DETAILED ACTION
WITHDRAWN REJECTIONS
1. The 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph rejection of record in the previous Action is withdrawn.
REPEATED REJECTIONS
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102 of this title, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negatived by the manner in which the invention was made.
5. Claims 1, 3 – 5, 11 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Mitsui et al (U.S. Patent No. 5,960,993) in view of Best et al (U.S. Patent No. 7,951,873 B2) and Sun (U.S. Patent No. 5,301,840) as evidenced by Hahm (U.S. Patent No. 5,256,359).
With regard to Claim 1, Mitsui et al disclose a container that is a tube (cylindrical; column 7, lines 1 – 5) that is collapsible (column 1, lines 6 – 10) comprising a bag comprising polyethylene (column 6, lines 19 – 28) and comprising a longitudinal join formed by a two opposite edges overlapping or abutting (seal strip formed at the edges; column 6, lines 9 – 16). A bag comprising a single longitudinal joint is therefore disclosed. The bag therefore constitutes the sidewall, and no other components are required for the sidewall. The sidewall therefore consists of the bag. Mitsui et al fail to disclose a non – laminated blown film having the claimed thickness that is a multi – layer polymeric material consisting of multiple layers of polymers, each layer consisting of polymer, and having a thickest layer that is polyethylene homopolymer.
Best et al teach a bag (column 18, lines 20 – 43) comprising a blown film having a thickness of 1 mm to 1000 mm that is a multilayer polymeric material that is a film that is a ‘B/A/B’ film (column 17, lines 16 – 20) in which ‘B’ is a layer of LLDPE or blend of LLDPE and ‘A’ is a layer of a conventional film layer (column 16, lines 1 – 5) that is polyethylene terephthalate (column 16, lines 47 – 56) for the purpose of films that can be formed into bags using a machine (column 18, lines 40 – 43). Best et al is in the same field of endeavor, which is blown film as evidenced by column 18, lines 20 – 43.
It therefore would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art for the container disclosed by Mitsui et al to comprise a non – laminated blown film that is a multi – layer polymeric material in order to obtain films that can be formed into bags using a machine as taught by Best et al. It is not disclosed that other components are required in Best et al. The layers therefore consist of polymer. The blend of LLDPE taught by Best et al is a blend with LDPE (column 11, lines 54 – 65). Hahm discloses that blown films have a substantially balanced molecular orientation profile (balanced orientation; column 4, lines 29 — 38). The tube that is obtained by the combination of Mitsui et al and Best et al would therefore have a substantially balanced molecular orientation profile. Although the disclosed range of thickness is not identical to the claimed range, the disclosed range overlaps the claimed range. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to provide for any amount within the disclosed range, including those amounts that overlap the claimed range. MPEP 2144.05.
Sun teaches a tube container (tube dispenser which is deformable; column 1, lines 9 – 15) comprising in one embodiment (multi – layer structure; column 4, line 44) a first layer having a thickness of 75 to 200 microns, a barrier layer having a thickness of 15 to 40 microns and an outer layer having a thickness of 200 – 400 microns the barrier layer comprising ethylene – vinyl alcohol copolymer, and the first and outer layers comprising polyolefin such as low density polyethylene for the purpose of obtaining a dentrifice tube (column 4, lines 45 – 54), Sun is in the same field of endeavor, which is containers as evidenced by column 1, lines 9 – 15.
It therefore would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art for the container disclosed by Mitsui et al to comprise a first layer having a thickness of 75 to 200 microns, a barrier layer having a thickness of 15 to 40 microns and an outer layer having a thickness of 200 – 400 microns in order to obtain a dentrifice tube as taught by Sun. Because low density polyethylene is taught by Sun, a polyethylene homopolymer is taught. Additionally, the outer layer taught by Sun is the thickest layer, because the range of thickness of the outer layer has the highest upper limit.
With regard to Claim 3, as stated above, a barrier layer is taught
With regard to Claim 4, because less than twenty layers would be obtained, up to twenty layers are disclosed.
With regard to Claim 5, because less than ten layers would be obtained, up to ten layers are disclosed.
With regard to Claim 11, although the disclosed range of thickness of the film is not identical to the claimed range, the disclosed range overlaps the claimed range. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to provide for any amount within the disclosed range, including those amounts that overlap the claimed range. MPEP 2144.05.
With regard to Claim 13, as stated above, the barrier layer is EVOH.
6. Claims 6 – 9, 12 and 43 – 44 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Mitsui et al (U.S. Patent No. 5,960,993) in view of Best et al (U.S. Patent No. 7,951,873 B2) and Sun (U.S. Patent No. 5,301,840) as evidenced by Hahm (U.S. Patent No. 5,256,359) and further in view of Itoh et al (U.S. Patent No. 6,042,906).
Mitsui et al, Best et al, Sun and Hahm discloses a container as discussed above. With regard to Claim 6, Mitsui et al, Best et al, Sun and Hahm fail to disclose a container comprising 8 layers.
Itoh et al teach a tubular container (column 6, lines 20 – 24) comprising 13 layers (column 17, line 59) for the purpose of obtaining flavor – retaining property (column 17, lines 60 – 65). Itoh et al is in the same field of endeavor, which is containers as evidenced by column 6, lines 20 – 24.
It therefore would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art for the tube disclosed by Mitsui et al to comprise 8 layers in order to obtain flavor – retaining property as taught by Itoh et al.
The layers taught by Itoh et al are 4 layers of ‘PO,’ 1 layer of ‘GB,’’ 6 layers of ‘AD’ and 2 layers of ‘COC’ (column 17, lines 59). ‘PO’ is non – cyclic olefin, ‘COC’ is cyclic olefin copolymer, ‘GB’ is gas barrier and ‘AD’ is adhesive (column 17, lines 18 – 23). The gas barrier is a resin (column 16, lines 40 – 45) and the adhesive is linear low density polyethylene (column 16, lines 14 – 20). It is not disclosed that non – polymer components are required. The layers of the container therefore consist of polymers.
With regard to Claims 7 – 8, the non – cyclic olefin layers taught by Itoh et al comprise high density polyethylene or medium, therefore linear medium, density polyethylene (column 15, lines 8 – 16).
With regard to Claims 9 and 43, the non – cyclic olefin layers taught by Itoh et al comprise low density polyethylene (column 15, lines 8 – 16). 6 layers of non – cyclic olefin are not taught by Itoh et al, because 4 layers are disclosed. However, Best et al teach the addition of high density polyethylene to linear low density polyethylene (column 9, line 60) in order to obtain excellent toughness (column 33, lines 24 – 30).
It therefore would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art for adhesive layers taught by Itoh et al to comprise high density polyethylene in order to obtain excellent toughness as taught by Best et al.
With regard to Claims 12 and 44, the claimed thicknesses are not taught by Itoh et al. However, the cyclic olefin copolymer has a thickness of at least 25 microns, the gas barrier has a thickness of at least 2 microns and the adhesive layer has a thickness of 5 to 30 microns (column 17, lines 60 – 65) and total thickness of the container is 200 – 900 microns (column 16, lines 64 – 67). Although the disclosed ranges of thicknesses of the layers are not identical to the claimed ranges, the disclosed ranges overlap the claimed ranges. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to provide for any amounts within the disclosed ranges, including those amounts that overlap the claimed ranges. MPEP 2144.05. Additionally, as stated above, an outer layer that is the thickest layer that is a polyolefin homopolymer is taught by Sun.
7. Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Mitsui et al (U.S. Patent No. 5,960,993) in view of Best et al (U.S. Patent No. 7,951,873 B2) and Sun (U.S. Patent No. 5,301,840) as evidenced by Hahm (U.S. Patent No. 5,256,359) and further in view of Blatz (U.S. Patent No. 4,952,628).
Mitsui et al, Best et al, Sun and Hahm disclose a container as discussed above. Mitsui et al, Best et al, Sun and Hahm fail to disclose a barrier layer comprising APA.
Blatz teaches a container (column 30, line 50) comprising a barrier layer comprising APA (column 2, lines 10 — 30) for the purpose of obtaining barrier properties that improve with increasing humidity (column 2, lines 52 — 55). Blatz is in the same field of endeavor, which is containers, as evidenced by column 30, line 50.
It therefore would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art for the container disclosed by Mitsui et al to comprise a barrier layer comprising APA in order obtain barrier properties that improve with increasing humidity as taught by Blatz.
8. Claims 16 – 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Mitsui et al (U.S. Patent No. 5,960,993) in view of Best et al (U.S. Patent No. 7,951,873 B2) and Sun (U.S. Patent No. 5,301,840) as evidenced by Hahm (U.S. Patent No. 5,256,359) and further in view of Matweb.
Mitsui et al, Best et al, Sun and Hahm disclose a container as discussed above. With regard to Claims 16 – 18, Mitsui et al, Best et al, Sun and Hahm fail to disclose high purity talc.
Matweb teaches the use of high purity talc in thermoplastic for the purpose of addition of color (produced from high purity ores; first page).
It therefore would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art for the barrier layer disclosed by Sun to comprise high purity talc in order to add color as taught by Matweb.
ANSWERS TO APPLICANT’S ARGUMENTS
9. Applicant’s arguments regarding the rejections of the previous Action have been carefully considered but have not been found to be persuasive for the reasons set forth below.
Applicant argues, on page 9 of the remarks dated July 25, 2025, that a tube comprising a single longitudinal join is not disclosed by Mitsui et al because two longitudinal joins are disclosed.
However, because the term ‘comprising’ is used in the claimed invention, the claimed invention also includes tubes having a second longitudinal join. Additionally, although a seal strip is disclosed by Mitsui et al, the seal strip does not comprise any edges of the disclosed multi – layer polymeric material. Therefore, there is only one longitudinal join that is formed by abutting edges of the multi – layer polymeric material.’26’ and ‘28’ (column 5, lines 34 – 42).
Applicant also argues on page 9 that because the bag disclosed by Mitsui et al is made by a technique such as blow molding, one of ordinary skill in the art who consults Best et al would consult the passages concerning blow molding instead of the passages concerning blown film.
However, the phrase ‘such as’ means that the technique of making the bag is not limited to blow molding.
Applicant also argues on page 9 that one of ordinary skill in the art would not utilize the blown film taught by Best et al to maintain a cylindrical shape.
However, it is not clear that the previous Action states that Mitsui et al is combined with Best et al to maintain a cylindrical shape.
/MARC A PATTERSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1782
.