co
greater than 0.4 % to 5 % (claim 1); 0.5-1% (claim 25); >0.4% to 3% (claim 38); >0.4% to 3% (claim 39)
0 to about 0.5 wt %
Zn
greater than 0.1 % to 2 % (claim 1); at least 0.12% to 2% (claim 9); 0.2-2% (claim 10)
about 0.1 to about 2.0 wt %
Ni
up to 5 % (claim 5); 1-5 % (claim 6); >2% to 5% (claim 30)
about 0.1 to about 3.0 wt %
Ti
at least 0.05 % (claim 4); up to 0.5% (claim 7); at least 0.05-0.5% (claim 8)
0 to about 0.2 wt %
Zr
up to 0.5% (claim 11); at least 0.05% to 0.5% (claim 12); 0.05-0.5% (claim 26); 0.05-0.5% (claim 27); >0.1% to 0.5% (claim 31)
0 to about 0.2 wt %
Mn
up to 1% (claim 13); at least 0.2 to 1% (claim 14); up to 1% (claim 28);
0 to about 1.0 wt %
Al
balance
balance
A prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" (MPEP 2144.05.I).
Regarding claim 15, since Wang is silent about the specific concentration of the impurities, one of ordinary skill would understand that the impurities in the aluminum alloys of Wang is minimal or near zero percent.
Regarding claim 17, Wang does not teach the claimed as built yield strength of 360 megapascals (MPa), respectively. However, where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). See MPEP 2112.01. The prior art teaches substantially identical composition. The specification does not disclose if the claimed feature of as printed yield strength is affected by the manufacturing process. Therefore, the claimed as built yield strength of about 340 and 360 megapascals are expected to be present, absent concrete evidence to the contrary.
Regarding claims 19-20, Wang does not teach the claimed elongation of about 6%, and about 8%, respectively. However, where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). See MPEP 2112.01. The prior art teaches substantially identical composition. The specification does not disclose if the claimed feature of as printed yield strength is affected by the manufacturing process. Therefore, the claimed elongation of about 3%, about 6%, and about 8% are expected to be present, absent concrete evidence to the contrary.
Claims 1-2, 9-10, 15, 17, 19-20, 24-28, 31, 38-39 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hiroshi et al (US 20190136351 A1).
Regarding claims 1-2, 9-10, 24-28, 31, 38-39, Hiroshi teaches an aluminum alloy having chemical composition overlapping the claimed ranges:
Element
Claim
Hiroshi [abstract]
Mg
1-5 % (claim 1); 1.8-5% (claim 2); >1.8% to 4% (claim 39)
0.2-1.8 %
Si
1.2-4 % (claim 1); >1.8% to 3% (claim 24)
0.2-2.0 %
Co
greater than 0.4 % to 5 % (claim 1); 0.5-1% (claim 25); >0.4% to 3% (claim 38); >0.4% to 3% (claim 39)
0.06 to 2%
Zn
greater than 0.1 % to 2 % (claim 1); at least 0.12% to 2% (claim 9); 0.2-2% (claim 10)
0.06 to 2%
Ni
up to 5 % (claim 5); 1-5 % (claim 6); >2% to 5% (claim 30)
0.06 to 2%
Ti
at least 0.05 % (claim 4); up to 0.5% (claim 7); at least 0.05-0.5% (claim 8)
0
Zr
up to 0.5% (claim 11); at least 0.05% to 0.5% (claim 12); 0.05-0.5% (claim 26); 0.05-0.5% (claim 27); >0.1% to 0.5% (claim 31)
0.06 to 2%
Mn
up to 1% (claim 13); at least 0.2 to 1% (claim 14); up to 1% (claim 28);
0.06 to 2%
Al
balance
balance
A prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" (MPEP 2144.05.I).
Regarding claim 15, Hiroshi teaches total amount of impurities may be 0.15% or less [0041], overlapping the claimed up to 0.1%.
Regarding claim 17, Hiroshi does not teach the claimed as built yield strength of 360 megapascals (MPa), respectively. However, where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). See MPEP 2112.01. The prior art teaches substantially identical composition. The specification does not disclose if the claimed feature of as printed yield strength is affected by the manufacturing process. Therefore, the claimed as built yield strength of about 340 and 360 megapascals are expected to be present, absent concrete evidence to the contrary.
Regarding claims 19-20, Hiroshi does not teach the claimed elongation of about 6%, and about 8%, respectively. However, where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). See MPEP 2112.01. The prior art teaches substantially identical composition. The specification does not disclose if the claimed feature of as printed yield strength is affected by the manufacturing process. Therefore, the claimed elongation of about 3%, about 6%, and about 8% are expected to be present, absent concrete evidence to the contrary.
Conclusion
/JIANGTIAN XU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1762