DETAILED ACTION
Claims 9-16 and 30-49 are under consideration with claims 9, 12, 15 and 16 having been amended.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d). The certified copy has been received.
Response to Arguments
A) Applicant's arguments with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 9, 12, 15 and 16 under 103 that Roscoe et al in view of Mullins does not disclose “wherein the first communication device includes a first decryption device, the second communication device includes a second decryption device, and the decryption step of decrypting comprises the second decryption device decrypting the second first encryption target data and the first decryption device decrypting the first encryption target data” have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding A) Mullins teaches “wherein the first communication device includes a first decryption device, the second communication device includes a second decryption device, and the decryption step of decrypting comprises the second decryption device decrypting the second first encryption target data (see Roscoe figure 3 steps S440 and S442, paragraph 0082-0083 i.e. The process then moves to step S440, where the first node 200 removes the encryption that it previously applied. At step S440, the blinding function b.sub.A is removed… The process then moves to step S422, where the second node 300 removes the encryption that it previously applied) and the first decryption device decrypting the first encryption target (see Roscoe figure 5 step S612 and paragraph 0128 i.e. The process moves to step S614, where the first node 200 determines the valuable data V.sub.B. When the first node 200 has received the unblinded messages from the second node 300, it is able to remove the encryption that the first node 200 originally applied to the function, thereby to have MB.sub.j for the messages received. It is now possible for the first node 200 to use the information that it has to determine the valuable data V.sub.A. Which of the clear text messages contains the valuable data may be self-evident, or the index c.sub.B sent at either step S506 or S612. can be used to locate the correct message).
B) Applicant's arguments with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 9, 12, 15 and 16 under 103 that Roscoe et al in view of Mullins does not disclose “the second first encryption target data including cooperation data, the cooperation data including a first identifier indicative of the first communication device, a second identifier indicative of the second communication device and an indication of an order by which the first communication device and the second communication device performed encrypting through the first encryption unit and the second encryption unit” have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding B) Mullins teaches “the second first encryption target data including cooperation data, the cooperation data including a first identifier indicative of the first communication device, a second identifier indicative of the second communication device and an indication of an order by which the first communication device and the second communication device performed encrypting through the first encryption unit and the second encryption unit” in paragraphs 0021-0023 i.e. The additional information may comprise identifying information relating to the first cryptographic key, including, but not limited to, a key fingerprint, a hash of the key or related information (e.g., MD5, SHA-1, etc.), or an identifier (e.g., a globally unique identifier (GUID), a uniform resource identifier (URI), etc.). The identifying information may be used when successively decrypting the successively encrypted resource, thereby permitting a specific key to be selected from the plurality of cryptographic keys when decrypting specific layers of the encrypted resource. In other examples, the cryptographic keys may be sorted according to a predetermined order (e.g., alphabetical order, chronological order, etc.) and used in that order when performing the successive encryption operation. The order may then be reversed when selecting keys during the successive decryption operation. In another example, information relating to one or more of the plurality of cryptographic keys may be stored in a file (e.g. a manifest or log), as metadata, or as a property within the final successively encrypted resource. One of skill in the art will appreciate that other mechanisms for storing and determining cryptographic key order may be used without departing from the spirit of this disclosure. [0023] A second cryptographic key may be used to encrypt the first encrypted resource, thereby generating a second encrypted resource having a first and second layer of encryption (wherein the second layer is the outermost layer). The second cryptographic key may be associated with a second user. The second cryptographic key may be a symmetric key or may be a public key comprising an asymmetric key pair. As discussed above with respect to the first encrypted resource, the second encrypted resource may also comprise additional information, such as metadata or properties, among others. The additional information may comprise identifying information relating to the second cryptographic key.
Mullin is only being used to modify Roscoe with Mullin adding information relating to one or more of the plurality of cryptographic keys stored in a file (e.g. a manifest or log), as metadata, or as a property within the final successively encrypted resource thereby permitting a specific key to be selected from the plurality of cryptographic keys when decrypting specific layers of the encrypted resource.
C) In response to applicant’s argument that there is no teaching, suggestion, or motivation to combine the references, the examiner recognizes that obviousness may be established by combining or modifying the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed invention where there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so found either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071, 5 USPQ2d 1596 (Fed. Cir. 1988), In re Jones, 958 F.2d 347, 21 USPQ2d 1941 (Fed. Cir. 1992), and KSR International Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007). In this case, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Roscoe in view of Mullins to have include a encryption manifest or log as metadata within the final successively encrypted resource thereby permitting a specific key to be selected from the plurality of cryptographic keys when decrypting specific layers of the encrypted resource (see Mullins paragraph 0021-0022). Therefore one would have been motivated to have included a manifest with the second first encryption target data as a way to select the correct decryption for each specific layer of the encryption.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 9-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Roscoe et al (US 2020/0036691) in view of Mullins (US 2018/0219674).
With respect to claim 9 Roscoe teaches a method executed by a first communication device in a communication system comprising the first communication device including a first encryption unit capable of encrypting predetermined data in a decryptable manner, and a second communication device including a second encryption unit capable of encrypting predetermined data in a decryptable manner according to a method that is different from a method of the first encryption unit, the first communication device and the second communication device being communicable with each other via a predetermined network, the method comprising:
a first encryption step of encrypting, through the first encryption unit, among target data that is data shared between the first communication device and the second communication device and to be saved by the first communication device and the second communication device (see Roscoe figure 3 steps S416 and paragraph 0062 i.e. The process then moves to step S416. At step S416, the first node 200 encrypts the .sub.MAi terms using a blinding function to provide B(b.sub.A, MA.sub.i). All of the terms MA.sub.i are preferably encrypted with the same blinding function b.sub.A, so that the blinding function b.sub.A can subsequently be stripped from double-blinded messages),
the target data held by the first communication device and the second communication device in advance of the first encryption step, and generating first encryption target data (see Roscoe figure 3 steps S408 and S414 and paragraph 0052-0053 i.e. The process moves to step S404, where the first node 200 generates a number n of messages MA.sub.i, where n is greater than 1 and typically much greater. One message of the plurality of messages MA.sub.i contains valuable data V.sub.A, and in the case where the valuable data V.sub.A is a confirmation value in a PAKE protocol, for example, allow the second node 300 to determine whether V.sub.A=V.sub.B (i.e. the confirmation values of the first node 200 and the second node 300 match). The valuable data V.sub.A may be an end point and desired data in itself or may, given the second node 300's knowledge up to that point (and without the other messages MA.sub.i), allow the second node 300 to determine actual desired valuable data such as by use of a cryptographic key);
a first transmission step of transmitting the first encryption target data to the second communication device via the network (see Roscoe figure 3 steps S420 and paragraph 0068 i.e. The process then moves to step S420, where the first node 200 sends the blinded plurality of messages B(b.sub.A, MA=) to the second node 300);
a second reception step of sharing, by receiving second first encryption target data from the second communication device via the network, the second first encryption target data between the first communication device and the second communication device in a state where the second first encryption target data can be decrypted by cooperation of the first communication device and the second communication device, the second first encryption target data being generated by the second communication device encrypting, through the second encryption unit, the first encryption target data received from the first communication device via the network (see Roscoe figure 3 steps S438 and paragraph 0079 i.e. At step S438, the first node 200 receives the shuffled double blinded messages B(b′.sub.B, B(b.sub.A, M.sub.BπB(i))) from the second node 300); and
a decryption step of decrypting, when needed by any of users of the first communication device and the second communication device, by cooperation of the first communication device and the second communication device the second first encryption target data held by any of the first communication device and the second communication device (see Roscoe figure 3 steps S442 and paragraph 0083 i.e. The process then moves to step S422, where the second node 300 removes the encryption that it previously applied. This is enabled by the commutative property of the blinding function. The second node 300 therefore holds B(b′.sub.A, MB.sub.πA(i)). These messages, because they are blinded, reveal nothing about V.sub.A or V.sub.B, and because the index of the crucial member of this list is kept secret, the recipient does not know which, if unblinded, would reveal these values. Preferably, the first blinding function b.sub.A applied by the first node 200 is different from the second blinding function b′.sub.A applied by the first node 200),
wherein the first communication device includes a first decryption device, the second communication device includes a second decryption device, and the decryption step of decrypting comprises the second decryption device decrypting the second first encryption target data (see Roscoe figure 3 steps S440 and S442, paragraph 0082-0083 i.e. The process then moves to step S440, where the first node 200 removes the encryption that it previously applied. At step S440, the blinding function b.sub.A is removed… The process then moves to step S422, where the second node 300 removes the encryption that it previously applied) and the first decryption device decrypting the first encryption target (see Roscoe figure 5 step S612 and paragraph 0128 i.e. The process moves to step S614, where the first node 200 determines the valuable data V.sub.B. When the first node 200 has received the unblinded messages from the second node 300, it is able to remove the encryption that the first node 200 originally applied to the function, thereby to have MB.sub.j for the messages received. It is now possible for the first node 200 to use the information that it has to determine the valuable data V.sub.A. Which of the clear text messages contains the valuable data may be self-evident, or the index c.sub.B sent at either step S506 or S612. can be used to locate the correct message).
Roscoe does not disclose the second first encryption target data including cooperation data, the cooperation data including a first identifier indicative of the first communication device, a second identifier indicative of the second communication device and an indication of an order by which the first communication device and the second communication device performed encrypting through the first encryption unit and the second encryption unit, respectively.
Mullins teaches the second first encryption target data including cooperation data, the cooperation data including a first identifier indicative of the first communication device, a second identifier indicative of the second communication device and an indication of an order by which the first communication device and the second communication device performed encrypting through the first encryption unit and the second encryption unit, respectively (see Mullins paragraph 0021-0022 i.e. In some examples, additional information may be stored in the first encrypted resource, such as metadata or properties, among others. The additional information may comprise identifying information relating to the first cryptographic key, including, but not limited to, a key fingerprint, a hash of the key or related information (e.g., MD5, SHA-1, etc.), or an identifier (e.g., a globally unique identifier (GUID), a uniform resource identifier (URI), etc.). The identifying information may be used when successively decrypting the successively encrypted resource, thereby permitting a specific key to be selected from the plurality of cryptographic keys when decrypting specific layers of the encrypted resource. In other examples, the cryptographic keys may be sorted according to a predetermined order (e.g., alphabetical order, chronological order, etc.) and used in that order when performing the successive encryption operation. The order may then be reversed when selecting keys during the successive decryption operation. In another example, information relating to one or more of the plurality of cryptographic keys may be stored in a file (e.g. a manifest or log), as metadata, or as a property within the final successively encrypted resource and paragraph 0018 i.e. The successively encrypted resource may later be successively decrypted using a plurality of cryptographic keys provided by the plurality of users).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Roscoe in view of Mullins to have include a encryption manifest or log as metadata within the final successively encrypted resource thereby permitting a specific key to be selected from the plurality of cryptographic keys when decrypting specific layers of the encrypted resource (see Mullins paragraph 0021-0022). Therefore one would have been motivated to have included a manifest with the second first encryption target data as a way to select the correct decryption for each specific layer of the encryption.
With respect to claim 10 Roscoe and Mullins teaches the method according to claim 9. Roscoe further teaches wherein the first communication device automatically executes the first encryption step, the first transmission step, and the second reception step (see Roscoe figure 3 and paragraph 0050).
With respect to claim 11 Roscoe and Mullins teaches the method according to claim 9. Roscoe further teaches further comprising a step of causing the first communication device to transmit the second first encryption target data to a recording device that is connected to the network and is capable of recording data, and causing the recording device to record the second first encryption target data; and in the decryption step, when needed by any of users of the first communication device and the second communication device, by cooperation of the first communication device and the second communication device the second first encryption target data recorded in any of the first communication device, the second communication device and the recording device (see Roscoe paragraph 0082 i.e. The process then moves to step S440, where the first node 200 removes the encryption that it previously applied. At step S440, the blinding function b.sub.A is removed. This is enabled by the commutative property of the blinding function. The first node 200 therefore holds B(b′.sub.B, MA.sub.πB(i)).
With respect to claim 12 Roscoe teaches a method executed by a second communication device in a communication system comprising a first communication device including a first encryption unit capable of encrypting predetermined data in a decryptable manner, and the second communication device including a second encryption unit capable of encrypting predetermined data in a decryptable manner according to a method that is different from a method of the first encryption unit, the first communication device and the second communication device being communicable with each other via a predetermined network, the method comprising:
a first reception step of receiving first encryption target data from the first communication device via the network, the first encryption target data being generated by the first communication device encrypting, through the first encryption unit (see Roscoe figure 3 steps S424 and paragraph 0069 i.e. The process continues when the second node 300 receives the plurality of blinded messages B(b.sub.A, MA.sub.i) at step S424),
among target data that is data shared between the first communication device and the second communication device and to be saved by the first communication device and the second communication device, the target data held by the first communication device and the second communication device in advance of the encrypting through the first encryption unit (see Roscoe figure 3 steps S408 and S414 and paragraph 0052-0053 i.e. The process moves to step S404, where the first node 200 generates a number n of messages MA.sub.i, where n is greater than 1 and typically much greater. One message of the plurality of messages MA.sub.i contains valuable data V.sub.A, and in the case where the valuable data V.sub.A is a confirmation value in a PAKE protocol, for example, allow the second node 300 to determine whether V.sub.A=V.sub.B (i.e. the confirmation values of the first node 200 and the second node 300 match). The valuable data V.sub.A may be an end point and desired data in itself or may, given the second node 300's knowledge up to that point (and without the other messages MA.sub.i), allow the second node 300 to determine actual desired valuable data such as by use of a cryptographic key);
a second encryption step of encrypting the first encryption target data through the second encryption unit, and generating second first encryption target data (see Roscoe figure 3 steps S430 and paragraph 0074 i.e. In response to receiving the blinded plurality of messages B(b.sub.A, MA.sub.i), at step S430, the second node 300 encrypts the messages by applying a further blinding function b′.sub.B to provide B(b′.sub.B, B(b.sub.A, MA.sub.i));
a second transmission step of sharing, by transmitting the second first encryption target data to the first communication device via the network, the second first encryption target data between the first communication device and the second communication device in a state where the second first encryption target data can be decrypted by cooperation of the first communication device and the second communication device (see Roscoe figure 3 steps S434 and paragraph 0077 i.e. The process then moves to step S434, where the second node 300 sends the shuffled double blinded messages B(b′.sub.B, B(b.sub.A, M.sub.BπB(i))) to the first node 200); and
a decryption step of decrypting, when needed by any of users of the first communication device and the second communication device, by cooperation of the first communication device and the second communication device the second first encryption target data held by any of the first communication device and the second communication device (see Roscoe figure 3 steps S442 and paragraph 0083 i.e. The process then moves to step S422, where the second node 300 removes the encryption that it previously applied. This is enabled by the commutative property of the blinding function. The second node 300 therefore holds B(b′.sub.A, MB.sub.πA(i)). These messages, because they are blinded, reveal nothing about V.sub.A or V.sub.B, and because the index of the crucial member of this list is kept secret, the recipient does not know which, if unblinded, would reveal these values. Preferably, the first blinding function b.sub.A applied by the first node 200 is different from the second blinding function b′.sub.A applied by the first node 200),
wherein the first communication device includes a first decryption device, the second communication device includes a second decryption device, and the decryption step of decrypting comprises the second decryption device decrypting the second first encryption target data (see Roscoe figure 3 steps S440 and S442, paragraph 0082-0083 i.e. The process then moves to step S440, where the first node 200 removes the encryption that it previously applied. At step S440, the blinding function b.sub.A is removed… The process then moves to step S422, where the second node 300 removes the encryption that it previously applied) and the first decryption device decrypting the first encryption target (see Roscoe figure 5 step S612 and paragraph 0128 i.e. The process moves to step S614, where the first node 200 determines the valuable data V.sub.B. When the first node 200 has received the unblinded messages from the second node 300, it is able to remove the encryption that the first node 200 originally applied to the function, thereby to have MB.sub.j for the messages received. It is now possible for the first node 200 to use the information that it has to determine the valuable data V.sub.A. Which of the clear text messages contains the valuable data may be self-evident, or the index c.sub.B sent at either step S506 or S612. can be used to locate the correct message).
Roscoe does not disclose the second first encryption target data including cooperation data, the cooperation data including a first identifier indicative of the first communication device, a second identifier indicative of the second communication device and an indication of an order by which the first communication device and the second communication device performed encrypting through the first encryption unit and the second encryption unit, respectively.
Mullins teaches the second first encryption target data including cooperation data, the cooperation data including a first identifier indicative of the first communication device, a second identifier indicative of the second communication device and an indication of an order by which the first communication device and the second communication device performed encrypting through the first encryption unit and the second encryption unit, respectively (see Mullins paragraph 0021-0022 i.e. In some examples, additional information may be stored in the first encrypted resource, such as metadata or properties, among others. The additional information may comprise identifying information relating to the first cryptographic key, including, but not limited to, a key fingerprint, a hash of the key or related information (e.g., MD5, SHA-1, etc.), or an identifier (e.g., a globally unique identifier (GUID), a uniform resource identifier (URI), etc.). The identifying information may be used when successively decrypting the successively encrypted resource, thereby permitting a specific key to be selected from the plurality of cryptographic keys when decrypting specific layers of the encrypted resource. In other examples, the cryptographic keys may be sorted according to a predetermined order (e.g., alphabetical order, chronological order, etc.) and used in that order when performing the successive encryption operation. The order may then be reversed when selecting keys during the successive decryption operation. In another example, information relating to one or more of the plurality of cryptographic keys may be stored in a file (e.g. a manifest or log), as metadata, or as a property within the final successively encrypted resource and paragraph 0018).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Roscoe in view of Mullins to have include a encryption manifest or log as metadata within the final successively encrypted resource thereby permitting a specific key to be selected from the plurality of cryptographic keys when decrypting specific layers of the encrypted resource (see Mullins paragraph 0021-0022). Therefore one would have been motivated to have included a manifest with the second first encryption target data as a way to select the correct decryption for each specific layer of the encryption.
With respect to claim 13 Roscoe and Mullins teaches the method according to claim 12. Roscoe further teaches wherein the second communication device automatically executes the first reception step, the second encryption step, and the second transmission step (see Roscoe figure 3 and paragraph 0050).
With respect to claim 14 Roscoe and Mullins teaches the method according to claim 12. Roscoe further teaches further comprising a step of causing the second communication device to transmit the second first encryption target data to a recording device that is connected to the network and is capable of recording data, and causing the recording device to record the second first encryption target data (see Roscoe figure 3 step S436 and paragraph 0078 i.e. At step S436, the second node 300 receives the shuffled double blinded messages B(b′.sub.A, B(b.sub.B, M.sub.BπA(i))) from the first node 200); and
in the decryption step, when needed by any of users of the first communication device and the second communication device, by cooperation of the first communication device and the second communication device the second first encryption target data recorded in any of the first communication device, the second communication device and the recording device (see Roscoe figure 3 steps S442 and paragraph 0083 i.e. The process then moves to step S422, where the second node 300 removes the encryption that it previously applied. This is enabled by the commutative property of the blinding function. The second node 300 therefore holds B(b′.sub.A, MB.sub.πA(i)).
With respect to claim 15 Roscoe teaches a first communication device in a communication system that includes the first communication device, and a second communication device including a second encryption unit capable of encrypting predetermined data in a decryptable manner, the devices being communicable with each other via a predetermined network, the first communication device comprising:
a first encryption unit that encrypts target data by a method different from a method of the second encryption unit, and generates first encrypting target data, the target data being shared between the first communication device and the second communication device and to be saved by the first communication device and the second communication device (see Roscoe figure 3 steps S416 and paragraph 0062 i.e. The process then moves to step S416. At step S416, the first node 200 encrypts the .sub.MAi terms using a blinding function to provide B(b.sub.A, MA.sub.i). All of the terms MA.sub.i are preferably encrypted with the same blinding function b.sub.A, so that the blinding function b.sub.A can subsequently be stripped from double-blinded messages),
the target data held by the first communication device and the second communication device in advance of the first encryption step, and generating first encryption target data (see Roscoe figure 3 steps S408 and S414 and paragraph 0052-0053 i.e. The process moves to step S404, where the first node 200 generates a number n of messages MA.sub.i, where n is greater than 1 and typically much greater. One message of the plurality of messages MA.sub.i contains valuable data V.sub.A, and in the case where the valuable data V.sub.A is a confirmation value in a PAKE protocol, for example, allow the second node 300 to determine whether V.sub.A=V.sub.B (i.e. the confirmation values of the first node 200 and the second node 300 match). The valuable data V.sub.A may be an end point and desired data in itself or may, given the second node 300's knowledge up to that point (and without the other messages MA.sub.i), allow the second node 300 to determine actual desired valuable data such as by use of a cryptographic key);
a first transmission unit of transmitting the first encryption target data to the second communication device via the network (see Roscoe figure 3 steps S420 and paragraph 0068 i.e. The process then moves to step S420, where the first node 200 sends the blinded plurality of messages B(b.sub.A, MA=) to the second node 300);
a first reception unit for sharing, that receives second first encryption target data from the second communication device via the network, the second first encryption target data between the first communication device and the second communication device in a state where the second first encryption target data can be decrypted by cooperation of the first communication device and the second communication device, the second first encryption target data being generated by the second communication device encrypting, through the second encryption unit, the first encryption target data received from the first communication device via the network (see Roscoe figure 3 steps S438 and paragraph 0079 i.e. At step S438, the first node 200 receives the shuffled double blinded messages B(b′.sub.B, B(b.sub.A, M.sub.BπB(i))) from the second node 300); and
a first decryption that decrypts, when needed by any of users of the first communication device and the second communication device, by cooperation of the first communication device and the second communication device the second first encryption target data held by any of the first communication device and the second communication device (see Roscoe figure 3 steps S442 and paragraph 0083 i.e. The process then moves to step S422, where the second node 300 removes the encryption that it previously applied. This is enabled by the commutative property of the blinding function. The second node 300 therefore holds B(b′.sub.A, MB.sub.πA(i)). These messages, because they are blinded, reveal nothing about V.sub.A or V.sub.B, and because the index of the crucial member of this list is kept secret, the recipient does not know which, if unblinded, would reveal these values. Preferably, the first blinding function b.sub.A applied by the first node 200 is different from the second blinding function b′.sub.A applied by the first node 200),
wherein the first communication device includes a first decryption device, the second communication device includes a second decryption device, and the decryption step of decrypting comprises the second decryption device decrypting the second first encryption target data (see Roscoe figure 3 steps S440 and S442, paragraph 0082-0083 i.e. The process then moves to step S440, where the first node 200 removes the encryption that it previously applied. At step S440, the blinding function b.sub.A is removed… The process then moves to step S422, where the second node 300 removes the encryption that it previously applied) and the first decryption device decrypting the first encryption target (see Roscoe figure 5 step S612 and paragraph 0128 i.e. The process moves to step S614, where the first node 200 determines the valuable data V.sub.B. When the first node 200 has received the unblinded messages from the second node 300, it is able to remove the encryption that the first node 200 originally applied to the function, thereby to have MB.sub.j for the messages received. It is now possible for the first node 200 to use the information that it has to determine the valuable data V.sub.A. Which of the clear text messages contains the valuable data may be self-evident, or the index c.sub.B sent at either step S506 or S612. can be used to locate the correct message).
Roscoe does not disclose the second first encryption target data including cooperation data, the cooperation data including a first identifier indicative of the first communication device, a second identifier indicative of the second communication device and an indication of an order by which the first communication device and the second communication device performed encrypting through the first encryption unit and the second encryption unit, respectively.
Mullins teaches the second first encryption target data including cooperation data, the cooperation data including a first identifier indicative of the first communication device, a second identifier indicative of the second communication device and an indication of an order by which the first communication device and the second communication device performed encrypting through the first encryption unit and the second encryption unit, respectively (see Mullins paragraph 0021-0022 i.e. In some examples, additional information may be stored in the first encrypted resource, such as metadata or properties, among others. The additional information may comprise identifying information relating to the first cryptographic key, including, but not limited to, a key fingerprint, a hash of the key or related information (e.g., MD5, SHA-1, etc.), or an identifier (e.g., a globally unique identifier (GUID), a uniform resource identifier (URI), etc.). The identifying information may be used when successively decrypting the successively encrypted resource, thereby permitting a specific key to be selected from the plurality of cryptographic keys when decrypting specific layers of the encrypted resource. In other examples, the cryptographic keys may be sorted according to a predetermined order (e.g., alphabetical order, chronological order, etc.) and used in that order when performing the successive encryption operation. The order may then be reversed when selecting keys during the successive decryption operation. In another example, information relating to one or more of the plurality of cryptographic keys may be stored in a file (e.g. a manifest or log), as metadata, or as a property within the final successively encrypted resource and paragraph 0018).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Roscoe in view of Mullins to have include a encryption manifest or log as metadata within the final successively encrypted resource thereby permitting a specific key to be selected from the plurality of cryptographic keys when decrypting specific layers of the encrypted resource (see Mullins paragraph 0021-0022). Therefore one would have been motivated to have included a manifest with the second first encryption target data as a way to select the correct decryption for each specific layer of the encryption.
With respect to claim 16 Roscoe teaches a second communication device in a communication system that includes a first communication device including a first encryption unit capable of encrypting predetermined data in a decryptable manner, and a second communication device, the devices being communicable with each other via a predetermined network, the second communication device comprising:
a second reception unit that receives first encryption target data from the first communication device via the network, the first encryption target data being generated by the first communication device encrypting, through the first encryption unit, among target data that is data shared between the first communication device and the second communication device and both of users of by the first communication device and the second communication device (see Roscoe figure 3 steps S424 and paragraph 0069 i.e. The process continues when the second node 300 receives the plurality of blinded messages B(b.sub.A, MA.sub.i) at step S424),
the target data held by the first communication device and the second communication device in advance of the encrypting through the first encryption unit (see Roscoe figure 3 steps S408 and S414 and paragraph 0052-0053 i.e. The process moves to step S404, where the first node 200 generates a number n of messages MA.sub.i, where n is greater than 1 and typically much greater. One message of the plurality of messages MA.sub.i contains valuable data V.sub.A, and in the case where the valuable data V.sub.A is a confirmation value in a PAKE protocol, for example, allow the second node 300 to determine whether V.sub.A=V.sub.B (i.e. the confirmation values of the first node 200 and the second node 300 match). The valuable data V.sub.A may be an end point and desired data in itself or may, given the second node 300's knowledge up to that point (and without the other messages MA.sub.i), allow the second node 300 to determine actual desired valuable data such as by use of a cryptographic key);
a second encryption unit that encrypts the first encryption target data by a method different from a method of the first encryption unit, and generates second first encryption target data (see Roscoe figure 3 steps S430 and paragraph 0074 i.e. In response to receiving the blinded plurality of messages B(b.sub.A, MA.sub.i), at step S430, the second node 300 encrypts the messages by applying a further blinding function b′.sub.B to provide B(b′.sub.B, B(b.sub.A, MA.sub.i));
a second transmission unit for sharing, that transmits the second first encryption target data to the first communication device via the network, the second first encryption target data between the first communication device and the second communication device in a state where the second first encryption target data can be decrypted by cooperation of the first communication device and the second communication device (see Roscoe figure 3 steps S434 and paragraph 0077 i.e.The process then moves to step S434, where the second node 300 sends the shuffled double blinded messages B(b′.sub.B, B(b.sub.A, M.sub.BπB(i))) to the first node 200);; and
a second decryption unit that decrypts, when needed by any of users of the first communication device and the second communication device, by cooperation of the first communication device and the second communication device the second first encryption target data held by any of the first communication device and the second communication device (see Roscoe figure 3 steps S442 and paragraph 0083 i.e. The process then moves to step S422, where the second node 300 removes the encryption that it previously applied. This is enabled by the commutative property of the blinding function. The second node 300 therefore holds B(b′.sub.A, MB.sub.πA(i))
wherein the second communication device includes a second decryption unit, and the first decryption unit decrypts the first encryption target data after the second decryption unit decrypts the second first encryption target data to obtain the first encryption target data (see Roscoe figure 3 steps S440 and S442, paragraph 0082-0083 i.e. The process then moves to step S440, where the first node 200 removes the encryption that it previously applied. At step S440, the blinding function b.sub.A is removed… The process then moves to step S422, where the second node 300 removes the encryption that it previously applied).
Roscoe does not disclose the second first encryption target data including cooperation data, the cooperation data including a first identifier indicative of the first communication device, a second identifier indicative of the second communication device and an indication of an order by which the first communication device and the second communication device performed encrypting through the first encryption unit and the second encryption unit, respectively.
Mullins teaches the second first encryption target data including cooperation data, the cooperation data including a first identifier indicative of the first communication device, a second identifier indicative of the second communication device and an indication of an order by which the first communication device and the second communication device performed encrypting through the first encryption unit and the second encryption unit, respectively (see Mullins paragraph 0021-0022 i.e. In some examples, additional information may be stored in the first encrypted resource, such as metadata or properties, among others. The additional information may comprise identifying information relating to the first cryptographic key, including, but not limited to, a key fingerprint, a hash of the key or related information (e.g., MD5, SHA-1, etc.), or an identifier (e.g., a globally unique identifier (GUID), a uniform resource identifier (URI), etc.). The identifying information may be used when successively decrypting the successively encrypted resource, thereby permitting a specific key to be selected from the plurality of cryptographic keys when decrypting specific layers of the encrypted resource. In other examples, the cryptographic keys may be sorted according to a predetermined order (e.g., alphabetical order, chronological order, etc.) and used in that order when performing the successive encryption operation. The order may then be reversed when selecting keys during the successive decryption operation. In another example, information relating to one or more of the plurality of cryptographic keys may be stored in a file (e.g. a manifest or log), as metadata, or as a property within the final successively encrypted resource and paragraph 0018).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Roscoe in view of Mullins to have include a encryption manifest or log as metadata within the final successively encrypted resource thereby permitting a specific key to be selected from the plurality of cryptographic keys when decrypting specific layers of the encrypted resource (see Mullins paragraph 0021-0022). Therefore one would have been motivated to have included a manifest with the second first encryption target data as a way to select the correct decryption for each specific layer of the encryption.
Claim 30-32, 34-38, 40 and 41 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Roscoe et al (US 2020/0036691) in view of Mullins (US 2018/0219674) in view of Swaminathan (US 2013/0129079).
With respect to claim 30 Roscoe and Mullins teach the method according to claim 11, but do not disclose wherein the second first encryption target data is a block that is an aggregation of data items, and is configured to be recorded in the recording device in a state of being included in what is connected to an immediately previous block thereof, the blocks each including an operation value that is a value obtained by applying a predetermined arithmetic operation to the immediately previous block, and the first communication device generates the block including the second first encryption target data to be transmitted, and transmits the block to the recording device.
Swaminathan teaches wherein the second first encryption target data is a block that is an aggregation of data items, and is configured to be recorded in the recording device in a state of being included in what is connected to an immediately previous block thereof, the blocks each including an operation value that is a value obtained by applying a predetermined arithmetic operation to the immediately previous block, and the first communication device generates the block including the second first encryption target data to be transmitted, and transmits the block to the recording device (see Swaminathan figure 3 and paragraph 0038 i.e. FIG. 3 illustrates one example of chained encryption. As illustrated, files 204 may be parsed into a series of blocks. In various embodiments, these blocks may have a fixed width (e.g., 128 bits) dependent upon the type of encryption performed. In some embodiments, the encryption utilized may be Advanced Encryption Standard 128 bit Cipher-block chaining mode (AES-128 bit CBC mode) encryption. In other cases, other types of chained encryption may be utilized. In the illustrated embodiment, encryption may be generally performed in a sequential manner from the left to right of the Figure beginning with the first block B.sub.0 and first initialization vector IV.sub.0. In various embodiments, the first initialization vector IV.sub.0 may be randomly or pseudo-randomly generated. However, as described in more detail below, initialization vectors for subsequent blocks may be generated such that the encryption of each subsequent block is dependent upon the previously encrypted block).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Roscoe in view of Swaminathan to have used a chained encryption in which the initialization vectors for subsequent blocks may be generated such that the encryption of each subsequent block is dependent upon the previously encrypted block as a way to encrypt the data so that an encrypted block is tied to the previously encrypted block (Swaminathan paragraph 0038). Therefore one would have been motivated to have used chain encryption.
With respect to claim 31 Roscoe and Mullins teach a method executed by the recording device subsequent to the method according to claim 11, but do not disclose wherein the second first encryption target data is a recorded in the recording device in a state of being included in a block that is an aggregation of data items and is connected to an immediately previous block thereof, the blocks each including an operation value that is a value obtained by applying a predetermined arithmetic operation to the immediately previous block, and the recording device generates the block, based on the second first encryption target data received from the first communication device, and connects the block to the immediately previous block.
Swaminathan teaches wherein the second first encryption target data is a recorded in the recording device in a state of being included in a block that is an aggregation of data items and is connected to an immediately previous block thereof, the blocks each including an operation value that is a value obtained by applying a predetermined arithmetic operation to the immediately previous block, and the recording device generates the block, based on the second first encryption target data received from the first communication device, and connects the block to the immediately previous block (see Swaminathan figure 3 and paragraph 0038 i.e. FIG. 3 illustrates one example of chained encryption. As illustrated, files 204 may be parsed into a series of blocks. In various embodiments, these blocks may have a fixed width (e.g., 128 bits) dependent upon the type of encryption performed. In some embodiments, the encryption utilized may be Advanced Encryption Standard 128 bit Cipher-block chaining mode (AES-128 bit CBC mode) encryption. In other cases, other types of chained encryption may be utilized. In the illustrated embodiment, encryption may be generally performed in a sequential manner from the left to right of the Figure beginning with the first block B.sub.0 and first initialization vector IV.sub.0. In various embodiments, the first initialization vector IV.sub.0 may be randomly or pseudo-randomly generated. However, as described in more detail below, initialization vectors for subsequent blocks may be generated such that the encryption of each subsequent block is dependent upon the previously encrypted block).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Roscoe in view of Swaminathan to have used a chained encryption in which the initialization vectors for subsequent blocks may be generated such that the encryption of each subsequent block is dependent upon the previously encrypted block as a way to encrypt the data so that an encrypted block is tied to the previously encrypted block (Swaminathan paragraph 0038). Therefore one would have been motivated to have used chain encryption.
With respect to claim 32 Roscoe, Mullins and Swaminathan teach the method according to claim 31. Swaminathan further teaches wherein the number of the second first encryption target data items included in the one block is one or more, and at predetermined timing after receiving one or more of the second first encryption target data items from the first communication device, the recording device generates the block including the one or more second first encryption target data items received after generation of the immediately previous block, and connects the block to the immediately previous block (see Swaminathan figure 3 and paragraph 0038 i.e. FIG. 3 illustrates one example of chained encryption. As illustrated, files 204 may be parsed into a series of blocks. In various embodiments, these blocks may have a fixed width (e.g., 128 bits) dependent upon the type of encryption performed. In some embodiments, the encryption utilized may be Advanced Encryption Standard 128 bit Cipher-block chaining mode (AES-128 bit CBC mode) encryption. In other cases, other types of chained encryption may be utilized. In the illustrated embodiment, encryption may be generally performed in a sequential manner from the left to right of the Figure beginning with the first block B.sub.0 and first initialization vector IV.sub.0. In various embodiments, the first initialization vector IV.sub.0 may be randomly or pseudo-randomly generated. However, as described in more detail below, initialization vectors for subsequent blocks may be generated such that the encryption of each subsequent block is dependent upon the previously encrypted block).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Roscoe in view of Swaminathan to have used a chained encryption in which the initialization vectors for subsequent blocks may be generated such that the encryption of each subsequent block is dependent upon the previously encrypted block as a way to encrypt the data so that an encrypted block is tied to the previously encrypted block (Swaminathan paragraph 0038). Therefore one would have been motivated to have used chain encryption.
With respect to claim 34 Roscoe, Mullins and Swaminathan teach the method according to claim 30. Swaminathan further teaches wherein the block includes the second first encryption target data, the target data that is an origin of the second first encryption target data, and the operation value, and the first communication device generates the block including the second first encryption target data that is to be transmitted and the target data that is the origin thereof, and transmits the block to the recording device (see Swaminathan figure 3 and paragraph 0038 i.e. FIG. 3 illustrates one example of chained encryption. As illustrated, files 204 may be parsed into a series of blocks. In various embodiments, these blocks may have a fixed width (e.g., 128 bits) dependent upon the type of encryption performed. In some embodiments, the encryption utilized may be Advanced Encryption Standard 128 bit Cipher-block chaining mode (AES-128 bit CBC mode) encryption. In other cases, other types of chained encryption may be utilized. In the illustrated embodiment, encryption may be generally performed in a sequential manner from the left to right of the Figure beginning with the first block B.sub.0 and first initialization vector IV.sub.0. In various embodiments, the first initialization vector IV.sub.0 may be randomly or pseudo-randomly generated. However, as described in more detail below, initialization vectors for subsequent blocks may be generated such that the encryption of each subsequent block is dependent upon the previously encrypted block).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Roscoe in view of Swaminathan to have used a chained encryption in which the initialization vectors for subsequent blocks may be generated such that the encryption of each subsequent block is dependent upon the previously encrypted block as a way to encrypt the data so that an encrypted block is tied to the previously encrypted block (Swaminathan paragraph 0038). Therefore one would have been motivated to have used chain encryption.
With respect to claim 35 Roscoe, Mullins and Swaminathan teach the method according to claim 31. Swaminathan further teaches wherein the block includes the second first encryption target data, the target data that is the origin of the second first encryption target data, and the operation value, in a state where the second first encryption target data and the target data are associated with each other, and the recording device generates the block, based on the second first encryption target data received from the first communication device and the target data that is the origin thereof, and connects the block to the immediately previous block (see Swaminathan figure 3 and paragraph 0038 i.e. FIG. 3 illustrates one example of chained encryption. As illustrated, files 204 may be parsed into a series of blocks. In various embodiments, these blocks may have a fixed width (e.g., 128 bits) dependent upon the type of encryption performed. In some embodiments, the encryption utilized may be Advanced Encryption Standard 128 bit Cipher-block chaining mode (AES-128 bit CBC mode) encryption. In other cases, other types of chained encryption may be utilized. In the illustrated embodiment, encryption may be generally performed in a sequential manner from the left to right of the Figure beginning with the first block B.sub.0 and first initialization vector IV.sub.0. In various embodiments, the first initialization vector IV.sub.0 may be randomly or pseudo-randomly generated. However, as described in more detail below, initialization vectors for subsequent blocks may be generated such that the encryption of each subsequent block is dependent upon the previously encrypted block).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Roscoe in view of Swaminathan to have used a chained encryption in which the initialization vectors for subsequent blocks may be generated such that the encryption of each subsequent block is dependent upon the previously encrypted block as a way to encrypt the data so that an encrypted block is tied to the previously encrypted block (Swaminathan paragraph 0038). Therefore one would have been motivated to have used chain encryption.
With respect to claim 36 Roscoe and Mullins teaches the method according to claim 14, but do not disclose wherein the second first encryption target data is recorded in the recording device in a state of being included in a block that is an aggregation of data items and is connected to an immediately previous block thereof, the blocks each including an operation value that is a value obtained by applying a predetermined arithmetic operation to the immediately previous block, and the second communication device generates the block including the second first encryption target data to be transmitted, and transmits the block to the recording device.
Swaminathan teaches wherein the second first encryption target data is recorded in the recording device in a state of being included in a block that is an aggregation of data items and is connected to an immediately previous block thereof, the blocks each including an operation value that is a value obtained by applying a predetermined arithmetic operation to the immediately previous block, and the second communication device generates the block including the second first encryption target data to be transmitted, and transmits the block to the recording device (see Swaminathan figure 3 and paragraph 0038 i.e. FIG. 3 illustrates one example of chained encryption. As illustrated, files 204 may be parsed into a series of blocks. In various embodiments, these blocks may have a fixed width (e.g., 128 bits) dependent upon the type of encryption performed. In some embodiments, the encryption utilized may be Advanced Encryption Standard 128 bit Cipher-block chaining mode (AES-128 bit CBC mode) encryption. In other cases, other types of chained encryption may be utilized. In the illustrated embodiment, encryption may be generally performed in a sequential manner from the left to right of the Figure beginning with the first block B.sub.0 and first initialization vector IV.sub.0. In various embodiments, the first initialization vector IV.sub.0 may be randomly or pseudo-randomly generated. However, as described in more detail below, initialization vectors for subsequent blocks may be generated such that the encryption of each subsequent block is dependent upon the previously encrypted block).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Roscoe in view of Swaminathan to have used a chained encryption in which the initialization vectors for subsequent blocks may be generated such that the encryption of each subsequent block is dependent upon the previously encrypted block as a way to encrypt the data so that an encrypted block is tied to the previously encrypted block (Swaminathan paragraph 0038). Therefore one would have been motivated to have used chain encryption.
With respect to claim 37 Roscoe and Mullins teach a method executed by the recording device subsequent to the method according to claim 14, but do not disclose wherein the second first encryption target data is recorded in the recording device in a state of being included in a block that is an aggregation of data items and is connected to an immediately previous block thereof, the blocks each including an operation value that is a value obtained by applying a predetermined arithmetic operation to the immediately previous block, and the recording device generates the block, based on the second first encryption target data received from the second communication device, and connects the block to the immediately previous block.
Swaminathan teaches wherein the second first encryption target data is recorded in the recording device in a state of being included in a block that is an aggregation of data items and is connected to an immediately previous block thereof, the blocks each including an operation value that is a value obtained by applying a predetermined arithmetic operation to the immediately previous block, and the recording device generates the block, based on the second first encryption target data received from the second communication device, and connects the block to the immediately previous block (see Swaminathan figure 3 and paragraph 0038 i.e. FIG. 3 illustrates one example of chained encryption. As illustrated, files 204 may be parsed into a series of blocks. In various embodiments, these blocks may have a fixed width (e.g., 128 bits) dependent upon the type of encryption performed. In some embodiments, the encryption utilized may be Advanced Encryption Standard 128 bit Cipher-block chaining mode (AES-128 bit CBC mode) encryption. In other cases, other types of chained encryption may be utilized. In the illustrated embodiment, encryption may be generally performed in a sequential manner from the left to right of the Figure beginning with the first block B.sub.0 and first initialization vector IV.sub.0. In various embodiments, the first initialization vector IV.sub.0 may be randomly or pseudo-randomly generated. However, as described in more detail below, initialization vectors for subsequent blocks may be generated such that the encryption of each subsequent block is dependent upon the previously encrypted block).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Roscoe in view of Swaminathan to have used a chained encryption in which the initialization vectors for subsequent blocks may be generated such that the encryption of each subsequent block is dependent upon the previously encrypted block as a way to encrypt the data so that an encrypted block is tied to the previously encrypted block (Swaminathan paragraph 0038). Therefore one would have been motivated to have used chain encryption.
With respect to claim 38 Roscoe, Mullins and Swaminathan teach the method according to claim 37. Swaminathan further teaches wherein the number of the second first encryption target data items included in the one block is one or more, and at predetermined timing after receiving one or more of the second first encryption target data items from the second communication device, the recording device generates the block including the one or more second first encryption target data items received after generation of the immediately previous block, and connects the block to the immediately previous block (see Swaminathan figure 3 and paragraph 0038 i.e. FIG. 3 illustrates one example of chained encryption. As illustrated, files 204 may be parsed into a series of blocks. In various embodiments, these blocks may have a fixed width (e.g., 128 bits) dependent upon the type of encryption performed. In some embodiments, the encryption utilized may be Advanced Encryption Standard 128 bit Cipher-block chaining mode (AES-128 bit CBC mode) encryption. In other cases, other types of chained encryption may be utilized. In the illustrated embodiment, encryption may be generally performed in a sequential manner from the left to right of the Figure beginning with the first block B.sub.0 and first initialization vector IV.sub.0. In various embodiments, the first initialization vector IV.sub.0 may be randomly or pseudo-randomly generated. However, as described in more detail below, initialization vectors for subsequent blocks may be generated such that the encryption of each subsequent block is dependent upon the previously encrypted block).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Roscoe in view of Swaminathan to have used a chained encryption in which the initialization vectors for subsequent blocks may be generated such that the encryption of each subsequent block is dependent upon the previously encrypted block as a way to encrypt the data so that an encrypted block is tied to the previously encrypted block (Swaminathan paragraph 0038). Therefore one would have been motivated to have used chain encryption.
With respect to claim 40 Roscoe, Mullins and Swaminathan teach the method according to claim 36. Swaminathan further teaches wherein the block includes the second first encryption target data, the target data that is an origin of the second first encryption target data, and the operation value, and the second communication device generates the block including the second first encryption target data that is to be transmitted and the target data that is the origin thereof, and transmits the block to the recording device (see Swaminathan figure 3 and paragraph 0038 i.e. FIG. 3 illustrates one example of chained encryption. As illustrated, files 204 may be parsed into a series of blocks. In various embodiments, these blocks may have a fixed width (e.g., 128 bits) dependent upon the type of encryption performed. In some embodiments, the encryption utilized may be Advanced Encryption Standard 128 bit Cipher-block chaining mode (AES-128 bit CBC mode) encryption. In other cases, other types of chained encryption may be utilized. In the illustrated embodiment, encryption may be generally performed in a sequential manner from the left to right of the Figure beginning with the first block B.sub.0 and first initialization vector IV.sub.0. In various embodiments, the first initialization vector IV.sub.0 may be randomly or pseudo-randomly generated. However, as described in more detail below, initialization vectors for subsequent blocks may be generated such that the encryption of each subsequent block is dependent upon the previously encrypted block).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Roscoe in view of Swaminathan to have used a chained encryption in which the initialization vectors for subsequent blocks may be generated such that the encryption of each subsequent block is dependent upon the previously encrypted block as a way to encrypt the data so that an encrypted block is tied to the previously encrypted block (Swaminathan paragraph 0038). Therefore one would have been motivated to have used chain encryption.
With respect to claim 41 Roscoe, Mullins and Swaminathan teach the method according to claim 37. Swaminathan further teaches wherein the block includes the second first encryption target data, the target data that is the origin of the second first encryption target data, and the operation value, in a state where the second first encryption target data and the target data are associated with each other, and the recording device generates the block, based on the second first encryption target data received from the second communication device and the target data that is the origin thereof, and connects the block to the immediately previous block (see Swaminathan figure 3 and paragraph 0038 i.e. FIG. 3 illustrates one example of chained encryption. As illustrated, files 204 may be parsed into a series of blocks. In various embodiments, these blocks may have a fixed width (e.g., 128 bits) dependent upon the type of encryption performed. In some embodiments, the encryption utilized may be Advanced Encryption Standard 128 bit Cipher-block chaining mode (AES-128 bit CBC mode) encryption. In other cases, other types of chained encryption may be utilized. In the illustrated embodiment, encryption may be generally performed in a sequential manner from the left to right of the Figure beginning with the first block B.sub.0 and first initialization vector IV.sub.0. In various embodiments, the first initialization vector IV.sub.0 may be randomly or pseudo-randomly generated. However, as described in more detail below, initialization vectors for subsequent blocks may be generated such that the encryption of each subsequent block is dependent upon the previously encrypted block).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Roscoe in view of Swaminathan to have used a chained encryption in which the initialization vectors for subsequent blocks may be generated such that the encryption of each subsequent block is dependent upon the previously encrypted block as a way to encrypt the data so that an encrypted block is tied to the previously encrypted block (Swaminathan paragraph 0038). Therefore one would have been motivated to have used chain encryption.
Claims 33, 39, 42-49 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Roscoe et al (US 2020/0036691) in view of Mullins (US 2018/0219674) in view of Poisner et al (US 2018/0097626).
With respect to claim 33 Roscoe and Mullins teach the method according to claim 11, but do not disclose wherein the first communication device transmits the second first encryption target data, and the target data that is an origin of the second first encryption target data, to the recording device, and the recording device records the second first encryption target data, and the target data that is the origin thereof, in a state of being associated with each other.
Poisner teaches wherein the first communication device transmits the second first encryption target data, and the target data that is an origin of the second first encryption target data, to the recording device, and the recording device records the second first encryption target data, and the target data that is the origin thereof, in a state of being associated with each other (see Poisner paragraph 0021-0022 i.e. Additionally, at this stage, the representative has a copy of the doubly-encrypted payload, but it cannot decrypt the payload because it does not have the platform key (encrypted in operation 165). However, with the doubly-encrypted payload in its possession, the representative is able to assure the client that the client's secure information may be used appropriately when the time comes…an alternative embodiment, the service platform 106 may maintain a copy of the doubly-encrypted payload at a storage device at the service platform 106. This may be used for storage redundancy).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Roscoe in view of Poisner to have sent the doubly-encrypted payload in its possession to a representative to store the doubly-encrypted payload as a way to assure the client that the client's secure information may be used appropriately when the time comes. Since the representative will not be able to decrypt the payload data without the help of the service platform (see Poisner paragraph 0021-0022). Therefore one would have been motivated to have sent the doubly-encrypted payload in its possession to a representative to store the doubly-encrypted payload as a way to assure the client that the client's secure information may be used appropriately when the time comes.
With respect to claim 39 Roscoe and Mullins teach the method according to claim 14, but do not disclose wherein the second communication device transmits the second first encryption target data, and the target data that is an origin of the second first encryption target data, to the recording device, and the recording device records the second first encryption target data, and the target data that is the origin thereof, in a state of being associated with each other (see).
Poisner teaches wherein the second communication device transmits the second first encryption target data, and the target data that is an origin of the second first encryption target data, to the recording device, and the recording device records the second first encryption target data, and the target data that is the origin thereof, in a state of being associated with each other (see Poisner paragraph 0021-0022 i.e. Additionally, at this stage, the representative has a copy of the doubly-encrypted payload, but it cannot decrypt the payload because it does not have the platform key (encrypted in operation 165). However, with the doubly-encrypted payload in its possession, the representative is able to assure the client that the client's secure information may be used appropriately when the time comes…an alternative embodiment, the service platform 106 may maintain a copy of the doubly-encrypted payload at a storage device at the service platform 106. This may be used for storage redundancy).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Roscoe in view of Poisner to have sent the doubly-encrypted payload in its possession to a representative to store the doubly-encrypted payload as a way to assure the client that the client's secure information may be used appropriately when the time comes. Since the representative will not be able to decrypt the payload data with out the help of the service platform (see Poisner paragraph 0021-0022). Therefore one would have been motivated to have sent the doubly-encrypted payload in its possession to a representative to store the doubly-encrypted payload as a way to assure the client that the client's secure information may be used appropriately when the time comes.
With respect to claim 42, Roscoe and Mullins teach the method according to claim 9, but do not disclose further comprising a recording step of causing one of the first communication device or the second communication device to transmit the target data encrypted by the first encryption unit of the first communication device and the second encryption unit of the second communication device to a recording device that is connected to the predetermined network and is capable of recording data, and causing the recording device to record the target data encrypted by the first encryption unit of the first communication device and the second encryption unit of the second communication device.
Poisner teaches further comprising a recording step of causing one of the first communication device or the second communication device to transmit the target data encrypted by the first encryption unit of the first communication device and the second encryption unit of the second communication device to a recording device that is connected to the predetermined network and is capable of recording data, and causing the recording device to record the target data encrypted by the first encryption unit of the first communication device and the second encryption unit of the second communication device (see Poisner paragraph 0021-0022 i.e. Additionally, at this stage, the representative has a copy of the doubly-encrypted payload, but it cannot decrypt the payload because it does not have the platform key (encrypted in operation 165). However, with the doubly-encrypted payload in its possession, the representative is able to assure the client that the client's secure information may be used appropriately when the time comes…an alternative embodiment, the service platform 106 may maintain a copy of the doubly-encrypted payload at a storage device at the service platform 106. This may be used for storage redundancy).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Roscoe in view of Poisner to have sent the doubly-encrypted payload in its possession to a representative to store the doubly-encrypted payload as a way to assure the client that the client's secure information may be used appropriately when the time comes. Since the representative will not be able to decrypt the payload data without the help of the service platform (see Poisner paragraph 0021-0022). Therefore one would have been motivated to have sent the doubly-encrypted payload in its possession to a representative to store the doubly-encrypted payload as a way to assure the client that the client's secure information may be used appropriately when the time comes.
With respect to claim 43, Roscoe, Mullins and Poisner teach the method according to claim 42, Roscoe further teaches wherein the target data that is encrypted by the first encryption unit of the first communication device and the second encryption unit of the second communication device (see Roscoe figure 3 steps S430 and paragraph 0074 i.e. In response to receiving the blinded plurality of messages B(b.sub.A, MA.sub.i), at step S430, the second node 300 encrypts the messages by applying a further blinding function b′.sub.B to provide B(b′.sub.B, B(b.sub.A, MA.sub.i)).
Poisner teaches the target data is recorded in the recording device is set into a state of being disclosed to the first communication device and the second communication device connected to the predetermined network (see Poisner paragraph 0021-0022 i.e. Additionally, at this stage, the representative has a copy of the doubly-encrypted payload, but it cannot decrypt the payload because it does not have the platform key (encrypted in operation 165). However, with the doubly-encrypted payload in its possession, the representative is able to assure the client that the client's secure information may be used appropriately when the time comes…an alternative embodiment, the service platform 106 may maintain a copy of the doubly-encrypted payload at a storage device at the service platform 106. This may be used for storage redundancy).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Roscoe in view of Poisner to have sent the doubly-encrypted payload in its possession to a representative to store the doubly-encrypted payload as a way to assure the client that the client's secure information may be used appropriately when the time comes. Since the representative wil lnot be able to decrypt the payload data without the help of the service platform (see Poisner paragraph 0021-0022). Therefore one would have been motivated to have sent the doubly-encrypted payload in its possession to a representative to store the doubly-encrypted payload as a way to assure the client that the client's secure information may be used appropriately when the time comes.
With respect to claim 44, Roscoe and Mullins teach the method according to claim 12, but do not disclose further comprising a recording step of causing one of the first communication device or the second communication device to transmit the target data encrypted by the first encryption unit of the first communication device and the second encryption unit of the second communication device to a recording device that is connected to the predetermined network and is capable of recording data, and causing the recording device to record the target data encrypted by the first encryption unit of the first communication device and the second encryption unit of the second communication device.
Poisner teaches further comprising a recording step of causing one of the first communication device or the second communication device to transmit the target data encrypted by the first encryption unit of the first communication device and the second encryption unit of the second communication device to a recording device that is connected to the predetermined network and is capable of recording data, and causing the recording device to record the target data encrypted by the first encryption unit of the first communication device and the second encryption unit of the second communication device (see Poisner paragraph 0021-0022 i.e. Additionally, at this stage, the representative has a copy of the doubly-encrypted payload, but it cannot decrypt the payload because it does not have the platform key (encrypted in operation 165). However, with the doubly-encrypted payload in its possession, the representative is able to assure the client that the client's secure information may be used appropriately when the time comes…an alternative embodiment, the service platform 106 may maintain a copy of the doubly-encrypted payload at a storage device at the service platform 106. This may be used for storage redundancy).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Roscoe in view of Poisner to have sent the doubly-encrypted payload in its possession to a representative to store the doubly-encrypted payload as a way to assure the client that the client's secure information may be used appropriately when the time comes. Since the representative will not be able to decrypt the payload data without the help of the service platform (see Poisner paragraph 0021-0022). Therefore one would have been motivated to have sent the doubly-encrypted payload in its possession to a representative to store the doubly-encrypted payload as a way to assure the client that the client's secure information may be used appropriately when the time comes.
With respect to claim 45, Roscoe, Mullins and Poisner teach the method according to claim 44, Roscoe further teaches wherein the target data that is encrypted by the first encryption unit of the first communication device and the second encryption unit of the second communication device (see Roscoe figure 3 steps S430 and paragraph 0074 i.e. In response to receiving the blinded plurality of messages B(b.sub.A, MA.sub.i), at step S430, the second node 300 encrypts the messages by applying a further blinding function b′.sub.B to provide B(b′.sub.B, B(b.sub.A, MA.sub.i)).
Poisner teaches the target data is recorded in the recording device is set into a state of being disclosed to the first communication device and the second communication device connected to the predetermined network (see Poisner paragraph 0021-0022 i.e. Additionally, at this stage, the representative has a copy of the doubly-encrypted payload, but it cannot decrypt the payload because it does not have the platform key (encrypted in operation 165). However, with the doubly-encrypted payload in its possession, the representative is able to assure the client that the client's secure information may be used appropriately when the time comes…an alternative embodiment, the service platform 106 may maintain a copy of the doubly-encrypted payload at a storage device at the service platform 106. This may be used for storage redundancy).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Roscoe in view of Poisner to have sent the doubly-encrypted payload in its possession to a representative to store the doubly-encrypted payload as a way to assure the client that the client's secure information may be used appropriately when the time comes. Since the representative will not be able to decrypt the payload data without the help of the service platform (see Poisner paragraph 0021-0022). Therefore one would have been motivated to have sent the doubly-encrypted payload in its possession to a representative to store the doubly-encrypted payload as a way to assure the client that the client's secure information may be used appropriately when the time comes.
With respect to claim 46, Roscoe and Mullins teach the first communication device in the communication system of claim 15, but do not disclose wherein the communication system further comprises: a recording device capable of recording data and connected to the predetermined network, for receiving and recording the target data encrypted by the first encryption unit of the first communication device and the second encryption unit of the second communication device.
Poisner teaches wherein the communication system further comprises: a recording device capable of recording data and connected to the predetermined network, for receiving and recording the target data encrypted by the first encryption unit of the first communication device and the second encryption unit of the second communication device (see Poisner paragraph 0021-0022 i.e. Additionally, at this stage, the representative has a copy of the doubly-encrypted payload, but it cannot decrypt the payload because it does not have the platform key (encrypted in operation 165). However, with the doubly-encrypted payload in its possession, the representative is able to assure the client that the client's secure information may be used appropriately when the time comes…an alternative embodiment, the service platform 106 may maintain a copy of the doubly-encrypted payload at a storage device at the service platform 106. This may be used for storage redundancy).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Roscoe in view of Poisner to have sent the doubly-encrypted payload in its possession to a representative to store the doubly-encrypted payload as a way to assure the client that the client's secure information may be used appropriately when the time comes. Since the representative will not be able to decrypt the payload data without the help of the service platform (see Poisner paragraph 0021-0022). Therefore one would have been motivated to have sent the doubly-encrypted payload in its possession to a representative to store the doubly-encrypted payload as a way to assure the client that the client's secure information may be used appropriately when the time comes.
With respect to claim 47, Roscoe, Mullins and Poisner teach the first communication device in the communication system of claim 46, Roscoe further disclose wherein the target data that is encrypted by the first encryption unit of the first communication device and the second encryption unit of the second communication device (see Roscoe figure 3 steps S430 and paragraph 0074 i.e. In response to receiving the blinded plurality of messages B(b.sub.A, MA.sub.i), at step S430, the second node 300 encrypts the messages by applying a further blinding function b′.sub.B to provide B(b′.sub.B, B(b.sub.A, MA.sub.i)).
Poisner teaches the target data is recorded in the recording device is set into a state of being disclosed to the first communication device and the second communication device connected to the predetermined network (see Poisner paragraph 0021-0022 i.e. Additionally, at this stage, the representative has a copy of the doubly-encrypted payload, but it cannot decrypt the payload because it does not have the platform key (encrypted in operation 165). However, with the doubly-encrypted payload in its possession, the representative is able to assure the client that the client's secure information may be used appropriately when the time comes…an alternative embodiment, the service platform 106 may maintain a copy of the doubly-encrypted payload at a storage device at the service platform 106. This may be used for storage redundancy).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Roscoe in view of Poisner to have sent the doubly-encrypted payload in its possession to a representative to store the doubly-encrypted payload as a way to assure the client that the client's secure information may be used appropriately when the time comes. Since the representative will not be able to decrypt the payload data without the help of the service platform (see Poisner paragraph 0021-0022). Therefore one would have been motivated to have sent the doubly-encrypted payload in its possession to a representative to store the doubly-encrypted payload as a way to assure the client that the client's secure information may be used appropriately when the time comes.
With respect to claim 48, Roscoe and Mullins teach the second communication device in the communication system of claim 16, but do not disclose wherein the communication system further comprises: a recording device capable of recording data and connected to the predetermined network, for receiving and recording the target data encrypted by the first encryption unit of the first communication device and the second encryption unit of the second communication device.
Poisner teaches wherein the communication system further comprises: a recording device capable of recording data and connected to the predetermined network, for receiving and recording the target data encrypted by the first encryption unit of the first communication device and the second encryption unit of the second communication device (see Poisner paragraph 0021-0022 i.e. Additionally, at this stage, the representative has a copy of the doubly-encrypted payload, but it cannot decrypt the payload because it does not have the platform key (encrypted in operation 165). However, with the doubly-encrypted payload in its possession, the representative is able to assure the client that the client's secure information may be used appropriately when the time comes…an alternative embodiment, the service platform 106 may maintain a copy of the doubly-encrypted payload at a storage device at the service platform 106. This may be used for storage redundancy).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Roscoe in view of Poisner to have sent the doubly-encrypted payload in its possession to a representative to store the doubly-encrypted payload as a way to assure the client that the client's secure information may be used appropriately when the time comes. Since the representative willnot be able to decrypt the payload data without the help of the service platform (see Poisner paragraph 0021-0022). Therefore one would have been motivated to have sent the doubly-encrypted payload in its possession to a representative to store the doubly-encrypted payload as a way to assure the client that the client's secure information may be used appropriately when the time comes.
With respect to claim 49, Roscoe, Mullins and Poisner teach the first communication device in the communication system of claim 48, Roscoe further teaches wherein the target data that is encrypted by the first encryption unit of the first communication device and the second encryption unit of the second communication device (see Roscoe figure 3 steps S430 and paragraph 0074 i.e. In response to receiving the blinded plurality of messages B(b.sub.A, MA.sub.i), at step S430, the second node 300 encrypts the messages by applying a further blinding function b′.sub.B to provide B(b′.sub.B, B(b.sub.A, MA.sub.i)).
Poisner teaches the target data is recorded in the recording device is set into a state of being disclosed to the first communication device and the second communication device connected to the predetermined network (see Poisner paragraph 0021-0022 i.e. Additionally, at this stage, the representative has a copy of the doubly-encrypted payload, but it cannot decrypt the payload because it does not have the platform key (encrypted in operation 165). However, with the doubly-encrypted payload in its possession, the representative is able to assure the client that the client's secure information may be used appropriately when the time comes…an alternative embodiment, the service platform 106 may maintain a copy of the doubly-encrypted payload at a storage device at the service platform 106. This may be used for storage redundancy).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Roscoe in view of Poisner to have sent the doubly-encrypted payload in its possession to a representative to store the doubly-encrypted payload as a way to assure the client that the client's secure information may be used appropriately when the time comes. Since the representative will not be able to decrypt the payload data without the help of the service platform (see Poisner paragraph 0021-0022). Therefore one would have been motivated to have sent the doubly-encrypted payload in its possession to a representative to store the doubly-encrypted payload as a way to assure the client that the client's secure information may be used appropriately when the time comes.
Prior Art
Niamut et al (US 2014/0233740) titled “Secure Distribution Of Content”.
Conclusion
/DEVIN E ALMEIDA/Examiner, Art Unit 2492