DETAILED ACTION
This office action response the amendment application on 5/25/2025.
Claims 1-2, 10-11, 21, and 23 are presented for examination.
Notice of AIA Status
Response to Amendment
This is in response to the amendments filed on 06, October, 2025. No Claims have been amended. Claims 1-15 and 21-23 are pending and have been considered below.
Response to Arguments
Applicant contends (see Remarks, p. 2-3) that Nory et al. in view of Chen et al. fails to teach or suggest “the DMRS being generated based on a sequence, the sequence being initialized based on at least one of the first value or the second value associated with an EPDCCH set,” as recited in claim 1. Applicant further asserts that claims 10 and 21 are allowable for at least similar reasons.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees.
At the outset, the claims are evaluated under the broadest reasonable interpretation (BRI) consistent with the specification. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181 (Fed. Cir. 1993). While claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. The specific narrowing interpretation urged by Applicant is not commensurate with the language of the pending claims.
Teachings of Nory et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2013/0044664)
Nory et al. (“Nory”) discloses:
Receiving RRC configuration including values associated with EPDCCH sets (¶[0073], Fig. 3; provisional pp. 25–27).
EPDCCH sets corresponding to sets of physical resource blocks (PRBs) (¶¶[0023], [0031], Fig. 2).
Receiving and using DMRS in subframes for monitoring enhanced control channel candidates (¶¶[0022–0023], [0031]).
Monitoring EPDCCH candidates in subsets of subframes using DMRS (¶¶[0050], [0054], [0073]).
EPDCCH reception in RB sets spanning portions of carrier bandwidth (¶[0007]).
Monitoring selected subsets of RBs for EPDCCH decoding candidates using DMRS (¶[0050]).
Thus, Nory clearly teaches configuration of EPDCCH sets associated with RB sets, monitoring EPDCCH candidates, and using DMRS in connection with such monitoring.
Teachings of Chen et al. (CN102340382)
Chen discloses that:
DMRS scrambling sequences are generated based on a sequence initialized using an initialization value configuration (¶¶[0027–0034]).
The initialization value configuration for the DMRS scrambling sequence is determined and signaled to the UE. In addition, DMRS configuration information and sends the result to the UE through PDCCH signaling, so that the UE obtains the corresponding DMRS scrambling code sequence according to the obtained initialization value configuration (¶[0075]).
Initialization ID sets and initialization value configurations are conveyed via signaling and the initialization value configuration indicated by the PDCCH signaling (¶[0077]).
In MU-JT scenarios, initialization values are controlled to manage orthogonality and interference (¶[0020]).
Accordingly, Chen explicitly teaches DMRS generation based on a pseudo-random sequence whose initialization value is configured and signaled.
Combination of Nory and Chen
Nory teaches EPDCCH sets associated with RB sets and the use of DMRS for monitoring EPDCCH candidates. Chen teaches generating DMRS sequences based on initialized scrambling sequences using configured initialization values.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to apply Chen’s teaching of configurable DMRS sequence initialization to the EPDCCH/DMRS framework of Nory in order to improve orthogonality, reduce interference, and enhance demodulation performance—explicitly recognized concerns in Chen (¶[0020]). The combination merely applies a known DMRS initialization technique to a known EPDCCH monitoring system.
To the extent Applicant argues that the references fail to disclose initialization “based on at least one of the first value or the second value associated with an EPDCCH set,” the Examiner notes that the rejected claims do not require the specific linkage or restrictive interpretation advanced by Applicant. Under BRI, configuration values associated with EPDCCH sets (as taught by Nory) and initialization values for DMRS sequences (as taught by Chen) reasonably meet the claimed language.
Under KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398 (2007), a rejection is proper where a person of ordinary skill in the art would have had reason to combine known elements with a reasonable expectation of success. In the present case, Nory teaches an EPDCCH framework in which DMRS is used for monitoring and decoding EPDCCH candidates within configured RB sets. Chen teaches generating DMRS scrambling sequences based on a pseudo-random sequence initialized using a configurable initialization value that is determined and signaled to the UE to improve orthogonality and reduce inter-UE interference. Because both references address LTE downlink control signaling and DMRS-based demodulation, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that applying Chen’s configurable DMRS initialization technique to the EPDCCH system of Nory would predictably improve signal orthogonality and demodulation reliability. The combination merely involves the substitution of one known DMRS initialization method for another within an established control channel framework to achieve the predictable result of improved interference management. Such a modification represents the application of a known technique to a known system ready for improvement and therefore would have been obvious under the rationale articulated in KSR.
In Conclusion, For the foregoing reasons, the combination of Nory in view of Chen teaches or suggests all limitations of claim 1. Claims 10 and 21 are rejected for similar reasons, as they recite commensurate subject matter. Accordingly, the rejection is maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 10-11, and 21, and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being Nory et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2013/0044664), (“D1”, hereinafter), having an earlier filing date of Aug. 15, 2011 disclosures in provisional application 61/523,568), in view of CHEN et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. CN102340382), (“D2”, hereinafter), see machine translation.
As per Claim 1, D1 discloses a method, comprising:
receiving, at a user equipment (UE), a radio resource control (RRC) configuration ([see, [0073],and fig. 3, and (provisional page 25, lines 15-16), signaled to the UE via UE specific RRC signaling]), the RRC configuration including a first value associated with a first enhanced physical downlink control channel (EPDCCH) set and a second value associated with a second EPDCCH set ([see, [0073], and Fig. 3, and (provisional page 27, lines 10-20), wherein the UE may be configured by the base station to monitor both PDCCH and EPDCCH candidates in a first subset of subframes and a second subset of subframes within the frame]),
the first and second EPDCCH sets corresponding, respectively, to first and second sets of physical resource blocks (PRBs) ([see, [0023, 0031], and Fig. 2, and (provisional page 27, lines 10-20), the UE may be configured by the base station to monitor EPDCCH candidates in a first subset of subframes and a second subset of subframes within the frame, which is the subframe includes physical resource blocks (PRBs)]);
receiving, at the UE, a demodulation reference signal (DMRS) in a subframe ([see, [0022-0023, 0031], and Fig. 2, and (provisional page 30, lines 20-25), the UE monitors enhanced control channel candidates using demodulation reference signals (DMRS) in a first subset of subframes]),
monitoring, by the UE, EPDCCH candidates in the subframe ([see, [0022-0023, 0031], and Fig. 2, and (provisional page 30, lines 20-25), the UE monitors enhanced control channel candidates using demodulation reference signals (DMRS) in a first subset of subframes]),
the EPDCCH candidates being associated with at least one of the first or second EPDCCH sets ([see, [0023, 0031], and Fig. 2, and (provisional page 30, lines 20-25), the UE may be configured by the base station to monitor EPDCCH candidates in a first subset of subframes and a second subset of subframes within the frame,]); and
receiving, at the UE, downlink control information (DCI) via one or more of the EPDCCH candidates ([see, [0022], and Fig. 2, and (provisional page 7, lines 5-10), wherein the UE then receives downlink control information (DCI) in a subframe in one of the monitored control channel candidates or enhanced control channel candidates in the subframe, abstract]), the DCI indicating resources allocated to the UE for uplink transmission ([see, [0022, 0076], and (provisional page 7, lines 5-10), receives downlink control information (DCI) in a subframe in one of the monitored control channel candidates or enhanced control channel candidates in the subframe]); and
transmitting, by the UE, uplink data in response to receiving the DCI ([see, [0039, 0076-0080], and (provisional page 28, lines 10-20), upon receiving the DCI during monitor EPDCCH candidates for signaling uplink assignments transmission. In addition, on [0070], the UE is configured for uplink MIMO]).
D1 doesn’t appear explicitly disclose: the DMRS being generated based on a sequence, the sequence being initialized based on at least one of the first value or the second value.
However, D2 discloses the DMRS being generated based on a sequence, the sequence being initialized based on at least one of the first value or the second value ([see, [0027-0034, 0075, 0077], wherein the configuring a DMRS scrambling sequence, determined initialization value configuration of the DMRS scrambling code sequence used by the UE. In addition, and the initialization value configuration indicated by the PDCCH signaling]).
In view of the above, having the system of D1 and then given the well-established teaching of D2, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of D1 as taught by D2. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide different DMRS scrambling sequences, thereby supporting MU-MIMO transmission that can support high rank, and effectively results improve improving the throughput of the system. (see, [0123]).
As per Claim 10, D1 discloses a user equipment (UE), comprising:
a UE controller configured to:
receive a radio resource control (RRC) configuration ([see, [0073],and fig. 3, and (provisional page 25, lines 15-16), signaled to the UE via UE specific RRC signaling]), the RRC configuration including a first value associated with a first enhanced physical downlink control channel (EPDCCH) set and a second value associated with a second EPDCCH set ([see, [0073], and Fig. 3, and (provisional page 27, lines 10-20), wherein the UE may be configured by the base station to monitor both PDCCH and EPDCCH candidates in a first subset of subframes and a second subset of subframes within the frame]),
the first and second EPDCCH sets corresponding, respectively, to first and second sets of physical resource blocks (PRBs) ([see, [0023, 0031], and Fig. 2, and (provisional page 27, lines 10-20), the UE may be configured by the base station to monitor EPDCCH candidates in a first subset of subframes and a second subset of subframes within the frame, which is the subframe includes physical resource blocks (PRBs)]);
receive a demodulation reference signal (DMRS) in a subframe ([see, [0022-0023, 0031], and Fig. 2, and (provisional page 30, lines 20-25), the UE monitors enhanced control channel candidates using demodulation reference signals (DMRS) in a first subset of subframes]),
monitor EPDCCH candidates in the subframe ([see, [0022-0023, 0031], and Fig. 2, and (provisional page 30, lines 20-25), the UE monitors enhanced control channel candidates using demodulation reference signals (DMRS) in a first subset of subframes]),
the EPDCCH candidates being associated with at least one of the first or second EPDCCH sets ([see, [0023, 0031], and Fig. 2, and (provisional page 30, lines 20-25), the UE may be configured by the base station to monitor EPDCCH candidates in a first subset of subframes and a second subset of subframes within the frame]).
D1 doesn’t appear explicitly disclose: the DMRS being generated based on a sequence, the sequence being initialized based on at least one of the first value or the second value.
However, D2 discloses the DMRS being generated based on a sequence, the sequence being initialized based on at least one of the first value or the second value ([see, [0027-0034, 0075, 0077], wherein the configuring a DMRS scrambling sequence, determined initialization value configuration of the DMRS scrambling code sequence used by the UE. In addition, and the initialization value configuration indicated by the PDCCH signaling]).
In view of the above, having the system of D1 and then given the well-established teaching of D2, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of D1 as taught by D2. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide different DMRS scrambling sequences, thereby supporting MU-MIMO transmission that can support high rank, and effectively results improve improving the throughput of the system. (see, [0123]).
As per Claim 21, is the method claim corresponding to the device claim 10 that has been rejected above. Applicant attention is directed to the rejection of claim 10. Claim 21 is anticipated by method being performed by the device above and therefore is rejected under the same rational as claim 10.
As per Claims 2, 11, 23, D1 doesn’t appear explicitly disclose: wherein the DMRS is generated based on:
where
is a parameter used to initialize the sequence,
is an integer, X is one of the first value and the second value, and
is a fixed value.
However, D2 discloses wherein the DMRS is generated based on:
where
is a parameter used to initialize the sequence,
is an integer, X is one of the first value and the second value, and
is a fixed value ([see, Machine translation on [009-0015], and formula 1, different UEs have up to four DMRS configurations, and its image capture formulas as follow from the original document):
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, JEONG, MOO R. can be reached on (571) 272-9617. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/BERHANU D BELETE/Examiner, Art Unit 2468
/WUTCHUNG CHU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2418