DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Request for Reconsideration
Applicant's reply filed 6/27/2025 has been entered. The claims were not amended. Claims 25-38 remain pending, of which claims 25-28, 37, and 38 are being considered on their merits. Claims 29-36 remain withdrawn from consideration. References not included with this Office action can be found in a prior action.
Applicant’s arguments on page 6 of the reply regarding Choi’s chitinase being heat-inactivated is found persuasive, and the obviousness rejections of record over Choi are withdrawn. New grounds of rejection are set forth below.
Any rejections of record not particularly addressed below are withdrawn in light of the claim amendments and/or applicant’s comments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 25-28 and 37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Elias (US 2013/0156750; Reference A).
Elias teaches a method treating or preventing acute lung injury in a subject, the method comprising administering an effective amount of a chitinase-like protein molecule and wherein the chitinase-like protein molecule is inclusive of catalytically active chitinases, acidic mammalian chitinases (i.e. AMCases) and chitotriosidases (claims 1 and 2; ¶0027; ¶0107), reading in-part on claims 25, 27, and 28. In a separate embodiment, Elias teaches treating or preventing pulmonary fibrosis (¶0018 and ¶0058), reading on claims 25, 26, and 37.
Regarding claims 25-28, and 37, while Elias does not teach every element of the claims in a single embodiment It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the invention was filed to treat or prevent pulmonary fibrosis in a subject by administering an effective amount of the AMCase or chitotriosidase of Elias. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success to do so because and the skilled artisan would have been motivated to do so because Elias expressly contemplates the combination of treating or prevent pulmonary fibrosis in a subject by administering an effective amount of the AMCase or chitotriosidase.
Therefore, the invention as a whole would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill before the invention was filed.
Claim 38 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Elias as applied to claims 25 and 37 above, and further in view of Caplan-Shaw et al. (JOEM (2011), 53(9), 981-991)
The teachings of Elias are relied upon as set forth above. Elias further teaches treating or preventing acute lung injury in human subjects (claim 8), reading in-part on claim 8.
Regarding claim 38, Elias does not teach a subject 50 years of age or older.
Caplan-Shaw teaches that a subject population exposed to particulate matter at the World Trade Center attack on 9/11 and with a median age range of 53 is at risk for developing interstitial (pulmonary) fibrosis (Abstract; also p983, Table 1 and the immediate paragraph after Table 1), reading on claim 38.
Regarding claim 38, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the invention was filed to further preventatively treat the subjects of Caplan-Shaw with the chitinase(s) of Elias. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success to do so because the subjects of Elias and Caplan-Shaw are related as either having pulmonary fibrosis or being at risk for developing pulmonary fibrosis. The skilled artisan would have been motivated to further treat the subjects of Caplan-Shaw because the preventative treatment with Elias’ chitinase(s) would likely reduce the risk of Caplan-Shaw’s subjects to further develop pulmonary fibrosis thus improving the health of the subjects.
Therefore, the invention as a whole would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill before the invention was filed.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments on pages 4-11 of the reply have been fully considered, but not found persuasive of error over the new grounds of rejection set forth above.
Affidavit/Declaration
The Declaration under 37 CFR 1.132 filed 6/27/2025 has been fully considered, but is insufficient to overcome the new grounds of rejection set forth above.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed. No claims are free of the art.
/Sean C. Barron/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1653