Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 10/10/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
With respect to amended claims 11 and 36, applicant argues that Lee fails to teach send, based on the indication, a radio resource control (RRC) message, wherein the RRC message comprises a requested NSSAI. Examiner notes that the attach request message cited form paragraph 108 reads on a radio resource control (RRC) message, wherein the RRC message comprises a requested NSSAI.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 11, 15, 30-39 and 44-47 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a2 as being anticipated by US 2018/0270666 (Lee et al.).
As to claims 11 and 36, Lee teaches wireless transmit/receive unit (WTRU) configured to:
send, to an access network, a registration request message (step 1, fig 10, and paragraph 105);
receive, from an access and mobility management function (AMF) of the access network, a registration accept message, wherein the registration accept message comprises an indication indicating whether the WTRU is to send a requested network slice selection assistance information (NSSAI) that comprises one or more single- NSSAI (S-NSSAI) (see paragraphs 107 and 108, AMF may send a confirmation message indicating a secure connection has been established, which results in the UE sending another full NSSAI having S-NSSAIs whose privacy flags were set and which were not send in the first NSSAI);
send, based on the indication, a radio resource control (RRC) message, wherein the RRC message comprises a requested NSSAI (step 7-1, fig 10 and paragraphs 107 and 108, based on indication of a secure connection, UE sends another full NSSAI having S-NSSAIs whose privacy flags were set and which were not send in the first NSSAI. UE sends another full NSSAI having S-NSSAIs whose privacy flags were set and which were not send in the first NSSAI).
As to claims 15 and 44, Lee further teaches wherein the WTRU is further configured to send the secure registration update message in response to determining at least one of the one or more S-NSSAI in the configured NSSAI has not been sent to the first AMF (see paragraphs 107 and 108, based on updated privacy flags for S-NSSAIs, UE sends another full NSSAI having S-NSSAIs whose privacy flags were not set and which were not send in the first NSSAI).
As to claims 30 and 37, Lee further teaches wherein at least one of the one or more S-NSSAI is indicated as private, and wherein the indication that the at least one S-NSSAI is private comprises a privacy attribute of the at least one S-NSSAI (see paragraph 104).
As to claims 31 and 38, Lee further teaches wherein the one or more S-NSSAI are part of configured NSSAI provisioned in the WTRU (see paragraphs 105 and 107-109).
As to claims 32 and 39, Lee further teaches wherein the WTRU is further configured to send, as part of the registration request message, at least one of the one or more S-NSSAI that is not indicated as private (see paragraph 105).
As to claims 33 and 45, Lee further teaches wherein the WTRU is further configured to receive a registration update accept message comprising allowed NSSAI, wherein the allowed NSSAI comprises at least one of the one or more S-NSSAI (see paragraph 109 and step 9, figure 10).
As to claims 34 and 46, Lee further teaches wherein the registration update accept message is received from the AMF (see paragraph 108, AMF relocation is optional, so message 9 in figure 10 can be from same AMF that received messages 1 and 7-1).
As to claims 35 and 47, Lee further teaches wherein the registration update accept message is received from a different AMF (see paragraph 108, AMF relocation, so message 9 in figure 10 from different AMF that received messages 1 and 7-1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 14 and 43 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2018/0270666 (Lee et al.) in view of US 2002/0090934 (Mitchelmore) as applied to claims 11 and 36 above, and further in view of US 2020/0137675 (Park et al.).
As to claims 14 and 43, Lee explicitly fails to teach wherein the WTRU is configured to send the registration update message upon a determination that a time has elapsed after receiving the registration accept message.
In analogous art, Park further teaches wherein a timer is started upon receipt of the registration accept message, and wherein the secure registration update message is sent upon expiration of the timer (see Park, paragraph 730. Periodic registration updates based on timer used between registrations).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the filing date of the invention to apply this teaching of Park into Lee so as to ensure that the UE receives the most optimal service by registering at periodic intervals.
Conclusion
/MAZDA SABOURI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2641