DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 07/14/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding claim 1,
Applicant argues that the two embodiments teaches away from each other. Applicant quotes paragraph [0087] of Lee states "If a newly defined system information block (SIB) is neither
scheduled by SIB1 nor uses a fixed schedule unlike SIB1, the UE may need to know where the
newly defined SIB is scheduled." (Emphasis added). Applicant submits the combination of
Embodiment A and Embodiment B of Lee is improper, as such a proposed modification would
make Embodiment A no longer include scheduling information on other SIBs (SIB2 to SIBn)
than SIB1, and therefore, the proposed modification changes the principle of operation of
Embodiment A and/or renders Embodiment A unsatisfactory for its intended purpose.
However the examiner disagrees because Lee teaches the Embodiment B having the SIB1 including scheduling information of the other SIBs:
[0104] An SIB other than the first SIB may also be defined for the low-complexity UE. In the present specification, this SIB is defined as a second SIB. The second SIB refers to an SIB newly defined for the low-complexity UE, which is distinguished from the first SIB, and may include one or more SIBs. The second SIB may be scheduled by various methods. First, when the first SIB includes information on a frequency region and a time region for the second SIB, the second SIB may be scheduled based on the scheduled first SIB. Alternatively, the second SIB may be scheduled in a resource region spaced by a second time offset away from the start or end time of the scheduled MIB. The second time offset may be predefined or may be indicated by the scheduled MIB. Alternatively, a PDCCH for the second SIB may be scheduled in a resource region spaced by the second time offset from the start or end time of the scheduled MIB, and the second SIB may be scheduled in a resource region indicated by the PDCCH for the second SIB. That is, the second SIB may be scheduled by the PDCCH for the second SIB.
In the above cited portions, Embodiment B teaches the first SIB would include information for the second SIB, therefore Embodiment A would not be unsatisfactory for its intended purpose are argued.
Secondly, the combination of embodiment B is to modify the system to include an offset to SIB1, the modification would not change the fact that SIB1 would include scheduling information for other SIB1. Hence the combination is maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1-2, 5, 7-10, 13, 15-18, 24-26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (Pub No 20180007543).
Regarding claim 1 and 9 and 17,
Lee Embodiment A teaches a method for scheduling System Information Blocks (SIBs), comprising:
A non-transitory computer-readable medium containing instructions for scheduling System Information Blocks (SIBs) which, when executed, cause a wireless network device to perform steps comprising: (interpreted as he processor may include an application-specific integrated circuit (ASIC), a separate chipset, a logic circuit, and/or a data processing unit. The memory may include a read-only memory (ROM), a random access memory (RAM), a flash memory, a memory card, a storage medium, and/or other equivalent storage devices, see para [0113])
A wireless network device; (UE para [0065])
transmitting a Master Information Block (MIB) at a first fixed cycle starting from a first System Frame number (SFN); (interpreted as an MIB message is broadcast through a BCH according to a periodicity of 40 ms, see Lee para [0066]. See SFN=0, see fig. 6))
transmitting a first complete System Information Block Type 1 (SIB1) at a second fixed cycle after the first SFN, wherein transmitting the first complete SIB1 at the second fixed cycle comprises transmitting the complete SIB every eight plus the SIB offset frames starting after the first SFN; (interpreted as SIB1 is broadcast through a downlink shared channel (DL SCH) according to a periodicity of eight radio frames (that is, 80-ms periodicity), and SIB1 is repeatedly retransmitted on a fifth subframe of an SFN-mod-2 radio frame within the 80-ms periodicity, see para [0068])
transmitting other SIBs at cycles specified by SIB scheduling information elements in SIB1; and (interpreted as SIB1 includes pieces of information associated with cell access, and particularly includes scheduling information on other SIBs (SIB2 to SIBn) than SIB1. SIBs having the same transmission periodicity among the SIBs other than SIB1 are transferred via the same system information (SI) message, see para [0068])
However Lee Embodiment A does not teach a SIB offset after the SFN;
wherein a User Equipment (UE) is preconfigured with the SIB offset, allowing the UE to calculate the subframe number carrying SIB1;
Lee Embodiment B teaches a SIB offset after the SFN. (interpreted as SIB1a may be scheduled in a resource region spaced by offset 1 away from the start or end of an MIB repetition period. Alternatively, SIB1a may be scheduled in a resource region spaced by offset 1 away from a resource region for each repeated MIB, see para [0099] and fig. 13. Also see SFN=0 for MIB see fig. 6))
wherein a User Equipment (UE) is preconfigured with the SIB offset, allowing the UE to calculate the subframe number carrying SIB1; (interpreted as Next, a method for a UE to decode the SIB is described. After receiving the MIB, the UE may attempt to decode the PDCCH for the SIB at end time of last MIB repetition subframe+offset. Alternatively, the UE may attempt to decode the PDCCH for the SIB at start time of last MIB repetition subframe+offset, see para [0091]. Also see the first time offset may be predefined or may be indicated by the scheduled MIB, see para [0102])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the SIB1 taught by Lee Embodiment A with the offset for SIB as taught by Lee Embodiment B with the motivation being to know the scheduling for newly defined SIB.
Regarding claim 2 and 10 and 18,
Lee teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the first SFN is SNF 0 and transmitting a MIB at a first fixed cycle comprises transmitting a MIB every four frames starting after SFN 0. (interpreted as an MIB message is broadcast through a BCH according to a periodicity of 40 ms, see Lee para [0066]. see MIB at SFN 0 fig. 6)
Regarding claim 5 and 13,
Lee teaches the method of claim 1 wherein the transmitting a MIB, transmitting the first complete SIB1 and transmitting other SIBs are performed by an eNodeB (interpreted as The BS 11 generally refers to a fixed station that communicates with the UE 12 and may be called by other names such as eNB (evolved-NodeB), BTS (base transceiver system), access point (AP), etc, see para [0042]. Also see a BS transmits an MIB and an SIB, see para [0085])
Regarding claim 7 and 15,
Lee teaches the method of claim 1 wherein the transmitting a MIB, transmitting the first complete SIB1 and transmitting other SIBs are performed by a coordinating server (interpreted as MTC refers to information exchange between MTC UEs 810 via a BS 820 without involving human interactions or information exchanges between an MTC UE 810 and an MTC server 830 via the BS, see Lee para [0078])
Regarding claim 8 and 16,
Lee teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the transmitting a MIB, transmitting the first complete SIB1 and transmitting other SIBs are performed in part by at least two of an eNodeB, a Multi Radio Access Network (RAN) node, and a coordinating server (interpreted as MTC refers to information exchange between MTC UEs 810 via a BS 820 without involving human interactions or information exchanges between an MTC UE 810 and an MTC server 830 via the BS, see Lee para [0078]).
Regarding claim 24 and 25 and 26,
Lee teaches the method of claim 1, wherein another UE that is not preconfigured the SIB offset is unable to decode the first complete SIB1. (interpreted as The scheduled MIB may be each received MIB. The first SIB is a system information block newly defined for a low-complexity UE, and the first time offset may be predefined or may be indicated by the scheduled MIB, see para [0102]. Wherein it is implicit that the UE cannot decode without knowing the offset)
Claim 6 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (Pub No 20180007543) in view of Silva (Pub No 20180279203)
Regarding claim 6 and 14,
Lee teaches the method of claim 1, however does not teach wherein the transmitting a MIB, transmitting the first complete SIB1 and transmitting other SIBs are performed by a Multi Radio Access Network (RAN) node.
Silva teaches wherein the transmitting a MIB, transmitting the first complete SIB1 and transmitting other SIBs are performed by a Multi Radio Access Network (RAN) node. (interpreted as In a wireless communication network 102, such as a cellular network, wireless communication devices 101, 110 communicate e.g. via a Radio Access Network (RAN) to one or more core networks (CNs), for example as depicted in FIGS. 11 and 12, see Silva para [0033]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the system taught by Lee with the RAN taught by Silva with the motivation being to provide network access to UEs.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 21-23 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 21 and 22 and 23,
Lee teaches the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 1 however does not teach wherein the UE configured with the SIB offset communicates with a first private access network
based on the SIB offset, and another UE configured with another SIB offset communicates with a second private access network based on the other SIB offset enabling the first and second private networks to be isolated from each other.
Conclusion
/BAO G NGUYEN/Examiner, Art Unit 2461
/HUY D VU/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2461