DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
The amendment filed on 09/10/2026 has been entered. Claims 32 and 38 have been amended. Thus, claims 32-33, 36-39 and 42-43 are currently pending and under examination.
Withdrawn Rejection
Claims 32 and 38 have been amended by narrowing the second catalyst. Patent number US4,831,060 (US’060; cited in PTO-892 10/01/2025) fails to teach or suggest the second catalyst as instantly claimed and thus the 103 rejections have been withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 32-33 and 36-37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ruckenstein (Ruckenstein, E. et al. “Carbon dioxide reforming of methane over nickel/alkaline earth metal oxide catalysts” Applied Catal. A: General 1995, 133, 149-161; cited in PTO-892 08/10/2020) in view of Sugi (Sugi, Y. et al. “The Enhanced Formation of C2-Oxygenates in the Hydrogenation of Carbon monoxide over the Modified Cobalt Catalysts” Chem. Lett. (1985), (9), 1315-18).
Regarding claim 32, Ruckenstein teaches a process for producing syngas, the process comprising bringing a nickel-based solid solution catalyst containing a single transition metal Ni into contact with CO2 at a temperature of 790 °C. The claimed temperature of greater than 800 °C is merely close to Ruckenstein’s 790 °C and thus is prima facie obvious in view of MPEP § 2144.05 “a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges or amounts do not overlap with the prior art but are merely close”.
The reference further teaches that the catalyst contains NiO/oxide weight ratio of 20/100 (page 151, sect. 2.1).
Based on this weight ratio, the amount of just Ni in 20 of NiO is calculated by:
(20 x 58.69at.wt.Ni)/ 74.69mol.wt.NiO = 15.7
The weight percent of Ni in the catalyst is thus calculated by:
15.7Ni/(20NiO + 100otheroxide)] x 100 = 13.08 wt%
Regarding claims 36-37, Ruckenstein is silent about the production of syngas with the claimed H2/CO ratio. However, because the reference teaches every limitation of claim 32, it is anticipated for the syngas with the claimed H2/CO ratio to be obtained in Ruckenstein. (see MPEP § 2112.01).
Regarding claim 33, Ruckenstein teaches that the catalyst is stable at a temperature of 790 ºC (Results section on pp152).
Regarding claim 32, Ruckenstein fails to teach the claimed step for producing methanol, ethanol or other alcohols from syngas, however the deficiency is cured by Sugi.
Sugi teaches a process for producing methanol and ethanol using a catalyst comprising Co and Ru (Table 1).
It is a common knowledge that methanol and ethanol have vast applications including as building blocks and solvents, manufacturing, construction, energy, environmental and industrial applications further teaches that the mixed alcohols that include C1-10 alcohols are used as a fuel replacement or fuel additive. Accordingly, a skilled artisan would have been motivated to further convert the syngas obtained in Ruckenstein to methanol and ethanol using the methods of Sugi.
It would thus have been prima facie obvious to a skilled artisan before the effective filing date of the instant invention in conducting a process for producing syngas that is converted into alcohols by bringing a nickel-based, solid solution catalyst into contact with CO2 at a temperature greater than 800 °C. and wherein the nickel-based, solid solution catalyst comprises only one transition metal, and wherein the transition metal is nickel at the 4.4 to 13.2 weight percent level, thereby forming syngas, wherein the syngas is reacted with a second catalyst, and wherein the second catalyst comprises cobalt and at least one metal selected from a group consisting of cerium, ruthenium, lanthanum, platinum and platinum supported on alumina, in view of the combination of Ruckenstein and Sugi.
Claim(s) 32-33 and 36-37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ruckenstein II (Ruckenstein, E. et al. “The effect of precursor and preparation conditions of MgO on the CO2 reforming of CH4 over NiO/MgO catalysts” Applied Catalysis A: General 154 (1997) 185-205; cited in PTO-892 08/28/2024) in view of Sugi (Sugi, Y. et al. “The Enhanced Formation of C2-Oxygenates in the Hydrogenation of Carbon monoxide over the Modified Cobalt Catalysts” Chem. Lett. (1985), (9), 1315-18).
Regarding claim 32, Ruckenstein II teaches a process for producing syngas, the process comprising bringing a nickel-based solid solution catalyst containing a single transition metal Ni into contact with CO2 at a temperature of 790 °C. The claimed temperature of greater than 800 °C is merely close to Ruckenstein’s 790 °C and thus is prima facie obvious in view of MPEP § 2144.05 “a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges or amounts do not overlap with the prior art but are merely close”.
The reference further teaches that the catalyst contains NiO/MgO with weight ratio of 20/100 and 13.1 wt% Ni in the catalyst (Table 3, page 194).
Regarding claim 33, Ruckenstein II teaches that the catalytic reaction is conducted at temperature of 790 ºC (section 2.2 on page 187) and thus the catalyst is stable at that temperature.
Regarding claims 36-37, Ruckenstein II is silent about the production of syngas with the claimed H2/CO ratio. However because the reference teaches every limitation of claim 32 in producing syngas, there is a prima facie case of anticipation in obtaining syngas with the claimed H2/CO ratio in Ruckenstein II. (see MPEP § 2112.01).
Regarding claim 32, Ruckenstein II fails to teach the claimed step for producing methanol, ethanol or other alcohols from syngas, however the deficiency is cured by Sugi.
Sugi teaches a process for producing methanol and ethanol using a catalyst comprising Co and Ru (Table 1).
It is a common knowledge that methanol and ethanol have vast applications including as building blocks and solvents, manufacturing, construction, energy, environmental and industrial applications further teaches that the mixed alcohols that include C1-10 alcohols are used as a fuel replacement or fuel additive. Accordingly, a skilled artisan would have been motivated to further convert the syngas obtained in Ruckenstein II to methanol and ethanol using the methods of Sugi.
It would thus have been prima facie obvious to a skilled artisan before the effective filing date of the instant invention in conducting a process for producing syngas that is converted into alcohols by bringing a nickel-based, solid solution catalyst into contact with CO2 at a temperature greater than 800 °C. and wherein the nickel-based, solid solution catalyst comprises only one transition metal, and wherein the transition metal is nickel at the 4.4 to 13.2 weight percent level, thereby forming syngas, wherein the syngas is reacted with a second catalyst, and wherein the second catalyst comprises cobalt and at least one metal selected from a group consisting of cerium, ruthenium, lanthanum, platinum and platinum supported on alumina, in view of the combination of Ruckenstein II and Sugi.
Claim(s) 38-39 and 42-43 stand rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ruckenstein (Ruckenstein, E. et al. “Carbon dioxide reforming of methane over nickel/alkaline earth metal oxide catalysts” Applied Catal. A: General 1995, 133, 149-161; cited in PTO-892 08/10/2020) in view of Nikulshina (Nikulshina, V. et al. “CO2 capture from air and co-production of H2 via the Ca(OH)2–CaCO3 cycle using concentrated solar power–Thermodynamic analysis” Energy 31 (2006) 1715–1725; cited in PTO-892 08/28/2024) and Sugi (Sugi, Y. et al. “The Enhanced Formation of C2-Oxygenates in the Hydrogenation of Carbon monoxide over the Modified Cobalt Catalysts” Chem. Lett. (1985), (9), 1315-18).
Regarding claim 32, Ruckenstein teaches a process for producing syngas, the process comprising bringing a nickel-based solid solution catalyst containing a single transition metal Ni into contact with CO2 at a temperature of 790 °C. The claimed temperature of greater than 800 °C is merely close to Ruckenstein’s 790 °C and thus is prima facie obvious in view of MPEP § 2144.05 “a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges or amounts do not overlap with the prior art but are merely close”.
The reference further teaches that the catalyst contains NiO/oxide weight ratio of 20/100 (page 151, sect. 2.1).
Based on this weight ratio, the amount of just Ni in 20 of NiO is calculated by:
(20 x 58.69at.wt.Ni)/ 74.69mol.wt.NiO = 15.7
The weight percent of Ni in the catalyst is thus calculated by:
15.7Ni/(20NiO + 100otheroxide)] x 100 = 13.08 wt%
Regarding claim 39, Ruckenstein teaches that the catalytic reaction is conducted at temperature of 790 ºC (section 2.2 on page 187) and thus the catalyst is stable at that temperature.
Regarding claims 42-43, Ruckenstein is silent about the production of syngas with the claimed H2/CO ratio. However because the reference teaches every limitation of claim 32, it is anticipated for the syngas with the claimed H2/CO ratio to be obtained in Ruckenstein. (see MPEP § 2112.01).
Regarding claim 38, Ruckenstein fails to teach capturing CO2 prior to the conversion of CO2 to syngas and the step for producing methanol, ethanol or other alcohols from syngas, however the deficiencies are cured by Nikulshina and Sugi.
Nikulshina teaches a process for capturing CO2 from air using a spray of Ca(OH)2 aqueous solution and using CO2 in dry reforming of natural gas to obtain syngas (H2+CO) (pages 1716-1717). It is understood to a skilled artisan that CO2 is an air pollutant, and thus the skilled artisan would have been motivated in capturing CO2 from air using Nikulshina’s methods and in using the captured CO2 in the methods of Ruckenstein to convert CO2 to syngas.
Sugi teaches a process for producing methanol and ethanol using a catalyst comprising Co and Ru (Table 1).
It is a common knowledge that methanol and ethanol have vast applications including as building blocks and solvents, manufacturing, construction, energy, environmental and industrial applications further teaches that the mixed alcohols that include C1-10 alcohols are used as a fuel replacement or fuel additive. Accordingly, a skilled artisan would have been motivated to further convert the syngas obtained in Ruckenstein to methanol and ethanol using the methods of Sugi.
It would thus have been prima facie obvious to a skilled artisan before the effective filing date of the instant invention in conducting a process for producing syngas that is converted into methanol, ethanol or other alcohols, wherein the process comprises capturing CO2 to provide a captured CO2 stream at a temperature greater than 800 °C, and bringing a nickel-based, solid solution catalyst into contact with CO2 from the captured CO2 stream, and wherein the nickel-based, solid solution catalyst comprises only one transition metal, and wherein the transition metal is nickel at the 4.4 to 13.2 weight percent level, thereby forming syngas, wherein the syngas is reacted with a second catalyst, and wherein the second catalyst comprises cobalt and at least one metal selected from a group consisting of cerium, ruthenium, lanthanum, and platinum supported on alumina, in view of the combination of Ruckenstein, Nikulshina and Sugi.
Claim(s) 38-39 and 42-43 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ruckenstein II (Ruckenstein, E. et al. “The effect of precursor and preparation conditions of MgO on the CO2 reforming of CH4 over NiO/MgO catalysts” Applied Catalysis A: General 154 (1997) 185-205; cited in PTO-892 08/28/2024) in view of Nikulshina (Nikulshina, V. et al. “CO2 capture from air and co-production of H2 via the Ca(OH)2–CaCO3 cycle using concentrated solar power–Thermodynamic analysis” Energy 31 (2006) 1715–1725; cited in PTO-892 08/28/2024) and Sugi (Sugi, Y. et al. “The Enhanced Formation of C2-Oxygenates in the Hydrogenation of Carbon monoxide over the Modified Cobalt Catalysts” Chem. Lett. (1985), (9), 1315-18).
Regarding claim 38, Ruckenstein II teaches a process for producing syngas, the process comprising bringing a nickel-based solid solution catalyst containing a single transition metal Ni into contact with CO2 at a temperature of 790 °C. The claimed temperature of greater than 800 °C is merely close to Ruckenstein’s 790 °C and thus is prima facie obvious in view of MPEP § 2144.05 “a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges or amounts do not overlap with the prior art but are merely close”.
The reference further teaches that the catalyst contains NiO/MgO with weight ratio of 20/100 and 13.1 wt% Ni (Table 3, page 194).
Regarding claim 39, Ruckenstein II teaches that the catalytic reaction is conducted at temperature of 790 ºC (section 2.2 on page 187) and thus the catalyst is stable at that temperature.
Regarding claims 42-43, Ruckenstein II is silent about the production of syngas with the claimed H2/CO ratio. However, because the reference teaches every limitation of claim 38 in producing syngas, there is a prima facie case of anticipation or obviousness in obtaining syngas with the claimed H2/CO ratio in Ruckenstein II. (see MPEP § 2112.01).
Regarding claim 38, Ruckenstein II fails to teach capturing CO2 prior to the conversion of CO2 to syngas and the step for producing methanol, ethanol or other alcohols from syngas, however the deficiencies are cured by Nikulshina and Sugi.
Nikulshina teaches a process for capturing CO2 from air using a spray of Ca(OH)2 aqueous solution and using CO2 in dry reforming of natural gas to obtain syngas (H2+CO) (pages 1716-1717). It is understood to a skilled artisan that CO2 is an air pollutant, and thus the skilled artisan would have been motivated in capturing CO2 from air using Nikulshina’s methods and in using the captured CO2 in the methods of Ruckenstein II to convert CO2 to syngas.
Sugi teaches a process for producing methanol and ethanol using a catalyst comprising Co and Ru (Table 1).
It is a common knowledge that methanol and ethanol have vast applications including as building blocks and solvents, manufacturing, construction, energy, environmental and industrial applications further teaches that the mixed alcohols that include C1-10 alcohols are used as a fuel replacement or fuel additive. Accordingly, a skilled artisan would have been motivated to further convert the syngas obtained in Ruckenstein II to methanol and ethanol using the methods of Sugi.
It would thus have been prima facie obvious to a skilled artisan before the effective filing date of the instant invention in conducting a process for producing syngas that is converted into methanol, ethanol or other alcohols, wherein the process comprises capturing CO2 to provide a captured CO2 stream at a temperature greater than 800 °C, and bringing a nickel-based, solid solution catalyst into contact with CO2 from the captured CO2 stream, and wherein the nickel-based, solid solution catalyst comprises only one transition metal, and wherein the transition metal is nickel at the 4.4 to 13.2 weight percent level, thereby forming syngas, wherein the syngas is reacted with a second catalyst, and wherein the second catalyst comprises cobalt and at least one metal selected from a group consisting of cerium, ruthenium, lanthanum, and platinum supported on alumina, in view of the combination of Ruckenstein II, Nikulshina and Sugi.
Conclusion
Claims 32-33, 36-39 and 42-43 are rejected and no claims are allowed.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MEDHANIT W BAHTA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1692