Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
A request for continued examination under 37 CFR 1.114, including the fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(e), was filed in this application after final rejection. Since this application is eligible for continued examination under 37 CFR 1.114, and the fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(e) has been timely paid, the finality of the previous Office action has been withdrawn pursuant to 37 CFR 1.114. Applicant's submission filed on October 8, 2025 has been entered. By way of this submission, Applicant has amended claims 1, 52, and 69, and cancelled claims 3, 22, 67, and 68.
Claims 1-2, 52, 55-60, and 69-73 are currently pending in the application. Claims 58-60 remain withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made with traverse in the reply filed on September 22, 2021.
Claims 1-2, 52, 55-57, and 69-73 are therefore under examination before the Office.
The rejections of record can be found in the previous Office action, dated April 8, 2025.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on October 8, 2025 was filed after the mailing date of the first Office action on the merits on November 2, 2021. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: there appears to be an extra word at line 13: “wherein and the first and second antibody…”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 52, 55-57, 69, and 72-73 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Chang (U.S. patent 11,834,506). This is a new grounds of rejection.
Chang teaches a multi-specific binding protein comprising:
(a) a first antigen-binding site that binds and activates human NKG2D;
(b) a second antigen-binding site that binds a tumor-associated antigen; and
(c) a first antibody Fc domain of human IgG1 and a second antibody Fc domain of human IgG1 that together are sufficient to bind CD16, wherein the first and second antibody Fc domains comprise different amino acid mutations to promote heterodimerization, and the first and second antibody Fc domains each comprise an N-terminus,
wherein the first antigen-binding site is linked to the N-terminus of the first antibody Fc domain, and the second antigen-binding site is linked to the N-terminus of the second antibody Fc domain (claim 1).
Chang further teaches that the tumor antigen may be CD19 (col. 2, line 52).
Chang further teaches that the antigen-binding sites may be Fab (Figure 2) or scFv (col. 2, lines 44-46).
Chang further teaches that the binding of the above molecule increases levels of CD107a and interferon gamma (Figure 45).
Chang further teaches that the first antigen-binding site binds to NKG2D in humans and cynomolgus monkeys (col. 2, lines 22-24).
Chang further teaches that antibody Fc domain comprises hinge and CH2 domains (col. 10, line 15).
Chang further teaches substitutions in the human IgG1 constant region such as K360E, K409W, Q347R, D399V and F405T (col. 20, lines 2-18).
Chang further teaches a cell comprising one or more nucleic acids encoding the above protein (claim 14).
Chang further teaches a formulation comprising the multi-specific binding protein above and a pharmaceutically acceptable carrier (claim 13).
Chang further teaches sequences of the anti-NKG2D binding site of SEQ ID NOs: 41-48 (ADI-27727) which are identical to Applicant’s SEQ ID NOs: 41-48, which is pertinent to claims 72-73.
Applicant is invited to file a statement according to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) and MPEP 717.02 and 2154.02(c) in order to assist in addressing this rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 22,52, 55-57, 67-68, and 70-71 were previously rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gauthier (WO2016207273A2) in view of Kufer (US20040038339A1) and Loew (US20170368169A1).
Claim 2 was previously rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gauthier (WO2016207273A2) in view of Kufer (US20040038339A1) and Loew (US20170368169A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Steigerwald (MAbs. Mar-Apr 2009; 1(2):115-27).
Claim 69 was previously rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gauthier (WO2016207273A2) in view of Kufer (US20040038339A1) and Loew (US20170368169A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Ha (Front Immunol. 2016; 7:394).
Claim 73 was previously rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gauthier (WO2016207273A2) in view of Kufer (US20040038339A1) and Loew (US20170368169A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Urso (U.S. patent 7,879,985).
Applicant argues that a person of ordinary skill would not expect the claimed product to yield the unexpected benefits of improved functionality in killing cancer cells. Applicant presents Declarations under Rule 37 CFR 1.132 from Dr. Lewis L. Lanier and Dr. Nikhil Joshi in support of these arguments.
Applicant's arguments in view of the amendments to the claims and the Declarations under 37 CFR 1.132 from Dr. Lewis L. Lanier and Dr. Nikhil Joshi are persuasive, and the above rejections are hereby withdrawn.
Claims 70-71 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chang as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Gauthier (WO2016207273A2). This is a new grounds of rejection.
The teachings of Chang have been discussed supra. However, Chang does not teach the claimed sequences of the anti-CD19 binding domain.
Gauthier teaches proteins possessing two antigen binding domains each formed by immunoglobulin variable regions, thereby binding to two different antigens, and a dimeric Fc domain that binds CD16 (page 2, lines 26-33).
Gauthier further teaches that the two antigen binding domains may bind to an activating receptor on an immune effector cell such as NKG2D and a cancer antigen such as CD19 (page 16, lines 9-29, Example 3, and Figure 2D, Format 5).
Gauthier also teaches the elected sequences of the instant application’s SEQ ID NSs: 175 and 179 as Gauthier’s SEQ ID NOs: 6 and 4, respectively. Applicant’s SEQ ID Nos: 175 and 179 complete encompass the elected CDRs of claim 70 (see the Office action dated March 11, 2022 at page 2 and the Office action dated July 29, 2022 at page 7), which is pertinent to claims 70 and 71.
It would have been prima facie obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date to combine the teachings of Chang and Gauthier to arrive at the claimed invention. An ordinary artisan would have been motivated to do so, and have a reasonable expectation of success, since both Chang and Gauthier are drawn to multispecific antibodies that bind NKG2D, CD19, and CD16. Starting with the molecule of Chang, one of ordinary skill could apply the known sequences recited in Gauthier into the anti-CD19 site by simple substitution. Each component of the combination would perform its known, usual function to affect a predictable result.
Applicant is invited to file a statement according to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) and MPEP 717.02 and 2154.02(c) regarding Chang in order to assist in addressing this rejection.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-3, 9, 22,52, and 55-57 were previously provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-6, 11-16, 18, 20-24 of copending Application No. 16/483,330 (reference application) in view of Loew.
Claims 1-3, 9, 22,52, and 55-57 were previously provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-2, 31, and 34-35 of copending Application No. 16/967,218 (reference application) in view of Loew.
Applicant's amendments to the claims have addressed these issues, and the above rejections are hereby withdrawn.
Claims 1-2, 52, 55-57, and 69-73 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-11 and 13-14 of U.S patent No. 11,834,506 in view of Gauthier. This is a new grounds of rejection.
The '506 patent claims a multi-specific binding protein comprising:
(a) a first antigen-binding site that binds and activates human NKG2D;
(b) a second antigen-binding site that binds a tumor-associated antigen; and
(c) a first antibody Fc domain of human IgG1 and a second antibody Fc domain of human IgG1 that together are sufficient to bind CD16;
wherein the first antigen-binding site is linked to the N-terminus of the first antibody Fc domain, and the second antigen-binding site is linked to the N-terminus of the second antibody Fc domain (claim 1).
The '506 patent also claims the above protein comprises a portion of an antibody Fc domain sufficient to bind CD16, wherein the antibody Fc domain comprises hinge and CH2 domains (claim 7).
The '506 patent also claims sequences of the NKG2D-binding domain that are identical to those recited in Applicant’s claims 72-73 (claim 8).
The claims of the '506 patent differ from the instant claims in that the '506 patent does not claim CD19 as a specific tumor antigen.
Gauthier teaches proteins possessing two antigen binding domains each formed by immunoglobulin variable regions, thereby binding to two different antigens, and a dimeric Fc domain that binds CD16 (page 2, lines 26-33).
Gauthier further teaches that the two antigen binding domains may bind to an activating receptor on an immune effector cell such as NKG2D and a cancer antigen such as CD19 (page 16, lines 9-29, Example 3, and Figure 2D, Format 5).
Gauthier also teaches the elected sequences of the instant application’s SEQ ID NSs: 175 and 179 as Gauthier’s SEQ ID NOs: 6 and 4, respectively. Applicant’s SEQ ID Nos: 175 and 179 complete encompass the elected CDRs of claim 70 (see the Office action dated March 11, 2022 at page 2 and the Office action dated July 29, 2022 at page 7), which is pertinent to claims 70 and 71.
It would have been prima facie obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date to combine the teachings of the ‘506 patent and Gauthier to arrive at the claimed invention. An ordinary artisan would have been motivated to do so, and have a reasonable expectation of success, since both the ‘506 patent and Gauthier are drawn to multispecific antibodies that bind NKG2D, a cancer antigen, and CD16. Starting with the molecule of the ‘506 patent, one of ordinary skill could apply the known sequences recited in Gauthier into the anti-CD19 site by simple substitution. Each component of the combination would perform its known, usual function to affect a predictable result.
Claims 1-3, 9, 22,52, and 55-57 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 4-6 of U.S. patent No. 12,384,847 (formerly copending Application No. 16/967,218) in view of Gauthier. This is a new grounds of rejection.
The '847 patent claims a method of enhancing tumor cell death directly or indirectly, the method comprising exposing a tumor cell and a natural killer cell to a multi-specific binding protein comprising:
(a) a first antigen-binding site that binds and activates human NKG2D;
(b) a second antigen-binding site that binds a tumor-associated antigen; and
(c) a first antibody Fc domain of human IgG1 and a second antibody Fc domain of human IgG1that together bind CD16, wherein the first and second antibody Fc domains comprise different amino acid mutations to promote heterodimerization, and the first and second antibody Fc domains each comprise an N-terminus,
wherein the first antigen-binding site is linked to the N-terminus of the first antibody Fc domain, and the second antigen-binding site is linked to the N-terminus of the second antibody Fc domain (claim 1).
The claims of the '847 patent differ from the instant claims in that the '847 patent does not claim CD19 as a specific tumor antigen.
Gauthier teaches proteins possessing two antigen binding domains each formed by immunoglobulin variable regions, thereby binding to two different antigens, and a dimeric Fc domain that binds CD16 (page 2, lines 26-33).
Gauthier further teaches that the two antigen binding domains may bind to an activating receptor on an immune effector cell such as NKG2D and a cancer antigen such as CD19 (page 16, lines 9-29, Example 3, and Figure 2D, Format 5).
Gauthier also teaches the elected sequences of the instant application’s SEQ ID NSs: 175 and 179 as Gauthier’s SEQ ID NOs: 6 and 4, respectively. Applicant’s SEQ ID Nos: 175 and 179 complete encompass the elected CDRs of claim 70 (see the Office action dated March 11, 2022 at page 2 and the Office action dated July 29, 2022 at page 7), which is pertinent to claims 70 and 71.
It would have been prima facie obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date to combine the teachings of the ‘847 patent and Gauthier to arrive at the claimed invention. An ordinary artisan would have been motivated to do so, and have a reasonable expectation of success, since both the ‘847 patent and Gauthier are drawn to multispecific antibodies that bind NKG2D, a cancer antigen, and CD16. Starting with the molecule of the ‘847 patent, one of ordinary skill could apply the known sequences recited in Gauthier into the anti-CD19 site by simple substitution. Each component of the combination would perform its known, usual function to affect a predictable result.
Claim 1-2, 55-57, and 69-73 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 21, 29-34, 39, and 41-43 of copending Application No. 18/482,629. This is a new grounds of rejection.
The '629 application claims a cell comprising one or more nucleic acids encoding a multi-specific binding protein comprising:
(a) a first antigen-binding site that binds human NKG2D;
(b) a second antigen-binding site that binds a tumor-associated antigen; and
(c) a first antibody Fc domain and a second antibody Fc domain each of human IgG1 isotype that together are sufficient to bind human CD16, wherein the first and second antibody Fc domains comprise different amino acid mutations to promote heterodimerization (claim 21).
The '629 application further claims that the first antigen-binding site binds to NKG2D in humans and non-human primates (claim 29), and comprises sequences identical to those of the instantly claimed invention (claim 34).
The '629 application further claims that the first and second antibody Fc domains each comprise an N-terminus, the first antigen-binding site is linked to the N-terminus of the first antibody Fc domain, and the second antigen-binding site is linked to the N-terminus of the second antibody Fc domain (claim 39).
The '629 application further claims that the amino acid sequence of the first antibody Fc domain differs from the amino acid sequence of an antibody Fc domain of human IgGI by K360E and K409W substitutions, and the amino acid sequence of the second antibody Fc domain differs from the amino acid sequence of an antibody Fc domain of human IgG1 by Q347R, D399V and F405T substitutions (claim 41).
The is a provisional double patenting rejection.
Conclusion
No claim is allowed.
/PETER JOHANSEN/Examiner, Art Unit 1644