DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Objections
Claim 31 is objected to because of the following informalities: a comma (,) is missing from the step: “transmitting from the operator processing device to an instructor processing device, the received ultrasound image data”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 22 – 39 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rothberg et al. (US 2017/0360401 A1) in view of Jung et al. (US 2015/0005630 A1).
Re claims 22, 31:
Rothberg teaches
22. A system (Rothberg, Abstract) comprising:
an ultrasound imaging device having a body and a transducer head (Rothberg, fig. 1), an operator processing device including processing circuitry configured to implement a trained statistical model for identifying a pose of the ultrasound imaging device (Rothberg, [0006], “the App may leverage state-of-the-art machine learning technology, such as deep learning. In these embodiments, the App may employ a trained model, such as a trained neural network, that is configured to generate instructions to provide to the operator”; Machine learning and deep learning are trained statistical model), and transmit circuitry configured to transmit data representing ultrasound images and the pose (Rothberg, [0003], “learn how to appropriately position an ultrasound device on a subject to capture an ultrasound image in various anatomical views”; [0006]),
an instructor processing device configured to receive from a user, a selection of a subset of ultrasound images from data transmitted from the operator processing device, and transmit an indication of the selection to the operator processing device (Rothberg, [0210], “FIGS. 7A-7H show an example user interface for a diagnostic application that is configured to assist an operator determine whether a subject is experiencing heart failure. The diagnostic application may be designed to be used by, for example, a health care professional such as a doctor, a nurse, or a physician assistant”; [0218]; [0224]; [0260], “The trained clinician may add a qualitative label to each of the sample patient images”);
wherein the operator processing device is configured to implement the trained statistical model to determine a target pose for the ultrasound imaging device which corresponds to the pose which produced the ultrasound images from the selected subset (Rothberg, [0006], “the trained model may recognize these medically irrelevant images and generate an instruction regarding how the operator should reposition the ultrasound device to capture a medically relevant ultrasound image”; [0023]; [0145], “the computing device may analyze a captured ultrasound image using deep learning techniques to determine whether the ultrasound image contains the target anatomical view … the computing device may instruct the operator how to reposition the ultrasound device (e.g., “MOVE UP,” “MOVE LEFT,” “MOVE RIGHT,” “ROTATE CLOCKWISE,” “ROTATE COUNTER-CLOCKWISE,” or “MOVE DOWN”) to capture an ultrasound image that contains the target anatomical view”), and
determine with the statistical model the current pose of the ultrasound imaging device and generate an instruction for a user to move the ultrasound imaging device from the current pose to the target pose (Rothberg, [0006]; [0023]; [0145]; [0164]; [0167]; [0185], “computing device 104 may use a machine learning technique (such as a deep learning technique) to directly map the ultrasound image 110 to an output to provide to the user such as an indication of proper positioning or an instruction to reposition the ultrasound device 102 (e.g., instruction 108)”; [0229], “identifying an anatomical view contained in the ultrasound image (e.g., using deep learning techniques) and map the identified anatomical view to a position on the subject. The target position may be identified by, for example, mapping the target anatomical view to a position on the subject”).
Rothberg teaches
31. A method of instructing a user (Rothberg, Abstract) comprising:
imaging with an ultrasound device, a patient at a series of positions (Rothberg, [0153], “The instructions may be pre-recorded and determined by comparing the current positioning of the ultrasound device relative to one or more prior positions of the ultrasound device”),
receiving with an operator processing device, ultrasound image data from the ultrasound device at each position in the series of positions (Rothberg, [0026], “the guidance plan comprises a sequence of instructions to guide the operator of the ultrasound device to move the ultrasound device to a target location”; [0154], “generate a guidance plan for how to guide the operator to move the ultrasound device from an initial position on the subject to a target position on the subject. The guidance plan may comprise a series of simple instructions or steps (e.g., “MOVE UP,” “MOVE DOWN,” “MOVE LEFT,” or “MOVE RIGHT”) to guide the operator from the initial position to the target position”; fig. 16, “transducer array(s)”; [0320]),
determining, with a statistical model operated by the operator processing device, the pose of the ultrasound device which produced the images of the selected subset a target pose of the ultrasound device based on the indication of the selected subset (Rothberg, [0006], “the App may leverage state-of-the-art machine learning technology, such as deep learning. In these embodiments, the App may employ a trained model, such as a trained neural network, that is configured to generate instructions to provide to the operator”; Machine learning and deep learning are trained statistical model; [0003], “learn how to appropriately position an ultrasound device on a subject to capture an ultrasound image in various anatomical views”; [0006]),
determining with the statistical model, a current pose of the ultrasound device and comparing the current pose of the ultrasound device to the target pose for the ultrasound device (Rothberg, [0006]; [0023]; [0145]; [0164]; [0167]; [0185], “computing device 104 may use a machine learning technique (such as a deep learning technique) to directly map the ultrasound image 110 to an output to provide to the user such as an indication of proper positioning or an instruction to reposition the ultrasound device 102 (e.g., instruction 108)”; [0229], “identifying an anatomical view contained in the ultrasound image (e.g., using deep learning techniques) and map the identified anatomical view to a position on the subject. The target position may be identified by, for example, mapping the target anatomical view to a position on the subject”), and
generating with the operator processing device, and instruction for the user to move the ultrasound device from the current pose of the ultrasound device to the target pose (Rothberg, [0006], “the trained model may recognize these medically irrelevant images and generate an instruction regarding how the operator should reposition the ultrasound device to capture a medically relevant ultrasound image”; [0023]; [0145], “the computing device may analyze a captured ultrasound image using deep learning techniques to determine whether the ultrasound image contains the target anatomical view … the computing device may instruct the operator how to reposition the ultrasound device (e.g., “MOVE UP,” “MOVE LEFT,” “MOVE RIGHT,” “ROTATE CLOCKWISE,” “ROTATE COUNTER-CLOCKWISE,” or “MOVE DOWN”) to capture an ultrasound image that contains the target anatomical view”).
Rothberg does not explicitly disclose an instructor processing device configured to receive from a user, a selection of a subset of ultrasound images from data transmitted from the operator processing device, and transmit an indication of the selection to the operator processing device; instead Rothberg teaches a diagnostic application may be designed to be used by, for example, a health care professional such as a doctor, a nurse, or a physician assistant” (Rothberg, [0210], “FIGS. 7A-7H show an example user interface for a diagnostic application that is configured to assist an operator determine whether a subject is experiencing heart failure. The diagnostic application may be designed to be used by, for example, a health care professional such as a doctor, a nurse, or a physician assistant”; [0218]; [0224]; [0260], “The trained clinician may add a qualitative label to each of the sample patient images”).
Jung teaches a method of sharing information about an ultrasound image including acquiring an ultrasound image of an object; identifying a sharing level associated with an external device for sharing the ultrasound image; and transmitting ultrasound information about the ultrasound image to the external device according to the identified sharing level (Jung, Abstract).
Jung et al. (US 2015/0005630 A1) teaches a method of sharing information about an ultrasound image including acquiring an ultrasound image of an object; identifying a sharing level associated with an external device for sharing the ultrasound image; and transmitting ultrasound information about the ultrasound image to the external device according to the identified sharing level (Jung, Abstract).
Jung teaches (claim 1) an instructor processing device configured to receive from a user, a selection of a subset of ultrasound images from data transmitted from the operator processing device, and transmit an indication of the selection to the operator processing device (Jung, [0274] – [0275], “The second device 2000 may control the ultrasound apparatus 3000 to display a certain ultrasound image, and thus, the medical expert may select and display a desired ultrasound image from the thumbnail images or review window displayed on the ultrasound apparatus 3000, and then, check the selected ultrasound image”; [0352], “the user of the ultrasound apparatus may communicate with the medical expert about the ultrasound images in real-time, the doctor may provide an expeditious feedback and may direct appropriate operations … the doctor located in a remote location may check the image and remotely direct the ultrasound apparatus to re-take the image, change the scan direction, take a different image, perform calibration, change imaging parameters, etc. (operations S2420 and S2422) … the doctor may control the scan direction and movement of the ultrasound probe, by operating the remote controller provided via the doctor's device”). (claim 2) transmitting from the operator processing device to an instructor processing device, the received ultrasound image data displaying, on the instructor processing device, the ultrasound image data as a series of ultrasound images, recording with the instructor processing device, a selection from a user of a subset of the series of ultrasound images (Jung, [0274] – [0275], “The second device 2000 may control the ultrasound apparatus 3000 to display a certain ultrasound image, and thus, the medical expert may select and display a desired ultrasound image from the thumbnail images or review window displayed on the ultrasound apparatus 3000, and then, check the selected ultrasound image”; [0352], “the user of the ultrasound apparatus may communicate with the medical expert about the ultrasound images in real-time, the doctor may provide an expeditious feedback and may direct appropriate operations … the doctor located in a remote location may check the image and remotely direct the ultrasound apparatus to re-take the image, change the scan direction, take a different image, perform calibration, change imaging parameters, etc. (operations S2420 and S2422) … the doctor may control the scan direction and movement of the ultrasound probe, by operating the remote controller provided via the doctor's device”), transmitting to the operator processing device from the instructor processing device, and indication of the selected subset (Jung, [0262], “the ultrasound apparatus 3000 may display the first pointer 1630 of the ultrasound apparatus 3000 and the second pointer 1620 of the second device 2000 on the ultrasound image 1600 displayed on the ultrasound apparatus 3000. Therefore, the technician and the doctor may identify areas of interest of each other by locating the pointer on a point of interest via the bi-directional chatting, in real time”; [0352], “the user of the ultrasound apparatus may communicate with the medical expert about the ultrasound images in real-time, the doctor may provide an expeditious feedback and may direct appropriate operations … the doctor located in a remote location may check the image and remotely direct the ultrasound apparatus to re-take the image, change the scan direction, take a different image, perform calibration, change imaging parameters, etc. (operations S2420 and S2422) … the doctor may control the scan direction and movement of the ultrasound probe, by operating the remote controller provided via the doctor's device”).
Therefore, in view of Jung, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method described in Rothberg, by reviewing ultrasound images by remote physician as taught by Jung, so that the medical expert may select and display a desired ultrasound image from the thumbnail images or review window displayed on the ultrasound apparatus, and then, check the selected ultrasound image. The medical expert may expand another ultrasound image while reviewing the selected ultrasound image. The medical expert may control the ultrasound apparatus remotely to store the ultrasound image again, re-take the image, or may directly correct the report generated by the technician (Jung, [0274] – [0275]; [0352]).
Re claims 23 – 24:
23. The system of claim 22 wherein;
the pose of the ultrasound imaging device comprises pose data including a relative angle and a position of the ultrasound imaging device (Rothberg, [0269], “The set of instructions may include: (1) tilt the ultrasound device inferomedially, (2) rotate the ultrasound device counterclockwise, (3) rotate the ultrasound device clockwise, (4) move the ultrasound device one intercostal space down, (5) move the ultrasound device one intercostal space up, and ( 6) slide the ultrasound device medially”; [0236], “configured to detect movement (e.g., accelerometers, gyroscopes, compasses, and/or inertial measurement units)”).
24. The system of claim 23 wherein;
the relative angle and position of the ultrasound imaging device may be relative to the operator processing device or to a body of a patient (Rothberg, [0269], “The set of instructions may include: (1) tilt the ultrasound device inferomedially, (2) rotate the ultrasound device counterclockwise, (3) rotate the ultrasound device clockwise, (4) move the ultrasound device one intercostal space down, (5) move the ultrasound device one intercostal space up, and ( 6) slide the ultrasound device medially”; [0236], “configured to detect movement (e.g., accelerometers, gyroscopes, compasses, and/or inertial measurement units)”).
Re claim 25:
25. The system of claim 23 wherein the pose data comprises numerical values representing the relative angle and position of the ultrasound imaging device (Rothberg, [0269], “The set of instructions may include: (1) tilt the ultrasound device inferomedially, (2) rotate the ultrasound device counterclockwise, (3) rotate the ultrasound device clockwise, (4) move the ultrasound device one intercostal space down, (5) move the ultrasound device one intercostal space up, and ( 6) slide the ultrasound device medially”; [0236], “configured to detect movement (e.g., accelerometers, gyroscopes, compasses, and/or inertial measurement units)”; sensors output digital values).
Re claim 26:
26. The system of claim 22 wherein the trained statistical model is trained to be configured to identify the pose of an ultrasound imaging device based on ultrasound images wherein a pose of an ultrasound imaging device which produced the image is identified (Rothberg, [0006]; [0023]; [0145]; [0164]; [0167]; [0185], “computing device 104 may use a machine learning technique (such as a deep learning technique) to directly map the ultrasound image 110 to an output to provide to the user such as an indication of proper positioning or an instruction to reposition the ultrasound device 102 (e.g., instruction 108)”; [0229], “identifying an anatomical view contained in the ultrasound image (e.g., using deep learning techniques) and map the identified anatomical view to a position on the subject. The target position may be identified by, for example, mapping the target anatomical view to a position on the subject”).
Re claim 27:
27. The system of claim 22 wherein the trained statistical model is trained to identify the pose of the ultrasound imaging device based on images on an ultrasound imaging device in contact with a patient, wherein a pose of the ultrasound device is identified (Rothberg, [0006], “the App may leverage state-of-the-art machine learning technology, such as deep learning. In these embodiments, the App may employ a trained model, such as a trained neural network, that is configured to generate instructions to provide to the operator”; Machine learning and deep learning are trained statistical model; [0003], “learn how to appropriately position an ultrasound device on a subject to capture an ultrasound image in various anatomical views”; [0006]).
Re claim 28:
28. The system of claim 22 wherein the instruction comprises a graphical or textual element displayed on the operator processing device (Rothberg, figs. 1, 7A – 7F; fig. 8D).
Re claim 29:
29. The system of claim 22 wherein the instruction comprises instructing a user to move the ultrasound imaging device along a path across a body of a patient where the path includes the target pose (Rothberg, figs. 1, 7A – 7F; fig. 8D; [0118]; [0145]).
Re claim 30:
30. The system of claim 22 wherein the instruction comprises instructing the user to rotate, tilt, and/or translate the ultrasound imaging device (Rothberg, figs. 1, 7A – 7F; fig. 8D; [0118]; [0145]).
Re claim 32:
32. The method of claim 31 wherein the pose of the ultrasound device comprises the relative angle and position of the ultrasound device (Rothberg, [0269], “The set of instructions may include: (1) tilt the ultrasound device inferomedially, (2) rotate the ultrasound device counterclockwise, (3) rotate the ultrasound device clockwise, (4) move the ultrasound device one intercostal space down, (5) move the ultrasound device one intercostal space up, and ( 6) slide the ultrasound device medially”; [0236], “configured to detect movement (e.g., accelerometers, gyroscopes, compasses, and/or inertial measurement units)”).
Re claim 33:
33. The method of claim 32 wherein the relative angle and position of the ultrasound device may be relative to the operator processing device or to the body of the patient (Rothberg, [0269], “The set of instructions may include: (1) tilt the ultrasound device inferomedially, (2) rotate the ultrasound device counterclockwise, (3) rotate the ultrasound device clockwise, (4) move the ultrasound device one intercostal space down, (5) move the ultrasound device one intercostal space up, and ( 6) slide the ultrasound device medially”; [0236], “configured to detect movement (e.g., accelerometers, gyroscopes, compasses, and/or inertial measurement units)”).
Re claim 34:
34. The method of claim 32 wherein the pose data comprises numerical values representing the relative angle and position of the ultrasound device (Rothberg, [0269], “The set of instructions may include: (1) tilt the ultrasound device inferomedially, (2) rotate the ultrasound device counterclockwise, (3) rotate the ultrasound device clockwise, (4) move the ultrasound device one intercostal space down, (5) move the ultrasound device one intercostal space up, and ( 6) slide the ultrasound device medially”; [0236], “configured to detect movement (e.g., accelerometers, gyroscopes, compasses, and/or inertial measurement units)”; sensors output digital values).
Re claim 35:
35. The method of claim 31 wherein the trained statistical model is trained to identify the pose of the ultrasound imaging device based on ultrasound images wherein the pose data of an ultrasound device which produced the image is identified (Rothberg, [0006]; [0023]; [0145]; [0164]; [0167]; [0185], “computing device 104 may use a machine learning technique (such as a deep learning technique) to directly map the ultrasound image 110 to an output to provide to the user such as an indication of proper positioning or an instruction to reposition the ultrasound device 102 (e.g., instruction 108)”; [0229], “identifying an anatomical view contained in the ultrasound image (e.g., using deep learning techniques) and map the identified anatomical view to a position on the subject. The target position may be identified by, for example, mapping the target anatomical view to a position on the subject”).
Re claim 36:
36. The method of claim 31 wherein the trained statistical model is trained to identify the pose of the ultrasound device based on images on an ultrasound device in contact with a patient, wherein the pose data of the ultrasound device is identified (Rothberg, [0006], “the App may leverage state-of-the-art machine learning technology, such as deep learning. In these embodiments, the App may employ a trained model, such as a trained neural network, that is configured to generate instructions to provide to the operator”; Machine learning and deep learning are trained statistical model; [0003], “learn how to appropriately position an ultrasound device on a subject to capture an ultrasound image in various anatomical views”; [0006]).
Re claim 37:
37. The method of claim 31 wherein the instruction comprises a graphical or textual element displayed on the operator processing device (Rothberg, figs. 1, 7A – 7F; fig. 8D).
Re claim 38:
38. The method of claim 31 wherein the instruction comprises instructing a user to move the ultrasound device along a path across the body of a patient where the path includes the target pose (Rothberg, figs. 1, 7A – 7F; fig. 8D; [0118]; [0145]).
Re claim 39:
39. The method of claim 31 wherein the instruction comprises instructing the user to rotate, tilt, and/or translate the ultrasound device (Rothberg, figs. 1, 7A – 7F; fig. 8D; [0118]; [0145]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 22 – 39 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/JACK YIP/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3715