Applicant's response to the previous Office action, dated January 23, 2026, has been received. No claim amendments were submitted with this reply.
Claims 1-4, 6-7, 17-19, 21-22, 24-25, and 31-32 are pending in the application. Claims 6 and 19 remain withdrawn from consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on May 13, 2022.
Claims 1-4, 7, 17-18, 21-22, 24-25, and 31-32 are therefore under examination before the Office.
The rejections of record can be found in the previous Office action, dated July 25, 2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 7, 17-18, 21-22, 24-25, and 31-32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fanale (J Clin Oncol. 2014 Oct 1;32(28):3 137-43) in view of Fasenmade (WO2018089890A1).
Applicant argues that a person of ordinary skill in the art would not be motivated to choose the specifically claimed patient population based upon the teachings of Fanale, as Fanale does not teach a patient with stage III cancer, nor would such a person be motivated to choose the claimed therapy based upon those recited in Fanale, nor would such a person expect the results of the claimed method. Applicant further argues that Fasanmade describes possible treatment with BV+CHP but does not disclose any results or efficacy data, and that Fasanmede does not teach an adult with stage III non-Hodgkin's lymphoma. Applicant asserts that the study of the effects of antibody + CHP in the recited cancer population had not been done prior to the filing of the application, and the results would not have been obvious from the combination of Fanale and Fasanmade, i.e., it was not reasonably predictable that the treatment would have been better in Stage III PTCL disease compared to Stage I or II subjects with hard to treat, advanced stage PTCL using the claimed combination therapy in view of the cited art.
Applicant's arguments have been considered fully but are not found to be persuasive.
Applicant has traversed the primary and the secondary references pointing to the differences between the claims and the disclosure in each reference. Applicant is respectfully reminded that the rejection is under 35 U.S.C. 103 and that non-obviousness cannot be established by attacking the references individually when the rejection is based on the combination of the references. In re Keller, 642 F.2d 4B, 208 USPQ 871, 882 (CCPA 1981) and MPEP 2145(IV). This Applicant has not done, but rather argues the references individually and not their combination. One cannot show non-obviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on a combination of references.
As stated previously, Fanale is explicit in teaching that "[b]rentuximab vedotin, administered sequentially with CHOP or in combination with CHP, had a manageable safety profile and exhibited substantial antitumor activity in newly diagnosed patients with CD30 PTCL." (abstract). Fanale also teaches administration of brentuximab vedotin in relapsed sALCL patients (page 3138, left column, second and third paragraphs).
Fanale at page 3142, right column, third paragraph states: "Combining brentuximab vedotin with CHP provided an encouraging signal of activity, a manageable safety profile, and no treatment-related mortality. These data raise the possibility that BV+CHP may provide improved outcomes over standard CHOP in patients with CD30+ PTCL, and an ongoing double-blind, randomized phase III study of BV+CHP versus CHOP will formally test this hypothesis."
Fanale also teaches that the patients ranged from 21-82 years old (i.e., adult), and may be diagnosed at stage III (Table 1).
Conclusive proof of efficacy is not required to show a reasonable expectation of success. OSI Pharm., LLC v. Apotex Inc., 939 F.3d 1375, 1385, 2019 USPQ2d 379681 (Fed. Cir. 2019) ("To be clear, we do not hold today that efficacy data is always required for a reasonable expectation of success. Nor are we requiring ‘absolute predictability of success.’"); Acorda Therapeutics, Inc. v. Roxane Lab., Inc., 903 F.3d 1310, 1333, 128 USPQ2d 1001, 1018 (Fed. Cir. 2018) ("This court has long rejected a requirement of ‘[c]onclusive proof of efficacy’ for obviousness." (citing to Hoffmann-La Roche Inc. v. Apotex Inc., 748 F.3d 1326, 1331 (Fed. Cir. 2014); PharmaStem Therapeutics, Inc. v. ViaCell, Inc., 491 F.3d 1342, 1364 (Fed. Cir. 2007); Pfizer, Inc. v. Apotex, Inc., 480 F.3d 1348, 1364, 1367–68 (Fed. Cir. 2007) (reasoning that "the expectation of success need only be reasonable, not absolute")). MPEP 2143.02(II).
Fanale states at page 3142, right column, second paragraph: "Combination treatment with BV+CHP was studied to provide safety and activity estimates to support future development efforts. The 88% CR rate and 100% ORR exceeded what would typically be expected for multiagent treatment in the PCL front-line setting, despite the omission of vincristine. Notably, these results were achieved in patients of whom two thirds had advance-stage or intermediate-high risk disease". This is a clear and explicit indication that combinations of brentuximab vedotin and CHP would be beneficial in treating advanced stage (i.e., Stage III) peripheral T-cell lymphoma. Such a teaching suggests that combinations of combinations of brentuximab vedotin and CHP would reasonably be expected to be useful in treating advanced stage (i.e., Stage III) peripheral T-cell lymphoma, and would motivate the ordinary artisan to select such a treatment.
In response to Applicant's allegations of unexpected results, Fanale teaches an objective response rate of 85% (table 5), and a progression free survival a patient with stage III peripheral T cell lymphoma of 18.4 months (table 2). Applicant's specification at page 30 states an objective response rate of 83%. Given the similarity of the results between Applicant's experiments and the results of Fanale, Applicant's results cannot be said to be unexpected.
This rejection is therefore maintained.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-4, 7, 11, 17-18, 21-22, 24-25, and 31-32 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over the listed claims of the following U.S. patents and patent applications below, in view of Fanale and Fasenmede.
Application/Patent Conflicting Claims
Application 17/762,867 1, 12-14, 19, 46-48
Application 18/449,591 1, 4-6, 8, 13-14, 20, 26, 28-29, 32-33, 39-40, 44, 46, 48, 54, 57
U.S. patent 11,795,229 1, 11, 13, 15-16, 18
U.S. Patent 10,912,813 1
U.S. Patent 10,940,178 1-3, 17-19, 21, 23, 25-26
U.S. Patent 11,559,558 1, 3-5, 8-9
Applicant argues that the above patent disclosures cited above do not disclose or suggest a combination therapy comprising brentuximab vedotin and CHP, and provide no more motivation or expectation of success than the disclosures of Fanale and Fasanmade. This is not persuasive, for reasons described supra.
The above rejections are therefore maintained.
Conclusion
No claim is allowed.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PETER JOHANSEN/Examiner, Art Unit 1644