DETAILED ACTION
Response to Remarks
This communication is considered fully responsive to the “ Applicant Arguments/Remarks Made in an Amendment” on 03/24/2025.
Claims 1-4, 6-9, 15-18, 20-27 are pending and are examined in this office action.
Claims 1, 15, 21 have been amended.
No new claim has been added and claims 5, 10-14, 19 have been previously cancelled.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filled on 03/24/2025, with respect to claim(s) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. See MATSUO et al. (US 20240072953 A1; hereinafter as “MATSUO”) and further Chen et al. (US 20210014085 A1; hereinafter as “Chen”)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 6-9, 15-17, 20-23, 25-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MAAREF et al. (US 20150230224 A1; hereinafter as “MAAREF”) i in view of MATSUO et al. (US 20240072953 A1; hereinafter as “MATSUO”) and further Chen et al. (US 20210014085 A1; hereinafter as “Chen”)
With respect to independent claims:
Regarding claim 1, MAAREF teaches a method (method: [abstract], Fig. 1A: “cooperative device meshes may be referred to as virtual multipoint transceivers and may be dynamically configured based on network conditions such as resource availability, UE cooperation strategies, channel conditions, and the like. Each virtual multipoint transceiver may include a target UE and a set of cooperating UEs, which help the target UE in uplink/downlink transmissions. ”: [0002]) comprising:
Identifying, in a first period, downlink traffic with Quality of Service (QoS) priority for a first station (STA) Fig 1A: target 104a ) of a plurality of STAs (Fig 1A: target 104a of multiple UE 104a, UE 104b, 104C ) connected to an Access Point (AP) (Fig 1A: AP 102) ( in Fig. 1A: Transmission Point/ AP/ Base Station 102 is connected with multiple UE 104a., 104b: [0018]; “base stations/eNodeBs/etc.) jointly communicating with UEs 104. Each virtual transmission point 102 may be selected based on quality of service (QoS) requirements, neighborhood relationships, and the like of a UE (e.g., TUE 104a). ”: [0018] For each virtual transmission point 102 is connect to a UE 104a based on QOS/quality requirement : [0018] last few lines; ): during a transmission time interval [==a first period], CC10 can be updated by the AP 102: “ cooperation candidate set (CCS) 110 may be updated every several hundred transmission time intervals (TTIs”: [0022], [abstract];see fig. 4; where multiple virtual UEs are ranked by Capacity of the UEs: [0034]-[0035]);
allocating a plurality of Resource Units (RU) to the plurality of STAs (Fig. 1A-1B: UE 104a and UE 104b) and the virtual STA (Fig. 1A-1B: Virtual multipoint transceiver 106) based on communications capabilities and traffic requests corresponding to the plurality of STAs comprising: (“the network controller may instruct the TUE to from a virtual multipoint transceiver based on channel quality measurements (e.g., a channel quality indicator (CQI) report) of the TUE”: [0027]; “the network determines a virtual multipoint transceiver may be formed for a TUE. The network may determine a virtual multipoint transceiver may be formed based on receiving a CSR message from a TUE (e.g., the TUE may transmit the CSR message to a transmission point 102 serving the TUE). In other embodiments, the network may decide to form a virtual multipoint transceiver based channel quality measurements (e.g., a CQI report) of the TUE ),: “the network may consider energy saving considerations and turn-off (or deactivate) certain transmission points 102”: [0029]; connection in half duplex to certain UE and full duplex to another UE based on end-eo-end capacity metrics: [0032])
allocating a first RU of the plurality of RUs to the first STA for downlink (DL) communication and allocating second RU of the plurality of RUs to the virtual STA for uplink (UL) communication (a user equipment (UE) in a network may form a cooperative device mesh with other UEs to communicate cooperatively with one or more transmitters. These cooperative device meshes may be referred to as virtual multipoint transceivers and may be dynamically configured based on network conditions such as resource availability, UE cooperation strategies, channel conditions, and the like. Each virtual multipoint transceiver may include a target UE and a set of cooperating UEs, which help the target UE in uplink/downlink transmissions:” [0002]; “In a half-duplex mode, CUEs 104b may not receive data from the network” [NOTE: in half duplex mode, UE is configured to uplink transmission only] and in full duplex mode, data can be sent using downlink resource: [0020]; “Virtual multipoint transceiver 106 may be assigned a group ID by the network (e.g., by a network controller) for joint reception of transmissions. For example, in downlink transmissions a transmission point 102 associated with a particular virtual multipoint transceiver may multicast a transmission for TUE 104a to all the UEs in virtual multipoint transceiver 106 as identified by its network-assigned group ID. Packets from transmission point 102 to TUE 104a may be sent in two transmission phases. In the first transmission phase (known as the downlink multicast phase), transmission point 102 may multicast a transmission to virtual multipoint transceiver 106 (i.e., TUE 104a and CUEs 104b) across access links 112. In the second transmission phase (known as the data forwarding phase), CUEs 104b may forward receive portions of the multicast transmission to TUE 104a across D2D links 114. ”: [0020]).
While MAAREF teaches,” identifying, in a first time period, downlink traffic with Quality of Service (QoS) priority for a first station (STA) of a plurality of STAs connected to an Access Point (AP)”;
MAAREF does not explicitly discloses:
wherein the downlink traffic with QoS priority comprises higher priority data as compared to uplink traffic from at least a second STA of the plurality of STAs, and wherein each respective STA of the plurality of STAs comprises a respective physical device;
determining, based on network conditions, that the first STA is capable of full- duplex communication via a bidirectional resource unit (RU) on a single communication channel during the first time period;
in response to determining that the first STA is capable of full-duplex communication during the first time period, creating a virtual STA the first STA, wherein the virtual STA is not associated any other STA of the plurality of STAs;
reassigning the second RU from the virtual STA to the first STA as a bidirectional (BD) RU for full-duplex communications by the first STA, wherein both the first and second RUs are assigned to the first STA and are used concurrently by the first STA;
transmitting a generalized-trigger to the plurality of STAs to assign the plurality of RUs;
transmitting DL communications on DL RUs, including the first RU of the plurality RUs; and receiving UL communications on UL RUs, including the second RU of the plurality of RUs.
MATSUO, in the same field of endeavor, discloses:
wherein the downlink traffic with QoS priority comprises higher priority data as compared to uplink traffic from at least a second STA of the plurality of STAs, and wherein each respective STA of the plurality of STAs comprises a respective physical device (QoS control field is used to carry out transition control priority in both upstream and downstream frames : [0059]; see fig. 5 where each of the physical STA has corresponding resource units :[0063][0064]);
determining, based on network conditions, that the first STA is capable of full- duplex communication via a bidirectional resource unit (RU) on a single communication channel during the first time period ( AP and STA-RU have commucnation in both directions : [0169]);
in response to determining that the first STA is capable of full-duplex communication during the first time period, creating a virtual STA the first STA, wherein the virtual STA is not associated any other STA of the plurality of STAs (create STA with resource units as shown in Fig. 5: “The AP 1 allocates the resource units (RUs) 1 to 6 to the terminals 11 to 16, respectively. The AP 2 allocates the RU 1 to the RU 3 and the RU 7 to the RU 9 to the terminals 21 to 23 and 27 to 29, respectively. A bandwidth of the channel may be variously 20 MHz, 40 MHz, 80 MHz, and 160 MHz, and here assume 20 MHz. The channel 1 includes the RUs 1 to 9. ”:[0063] ).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of MAAREF to include the above recited as taught by MATSUO. The suggestion/motivation would be frequency usage of frequency efficiency and improves a throughput of a user.(MATSUO; [0004]-[0003]).
The combination of MAAREF and MATSUO, does not expressively disclose:
reassigning the second RU from the virtual STA to the first STA as a bidirectional (BD) RU for full-duplex communications by the first STA, wherein both the first and second RUs are assigned to the first STA and are used concurrently by the first STA;
transmitting a generalized-trigger to the plurality of STAs to assign the plurality of RUs;
transmitting DL communications on DL RUs, including the first RU of the plurality RUs; and receiving UL communications on UL RUs, including the second RU of the plurality of RUs.
Chen, in the same field of endeavor, discloses:
reassigning the second RU from the virtual STA to the first STA as a bidirectional (BD) RU for full-duplex communications by the first STA, wherein both the first and second RUs are assigned to the first STA and are used concurrently by the first STA ( “ plurality of nodes can comprise remote radio units. Information associated with reference signals received by the remote radio units can be exchanged using wired backhaul. The plurality of nodes can further comprise a user equipment arranged to operate as a virtual network node. ”; [0020]; “ ” Information associated with one or more reference signals received by the user equipment can be exchanged using a wireless peer-to-peer interface. Alternatively or additionally, information associated with one or more reference signals received by the user equipment can be exchanged using a wireless backhaul between a network system and the user equipment.:[0020]; NOTE: Virtual STA and physical STA can be inter-changeable. );
transmitting a generalized-trigger to the plurality of STAs to assign the plurality of Rus ( “ 0025] A user equipment arranged to operate as a virtual network node can comprise an antenna of the first group.
[0026] A first user equipment can comprise an antenna of the first group, a second user equipment can comprise an antenna of the second group, and the method can comprise transmitting information associated with the first reference signals received by the second antennas of the second user equipment to the first user equipment via a peer-to-peer link between the first user equipment and the second user equipment.
”: [0025]-[0026]);
transmitting DL communications on DL RUs, including the first RU of the plurality RUs; and receiving UL communications on UL RUs, including the second RU of the plurality of Rus (“ The UE can be arranged to receive downlink data in a coordinated manner with the second UE using the calibration coefficients. The baseband processor can be configured to aggregate a first part of a MIMO downlink data transmission received via the first antennas together with a second part of the MIMO downlink data transmission received via the peer-to-peer interface. The first antennas can be configured to receive MIMO downlink data at up to a downlink peak data rate, and the baseband processor can be configured to receive a first part of a MIMO downlink data transmission from the first antennas and a second part of the MIMO downlink data transmission from the peer-to-peer wireless interface such that the baseband processor is configured to process the MIMO downlink data transmission at a data rate that is higher than the downlink peak data rate. ”: [0040]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of MAAREF in view of MATSUO to include the above recited limitations as taught by Chen. The suggestion/motivation would be to jointly processing the channel estimates to generate, for each antenna of the first and second groups, a calibration coefficient representing a ratio for compensating for channel gain mismatch between a transmit coefficient and a receive coefficient (Chen; [0023).
Regarding claim 2, the combination of MAAREF, MATSUO, , Chen teaches claim 1 as shown above. Furthermore, MAAREF teaches, the method of claim 1, wherein the UL RUs of the plurality of RUs are delayed by a predefined amount of time relative to the DL RUs of the plurality of RUs (predefined duration : [0065]).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of MAAREF, MATSUO, , Chen teaches claim 1 as shown above. Furthermore, MAAREF teaches, the method of claim 1, further comprising: performing self-interference cancellation on a first UL communication received via the BD RU based on a first DL message transmitted to the first STA on the BD RU (0032]-[0033]).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of MAAREF, MATSUO, , Chen teaches claim 1 as shown above. Furthermore, MAAREF teaches , the method of claim 1, wherein allocating the plurality of RUs to the plurality STAs based on the communications capabilities and traffic requests further comprises: allocating a second RU of the plurality of RUs to a second STA of the plurality of connected STAs for a half-duplex communication with the second STA (“CUEs 104b may operate in a half-duplex mode or a full-duplex mode. In a half-duplex mode, CUEs 104b may not receive data from the network and simultaneously forward data to TUE 104a in the same time and frequency resources. “: [0020]).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of MAAREF, MATSUO, , Chen teaches claim 1 as shown above. Furthermore, MAAREF teaches , The method of claim 1, wherein allocating the plurality of RUs to the plurality STAs based on the communications capabilities and traffic requests further comprises: allocating a second RU and a third RU of the plurality of RUs to a second STA of the plurality of connected STAs, wherein the second RU and third RU are in different frequency bands, for a dual-half-duplex communication with the second STA (some of the UEs operates in half duplex mode: [0031]).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of MAAREF, MATSUO, , Chen teaches claim 1 as shown above. Furthermore, MAAREF teaches , the method of claim 1, further comprising: between transmitting the generalized-trigger and transmitting the DL communications, receiving a Clear to Transmit Signal from the plurality of STAs (AP obtains the use permission of the channel in an RTS/CTS (get clear to transmit signal from UEs: [0042]; [0047-[0048).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of MAAREF, MATSUO, , Chen teaches claim 1 as shown above. Furthermore, MAAREF teaches , the method of claim 1, further comprising: receiving acknowledgement messages from the plurality of STAs to which DL communications were transmitted (getting acknowledgement from STAs: [0022], [0040]).
Regarding claims 15, 21, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 1.
Regarding claim 16, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 2.
Regarding claim 17, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 3.
Regarding claim 18, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 4.
Regarding claim 20, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 7.
Regarding claim 22, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 2.
Regarding claim 23, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 3.
Regarding claim 24, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 4.
Regarding claim 20, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 7.
Regarding claim 25, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 6.
Regarding claim 26, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 7.
Regarding claim 27, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 8.
Claims 4, 18, 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MAAREF, MATSUO, , Chen and further in view of MA et al. (US 20180139773 A1; hereinafter as “MA”).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of MAAREF, MATSUO, , Chen teaches claim 1 as shown above. The combination does not explicitly discloses: the method of claim 1, wherein allocating the plurality of RUs further comprises: identifying an interference path between the first STA and a second STA of the plurality STAs via a sounding feedback from the first STA identifying the second STA; and allocating the plurality of RUs to the plurality STAs such that the BD RU allocated to the first STA and a second BD RU allocated to the second STA are in non-neighboring frequency bands.
MA , in the same field of endeavor, discloses: the method of claim 1, wherein allocating the plurality of RUs further comprises: identifying an interference path between the first STA and a second STA of the plurality STAs via a sounding feedback from the first STA identifying the second STA; and allocating the plurality of RUs to the plurality STAs such that the BD RU allocated to the first STA and a second BD RU allocated to the second STA are in non-neighboring frequency bands (some examples, TTI boundary and timing alignment of different numerology schemes used in neighboring TDD sub-bands can be applied, to mitigate against downlink-uplink cross interference between the sub-bands for example. In this regard, FIG. 4 provides an example where TTI boundary and timing alignment is achieved by re-ordering or re-arranging OFDM symbols in TTI(s). The example in FIG. 4 relates to a DL channel with different sub-bands split into symbols with different numerologies. In FIG. 4, DL-only frame structures are provided to support DL peak data rate. 15 kHz and 30 kHz subcarrier spacing options, each with 7(3, 4) symbols per TTI and basic time unit, are employed, respectively, in two sub-bands of a single carrier frequency bandwidth. Symbol details for 15 kHz are: S2 (66.67+5.2) us, S1 (66.67+4.17) us; Symbol details for 30 kHz are: S2 (33.33+2.6) us, S1 (33.33+2.08)us. TTI boundary and timing alignment details between the two sub-bands are: 1) The timing alignment is with the smaller subcarrier spacing 15 kHz TTI. Note that 1 TTI of 15 kHz is equivalent to 2 TTIs of 30 kHz by re-ordering the symbols. 2) There is a switching gap for DL/UL guard period (GP) and alignment. 3) There is UL timing alignment for acknowledgement/negative acknowledgement (ACK/NACK), channel quality indicator (CQI) feedback and/or sound reference signals (SRS).: [0119]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of MAAREF, MATSUO, , Chen to include the above recited limitations as taught by MA. The suggestion/motivation to do so would have been to avoid or reduce reference signal collision: (MA; [0160]).
Regarding claim 18, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 4.
Regarding claim 24, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 4.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/M Mostazir Rahman/Examiner, Art Unit 2411
/DERRICK W FERRIS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2411