Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 7-11 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant's arguments filed 04/28/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to applicant’s argument in pages 7-9, the applicant asserts that “Applicant respectfully asserts that Samsung, Ericsson, Si, and Yu, whether considered separately or in combination, fail to teach at least the above-referenced limitations of amended independent claim 7. The same is true regarding independent claims 8-11, which recite substantially similar limitations.” Examiner respectively disagrees.
The applicant further asserts in pages 7, 8 that “the Examiner indicates that Samsung teaches "receive, from a base station, information indicating a transmission periodicity for a block containing a synchronization signal and a physical broadcast channel (PBCH) that includes system information." Further, the Examiner relies on cited paragraphs [0097], [0134], [0177], [0194], [0201], [0203], [0231], and [0233] of Si to teach "receive, from a base station, a System Information Block (SIB) indicating a time position and a transmission periodicity for a block containing a synchronization signal and system information." Therefore, the Examiner contends that combination of Samsung and Si teaches limitation (i). See Office Action, pages 2-8. Applicant disagrees with the Examiner's contentions as discussed below.” Examiner respectively disagrees.
As indicated by fig. 15, table 4, par. 194 of SI ‘946, the SS block in the SS burst set in the time domain is indicated by SS block index and signaled to the UE, which would indicating SIB, as indicated by par. 97, 177, 201, 231, and as further indicated by par. 134, 203, and par. 233 of SI ‘946, “There are two parts in SI static part and dynamic part. Static part is called as MIB… Dynamic part is called as SIB…dynamically indicate the UE-specific configuration of the actual transmission of the SS blocks in a SS burst set or part of the configuration in PDCCH…SS burst index is common across SS blocks in each SS-burst. The following SS burst index and SS block index per SS burst need to be indicated respectively”, which would indicating the SS block index or timing position is convey or inform using SIB. Therefore, SI ‘946 would discloses “receive, from a base station, a System Information Block (SIB) indicating a time position and a transmission periodicity for a block containing a synchronization signal and system information.”
As further indicated by HARADA et al. (US 20190037609) that teaches “The information regarding the constitution of the synchronization signal may be notified from the eNB to the UE in a physical layer signaling (for example, Downlink Control Information (DCI)), an upper layer signaling (for example, Radio Resource Control (RRC) signaling, notification information (a Master Information Block (MIB)), and a System Information Block (SIB)), other signals, or a combination of those” (par. 78), which would indicating that one of ordinary skill in the art would able to substitute DCI with SIB to indicating the synchronization information.
Therefore, the combination of R1-1700883 (SAMSUNG) and SI ‘946 would teach “a receiver configured to: receive, from a base station, a System Information Block (SIB) indicating a time position and a transmission periodicity for a block containing a synchronization signal and a physical broadcast channel (PBCH) that includes system information… wherein the transmission periodicity for the block is a periodicity of half frames for reception of the PBCH.” Therefore, the combination of Samsung, Ericsson, Si, Yu, and the new reference, ABEDINI et al. (US 20180302867), would teach the claims.
The rejection is maintained.
(note: In the context of cellular networks like LTE and 5G NR, a System Information Block (SIB) is a broadcast message containing essential information about the network and its capabilities, allowing User Equipment (UE) to operate correctly and efficiently).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SAMSUNG (“SS BW and multiplexing” herein R1-1700883) in view of SI et al. (US 20180167946 as supported by provisional app. 62483010 filed on 04/07/2017), Ericsson (“Basic access configuration acquisition principles for NR” herein R2-168298), YU et al. (US 20180220395), and ABEDINI et al. (US 20180302867 as supported by provisional app. 62485512 filed on 04/14/2017).
Regarding claims 7, 9, R1-1700883 teaches a terminal (section 2, 4, UE) comprising:
a receiver configured to:
receive, from a base station, information indicating a transmission periodicity for a block containing a synchronization signal and a physical broadcast channel (PBCH) that includes system information (page 2, chapter 2: “SS block index indication” have the functionality to deliver SS block/burst/burst set configuration information, number of SS blocks in a SS burst, and the number of SS bursts in a SS burst set. SS burst set configuration may be cell-specifically determined; fig. 2, proposal 3, SS burst sets are periodically recurring with a single periodicity of 10 msec; fig. 3, section 4.2, SS block in above 6GHz NR need to convey large payloads, such as the SS block index indication information… An SS block comprises a combination of synchronization signals, broadcast signals, and reference signals, i.e., NR-PBCH, NR-PSS, NR-SSS, NR-TSS, and MRS-1, which can be multiplexed in TDM, FDM, CDM or hybrid manner… NR-PBCH is for MIBs) and receive the block based on the transmission periodicity (p. 2-3, “Mapping of SS block in an SS burst Set”, SS burst Set would consider as transmission periodically for the SS block; fig. 2, proposal 3, SS burst sets are periodically recurring with a single periodicity of 10 msec); and
receive, from the base station, an index corresponding to a location in time domain of the block (page 3, fig. 3, chapter 4.2: “SS multiplexing and bandwidth for above 6GHz”: SS block index indication information…SS block comprises a combination of synchronization signals, broadcast signals, and reference signals, i.e., NR-PRBCH, NR-PSS, NR-SSS, NR-TSS, and MRS-1, which can be multiplexed in TDM (time domain)…MRS-1 is for beam measurement or demodulation reference signals for NR-PBCH; fig. 2, the SS block index range is from 0 to ZX-1, the index indicating the block on time domain);
wherein the system information includes 2 lower bits of a system frame number (page 2, section 2, LSB of the system frame number (2bits)); and
wherein the transmission periodicity for the block is a periodicity of half frames for reception of the PBCH (page 2, chapter 2; fig. 2, proposal 3, SS burst sets are periodically recurring with a single periodicity of 10 msec (frame); fig. 3, section 4.2, An SS block comprises a combination of synchronization signals, broadcast signals, and reference signals, i.e., NR-PBCH, NR-PSS, NR-SSS, NR-TSS, and MRS-1; Therefore, the periodicity of the block is one frame, which is half of two frames).
However, R1-1700883 does not teach receive, from a base station, a System Information Block (SIB) indicating a time position.
But, SI ‘946 in a similar or same field of endeavor teaches receive, from a base station, a System Information Block (SIB) indicating a time position and a transmission periodicity for a block containing a synchronization signal and system information (par. 97, 201, A BCCH is mapped to either a transport channel referred to as a broadcast channel (BCH) when it conveys a master information block (MIB) or to a DL shared channel (DL-SCH) when it conveys a System Information Block (SIB); par. 137, the NR-MIB and NR-SIB, sent on NR-PBCH; par. 177, NR-PBCH indicates the part of minimum system information (MIB) and the scheduling information for the RMSI in PDSCH; par. 231, At the transmitter side, a scrambling sequence, defined to identify one SS block index individually, is used to scramble the NR-PBCH resource elements; and at the receiver side, only if the UE use the same scrambling sequence to detect the NR-PBCH, it can pass the CRC detection and therefore the UE can find the corresponding SS block index; fig. 15, table 4, par. 194, SS block index indicating the SS block in the SS burst set in time domain; par. 134, 203, 233).
Thus, it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effectively filing date of the claimed invention to implement the system or method as taught by SI ‘946 in the system of R1-1700883 to indicating the SS and DMRS.
The motivation would have been to reduce interference, mitigated or avoided.
However, R1-1700883 does not teach a processor configured to acquire information to perform random access from the system information contained in the block and perform random access with the base station using the information to perform random access.
But, R2-168298 in a similar or same field of endeavor teaches a processor configured to acquire information to perform random access from the system information contained in the block and perform random access with the base station using the information to perform random access (chapter 2, obtaining PRACH Configuration from SS Block to perform PRACH).
Thus, it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effectively filing date of the claimed invention to implement the system or method as taught by R2-168298 in the system of R1-1700883 and SI ‘946 for using the synchronization to perform PRACH.
The motivation would have been to synchronize and prevent collision.
However, R1-1700883 does not teach wherein the system information includes 3 bits.
But, YU et al. (US 20180220395) in a similar or same field of endeavor teaches wherein the system information includes 3 bits of a system frame number (par. 146, a specific example of a quantity of information bits included in the MIB is as follows: A system frame number (SFN) has three bits).
Thus, it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effectively filing date of the claimed invention to implement the system or method as taught by YU in the system of R1-1700883, SI ‘946, and R2-168298 to extend the SFN to 3 bits.
The motivation would have been to increase presentation or counting.
However, R1-1700883 does not explicitly teach a periodicity, which includes 20 ms.
But, ABEDINI et al. (US 20180302867 as supported by provisional app. 62485512 filed on 04/14/2017) in a similar or same field of endeavor teaches a periodicity, which includes 20 ms (par. 71, 74, The BS may transmit SS bursts on a periodic basis, with a period 808 of X msec… An example of a periodicity value for an initial acquisition in standalone mode may be 20 msec. According to other examples, for either an idle mode, a connected mode, and/or a non-standalone initial acquisition mode a variety of different time values may be used such as, for example, 5 msec, 10 msec, 20 msec, 40 msec, 80 msec, or 160 msec.);
Thus, it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effectively filing date of the claimed invention to implement the system or method as taught by ABEDINI in the system of R1-1700883, SI ‘946, R2-168298, and YU to transmit the SS block with periodicity of 20 ms.
The motivation would have been to adapt to different modes.
Regarding claims 8, 10, R1-1700883 teaches a base station (section 2, 4, RAN network side, implicit base station) comprising:
a transmitter configured to:
transmit, to a terminal, a Information indicating a transmission periodicity for a block containing a synchronization signal and a physical broadcast channel (PBCH) that includes system information (page 2, chapter 2: “SS block index indication” have the functionality to deliver SS block/burst/burst set configuration information, number of SS blocks in a SS burst, and the number of SS bursts in a SS burst set. SS burst set configuration may be cell-specifically determined; fig. 2, proposal 3, SS burst sets are periodically recurring with a single periodicity of 10 msec; fig. 3, section 4.2, SS block in above 6GHz NR need to convey large payloads, such as the SS block index indication information… An SS block comprises a combination of synchronization signals, broadcast signals, and reference signals, i.e., NR-PBCH, NR-PSS, NR-SSS, NR-TSS, and MRS-1, which can be multiplexed in TDM, FDM, CDM or hybrid manner… NR-PBCH is for MIBs) and transmit the block based on the transmission periodicity (p. 2-3, “Mapping of SS block in an SS burst Set”, SS burst Set would consider as transmission periodically for the SS block; fig. 2, proposal 3, SS burst sets are periodically recurring with a single periodicity of 10 msec); and
transmit, to the terminal, an index corresponding to a location in time domain of the block (page 3, fig. 3, chapter 4.2: “SS multiplexing and bandwidth for above 6GHz”: SS block index indication information…SS block comprises a combination of synchronization signals, broadcast signals, and reference signals, i.e., NR-PRBCH, NR-PSS, NR-SSS, NR-TSS, and MRS-1, which can be multiplexed in TDM (time domain)…MRS-1 is for beam measurement or demodulation reference signals for NR-PBCH; fig. 2, the SS block index range is from 0 to ZX-1, the index indicating the block on time domain); and
wherein the system information includes 2 lower bits of a system frame number (page 2, section 2, LSB of the system frame number (2bits)), and
wherein the transmission periodicity for the block is a periodicity of half frames for reception of the PBCH (page 2, chapter 2; fig. 2, proposal 3, SS burst sets are periodically recurring with a single periodicity of 10 msec (frame); fig. 3, section 4.2, An SS block comprises a combination of synchronization signals, broadcast signals, and reference signals, i.e., NR-PBCH, NR-PSS, NR-SSS, NR-TSS, and MRS-1; Therefore, the periodicity of the block is one frame, which is half of two frames).
However, R1-1700883 does not teach transmit, to a terminal, a System Information Block (SIB) indicating a time position.
But, SI ‘946 in a similar or same field of endeavor teaches transmit, to a terminal, a System Information Block (SIB) indicating a time position and a transmission periodicity for a block containing a synchronization signal and system information (par. 97, 201, A BCCH is mapped to either a transport channel referred to as a broadcast channel (BCH) when it conveys a master information block (MIB) or to a DL shared channel (DL-SCH) when it conveys a System Information Block (SIB); par. 137, the NR-MIB and NR-SIB, sent on NR-PBCH; par. 177, NR-PBCH indicates the part of minimum system information (MIB) and the scheduling information for the RMSI in PDSCH; par. 231, At the transmitter side, a scrambling sequence, defined to identify one SS block index individually, is used to scramble the NR-PBCH resource elements; and at the receiver side, only if the UE use the same scrambling sequence to detect the NR-PBCH, it can pass the CRC detection and therefore the UE can find the corresponding SS block index; fig. 15, table 4, par. 194, SS block index indicating the SS block in the SS burst set in time domain; par. 134, 203, 233).
Thus, it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effectively filing date of the claimed invention to implement the system or method as taught by SI ‘946 in the system of R1-1700883 to indicating the SS and DMRS.
The motivation would have been to reduce interference, mitigated or avoided.
However, R1-1700883 does not teach a processor configured to perform random access with the terminal using information to perform random access included in the system information contained in the block;
But, R2-168298 in a similar or same field of endeavor teaches a processor configured to perform random access with the terminal using information to perform random access included in the system information contained in the block (chapter 2, obtaining PRACH Configuration from SS Block to perform PRACH);
Thus, it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effectively filing date of the claimed invention to implement the system or method as taught by R2-168298 in the system of R1-1700883 and SI ‘946 for using the synchronization to perform PRACH.
The motivation would have been to synchronize and prevent collision.
However, R1-1700883 does not teach wherein the system information includes 3 bits.
But, YU et al. (US 20180220395) in a similar or same field of endeavor teaches wherein the system information includes 3 bits of a system frame number (par. 146, A system frame number (SFN) has three bits).
Thus, it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effectively filing date of the claimed invention to implement the system or method as taught by YU in the system of R1-1700883, SI ‘946, and R2-168298 to extend the SFN to 3 bits.
The motivation would have been to increase presentation or counting.
However, R1-1700883 does not explicitly teach a periodicity, which includes 20 ms.
But, ABEDINI et al. (US 20180302867) in a similar or same field of endeavor teaches a periodicity, which includes 20 ms (par. 71, 74, The BS may transmit SS bursts on a periodic basis, with a period 808 of X msec… An example of a periodicity value for an initial acquisition in standalone mode may be 20 msec. According to other examples, for either an idle mode, a connected mode, and/or a non-standalone initial acquisition mode a variety of different time values may be used such as, for example, 5 msec, 10 msec, 20 msec, 40 msec, 80 msec, or 160 msec.);
Thus, it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effectively filing date of the claimed invention to implement the system or method as taught by ABEDINI in the system of R1-1700883, SI ‘946, R2-168298, and YU to transmit the SS block with periodicity of 20 ms.
The motivation would have been to adapt to different modes.
Regarding claim 11, R1-1700883 teaches a wireless communication system comprising: a terminal (section 2, 4, UE); and a base station (section 2, 4, RAN network side, implicit base station), wherein:
the terminal (section 2, 4, UE) includes:
a receiver configured to:
receive, from the base station, an Information indicating a transmission periodicity for a block containing a synchronization signal and a physical broadcast channel (PBCH) that includes system information (page 2, chapter 2: “SS block index indication” have the functionality to deliver SS block/burst/burst set configuration information, number of SS blocks in a SS burst, and the number of SS bursts in a SS burst set. SS burst set configuration may be cell-specifically determined; fig. 2, proposal 3, SS burst sets are periodically recurring with a single periodicity of 10 msec; fig. 3, section 4.2, SS block in above 6GHz NR need to convey large payloads, such as the SS block index indication information… An SS block comprises a combination of synchronization signals, broadcast signals, and reference signals, i.e., NR-PBCH, NR-PSS, NR-SSS, NR-TSS, and MRS-1, which can be multiplexed in TDM, FDM, CDM or hybrid manner… NR-PBCH is for MIBs) and receive the block based on the transmission periodicity (p. 2-3, “Mapping of SS block in an SS burst Set”, SS burst Set would consider as transmission periodically for the SS block; fig. 2, proposal 3, SS burst sets are periodically recurring with a single periodicity of 10 msec); and
receive, from the base station, an index corresponding to a location in time domain of the block (page 3, fig. 3, chapter 4.2: “SS multiplexing and bandwidth for above 6GHz”: SS block index indication information…SS block comprises a combination of synchronization signals, broadcast signals, and reference signals, i.e., NR-PRBCH, NR-PSS, NR-SSS, NR-TSS, and MRS-1, which can be multiplexed in TDM (time domain)…MRS-1 is for beam measurement or demodulation reference signals for NR-PBCH; fig. 2, the SS block index range is from 0 to ZX-1, the index indicating the block on time domain); and
the base station (section 2, 4, RAN network side, implicit base station) includes:
a transmitter configured to:
transmit, to the terminal, the information indicating the transmission periodicity for the block containing the synchronization signal and the system information (page 2, chapter 2: “SS block index indication” have the functionality to deliver SS block/burst/burst set configuration information, number of SS blocks in a SS burst, and the number of SS bursts in a SS burst set. SS burst set configuration may be cell-specifically determined; fig. 2, proposal 3, SS burst sets are periodically recurring with a single periodicity of 10 msec) and transmit the block based on the transmission periodicity (p. 2-3, “Mapping of SS block in an SS burst Set”, SS burst Set would consider as transmission periodically for the SS block; fig. 2, proposal 3, SS burst sets are periodically recurring with a single periodicity of 10 msec); and
transmit, to the terminal, the index corresponding to the location in time domain of the block (page 3, fig. 3, chapter 4.2: “SS multiplexing and bandwidth for above 6GHz”: SS block index indication information…SS block comprises a combination of synchronization signals, broadcast signals, and reference signals, i.e., NR-PRBCH, NR-PSS, NR-SSS, NR-TSS, and MRS-1, which can be multiplexed in TDM (time domain)…MRS-1 is for beam measurement or demodulation reference signals for NR-PBCH; fig. 2, the SS block index range is from 0 to ZX-1, the index indicating the block on time domain); and
wherein the system information includes 2 lower bits of a system frame number (page 2, section 2, LSB of the system frame number (2bits)), and
wherein the transmission periodicity for the block is a periodicity of half frames for reception of the PBCH (page 2, chapter 2; fig. 2, proposal 3, SS burst sets are periodically recurring with a single periodicity of 10 msec (frame); fig. 3, section 4.2, An SS block comprises a combination of synchronization signals, broadcast signals, and reference signals, i.e., NR-PBCH, NR-PSS, NR-SSS, NR-TSS, and MRS-1; Therefore, the periodicity of the block is one frame, which is half of two frames).
However, R1-1700883 does not teach receive, from a base station, a System Information Block (SIB) indicating a time position.
But, SI ‘946 in a similar or same field of endeavor teaches receive, from a base station, a System Information Block (SIB) indicating a time position and a transmission periodicity for a block containing a synchronization signal and system information (par. 97, 201, A BCCH is mapped to either a transport channel referred to as a broadcast channel (BCH) when it conveys a master information block (MIB) or to a DL shared channel (DL-SCH) when it conveys a System Information Block (SIB); par. 137, the NR-MIB and NR-SIB, sent on NR-PBCH; par. 177, NR-PBCH indicates the part of minimum system information (MIB) and the scheduling information for the RMSI in PDSCH; par. 231, At the transmitter side, a scrambling sequence, defined to identify one SS block index individually, is used to scramble the NR-PBCH resource elements; and at the receiver side, only if the UE use the same scrambling sequence to detect the NR-PBCH, it can pass the CRC detection and therefore the UE can find the corresponding SS block index; fig. 15, table 4, par. 194, SS block index indicating the SS block in the SS burst set in time domain; par. 134, 203, 233).
Thus, it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effectively filing date of the claimed invention to implement the system or method as taught by SI ‘946 in the system of R1-1700883 to indicating the SS and DMRS.
The motivation would have been to reduce interference, mitigated or avoided.
However, R1-1700883 does not teach
a processor of the terminal configured to acquire information to perform random access from the system information contained in the block and perform random access with the base station using the information to perform random access;
a processor of the base station configured to perform random access with the terminal using the information to perform random access included in the system information contained in the block;
But, R2-168298 in a similar or same field of endeavor teaches
a processor of the terminal configured to acquire information to perform random access from the system information contained in the block and perform random access with the base station using the information to perform random access (chapter 2, obtaining PRACH Configuration from SS Block to perform PRACH);
a processor of the base station configured to perform random access with the terminal using the information to perform random access included in the system information contained in the block (chapter 2, obtaining PRACH Configuration from SS Block to perform PRACH);
Thus, it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effectively filing date of the claimed invention to implement the system or method as taught by R2-168298 in the system of R1-1700883 and SI ‘946 for using the synchronization to perform PRACH.
The motivation would have been to synchronize and prevent collision.
However, R1-1700883 does not teach wherein the system information includes 3 bits.
But, YU et al. (US 20180220395) in a similar or same field of endeavor teaches wherein the system information includes 3 bits of a system frame number (par. 146, A system frame number (SFN) has three bits).
Thus, it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effectively filing date of the claimed invention to implement the system or method as taught by YU in the system of R R1-1700883, SI ‘946, and R2-168298 to extend the SFN to 3 bits.
The motivation would have been to increase presentation or counting.
However, R1-1700883 does not explicitly teach a periodicity, which includes 20 ms.
But, ABEDINI et al. (US 20180302867) in a similar or same field of endeavor teaches a periodicity, which includes 20 ms (par. 71, 74, The BS may transmit SS bursts on a periodic basis, with a period 808 of X msec… An example of a periodicity value for an initial acquisition in standalone mode may be 20 msec. According to other examples, for either an idle mode, a connected mode, and/or a non-standalone initial acquisition mode a variety of different time values may be used such as, for example, 5 msec, 10 msec, 20 msec, 40 msec, 80 msec, or 160 msec.);
Thus, it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effectively filing date of the claimed invention to implement the system or method as taught by ABEDINI in the system of R1-1700883, SI ‘946, R2-168298, and YU to transmit the SS block with periodicity of 20 ms.
The motivation would have been to adapt to different modes.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
AKKARAKARAN et al. (US 20180254796) teaches this may be configured by the gNB based on some time index (e.g. SS-block index) in MSIB (master system information block)/SIB (system inform block)/DCI (downlink control information)/RRC (radio resource control) (par. 82).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/THINH D TRAN/for /Thinh Tran/, Patent Examiner of Art Unit 2466 07/06/2026