DETAILED ACTION
The amendment filed February 16, 2026 is acknowledged. Claims 1-20 are pending in the application.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Objections
Claims 18 and 19 are objected to because of the following informalities:
The amendments to claims 18 and 19 submitted February 16, 2026 are not reflective of the previous version of claims 18 and 19 of July 23, 2025 which is considered as the immediate prior version of the claims. More specifically, the recitation of “and” has been added at line 3 of claim 18 and line 4 of claim 19 of the February 16, 2026 claim set without proper claim markings. However, “and” was not present in the previous version of these claims in the claim set dated July 23, 2025.
Applicant is reminded that amendments to a claim must be made by rewriting the entire claim with all changes (e.g., additions and deletions) as indicated in this subsection, except when the claim is being canceled. Each amendment document that includes a change to an existing claim, cancellation of an existing claim or addition of a new claim, must include a complete listing of all claims ever presented, including the text of all pending and withdrawn claims, in the application. The claim listing, including the text of the claims, in the amendment document will serve to replace all prior versions of the claims, in the application. In the claim listing, the status of every claim must be indicated after its claim number by using one of the following identifiers in a parenthetical expression: (Original), (Currently amended), (Canceled), (Withdrawn), (Previously presented), (New), and (Not entered). All claims being currently amended in an amendment paper shall be presented in the claim listing, indicate a status of “currently amended,” and be submitted with markings to indicate the changes that have been made relative to the immediate prior version of the claims. The text of any added subject matter must be shown by underlining the added text. The text of any deleted matter must be shown by strike-through except that double brackets placed before and after the deleted characters may be used to show deletion of five or fewer consecutive characters. The text of any deleted subject matter must be shown by being placed within double brackets if strike-through cannot be easily perceived. Only claims having the status of “currently amended,” or “withdrawn” if also being amended, shall include markings. If a withdrawn claim is currently amended, its status in the claim listing may be identified as “withdrawn— currently amended.” See MPEP 714.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 16 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 16 recites “at least 98.1% digestible” at line 2. While the instant specification provides support for 98.1% digestible, the originally filed application fails to provide support for “at least”. See paragraph [0078] and P31, Table 3.
Claim 18 recites “a magnesium content of at least 1,600ppm, a phosphorus content of at least 6,400ppm; and an iron content of at least 130 ppm” at lines 2-4. While the instant specification provides support for 1,600ppm magnesium, 6,400ppm of phosphorous, and 130 ppm iron, the originally filed application fails to provide support for “at least” for all of these values. See P25, Table 1.
Claim 19 recites “a sodium content of at least 2,000ppm, a potassium content of at least 5,500ppm; and a calcium content of at least 22,000 ppm” at lines 2-4. While the instant specification provides support for 2,000ppm sodium, 5,500ppm of potassium, and 22,000 ppm calcium, the originally filed application fails to provide support for “at least” for all of these values. See P25-P26, Table 1.
Claim 20 is not specifically discussed but is rejected due to its dependence on claim 19.
Accordingly, there is no indication that applicant had possession of the presently claimed invention at the time of the filing the instant application.
With respect to changing numerical range limitations, the analysis must take into account which ranges one skilled in the art would consider inherently supported by the discussion in the original disclosure. In the decision in In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976), the ranges described in the original specification included a range of "25%- 60%" and specific examples of "36%" and "50%." A corresponding new claim limitation to "at least 35%" did not meet the description requirement because the phrase "at least" had no upper limit and caused the claim to read literally on embodiments outside the "25% to 60%" range. See MPEP 2163.05.
The failure to meet the written description requirement of 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph, commonly arises when the claims are changed after filing to either broaden or narrow the breadth of the claim limitations, or to alter a numerical range limitation or to use claim language which is not synonymous with the terminology used in the original disclosure. To comply with the written description requirement of 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, para. 1, or to be entitled to an earlier priority date or filing date under 35 U.S.C. 119, 120, or 365(c), each claim limitation must be expressly, implicitly, or inherently supported in the originally filed disclosure. SEE MPEP 2163.05.
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Independent claim 1 has been amended to recited “pepsin (0.2%) digestible protein” at line 8. It is uncertain what is intended by this recitation. More specifically, the recitation of "(0.2%)" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the recitation within the parentheses is part of the claimed invention. Therefore, the scope of claim 1 is indefinite.
For the purpose of the examination, the recitation of “pepsin (0.2%) digestible protein” at line 8 of claim 1 (emphasis added) is interpreted as “pepsin digestible protein”.
Claims 2-15 are not specifically discussed but are rejected due to their dependence on claim 1.
Claim 16 recites “wherein the fish derived protein powder product is non-hydroscopic and at least 98.1% digestible” at lines 1-2 (emphasis added), and this claim depends upon claim 1. It is unclear how this recitation further limits claim 1 since claim 1 recites “wherein the fish derived protein powder product has pepsin digestible protein of 98.1% and is …non-hydroscopic” at lines 8-9 (emphasis added). Applicant is reminded one or more claims may be presented in dependent form, referring back to AND further limiting another claim or claims in the same application. See 37 CFR 1.75(c) and MPEP 608.01(n).
For the purpose of the examination, the recitation of “at least 98.1% digestible” at line 2 of claim 16 (emphasis added) is interpreted as “98.1% digestible”.
Claim 17 recites “wherein the fish derived protein powder product is non-hydroscopic” at lines 1-2 (emphasis added), and this claim depends upon claim 1. It is unclear how this recitation further limits claim 1 since claim 1 recites “wherein the fish derived protein powder product …is …non-hydroscopic” at lines 8-9 (emphasis added). Applicant is reminded one or more claims may be presented in dependent form, referring back to AND further limiting another claim or claims in the same application. See 37 CFR 1.75(c) and MPEP 608.01(n).
Claims 18-19 are not specifically discussed but are rejected due to their dependence on claim 1.
Claim 20 recites “cholesterol content of 0.0173 grams per 100 grams” at line 6. It is unclear what is intended by this recitation. More specifically, it is uncertain what the recitation of “100 grams” is in reference to. Therefore, the scope of claim 20 is indefinite.
For the purpose of the examination, the recitation of “cholesterol content of 0.0173 grams per 100 grams” at line 6 of claim 20 is interpreted as “cholesterol content of 0.0173 grams per 100 grams of the fish derived protein powder product” (emphasis added).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negatived by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 1, 2, and 4-19 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Lu et al. CN 1157694 (hereinafter “Lu”) (refer to the corresponding machine translation) in view of Kosbab US 20010031744 (hereinafter “Kosbab”) and Manning et al. US 20060088574 (hereinafter “Manning”).
With respect to claim 1, Lu teaches a fish derived protein powder product (paragraph [0001]).
Regarding the recitation of “wherein a serving of said fish derived protein powder product is 35 grams” in claim 1, it is noted that it is not readily apparent if the wherein clause is intended to further limit the claim. Applicant is reminded that language that suggests or makes a feature or step optional but does not require that feature or step does not limit the scope of a claim under the broadest reasonable claim interpretation. The following types of claim language may raise a question as to its limiting effect: (A) statements of intended use or field of use, including statements of purpose or intended use in the preamble, (B) "adapted to" or "adapted for" clauses, (C) "wherein" or "whereby" clauses, (D) contingent limitations, (E) printed matter, or (F) terms with associated functional language. See MPEP 2103 and 2111.04. For the purpose of the examination, and consistent with the specification, the recitation of “wherein a serving of said fish derived protein powder product is 35 grams” in claim 1 is used as the basis for calculating the weight percent of the listed ingredients.
Regarding the recitation of comprising a fish derived protein content of 85% to 90% by weight of the fish derived protein powder product in claim 1, Lu teaches a fish protein powder comprising a fish derived protein content of at least 80% of the protein powder which encompasses the presently claimed invention (paragraphs [0001], [0006], and [0007]). As set forth in MPEP 2144.05, in the case where the claimed range “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art”, a prima facie case of obviousness exists, In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Regarding the recitation of .035% by weight of the fish derived protein powder product of lithium, .035% by weight of the fish derived protein powder product of boron, .035% by weight of the fish derived protein powder product of cobalt in claim 1 (or 12.25 mg = 0.01225 g of lithium, boron and cobalt calculated from [0.035 / 100] X 35 grams per serving), Lu does not expressly disclose this limitation.
Kosbab teaches a nutrient composition. The composition may include minor amounts of minerals, such as 1 mcg to 50 mg lithium, 0 mcg to 100 mg boron, and 10 mcg to 200 mg cobalt, and may be in powdered form (paragraphs [0009], [0373], [0420], [0432], and [0435]-[0436]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention, given the teachings of Kosbab, to select lithium, boron, and cobalt in the product of Lu based in their suitability for their intended purpose with the expectation of successfully preparing a functional product. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because Kosbab and Lu similarly teach nutritional compositions, Kosbab teaches the minerals may have beneficial or nutritional value for an individual (paragraph [0420]), Lu teaches the nutritional product comprises various minerals and trace elements, has high nutritional value, and has a variety of uses (paragraphs [0004] and [0006]), and said combination would amount to the use of known elements for their intended use in a known environment to accomplish entirely expected results. There would have been a reasonable expectation of success with said modification. The selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supports a prima facie obviousness determination. (“Reading a list and selecting a known compound to meet known requirements is no more ingenious than selecting the last piece to put in the last opening in a jig-saw puzzle.” Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945) See also In re Leshin, 227 F.2d 197, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960) (selection of a known plastic to make a container of a type made of plastics prior to the invention was held to be obvious)) (MPEP 2144.07).
Regarding the recitation of comprising a transfatty acid content of 0.02% by weight of the fish derived protein powder product in claim 1, Lu does not expressly disclose the transfatty acid content of the powder.
Manning teaches nutritional supplements comprising fish protein. The nutritional supplement may be in the form of a powder. The nutritional supplement contains an amount of trans fat that provides about 10% or less of daily energy requirements. The supplement is low in trans fatty acids or preferably contains no trans fatty acids (Abstract; paragraphs [0429]-[0431], [0458], [0483], [0484], and [0556]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to select any portions of the disclosed range, including the instantly claimed range of a transfatty acid content of 0.02%, from the ranges disclosed in the prior art reference with the expectation of successfully preparing a functional protein powder product. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because Lu teaches the fish protein powder contains less than or equal to 2.0% fat, has high nutritional value, and has a variety of uses (paragraphs [0002], [0006], and [0007]) and Manning teaches the nutritional supplement is low in trans fatty acids and preferably contains no trans fatty acids which is interpreted as a fish protein powder with a trans fatty acid content of zero to slightly above zero, the amount of transfatty acid will vary depending upon the type of oil and/or fat that is in the nutritional supplement, and the supplement provides one or more nutritional, medical, or other health benefits (paragraphs [0153], [0429], [0431], [0433], and [0458]). There would have been a reasonable expectation of success. "The normal desire of scientists or artisans to improve upon what is already generally known provides the motivation to determine where in a disclosed set percentage ranges is the optimum combination of percentages " In re Peterson 65 USPQ2d 1379 (CAFC 2003). Also In re Malagari, 182 USPQ 549,533 (CCPA 1974) and MPEP 2144.05.
Regarding the recitation of wherein the fish derived protein powder product has pepsin digestible protein of 98.1% and is amine free, sterile, and non-hydroscopic in claim 1, it is noted that this recitation relates to features of the claimed product. Applicant is reminded that language that suggests or makes a feature or step optional but does not require that feature or step does not limit the scope of a claim under the broadest reasonable claim interpretation. The following types of claim language may raise a question as to its limiting effect: (A) statements of intended use or field of use, including statements of purpose or intended use in the preamble, (B) "adapted to" or "adapted for" clauses, (C) "wherein" or "whereby" clauses, (D) contingent limitations, (E) printed matter, or (F) terms with associated functional language. See MPEP 2103 and 2111.04.
Absent any clear and convincing evidence to the contrary, the product would naturally display these claimed features since modified Lu teaches a product that is substantially similar to the presently claimed product as addressed above and Lu teaches the powdered product is easily soluble in water, has good flavor, is decolorized and deodorized, has a variety of uses as foodstuff, comprises a fish derived protein content of at least 80% of the protein powder, and has physical and chemical indicators that meet or exceed standards (paragraphs [0006], [0007], and [0013]).
With respect to claim 2, modified Lu is relied upon for the teaching of the fish derived protein powder product of claim 1 as addressed above.
Regarding the recitation of further comprising 0.497 grams of crude fat in claim 2 (or 1.42% calculated from [0.497 g of crude fat / 35 g serving of protein powder product] X 100), modified Lu teaches this limitation since Lu teaches the fish protein powder contains less than or equal to 2.0% fat (paragraph [0007]) and encompasses the presently claimed quantity. As set forth in MPEP 2144.05, in the case where the claimed range “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art”, a prima facie case of obviousness exists, In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
With respect to claim 4, modified Lu is relied upon for the teaching of the fish derived protein powder product of claim 1 as addressed above.
Regarding the recitation of further comprising 1.6 grams of aspartic acid in claim 4 (or 4.57% calculated from [1.6 g of aspartic acid / 35 g serving of protein powder product] X 100), modified Lu teaches this limitation since Lu teaches the fish protein powder contains less than or equal to 10.0% aspartic acid (paragraph [0007]) and encompasses the claimed quantity. As set forth in MPEP 2144.05, in the case where the claimed range “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art”, a prima facie case of obviousness exists, In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
With respect to claim 5, modified Lu is relied upon for the teaching of the fish derived protein powder product of claim 1 as addressed above.
Regarding the recitation of wherein said fish derived protein powder product is generated by sanitizing raw material from aquatic animals mixture with ozone (step a); combining the raw material with a solvent to create a mixture (step b); baking the combined mixture for a first time period (step c); separating, with a filter, liquid from the combined mixture that was baked for the first time period (step d); baking the combined mixture without the separated liquid for a second time period (step e); separating, with a filter, liquid from the combined mixture that was baked for the second time period (step f); curing the combined mixture (step g); and processing the cured mixture to produce protein powder (step h) in claim 5, this recitation relates to process limitations for preparing the protein powder product. The steps of sanitizing, combining, baking, separating, baking, curing, and processing of claim 5 do not appear to impart distinctive structural characteristics to the final protein powder product. “[E]ven though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process.”, (In re Thorpe, 227 USPQ 964,966).
As shown above, modified Lu teaches the fish derived protein powder product of claim 1. Additionally, Lu teaches preparing the fish protein powder by washing the fish material, combining the material with solvent, controlling the temperature of the material, filtering, raising the temperature, filtering, concentrating, and processing the concentrated product to produce the fish protein powder (paragraphs [0005] and [0011]-[0014]), and the steps as recited in the claims do not appear to produce a materially different product from the prior art. Therefore, since the fish derived protein powder as recited in claim 1 is the same as the fish protein powder product taught by modified Lu, as set forth above, claim 5 is unpatentable even though the fish protein product of modified Lu was made by a different process. Once the Examiner provides a rationale tending to show that the claimed product appears to be the same or similar to that of the prior art, although produced by a different process, the burden shifts to applicant to come forward with evidence establishing an unobvious different between the claimed product and the prior art product (In re Marosi, 710 F.2d 798, 802, 218 USPQ 289, 292 (Fed. Cir. 1983), MPEP 2113).
With respect to claims 6-14, modified Lu is relied upon for the teaching of the fish derived protein powder product of claim 5 as addressed above.
Regarding the recitations of wherein said generation further comprises baking the combined mixture without the separated liquid for a third time period and separating liquid from the combined mixture that was baked for the third time period in claim 6, wherein said generation further comprises filtering amine from the liquid separated by the filter in step d in claim 7, wherein said generation further comprises distilling the liquid in step d; and filtering at least a portion of the distilled liquid to produce fish oil in claim 8, wherein said generation further comprises distilling the liquid in step d; filtering at least a portion of the distilled liquid to produce water; and purifying the water in claim 9, further comprising adding a second solvent to the combined mixture prior to baking for the first time period in claim 10, wherein said generation further comprises filtering amine from the liquid separated by the filter in step e in claim 11, wherein said generation further comprises distilling the liquid in step e and filtering at least a portion of the distilled liquid to produce fish oil in claim 12, wherein said generation further comprises distilling the liquid in step e, filtering at least a portion of the distilled liquid to produce water, and purifying the water in claim 13, and wherein said generation further comprises adding a second solvent to the combined mixture prior to baking for the second time period in claim 14, these recitations relate to process limitations for preparing the protein powder product. The steps of baking, separating, filtering, distilling, purifying, and adding as recited in claims 6-14 do not appear to impart distinctive structural characteristics to the final protein powder product. “[E]ven though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process.”, (In re Thorpe, 227 USPQ 964,966).
As shown above, modified Lu teaches the protein powder product of claims 1 and 5. Additionally, Lu teaches preparing the fish protein powder by washing the fish material, combining the material with solvent, controlling the temperature of the material, filtering, raising the temperature, filtering, concentrating, and processing the concentrated product to produce the fish protein powder (paragraphs [0005] and [0011]-[0014]), and the steps as recited in the claims do not appear to produce a materially different product from the prior art. Therefore, since the fish derived protein powder as recited in claims 1 and 5 are the same as the fish protein powder product taught by modified Lu, as set forth above, claims 6-14 are unpatentable even though the fish protein product of modified Lu was made by a different process. Once the Examiner provides a rationale tending to show that the claimed product appears to be the same or similar to that of the prior art, although produced by a different process, the burden shifts to applicant to come forward with evidence establishing an unobvious different between the claimed product and the prior art product (In re Marosi, 710 F.2d 798, 802, 218 USPQ 289, 292 (Fed. Cir. 1983), MPEP 2113).
With respect to claim 15, modified Lu is relied upon for the teaching of the fish derived protein powder product of claim 1 as addressed above.
Regarding the recitation of wherein a cholesterol content is 0.01% by weight of the fish derived protein powder product in claim 15, Lu does not expressly disclose the cholesterol content of the powder.
Manning teaches nutritional supplements comprising fish protein. The nutritional supplement may be in the form of a powder. The nutritional supplement is low in cholesterol or has zero cholesterol (Abstract; paragraphs [0429], [0431], [0483], [0484], and [0556]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to select any portions of the disclosed range, including the instantly claimed range of a cholesterol content of 0.01%, from the ranges disclosed in the prior art reference with the expectation of successfully preparing a functional protein powder product. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because Lu teaches the fish protein powder contains less than or equal to 2.0% fat, has high nutritional value, and has a variety of uses (paragraphs [0002], [0006], and [0007]) and Manning teaches the nutritional supplement is low in cholesterol or has zero cholesterol which is interpreted as a fish protein powder with a cholesterol content of zero to slightly above zero, the amount will vary depending upon the type of oil and/or fat that is in the nutritional supplement, and the supplement provides one or more nutritional, medical, or other health benefits (paragraphs [0153], [0429], [0431], and [0433]). There would have been a reasonable expectation of success. "The normal desire of scientists or artisans to improve upon what is already generally known provides the motivation to determine where in a disclosed set percentage ranges is the optimum combination of percentages " In re Peterson 65 USPQ2d 1379 (CAFC 2003). Also In re Malagari, 182 USPQ 549,533 (CCPA 1974) and MPEP 2144.05.
With respect to claims 16 and 17, modified Lu is relied upon for the teaching of the fish derived protein powder product of claim 1 as addressed above.
Regarding wherein the fish derived protein powder product is non-hydroscopic and 98.1% digestible in claim 16 and wherein the fish derived protein powder product is non-hydroscopic as recited in claim 17, it is noted that these recitations relate to features of the claimed product. Applicant is reminded that language that suggests or makes a feature or step optional but does not require that feature or step does not limit the scope of a claim under the broadest reasonable claim interpretation. The following types of claim language may raise a question as to its limiting effect: (A) statements of intended use or field of use, including statements of purpose or intended use in the preamble, (B) "adapted to" or "adapted for" clauses, (C) "wherein" or "whereby" clauses, (D) contingent limitations, (E) printed matter, or (F) terms with associated functional language. See MPEP 2103 and 2111.04.
Absent any clear and convincing evidence to the contrary, the product would naturally display these claimed features since modified Lu teaches a product that is substantially similar to the presently claimed product as addressed above and Lu teaches the powdered product is easily soluble in water, has good flavor, is decolorized and deodorized, has a variety of uses as foodstuff, comprises a fish derived protein content of at least 80% of the protein powder, and has physical and chemical indicators that meet or exceed standards (paragraphs [0006], [0007], and [0013]).
With respect to claim 18, modified Lu is relied upon for the teaching of the fish derived protein powder product of claim 1 as addressed above.
Regarding the recitation of further comprising a magnesium content of at least 1,600ppm (or 0.16%), a phosphorus content of at least 6,400ppm (or 0.64%); and an iron content of at least 130 ppm (or 0.013%) in claim 18, Lu does not expressly disclose this limitation.
Manning teaches nutritional supplements comprising fish protein. The nutritional supplement may be in the form of a powder. The nutritional supplement preferably contains 0-600 mg magnesium, 0-2 g phosphorous, and 0-100 mg iron per 60 g of the nutritional supplement (0-1% magnesium, 0-3.3% phosphorus, and 0-0.17% iron in the nutritional supplement) (Abstract; paragraphs [0332], [0483], [0484], and [0556]; and P24, Table).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention, given the teachings of Manning, to select magnesium, phosphorous, and iron and their respective quantities in the product of Lu based in their suitability for their intended purpose with the expectation of successfully preparing a functional product. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because Manning and Lu similarly teach nutritional compositions comprising fish protein, Manning teaches the supplement provides one or more nutritional, medical, or other health benefits (paragraph [0153]), Lu teaches the nutritional product comprises various minerals and trace elements, has high nutritional value, and has a variety of uses (paragraphs [0004] and [0006]), and said combination would amount to the use of known elements for their intended use in a known environment to accomplish entirely expected results. There would have been a reasonable expectation of success with said modification. The selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supports a prima facie obviousness determination. (“Reading a list and selecting a known compound to meet known requirements is no more ingenious than selecting the last piece to put in the last opening in a jig-saw puzzle.” Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945) See also In re Leshin, 227 F.2d 197, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960) (selection of a known plastic to make a container of a type made of plastics prior to the invention was held to be obvious)) (MPEP 2144.07).
With respect to claim 19, modified Lu is relied upon for the teaching of the fish derived protein powder product of claim 18 as addressed above.
Regarding the recitation of further comprising a sodium content of at least 2,000ppm (or 0.20%), a potassium content of at least 5,500ppm (or 0.55%); and a calcium content of at least 22,000 ppm (or 2.2%) in claim 19, Lu does not expressly disclose this limitation.
Manning teaches nutritional supplements comprising fish protein. The nutritional supplement may be in the form of a powder. The nutritional supplement preferably contains 0-2,400 mg sodium, 0-4,000 mg potassium, and 0-3 g calcium per 60 g of the nutritional supplement (0-4% sodium, 0-6.7% potassium, and 0-5% calcium in the nutritional supplement) (Abstract; paragraphs [0292], [0293], [0332], [0483], [0484], and [0556]; and P24, Table).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention, given the teachings of Manning, to select sodium, potassium, and calcium and their respective quantities in the product of Lu based in their suitability for their intended purpose with the expectation of successfully preparing a functional product. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because Manning and Lu similarly teach nutritional compositions comprising fish protein, Manning teaches the supplement provides one or more nutritional, medical, or other health benefits (paragraph [0153]), Lu teaches the nutritional product comprises various minerals and trace elements, has high nutritional value, and has a variety of uses (paragraphs [0004] and [0006]), and said combination would amount to the use of known elements for their intended use in a known environment to accomplish entirely expected results. There would have been a reasonable expectation of success with said modification. The selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supports a prima facie obviousness determination. (“Reading a list and selecting a known compound to meet known requirements is no more ingenious than selecting the last piece to put in the last opening in a jig-saw puzzle.” Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945) See also In re Leshin, 227 F.2d 197, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960) (selection of a known plastic to make a container of a type made of plastics prior to the invention was held to be obvious)) (MPEP 2144.07).
Claims 3 and 20 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Lu et al. CN 1157694 (hereinafter “Lu”) (refer to the corresponding machine translation) in view of in view of Kosbab US 20010031744 (hereinafter “Kosbab”) and Manning et al. US 20060088574 (hereinafter “Manning”) as applied to claims 1, 18, and 19 above, and in further view of Delahanty, Jr. US 20050129835 (hereinafter “Delahanty”).
With respect to claim 3, modified Lu is relied upon for the teaching of the fish derived protein powder product of claim 1 as addressed above.
Regarding the recitation of further comprising 0.371 grams of tryptophan in claim 3 (or 1.06% calculated from [0.371 g of crude fat / 35 g serving of protein powder product] X 100), Lu does not expressly disclose the claimed quantity of tryptophan.
Delahanty teaches a fish derived protein powder product. The protein powder includes an amino acid profile with between about 0.5% and about 3.0% by weight of tryptophan (paragraphs [0013], [0018], [0025], [0026], [0049]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to select any portions of the disclosed range, including the instantly claimed range of 0.371 grams of tryptophan (1.06% tryptophan), from the range disclosed in the prior art reference with the expectation of successfully preparing a functional protein powder product. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because Delahanty and Lu similarly teach fish protein powder products, Lu teaches the fish protein powder comprises amino acids and has a variety of uses (paragraphs [0002] and [0006]), and Delahanty teaches the protein compositions can be optimally tailored to the user with acceptable and satisfactory quantities of constituents (paragraphs [0013], [0017], [0026], [0048], [0049], and [0051]). There would have been a reasonable expectation of success. "The normal desire of scientists or artisans to improve upon what is already generally known provides the motivation to determine where in a disclosed set percentage ranges is the optimum combination of percentages " In re Peterson 65 USPQ2d 1379 (CAFC 2003). Also In re Malagari, 182 USPQ 549,533 (CCPA 1974) and MPEP 2144.05.
With respect to claim 20, modified Lu is relied upon for the teaching of the fish derived protein powder product of claims 1, 18, and 19 as addressed above.
Regarding the recitation of further comprising a sodium content of 2,000ppm (or 0.20%), a potassium content of 5,500ppm (or 0.55%) in claim 20, Lu as modified by Manning teaches this limitation since Manning is relied upon for the teaching of the sodium content and the potassium content as addressed above in claim 19, and Manning teaches the nutritional supplement preferably contains 0-2,400 mg sodium and 0-4,000 mg potassium per 60 g of the nutritional supplement (0-4% sodium and 0-6.7% potassium in the nutritional supplement) (Abstract; paragraphs [0292], [0293], [0332], [0483], [0484], and [0556]; and P24, Table).
Regarding the recitation of further comprising a tryptophan content of 1.06% of the fish derived protein powder product in claim 20, Lu does not expressly disclose the claimed quantity of tryptophan.
Delahanty teaches a fish derived protein powder product. The protein powder includes an amino acid profile with between about 0.5% and about 3.0% by weight of tryptophan (paragraphs [0013], [0018], [0025], [0026], [0049]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to select any portions of the disclosed range, including the instantly claimed range of tryptophan, from the range disclosed in the prior art reference with the expectation of successfully preparing a functional protein powder product. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because Delahanty and Lu similarly teach fish protein powder products, Lu teaches the fish protein powder comprises amino acids and has a variety of uses (paragraphs [0002] and [0006]), and Delahanty teaches the protein compositions can be optimally tailored to the user with acceptable and satisfactory quantities of constituents (paragraphs [0013], [0017], [0026], [0048], [0049], and [0051]). There would have been a reasonable expectation of success. "The normal desire of scientists or artisans to improve upon what is already generally known provides the motivation to determine where in a disclosed set percentage ranges is the optimum combination of percentages " In re Peterson 65 USPQ2d 1379 (CAFC 2003). Also In re Malagari, 182 USPQ 549,533 (CCPA 1974) and MPEP 2144.05.
Regarding the recitation of a transfatty acid content of 0.02% by weight of the fish derived protein powder product in claim 20, Lu does not expressly disclose the transfatty acid content of the powder.
Manning teaches nutritional supplements comprising fish protein. The nutritional supplement may be in the form of a powder. The nutritional supplement contains an amount of trans fat that provides about 10% or less of daily energy requirements. The supplement is low in trans fatty acids or preferably contains no trans fatty acids (Abstract; paragraphs [0429]-[0431], [0458], [0483], [0484], and [0556]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to select any portions of the disclosed range, including the instantly claimed range of a transfatty acid content of 0.02%, from the ranges disclosed in the prior art reference with the expectation of successfully preparing a functional protein powder product. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because Lu teaches the fish protein powder contains less than or equal to 2.0% fat, has high nutritional value, and has a variety of uses (paragraphs [0002], [0006], and [0007]) and Manning teaches the nutritional supplement is low in trans fatty acids and preferably contains no trans fatty acids which is interpreted as a fish protein powder with a trans fatty acid content of zero to slightly above zero, the amount of transfatty acid will vary depending upon the type of oil and/or fat that is in the nutritional supplement, and the supplement provides one or more nutritional, medical, or other health benefits (paragraphs [0153], [0429], [0431], [0433], and [0458]). There would have been a reasonable expectation of success. "The normal desire of scientists or artisans to improve upon what is already generally known provides the motivation to determine where in a disclosed set percentage ranges is the optimum combination of percentages " In re Peterson 65 USPQ2d 1379 (CAFC 2003). Also In re Malagari, 182 USPQ 549,533 (CCPA 1974) and MPEP 2144.05.
Regarding a cholesterol content of 0.0173 grams per 100 grams of the fish derived protein powder product in claim 20, Lu does not expressly disclose the cholesterol content of the powder.
Manning teaches nutritional supplements comprising fish protein. The nutritional supplement may be in the form of a powder. The nutritional supplement is low in cholesterol or has zero cholesterol (Abstract; paragraphs [0429], [0431], [0483], [0484], and [0556]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to select any portions of the disclosed range, including the instantly claimed range of a cholesterol content of 0.0173 grams per 100 grams of the fish derived protein powder product, from the ranges disclosed in the prior art reference with the expectation of successfully preparing a functional protein powder product. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because Lu teaches the fish protein powder contains less than or equal to 2.0% fat, has high nutritional value, and has a variety of uses (paragraphs [0002], [0006], and [0007]) and Manning teaches the nutritional supplement is low in cholesterol or has zero cholesterol which is interpreted as a fish protein powder with a cholesterol content of zero to slightly above zero, the amount will vary depending upon the type of oil and/or fat that is in the nutritional supplement, and the supplement provides one or more nutritional, medical, or other health benefits (paragraphs [0153], [0429], [0431], and [0433]). There would have been a reasonable expectation of success. "The normal desire of scientists or artisans to improve upon what is already generally known provides the motivation to determine where in a disclosed set percentage ranges is the optimum combination of percentages " In re Peterson 65 USPQ2d 1379 (CAFC 2003). Also In re Malagari, 182 USPQ 549,533 (CCPA 1974) and MPEP 2144.05.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s remarks filed February 16, 2026 are acknowledged.
Due to the amendments to claim 18, the claim objections in the previous Office Action have been withdrawn (P6).
Applicant’s arguments have been fully considered, but they are unpersuasive.
Applicant argues as to claim 16, the Detailed Description reports the digestibility of the product and describes the product’s performance characteristics in terms consistent with thresholds/minima, rather than closed upper-bound ranges. See, for example: paragraphs [0031], [0078], [0079], and [0082]. These disclosures, taken together, convey to the skilled artisan that the inventor possessed protein powder products achieving at least the reported digestibility and exhibiting non-hydroscopic behavior. As to claims 18-20, the present specification provides quantitative elemental and amino acid contents for the product sample via the Certificates of Analysis in Tables 1-4 and elsewhere, which the skilled artisan would understand as representative measured properties achieved by the disclosed process and product, with the present specification again framing characteristics as thresholds/minima in multiple places. See: paragraphs [0078], [0082], and [00113] and Table 1 and Table 2. These measured values (e.g., 1,600 ppm magnesium, 6,400 ppm phosphorus, 130 ppm iron, 2,000 ppm sodium, 5,500 ppm potassium, 22,000 ppm calcium, and 1.06% tryptophan) are presented as quantitative characteristics of the product achieved by the disclosed process. In the context of the Specification’s repeated articulation of minima/maxima and compliance thresholds (“no less than,” “or more,” “no more than”), a person of ordinary skill in the art would understand the inventor possessed products meeting at least these measured quantities. The Examiner’s reliance on In re Wertheim is misplaced. The present specification expressly teaches minima and open-ended thresholds (e.g., “[0031]…85% or more…”, “[0082]…no less than 80%...”), not a closed range with an upper cap for the properties at issue in claims 16 and 18-20. Accordingly, adding “at least” to reflect threshold-style properties is consistent with, and reasonably conveyed by, the as filed specification (P6-P8).
Examiner disagrees. The instant specification fails to provide support for the recitation of at least 98.1% digestible in claim 16, a magnesium content of at least 1,600ppm, a phosphorus content of at least 6,400ppm; and an iron content of at least 130 ppm in claim 18, and a sodium content of at least 2,000ppm, a potassium content of at least 5,500ppm; and a calcium content of at least 22,000 ppm in claim 19 (emphasis added). Although paragraph [0031] of the specification discloses that the protein powder may comprise 85% or more of the protein (emphasis added) and paragraph [0082] of the specification discloses no less than 80% of protein (emphasis added), these recitations relate to the protein content of the protein powder product, not the digestibility or magnesium, phosphorus, iron, sodium, potassium, and calcium contents of the protein powder product as claimed. The portions of the specification cited by Applicant do not explicitly or implicitly support the claimed “at least” for digestibility and elemental contents in claims 16, 18, and 19. Thus, there is no indication that Applicant had possession of the presently claimed invention at the time of the filing the instant application.
Applicant argues the cited references lack the amended combination of product properties. Lu is silent on, for example, amine-free (eliminating amines, not merely masking odor by carbon); sterility of the finished powder; non-hygroscopic behavior; a measured pepsin (0.22%) digestible protein value of 98.1%. Kosbab lists broad categories and ranges of minerals/vitamins for multi-component nutrient compositions, but does not disclose a fish-derived protein powder matrix or stability/digestibility properties like amine-free, sterile, non-hygroscopic, or a specific pepsin digestibility. Manning emphasizes low/no trans fat and cholesterol in ready-to-drink or bar supplements but likewise is silent on the recited properties for a fish-derived protein powder. Lu’s activated carbon “deodorization” is not a teaching of amine elimination per se. Activated carbon adsorbs amines. In contrast, the present specification teaches that, “filtration may occur with earth material and/or resin ionic exchange to eliminate amines compounds.” See present specification at paragraph [0071]. The Office has not provided evidence that Lu’s process necessarily yields an amine-free product as opposed to a product with amines absorbed to activated carbon. It does not appear that Lu discloses non-hygroscopic behavior in ambient humidity. Non-hygroscopic behavior is not routine consequences of D1-D3 and further support nonobviousness as they reflect benefits that would not have been expected from combining D1-D3 without specific teachings (P8-P10).
Examiner disagrees. Modified Lu teaches the claimed invention. Absent any clear and convincing evidence to the contrary, the product would naturally display these claimed features since modified Lu teaches a product that is substantially similar to the presently claimed product as addressed above in claim 1 and Lu teaches the powdered product is easily soluble in water, has good flavor, has a variety of uses as foodstuff, and comprises a fish derived protein content of at least 80% of the protein powder (paragraph [0006]). Lu also teaches adding activated carbon and filtering the product to obtain a decolorized and deodorized product which is interpreted as producing an amine-free product (paragraphs [0012]-[0013]) (see instant specification at paragraph [0071] and the teaching of filtration to eliminate amine compounds (e.g., odor of the marine animals)). Further, Lu teaches the product has physical and chemical indicators that meet or exceed standards (paragraph [0007]). As set forth in MPEP §2112.01, "where...the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, the PTO can require an applicant to prove that the prior art products do not necessarily or inherently possess the characteristics of his claimed product. Whether the rejection is based on "inherency" under 35 USC 102, on "prima facie obviousness" under 35 USC 103, jointly or alternatively, the burden of proof is the same, and its fairness is evidenced by the PTO's inability to manufacture products or to obtain and compare prior art products. See In re Brown, 59 CCPA 1036, 459 F.2d 531,173 USPQ 685 (1972)." In re Best, Bolton and Shaw 195 USPQ 430 (CCPA 1977).
Additionally, while Kosbab and Manning do not disclose all the features of the presently claimed invention, Kosbab and Manning are used as teaching references, and therefore, it is not necessary for these secondary references to contain all the features of the presently claimed invention, In re Nievelt, 482 F.2d 965, 179 USPQ 224, 226 (CCPA 1973), In re Keller 624 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871, 881 (CCPA 1981).
Conclusion
/JEFFREY P MORNHINWEG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1793
/T.L.M/Examiner, Art Unit 1793