DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Claim Objections
Claim 85 is objected to because of the following informalities: last line recites “configured to be controlled to independent of the array of optical fibers” which is confusing and should be changed to “configured to be controlled . Appropriate correction is required.
Claims 91-93 and 96-106 are also objected to as being dependent upon claim 85.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 85, 92, 93, 98, 99 and 104 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Nagano (US 2003/0052105) in view of Mead (US 2011/0122482), Hopkinson (WO 2013/021173) and Burris (US 2014/0271328). Hopkinson (US 2014/0314613) is being used as an English language equivalent for Hopkinson (WO 2013/021173).
With respect to the limitations of claim 85, Nagano teaches an additive manufacturing system (title) configured to provide a multi-spot 1-D image, a multi-spot 2-D image or both (Figs 20-27, line segment 16b, consisting of multiple overlapping beam spots) on a powder bed (Fig 13, power body 12, 212, 0132, 0195), the system comprising: a light source (Figs 21-23, semiconductor lasers 530, 0154, 0155) in optical communication with an array of optical fibers (Figs 20, 23, 27, optical fibers 24, 0154) for transmitting the multi-spot image; the array of optical fibers (24) are in optical communication with a reimaging optic (light modulation device array 402, 0172, linearly focuses a beam modulated every pixel in accordance with image data by the light-modulation-device array 402; Figs 25, 26, 0173-177); the reimaging optic is configured to reimage (0172) the multi-spot image on the powder bed (12, 212); and, whereby the multi-spot image has a power density sufficient to fuse and build a part from the powder bed (0017, 0018, 0092, 0093, 0179); the light source comprises a plurality of optical fibers (24) coupling light from an array of fiber lasers (530) operating in a wavelength range (0107, 0196, 450 nm); the reimaging optic (402) has a power in the range of 1:0.5 to 1:10 (power of 1 to 1, 0181-0182).
Nagano discloses the claimed invention except for operating in a wavelength range of 478 nm; the fiber lasers are fiber Raman lasers; comprising a pyrometer array for directly monitoring the temperature in each spot during operation and providing a feedback signal to a microprocessor that controls the power to each spot and therefore the build quality of the part on a spot by spot basis; a secondary image source configured to output a secondary image that overlaps with the multi-spot image on the powder bed, wherein a majority of an energy deposited by the secondary image on the powder bed is in a direction of travel of the multi-spot image such that the secondary image precedes the multi-spot image in the direction of travel and the secondary image source comprises an addressable laser diode array configured to be controlled to independent of the array of optical fibers.
However, Mead discloses the fiber lasers are fiber Raman lasers (Fig 1, pump diodes 110, fiber-laser modules 101-103, Raman-converter 131, 0046, 0050) is known in the art. It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to adapt the additive manufacturing system of Nagano having a fiber laser with the fiber lasers are fiber Raman lasers of Mead for the purpose of providing a known Raman fiber laser that provides greater gain bandwidth than the original laser which results in a wider spectrum of differing wavelengths to be generated, enabling more system-design flexibility (0030).
Additionally, Hopkinson discloses comprising a pyrometer array (Figs 1-6, pyrometer or a thermal imaging camera 31, 0112, one or more sensors 31) for directly monitoring the temperature in each spot during operation multiple laser spots at central portion 24, 0108) and providing a feedback signal to a microprocessor (0043, 0050, 0054) that controls the power to each spot and therefore the build quality of the part on a spot by spot basis (0009, 0012-0014). It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to adapt the additive manufacturing system of Nagano in view of Mead silent to a pyrometer array with comprising a pyrometer array for directly monitoring the temperature in each spot during operation and providing a feedback signal to a microprocessor that controls the power to each spot and therefore the build quality of the part on a spot by spot basis of Hopkinson for the purpose of providing a known sensor / controller configuration that adjust laser power based on a temperature feedback to achieve a desired laser power for sintering (0043, 0050, 0054).
Moreover, Burris discloses a secondary image source configured to output a secondary image (Figs 2, 4C, 4D, 10, 12B, second laser output optic 142, 0016) that overlaps (Figs 4C, 4D, 12B, 0042, 0061, overlapping spots) with the multi-spot image on the powder bed, a majority of an energy deposited by the secondary image on the powder bed is in a direction of travel of the multi-spot image such that the secondary image precedes the multi-spot image in the direction of travel (Figs 4C, 4D, 12B, shows overlapping secondary image preceding the main multi-spot image) the secondary image source comprises an addressable laser diode array configured to be controlled to independent of the array of optical fibers (0046, the apparatus 100 can control operating wavelengths, powers, power densities, energy densities, etc. of the laser diodes, such as independently or in combination; 0062; 0069) is known in the art. It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to adapt the additive manufacturing system of Nagano having a main multi-spot image silent to a secondary image source with the secondary image source configured to output a secondary image that overlaps with the multi-spot image on the powder bed, wherein a majority of an energy deposited by the secondary image on the powder bed is in a direction of travel of the multi-spot image such that the secondary image precedes the multi-spot image in the direction of travel and the secondary image source comprises an addressable laser diode array configured to be controlled to independent of the array of optical fibers of Burris for the purpose of providing a known secondary image source configuration that can cooperate to project overlapping (or intersecting) energy beams of different wavelengths to control (or minimize) constructive and destructive interference between the first and second energy beams (0094), thereby improving the overall versatility of the device.
Nagano in view of Mead, Hopkinson and Burris discloses the claimed invention except for explicitly showing the array of fiber lasers operating in a wavelength range of 478 nm. However, it would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to have the array of fiber lasers operating in a wavelength range of 478 nm, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable laser wavelength ranges involves only routine skill in the art (see MPEP 2144.04).
With respect to the limitations of claim 92, Nagano teaches the light source is individual fibers mounted independently (Figs 20, 23, 27, light source 22, optical fibers 24, 0154).
With respect to the limitations of claims 93, 98 and 99, Nagano teaches the light source is a plurality of lasers (semiconductor lasers 530). Nagano in view of Mead discloses the claimed invention but is silent to comprising a high resolution thermal imaging camera for directly monitoring the temperature in each spot during operation and providing a feedback signal to a microprocessor that controls the power to each spot and therefore the build quality of the part on a spot by spot basis; further comprising a controller and a camera system to monitor each spot of the multi-spot image on the powder bed; and thereby provide a real time control signal to the controller for each of the plurality of lasers to control a fusing of a powder in the powder bed to optimize one or more of a surface roughness, a porosity and a stress in the part; the control signal comprises a signal proportional to a temperature of the powder bed.
However, Hopkinson discloses further comprising a high resolution thermal imaging camera or a pyrometer (Figs 1-6, pyrometer or a thermal imaging camera 31, 0112) for directly monitoring the temperature in each spot during operation (multiple laser spots at central portion 24, 0108) and providing a feedback signal to a microprocessor (0043, 0050, 0054) that controls the power to each spot and therefore the build quality of the part on a spot by spot basis (0009, 0012-0014); further comprising a controller (0043, 0050, 0054) and a camera system (Figs 1-6, pyrometer or a thermal imaging camera 31, 0112) to monitor each spot multiple laser spots at central portion 24, 0108) of the multi-spot image on the powder bed; and thereby provide a real time control signal to the controller for each of the plurality of lasers to control a fusing of a powder in the powder bed (0009, 0012-0014, 0017) to optimize one or more of a surface roughness, a porosity and a stress in the part; the control signal comprises a signal proportional to a temperature of the powder bed (0112, surface temperature measurements are communicated in real time to the controller 13) is known in the art.
It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to adapt the additive manufacturing system of Nagano in view of Mead silent to a high resolution thermal imaging camera or pyrometer with the further comprising a high resolution thermal imaging camera for directly monitoring the temperature in each spot during operation and providing a feedback signal to a microprocessor that controls the power to each spot and therefore the build quality of the part on a spot by spot basis; comprising a pyrometer array for directly monitoring the temperature in each spot during operation and providing a feedback signal to a microprocessor that controls the power to each spot and therefore the build quality of the part on a spot by spot basis; further comprising a controller and a camera system to monitor each spot of the multi-spot image on the powder bed; and thereby provide a real time control signal to the controller for each of the plurality of lasers to control a fusing of a powder in the powder bed to optimize one or more of a surface roughness, a porosity and a stress in the part; the control signal comprises a signal proportional to a temperature of the powder bed of Hopkinson for the purpose of providing a known sensor / controller configuration that adjust laser power based on a temperature feedback to achieve a desired laser power for sintering (0043, 0050, 0054).
With respect to the limitations of claim 104, Nagano teaches further comprising a controller (0082, controller not illustrated) and a print head: the print head (Figs 21-23, semiconductor lasers 530, 0154, 0155) comprises: an end of the array of optical fibers (Figs 20, 23, 27, optical fibers 24, 0154), the reimaging optic (light modulation device array 402, 0172, linearly focuses a beam modulated every pixel in accordance with image data by the light-modulation-device array 402). Nagano in view of Mead discloses the claimed invention except for a thermal imaging camera system; the thermal imaging camera system provides a signal to the controller; whereby based upon the signal the controller controls the reimaged multi-spot image to control a temperature of the powder bed.
However, Hopkinson discloses a thermal imaging camera system (Figs 1-6, pyrometer or a thermal imaging camera 31, 0112); the thermal imaging camera system provides a signal to the controller (0043, 0050, 0054); whereby based upon the signal the controller controls the reimaged multi-spot image (multiple laser spots at central portion 24, 0108) to control a temperature of the powder bed (0009, 0012-0014, 0017) is known in the art. It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to adapt the additive manufacturing system of Nagano in view of Mead silent to a high resolution thermal imaging camera with the further comprising a thermal imaging camera system; the thermal imaging camera system provides a signal to the controller; whereby based upon the signal the controller controls the reimaged multi-spot image to control a temperature of the powder bed of Hopkinson for the purpose of providing a known sensor / controller configuration that adjust laser power based on a temperature feedback to achieve a desired laser power for sintering (0043, 0050, 0054).
Claim 89 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Nagano (US 2003/0052105) in view of Mead (US 2011/0122482), Hopkinson (WO 2013/021173) and Burris (US 2014/0271328) as applied to claim 85, further in view of Yalin (US 2012/0051084).
With respect to the limitations of claim 89, Nagano disclose comprising an array of optical fibers having diameters (0161, 0170). Nagano in view of Mead, Hopkinson and Burris discloses the claimed invention except for the optical fibers having diameters selected from the group consisting of 10 µm to 50 µm, 50 µm to 100 µm, and 100 µm to 500 µm. However, Yalin discloses optical fibers (Figs 2, 3, fibers 16a-16c, 045) having diameters selected from the group consisting of 10 µm to 50 µm, 50 µm to 100 µm, and 100 µm to 500 µm (200/220 µm fiber, 0018, 0024) is known in the art. It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to adapt the additive manufacturing system of Nagano in view of Mead, Hopkinson and Burris having an array of optical fibers silent to the diameter with the optical fibers having diameters selected from the group consisting of 10 µm to 50 µm, 50 µm to 100 µm, and 100 µm to 500 µm Yalin for the purpose of providing a known optical fiber diameter that provides for the transmission of laser pulses with high output beam quality (0003).
Claim 91 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Nagano (US 2003/0052105) in view of Mead (US 2011/0122482), Hopkinson (WO 2013/021173) and Burris (US 2014/0271328) as applied to claim 85, further in view of Rinzer (US 2010/0215326).
With respect to the limitations of claim 91, Nagano in view of Mead, Hopkinson and Burris discloses the claimed invention except for the light source is a bundle of fibers mounted in a single QBH connector. However, Rinzer discloses the light source (Fig 3, laser 301, 0033) is a bundle of fibers (0046, bundle of optical fiber cables) mounted in a single QBH connector (QBH connector, 0033) is known in the art. It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to adapt the additive manufacturing system of Nagano in view of Mead, Hopkinson and Burris having a bundle of optical fibers silent to the connection type with the light source is a bundle of fibers mounted in a single QBH connector of Rinzer for the purpose of using a known connection configuration that is suitable for the efficient transmission of a laser along an optical fiber path.
Claims 96 and 97 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Nagano (US 2003/0052105) in view of Mead (US 2011/0122482), Hopkinson (WO 2013/021173) and Burris (US 2014/0271328) as applied to claim 85, further in view of Inoue (US 2009/0025638).
With respect to the limitations of claims 96 and 97, Nagano discloses a rotating wheel to compress and compact the powder, reducing the porosity of the powder bed (Fig 1, roller 364, powder body 212, 0079). Nagano in view of Mead and Hopkinson discloses the claimed invention except for the additive manufacturing system further comprising a gravity fed powder delivery system configured for operating in both directions; further comprising a powder delivery system, the powder delivery system comprising a roller and a hopper, the roller is configured to move opposite to a direction of the hopper travel. However, Inoue discloses the additive manufacturing system further comprising a gravity fed powder delivery system (Fig 1, powder feed 30, 0098) configured for operating in both directions (+/- Y, 0098); further comprising a powder delivery system, the powder delivery system comprising a roller (Fig 6, leveling member 95, 0198) and a hopper (powder feed 30), the roller is configured to move opposite to a direction of the hopper travel is known in the art. It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to adapt the additive manufacturing system of Nagano in view of Mead, Hopkinson and Burris having a roller with the additive manufacturing system further comprising a gravity fed powder delivery system configured for operating in both directions; further comprising a powder delivery system, the powder delivery system comprising a roller and a hopper, the roller is configured to move opposite to a direction of the hopper travel of Inoue for the purpose of providing a known powder delivery system and roller movement configuration that is suitable for the building of 3D parts in a laser sintering system.
Claims 100, 101, 102 and 103 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Nagano (US 2003/0052105) in view of Mead (US 2011/0122482), Hopkinson (WO 2013/021173) and Burris (US 2014/0271328) as applied to claim 85.
With respect to the limitations of claims 100, 101, 102 and 103, Nagano teaches the light source comprises a blue laser source (0107, oscillating at a wavelength of 450 nm) for fusing medal power (0195, stainless steel 420) in a powder bed (Fig 13, power body 12, 212, 0132, 0195). Nagano discloses the claimed invention except for the powder is copper, gold or aluminum. However, Nagano discloses that the selection of a specific powder material suitable for a specific purpose (0195) is known in the art. It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to adapt the additive manufacturing system of Nagano silent to the metal powder is copper, gold or aluminum with the metal powder is copper, gold or aluminum of Nagano for the purpose of selecting a specific material that is suitable for its intended purpose (0195).
Claims 105 and 106 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Nagano (US 2003/0052105) in view of Mead (US 2011/0122482) Hopkinson (WO 2013/021173) and Burris (US 2014/0271328) as applied to claim 85, further in view of Tomohiro (JP 2007025003). An English machine translation of Tomohiro (JP 2007025003) is included with the Notice of Reference Cited (PTO-892).
With respect to the limitations of claim 105, Nagano teaches the reimaging optic comprises: a collimating lens (Figs 1, 2, homogenizer 26 serving as a shaping optical system for collimating laser beams, 0081); and, a focusing lens (condensing lens 30, 0081), the focusing lens comprising a piano-convex lens, or a piano-convex asphere lens; and, the light source (semiconductor lasers 530) is one focal length away from the collimating lens (26) and one focal length away from the focusing lens (30). Nagano in view of Mead, Hopkinson and Burris discloses the claimed invention except for the collimating lens comprises a piano-convex lens, a piano-convex asphere lens, or a doublet or a triplet lens pair.
However, Tomohiro discloses the collimating lens comprises a piano-convex lens (Pg 22, Pgh 14, plano-convex lens), a piano-convex asphere lens, or a doublet or a triplet lens pair is known in the art. It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to adapt the additive manufacturing system of Nagano in view of Mead, Hopkinson and Burris having a collimator and focusing optics the collimating lens comprises a piano-convex lens, a piano-convex asphere lens, or a doublet or a triplet lens pair of Tomohiro for the purpose of providing known plano-convex lens configuration that is suitable for collimating laser light from an optical fiber (Figs 5, 6).
With respect to the limitations of claim 106, Nagano discloses further comprising a print head (Figs 21-23, semiconductor lasers 530, 0154, 0155) and the reimaging optic (light modulation device array 402) comprises a lens (lens 403, 404, 0179). Nagano in view of Mead, Hopkinson, Burris and Tomohiro discloses the claimed invention except for the lens is at least two focal lengths away from the light source and the reimaged multi-spot image is at least two focal lengths away from the lens in the opposite direction. However, it would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to have the lens is at least two focal lengths away from the light source and the reimaged multi-spot image is at least two focal lengths away from the lens in the opposite direction, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable focal distance involves only routine skill in the art (see MPEP 2144.04).
Response to Amendments
Claim 85 has been amended.
Claims 1-84, 86-90, 94 and 95 have been cancelled.
Claims 85, 91-93 and 95-106 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/23/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The applicant has argued in the Remarks on page 5-6 that the cited prior art of Nagano in view of Mead, Hopkinson and Burris fails to disclose the amended limitations of claim 85 directed to “a wavelength range of 478 nm; and wherein the secondary image source comprises an addressable laser diode array configured to be controlled to independent of the array of optical fibers”, the examiner respectfully disagrees as set forth in the rejection of claim 85 above.
Conclusion
/THIEN S TRAN/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3742
2/10/2026