DETAILED CORRESPONDENCE
Note: This office action is in response to communication filed on 09/22/2025.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of Claims
Claim(s) 1-23 is/are pending in the application.
Claim(s) 1-23 is/are examined on the merits.
Information Disclosure Statement
The new information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 07/21/2025, 11/24/2025, 02/19/2026, and 06/01/2026 in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the new information disclosure statement(s) has/have been considered by the examiner.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed on 07/21/2025 have been fully considered but are moot because the independent claim(s) has/have been amended and the new ground of rejection does not rely on the same combination references applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
With respect to the claim rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. § 112(b) and the drawing objection of claim 9, Applicant’s amendment to the claim has overcome the claim rejection and the drawing objection.
With respect to the claim objection(s), Applicant’s argument(s) is/are found persuasive. Therefore, the claim objection(s) is/are withdrawn.
With respect to the claim rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. § 112(b), Applicant’s argument(s) is/are found persuasive. Therefore, the claim rejection(s) is/are withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-11, 15-18, and 21-23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Nishikawa (US PGPUB 20160206482) in view of Drevik (US PGPUB 20130138070).
Regarding claim 1, Nishikawa discloses an absorbent article 10 (Abstract, ¶0056-0057, and Fig. 2A) comprising a liquid pervious topsheet (a liquid permeable topsheet 33: ¶0056 and Fig. 2A), a liquid impervious backsheet (a liquid impermeable backsheet 31: ¶0056 and Fig. 2A), and an absorbent core (an absorbent core or structure 115: ¶0035, 0037, 0056, 0069, and Fig. 2A) comprising an absorbent material (absorbent polymer particles: ¶0035, 0037, and 0073) between a top core wrap sheet and a back core wrap sheet (substrate layers 116’ and 116: ¶0075 and Fig. 15A); said absorbent core having a first and second longitudinal edge and a first and second transverse edge (see annotated Fig. 2C below), said absorbent core having a longitudinal center line (y-axis: Fig. 2A) dividing the absorbent core in a first longitudinal portion and a second longitudinal portion on either side of the longitudinal center line (see annotated Fig. 2C below), said absorbent core having a transverse crotch line (x-axis: Fig. 2A) dividing the absorbent core in a front portion and a rear portion on either side of the transverse crotch line (a front portion 22 and a rear portion 23: Fig. 2A), wherein the absorbent core is provided with a plurality of zones (channels 126: ¶0075, 0093; Fig. 15A and 16A-C) where the top core wrap sheet is attached to the back core wrap sheet (¶0075),
said plurality of attachment zones comprising a first and second elongate attachment zone (Figs. 15A and 16A-C), said first and second elongate attachment zone extending next to each other from a crotch region in the direction of the first and/or second transverse edge (Figs. 16A-C).
Nishikawa in the embodiment of Figs. 15A and 16A-C does not disclose said first elongate attachment zone crossing said longitudinal center line in at least a first crossing point, from the first longitudinal portion to the second longitudinal portion; and said second elongate attachment zone crossing said longitudinal center line in at least a second crossing point, from the second longitudinal portion to the first longitudinal portion; said first and second crossing point may be the same point, and may be located in said front portion and/or in said rear portion; and the first and second attachment zone together form a substantially X-shaped zone.
However, Nishikawa suggests that the first and second elongate attachment zone have any desired configurations (¶0094: “This changing channel structure may be utilized alone or may be combined with permanent channel structures of any desired configuration, including but not limited to any configuration described herein”).
In the same field of endeavor, absorbent articles, Drevik discloses a male incontinence protector 701 comprising a liquid-permeable topsheet 702, disposed at the wearer-facing surface 703 of the incontinence protector 701, a backsheet 704 disposed at the garment-facing surface 705 of the incontinence protector 701, and an absorbent core 706, enclosed between the topsheet 702 and the backsheet 704 (¶0081 and Figs. 7-8). Drevik further discloses the absorbent core is provided with a plurality of attachment zones comprising a first and second elongate attachment zone (grooves/channels 734 and 735: ¶0085 and Figs. 7-8). Drevik also discloses the first and second attachment zone together form X-shaped zone (¶0085 and Fig. 7) for the benefit of providing leakage barriers by restricting fluid flow across the grooves and promoting liquid flow along the grooves (¶0088). Although the grooves/channels 734 and 735 are formed by embossing the topsheet 702 and the absorbent core 706, Drevik suggests that channels having an X-configuration provide leakage barriers by restricting fluid flow across the channels while promoting liquid flow along the channels.
From the teachings of Drevik, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified the absorbent article of Nishikawa in view of Drevik by forming/having a substantially X-shaped zone for the first and second attachment zone, in order to provide leakage barriers by restricting fluid flow across the channels while promoting liquid flow along the channels, as suggested in ¶0088 of Drevik and as it has been held that scaling up or down of an element which merely requires a change in size is generally considered as being within the ordinary skill in the art (See MPEP § 2144.04 (IV) (A)). Since the first and second attachment zone of Nishikawa in view of Drevik form a substantially X-shaped zone, said first elongate attachment zone of Nishikawa in view of Drevik crosses said longitudinal center line in at least a first crossing point, from the first longitudinal portion to the second longitudinal portion; and said second elongate attachment zone of Nishikawa in view of Drevik crosses said longitudinal center line in at least a second crossing point, from the second longitudinal portion to the first longitudinal portion; and said first and second crossing point of Nishikawa in view of Drevik may be the same point, and may be located in said front portion and/or in said rear portion (see annotated Fig. 7 below).
Regarding claim 2, Nishikawa in view of Drevik further discloses the first and/or second crossing point is located at a distance of the transverse crotch line (see annotated Fig. 7 above).
Regarding claim 3, Nishikawa in view of Drevik further discloses the distance between the first and/or second crossing point and the transverse crotch line is larger than 1% of the length of the absorbent core (the distance between the first crossing point and the transverse crotch line is larger than 1% of the length of the absorbent core: see annotated Fig. 7 above).
Examiner notes that Applicant places no criticality on the distance between the first and/or second crossing point and the transverse crotch line is larger than 1% of the length of the absorbent core.
Regarding claim 4, Nishikawa/Drevik does not disclose a distance between the transverse crotch line and a transverse center line extending perpendicular on the longitudinal direction of the absorbent core, through the middle of the absorbent core, is smaller than 10% of the length of the absorbent core.
However, Nishikawa discloses sublengths of the channels in the longitudinal direction are changeable (¶0095) and the channels help improve fluid transportation and distribution along the length of the absorbent core (¶0079).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have further modified the absorbent article of Nishikawa by having a distance between the transverse crotch line and a transverse center line smaller than 10% of the length of the absorbent core, in order to provide the channels to improve fluid transportation and distribution along the length of the absorbent core, as suggested in ¶0079 of Nishikawa and as it has been held that scaling up or down of an element which merely requires a change in size is generally considered as being within the ordinary skill in the art (See MPEP § 2144.04 (IV) (A)).
Examiner notes that Applicant places no criticality on a distance between the transverse crotch line and a transverse center line extending perpendicular on the longitudinal direction of the absorbent core, through the middle of the absorbent core, is smaller than 10% of the length of the absorbent core.
Regarding claim 5, Nishikawa further discloses the first elongate attachment zone extends both in the front portion and in the rear portion (channels 126 extend both in front portion 22 and in the rear portion 23: Fig. 16C); and wherein the second elongate attachment zone extends both in the front portion and in the rear portion (channels 126 extend both in front portion 22 and in the rear portion 23: Fig. 16C).
Regarding claim 6, Nishikawa/Drevik further discloses the first elongate attachment zone and the second elongate attachment zone are arranged symmetrically with respect to the longitudinal center line of the absorbent core (Fig. 16C of Nishikawa and/or Fig. 7 of Drevik).
Regarding claim 7, Nishikawa further discloses a maximum distance between the first and the second elongate zone is between 15 and 70% of the width of the absorbent core (a distance D between channels 126 is at least 25% of the width of the absorbent core: ¶0084; the taught distance range overlaps the claimed distance range).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have further modified the absorbent article of Nishikawa by selecting the maximum distance between the first and the second elongate zone as claimed, in order to conform to the wearer's anatomy along the transverse direction and form a containing structure in the crotch region when the absorbent article is worn, as suggested in ¶0084 of Nishikawa and as it has been held that a prima facie case of obviousness exists when the claimed ranges overlap with ranges disclosed by the prior art (See MPEP 2144.05 (I)).
Examiner notes that Applicant places no criticality on maximum distance between the first and the second elongate zone.
Regarding claim 8, Nishikawa does not disclose a maximum distance between the first and the second attachment zone in the front portion is different from a maximum distance between the first and the second attachment zone in the rear portion.
Drevik further discloses a maximum distance between the first and the second attachment zone in the front portion is different from a maximum distance between the first and the second attachment zone in the rear portion (a maximum distance between grooves 734 and 735 in the front portion 711 is different from a maximum distance between grooves 734 and 735 in the rear portion 712: Fig. 7).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have further modified the absorbent article of Nishikawa in view of Drevik by having a maximum distance between the first and the second attachment zone in the front portion different from a maximum distance between the first and the second attachment zone in the rear portion, in order to provide leakage barriers by restricting fluid flow across the channels while promoting liquid flow along the channels, as suggested in ¶0088 of Drevik.
Regarding claim 9, Nishikawa does not disclose the length of at least one of the first and second attachment zone is larger than 10% of the length of the absorbent core.
However, Nishikawa discloses/suggests that channels formed in the absorbent core help transport and distribute liquid along the length of the absorbent core and thereby help speed acquisition and absorption (¶0085).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have further modified the absorbent article of Nishikawa by having the length of at least one of the first and second attachment zone is larger than 10% of the length of the absorbent core, in order to help transport and distribute liquid along the length of the absorbent core and thereby help speed acquisition and absorption, as suggested in ¶0085 of Nishikawa and as it has been held that scaling up or down of an element which merely requires a change in size is generally considered as being within the ordinary skill in the art (See MPEP § 2144.04 (IV) (A)).
Regarding claim 10, Nishikawa further discloses the plurality of attachment zones are permanent attachment zones which remain attached when wetted (¶0075).
Regarding claim 11, Nishikawa further discloses the first and second attachment zone each extends in the transverse direction of the absorbent core is at least 1 mm (each channel 126 has a width from 3 mm to 15 mm; thus, the taught width range overlaps the claimed width range).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have further modified the absorbent article of Nishikawa by having the width of the first and second attachment zone of at least 1 mm, motivated by the desires to maintain the integrity of the channels and as it has been held that a prima facie case of obviousness exists when the claimed ranges overlap with ranges disclosed by the prior art. See MPEP § 2144.05 (I).
Regarding claim 15, Nishikawa further discloses the absorbent material comprises cellulosic fluff pulp and/or superabsorbent particles (¶0073 and 0100).
Regarding claim 16, Nishikawa discloses an absorbent article 10 (Abstract, ¶0056-0057, and Fig. 2A) comprising a liquid pervious topsheet (a liquid permeable topsheet 33: ¶0056 and Fig. 2A), a liquid impervious backsheet (a liquid impermeable backsheet 31: ¶0056 and Fig. 2A), and an absorbent core (an absorbent core or structure 115: ¶0035, 0037, 0056, 0069, and Fig. 2A) comprising an absorbent material (absorbent polymer particles: ¶0035, 0037, and 0073) between a top core wrap sheet and a back core wrap sheet (substrate layers 116’ and 116: ¶0075 and Fig. 15A); said absorbent core having a first and second longitudinal edge and a first and second transverse edge (see annotated Fig. 2C above), said absorbent core having a longitudinal center line (y-axis: Fig. 2A) dividing the absorbent core in a first longitudinal portion and a second longitudinal portion on either side of the longitudinal center line (see annotated Fig. 2C above), said absorbent core having a transverse crotch line (x-axis: Fig. 2A) dividing the absorbent core in a front portion and a rear portion on either side of the transverse crotch line (a front portion 22 and a rear portion 23: Fig. 2A), wherein the absorbent core is provided with a plurality of zones (channels 126: ¶0075, 0093; Fig. 15A and 16A-C) where the top core wrap sheet is attached to the back core wrap sheet (¶0075),
said plurality of attachment zones comprising a first and second elongate attachment zone (Figs. 15A and 16A-C), said first and second elongate attachment zone extending next to each other from a crotch region in the direction of the first and/or second transverse edge (Figs. 16A-C);
wherein the first and second elongate attachment zone extend both in the front portion and in the rear portion (the channels 126 extend both in the front portion 22 and in the rear portion 23: Fig. 16C).
Nishikawa in the embodiments of Figs. 15A and 16A-C does not disclose said first elongate attachment zone crossing said longitudinal center line in at least a first crossing point, from the first longitudinal portion to the second longitudinal portion; and said second elongate attachment zone crossing said longitudinal center line in at least a second crossing point, from the second longitudinal portion to the first longitudinal portion; said first and second crossing point may be the same point.
Nishikawa in the embodiment of Figs. 15A and 16A-C does not disclose said first elongate attachment zone crossing said longitudinal center line in at least a first crossing point, from the first longitudinal portion to the second longitudinal portion; and said second elongate attachment zone crossing said longitudinal center line in at least a second crossing point, from the second longitudinal portion to the first longitudinal portion; said first and second crossing point are the same point.
However, Nishikawa suggests that the first and second elongate attachment zone have any desired configurations (¶0094: “This changing channel structure may be utilized alone or may be combined with permanent channel structures of any desired configuration, including but not limited to any configuration described herein”).
In the same field of endeavor, absorbent articles, Drevik discloses a male incontinence protector 701 comprising a liquid-permeable topsheet 702, disposed at the wearer-facing surface 703 of the incontinence protector 701, a backsheet 704 disposed at the garment-facing surface 705 of the incontinence protector 701, and an absorbent core 706, enclosed between the topsheet 702 and the backsheet 704 (¶0081 and Figs. 7-8). Drevik further discloses the absorbent core is provided with a plurality of attachment zones comprising a first and second elongate attachment zone (grooves/channels 734 and 735: ¶0085 and Figs. 7-8). Drevik also discloses the first and second attachment zone together form X-shaped zone (¶0085 and Fig. 7) for the benefit of providing leakage barriers by restricting fluid flow across the grooves and promoting liquid flow along the grooves (¶0088). Although the grooves/channels 734 and 735 are formed by embossing the topsheet 702 and the absorbent core 706, Drevik suggests that channels having an X-configuration provide leakage barriers by restricting fluid flow across the channels while promoting liquid flow along the channels.
From the teachings of Drevik, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified the absorbent article of Nishikawa in view of Drevik by forming/having a substantially X-shaped zone for the first and second attachment zone, in order to provide leakage barriers by restricting fluid flow across the channels while promoting liquid flow along the channels, as suggested in ¶0088 of Drevik and as it has been held that scaling up or down of an element which merely requires a change in size is generally considered as being within the ordinary skill in the art (See MPEP § 2144.04 (IV) (A)). Since the first and second attachment zone of Nishikawa in view of Drevik form a substantially X-shaped zone, said first elongate attachment zone of Nishikawa in view of Drevik crosses said longitudinal center line in at least a first crossing point, from the first longitudinal portion to the second longitudinal portion; and said second elongate attachment zone of Nishikawa in view of Drevik crosses said longitudinal center line in at least a second crossing point, from the second longitudinal portion to the first longitudinal portion; and said first and second crossing point of Nishikawa in view of Drevik are the same point (see annotated Fig. 7 above).
Regarding claim 17, Nishikawa in view of Drevik further discloses the first elongate attachment zone and the second elongate attachment zone are arranged symmetrically with respect to the longitudinal center line of the absorbent core; and/or wherein the first and second attachment zone together form a substantially X-shaped zone (see rejection of claim 16 above).
Regarding claim 18, Nishikawa in view of Drevik further discloses the first and/or second crossing point is located at a distance of the transverse crotch line (see annotated Fig. 7 above).
Regarding claim 21, Nishikawa further discloses the plurality of attachment zones is located at a distance of the first and second transverse edge and at a distance of the first and second longitudinal edge (Fig. 16C).
Regarding claim 22, Nishikawa discloses an absorbent article 10 (Abstract, ¶0056-0057, and Fig. 2A) comprising a liquid pervious topsheet (a liquid permeable topsheet 33: ¶0056 and Fig. 2A), a liquid impervious backsheet (a liquid impermeable backsheet 31: ¶0056 and Fig. 2A), and an absorbent core (an absorbent core or structure 115: ¶0035, 0037, 0056, 0069, and Fig. 2A) comprising an absorbent material (absorbent polymer particles: ¶0035, 0037, and 0073) between a top core wrap sheet and a back core wrap sheet (substrate layers 116’ and 116: ¶0075 and Fig. 15A); said absorbent core having a first and second longitudinal edge and a first and second transverse edge (see annotated Fig. 2C above), said absorbent core having a longitudinal center line (y-axis: Fig. 2A) dividing the absorbent core in a first longitudinal portion and a second longitudinal portion on either side of the longitudinal center line (see annotated Fig. 2C above), said absorbent core having a transverse crotch line (x-axis: Fig. 2A) dividing the absorbent core in a front portion and a rear portion on either side of the transverse crotch line (a front portion 22 and a rear portion 23: Fig. 2A), wherein the absorbent core is provided with a plurality of zones (channels 126: ¶0075, 0093; Fig. 15A and 16A-C) where the top core wrap sheet is attached to the back core wrap sheet (¶0075),
said plurality of attachment zones comprising a first and second elongate attachment zone (Figs. 15A and 16A-C) positioned at a distance of the first and second transverse edge and at a distance of the first and second longitudinal edge (Fig. 16C),
said first and second elongate attachment zone extending next to each other from a crotch region in the direction of the first and/or second transverse edge (Figs. 16A-C).
Nishikawa in the embodiment of Figs. 15A and 16A-C does not disclose said first elongate attachment zone crosses said longitudinal center line in at least a first crossing point, from the first longitudinal portion to the second longitudinal portion; and said second elongate attachment zone crosses said longitudinal center line in at least a second crossing point, from the second longitudinal portion to the first longitudinal portion; said first and second crossing point may be the same point, and may be located in said front portion and/or in said rear portion.
However, Nishikawa suggests that the first and second elongate attachment zone have any desired configurations (¶0094: “This changing channel structure may be utilized alone or may be combined with permanent channel structures of any desired configuration, including but not limited to any configuration described herein”).
In the same field of endeavor, absorbent articles, Drevik discloses a male incontinence protector 701 comprising a liquid-permeable topsheet 702, disposed at the wearer-facing surface 703 of the incontinence protector 701, a backsheet 704 disposed at the garment-facing surface 705 of the incontinence protector 701, and an absorbent core 706, enclosed between the topsheet 702 and the backsheet 704 (¶0081 and Figs. 7-8). Drevik further discloses the absorbent core is provided with a plurality of attachment zones comprising a first and second elongate attachment zone (grooves/channels 734 and 735: ¶0085 and Figs. 7-8). Drevik also discloses the first and second attachment zone together form X-shaped zone (¶0085 and Fig. 7) for the benefit of providing leakage barriers by restricting fluid flow across the grooves and promoting liquid flow along the grooves (¶0088). Although the grooves/channels 734 and 735 are formed by embossing the topsheet 702 and the absorbent core 706, Drevik suggests that channels having an X-configuration provide leakage barriers by restricting fluid flow across the channels while promoting liquid flow along the channels.
From the teachings of Drevik, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified the absorbent article of Nishikawa in view of Drevik by forming/having a substantially X-shaped zone for the first and second attachment zone, in order to provide leakage barriers by restricting fluid flow across the channels while promoting liquid flow along the channels, as suggested in ¶0088 of Drevik and as it has been held that scaling up or down of an element which merely requires a change in size is generally considered as being within the ordinary skill in the art (See MPEP § 2144.04 (IV) (A)). Since the first and second attachment zone of Nishikawa in view of Drevik form a substantially X-shaped zone, said first elongate attachment zone of Nishikawa in view of Drevik crosses said longitudinal center line in at least a first crossing point, from the first longitudinal portion to the second longitudinal portion; and said second elongate attachment zone of Nishikawa in view of Drevik crosses said longitudinal center line in at least a second crossing point, from the second longitudinal portion to the first longitudinal portion; and said first and second crossing point of Nishikawa in view of Drevik may be the same point, and may be located in said front portion and/or in said rear portion (see annotated Fig. 7 above).
Nishikawa in view of Drevik does not disclose upon wetting of the absorbent core two elongate channels are created, wherein a first elongate channel extends from a first left position to a second right position, where the first left position is at a distance of the first transverse edge and closer to the first transverse edge than the second right position, and a second elongate channel extends from a further second right position to a further first left position, where the further second right position is at a distance of the first transverse edge and closer to the first transverse edge than the further first left position, wherein the first and/or second elongate channel from left to right and/or from right to left, respectively, whilst extending the crotch region or away from the crotch region.
However, Nishikawa also discloses that the integrity of the channels is substantially maintained both in dry state and wet state (¶0075).
In addition, since i) the missing recitation sets forth the intended manner of using the apparatus without adding patentable weight to the structural limitations of the apparatus, ii) Nishikawa in view of Drevik teaches all the claimed structural limitations, and iii) Nishikawa teaches having the first and second elongate attachment zone or channels in order to distribute liquid along the length of the absorbent core, and thereby help improve acquisition rate and reduce chances of a saggy and bulky appearance of the article when wetted, by providing longitudinal structural rigidity through the crotch region of the article resulting from pressure within the wetted absorbent polymer particle deposits between the channels (¶0003), the absorbent article of Nishikawa in view of Drevik is expected to be capable of performing the missing recitations/functions (see MPEP § 2112.01 (I), 2114 (I)-(II), and 2115).
Regarding claim 23, Nishikawa in the embodiment of Fig. 15A and 16A-C does not disclose the first elongate channel and the second elongate channel are in liquid communication.
Nishikawa in the embodiment of Fig. 19 discloses/suggests having transverse channels 129 to connect channels 126 (¶0089 and Fig. 19) for the benefit of serving as transverse hinge structures that can enable the absorbent structure to flex laterally and thereby conform to the wearer's anatomy along the longitudinal direction (¶0089).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have further modified the absorbent article of Nishikawa by incorporating transverse channels to connect the first elongate channel and the second elongate channel, in order to provide transverse hinge structures that can enable the absorbent structure to flex laterally and thereby conform to the wearer's anatomy along the longitudinal direction, as suggested in ¶0089 of Nishikawa. Thus, the first elongate channel and the second elongate channel of Nishikawa are in liquid communication.
Claim(s) 12-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Nishikawa (US PGPUB 20160206482) in view of Drevik (US PGPUB 20130138070), as applied to claim 1 above, and as evidenced by Van De Maele (US PGPUB 20140039437).
As evidenced by Van De Maele, "capillary action" is used to refer to the phenomena of the flow of liquid through porous media (¶0113).
Regarding claim 12, Nishikawa in the embodiment of Fig. 15A and 16A-C does not disclose at least one of said first and second elongate attachment zone comprises a bridge zone allowing a liquid flow between the first and the second longitudinal edge, such that upon wetting of the absorbent material, a front and rear channel are created, wherein the bridge zone extends between said front and rear channel.
Nishikawa in the embodiment of Fig. 19 discloses at least one of said first and second elongate attachment zone comprises a bridge zone allowing a liquid flow between the first and the second longitudinal edge (transverse channels 129: ¶0089 and Fig. 19) by capillary action through the absorbent material and/or by mass flow (transverse channels allow liquid flow through absorbent material: ¶0089; thus, the transverse channels allowing a liquid flow between the first and the second longitudinal edge by capillary action, as evidenced by Van De Maele in ¶0113), such that upon wetting of the absorbent material, a front and rear channel are created, wherein the bridge zone extends between said front and rear channel (see annotated Fig. 19 below).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have further modified the absorbent article of Nishikawa by incorporating a bridge zone, in order to provide transverse hinge structures that can enable the absorbent structure to flex laterally and thereby conform to the wearer's anatomy along the longitudinal direction, as suggested in ¶0089 of Nishikawa.
Regarding claim 13, Nishikawa further discloses the bridge zone extends from the first longitudinal portion of the absorbent core to the second longitudinal portion of the absorbent core (see rejection of claim 12 above).
Examiner notes that limitations “said bridge zone comprises one or more temporary attachments between the top and back core wrap sheet which are configured to detach when wetted; and /or wherein said bridge zone comprises at least one permanent attachment zone in a direction from the first to the second side edge; and/or wherein said bridge zone comprises absorbent material” are optional; thus, the limitations are not required by claim 13.
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Nishikawa (US PGPUB 20160206482) in view of Drevik (US PGPUB 20130138070), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Willhaus (US PGPUB 20170079858).
Nishikawa/Drevik does not disclose the first attachment zone is connected to the second attachment zone through a semi-permanent attachment zone.
In the same field of endeavor, absorbent articles, Willhaus discloses an absorbent article (Abstract) comprising a liquid pervious topsheet 24, a liquid impervious backsheet 25, and an absorbent core 28 positioned between the liquid pervious topsheet and the liquid impervious backsheet (¶0007-0009). Willhaus further teaches the channel bonds 27 is a semi-permanent (“The bond remains intact at least during a first phase as the absorbent material absorbs a moderate quantity of fluid. In a second phase the channel bonds 27 in the channels can start opening to provide more space for the absorbent material to swell while keeping most of the benefits of the channels such as increased flexibility of the core in transversal direction and fluid management. In a third phase, corresponding to a very high saturation of the absorbent core, a more substantial part of the channel bonds can open to provide even more space for the swelling absorbent material to expand”: ¶0056) for the benefits of increasing flexibility of the core and fluid management and providing even more space for the swelling absorbent material to expand (¶0056).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modify the absorbent article of Nishikawa in view of Willhaus by connecting the first and second attachment zone through a semi-permanent attachment zone, in order to increase flexibility of the core and fluid management and provide even more space for the swelling absorbent material to expand, and prevent mechanical failure of the topsheet and backsheet of the absorbent article, as suggested in ¶0056 of Willhaus.
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Nishikawa (US PGPUB 20160206482) in view of Drevik (US PGPUB 20130138070), as applied to claim 16 above, and as evidenced by Van De Maele (US PGPUB 20140039437).
As evidenced by Van De Maele, "capillary action" is used to refer to the phenomena of the flow of liquid through porous media (¶0113).
Regarding claim 19, Nishikawa in the embodiment of Fig. 15A and 16A-C does not disclose at least one of said first and second elongate attachment zone comprises a bridge zone allowing a liquid flow between the first and the second longitudinal edge, such that upon wetting of the absorbent material, a front and rear channel are created, wherein the bridge zone extends between said front and rear channel.
Nishikawa in the embodiment of Fig. 19 discloses at least one of said first and second elongate attachment zone comprises a bridge zone allowing a liquid flow between the first and the second longitudinal edge (transverse channels 129: ¶0089 and Fig. 19) by capillary action through the absorbent material and/or by mass flow (transverse channels allow liquid flow through absorbent material: ¶0089; thus, the transverse channels allowing a liquid flow between the first and the second longitudinal edge by capillary action, as evidenced by Van De Maele in ¶0113), such that upon wetting of the absorbent material, a front and rear channel are created, wherein the bridge zone extends between said front and rear channel (see annotated Fig. 19 below).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have further modified the absorbent article of Nishikawa by incorporating a bridge zone, in order to provide transverse hinge structures that can enable the absorbent structure to flex laterally and thereby conform to the wearer's anatomy along the longitudinal direction, as suggested in ¶0089 of Nishikawa.
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Nishikawa (US PGPUB 20160206482) in view of Drevik (US PGPUB 20130138070), as applied to claim 16 above, and further in view of Willhaus (US PGPUB 20170079858).
Nishikawa/Drevik does not disclose the first attachment zone is connected to the second attachment zone through a semi-permanent attachment zone.
In the same field of endeavor, absorbent articles, Willhaus discloses an absorbent article (Abstract) comprising a liquid pervious topsheet 24, a liquid impervious backsheet 25, and an absorbent core 28 positioned between the liquid pervious topsheet and the liquid impervious backsheet (¶0007-0009). Willhaus further teaches the channel bonds 27 is a semi-permanent (“The bond remains intact at least during a first phase as the absorbent material absorbs a moderate quantity of fluid. In a second phase the channel bonds 27 in the channels can start opening to provide more space for the absorbent material to swell while keeping most of the benefits of the channels such as increased flexibility of the core in transversal direction and fluid management. In a third phase, corresponding to a very high saturation of the absorbent core, a more substantial part of the channel bonds can open to provide even more space for the swelling absorbent material to expand”: ¶0056) for the benefits of increasing flexibility of the core and fluid management and providing even more space for the swelling absorbent material to expand (¶0056).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modify the absorbent article of Nishikawa in view of Willhaus by connecting the first and second attachment zone through a semi-permanent attachment zone, in order to increase flexibility of the core and fluid management and provide even more space for the swelling absorbent material to expand, and prevent mechanical failure of the topsheet and backsheet of the absorbent article, as suggested in ¶0056 of Willhaus.
Conclusion
/NHU Q. TRAN/Examiner, Art Unit 3781 /CATHARINE L ANDERSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3781