DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed February 21, 2026 has been entered. Claims 18-20 and 24 remain pending in the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 18-20 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Luna et al. (US 2014/0094675 A1) (hereinafter – Luna) in view of Pantelopoulos et al. (US 2017/0209053 A1) (hereinafter – Pantelopoulos) in further view of Ferber et al. (US 2016/0242700 A1) (hereinafter – Ferber).
Regarding claim 18, Luna discloses A method of calibrating a wearable blood-pressure monitoring device, the method comprising (Abstract and entire document):
receiving a plurality of pulse observations from a plurality of bio-impedance sensors disposed on the wearable blood-pressure monitoring device, the blood-pressure monitoring device configured to be arranged on a bodily region of a wearer (FIG. 2 and Para. [0022], “According to various embodiments, a heart rate signal can include (or can be based on) a pulse wave.” And para. [0018], “As used herein, the term "sensor" can refer, for example, to a combination of one or more driver electrodes and one or more sink electrodes for determining one or more bioimpedance-related values and/or signals, according to some embodiments.” FIG. 1A and [0017], “Diagram 100 depicts an array 100 of electrodes 110 coupled to a physiological information generator 120 that is configured to generate data representing one or more physiological characteristics associated with a user that is wearing or carrying array 101.”),
wherein the plurality of bio-impedance sensors is connected to a controller via a wired or wireless connection (FIG. 1A and [0017], “Diagram 100 depicts an array 100 of electrodes 110 coupled to a physiological information generator 120 that is configured to generate data representing one or more physiological characteristics associated with a user that is wearing or carrying array 101.” Each sensor pair is coupled to the controller, generator 120. See further, “Electrodes 110 can include any suitable structure for transferring signals and picking up signals, regardless of whether the signals are electrical, magnetic, optical, pressure-based, physical, acoustic, etc., according to various embodiments. According to some embodiments, electrodes 110 of array 101 are configured to couple capacitively to a target location. In some embodiments, array 101 and physiological information generator 120 are disposed in a wearable device, such as a wearable data-capable band 170, which may include a housing that encapsulates, or substantially encapsulates, array 101 of electrodes 110. In operations, physiological information generator 120 can determine the bioelectric impedance ("bioimpedance") of one or more types of tissues of a wearer to identify, measure, and monitor physiological characteristics.” And para. [0018], “As used herein, the term "sensor" can refer, for example, to a combination of one or more driver electrodes and one or more sink electrodes for determining one or more bioimpedance-related values and/or signals, according to some embodiments.”);
capturing signals from different combinations of sensors of the plurality of bio-impedance sensors placed along the radial and ulnar arteries of the wearer (Para. [0019], “In some embodiments, sensor selector 122 can be configured to determine (periodically or aperiodically) whether the subset of electrodes 110a and 110b are optimal electrodes 110 for acquiring a sufficient representation of the one or more physiological characteristics from the second signal.” See also para. [0018], “In various examples, the target location can be adjacent to or can include blood vessel 102. Examples of blood vessel 102 include a radial artery, an ulnar artery, or any other blood vessel. Array 101 is not limited to being disposed adjacent blood vessel 102 in an arm, but can be disposed on any portion of a user's person (e.g., on an ankle, ear lobe, around a finger or on a fingertip, etc.).” sensors are arranged along the radial and ulnar arteries. Every sensor that occupies at least a portion of an artery is arranged along the artery as the sensor is more than one dimensional);
measuring bio-impedance between the plurality of bio-impedance sensors (para. [0018], “As used herein, the term "sensor" can refer, for example, to a combination of one or more driver electrodes and one or more sink electrodes for determining one or more bioimpedance-related values and/or signals, according to some embodiments.” FIG. 1A and [0017], “Diagram 100 depicts an array 100 of electrodes 110 coupled to a physiological information generator 120 that is configured to generate data representing one or more physiological characteristics associated with a user that is wearing or carrying array 101.” The electrodes are the bioimpedance sensors, the measuring of the bio-impedance occurs between the plurality of bio-impedance sensors, or combinations of electrodes acting as a bio-impedance sensor. See entirety of [0017 – 0020] discussing the impedance measurements and different subsets of electrodes, or bio-impedance sensors.);
using the captured signals to generate a plurality of parameters for each heart beat of the wearer (FIG. 2 and Para. [0022], “Physiological characteristic determinator 126 is configured to receive the physiological-related signal component of the second signal and is further configured to process (e.g., digitally) the signal data including one or more physiological characteristics to derive physiological signals, such as either a heart rate ("HR") signal or a respiration signal, or both. For example, physiological characteristic determinator 126 is configured to amplify and/or filter the physiological-related component signals (e.g., at different frequency ranges) to extract certain physiological signals. According to various embodiments, a heart rate signal can include (or can be based on) a pulse wave. A pulse wave includes systolic components based on an initial pulse wave portion generated by a contracting heart, and diastolic components based on a reflected wave portion generated by the reflection of the initial pulse wave portion from other limbs.” Which covers pulse amplitude as the parameter and the pulse wave is continuous to cover multiple heart beats.),
determining a subset of sensors of the plurality of bio-impedance sensors that provide data actionable for a determination of at least one physiological parameter of the wearer selected from the group consisting of pulse wave velocity, pulse pressure, pulse slope, pulse arrival time, and pulse amplitude (FIG. 1A and [0018], discussing sensor selector. See also FIG. 2 and Para. [0022], “Physiological characteristic determinator 126 is configured to receive the physiological-related signal component of the second signal and is further configured to process (e.g., digitally) the signal data including one or more physiological characteristics to derive physiological signals, such as either a heart rate ("HR") signal or a respiration signal, or both. For example, physiological characteristic determinator 126 is configured to amplify and/or filter the physiological-related component signals (e.g., at different frequency ranges) to extract certain physiological signals. According to various embodiments, a heart rate signal can include (or can be based on) a pulse wave. A pulse wave includes systolic components based on an initial pulse wave portion generated by a contracting heart, and diastolic components based on a reflected wave portion generated by the reflection of the initial pulse wave portion from other limbs.” Which covers pulse amplitude);
adjusting the at least one parameter of the plurality of the bio-impedance sensors to control or localize a sensing coverage area of the plurality of bio-impedance sensors or observations to identify a signal of interest (Para. [0019], “While electrodes 110a and 110b may be displaced from the target location, other electrodes are displaced to a position previously occupied by electrodes 110a and 110b (i.e., adjacent to the target location).” And “Note that each electrode 110 can be configured as either a driver or a sink electrode. Thus, electrode 110b is not limited to being a driver electrode and can be configured as a sink electrode in some implementations. As used herein, the term "sensor" can refer, for example, to a combination of one or more driver electrodes and one or more sink electrodes for determining one or more bioimpedance-related values and/or signals, according to some embodiments.” Thus when changed to sink or driver electrode, parameters are changed, if selected or unselected then parameters are also changed and controls the sensing coverage area.); and
Luna fails to disclose wherein the plurality of parameters are selected from the heart beat's diastolic phase which represents a peak of the signal, the heart beat's systolic phase which represents a foot of the signal, a point of change in the peak of the signal, a point of change in the foot of the signal, a point in the slope between the peak of the signal and the foot of the signal, and a inflection point resulting from a pressure pulse;
generating an average of a selection of the plurality of parameters for a selection of heart beats; and
wherein the adjusting at least one parameter of the bio-impedance sensor comprises one or more of changing a frequency of excitation current, performing a frequency sweep, changing a current level injected into the plurality of bio-impedance sensors, and changing the wavelength of optical excitation; and
measuring a pulse wave velocity as a phase shift between two signals of the captured signals of the plurality of bio-impedance sensors.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Pantelopoulos teaches wherein the plurality of parameters are selected from the heart beat's diastolic phase which represents a peak of the signal, the heart beat's systolic phase which represents a foot of the signal, a point of change in the peak of the signal, a point of change in the foot of the signal, a point in the slope between the peak of the signal and the foot of the signal, and a inflection point resulting from a pressure pulse ([0093], “For example, in the case of using ECG and PPG, in order to accurately measure the arrival of a pulse, one or more data processing techniques are applied for detecting various features of the pulse wave such as the foot, peak, maximum, 1.sup.st derivative, or 2nd derivative.” Including peak and foot and derivatives indicating points of change and slope. See also [0086], “Other morphological features of PPG, PCG, BCG or ultrasound graph may be used in some implementations for estimating PTT. For instance, as illustrated here for PPG data, the second peak, the inflection points, the left foot, ⅓, ½, or ⅔ from the left foot to the left peak, features of first and second derivative, and combinations thereof may be used in the proximal wave and distal wave to estimate PTT.”);
generating an average of a selection of the plurality of parameters for a selection of heart beats ([0093], “In some implementations, multiple heart beats can be averaged to generate a smooth template which can then be cross-correlated with the PPG signal to reliably measure multiple PTT intervals. These intervals can then be combined together using a computation that is robust to outliers such a median.” See also [0094])); and
wherein the adjusting at least one parameter of the bio-impedance sensor comprises one or more of changing a frequency of excitation current, performing a frequency sweep, changing a current level injected into the plurality of bio-impedance sensors, and changing the wavelength of optical excitation (FIG. 18A-18F and para. [0228], “The intensity of the light source may be modified (e.g., through a light source intensity control module) to maintain a desirable reflected signal intensity. For example, the light source intensity may be reduced to avoid saturation of the output signal from the light detector. As another example, the light source intensity may be increased to maintain the output signal from the light detector within a desired range of output values. Notably, active control of the system may be achieved through linear or nonlinear control methods such as proportional-integral-derivative (PID) control, fixed step control, predictive control, neural networks, hysteresis, and the like, and may also employ information derived from other sensors in the device such as motion, galvanic skin response, etc.”); and
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method as taught by Luna to include wherein the plurality of parameters are selected from the heart beat's diastolic phase which represents a peak of the signal, the heart beat's systolic phase which represents a foot of the signal, a point of change in the peak of the signal, a point of change in the foot of the signal, a point in the slope between the peak of the signal and the foot of the signal, and a inflection point resulting from a pressure pulse; generating an average of a selection of the plurality of parameters for a selection of heart beats; wherein the adjusting at least one parameter of the bio-impedance sensor comprises one or more of changing a frequency of excitation current, performing a frequency sweep, changing a current level injected into the plurality of bio-impedance sensors, and changing the wavelength of optical excitation as taught by Pantelopoulos in order to maintain desired values (Para. [0228], “The intensity of the light source may be modified (e.g., through a light source intensity control module) to maintain a desirable reflected signal intensity. For example, the light source intensity may be reduced to avoid saturation of the output signal from the light detector. As another example, the light source intensity may be increased to maintain the output signal from the light detector within a desired range of output values. Notably, active control of the system may be achieved through linear or nonlinear control methods such as proportional-integral-derivative (PID) control, fixed step control, predictive control, neural networks, hysteresis, and the like, and may also employ information derived from other sensors in the device such as motion, galvanic skin response, etc.”).
Luna as modified fails to disclose measuring a pulse wave velocity as a phase shift between two signals of the captured signals of the plurality of bio-impedance sensors.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Ferber teaches measuring a pulse wave velocity as a phase shift between two signals of the captured signals of the plurality of bio-impedance sensors (Para. [0249], “In some embodiments, if two LEDs at the same wavelength are positioned at different locations of the same artery, a phase shift may be obtained between the measured PPG signals, e.g., due to blood flow. This may facilitate calculation of pulse wave velocity (PWV) and/or pulse transit time (PTT), both of which may be included in a feature vector, and/or otherwise provided to the empirical blood pressure model used to calculate arterial blood pressure values.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method as taught by Luna as modified to include measuring a pulse wave velocity as a phase shift between two signals of the captured signals of the plurality of bio-impedance sensors as taught by Ferber in order to provide higher quality data (Para. [0240], “The wave selection rules 1438 define attributes and/or functions for selecting (or, "extracting") high quality waves from a set of waves of a signal. The high quality waves may form a subset of waves.”).
Regarding claim 19, Luna as modified teaches The method of claim 18, Luna further discloses wherein the determining comprises evaluating at least one of signal strength and a location of a sensor of the plurality of bio-impedance sensors (Para. [0018], “Sensor selector 122 is configured to determine which one or more subsets of electrodes 110 (out of a number of subsets of electrodes 110) are adjacent to a target location. As used herein, the term "target location" can, for example, refer to a region in space from which a physiological characteristic can be determined. A target region can be adjacent to a source of the physiological characteristic, such as blood vessel 102, with which an impedance signal can be captured and analyzed to identify one or more physiological characteristics.”).
Regarding claim 20, Luna as modified teaches The method of claim 19, Luna as modified fails to disclose wherein the determining further comprises measuring peak- to-peak amplitude of bio-impedance.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Ferber teaches wherein the determining further comprises measuring peak- to-peak amplitude of bio-impedance (Para. [0016], “In some embodiments, the measurement values include any of wave peak locations or amplitudes, or wave valley locations or amplitudes.” See also para. [0094], “The output signal of the energy receiver 206 may be an electric current or an electric voltage, of which the amplitude may be related to the amount of the energy detected.” Thus peak-to-peak analysis can be performed on bio-impedance measurements.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method as taught by Luna as modified to include wherein the determining further comprises measuring peak- to-peak amplitude of bio-impedance as taught by Ferber in order to provide higher quality data (Para. [0240], “The wave selection rules 1438 define attributes and/or functions for selecting (or, "extracting") high quality waves from a set of waves of a signal. The high quality waves may form a subset of waves.”).
Regarding claim 24, Luna as modified teaches The method of claim 18, Luna further discloses further comprising deactivating the bio-impedance sensors of the plurality of bio-impedance sensors that are not in the selected subset of bio- impedance sensors (Para. [0018], “Sensor selector 122 is configured to determine which one or more subsets of electrodes 110 (out of a number of subsets of electrodes 110) are adjacent to a target location” and “Sensor selector 122 operates to either drive a first signal via a selected subset to a target location, or receive a second signal from the target location, or both.” So once the region is discovered, only the electrodes at that region are activated and the others are deactivated.).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed February 21, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. With respect to the arguments regarding claim 18, the arguments are not persuasive. The arguments state that claim 18 has been amended to recite, ‘"measuring bio-impedance between the plurality of bio-impedance sensors".
However, the primary reference Luna, and as cited in the Non-Final Rejection dated August 18, 2025, to meet the first limitations of claim 18 including the plurality of bio-impedance sensors, Luna discloses, receiving a plurality of pulse observations from a plurality of bio-impedance sensors disposed on the wearable blood-pressure monitoring device, the blood-pressure monitoring device configured to be arranged on a bodily region of a wearer (FIG. 2 and Para. [0022], “According to various embodiments, a heart rate signal can include (or can be based on) a pulse wave.” And para. [0018], “As used herein, the term "sensor" can refer, for example, to a combination of one or more driver electrodes and one or more sink electrodes for determining one or more bioimpedance-related values and/or signals, according to some embodiments.” FIG. 1A and [0017], “Diagram 100 depicts an array 100 of electrodes 110 coupled to a physiological information generator 120 that is configured to generate data representing one or more physiological characteristics associated with a user that is wearing or carrying array 101.”),
wherein the plurality of bio-impedance sensors is connected to a controller via a wired or wireless connection (FIG. 1A and [0017], “Diagram 100 depicts an array 100 of electrodes 110 coupled to a physiological information generator 120 that is configured to generate data representing one or more physiological characteristics associated with a user that is wearing or carrying array 101.” Each sensor pair is coupled to the controller, generator 120. See further, “Electrodes 110 can include any suitable structure for transferring signals and picking up signals, regardless of whether the signals are electrical, magnetic, optical, pressure-based, physical, acoustic, etc., according to various embodiments. According to some embodiments, electrodes 110 of array 101 are configured to couple capacitively to a target location. In some embodiments, array 101 and physiological information generator 120 are disposed in a wearable device, such as a wearable data-capable band 170, which may include a housing that encapsulates, or substantially encapsulates, array 101 of electrodes 110. In operations, physiological information generator 120 can determine the bioelectric impedance ("bioimpedance") of one or more types of tissues of a wearer to identify, measure, and monitor physiological characteristics.” And para. [0018], “As used herein, the term "sensor" can refer, for example, to a combination of one or more driver electrodes and one or more sink electrodes for determining one or more bioimpedance-related values and/or signals, according to some embodiments.”);
capturing signals from different combinations of sensors of the plurality of bio-impedance sensors placed along the radial and ulnar arteries of the wearer (Para. [0019], “In some embodiments, sensor selector 122 can be configured to determine (periodically or aperiodically) whether the subset of electrodes 110a and 110b are optimal electrodes 110 for acquiring a sufficient representation of the one or more physiological characteristics from the second signal.” See also para. [0018], “In various examples, the target location can be adjacent to or can include blood vessel 102. Examples of blood vessel 102 include a radial artery, an ulnar artery, or any other blood vessel. Array 101 is not limited to being disposed adjacent blood vessel 102 in an arm, but can be disposed on any portion of a user's person (e.g., on an ankle, ear lobe, around a finger or on a fingertip, etc.).” sensors are arranged along the radial and ulnar arteries. Every sensor that occupies at least a portion of an artery is arranged along the artery as the sensor is more than one dimensional);
As cited in the previous rejections, Luna is measuring bio-impedance between the plurality of bio-impedance sensors. Additional citations have been provided to meet the newly amended claims. The electrodes are the bioimpedance sensors, the measuring of the bio-impedance occurs between the plurality of bio-impedance sensors, or combinations of electrodes acting as a bio-impedance sensor. See entirety of [0017 – 0020] discussing the impedance measurements and different subsets of electrodes, or bio-impedance sensors. No arguments have been provided in the remarks and it is unclear what Applicant is necessarily arguing, with no presentation of arguments for the previous limitation including the bio-impedance measurement between the bio-impedance sensors. Thus the arguments are not persuasive.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/J.A.T./Examiner, Art Unit 3791
/TSE W CHEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3791