Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-8, 14-16, 18, 20, 23, and 25-26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hahn et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2013/0231772) in view of Russell (U.S. Pub. No. 2017/0357270).
Regarding Claim 1, Hahn discloses, A container treatment plant for treating containers (FIG. 1, Claim 1), comprising:
at least one container treatment machine (FIG. 1, #30, paras [0029 and 0045]) and a component (FIG. 1, #10).
Hahn further discloses, wherein the collaborating robot is configured to independently service multiple container treatment machines (FIG. 1, BP1-3, paras [0048-0052], Claims 1-2) of the container treatment plant.
Hahn does not disclose, a mobile, collaborating robot configured for robot-robot interaction and/or for robot-man interaction, wherein the collaborating robotis configured to cooperate in exchanging a component of the at least one container treatment machine, wherein the collaborating robot comprises a safety system, which is configured to continuously determine a risk of collision with a human being in a surroundings of the collaborating robot and to control movement of the collaborating robot, wherein the movement of the collaborating robot is controlled using a navigation system of the collaborating robot such that the risk of collision is continuously minimized.
However, Russell teaches, a mobile, collaborating robot (FIG. 2A, #212/214/216/218/226, paras [0065 — 0069]) configured for robot-robot interaction (216 interacts with 218, para [066]) and/or for robot-man interaction (para [0001 and 0091]), wherein the collaborating robot is configured to cooperate in exchanging a component of the at least one container treatment machine (FIG. 2B, para [0070)]), wherein the collaborating robot comprises a safety system (FIG. 2A, #250, para [0091] avoids collisions), which is configured to continuously (para [0077]) determine a risk of collision (para [0091] — minimize risk of collision with humans) with a human being (para [0048] — users or operators) in a surroundings (FIG. 2A) of the collaborating robot and to control movement of the collaborating robot (para [0126)), wherein the movement of the collaborating robot is controlled using a navigation system (FIGS. | and 2A, #100, paras 0053-0055]) of the collaborating robot such that the risk of collision is minimized (para [0091]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art having the teachings of Russell before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the container treatment plant (Claim 1) as disclosed by Hahn to include the mobile, collaborating robot (FIG. 2A, #212/ 214/ 216/ 218/ 226) that has a safety system (FIG. 2A, #250) and navigation system (FIGS. | and 2A, #100) so as to continuously determine the risk of collision (para [0091]) with human (para [0048]) in the surroundings (FIG. 2A) as taught by Russell. Since Russell teaches the aforementioned limitations that are known in the art and beneficial, thereby providing the motivation to utilize the same so as to improve the operations, such as moving between modules, of the treatment plant (Hahn, Claim 1) by enabling the operation autonomously or semi- autonomously by use of mobile robots (Russell, [0039]) as this allows the treatment plant to operate with minimal down time or human interaction.
Russell using a navigation system of the collaborating robot such that the risk of collision is continuously minimized, see for example (Figs. 2A, 2B, and 3A-3C; via robotic warehouse fleet 200 and/or mechanisms 212, 214, 216, and 222 and “navigation sensor 316 and a rear navigation sensor 318, and one or more sensors mounted on a robotic arm”); the collaborating robot is configured to independently service multiple container treatment machines of the at least two container treatment plants, see for example (Figs. 2-3; via the shown robotic fleet 200 and/or 222).
Also, Russell shows the navigation system is the collaborating robot’s own navigation system, see for example (Figs. 2-3; via the shown robots 212, 214, 216, 222 and/or navigations sensors 316/318; “control system local to the vehicle”).
Further the combined Hahn/Russell suggests that the collaborating robot is configured as a device controlled by a computer or a processing unit (Hahn, FIG. 3, via CPU 95, para [0092]), wherein the collaborating robot is equipped with a tool (Hahn, FIG. 3, #19 & 120, paragraph [0058] & 0085; “the adaptation device 120 can be a robot”) for interaction with the surroundings and is able to interact with humans (Russell, FIG. 2A, para [0091]) or with other robots in such a way that it can cooperate with the human (Russell, FIG. 2A, para [0091]) or with the robot in component exchange operations and/or either carry out substeps of the component exchange operations by itself or assist in such substeps in a supporting capacity, see for example (Russell, paragraph 0091; “Global control system 250 may generate the predetermined paths in order to synchronize the operations of the autonomous vehicles and minimize the probability of collisions…and/or human workers”).
Per the filed amendments on 08/19/2026; “wherein the mobile, collaborating robot is configured as a humanoid robot and comprises two arms and two legs configured to cooperate in activities performed by the collaborating robot, and wherein the humanoid robot comprises a robot hand on an arm of the two arms, the robot hand configured to grip a screwdriver”; it is noted that an intended use limitations of the actual “mobile, collaborating robot” is not given much patentable weight.
Further, Russell discloses mobile and collaborating robot with arm/hand (Figs. 2A & 3A via the shown mobile 214 & 216 along with robot 222). Having the robot to be a “humanoid” with hand and arms would be only a matter of engineering design choice to be made, it is noted that the use of “humanoid” is old and well known to be used for different fields, see for example (U.S. Pub. No. 2019/0369641, 2014/0366673, 2008/0309277, and/or U.S. Pat. No. 2,858,947).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed inventio, to have substituted Russell’s mobile/robot by another “humanoid” robot, as a matter of design choice to be made, in order to simplify and improve machine’s movements in the plant.
Regarding Claim 3, the prior art discloses as previously claimed. As combined, Russell discloses, wherein the collaborating robot (FIG. 2A, #212/214/216/218).
As combined, the prior art does not disclose, wherein the collaborating robot does not comprise any separating protective device.
However, Russell teaches, wherein the collaborating robot does not comprise any separating protective device (FIG. 2A — illustrates no protective device for #2 12/214/216/218/226).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art having the teachings of Russell before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the container treatment plant (Claim 1) as disclosed by Hahn to not utilize any separating protective device (FIG. 2A) as taught by Russell. Since Russell teaches the aforementioned limitation that is known in the art and beneficial, thereby providing the motivation to utilize the no separating protective device (FIG. 2A) so as to optimize the strategies for the deployment and planning (Russell, para [0071] as this can provide cost saving of less time, space, and electricity.
Regarding Claim 4, the prior art discloses as previously claimed. As combined, Hahn discloses, wherein the at least one container treatment machine includes a first container treatment machine (Claim Application/Control Number: 16/621,666 Page 7 Art Unit: 3666 1 — first treatment unit) and a second container treatment machine (Claim 1 - second treatment unit), wherein the collaborating robot is movable between the first container treatment machine and the second container treatment machine (Russell, FIG. 2A, #212/214/216/218/226).
Regarding Claim 5, the prior art discloses as previously claimed. As combined, Russell discloses, wherein the collaborating robot comprises a robot arm (FIG. 3A, #302), wherein the collaborating robot comprises a robot arm with a tool for interacting with the at least one container treatment machine, see for example (Figs. 2-3; via the shown robotic arms mechanisms for “lifting and moving goods or pallets of goods”); further intended use mechanism not given much patentable weight;
Wherein the robot arm comprises first and second segment arms (Figs. 2A & 3A; via the shown two separate arms of robot 222 and/or 216), inherently “threads” would be possible and clearly provided to install one segment to the other or a tool to the other as needed and/or very obvious as such use of “threads” is very old and well known in the art.
Regarding Claim 6, the prior art discloses as previously claimed. As combined, Russel discloses, wherein the collaborating robot comprises the tool of the collaborating robot; wherein the collaborating robot comprises a tool changing system by means of which the tool of the collaborating robot can be exchanged for some other tool carried along in the tool changing system (“the sensor with respect to the environment may change due to motion of the vehicle” and/or “The control system 118 may monitor and physically change the operating conditions”); further intended use mechanism not given much patentable weight.
Regarding Claim 7, the prior art discloses as previously claimed. As combined, Russell discloses, wherein the collaborating robot is arranged on a movable platform (FIG. 3A, #312).
Regarding Claim 8, the prior art discloses as previously claimed. As combined, Russell discloses, wherein the movable platform forms (312).
As combined, the prior art does not disclose, wherein the movable platform forms, together with a guide configured as a stator and extending through the container treatment plant, a linear drive.
However, Russell teaches, wherein the movable platform forms, together with a guide (para [0051]) configured as a stator (para [0051] — track) and extending through the container treatment plant, a linear drive (paras [0051 and 0055] — actuators).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art having the teachings of Russell before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the movable platform (312) as disclosed by, as combined, Russell to include the guide that includes a stator (paras [0051 and 0055]) and linear drive (paras [0051 and 0055]) as taught by Russell. Since Russell teaches the aforementioned limitations that are known in the art and beneficial, thereby providing the motivation to utilize the same so as to improve the operational flexibility of the movable platform (Russell, 312) by including the stator (paras [0051 and 0055]) and linear drive (paras [0051 and 0055]) thereby enabling various configuration so the robot can perform based on operational requirements (Russell, para [0051]).
Regarding Claim 14, Hahn discloses, A system, comprising: at least two container treatment machines for treating containers (Claim 1 — first and second treatment units) with at least one container treatment machine (FIG. 1, #30, paras [0029 and 0045]) and a component (FIG. 1, #10) for treating containers (Claim 1 - containers); at least two container treatment plants, each of the at least two container treatment plants comprising at least two container treatment machines for treating containers, wherein the system comprises at least one mobile, collaborating robot, which is configured for robot-robot interaction and/or for robot-man interaction, the collaborating robot being configured to cooperate in exchanging a component of a container treatment machine of one of the container treatment plants and to move independently between the container treatment machine of the container treatment plant and another container treatment machine of the other container treatment plant,
wherein the collaborating robot comprises a safety system, which is configured to continuously determine a risk of collision with a human being in a surroundings of the collaborating robot and to control movement of the collaborating robot, wherein the movement of the collaborating robot is controlled using a navigation system of the collaborating robot such that the risk of collision is minimized, see for example (Figs. 2 & 3; via the shown robotic mechanisms working in different sections and plants of fleet 200); further intended use mechanism not given much patentable weight.
Also, Russell discloses that the navigation system is the collaborating robot’s own navigation system, see for example (Figs. 2-3; via the shown robots 212, 214, 216, 222 and/or navigations sensors 316/318; “control system local to the vehicle”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art having the teachings of Russell before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the container treatment plant (Claim 1) as disclosed by Hahn to include the mobile, collaborating robot (FIG. 2A, #212/ 214/ 216/ 218/ 226) that has a safety system (FIG. 2A, #250) and navigation system (FIGS. | and 2A, #100) so as to continuously determine the risk of collision (para [0091]) with human (para [0048]) in the surroundings (FIG. 2A) as taught by Russell. Since Russell teaches the aforementioned limitations that are known in the art and beneficial, thereby providing the motivation to utilize the same so as to improve the operations, such as moving between modules, of the treatment plant (Hahn, Claim 1) by enabling the operation autonomously or semi- autonomously by use of mobile robots (Russell, [0039]) as this allows the treatment plant to operate with minimal down time or human interaction.
Further; the combined Hahn/Russell suggests that the collaborating robot is configured as a device controlled by a computer or a processing unit (Hahn, FIG. 3, via CPU 95, para [0092]), wherein the collaborating robot is equipped with a tool (Hahn, FIG. 3, #19 & 120, paragraph [0058] & 0085; “the adaptation device 120 can be a robot”) for interaction with the surroundings and is able to interact with humans (Russell, FIG. 2A, para [0091]) or with other robots in such a way that it can cooperate with the human (Russell, FIG. 2A, para [0091]) or with the robot in component exchange operations and/or either carry out substeps of the component exchange operations by itself or assist in such substeps in a supporting capacity, see for example (Russell, paragraph 0091; “Global control system 250 may generate the predetermined paths in order to synchronize the operations of the autonomous vehicles and minimize the probability of collisions…and/or human workers”).
Per the filed amendments on 08/19/2026; “wherein the mobile, collaborating robot is configured as a humanoid robot and comprises two arms and two legs configured to cooperate in activities performed by the collaborating robot, and wherein the humanoid robot comprises a robot hand on an arm of the two arms, the robot hand configured to grip a screwdriver”; it is noted that an intended use limitations of the actual “mobile, collaborating robot” is not given much patentable weight.
Further, Russell discloses mobile and collaborating robot with arm/hand (Figs. 2A & 3A via the shown mobile 214 & 216 along with robot 222). Having the robot to be a “humanoid” with hand and arms would be only a matter of engineering design choice to be made, it is noted that the use of “humanoid” is old and well known to be used for different fields, see for example (U.S. Pub. No. 2019/0369641, 2014/0366673, 2008/0309277, and/or U.S. Pat. No. 2,858,947).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed inventio, to have substituted Russell’s mobile/robot by another “humanoid” robot, as a matter of design choice to be made, in order to simplify and improve machine’s movements in the plant.
Regarding Claim 15, Hahn discloses the container treatment plants are configured as beverage filling plants and each of the container treatment plants comprising at least one filler for filling containers with a product and a capper arranged downstream of the filler and used for closing the containers, see for example (Figs. 1 & 3-5; paragraphs 0049 and 0069) and/or Russell (Fig. 2; via the shown plants); further intended use mechanism not given much patentable weight.
Regarding Claim 16, the prior art discloses as previously claimed. As combined, Hahn further discloses, wherein the containers are bottles (FIG. 1, #3).
Regarding Claim 18, the prior art discloses as previously claimed. As combined, Hahn discloses, wherein the component is a blow mold (FIG. 1, #2, para [0045]).
Regarding Claim 20, the prior art discloses as previously claimed. As combined, Hahn further discloses, wherein the collaborating robot is further configured to independently service at least one container treatment machine (para [0093] — via individual control means 60) of another container treatment plant.
Regarding Claim 23, the prior art discloses as previously claimed. As combined, Hahn discloses, wherein the component is a blow mold (FIG. 1, #2, para [0045]).
Regarding claim 25: Russell discloses that the movement of the collaborating robot is further controlled using a drive of the collaborating robot, see for example (“The program code and/or related data may be…a disk or hard drive or other storage medium”).
Regarding claim 26: Russell discloses that the robot further comprises a tool storage unit, and a second robot arm comprises a gripping element (Figs. 2A & 3A; via gripping arm 304 and storage area on the robotic vehicle). It is noted that the robot arms what is “configured to” is an intended use limitation, which not given much patentable weight.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 3-8, 14-16, 18, 20, 23, and 25-26 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection, the rejection modified to address the newly added limitations.
Applicant argues that the applied art of Russell ‘270 does not disclose the “humanoid robot” as suggested by the latest filed amendment on 08/19/2026.
The Office draws applicant’s attention that the claims are given the broadest reasonable meaning, in this case it appears that applicant is arguing of an intended use matter of the claimed mobile “robot” to be “humanoid”. It is noted that recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim.
Being that said, the Office explained above that a use of “humanoid” to replace a general mobile/robot mechanism in different fields is old and well known, see for example (U.S. Pub. No. 2019/0369641, 2014/0366673, 2008/0309277, and/or U.S. Pat. No. 2,858,947).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. For example, U.S. Pub. No. 2019/0369641, 2014/0366673, 2008/0309277, and/or U.S. Pat. No. 2,858,947 all referring to the use of “humanoid” to meet different industrial tasks and to replace regular and basic robot and/or machine works with higher standards.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SAMEH TAWFIK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3731