DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Election/Restrictions
New claims 292 and 293 correspond to canceled claims 241 and 251, respectively. Claims 241 and 251 were withdrawn without traverse as directed to non-elected species in the Office Action dated 3/14/2024. Claims 292 and 293 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 12/1/2023.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 222, 235-237, 239, 240, 245, 247-250, 252, 260, 261, 269, 276-290, 294-299 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over June et al (US 20150283178 A1, of record) in view of Thakurta et al (US 2016/0051530), Kuramitsu et al (Cancer Gene Ther., 2015, of record) and Brentjens et al (US 2018/0360880). This rejection is maintained for reasons made of record in the previous Office Actions dated 3/14/2024, 7/5/2024, 12/19/2024, 4/24/2025, 7/30/2025 and for reasons set forth below.
Regarding the amendments to claims 222 and 235, a review of the specification indicates that when the “…immunomodulatory compound is not administered prior to initiation of…the T cell therapy”, this is associated with the lenalidomide rest periods as taught by Thakurta et al (of record and below). See ¶’s [0019]-[0021], [0042], [0090], [0351] and claim 14 of the published application. That is, in the claimed combination therapy methods, the interpretation of “administration of the immunomodulatory compound is not initiated prior to initiation of the T cell therapy” is considered to include regimens wherein the rest period and T cell therapy initiation overlap. As an example, if T cell therapy in a given regimen or cycle is begun on day 0 and a lenalidomide rest period (i.e. lenalidomide is not administered) was begun 7 days before day 0 (day -7), this regimen could administer lenalidomide on day 7 of the combination therapy (a 14 day rest period) and such administration be considered “not initiated prior to initiation of T cell therapy.” Further, the specification is devoid of a teaching wherein a patient is not administered any immunomodulatory compounds at any time prior to T cell therapy, then administration of an immunomodulatory compound is administered, for the first time in the life of the patient, 7-42 days after T cell therapy.
June et al teach the treatment of cancer by administration of T cells (e.g. CD19-specific CAR T cells) in conjunction with immunomodulatory compounds such as lenalidomide (a thalidomide analog) or thalidomide. See the abstract and ¶’s [0466]-[0469], [0593] and [0604] in particular. Lenalidomide (3-(4-Amino-1-oxo 1,3-dihydro-2H-isoindol-2-yl)piperidine-2,6-dione, ¶[0611] June et al) may be administered in daily 10mg doses around day +100 whereas CAR T cells may be administered at days +12-14 (¶’s [0848]-[0853]). Multiple myeloma treatment is the focus of Example 6, beginning with ¶[0814]. The amounts of additional agents administered in CAR T-cell combination therapies may be, e.g., 50% of the dose when administered individually (¶[0602]). The engineered CAR T cells of June et al comprise antigen-specific receptors (e.g. to CD19). Such CAR receptors are considered “non-TCR” as they comprise components (e.g. an scFv) that provide antigen binding that are derived from IgG, which is not a TCR (T-cell receptor). The T cells may be effector T cells, CD8+, autologous, or allogenic (¶’s [0006], [0030], [0472], June et al ). One dose of CAR T cells may be 5X107, considered to be “at least 50%” T cells (¶ [0851] June et al). The administration of melphalan (a lymphodepleting chemotherapeutic) prior to CAR T cell therapy is taught by June et al in ¶ [0849]. The CAR therapy may be administered in a staggered manner, e.g. 1-2 administrations per week (¶ [0041). June et al teach their methods suitable for relapsed or refractory cancers from prior administration of immunomodulatory drugs (¶’s [0062], [0275], [0589]-[0591]).
June et al do not teach administration of an immunomodulatory compound 7-42 days after administration of CAR T cells, according to one of the schedules of claim 235, or a CAR directed to the BCMA antigen. Although June et al teach administration of the immunomodulatory compound after CAR therapy, initiation of such therapy from 7-42 days after CAR therapy is not taught specifically.
Thakurta et al teaches the use of immunomodulatory compounds, such as lenalidomide, in the treatment of multiple myeloma. One exemplified administration cycle is 3 weeks daily (21 consecutive days) followed by 2 weeks of rest for a cycle of 35 days. See in particular ¶[0544]. Thakurta et al (¶’s [0524], [0526]) teach administration of an immunomodulatory compound after initiation of T cell therapy and rest periods of from one to two weeks (¶ [0543]).
Kuramitsu et al teach that administration of lenalidomide the next day after CAR administration enhances the function of CAR T cells (abstract, p. 489, second col., last ¶).
Brentjens et al teach CAR T cells for the treatment of multiple myeloma that are specific for the BCMA antigen. See the summary of the invention in particular.
Taken together, the prior art cited above renders the initiation of immunomodulatory compound, or lenalidomide, therapy from 7 to 42 days after initiation of T cell therapy obvious as a choice of the skilled artisan. This is because such initiation events would be dependent upon the needs and health of the patient, a significant consideration of the skilled artisan in treating, e.g. multiple myeloma. It would be readily apparent that extension of the single day period of Kuramitsu et al to multiple days might best serve a given patient depending on their level of toxic side effects from previous regimens of lenalidomide (the reason for the rest periods of Thakurta et al) or other health reasons. For example, if a given patient had entered a two week rest period on day -7 from initiation of CAR T cell therapy, initiation of lenalidomide should not begin until day +7 from said initiation. This is in line with the administration of lenalidomide after CAR T cell therapy by June et al as set forth above. Furthermore, the court has found that “[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). That is the case here. The cited art teaches the flexibility with the initiation times of both CAR and lenalidomide therapy in order to adapt to the needs of the patient. The instant specification presents no surprising or unexpected result by delaying the initiation of lenalidomide treatment for as little as 7 days as compared to the teachings of the cited art.
Further, the claimed methods are essentially disclosed by June et al with the exception of the dosage regimen and BCMA limitations. The ordinary skilled artisan, seeking a method to treat multiple myeloma, would have been motivated to use the lenalidomide dosage cycle of Thakurta and BCMA CAR of Brentjens et al with the methods of June et al because all three references teach the effectiveness of their respective disclosures in treating multiple myeloma. It would have been obvious for the skilled artisan to do this because of the known benefit of generating combination therapies for multiple myeloma as taught by June, Brentjens and Thakurta et al.
Given the teachings of the cited references and the level of skill of the ordinary skilled artisan at the time of applicants’ invention, it must be considered, absent evidence to the contrary, that the ordinary skilled artisan would have had a reasonable expectation of success in practicing the claimed invention.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 7/24/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicants essentially assert that: 1) the Examiner has misconstrued the limitation that initiation of administration of the immunomodulatory compound is after initiation of T cell therapy; 2) the proposed combination of references amounts to a redesign of the therapy and rationale of the cited art; 3) one of skill in the art would never arrive at the proposed modification and there is no motivation to combine the references; 4) the Examiner relies upon hindsight reasoning; 5) Applicants do not agree with the Examiner’s characterization of Example 4 regarding unexpected results.
Regarding 1) and 2), the claim limitation in question has been interpreted in light of the use of said limitation in the instant specification. The claims do not remove “prior” administration of an immunomodulatory compound for reasons set forth above, primarily because the specification and claims as originally filed emphasize the use of the rest periods as taught by Thakurta et al for “delayed” administration of an immunomodulatory compound in methods of combination therapy with CAR T cells. The specification does not appear to provide an example or disclosure wherein the claimed methods include an embodiment wherein a given patient has received no treatment with an immunomodulatory compound prior to initiation of T cell therapy, which is the interpretation applicants appear to argue. Thus, the claims are interpreted to include such “prior” treatment with an immunomodulatory compound. The teachings of Thakurta et al are not as limited as applicants assert. The cited passages teach the flexibility of the dosing regimen (“ The invention further allows the frequency, number, and length of dosing cycles to be increased.”) and the optimization of such regimens due to resistance or unacceptable toxicity (¶’s [0542], [0591], [0609], [0613]). Thus, there is nothing approaching a “redesign” of the teachings of June, Thakurta and Kuramitsu et al. Rather, the application of the totality of the prior art teachings underscores the flexibility of dosing regimens and rest periods in order to arrive at an acceptable or optimized temporal dosing strategy according to the individual needs and health of the patient.
Regarding 3), the proposed modification relies on adaptation of known parameters for treatment regimens using the reagents taught by the cited art. Further, reasoning and motivation to combine the references has been provided and is not directly addressed by any evidence provided by applicants. Rather, applicants rely upon opinion and unsupported assertion that the skilled artisan could not adapt well-characterized treatment methods for the same purpose as taught by the cited art, i.e. treatment of multiple myeloma or other lymphoid cancers. Regarding Kuramitsu et al, the reasoning for combination with the other references stands. Nothing in Kuramtisu et al definitively teaches administration of lenalidomide more than one day after CAR T cells would not have a beneficial effect. Further, this line of reasoning does not take into account the totality of the prior art teachings regarding combination therapy. In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
Regarding 4), in response to applicant's argument that the examiner's conclusion of obviousness is based upon improper hindsight reasoning, it must be recognized that any judgment on obviousness is in a sense necessarily a reconstruction based upon hindsight reasoning. But so long as it takes into account only knowledge which was within the level of ordinary skill at the time the claimed invention was made, and does not include knowledge gleaned only from the applicant's disclosure, such a reconstruction is proper. See In re McLaughlin, 443 F.2d 1392, 170 USPQ 209 (CCPA 1971).
Regarding 5), Example 4 begins lenalidomide treatment on day 0 of CAR T cell treatment, i.e. “with T cell administration”. See ¶[1018]. It is thus unclear how Example 4 can provide evidence of unexpected results for claims initiating lenalidomide administration after CAR T cell therapy when the experimental design and results do not provide any data for such a method step. In Example 18, it appears that “delayed” treatment with Compound 1 made no difference in the therapeutic outcome as compared to administration of day 0 (“concurrent”). It is therefore unclear what exactly is unexpected with these results. Further, the successful use of lenalidomide in conjunction with CAR T cell therapy in the cited art renders such assertions of unexpected results unpersuasive. What exactly is “unexpected” with respect to the results of June et al? Improved efficacy? The prior art methods show improved efficacy in combination therapy versus either form of therapy alone, so, an improvement in efficacy with the instant invention is not “unexpected”.
Conclusion
All claims are identical to or patentably indistinct from, or have unity of invention with claims in the application prior to the entry of the submission under 37 CFR 1.114 (that is, restriction (including a lack of unity of invention) would not be proper) and all claims could have been finally rejected on the grounds and art of record in the next Office action if they had been entered in the application prior to entry under 37 CFR 1.114. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL even though it is a first action after the filing of a request for continued examination and the submission under 37 CFR 1.114. See MPEP § 706.07(b). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MICHAEL D BURKHART/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1638