DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
This office action is in response to the amendment filed 10/23/2025, which amends claims 1 and 5, and adds claim 11. Claims 1, 3-6, and 8-11 are pending in the application.
Response to Amendment
In the response filed 10/23/2025, the claims were amended.
These amendments are hereby entered.
In light of Applicant’s amendments to the claims, the rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 of claims 1, 3-6, and 8-10 as being unpatentable over Ahn et al. (US 2017/0117488 A1) is withdrawn by the Office.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-6, and 8-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 2016/0308143 A1).
With respect to claim 1, Kim discloses Compound 31 (page 22), which is pictured below.
This compound is derived from Kim Formula 1, which is pictured below.
Kim also teaches that X11 is C(R13)(R14) (paragraph 0008), R13 and R14 are a C1 alkyl (paragraph 0013, line 8) (methyl, paragraph 0252, line 4) group, and R26 is a 9-carbazolyl group (paragraphs 0085 and 0088 and Formula 5-26, page 12).
Such a modification produces a compound that meets the requirements of instant Formula 1-3 when R1 and R2 are each a C1 alkyl (methyl) group, Ar1 is represented by Chemical Formula 2-2, and Ar2 is a 9-carbazolyl group. In Formula 2-2, X1 is sulfur and R4 is a phenyl group.
Kim includes each element claimed, with the only difference between the claimed invention and Kim being a lack of the aforementioned combination being explicitly stated. Absent a showing of unexpected results, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant invention to select any known substituent combination from each of the finite lists of possible combinations to arrive at the compound of the instant claim since the combination of elements would have yielded the predictable result of low driving voltage, high efficiency, high luminance, and long lifespan when incorporated into an organic light emitting device (paragraph 0147), commensurate in scope with the claimed invention. See Section 2143 of the MPEP, rationales (A) and (E).
With respect to claim 3, Kim teaches the compound of claim 1, and R1 and R2 are methyl, as discussed above.
With respect to claim 4, Kim teaches the compound of claim 1, and Ar3 and Ar4 are not present.
With respect to claim 5, Kim teaches the compound of claim 1, and the compound is the instant second embodiment.
With respect to claims 6, and 8 through 10, Kim teaches the compound of claims 1 and 3 through 5, and Kim also teaches an organic light emitting device comprising a first electrode (an anode), a second electrode (a cathode) (paragraph 0152), and one or more organic layers between the electrodes comprising the compound (paragraph 0153 and 0150).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the compound in an organic layer of the device with the claimed structure, as taught by Kim.
With respect to claim 11, Kim teaches the compound of claim 1, and Ar1 is represented by Chemical Formula 2-2, for the reasons discussed above.
Conclusion
/RACHEL SIMBANA/Examiner, Art Unit 1786