Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1,2,4-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nikolskiy et al 20180132982 in view of Hines et al 2009008161 (newly cited) and the publication to Gjesteby et al.
With regard to claims 1,2,4,5,6,9,12, Nikolskiy et al disclose a method of CT scanning a physical dental impression comprising arranging a physical dental impression 122 (fig 2) comprising a higher radiodensity material (the frame 102 holding the impression material 122, has a higher radiodensity than the impression material) in a CT scanner 140 (fig. 3).
Nikolskiy et al do not disclose the higher radiodensity material (the frame) comprising a wire embedded inside, and along an outside portion of the physical dental impression tray.
Hines et al discloses a similar dental device, where the frame of the device may comprise a metal wire, which allows the device to be malleable. See for example, paragraphs 9,68,76,77, and figure 21B, element 2106 where the wire frame is embedded and along an outside portion of the device.
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to include a steel wire with the frame of Nikolskiy et al, as taught by Hines et al, if one wished for the frame with the Nikolskiy et al impression device to be malleable.
While Nikolskiy et al/Hines et al disclose that the impression is rotated during scanning (paragraph 30 of Nikolskiy), Nikolskiy et al/Hines et al do not disclose that the transverse axis of the physical dental impression 122 is non-perpendicular with respect to an axis of rotation of the impression.
Gjesteby et al disclose methods of reducing artifacts during CT scanning. On page 5831, first column, lines 18-21, Gjesteby et al disclose that unwanted artifacts may be reduced during CT scanning by altering the angle of acquisition of the image.
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to alter the angle of the transverse axis of the physical dental impression of Nikolskiy et al/Hines et al, such that the transverse axis is non- perpendicular with respect to, or parallel with, the axis of rotation, in view of the teaching of Gjesteby et al that altering the angle of acquisition in a CT scanning process may help reduce the appearance of artifacts. With further regard to claim 1, the altering of the angle of the transverse axis of the physical dental impression of Nikolskiy et al/Hines et al (as taught by Gjesteby et al) will inherently minimize the number of intersection points between x-ray paths and the higher density radiation material of the frame 102 of Nikolskiy et al/Hines et al, as well as inherently minimize the x-rays/x-ray paths intersecting the wire more than once.
With regard to claim 7, note that the higher radiodensity material (the frame 102) has a curved region (fig. 1) and a longer side 108 and shorter side 110 on either side of the curved region.
With regard to claim 8, although Nikolskiy et al/Hines et al/Gjesteby et al do not disclose the shorter side 110 above the longer side 108, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to arrange the impression with the frame shorter side above the frame longer side, if one wished to try additional orientations to try to minimize artifacts produced by the frame of the impression device.
With regard to claims 10 and 11, see fig. 3 of Nikolskiy et al which discloses x-ray paths 144 that are not parallel to the axis of rotation of the impression 146. Note the middle x-ray which appears to be perpendicular to the axis of rotation of the impression 146.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 2/20/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues (page 6 of response) that the teaching of Hines does not suggest wherein a wire is embedded inside a physical dental impression tray. This is not found persuasive because Hines is not being relied upon to show a wire embedded inside a physical dental impression tray. Rather, Hines was cited to show that it is known that a similar intraoral device can have a metal wire embedded along an outside portion of the device, so that the device may be malleable. It is the combination of Nikolskiy et al and Hines that discloses an impression tray with an embedded metal wire along an outside portion thereof.
Applicant also argues that because Hines is a “retraction device” and not an “impression tray”, one skilled in the art would not have been motivated to combine Hines with Nikolskiy et al or Gjesteby et al. This is not found persuasive. The test for obviousness does not require that the combined devices be the exact same device…but rather the test for obviousness is that if one skilled in the art were aware of both references, the skilled artisan would have been motivated to combine the teachings of one, with the teachings of the other. In this case, one skilled in the art would have recognized that Hines teaches that an embedded wire, along an outside portion thereof, and that such embedded wire could be combined with the impression tray of Nikolskiy et al, in view of the teaching of Hines that such an embedded wire makes the device more malleable.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NICHOLAS D LUCCHESI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3772