DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1, 10, have been amended. Claims 18, 22, 26-29 have been cancelled.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 5- 6, 8, 10, 14-16, 34, 36, 37, 39 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ma (U.S. Pub. No 2018/0139774) in view of Fujishiro et al (US20210120622 herein after Fujishiro) further in view of Cao et al. (US 20180123765 herein after Cao) further in view of Lee et al. (US20210160836 herein Lee).
Regarding claim 10, Ma teaches, a user equipment (UE) (Fig. 6A: “UE1”; [0053] a.k.a. “ED”, “as a user equipment/device (UE)”; [0062]: “Fig. 2A illustrates an example ED”) for small data transmission ([0208]: “UE1 for which a grant free allocation scheme is selected”), the UE comprising:
a network interface ([0062]/Fig. 2A: “antenna or NIC 204”; [0056]/Fig. 2A: “air interface 190”) for receiving and transmitting data (Fig. 1: “air interface 190” Rx/Tx with “base station 170”);
a processor (Fig. 2A: “processing unit 200”); and
a non-transient memory (Fig. 2A: “memory 208”) for storing instructions that when executed by the processor cause the UE ([0064]: “memory 208 stores instructions … executed by the processing unit(s) 200”) to:
receive initial configuration information, wherein the initial configuration information includes preconfigured uplink resource (PUR) configuration information ([0202] “In the step 603, a detailed resource allocation is provided to UE1 by the TPR. In step 604, UE1 operating in GF mode, performs the UL transmission based on the assigned transmission resource. Steps 601 to 604 are performed in a similar fashion to step 401 to 404 of FIG. 4A as described above”, [0230] “In all of the above scenarios, the transmission resources are based on preconfigured grant-free resources”),
wherein the PUR configuration information includes information related to a frequency range and a time range for uplink data transmission; after receiving the initial configuration information ([0202] “In the step 603, a detailed resource allocation is provided to UE1 by the TPR. In step 604, UE1 operating in GF mode, performs the UL transmission based on the assigned transmission resource. Steps 601 to 604 are performed in a similar fashion to step 401 to 404 of FIG. 4A as described above”, [0230] “In all of the above scenarios, the transmission resources are based on preconfigured grant-free resources”,
wherein the PUR configuration information includes information related to a frequency range and a time range for uplink data transmission ([0081] “Table 306 is similar in scope to table 302, except instead of MA signatures, there is a one-to-one mapping between physical uplink resources used for the grant-free transmissions and UEs. Nine different time-frequency locations {A1, A2, A3, B1, B2, B3, C1, C2, and C3} are partitioned into initial and retransmission sets and assigned to each one of UEs 110a-c using a one-to-one mapping”);
after receiving the initial configuration information ([0202] “In the step 603, a detailed resource allocation is provided to UE1 by the TPR”), in a PUR without resource overhead required for a random-access process ([0202] “In step 604, UE1 operating in GF mode, performs the UL transmission based on the assigned transmission resource”, (examiner note: grant free or GF is equivalent to “without resource overhead required for a random-access process” defined in applicant’s specification [0042-44]”)),
wherein the PUR uses the frequency range and the time range ([0202] “In step 604, UE1 operating in GF mode, performs the UL transmission based on the assigned transmission resource”)
wherein the PUR configuration information includes information related to a frequency range, a time range for uplink data transmission ([0202] “In the step 603, a detailed resource allocation is provided to UE1 by the TPR. In step 604, UE1 operating in GF mode, performs the UL transmission based on the assigned transmission resource. Steps 601 to 604 are performed in a similar fashion to step 401 to 404 of FIG. 4A as described above”, [0230] “In all of the above scenarios, the transmission resources are based on preconfigured grant-free resources”)
and a downlink control information (DCI) identifier (ID), wherein the DCI ID is a preconfigured radio network temporary identifier (PC-RNTI) used as a UE ID ([0114] “UE ID (pre-defined or pre-allocated”, [0087] “UE connection ID may be a dedicated Cell Radio Network Temporary Identifier (C-RNTI) or an assigned C-RNTI”).
transmit uplink data ([0115] “MA resources such as pilots can be associated with a preconfigured basic resource region… UEs can be pre-configured to access this basic resource region, each UE with pre-defined unique mapping”) to the network node (Fig. 6A, “601 initial access”; [0209]: “UEs send respective data to the TRP in a respective grant-free uplink transmission”; [0003] refers “TRP” to “for example a base station”, [0115] “),
wherein the uplink data transmission is grant free ([209] “grant-free uplink transmission”);
receive first downlink control information (DCI) on the downlink control channel (Fig. 6A: “606 Transmit ACK/NACK” from “TRP” to “UE1”),
wherein the first DCI is indicative of an acknowledgement of the uplink data transmission (above “ACK/NACK”, which [0209] disclose as “for each UE that sent uplink data in a grant-free uplink transmission”) and the PC-RNTI([0209]: “each ACK may be associated with a UE ID” or “associated with an index identifying the MA signature of the uplink transmission being acknowledged”, [0114] “UE ID (pre-defined or pre-allocated”, [0087] “UE connection ID may be a dedicated Cell Radio Network Temporary Identifier (C-RNTI) or an assigned C-RNTI”))
Although Ma teaches receiving, by the UE, initial configuration information, wherein the initial configuration information includes preconfigured uplink resource (PUR) configuration information ([0202] “In the step 603, a detailed resource allocation is provided to UE1 by the TPR. In step 604, UE1 operating in GF mode, performs the UL transmission based on the assigned transmission resource. Steps 601 to 604 are performed in a similar fashion to step 401 to 404 of FIG. 4A as described above”, [0230] “In all of the above scenarios, the transmission resources are based on preconfigured grant-free resources”,
wherein the PUR configuration information includes information related to a frequency range and a time range for uplink data transmission ([0081] “Table 306 is similar in scope to table 302, except instead of MA signatures, there is a one-to-one mapping between physical uplink resources used for the grant-free transmissions and UEs. Nine different time-frequency locations {A1, A2, A3, B1, B2, B3, C1, C2, and C3} are partitioned into initial and retransmission sets and assigned to each one of UEs 110a-c using a one-to-one mapping”);
after receiving the initial configuration information ([0202] “In the step 603, a detailed resource allocation is provided to UE1 by the TPR”),
in a PUR, wherein the PUR uses the frequency range and the time range ([0202] “In step 604, UE1 operating in GF mode, performs the UL transmission based on the assigned transmission resource”).
Ma does not teach receive initial configuration information, wherein the initial configuration information includes preconfigured uplink resource (PUR) configuration information and user specific search space (USS) configuration information for a downlink control channel, and wherein the UE shares the PC-RNTI with other UEs,
transitioning by the UE to idle mode and when the UE is in idle mode, wherein the PUR uses the frequency range and the time range from the intial configuration information and that is associated with the USS,
receive while in idle mode first downlink control information (DCI), and wherein the first DCI is identified on the downlink control channel in idle mode using the USS configuration information;
receive a radio resource control (RRC) message with a C-RNTI from the network node after receiving the first DCI, the C-RNTI configured to be used for subsequent transmission between the UE and the network node;
upon determination that the UE expects more uplink data to be sent after the uplink data transmission in PUR or the UE expects more downlink data to be received after the uplink transmission in PUR include in the uplink data a request to place the UE in connected mode;
and subsequent to the including in the uplink data the request to place the UE in connected mode:
receive a subsequent DCI, wherein the subsequent DCI includes a downlink grant and the C-RNTI; and receiving, downlink data.
However, Fujishiro teaches transitioning by the UE to idle mode ([0089] “In step S103, the UE 100 transitions to the RRC idle mode in response to the reception of an RRC Connection Release message. The controller 130 of the UE 100 will hold the timing advance value at that point (the point of reception of the RRC Connection Release message or the point of transition to the RRC idle mode)”)
and when the UE is in idle mode ([0089] “In step S103, the UE 100 transitions to the RRC idle mode in response to the reception of an RRC Connection Release message. The controller 130 of the UE 100 will hold the timing advance value at that point (the point of reception of the RRC Connection Release message or the point of transition to the RRC idle mode)”),
receive while in idle mode first downlink control information (DCI), and wherein the first DCI is identified on the downlink control channel in idle mode ([0124] “In step S111, the transmitter 210 of the eNB 200 transmits Msg4 to the UE 100. Specifically, the transmitter 210 of the eNB 200 transmits Msg4 (RRC Connection Resume) to the UE 100 via the PDSCH after transmitting the DCI (PDCCH)”))
receive a radio resource control (RRC) message with a C-RNTI from the network node after receiving the first DCI ( [0107] “n step S106, the UE 100 selects a radio resource for uplink transmission in the GFT procedure. Specifically, the receiver 110 of the UE 100 receives, from the eNB 200, information indicating candidate radio resources for use in the transmission of the bit sequence, and the controller 130 of the UE 100 selects a radio resource for use in the transmission of the bit sequence from the candidate radio resources based on the identifier being held (in this operation example, the Resume ID or a portion thereof). By thus selecting a resource by means of an identifier, collision of resources between a plurality of UEs 100 can be suppressed”), Fig 8 “S111”, [0122] “For example, if it overlaps an RNTI (a portion of a Resume ID) already generated for another UE, the controller 130 of the eNB 200 determines to use a different RNTI as the C-RNTI”, [0124] “In step S111, the transmitter 210 of the eNB 200 transmits Msg4 to the UE 100. Specifically, the transmitter 210 of the eNB 200 transmits Msg4 (RRC Connection Resume) to the UE 100 via the PDSCH after transmitting the DCI (PDCCH)”),
the C-RNTI configured to be used for subsequent transmission between the UE and the network node ([0126] “the controller 130 of the UE 100 overwrites the Resume ID being held with that C-RNTI. If the UE 100 transitions to the RRC connected mode, it continuously uses the C-RNTI while the UE 100 is in the RRC connected mode”);
upon determination that the UE expects more uplink data to be sent after the uplink data transmission in PUR or the UE expects more downlink data to be received after the uplink transmission in PUR ([0091] “In step S104, the controller 130 of the UE 100 determines that there is a need to perform data communication. For example, the controller 130 of the UE 100 determines that there is a need to perform data communication (reception of downlink data) in response to generation of uplink data to be transmitted or reception of paging intended for itself. The present description is made on the assumption that uplink data to be transmitted has been generated”, [0108] “the information indicating candidate radio resources may be preconfigured in the UE 100”)
include in the uplink data a request to place the UE in connected mode (Fig. 8 “S108 Msg3”, [0126] “the controller 130 of the UE 100 overwrites the Resume ID being held with that C-RNTI. If the UE 100 transitions to the RRC connected mode, it continuously uses the C-RNTI while the UE 100 is in the RRC connected mode”);
and subsequent to the including in the uplink data the request to place the UE in connected mode (Fig. 8 “S108 Msg3”, [0126] “the controller 130 of the UE 100 overwrites the Resume ID being held with that C-RNTI. If the UE 100 transitions to the RRC connected mode, it continuously uses the C-RNTI while the UE 100 is in the RRC connected mode”):
receive a subsequent DCI, wherein the subsequent DCI includes a downlink grant and the C-RNTI; and receiving, downlink data ([0123-124] “Specifically, it generates DCI with a CRC parity bit scrambled with the portion of Resume ID being held …In step S111, the transmitter 210 of the eNB 200 transmits Msg4 to the UE 100… This Msg4 may include the C-RNTI.”).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Ma to incorporate the teachings of Fujishiro. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to minimize the signaling between the UE and network node.
Fujishiro does not explicitly teach receiving, by the UE, initial configuration information, wherein the initial configuration information includes preconfigured uplink resource (PUR) configuration information and user specific search space (USS) configuration information for a downlink control channel, and wherein the UE shares the PC-RNTI with other UEs, wherein the PUR uses the frequency range and the time range from the intial configuration information and that is associated with the USS, using the USS configuration information.
However, Cao teaches receiving, by the UE, initial configuration information, wherein the initial configuration information includes preconfigured uplink resource (PUR) configuration information ([0037] “the grant - free uplink resources may be preconfigured , e . g . there may be a plurality of possible predefined grant - free uplink resource partitions , and the base station 100 or the network may semi - statically pick one of the predefined grant - free uplink resource partitions and signal to the UEs the grant - free uplink resource partition being used . In some embodiments , the base station 100 and / or the UEs may be configured during their manufacture to know which uplink resources to use as grant - free uplink resources , e . g . through predefined tables loaded during manufacture”) and search space configuration information for a downlink control channel ([0128] “The search space for the DCI in the downlink control channel may be based on the grant - free uplink resources used “),
and wherein the UE shares the PC-RNTI with other UEs ([0142] “Each UE and base station may derive the same group RNTI as a function of the time index (e.g. the slot index) and the frequency location index (e.g. the subband or frequency partition index). UEs that are accessing the same frequency partition (or the same grant-free access region) then share the same group RNTI or group ID. The derived group ID is then used to mask the CRC of the group ACK/NACK, which may be transmitted in group-common DCI. If the base station sends a group-common DCI for each group, then there can be five different group-common DCI for the same slot.”).
wherein the PUR uses the frequency range and the time range from the intial configuration information and that is associated with the SS ([0037] “the grant - free uplink resources may be preconfigured , e . g . there may be a plurality of possible predefined grant - free uplink resource partitions , and the base station 100 or the network may semi - statically pick one of the predefined grant - free uplink resource partitions and signal to the UEs the grant - free uplink resource partition being used . In some embodiments , the base station 100 and / or the UEs may be configured during their manufacture to know which uplink resources to use as grant - free uplink resources , e . g . through predefined tables loaded during manufacture”), using the SS configuration information([0128] “The search space for the DCI in the downlink control channel may be based on the grant - free uplink resources used “).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination of Ma and Fujishiro to incorporate the teachings of Cao. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to minimize the signaling between the UE and network node.
Cao does not explicitly show user specific search space (USS), associated with the USS, using the USS configuration information.
Lee teaches user specific search space (USS), associated with the USS ([0119] “Herein, the change-of-use information may be transmitted through the UE-specific search space (USS) and/or a common search space (CSS)”),
using the USS configuration information ([0119] “Herein, the change-of-use information may be transmitted through the UE-specific search space (USS) and/or a common search space (CSS)”, [0183] “According to an embodiment of the present invention, UEs in the IDLE mode may be set to restrictively perform RRM/RLM/CSI measurement for a specific cell and/or reception of change-of-use information (e.g., a change-of-use indicator) related to the specific cell only in predefined specific DL subframes”, Examiner’s Note: Lee shows that while in idle mode the UE is using either USS or CSS, because in reference Cao it was unclear whether the search space was either).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination of Ma, Fujishiro, Cao to incorporate the teachings of Lee. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to allow the user equipment to efficiently received in a wireless communication system.
Regarding claim 1, A method for small data transmission between a user equipment (UE) and a network node, comprising: receiving, by the UE, initial configuration information, wherein the initial configuration information includes preconfigured uplink resource (PUR) configuration information and user specific search space (USS) configuration information for a downlink control channel, wherein the PUR configuration information includes information related to a frequency range, a time range for uplink data transmission and a downlink control information (DCI) identifier (ID), wherein the DCI ID is a preconfigured radio network temporary identifier (PC-RNTI) used as a UE ID and wherein the UE shares the PC-RNTI with other UEs; after receiving the initial configuration information, transitioning by the UE to idle mode and when the UE is in idle mode, transmitting, by the UE, uplink data in a PUR to the network node without resource overhead required for a random-access process, wherein the PUR uses the frequency range and the time range from the initial configuration information and that is associated with the USS and wherein the uplink data transmission is grant free; receiving while in idle mode, by the UE first downlink control information (DCI) on the downlink control channel, wherein the first DCI is indicative of an acknowledgement of the uplink data transmission and the PC-RNTI and wherein the first DCI is identified in the downlink control channel using the USS configuration information; receiving, by the UE, a radio resource control (RRC) message with a cell radio network temporary identifier (C-RNTI) from the network node after receiving the first DCI, the C-RNTI configured to be used for subsequent transmission between the UE and the network node; upon determination that the UE expects more uplink data to be sent after the uplink data transmission in the PUR or the UE expects more downlink data to be received after the uplink transmission in PUR including, by the UE, in the uplink data a request to place the UE in connected mode; and subsequent to the including in the uplink data the request to place the UE in connected mode: receiving, by the UE, a subsequent DCI, wherein the subsequent DCI includes a downlink grant and the C-RNTI; and receiving, by the UE, downlink data. (Examiner notes: Claim 1, a method claim, is a parallel of Claim 10 thus rejected similarly as above with detailed mappings omitted).
Regarding claim 5, 14, Ma teaches further comprising: upon receipt of the acknowledgement ([0127] “UE performs the UL transmission … once the UE has received an activation message from the TRP”, e.g. Fig 3A-3C #404, the activation message may contain an ACK), changing, by the UE, to connected mode ([0127] “UL transmission based on the assigned transmission resource,” UE is switching to transmit uplink data.
Regarding claims 6, 15, Ma does not teach wherein the UE indicates an expectation of the downlink data during configuration of uplink resources.
However, Fujishiro teaches wherein the UE indicates an expectation of the downlink data during configuration of uplink resources (Fig 6 “Sending a scheduling request to the network”, “Waiting for DL (downlink) transmission”)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Ma to incorporate the teachings of Fujishiro to allow the UE indicates an expectation of the downlink data during configuration of uplink resources. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to minimize power consumption by limiting time UE is waiting col 6 lines 54-60.
Regarding claim 8, 16, Ma teaches wherein the PC-RNTI is assigned to the UE for one or more of dedicated time, frequency and signature resource (e.g. Fig 5A-5C, [0193] “allocate multiple MA CTUs for UE1”, MA CTU is defined in [0189] which are transmission resources of a set of time-frequency resources that are shared amongst a group of UEs”)
Regarding claim 34, 37, Ma teaches DCI ID ([0209]: “each ACK may be associated with a UE ID” or “associated with an index identifying the MA signature of the uplink transmission being acknowledged”).
Ma does not teach wherein the first DCI is scrambled with the ID.
Fujishiro teaches wherein the first DCI is scrambled with the ID ([0065] “eNB 200 performs scrambling processing of the PDCCH using the Temporary C-RNTI. Specifically, the eNB 200 transmits, via the PDCCH, downlink control information (DCI) with a CRC (Cyclic Redundancy Check) parity bit scrambled with the Temporary C-RNTI, and the UE 100 attempts decoding of the DCI”).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Ma to incorporate the teachings of Fujishiro to allow the UE indicates an expectation of the downlink data during configuration of uplink resources. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to minimize power consumption by limiting time UE is waiting col 6 lines 54-60.
Regarding claims 36, 39, Ma wherein the instructions when executed by the processor further cause the UE ([0064]: “memory 208 stores instructions … executed by the processing unit(s) 200”) to: include in the request for the initial configuration ([0115] “MA resources such as pilots can be associated with a preconfigured basic resource region… UEs can be pre-configured to access this basic resource region, each UE with pre-defined unique mapping”, Fig. 6A, “601 initial access”; [0209]: “UEs send respective data to the TRP in a respective grant-free uplink transmission”; [0003] refers “TRP” to “for example a base station”)
Ma does not explicitly teach the request to place the UE in connected mode
in response to the condition when the UE expects more uplink data to be sent after the uplink data transmission in the PUR
or when the UE expects more downlink data to be received after the uplink transmission in PUR.
However, Fujishiro teaches the request to place the UE in connected mode (Fig. 8 “S108 Msg3”, [0126] “the controller 130 of the UE 100 overwrites the Resume ID being held with that C-RNTI. If the UE 100 transitions to the RRC connected mode, it continuously uses the C-RNTI while the UE 100 is in the RRC connected mode”)
in response to the condition when the UE expects more uplink data to be sent after the uplink data transmission in the PUR
or when the UE expects more downlink data to be received after the uplink transmission ([0091] “In step S104, the controller 130 of the UE 100 determines that there is a need to perform data communication. For example, the controller 130 of the UE 100 determines that there is a need to perform data communication (reception of downlink data) in response to generation of uplink data to be transmitted or reception of paging intended for itself. The present description is made on the assumption that uplink data to be transmitted has been generated”).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Ma to incorporate the teachings of Fujishiro. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to minimize the signaling between the UE and network node.
Fujishiro does not explicitly teach uplink transmission in PUR.
However, Cao teaches uplink transmission in PUR ([0037] “the grant - free uplink resources may be preconfigured , e . g . there may be a plurality of possible predefined grant - free uplink resource partitions , and the base station 100 or the network may semi - statically pick one of the predefined grant - free uplink resource partitions and signal to the UEs the grant - free uplink resource partition being used . In some embodiments , the base station 100 and / or the UEs may be configured during their manufacture to know which uplink resources to use as grant - free uplink resources , e . g . through predefined tables loaded during manufacture”).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination of Ma and Fujishiro to incorporate the teachings of Cao. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to minimize the signaling between the UE and network node.
Claim 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ma in view of Fujishiro, Cao, Lee as applied to claims 1, 5- 6, 8, 10, 14-16, 34, 36, 37, 39 above, and further in view of Ying (U.S. Pub No 2018/0323909).
Regarding claim 7, Ma, Fujishiro, Cao, Lee does not teach wherein the UE indicates a non-expectation of downlink data packets during transmission of the uplink data to the network node.
However, Ying teaches wherein the UE indicates a non-expectation of downlink data packets during transmission of the uplink data to the network node ([0065] “UE may retransmit the same TB at a configured resource without wait for the response … from the g/NB/eNB).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination of Ma, Fujushiro, Cao, Lee to incorporate the teachings of Ying to allow the UE to transmit without waiting for the response. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to allow the UE to minimize configuration time between the UE and the node.
Claim(s) 35, 38 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ma in view of Fujishiro further in view of Cao, further in view of Lee as applied to claim 1, 5- 6, 8, 10, 14-16, 34, 36, 37, 39 above, and further in view of Myung et al.(US 20210307036 herein after Myung).
Regarding claims 35, 38, Ma, Fujishiro, Cao, Lee does not teach wherein the instructions when executed by the processor further cause the UE to: include in the request for the initial configuration one or more of a desired connected mode discontinuous reception (C-DRX) period and a desired connected mode extended DRX (C-eDRX) period, wherein the desired C-DRX period and the desired C- eDRX period are used by the UE while the UE is in connected mode.
However, Myung teaches wherein the instructions when executed by the processor further cause the UE ([0532] “The processor 2310 can implement functions, procedures and methods described in the present description”) to: include in the request for the initial configuration one or more of a desired connected mode discontinuous reception (C-DRX) period ([0722] “transmitted to the base station for a specified time in the connected mode or at a set time, the UE may perform a connected-mode DRX (C-DRX)”) and a desired connected mode extended DRX (C-eDRX) period ([0723] “When extended DRX (eDRX) is configured for the UE through higher-layer signaling (e.g., system information), the UE may perform an eDRX operation in the idle mode or the connected mode”), wherein the desired C-DRX period and the desired C- eDRX period are used by the UE while the UE is in connected mode ([0723] “When extended DRX (eDRX) is configured for the UE through higher-layer signaling (e.g., system information), the UE may perform an eDRX operation in the idle mode or the connected mode”, [0722] “in the connected mode or at a set time, the UE may perform a connected-mode DRX (C-DRX)”).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination of Ma, Fujishiro, Cao, Lee to incorporate the teachings of Myung. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to reduce power consumption.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 06/11/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s Argument 1
Applicant remark’s Fuyishiro does not relate to operation in connected mode as is defined in Ma and there is no teaching, suggestion, or motivation to modify the connected mode functionality disclosed in Ma by combining with the idle mode functionality disclosed in Fujishiro as proposed by the Examimer, other than through the impermissible use of hindsight.
Examiner’s Response 1
In response to applicant's argument that the examiner's conclusion of obviousness is based upon improper hindsight reasoning, it must be recognized that any judgment on obviousness is in a sense necessarily a reconstruction based upon hindsight reasoning. But so long as it takes into account only knowledge which was within the level of ordinary skill at the time the claimed invention was made, and does not include knowledge gleaned only from the applicant's disclosure, such a reconstruction is proper. See In re McLaughlin, 443 F.2d 1392, 170 USPQ 209 (CCPA 1971).
Examiner respectfully disagrees. Fujishiro shows both idle and connected states in Fig. 8. In addition, MA generally refers to idle mode for example in [0116] and [0117], MA discusses two modes for GF. “There are two modes for the GF mode to operate under. In a first mode, the UE simply uses the allocated transmission resource in an “arrive and go” style, i.e. the transmission resource is assumed to be available and accessible when it is allocated for use.[0117] In a second mode, the TRP dynamically signals the activation (permission) of the resources pre- allocated by RRC signaling for the grant-free UEs. In this second mode, the UE needs to listen for such an activation message before any grant-free data transmission can be performed”.
Applicant’s Argument 2
Even assuming solely for argument sake that the Examiner is correct, Cao, like Ma, concerns operation in connected mode. Neither Ma, Fujishiro, nor Cao, singly or in combination, teach use of the USS (which is intended for use in connected mode) by a UE after it has transitioned to idle mode as recited in claims | and 10 as amended. The only way to get from the combination of Ma, Fujishiro, and Cao as proposed to the claimed invention is to further modify the combination to depart from conventional practice based on the impermissible use of hindsight.
Examiner’s Response 2
In response to applicant's argument that the examiner's conclusion of obviousness is based upon improper hindsight reasoning, it must be recognized that any judgment on obviousness is in a sense necessarily a reconstruction based upon hindsight reasoning. But so long as it takes into account only knowledge which was within the level of ordinary skill at the time the claimed invention was made, and does not include knowledge gleaned only from the applicant's disclosure, such a reconstruction is proper. See In re McLaughlin, 443 F.2d 1392, 170 USPQ 209 (CCPA 1971).
The combination of Ma in view of Fujishiro, further in view of Cao further in view of Lee teaches after receiving the initial configuration information, transitioning by the UE to idle mode and when the UE is in idle mode, transmitting, by the UE, uplink data in a PUR to the network node without resource overhead required for a random-access process, wherein the PUR uses the frequency range and the time range from the initial configuration information and that is associated with the USS which is shown in the updated rejection.
Furthermore Fujishiro is relied upon to show the transitioning between connected to idle.
Lee is relied upon to clearly show the use of USS while in idle mode in [0119-120].
Conclusion
/K.T.F./Examiner, Art Unit 2411
/DERRICK W FERRIS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2411