Status of Application, Amendments and/or Claims
2. Applicant’s response dated 5/13/2026 is considered and entered into record. Claim 10 has been amended. New claims 20-21 are added. Claims 10-13, 15-16, and 20-21, drawn to a method for treating (ALS) in a subject are currently pending, and being considered for examination in the instant application.
Rejections Withdrawn
3. Upon consideration of amendment of claim 10, and the addition of new claims 20 and 21, the rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) is withdrawn.
4. Upon consideration of current claim amendments, the rejections under nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting, are withdrawn.
New rejections – necessitated by amendment
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
6. Claims 10-13, 15-16 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as obvious over Revel et al (WO 2008/026198, published 3/6/2008), in view of Proschel et al WO 2007/025306, 3/1/2007, and Karussis et al (Arch Neurol 67: 1187-1194 (1-17), 2010).
7. The claims are drawn to a method of treating ALS in a human subject in need thereof, comprising only intrathecally administering to the subject, a therapeutically effective amount of non-genetically modified human astrocytes, wherein such cells have been ex vivo differentiated from pluripotent stem cells (PSC), selected from embryonic stem cells (ESC) or induced PSC (iPSC), and subjected to terminal differentiation in the absence of growth factors for 7 days in a medium consisting of a base medium supplemented with N2, B27 and vitamin C, wherein the terminal differentiation for 7 days produces astrocytes with greater neuroprotective activity than astrocytes cultured in the medium for 42 days (claim 10), and the base medium is DMEM/F12 (claim 21); wherein the astrocytes: express each of GFAP, GLAST or AQP4 or a combination of the same (claim 11); display the secretion of neurotrophic factors like BDNF, GDNF or VEGF (claim 12); display glutamate uptake capacity (claim 13); are non-autologous (claim 15); and allogenic (claim 16) to the subject.
8. Revel et al teach a method of treating a medical condition of the central nervous system (CNS) in a subject by administering therapeutically effective amount of cells like human astrocytes that are ex vivo differentiated from human stem cells (PSC) (abstract; clams 1, 2, 6, 9, 53; page 5, lines 12-13; page 25, lines 25-29), wherein the stem cells are allowed to differentiate after removing growth factors until they "show an astrocytic phenotype” (terminal differentiation) from "(culture....without growth factors for 5-15 days)" (includes 7 days) (page 25, lines 28,29); wherein: human stem cells are embryonic stem (ES) cells (page 19, lines 11-12, 14-18; page 5, lines 32-33), the condition can be aberration in myelination like ALS (page 1, lines 12, 13, 19), and the administration is done directly to the brain or to the spinal cord (page 33, lines 28-30). Revel et al also teach terminal differentiation of human ES cells (Example 3, page 46, lines 25-28) using N2/B27 medium composed of DMEM/F12, vitamin C, and without growth factors (a medium consisting of…) (page 47, lines 25-27, page 39, line 13; Table 1, Step F2; para spanning pages 40, 41), for 6-10 (or 6 or 10 days) (i.e. includes 7 days), to obtain astrocytes that stained for GFAP (page 48, lines 31-32; Figure 3d, red) (instant claims 10, 21). Even though Revel et al do not teach that astrocytes produced at 7 days (6-10 days) have a “greater neuroprotective activity than astrocytes cultured in said medium for 42 days", Revel et al teach terminal differentiation in a medium as instantly claimed for 6-10 or 5-15 days, where both ranges include the claimed “7 days”, however, exclude the "42 days". It is noted that the limitation reciting "wherein.....for 7 days...for 42 days" at the end of claim 10 is not an active method step that is to be performed by the artisan, rather points to an apparent functional property of astrocytes that are terminally differentiated for 7 days. Upon performing the recited method of treating ALS by administration of human astrocytes that are ex vivo differentiated, wherein the terminal differentiation of the stem cells is in the recited medium for a range of days that includes 7 days, but not 42 days (as recited in claim 10), the terminally differentiated astrocytes of Revel et al would necessarily have the expected neuroprotective activity that would necessarily be greater than astrocytes cultured for 42 days. Revel et al also teach that astrocytes are characterized by expression of GFAP, GLAST, GLT1 etc. (page 18, lines 10-13) (instant claim 11). The reference teaches that the ALS model to be used in the method is a transgenic mouse comprising SOD1 mutation (page 34, lines 20-21). Because the astrocytes are derived from humans and transplanted to diseased transgenic ALS rats, the cells are non-autologous (instant claim 15). Revel et al also teach that the cells can be from an allogenic donor, or from embryonic stem cells (page 29, lines 12, 13) (instant claim 16). Since there is no teaching of genetic modification of cells, the cells are non-genetically modified (instant claim 10). Even though the reference does not teach that the cells secrete the claimed neurotrophic factors and display glutamate uptake, this is an inherent property of astrocytes that was known to the skilled artisan at the time of filing of the instant invention. Clearly, the skilled artisan need not recognize every inherent feature of the invention at the time the invention is made. MPEP §2112(II) (instant claims 12-13).
9. Even though Revel et al teach culturing for 6-10 or 5-15 days in the absence of growth factors to generate astrocytes, the reference does not teach a culture for 7 days (as recited in amended claim 10).
10. However, the differences between the claimed method and the prior art method appears to be one of optimization of the conditions for culture (e.g., number of days) using the same starting cells to generate the same cell population (astrocytes) in the absence of growth factors. It would have therefore, been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have optimized the culture conditions comprising 6-10 or 5-15 days without growth factors to arrive at 7 days as recited in instant claim 10. See MPEP 2144.05: A. Optimization Within Prior Art Conditions or Through Routine Experimentation.
11. Culture times are result-effective variables which can be optimized. In the case of generating astrocytes in the absence of growth factors by culturing for 7 days, one of skill in the art would clearly recognize that culture days could easily be optimized by a cell biologist having an expertise in culture. In in re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272,276, 205 USPQ 215, 219 (CCPA 1980), it was held that "discovery of an optimum value of a result effective variable in a known process is ordinarily within the skill of the art."
12. Revel et al do not teach the administration of human astrocytes in a human subject.
13. Revel et al however, explicitly state that information pertaining to cell delivery in disease animal models would be used for administering and treating humans (para spanning pages 33 and 34), wherein the disease can be ALS (claim 53), a known fatal human disease. It would therefore, have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art, that treating a human disease would necessarily involve human subjects requiring human stem cells or human cells to avert consequences arising from species differences, serious graft versus host disease and to maintain allogeneicity of the cells (same species of donor and recipient). Furthermore, in considering the disclosure of a reference, it is proper to take into account not only specific teaching of the reference but also the inferences which one skilled in the art would reasonably be expected to draw therefrom (In re Preda, 401 F.2d 825, 159 USPQ 342, 344 (CCPA 1968)). Also, a reference must be considered, under 35 U.S.C. 103, not only for what it expressly teaches but also for what it fairly suggests; all disclosures of prior art, including unpreferred embodiments, must be considered in determining obviousness (In re Burckel 201 USPQ 67 (CCPA 1979)).
14. Even though Revel et al teach that the cells can be delivered directly to the spinal cord, the reference does not teach that the administration is termed ‘intrathecal’ (as in instant claim 10).
15. Proschel et al teach treating CNS lesions and degenerative diseases of the CNS, comprising administration of glial restricted precursor derived astrocytes (GDAs) (page 2, Summary; page 7, lines 28-29). The reference teaches methods for the treatment of CNS lesions, including amyotrophic lateral sclerosis (page 12, last para), wherein the GDAs can be derived from pluripotent stem cells (page 8, para 3; para spanning pages 9, 10; claim 14). The reference also teaches that the cell suspension can be injected by lumbar puncture without laminectomy (i.e., intrathecal administration) (page 13, lines 7, 10-12).
16. Karussis et al teach a clinical trial study using mesenchymal stem cell (MSC) transplantation in ALS patients (human). The reference teaches advantages of intrathecal delivery for cell-based therapies in neurological diseases like ALS. Karussis et al explain that intrathecal cell therapy in ALS (characterized by widespread tissue damage throughout the neuroaxis), increases “migration of the injected cells to the proximity of the CNS lesions”, so that the cells “circulate with the flow of the cerebrospinal fluid” and reach the affected areas in the brain, as opposed to other systemic forms of administration, which can lead the therapeutic cells travel to other organs, resulting in less availability to the CNS. The reference adds that intrathecal delivery of cells produces “immunomodulatory and trophic effects directly on the CNS, without producing systemic adverse effects” (para spanning pages 7 and 8).
17. It would therefore, have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed, to modify the method of treating neurological or demyelinating disorders like ALS with astrocyte cells as taught by Revel et al, by intrathecal administration of astrocytes to ALS subjects as taught by Proschel et al, in view of the advantages of intrathecal cell delivery for ALS treatment based upon the teachings of Karussis et al. The person of ordinary skill would have been motivated to pursue intrathecal administration as this increases “migration of the injected cells to the proximity of the CNS lesions”, thereby producing “immunomodulatory and trophic effects directly on the CNS” (Karussis et al), and resulting in greater therapeutic efficacy. The person of ordinary skill would have been motivated to administer astrocytes to patients having neurodegenerative diseases like ALS, as this would help promoting CNS regeneration (Proschel et al, page 12, lines 15, 24, 29). The person of ordinary skill would have expected reasonable success because non-invasive and effective modes of cell delivery into the CNS for treating neurodegenerative diseases were being actively tested, at the time the invention was filed.
18. Thus, the claimed invention as a whole was prima facie obvious over the teachings of the prior art.
19. Claims 10-13, 15-16 and 20-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a), as obvious over Revel et al (2008), in view of Proschel et al (2007), and Karussis et al (2010), and in further view of Lepore et al (Nat Neurosc 11: 1294-1301, 2008).
20. The teachings of Revel et al, Proschel et al and Karussis et al are set forth above.
21. Revel et al, Proschel et al or Karussis et al do not teach the neuroprotection recited in claim 20.
22. Lepore et al teach astrocyte dysfunction in human ALS and transgenic rodents expressing mutant human SOD1 protein. The reference teaches an ALS therapeutic strategy and neuroprotection mediated by transplantation-based astrocyte replacement, wherein, transplantation of lineage restricted astrocyte precursors (glial-restricted precursors or GRPs) into the cervical spinal cord of 90-day old SOD1 rats (Abstract; Results, lines 1-2), results in GRPs being differentiated to astrocytes, along with extended survival, attenuated motor neuron loss, and reduced motor function decline in the SOD1 rat (Abstract; Fig. 2b-d; 3a-i) (instant claim 20). Even though the reference does not teach “intrathecal”, the reference is teaching transplantation of the cells into the spinal cord by injection, indicating intrathecal administration. Lepore et al teach that neuroprotection by reconstitution of “astrocytes may be a valuable approach to cellular-based therapeutics” (page 1294, col 2, para 1).
23. It would therefore, have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed, to modify the method of treating neurological or demyelinating disorders like ALS, by intrathecal administration of astrocytes to ALS subjects in view of the combined teachings of Revel et al, Proschel et al and Karussis et al, by assessing the neuroprotection effected by astrocytes in view of Lepore et al. The person of ordinary skill would have been motivated to consider transplantation-based astrocyte replacement for treating ALS, as neuroprotection by reconstitution of “astrocytes may be a valuable approach to cellular-based therapeutics in ALS (Lepore et al). The person of ordinary skill would have expected reasonable success, because cell-based therapies were known and actively tested as effective treatment strategies for neurodegenerative diseases, at the time the invention was filed.
24. Thus, the claimed invention as a whole was prima facie obvious over the teachings of the prior art.
Applicant’s Remarks:
25. Traversing the 103 rejection, Applicant primarily argues on the basis of current claim 10 amendments. Applicant asserts that amended claim 10 relates to terminal differentiation of cells in a medium “consisting of a base medium supplemented with B27, N2 and vitamin C”. Applicant alleges that Revel’s conditions on page 25, lines 25-29 teach producing astrocytes by culturing “with noggin, without growth factors for 5-15 days”, i.e. “the time period of 5-15 days of terminal differentiation is only recited and exemplified in the presence of noggin”. Arguing that the claimed invention (understandably instant invention) cells are obtained after 7 days of terminal differentiation “in the absence of noggin”, Applicant alleges that “Revel teaches away this combination”. Applicant further adds that claim 10 is also amended to add the 42 days limitation, to comply with Examiner’s request. Applicant concludes that the cited art (Revel, Proschel, Karussis) do not teach all the “salient elements of the claimed invention” thereby rendering the claims “novel and inventive”.
26. Applicant’s arguments are fully considered however are not found to be persuasive. The present claim amendments using the medium as recited, have been addressed in the new 103 rejections stated above. It is repeated that Revel et al also teach terminal differentiation of human ES cells using N2/B27 medium composed of DMEM/F12, vitamin C, and without growth factors (i.e. a medium consisting of) for 6, 10 or 6-10 days, to obtain astrocytes that stained for GFAP.
27. Applicant’s argument that Revel’s culture conditions are exemplified in the presence of noggin, while the instantly claimed invention obtained terminal differentiation after 7 days in the absence of noggin - is considered but not found to be persuasive. As stated in the 103 rejections, Revel et al exemplifies (Example 1) terminal differentiation “with or without noggin” (page 41, lines 4, 5; Table 1). Since Revel et al indicate that the medium combination is optionally “with or without noggin”, the reference does not teach away this combination. MPEP § 2123(II) states that “the prior art’s mere disclosure of more than one alternative does not constitute a teaching away from any of these alternatives because such disclosure does not criticize, discredit, or otherwise discourage the solution claimed….” In re Fulton, 391 F.3d 1195, 1201, 73 USPQ2d 1141, 1146 (Fed. Cir. 2004). Please note that “noggin” is neither presented in instant claims, nor was recited in any previous set of claims. Noggin is also not taught in the instant specification. The teaching that Noggin is not added to the medium is only present in the provisional applications from which the instant application derives priority.
28. Applicant’s statement (page 5 of the Remarks) about the addition of “42 days” in claim 10, is considered and accordingly addressed in the 103 rejection. It appears that the limitation in claim 10 encompassing “42 days” requires an active step of comparing the neuroprotective activity elicited by astrocytes cultured for 7 days versus 42 days, which however, is absent in the claim. In the absence of an actual step that needs to be performed, the broadest reasonable interpretation of the recited limitation in the claim would simply be construed as a functional property of astrocytes expectedly having greater neuroprotective activity at 7 days of culture. Since the cited references suggest obtaining astrocytes after 7 days (but nowhere close to 42 days) of culture in the recited medium, wherein the astrocytes can be used for treating ALS in a subject, the cells of the prior art are expected to have the desired neuroprotective activity, absent any evidence to the contrary.
29. As stated in the new rejections, the cited references in combination render obvious the presently claimed features. Therefore, and contrary to Applicant’s conclusion, the claims are not “novel and inventive”.
Double Patenting
34. Claims 10-13, 15-16 and 20-21 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 8 and 9 of US Patent 10,258,651, in view of Lepore et al (2008).
Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because in each case the claims recite treating ALS comprising intrathecally administering a therapeutically effective amount of astrocytes, which are ex vivo differentiated from human embryonic stem cells, to a human subject, wherein the astrocytes are generated (terminal differentiation) using a medium "devoid of EGF and bFGF" (in the absence of growth factors). It is noted that the instant specification teaches growing astrocytes in the “absence of growth factors (EGF+bFGF)” (page 28, line 14).
The only differences are as follows:
(i) Instant claims 11-13 recite the markers and cellular properties of astrocytes, while the ‘651 claims do not have these limitations. However, these will be inherent to astrocyte cells.
(ii) Instant claims recite non-genetically modified cells, while the ‘651 claims do not. However, the ‘651 specification does not teach genetic modification of cells, other than describing this as an alternative mode in col 17, lines 5-8.
(iii) Instant claims recite that the cells are non-autologous or allogenic, while the ‘651 patent claims do not have these limitations. However, the ‘651 patent teaches that the cells can be non-autologous or allogenic (col 21, para 8; col 20, lines 26, 27).
(iv) Instant claims recite differentiation to astrocytes in the absence of growth factors for 7 days, while the ‘651 patent claims recite 6-10 days. However, since the starting cells, the resulting cell population, and the condition for differentiation to astrocytes in a medium devoid of growth factors are the same in both sets of claims, the person skilled in the art of cell culture would clearly recognize that culture days could obviously be modified by routine optimization.
(v) The ‘651 patent claims do not recite 42 days of culture, which is present in instant claims. However, the ‘651 patent teaches 6-10 days of culture to obtain astrocytes, therefore, necessarily excludes 42 days of culture. Also, as noted in the new 103 rejection, the limitation reciting "wherein.....for 7days...for 42 days" in claim 10 is not an active method step that is to be performed by the artisan, rather points to a functional property of astrocytes terminally differentiated after 7 days of culture.
(vi) Instant claim 20 recites neuroprotection, which is absent in the '651 patent claims.
However, this would be obvious in view of Lepore et al.
35. Therefore, the instant claims are not patentably distinct over the issued claims in U.S. patent 10,258,651.
36. Claims 10-13, 15-16 and 20-21 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 2, of US Patent 9,631,175 in view of Proschel et al (2007), Karussis et al (2010) and Lepore et al. (2008).
Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because in each case the claims recite treating a myelination or neurodegenerative disease by administering human astrocytes that are ex vivo differentiated from human embryonic stem cells, wherein the astrocytes are generated (terminal differentiation) using a medium "devoid of EGF and bFGF" (in the absence of growth factors). It is noted that the instant specification teaches growing astrocytes in the “absence of growth factors (EGF+bFGF)” (page 28, line 14).
The only differences are as follows:
(i) Instant claims recite treating ALS, while the ‘175 patent claims do not. However, the ‘175 disclosure teaches ALS as one of the demyelinating neurodegenerative diseases that can be treated with administration of astrocytes (para 0003 of PGPB). Even though the ‘175 claims do not recite the astrocyte characteristics as recited in instant claims 11-13, the features will be inherent to the cells, and moreover, is taught in the ‘175 specification (Fig 1e, 3 a-c; para 0111, 0134 of the PGPB).
(ii) Instant claims recite intrathecal administration, while ‘175 patent claims do not. However, the ‘175 patent teaches that cells can be administered into the spinal cord by injection such that the circulation is in the brain and blood (col 23, lines 29-32, col 21, lines 46-49). The mode of intrathecal administration would be obvious in view of the teachings of Proschel et al and Karussis et al as stated above.
(iii) Instant claims recite differentiation to astrocytes in the absence of growth factors for 7 days, while the ‘175 patent claims do not recite the number of culture days. However, the ‘175 patent teaches the generation of glial cells like astrocytes by differentiation in the absence of growth factors for 6-10 days (col 3, lines 41-47; col 4, para 1; col 5, lines 1-2, 61-62; col 6, lines 9-11). Since the starting cells, the resulting cell population, and the condition for differentiation to astrocytes in a medium devoid of growth factors are the same in both sets of claims, the person skilled in the art of cell culture would clearly recognize that culture days could obviously be modified by routine optimization.
(iv) Instant claims recite that the cells are non-autologous or allogenic, while ‘175 patent claims do not have these limitations. However, the ‘175 patent teaches that the cells can be non-autologous or allogenic (col 21, para 8; col 20, lines 26, 27).
(v) The ‘175 patent claims do not recite 42 days of culture, which is present in instant claims. However, the ‘175 patent teaches 6-10 days of culture to obtain astrocytes, therefore, necessarily excludes 42 days of culture. Also, as noted in the new 103 rejection, the limitation reciting "wherein.....for 7days...for 42 days" in claim 10 is not an active method step that is to be performed by the artisan, rather points to a functional property of astrocytes that are terminally differentiated after 7 days of culture.
(vi) Instant claim 20 recites neuroprotection, which is absent in the '175 patent claims.
However, this would be obvious in view of Lepore et al.
37. Therefore, the instant claims are not patentably distinct over the issued claims in U.S. patent 9,631,175.
Applicant’s Remarks:
38. Applicant requests that addressing the rejection on grounds of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting be deferred until indication of allowable subject matter.
39. The rejection has not been overcome by amendment or the filing of an approved terminal disclaimer. Thus, the rejection is maintained.
Conclusion
40. No claims are allowed.
41. Applicant’s amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in the Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/A. D./
Examiner, Art Unit 1675
11 July 2026
/KIMBERLY BALLARD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1675