DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 15-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ‘219 (JP4630219) in view of Blejde et al. (US2006/0157218) and Moller (US2008/0134593).
For claim 15, ‘219 discloses a thin steel strip (figs. 1-6) comprising a material thickness of less than 1.7mm (0.1mm page 5 last paragraph of submitted translation) and a raised slip resistant pattern (61) with a height of between 0.3 and 0.7mm (0.5mm page 6 first paragraph of submitted translation) raised from a surface of the material thickness of an otherwise flat strip and ‘formed by a single hot rolling mill having a single pair of work rolls where one work roll of the pair of work rolls includes a surface pattern that is a negative of the raised slip-resistant pattern’ (product by process limitation treated in accordance with MPEP 2113- “product-by-process claims are not limited to the manipulations of the recited steps, only the structure implied by the steps”).
‘219 does not disclose that the thin steel strip is cast and silicon killed with less than 0.008% aluminum or that the pattern is diamond lugs.
Blejde et al. discloses the obviousness of making a thin cast metal strip of steel, the thin cast steel strip is silicone killed with less than 0.008% aluminum ([0062] 0.002% aluminum).
Moller discloses the obviousness of providing a slip resistant pattern (fig. 3, 211) on a metal strip (200), the pattern comprising diamond lugs [0030].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to make the thin steel strip of ‘219 of cast steel that is silicon killed with less than 0.008% aluminum as made obvious by Blejde et al. to provide a rough surface that increases traction in high foot traffic areas.
It would be obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to make the pattern of ‘219 diamond lugs as made obvious by Moller since diamond lug patterns are well known in the art to provide slip resistant properties to the strip.
For claim 16, it would be obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to make the thickness of the strip greater than 0.7mm since this merely involves a change in size of an already disclosed element to increase the strength and load bearing ability of the strip.
For claim 17, it would be obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to make the thickness of the strip greater than 1.0 mm since this merely involves a change in size of an already disclosed element to increase the strength and load bearing ability of the strip.
For claim 18, it would be obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to form the raised slip resistant pattern as specified in ASTM A786M-2004, pattern 4 since this is public information that is available to one of ordinary skill in the art and is not unpredictable and unexpected to increase the friction acting on the strip.
For claim 19, it would be obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to form the raised slip resistant pattern as specified in ASTM A786M-2004, pattern 4 since this is public information that is available to one of ordinary skill in the art and is not unpredictable and unexpected to increase the friction acting on the strip.
For claim 20, it would be obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to form the raised slip resistant pattern as specified in ASTM A786M-2004, pattern 4 since this is public information that is available to one of ordinary skill in the art and is not unpredictable and unexpected to increase the friction acting on the strip.
For claim 21, the combination discloses that the thin cast steel strip can be coiled (Blejde et al. [0054]).
Response to Arguments
In response to the argument that the prior art does not disclose diamond pattern lugs or lug patterns supported in materials under ASTM A786M-2004, the examiner argues that diamond lug patterns are well known patterns in the art as set forth in the new rejection, therefore one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to use a diamond lug pattern or lug patterns supported in materials under ASTM A786M-2004 since these are patterns that are readily available to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide slip resistance.
All other arguments have been considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JOSHUA K IHEZIE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3633