DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to Applicant’s amendment filed April 22, 2025 in reply to the Non-final Office Action mailed April 3, 2025. Claim 16 has been amended; claims 1-15, 23, 25, 26, 28, 30, 33, and 36 have been canceled; and no claims have been newly added. Claims 16-22, 24, 27, 29, 31, 32, 34, 35, and 37-43 are currently under examination.
Claim Interpretation
The claims originally presented have been amended by replacing the limitation “the active ingredient” with the new limitation “the pharmaceutically acceptable compound”. One of ordinary skill in the art would no doubt immediately recognize that “pharmaceutically acceptable compound” is far broader in scope than “active ingredient” and is not necessarily an “active ingredient”, and would encompass within the scope of its purview both active ingredients and excipients.
Withdrawal of Prior Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claim 16 has been satisfactorily amended. Therefore, the 35 USC 112(b) rejection presented in the Non-final Office Action mailed April 3, 2025 is hereby withdrawn.
Claim Objections
Claim 16 is objected to because of the following:
1. In the prior claim set, claim 16 concluded with the wherein clause “wherein upon oral administration of the ODT to a subject, the pharmaceutically acceptable compound is systemically administered to the subject via the oral mucosa.”. In the present claim set, this wherein clause appears to have vanished altogether.
2. Claim 16 now concludes with the wherein clause “wherein upon oral administration of the ODT to a subject, the ODT is formulated to deliver the pharmaceutically acceptable compound systemically administered to the subject via the oral mucosa”. The phrase “upon oral administration…the ODT is formulated to deliver the…compound systemically administered” is in improper English grammatical format.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 (I and II)
I. Claims 16-22, 24, 27, 29, 31, 32, 34, 35, 37-40, and 42 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sivert et al. (WIPO International Application Pub. No. WO 2015/189726), in view of in view of Estracanholli et al. (AAPS PharmSciTech. 2014; 15(6): 1468-1475) and Clogston et al. (Chemistry and Physics of Lipids. 2000; 107: 191-220).
Applicant Claims
Applicant’s elected subject matter is directed to a method of preparing an orally disintegrating tablet (ODT) for e.g. sublingual or buccal administration comprising heating an amphiphilic compound, e.g. glycerol monooleate***, to about its melting point, mixing a “pharmaceutically acceptable compound” to be delivered with the amphiphilic compound until dispersed, cooling the mixture to at least a semi-solid state, combining the mixture with at least one pharmaceutically acceptable excipient to form a blend, and compressing the blend to form the ODT; wherein the ODT comprises a disintegrant; wherein the amount of the “pharmaceutically acceptable compound” is 0.5-10 wt% of the ODT; wherein the amphiphilic compound is a mixture of 82% monoacylglycerides, 13.4% diacylglycerides, and 4.3% glycerol and is 3-10 wt% of the ODT; wherein the amphiphilic compound is not heated to 30-40 C or more than 5C above its melting point; and wherein the ODT has a hardness of 0.5-6 kp.
***Applicant’s spec defines “glycerol monooleate” as an amphiphilic compound capable of self-assembly into liquid crystalline particles in the form of cubosomes upon contact with a hydrophilic solvent.
Determination of the Scope and Content of the Prior Art (MPEP §2141.01)
Sivert et al. disclose a method of preparing an orally disintegrating tablet (ODT) comprising heating a lipid compound to just above its melting point, mixing an active ingredient to be delivered with the lipid compound until dispersed, cooling the mixture to a solid state, combining the mixture with at least one pharmaceutically acceptable excipient to form a blend, and compressing the blend to form the ODT; wherein the ODT can comprise a disintegrant; wherein the active ingredient is 0.1-7 wt% of the ODT; wherein the lipid compound is heated to e.g. about 30-85C or above “room temperature”, is optimally heated to 2-3C above its melting point; and can be e.g. glycerol monooleate***; and wherein the ODT has a hardness of 20-50 N (i.e. about 2-5 kp) and disintegrates in 10-90 seconds (i.e. within 15 minutes) of contact with a hydrophilic solvent, such as saliva or water (abstract; paragraphs 0018, 0038, 0041, 0042, 0045, 0049, 0052, 0077-0079, 0082).
***Applicant’s spec defines “glycerol monooleate” as an amphiphilic compound capable of self-assembly into liquid crystalline particles in the form of cubosomes upon contact with a hydrophilic solvent.
Estracanholli et al. disclose that MYVEROL 18-99 is a commercial grade of monoolein (i.e. glycerol monooleate).
Clogston et al. discloses that MYVEROL 18-99 is a mixture of 82% monoacylglycerides, 13.4% diacylglycerides, and 4.3% glycerol.
Ascertainment of the Difference Between the Scope of the Prior Art and the Claims (MPEP §2141.02)
Sivert et al. does not explicitly disclose that the amphiphilic compound is a mixture of 82% monoacylglycerides, 13.4% diacylglycerides, and 4.3% glycerol. This deficiency is cured by the teachings of Estracanholli et al. and Clogston et al.
Finding of Prima Facie Obviousness Rationale and Motivation
(MPEP §2142-2143)
It would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the present application was filed to combine the respective teachings of Sivert et al., Estracanholli et al., and Clogston et al., outlined supra, to devise Applicant’s presently claimed method.
Sivert et al. disclose a method of preparing an orally disintegrating tablet (ODT) comprising heating a lipid compound to its melting point, mixing an active ingredient with the lipid compound until dispersed, cooling the mixture to a solid state, combining the mixture with at least one pharmaceutically acceptable excipient to form a blend, and compressing the blend to form the ODT; wherein the active ingredient is 0.1-7 wt% of the ODT; wherein the lipid compound is heated to e.g. about 30-85C or above “room temperature”, is optimally heated to 2-3C above its melting point; and wherein the ODT has a hardness of 20-50 N (i.e. about 2-5 kp) and disintegrates in 10-90 seconds. Since Sivert et al. disclose that glycerol monooleate is a suitable lipid compound for making such an ODT by such a method, one of ordinary skill in the art would thus be motivated to employ glycerol monooleate as the lipid compound, i.e. which Applicant defines as “an amphiphilic compound capable of self-assembly into liquid crystalline particles in the form of cubosomes upon contact with a hydrophilic solvent” and thus which meets these limitations, with the reasonable expectation that the resulting method will successfully produce an ODT with a hardness of 20-50 N (i.e. about 2-5 kp) and which disintegrates in 10-90 seconds.
Moreover, since Estracanholli et al. disclose that MYVEROL 18-99 is a commercial grade of monoolein (i.e. glycerol monooleate), and since Clogston et al. discloses that MYVEROL 18-99 is a mixture of 82% monoacylglycerides, 13.4% diacylglycerides, and 4.3% glycerol, one of ordinary skill in the art would thus be motivated to employ MYVEROL 18-99 as the glycerol monooleate compound, with the reasonable expectation that the resulting method will produce an ODT with a hardness of 20-50 N (i.e. about 2-5 kp) and which disintegrates in 10-90 seconds.
Sivert discloses that the lipid phase is chosen so that the lipid is solid at “room temperature”. Hence, the key underlying requirement driving the whole process is that the lipid should have a melting point higher than “room temperature”, so that it will be solid at room temperature. While Sivert discloses that the lipid phase may have a melting point of e.g. 30-85C, more broadly one of ordinary skill in the art would understand that standard “room temperature” is about 20-22C (i.e. 68-72F). Hence, from the broader disclosure of Sivert, one of ordinary skill in the art would no doubt understand that a lipid with a melting point of e.g. 27-28C would work just fine (heating 2-3C above the melting point would put the heating temperature at 30C), since it would be solid at standard room temperature of 20-22C.
Sivert et al. disclose that the solid lipid particles are e.g. 10-40 wt% of the ODT, and the amount of lipid in the solid lipid particles can be e.g. greater than 70 wt%. Hence, the ODT can comprise e.g. about 7-10 wt% lipid, such as e.g. glycerol monooleate.
Since Sivert et al. disclose that glycerol monooleate is a suitable lipid compound for making such an ODT by such a method, one of ordinary skill in the art would thus be motivated to employ glycerol monooleate as the lipid compound, i.e. which Applicant defines as “an amphiphilic compound capable of self-assembly into liquid crystalline particles in the form of cubosomes upon contact with a hydrophilic solvent” and thus which meets these limitations, with the reasonable expectation that the resulting method will successfully produce an ODT with a hardness of 20-50 N (i.e. about 2-5 kp) and which disintegrates in 10-90 seconds.
The Sivert et al. method does not require any time delays in performing the steps of the process, and thus all steps would be understood by one of ordinary skill in the art as taking place immediately and the performing of the order of steps occurring in immediate succession.
In light of the foregoing discussion, the Examiner concludes that the subject matter defined by the instant claims would have been obvious within the meaning of 35 USC 103(a).
From the teachings of the references, it is apparent that one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in producing the claimed invention. Therefore, the invention as a whole was prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made, as evidenced by the references, especially in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
II. Claims 41 and 43 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sivert et al. (WIPO International Application Pub. No. WO 2015/189726), in view of Ray et al. (U.S. Patent No. 7,736,672), Estracanholli et al. (AAPS PharmSciTech. 2014; 15(6): 1468-1475) and Clogston et al. (Chemistry and Physics of Lipids. 2000; 107: 191-220).
II. Applicant Claims
Applicant’s elected subject matter is directed to a method of preparing an orally disintegrating tablet (ODT) for e.g. sublingual or buccal administration comprising heating an amphiphilic compound, e.g. glycerol monooleate***, to about its melting point, mixing a “pharmaceutically acceptable compound” to be delivered with the amphiphilic compound until dispersed, cooling the mixture to at least a semi-solid state, combining the mixture with at least one pharmaceutically acceptable excipient to form a blend, and compressing the blend to form the ODT; wherein the ODT comprises a disintegrant; wherein the amphiphilic compound is a mixture of monoacylglycerides, diacylglycerides, and glycerol; and wherein amphiphilic compound and the pharmaceutically acceptable compound are wet granulated and the method further includes adding a binder using ethanol as a solvent and drying following addition of the binder.
***Applicant’s spec defines “glycerol monooleate” as an amphiphilic compound capable of self-assembly into liquid crystalline particles in the form of cubosomes upon contact with a hydrophilic solvent.
II. Determination of the Scope and Content of the Prior Art (MPEP §2141.01)
Sivert et al. disclose a method of preparing an orally disintegrating tablet (ODT) comprising heating a lipid compound to just above its melting point, mixing an active ingredient to be delivered with the lipid compound until dispersed, cooling the mixture to a solid state, combining the mixture with at least one pharmaceutically acceptable excipient to form a blend, and compressing the blend to form the ODT; wherein the active ingredient is 0.1-7 wt% of the ODT; wherein the lipid compound is heated to e.g. about 30-85C or above “room temperature”, is optimally heated to 2-3C above its melting point; and can be e.g. glycerol monooleate***; and wherein the ODT has a hardness of 20-50 N (i.e. about 2-5 kp) and disintegrates in 10-90 seconds (i.e. within 15 minutes) of contact with a hydrophilic solvent, such as saliva or water (abstract; paragraphs 0018, 0038, 0041, 0042, 0045, 0049, 0052, 0077-0079, 0082).
***Applicant’s spec defines “glycerol monooleate” as an amphiphilic compound capable of self-assembly into liquid crystalline particles in the form of cubosomes upon contact with a hydrophilic solvent.
Ray et al. (the disclosure of which Sivert et al. expressly incorporates by reference, see paragraph 0076) disclose that a suitable process for preparing solid lipid particles with improved stability can include wet granulation with the aid of a binder and e.g. ethanol, which ethanol is dried once the particles are formed (Col. 12, lines 56-68; Col 13, lines 1-20, 35-40).
Estracanholli et al. disclose that MYVEROL 18-99 is a commercial grade of monoolein (i.e. glycerol monooleate).
Clogston et al. discloses that MYVEROL 18-99 is a mixture of 82% monoacylglycerides, 13.4% diacylglycerides, and 4.3% glycerol.
II. Ascertainment of the Difference Between the Scope of the Prior Art and the Claims (MPEP §2141.02)
Sivert et al. does not explicitly disclose that the amphiphilic compound is a mixture of monoacylglycerides, diacylglycerides, and glycerol. This deficiency is cured by the teachings of Estracanholli et al. and Clogston et al.
II. Finding of Prima Facie Obviousness Rationale and Motivation
(MPEP §2142-2143)
It would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the present application was filed to combine the respective teachings of Sivert et al., Ray et al., Estracanholli et al., and Clogston et al., outlined supra, to devise Applicant’s presently claimed method.
Sivert et al. disclose a method of preparing an orally disintegrating tablet (ODT) comprising heating a lipid compound to its melting point, mixing an active ingredient with the lipid compound until dispersed, cooling the mixture to a solid state, combining the mixture with at least one pharmaceutically acceptable excipient to form a blend, and compressing the blend to form the ODT; wherein the ODT can contain a disintegrant; wherein the ODT has a hardness of 20-50 N (i.e. about 2-5 kp); and wherein the ODT disintegrates in 10-90 seconds. Since Sivert et al. disclose that glycerol monooleate is a suitable lipid compound for making such an ODT, and Ray et al. (the disclosure of which Sivert et al. expressly incorporates by reference, see paragraph 0076) disclose that a suitable process for preparing solid lipid particles with improved stability can include wet granulation with the aid of a binder and e.g. ethanol, which ethanol is dried once the particles are formed by such a method; one of ordinary skill in the art would thus be motivated to employ glycerol monooleate as the lipid compound, i.e. which Applicant defines as “an amphiphilic compound capable of self-assembly into liquid crystalline particles in the form of cubosomes upon contact with a hydrophilic solvent” and thus which meets these limitations, and to manufacture the particles by wet granulation, with the reasonable expectation that the resulting method will successfully produce an ODT with a hardness of 20-50 N (i.e. about 2-5 kp) and which disintegrates in 10-90 seconds.
Moreover, since Estracanholli et al. disclose that MYVEROL 18-99 is a commercial grade of monoolein (i.e. glycerol monooleate), and since Clogston et al. discloses that MYVEROL 18-99 is a mixture of 82% monoacylglycerides, 13.4% diacylglycerides, and 4.3% glycerol, one of ordinary skill in the art would thus be motivated to employ MYVEROL 18-99 as the glycerol monooleate compound, with the reasonable expectation that the resulting method will produce an ODT with a hardness of 20-50 N (i.e. about 2-5 kp) and which disintegrates in 10-90 seconds.
In light of the foregoing discussion, the Examiner concludes that the subject matter defined by the instant claims would have been obvious within the meaning of 35 USC 103(a).
From the teachings of the references, it is apparent that one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in producing the claimed invention. Therefore, the invention as a whole was prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made, as evidenced by the references, especially in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed April 22, 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
i) Applicant contends that while the Office asserts “Sivert discloses the core method steps”, that “this perspective overlooks crucial distinctions in the fundamental formulation strategy”; that “the fundamental distinction lies in the purpose and resulting formulation of the ODT prepared”; that the present claims require “an ODT formulated to deliver the pharmaceutically acceptable compound systemically…via the oral mucosa”; that “the crux of the matter lies not just in the steps, but the destination”; that “Sivert never contemplates, teaches, or suggests formulating for systemic absorption through the oral mucosa”; that “oral mucosal delivery requires the dosage form to adhere reliably to the mucosal surface” but “Sivert…provides teachings that point away from mucoadhesion” and “aims for a smooth, quick passage after disintegration…consistent with this, Sivert’s exemplified formulations (Examples 4 and 6) use anti-sticking agents like talc, identified as an anti-sticking aid intended to reduce tackiness and improve particle flow” and “this deliberate reduction of stickiness is the antithesis of the purposeful engineering of mucoadhesion”; further, “a critical delivery mechanism for the claimed invention is the in situ self-assembly of the specific amphiphile mixture into liquid crystalline particles…upon contact with saliva” which is “key to Applicant’s mucosal delivery strategy, as these nanostructures are understood to interact favorably with the mucosal membrane”; that “the choice of amphiphile isn’t trivial, its precise nature significantly influences the formation, structure, and stability of the LCPs, as well as mucoadhesion and drug release characteristics – all critical factors for successful mucosal delivery”; that “Sivert, in contrast, describes its solid lipid particles primarily in the context of encapsulation for taste masking” and that “release from these particles may take longer than tablet disintegration” and “Sivert’s goal of delivering intact, taste-masked particles to the GI tract necessitates preventing or minimizing the very LCP formation and drug release in the mouth”; thus there is no motivation starting with Sivert to “select the exact amphiphilic blend with any reasonable expectation of creating an effective systemic oral mucosal delivery system”; that “the Office Action’s core argument appears to rest on inherency” but “the properties required by claim 16…are not merely incidental or inherent outcomes of using GMO in any generic ODT process…they are the direct result of Applicant’s specific, targeted formulation strategy…to deliver the pharmaceutically acceptable compound systemically…via oral mucosa” and thus this property “defines the necessary result and capability of the ODT” and “Sivert simply does not teach or suggest a method specifically adapted or formulated to produce an ODT capable of achieving systemic oral mucosal delivery”, specifically “Sivert fails to teach or suggest…the formulation for systemic oral delivery, the requirement for mucoadhesion…and the reliance on in situ LCP formation for adsorption”.
The Examiner, however, would like to point out the following:
1. The present claims are directed to a method of making a tablet, not to a method of using a tablet. One of ordinary skill in the art, in view of the express teachings and reasonable suggestions of the cited prior art, would have arrived at the presently claimed method of making a tablet, defined by the set of active method steps to be performed by the hand of man, with a reasonable expectation of success. Applicant has not provided any evidence to the contrary.
2. Contrary to Applicant’s assertion, in the United States what matters is in fact the actual set of active steps to be performed by the hand of man, and not “the destination”. Again, one of ordinary skill in the art in view of the cited prior art would thus arrive at the claimed method of making a tablet, defined by the set of requisite active method steps, and this is sufficient to preclude the patentability of the claimed method. The cited prior art need not disclose Applicant’s own intended use for the tablet made. The cited prior art need not disclose Applicant’s own specific reasons for employing specific steps or specific constituents. The cited prior art need not provide an express motivation; i.e. to conduct requisite steps, include requisite constituent elements, or to combine steps or elements; based on the specific purpose of achieving Applicant’s own intended use for the tablet made, or based on the specific purpose of achieving a specific property of the tablet upon oral administration which Applicant has identified or documented, such as oral mucosal delivery. On the contrary, one of ordinary skill in the art may have had their own reasons, based on the teachings and suggestions of the cited prior art, for conducting the set of requisite active steps and for employing the requisite constituent elements, and these reasons need not be the very same reasons Applicant had for conducting the very same steps or including the very same constituents.
3. Moreover, Applicant has provided no evidence of any kind whatsoever that the product one of ordinary skill in the art would arrive at following the cited prior art, does not actually have the properties at issue here, including self-assembly into liquid crystalline particles, mucoadhesion, and oral mucosal delivery. Applicant has merely argued that the cited prior art does not expressly disclose these properties or provide any motivation for conducting the required active steps with the required constituents for the purpose of achieving these properties. However, just because the cited prior art does not expressly disclose these properties or expressly direct one to perform specific steps or include specific constituents for the specific purpose of achieving these properties does not mean that the prior art tablet does not have these properties. If the prior art discloses a method of making a tablet comprising steps A, B, C, and D, Applicant cannot patent or re-patent a method of making a tablet comprising A, B, C, and D, merely on the grounds that the prior art intends to orally administer the tablet, which then disintegrates into particles, which the prior art intends to swallow so that the active is absorbed in the GI tract, but Applicant intends to orally administer the tablet, which then disintegrates into particles, which Applicant has now discovered self-assemble into liquid crystalline particles, adhere to the oral mucosa, and deliver e.g. an active via the oral mucosa. Indeed, one of ordinary skill in the art could have arrived at the actual claimed method itself, with the very same active steps using the very same constituents, with a reasonable expectation of success, but had no idea that when the tablet so made is orally administered, comes into contact with saliva, and disintegrates, that there proceeds self-assembly into liquid crystalline particles, which then adhere to the oral mucosa, and deliver e.g. an active via the oral mucosa. Indeed, because one of ordinary skill in the art could have arrived at the actual claimed method itself, with the very same active steps using the very same constituents, with a reasonable expectation of success, the claimed method is not patentable, and this does not change even if one of ordinary skill in the art had no idea about Applicant’s discoveries regarding what transpires upon oral administration of the tablet, and even if one of ordinary skill in the art expected that upon oral administration of the tablet, one would have to swallow the tablet and have the active absorbed by the GI tract.
4. Again, just because Sivert never expressly contemplates, teaches, or suggests formulating for systemic absorption via the oral mucosa does not mean that Sivert, in fact, has not actually made such a tablet with such a property, which property is entirely unknown to Sivert. More broadly, however, the prior art rejection is not over Sivert alone, but rather over the combination of the cited prior art. The method one of ordinary skill in the art would thus arrive at in view of the cited prior art employs very same amphiphile. If, as Applicant contends, “the choice of amphiphile isn’t trivial, its precise nature significantly influences the formation, structure, and stability of the LCPs, as well as mucoadhesion and drug release characteristics – all critical factors for successful mucosal delivery”, then, since the method one of ordinary skill in the art would arrive at employs the very same amphiphile, it can only be reasonably concluded that the tablet one of ordinary skill in the art would make would have the very same properties when orally administered. Indeed, the amphiphile simply would not know to “significantly influence the formation, structure, and stability of the LCPs, as well as mucoadhesion and drug release characteristics – all critical factors for successful mucosal delivery” only for Applicant, but not for anyone else, since only Applicant disclosed this property. On the contrary, the tablet one of ordinary skill in the art would thus make in view of the cited prior art, employing the very same amphiphile, can only reasonably be said to have this very same property as well, even if the property was not known in the prior art.
5. Again, the claimed method of making a tablet is defined by the set of requisite active method steps to be performed by the hand of man that results in the production of the tablet. The cited prior art discloses the actual claimed method of making a tablet as defined in the claims, and this is sufficient to preclude the patentability of the claimed method. Applicant has made no argument whatsoever that the cited prior art does not disclose any of the actual active method steps that define their method of making a tablet. On the contrary, Applicant is merely arguing that the cited prior art does not expressly disclose certain features or properties of the tablet so made, or provide any motivation for conducting steps or including constituents for the purpose of achieving these properties. However, if, as Applicant has argued, these features or properties critically depend on the specific amphiphile, and the tablet made by following the cited prior art contains this very same critical amphiphile, it can only be reasonably concluded that the properties are there, even if the prior art did not expressly disclose the property, or even know about the property. Since the method of making the tablet is the same, the tablet so made must be the same. Hence, since the tablet so made is the same, the properties of the tablet so made must be the same as well. Applicant has provided no evidence to the contrary.
6. Sivert, the cited primary reference, discloses an orally-disintegrating tablet (ODT) that rapidly disintegrates in the mouth. In stark contrast to Applicant’s assertions, Sivert does not “teach away” from mucoadhesion or of local delivery of actives in the mouth. Sivert says nothing at all about mucoadhesion, and thus does not exclude mucoadhesion or otherwise “teach away” from it. On the contrary, Sivert expressly teaches that glycerol monooleate, a well-known mucoadhesive, is a suitable lipid compound for making an ODT by their method. Indeed, as anyone of ordinary skill in the art would know, glycerol monooleate is a mucoadhesive compound and spontaneously forms cubosomes in hydrophilic media that aid in the mucoadhesion (see e.g. Nielsen et al., Eur. J. Pharm. Sci. 1998; 6(3): 231-239). Indeed, consistent with this knowledge in the art, Applicant’s own specification defines “glycerol monooleate” as an amphiphilic compound capable of self-assembly into liquid crystalline particles in the form of cubosomes upon contact with a hydrophilic solvent. Further, Estracanholli discloses that MYVEROL, the commercial grade of glycerol monoleate, forms liquid crystalline particles in the form of cubosomes upon contact with water (i.e. a hydrophilic solvent) (see page 1469). Moreover, glycerol monooleate is well-known in the art to be an excellent penetration enhancer that can promote drug absorption through oral mucosa. One of ordinary skill in the art would thus no doubt immediately recognize that Sivert’s glycerol monooleate also forms mucoadhesive cubosomes upon oral administration of the Sivert tablet, and would facilitate drug absorption through the oral mucosa. In other words, the ODT tablet one of ordinary skill in the art would arrive at by following the cited prior art would have these properties, whether or not the cited prior art expressly discloses them. Again, Applicant has not provided any hard evidence or logical explanation to the contrary.
7. Applicant’s claims do not require any specific active agent, or require any active agent at all. Applicant’s claims also do not necessarily exclude any active agents, and do not exclude objectionably-tasting and/or mucosally irritating active ingredients. Moreover, Sivert does not require any objectionably-tasting and/or mucosally irritating active ingredients. Even if Sivert does happen to include an objectionably-tasting and/or mucosally irritating active ingredient, this is of no concern, since, as Applicant has previously pointed out, Sivert teaches that “the solid lipid particles are particularly suitable for administering objectionably-tasting and/or mucosally irritating active ingredients”. They are suitable because they can mask/prevent the objectionable taste and the mucosal irritation. Moreover, Sivert provides for the inclusion of glycerol monololeate, a known mucoadhesive. In other words, there is simply no objectionable taste or mucosal irritation to contend with, and there is no active effort to avoid mucoadhesion. Even assuming, arguendo, that Sivert does contain objectionably-tasting and/or mucosally irritating active ingredients, with no taste-masking effect, it is noted that the further inclusion of glycerol monooleate, which facilitates mucoadhesion and rapid transmucosal absorption, would ensure that the active ingredients in question would be rapidly absorbed across the mucosa before they can cause any significant irritation.
For the foregoing reasons, the 35 USC 103 rejections are hereby maintained.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Inquiries
/DAVID BROWE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1617