DETAILED ACTION
Applicant’s amendment of 30 July 2026, in which claim 67 is amended, is acknowledged.
Claims 17, 18, 24, 30-35, 37-39, 41, 43, 49, 50, 53-67 are pending in the instant application.
Claims 17, 18, 24, 30-35, 37-39, 41, 43, 49, 50, 53-67 are being examined on their merits herein.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 27 May 2026 is acknowledged and considered.
Response to arguments of 30 July 2026
In view of Applicant’s amendment of 30 July 2026, the rejection of claim 67 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite, is herein withdrawn. Applicant has clarified the claim language.
Applicant argues (Response of 30 July 2026, pages 9-10) against the rejection of claims 17, 18, 24, 30-35, 37-39, 41, 43, 49, 50, 53-67 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite.
Applicant argues that “administration at a weight ratio such that the ketone body component and the THC component act synergistically” is a functional limitation, because ratios that do not produce the recited synergistic effect “simply fall outside the scope of the claim”. This argument is not persuasive, because the scope of the claim is not defined. The Specification fails to define what the weight ratios are, such that the ketone and the THC components act synergistically.
Contrary to Applicant’s argument (page 10, paragraph 5), an explanation that the combined administration results in “greater neuroprotective effects” than administration of each component individually, does not constitute support for synergy. Greater than (a), or greater than (b), does not mean that (a) + (b) is synergistic. Applicant argues that the term “synergistically” means greater than the sum of the individual effects.
In response, the point of the rejection is that it would not be clear which mass combinations of the ketone bodies or THC component would achieve synergy, or, if there would be something else required to obtain the claimed result.
The specification provides little clarification other than speculation, as there are no working examples showing the claimed synergy or any effects, no specific teaching as to how synergy is achieved with either the mass amounts of ketone bodies and THC, or the addition of something else, for example, and absorption enhancer, that would initiate the synergistic effects. The Specification only states:
“It is expected that the anti-inflammatory and analgesic effects of THC and ketone bodies are synergistically enhanced as a result of their combined administration.” The Specification provides no definition or description how one of ordinary skill in the art would understand how much of each compound is used, and whether there are further method steps or compositions required to obtain synergy for one of the listed conditions, just merely broad speculation at best.
Accordingly, the wherein clause in claim 17 referencing this synergy is indefinite.
The rejection is herein maintained.
Applicant’s arguments (Remarks of 30 July 2026, pages 14-18) against the rejection of claims 17, 18, 24, 30-35, 37-39, 41, 43, 49, 50, 53-67 under 35 U.S.C. 103 over D’Souza and D’Agostino have been considered.
Applicant argues (pages 14-15) that D’Souza is not directed to treatment of any disease. Applicant argues the examiner has not identified any problem recognized by D’Souza that would have motivated one to modify D’Souza. Applicant further argues (page 15) that D’Souza highlights risks associated with THC administration, and (page 15) that D’Souza teaches away from making THC administration more acceptable.
In response, D’Souza is a scientific study that uses a well-defined protocol to measure anxiety and cognitive deficits in healthy individuals who are using THC recreationally, and who had been exposed to cannabis but had never been diagnosed with a cannabis disorder. Contrary to Applicant’s arguments, D’Souza does not teach against recreational use of THC or cannabis; rather, the purpose is to understand the effects of THC administration on anxiety and cognition performance in THC users.
Applicant argues (page 15, last two paragraphs) that D’Agostino never mentions THC, and there is no reasonable expectation of success to combine D’Souza and D’Agostino because neither reference suggests a combination of THC and BBB (page 16).
Applicant argues that D’Souza does not present THC-induced anxiety or cognitive impairment as a problem to be solved; D’Souza does not motivate a skilled artisan to administer THC; there is no common problem in D’Souza and D’Agostino that would have led a person of skill in the art to combine their teachings (page 17-18). Applicant argues (page 18) that the adverse effects “are not presented by D’Souza as problems to be eliminated, but as the successful completion of the experimental protocol itself.”
In response, D’Souza is a scientific study, and as such it aims to identify side effects associated with recreational use of THC. Science is not aimed at providing motivation or at “teaching away” from THC use, nor is science concerned with giving advice to recreational THC users. D’Souza teaches that intravenous (parenteral) administration of D9 -THC 2.5 mg or 5 mg (page 1559, left column, third paragraph) to recreational cannabis users elicits an increase in anxiety (page 1562, left column, first paragraph) and impairs cognitive functioning.
D’Agostino clearly teaches that ketone body supplementation results in greater mental clarity, more favorable and balanced mood (which can include anti-depressive treatment in subjects with depression, as in instant claims 24, 49), [0011], mood stabilizing effect [0012], and improvement in cognitive performance [0010], [0004]. This teaching in D’Agostino cannot be contested.
Because D’Souza teaches that THC recreational use can cause cognitive side effects and increase in anxiety in healthy subjects who consume THC/cannabis for recreational purpose, one of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success in administering BHB to said subjects to remedy the side effects of THC, because BHB was known (D’Agostino) to help reduce anxiety, balance mood, and improve cognitive performance.
For all the reasons above, the rejection of claims 17, 18, 24, 30-35, 37-39, 41, 43, 49, 50, 53-67 under 35 U.S.C. 103 over D’Agostino and D’Souza is herein maintained and a modified rejection is made below.
Applicant’s arguments (Remarks of 30 July 2026, pages 18-22) against the rejection of claims 17, 18, 24, 30-35, 37-39, 41, 43, 49, 50, 53-64, 66 under 35 U.S.C. 103 over Greenwood and Werner have been considered.
Applicant argues (page 19) no motivation to combine Greenwood and Werner.
Applicant argues (page 20) that Greenwood and Werner do not disclose compositions useful for the same purpose.
Applicant argues that in the instant Application, the ketone enhances the beneficial effects of the THC component and reduces its negative effects, as thus the two components are not used for the same purpose as each individually. Applicant argues (page 20, first paragraph) that In re Kerkhoven cannot apply to the instant claims because BHB and THC are not used for the same purpose.
Applicant argues (page 22) that the skilled artisan would not have made the combination of THC and ketone bodies at all.
This is not persuasive. Greenwood teaches that the ketogenic material of the invention, sodium ( R)-3-hydroxybutyrate, administered in a pharmaceutical composition is useful to treat depression, anxiety, pain ([0013], [0015]). Werner teaches a pharmaceutical composition containing THC [0014] effective to treat pain [0021], depression, anxiety [0022]. It is maintained that the person of ordinary skill in the art would have co-administered sodium (R)-3-hydroxybutyrate with the THC to a subject suffering from depression, anxiety or pain, with the expectation that the combination is effective to treat depression, anxiety or pain. One of ordinary skill in the art would have reasonably expected that combining sodium (R)-3-hydroxybutyrate and THC, known to be useful for the same purpose, i.e. treating depression, anxiety or pain, would result in therapeutic effect. Since all compounds for co-administration herein are known to be useful to treat depression, anxiety or pain, it is considered prima facie obvious to co-administer them in a method used for the same purpose. At least additive therapeutic effects would have been reasonably expected. See In re Kerkhoven, 205 USPQ 1069 (CCPA 1980).
Applicant argues (page21) that Werner is not directed to monotherapy, because Werner teaches THC-CBD combinations. Applicant argues that the office removes the central concept of Werner, which is, according to Applicant, modulation of THC by CBD. This is not persuasive, because the “comprising” language of the instant claims does not exclude the administration of other therapeutic agents such as CBD as in Werner.
For all the reasons above, the rejection of claims 17, 18, 24, 30-35, 37-39, 41, 43, 49, 50, 53-64, 66 under 35 U.S.C. 103 over Greenwood and Werner is herein maintained and is reproduced below.
Applicant argues (Remarks of 30 July 2026, pages 22-25) against the rejection of claims 17, 65 under 35 U.S.C. 103 over Greenwood and Werner, in view of D’Agostino. Applicant re-iterates the argument that In re Kerkhoven cannot apply to the instant claims because BHB and THC are not used for the same purpose. This argument has been addressed above. Applicant argues that D’Agostino does not teach that the BBB salts are interchangeable. In response, D’Agostino teaches [0033] a method of administering ketone bodies to a mammal by orally administering (ingestion) a composition comprising at least one beta-hydroxybutyrate salt, comprising beta-hydroxy butyrate sodium salt, beta- hydroxy butyrate potassium salt, beta-hydroxy butyrate calcium salt, beta- hydroxy butyrate magnesium salt or a combination thereof in an amount effective to raise blood ketone levels. Thus, D’Agostino implicitly teaches one or more beta-hydroxybutyrate salts comprising at least one BHB salt which is not sodium BHB, as in instant claim 65.
The rejection of claims of claims 17, 65 under 35 U.S.C. 103 over Greenwood and Werner, in view of D’Agostino is herein maintained and is reproduced below.
The claims have been examined to the extent they read on the elected species, BHB salts (see election in the non-final office action mailed on 12 March 2021, page 3, last paragraph) as the specific ketone body component, and the following rejections are made below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 17, 18, 24, 30-35, 37-39, 41, 43, 49, 50, 53-67 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 17, 18, 24, 30-35, 37-39, 41, 43, 49, 50, 53-67 are drawn to a method of administering ketone bodies and THC to a mammal […]
.
Claim 17 is indefinite for reciting certain “wherein” clauses because one of ordinary skill in the art could not reasonably determine the metes and bound of the functional-descriptive limitations. Specifically, the second wherein clause states that there is a relationship between the amounts of the ketone body component and the THC component such that the method achieves “synergistic” action on various effects, such as neuroprotection, analgesic effects, and antitumorigenic effects. This synergy must be achieved in certain mass ratios between the ketone bodies and the THC, as established prior to this wherein clause. However, it would not be clear which mass combinations of the ketone bodies or THC component would achieve synergy, or, if there would be something else required to obtain the claimed result.
The specification provides little clarification other than speculation, as there are no working examples showing the claimed synergy or any effects, no specific teaching as to how synergy is achieved with either the mass amounts of ketone bodies and THC, or the addition of something else, for example, and absorption enhancer, that would initiate the synergistic effects. Mere statements such as those provided in the specification do not clarify how this wherein clause is further limiting to the other limitations of the claim:
“It is expected that the anti-inflammatory and analgesic effects of THC and ketone bodies are synergistically enhanced as a result of their combined administration. The ketone body component of the composition is expected to lead to reductions in inflammation by way of reduced reactive oxygen species and increased levels of adenosine, for example, and these effects may be further enhanced as a result of the ketone bodies inducing or sustain ketosis in the subject. The THC component is meanwhile expected to further reduce excessive inflammation and pain through its effects on endocannabinoid receptors. It is expected that the resulting anti-inflammatory and analgesic effects will be greater than that possible with either component alone and/or will be greater than the sum of the effects of each component when used independently. For example, a ketannabis composition with a given level of THC can provide more pain relief than the same amount of THC without a ketone body component. Likewise, a ketannabis composition may be able to provide the same amount of pain relief, with less THC, as a higher THC dose without a ketone body component. This allows for easier administration and dosing for pain management, since the user will be able to achieve greater analgesic effects for given THC levels.” Specification, paragraph [0128] (emphasis added).
The Specification provides no definition or description how one of ordinary skill in the art would understand how much of each compound is used, and whether there are further method steps or compositions required to obtain synergy for one of the listed conditions, just merely broad speculation at best.
Accordingly, the wherein clause referencing this synergy is indefinite. Applicant can overcome this rejection by amending the claim to recite specific mass amounts or ranges for the ketone bodies and THC. The analysis applied to claim 17 above is also applied to independent claims 49, 60.
Claim 17 is indefinite for reciting “wherein the administration does not induce keto flu symptoms” because one of ordinary skill in the art could not reasonably determine the metes and bound of the functional-descriptive limitations. Specifically, there is a relationship between the amounts of the ketone body component and the THC component administered such that the method achieves a certain effect, namely it does not induce keto flu symptoms. This effect must be achieved in certain mass ratios between the ketone bodies and the THC, as established prior to this wherein clause. However, it would not be clear which mass combinations of the ketone bodies or THC component would achieve this effect “it does not induce keto flu symptoms”, or, if there would be something else required to obtain the claimed result.
The specification provides little clarification other than speculation, as there are no working examples showing that the administration does not induce keto flu symptoms, no specific teaching as to how such elimination of keto flu symptoms is achieved with either the mass amounts of ketone bodies and THC, or the addition of something else, that would initiate the claimed effects. Mere statements such as those provided in the specification do not clarify how this wherein clause is further limiting to the other limitations of the claim.
The Specification teaches [0015] that a ketannabis composition lessens the negative side effects that can sometimes occur with ketone body supplementation. For example, the THC component of a ketannabis composition may reduce or eliminate symptoms of keto flu (which implies that keto flu symptoms are present in the mammal) associated with attempts to enter a metabolic state of ketosis.
The Specification teaches [0007] that the transition into ketosis is often accompanied by hypoglycemia which can cause lethargy and light-headedness, resulting in an uncomfortable physiological and mental state commonly referred to as the "low-carb flu" or "keto flu."
The Specification teaches that [0051]"Ketosis" refers to a subject having blood ketone levels within the range of about 0.5 mmol/L to about 16 mmol/L.
The Specification teaches [0052] that administering ketone bodies in doses disclosed herein can provide the same or similar benefits as being in a state of ketosis even if the subject has not achieved a sufficiently high blood ketone level to technically be in a state of ketosis.
The Specification teaches [0101] that supplementation with exogenous ketone bodies can be associated with one or more undesirable side effects. In particular, ketone body supplementation may be associated with keto flu symptoms when used to try to achieve a state of ketosis.
The Specification teaches [0103] that a ketannabis composition (of the invention) can beneficially reduce the duration and/or severity of the unpleasant keto flu symptoms and can therefore also promote greater user compliance to a ketogenic diet. The THC component can provide beneficial antiemetic (anti-nausea) activity, which is particularly beneficial during bouts of keto flu symptoms. The analgesic and the psychoactive, euphoric effects of THC also act to reduce the severity of keto flu symptoms and make the transition from a glycolytic state to a ketogenic state easier for the user.
However, it is unclear what is meant by “wherein administration does not induce keto flu symptoms in the mammal” because there is no clear teaching in the Specification on how such result is achieved, what amount of the ketone body component and of the THC component results in keto flu symptoms being eliminated, what route of administration is being used to achieve the claimed result, or what patient population is being targeted.
The Specification provides no definition or description how one of ordinary skill in the art would understand how much of each compound is used, and whether there are further method steps or compositions required to obtain the claimed result, namely that administration does not induce keto flu symptoms in the mammal, just merely broad speculation at best.
Accordingly, the wherein clause referencing that administration does not induce keto flu symptoms in the mammal is indefinite. The analysis applied to claim 17 above is also applied to independent claims 49, 60.
Claim Rejections- 35 USC 103
Claims 17, 18, 24, 30-35, 37-39, 41, 43, 49, 50, 53-67 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over D’Souza et al. (Neuropsychopharmacology 2004, 29, 1558-1572, cited in PTO-892 of 03/13/2025) and D’Agostino et al. (US 2014/0350105, cited in PTO-892 of 12 April 2022).
D’Souza (Neuropsychopharmacology 2004, 29, 1558-1572) teaches THC recreational use (page 1568, right column, first paragraph) in healthy individuals who had been exposed to cannabis but have never been diagnosed with a cannabis abuse disorder (Abstract). D’Souza teaches (Abstract) that administration of D9 -THC, the main active psychoactive ingredient in cannabis, increases anxiety and produces cognitive deficits in healthy individuals. D’Souza teaches intravenous (parenteral) administration of D9 -THC 2.5 mg or 5 mg (page 1559, left column, third paragraph); the dosing paradigm was designed to achieve peak D9 -THC plasma levels compared to those achieved by smoking (administration by inhalation) standard cigarettes containing 1-3.5% D9 -THC (16-34 mg). Upon administration, D9 -THC elicits an increase in anxiety (page 1562, left column, first paragraph) and impairs cognitive functioning.
Although D’ Souza teaches that THC recreational use can cause cognitive side effects and increase in anxiety in the subject, he does not explicitly suggest a medical remedy. However, one of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success in using BHB to remedy the side effects of THC, because BHB was known to help reduce anxiety, balance mood, and improve cognitive performance.
D’Agostino (US 2014/0350105) teaches BHB for mood stabilization, and improved cognition. D’Agostino teaches that ketone body supplementation results in greater mental clarity, more favorable and balanced mood (which can include anti-depressive treatment in subjects with depression, as in instant claims 24, 49), [0011], mood stabilizing effect [0012], and improvement in cognitive performance [0010], [0004].
D’Agostino teaches a method of administering ketone bodies to a mammal by administering a composition comprising (claim 1) at least one beta-hydroxybutyrate compound, wherein the beta- hydroxybutyrate compound is composed of a beta-hydroxybutyrate salt, beta- hydroxybutyrate precursor, or combination thereof.
The beta-hydroxybutyrate compound comprises one or more of: a beta-hydroxybutyrate salt comprising sodium beta-hydroxybutyrate, potassium beta- hydroxybutyrate, calcium beta- hydroxybutyrate, magnesium beta-hydroxybutyrate, arginine beta-hydroxybutyrate, lysine beta-hydroxybutyrate, histidine beta-hydroxybutyrate, ornithine beta- hydroxybutyrate (amino acid salt of BHB); a salt mixture further comprising beta-hydroxy butyrate sodium salt, beta- hydroxy butyrate potassium salt, beta-hydroxy butyrate calcium salt, beta- hydroxy butyrate magnesium salt or combination thereof; ethyl acetoacetate, or ethyl beta- hydroxybutyrate (which is a BHB ester); or a combination of a beta-hydroxybutyrate salt and ethyl acetoacetate, or ethyl beta-hydroxybutyrate, or a salt mixture and ethyl acetoacetate, or ethyl beta-hydroxybutyrate (claim 2), as in instant claims 17, 49, 60. The ketone precursor beta-hydroxybutyrate compounds are administered between 2 g and 50 g, or between 10 grams and 20 grams [0033].
By teaching [0033] a salt mixture comprising, for example, beta- hydroxy butyrate potassium salt, beta-hydroxy butyrate calcium salt, beta- hydroxy butyrate magnesium salt or combinations thereof, D’Agostino teaches one or more beta-hydroxybutyrate salts comprising at least one BHB salt which is not sodium BHB, as in instant claim 65.
D'Agostino specifically teaches [0045]-[0050] a method of administering 11 grams sodium beta-hydroxybutyrate and 7.1 grams of potassium hydroxybutyrate (Figures 1-3), which are BHB salts of instant claims 17, 49, 60, orally/by ingestion, as in the instant claims 17, 33, 49, 60, to a human subject, in an amount effective to raise blood ketone levels and provide caloric energy (of no more than 400 calories per day [0082]), as in the instant claims.
The human subject, at the time of administration, is not in a state of ketosis, as in the instant claims. D’Agostino teaches [0043] that a measurable increase in blood ketone levels is observed within hours of taking the supplements.
The dosage form is a solution, a liquid as in instant claim 39, but can be delivered as a powder [0041], as in instant claim 38.
The keto component administered by D’Agostino provides 11 + 7.1 g = 18.1 grams BHB salts, which is more than 2 grams of ketone bodies to the subject, as in instant claim 43.
The daily dose administered by D’Agostino 11 grams sodium beta-hydroxybutyrate and 7.1 grams of potassium hydroxybutyrate (Figures 2-3) on three consecutive days, is within the range in instant claims 18, 50, 60-64.
D’Agostino teaches (Figure 1, curve 4% BHB salt solution 450 ml)) administering of said BHB salts in the absence of a medium chain fatty acid having 6 or 12 carbons or a glyceride thereof, as in instant claims 35, 49, 50, 57-59.
D’Agostino teaches that the salt of BHB contains the racemic DL-beta hydroxybutyrate [0036], last three lines), or the single isomer R-beta hydroxybutyrate ([0034], last 3 lines), which satisfies the limitation of instant claim 66.
D’Agostino teaches that ketone body supplementation results in greater mental clarity, more favorable and balanced mood (which can include anti-depressive treatment in subjects with depression, as in instant claims 24, 49), [0011], mood stabilizing effect [0012], improvement in cognitive performance [0010], [0004].
Neither D’Souza, nor D-Agostino teach CBD being administered to the subjects, which satisfies the limitation of instant claim 67.
D’Agostino does not teach administering beta-hydroxybutyrate salts in combination with tetrahydrocannabinol (THC), as in the instant claims.
It would have been obvious to combine the teachings of D’Souza and D’Agostino to arrive at the instant invention. The person of ordinary skill in the art would have co-administered beta-hydroxybutyrate salts and THC to a subject, because
D’Souza teaches that parenterally (i.v.) administering 2.5 or 5 mg of THC (equivalent to smoking 16-34 mg THC) for recreational use increases anxiety and produces cognitive deficits in healthy individuals, and
D’Agostino teaches that ketone body supplementation by administering 11 grams sodium beta-hydroxybutyrate and 7.1 grams of potassium hydroxybutyrate/day by ingestion to a human subject who is not in a state of ketosis is effective to increase blood ketone levels within hours of taking the supplements, resulting in greater mental clarity, more favorable and balanced mood, mood stabilizing effect and improvement in cognitive performance.
Thus, the person of ordinary skill in the art would have co-administered the salts of beta-hydroxybutyrate taught by D’Agostino with the THC taught by D’Souza to a subject who is a recreational user of THC and is not in a state of ketosis, with the expectation that administration of salts of beta-hydroxybutyrate will reduce the negative effects, namely anxiety, impaired cognition, associated with administration of THC. The person of ordinary skill in the art would have reasonably expected that the addition of beta-hydroxybutyrate salts to THC will result, upon administration, in ketone body supplementation, which results in greater mental clarity, more favorable and balanced mood (including in patients with depression, as in instant claims 24, 49), mood stabilizing effect and improvement in cognitive performance.
Regarding claim 41, the person of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to administer THC in the combination as a THC component which includes one or more additional compounds derived from the cannabis plant, because D’Souza teaches (page 1568, right column, first paragraph) cannabis joints or NIDA cigarettes used to deliver THC for recreational use.
Further, the person of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to co-administer beta-hydroxybutyrate salts and THC in combination or simultaneously, as in instant claim 30, in the same dosage form, as in instant claim 37, or separately, as in instant claim 32, because such an optimization of frequency/time of administration in a method of treatment is routine, well within the skill of the artisan.
As such, claims 17, 18, 24, 30-35, 37-39, 41, 43, 49, 50, 53-67 are rejected as prima facie obvious.
Claims 17, 18, 24, 30-35, 37-39, 41, 43, 49, 50, 53-64, 66 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Greenwood et al. (US 2008/0058416, cited in PTO-892 of 20 February 2024) and Werner et al. (US 2004/0138293, cited in PTO-892 of 20 February 2024).
Greenwood (US 2008/0058416) teaches a method of administering a ketogenic material which is sodium (R)- 3-hydroxybutyrate (Table 1, [0014]), which is enriched in R-BHB, as in instant claim 66, and which is inherently present in sodium beta-hydroxybutyrate, which is a compound of instant claims 17, 49, 60, to a mammal to treat [0015] depression, anxiety, and/or pain.
Greenwood teaches [0002] that ketosis in mammals can be provided by administering of ketogenic materials such as acetoacetate, (R)-3-hydroxybutyrate or their conjugates with each others, or esters thereof; ketogenic materials produce a physiologically acceptable ketosis when administered to a patient.
Greenwood teaches [0009] that the ketosis produced is a state in which levels of one or both of acetoacetate and (R)-3-hydroxybutyrate concentrations in the blood of the subject are raised. Thus, Greenwood teaches administering a ketogenic material/ketone bodies to a mammal comprising administering beta-hydroxybutyrate salt, acetoacetate, or BHB ester of acetoacetate esters, as in instant claim 44, in an amount effective to raise blood ketone levels in the mammal, as in instant claims 17, 49, 60.
The mammal is not in a state of ketosis at the time of initial administration, as in the instant claims.
Greenwood teaches [0012] typical dose ranges 5 to 5000 mg/kg body weight for an ( R)-3-hydroxybutyrate material, most preferably 50-1000 mg/kg, which, for a subject weighing 50 or 60 kg, overlaps with the range in instant claims 18, 50, 60, and satisfies the limitation of instant claim 43.
Greenwood teaches [0012] that doses are conveniently given with meals when orally administered [0012]. Thus, Greenwood teaches that ketogenic materials such as ( R)-3-hydroxybutyrate are administered by ingestion, as in the instant claims, and as in instant claim 33.
Greenwood teaches that the ketogenic material of the invention, such as sodium ( R)-3-hydroxybutyrate, administered in a pharmaceutical composition which includes diluent, excipient and carrier materials [0015] is useful to treat depression, anxiety, pain ([0013], [0015]). Thus, Greenwood teaches administering sodium ( R)-3-hydroxybutyrate to a mammal suffering from depression, as in instant claims 24, 49, 50, 52, 57-59, to treat depression.
Greenwood teaches administering of sodium ( R)-3-hydroxybutyrate in the absence of a medium chain fatty acid having 6 or 12 carbons or a glyceride thereof, as in instant claims 35, 49, 50, 57-59.
Greenwood does not specifically teach that the dosage form is a solution, a liquid as in instant claim 39, or can be delivered as a powder, as in instant claim 38.
Greenwood does not teach administering sodium ( R)-3-hydroxybutyrate in combination with tetrahydrocannabinol (THC), as in the instant claims.
Werner et al. (US 2004/0138293) teaches a pharmaceutical composition containing THC : CBD 75:25 to 80:20, preferably 2:1 [0014] effective to treat pain, depression, anxiety. The THC composition includes one additional cannabinoid compound (CBD) derived from the cannabis plant, as in instant claim 41.
Werner teaches the therapeutic use of the composition of the invention on average 5 mg THC, in a dosage range 2.5 -20 mg THC administered daily as therapeutic dose [0016], which is within the range in instant claim 18, 50, 60, as tablets/coated tablets ([0015]), thus to be administered by ingestion, as in the instant claims.
Werner teaches the pharmacologic effects of the composition include analgesic/ pain-relieving effect [21], as well as anti-depressant and anxiolytic (anxiety-reducing) effect [0022].
Werner does not teach co-administration of THC and beta-hydroxybutyric acid or its salts, as in the instant claims.
It would have been obvious to combine the teachings of Greenwood and Werner to arrive at the instant invention. The person of ordinary skill in the art would have co-administered sodium (R)-3-hydroxybutyrate and THC to a subject having depression (as in instant claims 24, 49), anxiety or pain, because Greenwood teaches that administering sodium (R)-3-hydroxybutyrate by ingestion to a mammal is effective to treat depression, anxiety or pain, and Werner teaches that THC is effective to treat, for example, depression, anxiety, pain.
Thus, the person of ordinary skill in the art would have co-administered sodium (R)-3-hydroxybutyrate with the THC to a subject suffering from depression, anxiety or pain, with the expectation that the combination is effective to treat depression, anxiety or pain. One of ordinary skill in the art would have reasonably expected that combining sodium (R)-3-hydroxybutyrate and THC, known to be useful for the same purpose, i.e. treating depression, anxiety or pain, would result in therapeutic effect. Since all compounds for co-administration herein are known to be useful to treat depression, anxiety or pain, it is considered prima facie obvious to co-administer them in a method used for the same purpose. At least additive therapeutic effects would have been reasonably expected. See In re Kerkhoven, 205 USPQ 1069 (CCPA 1980).
The person of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to determine the daily dose of sodium (R)-3-hydroxybutyrate and THC administered in the combination, because such optimization of daily dose of therapeutic agents in a method of treatment in order to achieve optimum therapeutic effect, is well within the skill of the artisan.
Further, the person of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to co-administer sodium ( R)-3-hydroxybutyrate and THC in combination or simultaneously, as in instant claim 30, in the same dosage form, as in instant claim 37, or separately, as in instant claim 32, because such an optimization of frequency/time of administration in a method of treatment is routine, well within the skill of the artisan.
As such, claims 17, 18, 24, 30-35, 37-39, 41, 43, 49, 50, 53-64, 66 are rejected as prima facie obvious.
Claims 17, 65 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Greenwood et al. (US 2008/0058416, cited in PTO-892 of 20 February 2024) and Werner et al. (US 2004/0138293, cited in PTO-892 of 20 February 2024) as applied to claim 17 above, in view of D’Agostino et al. (US 2014/0350105, cited in PTO-892 of 12 April 2022).
Greenwood and Werner are as above.
Greenwood (US 2008/0058416) teaches a method of administering a ketogenic material which is sodium ( R)- 3-hydroxybutyrate (Table 1, [0014]), which is inherently present in sodium beta-hydroxybutyrate, which is a compound of instant claims 17, to a mammal to treat [0015] depression, anxiety, and/or pain.
Greenwood teaches [0002] that ketosis in mammals can be provided by administering of ketogenic materials such as acetoacetate, (R)-3-hydroxybutyrate or salts thereof ([0010], line 7); ketogenic materials produce a physiologically acceptable ketosis when administered to a patient.
Greenwood teaches [0009] that the ketosis produced is a state in which levels of one or both of acetoacetate and (R)-3-hydroxybutyrate concentrations in the blood of the subject are raised. Thus, Greenwood teaches administering a ketogenic material/ketone bodies to a mammal comprising administering beta-hydroxybutyrate salt, in an amount effective to raise blood ketone levels in the mammal, as in instant claim 17.
The mammal is not in a state of ketosis at the time of initial administration, as in the instant claims.
Greenwood does not teach administering beta-hydroxybutyric acid salts comprising at least one BHB salt which is not sodium BHB, as in instant claim 65.
Greenwood does not teach tetrahydrocannabinol (THC) in combination with 3-hydroxybutyrate salts, as in the instant claims.
Werner et al. (US 2004/0138293) teaches a pharmaceutical composition containing THC : CBD 75:25 to 80:20, preferably 2:1 [0014] effective to treat pain, depression, anxiety.
Werner does not teach co-administration of THC and beta-hydroxybutyric acid or its salts, as in the instant claims.
D’Agostino teaches [0033] a method of administering ketone bodies to a mammal by orally administering (ingestion) a composition comprising at least one beta-hydroxybutyrate salt, comprising beta-hydroxy butyrate sodium salt, beta- hydroxy butyrate potassium salt, beta-hydroxy butyrate calcium salt, beta- hydroxy butyrate magnesium salt or a combination thereof in an amount effective to raise blood ketone levels. Thus, D’Agostino implicitly teaches that sodium salt of beta-hydroxybutyrate can be used interchangeably with for example, beta- hydroxy butyrate potassium salt, beta-hydroxy butyrate calcium salt, beta- hydroxy butyrate magnesium salt or in combinations thereof, which is consistent with one or more beta-hydroxybutyrate salts comprising at least one BHB salt which is not sodium BHB, as in instant claim 65.
D’Agostino teaches that the salt of BHB contains the racemic DL-beta hydroxybutyrate [0036], last three lines), or the single isomer R-beta hydroxybutyrate ([0034], last 3 lines).
It would have been obvious to combine the teachings of Greenwood and Werner to arrive at the instant invention. The person of ordinary skill in the art would have co-administered sodium ( R)-3-hydroxybutyrate and THC to a subject having depression, anxiety or pain, because Greenwood teaches that administering sodium ( R)-3-hydroxybutyrate by ingestion to a mammal is effective to treat depression, anxiety or pain, and Werner teaches that a composition comprising THC is effective to treat, for example, depression, anxiety, pain.
Thus, the person of ordinary skill in the art would have co-administered sodium ( R)-3-hydroxybutyrate with the THC composition taught by Werner, to a subject suffering from depression, anxiety or pain, with the expectation that the combination is effective to treat depression, anxiety or pain. One of ordinary skill in the art would have reasonably expected that combining sodium ( R)-3-hydroxybutyrate and THC, known to be useful for the same purpose, i.e. treating depression, anxiety or pain, would result in therapeutic effect. Since all compounds for co-administration herein are known to be useful to treat depression, anxiety or pain, it is considered prima facie obvious to co-administer them in a method used for the same purpose. At least additive therapeutic effects would have been reasonably expected. See In re Kerkhoven, 205 USPQ 1069 (CCPA 1980).
Regarding claim 65, the person of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to replace sodium (R)-3-hydroxybutyrate with another BHB salt, or to add another BHB salt to sodium (R)-3-hydroxybutyrate, in a combination with THC, because Greenwood teaches broadly 3-hydroxybutyrate or salts thereof as ketogenic materials, and
D’Agostino teaches that sodium salt of beta-hydroxybutyrate can be used interchangeably with for example, beta- hydroxy butyrate potassium salt, beta-hydroxy butyrate calcium salt, or beta- hydroxy butyrate magnesium salt or in combinations thereof, in a composition orally administered to raise blood ketone levels. Thus, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have replaced sodium (R)-3-hydroxybutyrate with another BHB salt, or would have added an additional BHB salt to sodium (R)-3-hydroxybutyrate, such as beta- hydroxy butyrate potassium salt, beta-hydroxy butyrate calcium salt, or beta- hydroxy butyrate magnesium salt, in a combination with THC, with the expectation that said BHB potassium salt, calcium salt, or magnesium salt, will retain the therapeutic effect achieved with BHB sodium salt.
As such, claims 17, 65 are rejected as prima facie obvious.
Conclusion
Claims 17, 18, 24, 30-35, 37-39, 41, 43, 49, 50, 53-67 are rejected.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/IRINA NEAGU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1629