DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of the Claims
Claims 1, 6, 9-10, 12, 20, 39, and 41-44 are currently pending.
No claims have been amended.
Claims 10 and 12 have been withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claims 2-5, 7-8, 11, 13-19, 21-38, 40, and 45-47 remain cancelled.
Claims 1, 6, 9, 20, and 39, and 41-44 have been considered on the merits.
Maintained Rejections
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 6, 9, 20, and 39, and 41-44 remain rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, because the specification, while being enabling for an in vitro method of modulating gut cell inflammation in an cell or organoid, comprising contacting a population of intestinal cells from a subject suffering from an inflammatory bowel disease in vitro with a modulating agent in an amount sufficient to modify adherens junctional integrity by altering cytohesion protein degradation and ARF6 GTPase activation in the cell population as compared to the population of interstitial cells in the absence of the modulating agent, wherein the modulating agent modulates C1orf106 and cytohesion ubiquitination, the specification does not reasonably provide enablement for a method of modulating gut inflammation caused by inflammatory bowel disease (i) within a subject (ii) by any means of contacting a population of intestinal cells (iii) with any modulating agent. The specification does not enable any person skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and use the invention commensurate in scope with these claims.
Enablement is considered in view of the Wands factors (MPEP 2164.01(a)). The court in Wands states: "Enablement is not precluded by the necessity for some experimentation such as routine screening. However, experimentation needed to practice the invention must not be undue experimentation. The key word is 'undue,' not 'experimentation.' " (Wands, 8 USPQ2d 1404). Clearly, enablement of a claimed invention cannot be predicated on the basis of quantity of experimentation required to make or use the invention. "Whether undue experimentation is needed is not a single simple factual determination, but rather is a conclusion reached by weighing many factual considerations." (Wands, 8 USPQ2d 1404). The factors to be considered in determining whether undue experimentation is required include: (1) the quantity of experimentation necessary, (2) the amount or direction or guidance presented, (3) the presence or absence of working examples, (4) the nature of the invention, (5) the state of the prior art, (6) the relative skill of those in the art, (7) the predictability or unpredictability of the art, and (8) the breadth of the claims. While all of these factors are considered, a sufficient amount for a prima facie case are discussed below.
(1) The nature of the invention and (2) the breadth of the claims:
The claims broadly encompass a method of modulating gut inflammation caused by inflammatory bowel disease in any subject, comprising contacting a population of interstitial cells of a subject suffering from an inflammatory bowel disease with a modulating agent in an amount sufficient to modify adherens junctional integrity by altering cytohesion protein degradation and ARF6 GTPase activation in the cell population as compared to the population of interstitial cells in the absence of the modulating agent, wherein the modulating agent modulates C1orf106 and cytohesion ubiquitination. Thus, the claims taken together with the specification imply that the instant method can modulate gut inflammation of (i) any subject, including humans, suffering from inflammation caused by an inflammatory bowel disease through contacting a population of intestinal cells by (ii) any means of contacting with (iii) any modulating agent of C1orf106. Claim 1 is broad such that the population of intestinal cells can be contacted by any means of contacting and with any modulating agent which modulates C1orf106 and increases cytohesion ubiquitination.
(3) The state of the prior art and (4) the predictability or unpredictability of the art:
The claims embody a method of modulating gut inflammation caused by inflammatory bowel disease in any subject, which renders the claims unpredictable.
The method is found to be unpredictable with regards to its ability to modulate gut inflammation caused by an inflammatory bowel disease in (i) any subject, (ii) by any means of contacting a population of intestinal cells, and (iii) with any modulating agent.
Firstly, the specification only provides support for modulation of C1orf106 in in vitro cell models as seen in Example 1. The specification does employ a mouse model; however the model is a double knockout of C1orf106 which is used for the expressed purpose of “to investigate the functional interaction between these proteins in a physiologically relevant model, applicant generates C!ord106-/- mice (FIG. 6A and 6B) and examined the steady-state levels of cytohesion-1 in this model system” ([0511]). This mouse model is not used to perform the method of modulating gut inflammation caused by inflammatory bowel disease by contacting a population of intestinal cells by any means and employing any modulating agent, therefore it does not help support the enablement of the method for use in mice. Additionally, the specification does not provide any information as to how one may conduct the method in a mouse, human, or alternative subject by any means of contacting a population of intestinal cells with any modulating agent which modulates C1orf106 and increases cytohesion ubiquitination.
Zhang et al (Cell Reports Medicine, 2026) teaches about methods of contacting intestinal cells in vivo for the expressed purpose of treating inflammatory bowel disease. Zhang teaches that “oral administration represents an ideal route for IBD treatment owing to its non-invasiveness, convenience, and high patient compliance… however the harsh physiochemical environment of the gastrointestinal tract, characterized by extreme pH and enzymatic degradation, can compromise the activity of CRISPR-Cas9, and a safe and effective oral delivery system is lacking’ (pg. 2, col. 1, para 2). Zhang is explicitly stating that treating IBD, involving contacting a population of intestinal cells within a subject is an area lacking enablement in the art. The harsh environment of the GI tract is a major barrier to the completion of the only active step of the instant method, “contacting a population of intestinal cells within a subject”. Since the specification does not provide guidance as to how one of ordinary skill in the art can complete the step of “contacting a population of intestinal cells within a subject”, it appears that the method is not enabled. Additionally, Zhang demonstrates a creative approach of administering a live probiotic bacteria engineered to express the necessary CRISPR-Cas9 system to contact a population of intestinal cells within a subject of a mouse model of IBD. Although Zhang demonstrates at least some contact to intestinal cells in this model, Zhang teaches that there are explicit limitations to the study. Zhang states that “further safety assessments in non-human primates are requires in follow-up research…[,] sgRNA sequences with better specificity and editing efficiency deserve further investigation to improve the performance of gene editing [,]… five potential off-target sites of the system have been predicted and analyzed, but deep sequencing methods such as genome-wide unbiased identification of DSBs enabled by sequencing (GUIDE-seq) and amplicon sequencing (Amplicon-seq) will improve safety as assessments by avoiding low-frequency off-target effects [, and]… “finally, although EcN has a well-defined genetic background and mature expression systems, its clinical translation potential is limited sue to relatively low abundance in the intestinal microbiota” (pg. 13. Col. 1, last para). Therefore, even Zhang admits that their method as completed within in vivo mouse IBD models requires multiple avenues of additional testing to provide a working method of treatment. Zhang explicitly supports that the method presented in the instant case would require a person of ordinary skill in the art to complete undue experimentation to successfully complete the only active step of “contacting a population of intestinal cells within a subject”.
Horizon Scan (Canadian Journal of Health Technologies, Oct, 2024) teaches about CRISPR technologies for both in vivo and ex vivo gene editing. This CRISPR technology is an example of a means of contacting a population of intestinal cells with any modulating agent. Horizon scan teaches that “[t]he long term effects of CRISPR-based therapies are currently unknown…[s]everal ethical considerations related to the use of CRISPR-based therapies have been identified, including the implications of off-target gene modifications” (pg. 2, para 4). Horizon Scan teaches that, in particular gene knock-ins are more challenging than gene knockouts because homology directed repair, used in knock-ins, is less common than non-homologous end joining, seen in knock-outs (pg. 3, para 2). These statements support that CRISPR gene editing in vivo remains an unpredictable art. Thus, without guidance from the instant application as to how one of ordinary skill in the art could perform the claimed method employing CRISPR technologies as the means of contacting and modulating C1orf106 in a subject, the method remains unpredictable.
Additionally, Horizon scan teaches about exa-cel/Casgevy, the one and only CRISPR based therapy to receive regulatory approval anywhere internationally. Exa-cel/Casgevy is an Ex vivo gene editing therapy which targets the BC11A gene in blood cells which have been removed from a patient’s body suffering from sickle cell anemia or Beta-thalassemia. This supports that the jump from in vitro cell models to in vivo gene therapy is unpredictable, since the gene editing endeavors as a whole have only returned a single approved method, which is only capable due to the Ex vivo (removal of subject blood cells prior to gene editing) nature of the therapy. This example, presented in Horizon Scan, is described herein to demonstrate that the step of “contacting” a population of cells in vivo is not a predictable and routine achievement. This is evident because the only approved CRISPR method requires removing cells from a subject and conducting a step of “contacting” the cells with a modulating agent ex vivo before returning the removed cells to the subject.
Turning to in vivo therapies, Horizon Scan teaches that “[o]ff-target edits are a key risk associated with gene editing. These can occur when the Cas nuclease cuts at unintended genetic sites, which could result in unknown consequences to an individual’s health” (pg. 6, last para). Therefore, Horizon Scan wholistically supports that, without evidence and explicit guidance in the instant specification, one would not be able to use the invention as claimed without undue experimentation.
Kaupbayeva et al (Journal of Functional Biomaterials, 2024) teaches a current review in the advances and obstacles in genome editing with CRISPR using AAV, adenovirus (AdVs), and lentiviral particles. These CRISPR contacting methods are an example of a means of contacting a population of intestinal cells with any modulating agent. Regarding AAV based methods, Kaupbayeva teaches that high doses of these models cause mild toxicity in animal models (section 2.1). Regarding adenovirus models, Kaupbayeva states that many in vitro models have been developed however, “AdVs pose a significant risk due to their high immunogenicity. Previous research has indicated that they provoke robust immune and inflammatory reactions in animal models, limiting their clinical potential” (Section 2.2). Regarding lentiviral particle models, Kaupbayeva teaches “the potential of LV systems for unpredictable incorporation into the host cell genome poses a challenge” (section 2.3). Therefore, Kaupbayeva supports that each delivery method poses its own specific challenges when looking to move from an in vitro model to treatment of subjects, and without guidance from the instant specification the move to in vivo is unpredictable.
Li et al (Biomaterials) teaches that “[t]o date, efficient in vivo delivery of the CRISPR/Cas9 system to the targeted cells remains a challenge. Although viral vectors have been widely used in the delivery of the CRISPR/Cas9 system in vitro and in vivo, their fundamental shortcomings, such as the risk of carcinogenesis, limited insertion size, immune responses and difficulty in large-scale production, severely limit their further applications” (abstract). Therefore, Li is explicitly supporting that the target of specific cells, such as the instant “method of modulation of gut inflammation”, is highly unpredictable in gene editing technologies without explicit guidance from the instant specifcation.
Due to the minimal guidance provided in the instant specification on how one would perform the method of modulation in a subject, and the overwhelming consensus in the art that gene editing technologies remain an area of unpredictability, especially in subjects, the method of gut modulation is not predictable for use in any system other than in vitro cell based models.
(4) The relative skill of those in the art:
The relative skill of those in the art is high.
(5) The amount of direction or guidance presented and (6) the presence or absence of working examples:
The specification details example 1. Example 1 demonstrates lentiviral particle transduction of LS174T and Caco-2 cells. Example 1 also demonstrates a double knockout of C1orf106-/- in mice and WT C1orf106+/+ mice, used to determine the effect on various protein levels in the mice. Example 1 demonstrates freshly isolated intestinal epithelial cells and primary organoid cultured which have loss of C1orf106 function.
(7) The quantity of experimentation necessary:
Considering the state of the art as discussed above and the high unpredictability and the lack of guidance provided in the specification, one of ordinary skill in the art would be burdened with undue experimentation to use the claimed invention within the broad scope as instantly claimed.
It is the examiner’s position that one skilled in the art could not practice the invention commensurate in the breadth of the claims without undue experimentation. Therefore, claim 22 and its dependents are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph, for a lack of scope of enablement.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 6, 9, 20, 39, and 41-44 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schwank et al (Cell Stem Cell 13, 653–658, December 5, 2013) as evidenced by Mohanan et al (Science. 2018 Mar 9; 359(6380): 1161–1166.), in view of Levesque et al (Thesis, Montreal University, Dec 2015, included in IDS), as evidenced by Loh et al (Gut Microbes, 2012), all of which are references of record.
With regards to claim 1, Schwank teaches a method of modulating in vitro intestinal cell (gut cell) inflammation, termed functional repair by Schwank, caused by cystic fibrosis (pg. 655, column 1, para 2). The method comprises contacting patient derived intestinal cells in vitro with a modulating agent, CRISPR as required by claims 1 and 6 (abstract, lines 8-11). Further, CRISPR is used to correct the mutated CFTR allele to wild-type, modulating its stability (pg. 655, column 2, lines 7-14). Schwank found that correcting the mutation (F508del) on CFTR increased the integrity of the intestinal cell organoids (Figure 2).
Schwank does not explicitly state that the intestinal cells are C1orf106 expressing cells, however “C1orf106 is highly expressed in the human intestine and intestinal epithelial cell lines” as required by claims 9 and 39 (Mohanan et al pg. 2, line 25) as evidenced by Mohanan et al.
Schwank does not specifically teach the increase in junctional integrity by increasing cytohesion protein degradation and reducing ARF6 GTPase activation as required by claims 1 and 20. Schwank does not teach the modulation of the stability of C1orf106 or the *333F variant of C1orf106 or where the modulating agent is a CRISPR system used to restore the *333F variant to wild-type or another variant with increase protein stability as required by claims 6, 20, and 41. Schwank does not teach increasing the junctional integrity of the intestinal epithelial is by contacting the population of intestinal cells with a proteasome inhibitor and/or agent that increases the stability of the C1orf106 protein as required by claim 42. Schwank does not teach wherein the inflammatory bowel disease comprises ulcerative colitis and Crohn’s disease as required by claim 43. Schwank does not teach wherein the colitis is caused by a bacterial or parasitic infection as required by claim 44.
However, Levesque teaches about the C1orf106 protein, and more specifically it’s involvement in inflammatory bowel disease including Crohn’s disease and ulcerative colitis as required by claims 41 and 43 (abstract). Levesque introduces the *333F variant which has significantly reduced the stability of the C1orf106 protein (pg. 64, para 1). Further, Levesque teaches about a sequencing study in which 350 individuals with Crohn’s disease (CD), and 350 control individuals were sequenced and the results found a rare variant, *333F C1orf106, was associated with CD affected individuals (pg. 31, last 2 para). Levesque also states that the C1orf106 stability is affected by the amino acid substitution seen in the *333F variant as compared to the wild type (pg. 54, para 1) and further, “our protein stability test has shown that rare genetic variant of 333F C1orf106 significantly reduces its stability and consequentially its protein level in balance” (pg. 64, para 2). Further, the CRISPR system of Schwank in combination with the modulation target taught by Levesque reads on an agent that increases the stability of the C1orf106 protein as required by claims 20 and 42.
Levesque also teaches that in cells which stably overexpress the *333F variant, only “partial localization with ZO-1, used as a tight junction (TJ) marker” and that tighter adherens junctions (AJ) were observed (abstract). Further, Levesque teaches that the localization of C1orf106 at these regions suggest its possible implication in epithelial barrier homeostasis. Therefore, Levesque supports that the TJ markers are decreased/only partially localized in cells which contain the *333F variant. From this teaching one of ordinary skill in the art would easily extrapolate that reverting the cells to a WT variant would revert the TJs to WT as well (i.e., the claimed “sufficient to modify junctional integrity of the intestinal cell by increasing cytohesin protein degradation and reducing ARF6 GTPase activation” of claim 1).
Levesque does not specifically teach that the inflammation is caused by a bacterium as required by claim 44, however both “Crohn’s disease and ulcerative colitis are characterized by a depletion of Firmicutes in conjunction with an increase of gram-negative bacteria, namely E. coli” as evidenced by Loh et al (Figure 1).
One of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the instant invention would find it obvious to combine the method of treating cells in vitro which are known to cause gut inflammation by replacing a known mutated gene with a WT taught by Schwank with the mutated variant of C1orf106, *333F, taught by Levesque to be related to CD and gut inflammation to arrive at the instant invention. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to make this combination because Levesque teaches that a sequencing study which 350 individuals with Crohn’s disease (CD) and 350 control individuals were sequenced and the results found a rare variant, *333F C1orf106, was associated with CD affected individuals (pg. 31, last 2 para). Additionally, Levesque states that overall their results support a role in C1orf106 in ITNs (overarching category of diseases including inflammatory bowel disease) and which would place C1orf106 on the list of causal genes for ITNs (pg. 68). One of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success when combining Schwank with Levesque because Schwank teaches the necessary information to perform the CRISPR based disease treatment in intestinal (gut) cells in vitro by replacing a known mutation with the WT in intestinal cells. Additionally, one of ordinary skill in the art would reasonably expect that restoring the *333F variant to WT by the CRISPR method of Schwank would modulate the stability of the C1orf106 protein by increasing the stability of the protein where the inflammation is caused by Crohn’s disease or ulcerative colitis because Levesque states that the C1orf106 stability is affected by the amino acid substitution seen in the *333F variant as compared to the wild type (pg. 54, para 1) and further, “our protein stability test has shown that rare genetic variant of 333F C1orf106 significantly reduces its stability and consequentially its protein level in balance” (pg. 64, para 2).
Therefore, Schwank and Levesque taken together demonstrate contacting a population of intestinal cells with a modulating agent that corrects a mutant C1orf106 gene to wild-type, further Levesque’s abstract states “We did observe tighter colocalization with E-cadherin, a canonical marker for adherens junction (AJ), typically located below the TJ complex”. The cited portion of Levesque expressly describes tighter co-localization with E-Cadherin, a canonical adherens junction marker, which would indicate increased integrity of adherens junctions in the Wild-type as compared to the disease causing variant. Thus, performing the correction of the 333F genetic variant of C1orf106 to a wild-type as taught by the combination of Schwank and Levesque would result in modifying adherens junctional integrity as claimed. The modification of the adherens junction integrity by the cytohesin-1/ARF6/ubiquitination cascade amounts to the natural result of the combination of the references. The combined teachings of Schwank and Levesque teach the method of modulating gut inflammation by correcting a disease-associated variant in vitro (*333F C1orf106) with a WT gene (WT C1orf106) which would inherently provide the natural result of increasing the stability of the C1orf106 protein as required by claim 39.
Therefore, Schwank and Levesque render the claims obvious.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 06/25/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues (Remarks, pg. 4-5) that the cited references in the scope of enablement rejection under 112(a) address therapeutic efficacy and do not address the enablement of the claimed method. Applicant argues that references regarding difficulties achieving clinical results do not provide an adequate basis for questioning the accuracy of the results presented in the specification. Applicant cites the PTAB decision “Ex Parte Montano-Suarez, appeal No. 2021-003469” and claims that “the analogy to the present case is direct”. Applicant attempts to support this argument (Remarks, pg. 6-9) by stating that the data in the specification including multiple human intestinal cell lines, primary organoids from both C1orf106 positive and null mice, and in vivo mouse experiments provide enablement for the instantly claimed method and the rejection made under 112(a) in the present case does not provide an adequate basis for questioning the accuracy of the mechanistic data in the specification.
In response, the argument is not found persuasive.
As a first point, the facts of the instant application are markedly different to those in the cited Ex Parte Montano-Suarez”. In Ex Parte Montano-Suarez, the specification contained the use of three mouse models which included “a working example using the peptide of SEQ ID NO: 12 in a mouse model of MPS IVA” (Appeal No. 2021-003469 Decision, pg. 5, para 3) and the Examiner cited evidence regarding the accuracy of the results of the working models based on difficulties achieving results in experimental animals (Appeal No. 2021-003469 Decision, pg. 7, para 3). However, in the instant case the accuracy of the data presented using the in vitro cell-based models is not contested, meaning the accuracy of the results presented in the specification are not under question in the presented rejection, rather the extrapolation of the results presented in the specification do not appear to enable one of ordinary skill in the art to practice the method of “modulating gut inflammation caused by an inflammatory bowel disease” within a subject. The instant application does provide in vitro data representing the claimed step of “contacting a population of intestinal cells” but does not at any point do so in a subject, mouse or otherwise. Thus, it is clear that the method has not been completed in an in vivo model based on the specification.
Applicant argues that the specification contains in vivo mouse experiments, however these experiments are “mechanistic” as described by Applicant and do not provide a model of the claimed method of “contacting a population of intestinal cells within a subject”. The specification employs a mouse model; however the model is a double knockout of C1orf106 which is used for the expressed purpose “to investigate the functional interaction between these proteins in a physiologically relevant model, applicant generates C1ord106-/- mice (FIG. 6A and 6B) and examined the steady-state levels of cytohesion-1 in this model system” ([0511]). This mouse model is not used to perform the method of modulating gut inflammation caused by inflammatory bowel disease by contacting a population of intestinal cells by any means and employing any modulating agent, therefore it does not help support the enablement of the method for use in mice. Additionally, the specification does not provide any information or guidance as to how one may conduct the method in a mouse, human, or alternative subject by any means of contacting a population of intestinal cells with any modulating agent which modulates C1orf106 and increases cytohesion ubiquitination. The lack of enablement is based on the ability of one of ordinary skill in the art to complete the step of contacting without undue experimentation. The previously cited art, Horizon Scan, Kaupbayeva, and Li demonstrate the unpredictable nature of successfully contacting a desired cell population and modulating a gene with gene editing technologies within a living system/subject. Additionally, Zhang et al has been newly included in the rejection. Zhang demonstrates that contacting intestinal cells in vivo remains a major challenge in the art specifically due to the harsh chemical environment and the enzymatic degradation of gene editing mechanisms such as CRISPR-Cas9. The instant specification is unable to provide guidance to a person of ordinary skill in the art to perform the ”contacting” step of the claim within a subject which has been established as an unpredictable practice in the art as it specifically relates to gastrointestinal targeting. Thus, the claimed method remains rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) as lacking enablement and the arguments presented by Applicant are not found persuasive.
Applicant argues (Remarks, pg. 10) that the cited art Levesque establishes only a statistical association between *333F that does not discriminate between a correlated and causal variant that therefore there is no motivation no an expectation of success in combining the cited art.
In response to applicant’s argument that there is no teaching, suggestion, or motivation to combine the references, the examiner recognizes that obviousness may be established by combining or modifying the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed invention where there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so found either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071, 5 USPQ2d 1596 (Fed. Cir. 1988), In re Jones, 958 F.2d 347, 21 USPQ2d 1941 (Fed. Cir. 1992), and KSR International Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007). In this case, one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to make this combination because Levesque teaches that a sequencing study which 350 individuals with Crohn’s disease (CD) and 350 control individuals were sequenced and the results found a rare variant, *333F C1orf106, was associated with CD affected individuals (pg. 31, last 2 para). Additionally, Levesque states that overall their results support a role in C1orf106 in ITNs (overarching category of diseases including inflammatory bowel disease) and which would place C1orf106 on the list of causal genes for ITNs (pg. 68 of Levesque).
Applicant argues (Remarks, pg. 11) that Schwank and Levesque do not disclose increasing cytohesin degradation, reducing ARF6 GTPase activation, or increasing cytohesin ubiquitination.
In response, the argument is not found persuasive. In response to applicant's argument that Schwank and Levesque do not specifically disclose increasing cytohesin protein degradation and reducing ARF6 GTPase and increasing cytohesin ubiquitination, the fact that the inventor has recognized another advantage which would flow naturally from following the suggestion of the prior art cannot be the basis for patentability when the differences would otherwise be obvious. See Ex parte Obiaya, 227 USPQ 58, 60 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1985). Claim 1 requires “contacting a population of intestinal cells… with a modulating agent in an amount sufficient to modify adherens junctional integrity by increasing cytohesin protein degradation and reducing ARF6 GTPase activation… wherein the modulating agent modulated C1orf106 and increases cytohesin ubiquitination”. Schwank and Levesque taken together demonstrate contacting a population of intestinal cells with a modulating agent that corrects a mutant C1orf106 gene to wild-type, further Levesque demonstrates that protein stability tests show that the rare genetic variant of 333F C1orf106 significantly reduces its stability and consequently protein level and has the potential for a change in phosphorylation which is correlated with a decrease in intercellular adhesion of tight junction proteins and adherens (pg. 63 last para spanning pg. 64 para 3). Levesque’s abstract states “We did observe tighter colocalization with E-cadherin, a canonical marker for adherens junction (AJ), typically located below the TJ complex”. The cited portion of Levesque expressly describes tighter co-localization with E-Cadherin, a canonical adherens junction marker, which would indicate increased integrity of adherens junctions. Thus, performing the correction of the 333F genetic variant of C1orf106 to a wild-type as taught by the combination of Schwank and Levesque would result in modifying adherens junctional integrity as claimed. This amounts to the natural result of the combination of the references. The argument is not found persuasive.
Applicant argues (Remarks, pg. 13) that the rejection is only sustainable by impermissible hindsight because "the cytohesin-1/ARF6/ubiquitination cascade that the examiner treats as the "inherent" result of correcting *333f is taught and demonstrated nowhere in Schwank or Levesque".
In response, this argument is not found persuasive. In response to applicant's argument that the examiner's conclusion of obviousness is based upon improper hindsight reasoning, it must be recognized that any judgment on obviousness is in a sense necessarily a reconstruction based upon hindsight reasoning. But so long as it takes into account only knowledge which was within the level of ordinary skill at the time the claimed invention was made, and does not include knowledge gleaned only from the applicant's disclosure, such a reconstruction is proper. See In re McLaughlin, 443 F.2d 1392, 170 USPQ 209 (CCPA 1971). Further, as addressed at point 17 above, Schwank and Levesque taken together demonstrate contacting a population of intestinal cells with a modulating agent that corrects a mutant C1orf106 gene to wild-type, further Levesque’s abstract states “We did observe tighter colocalization with E-cadherin, a canonical marker for adherens junction (AJ), typically located below the TJ complex”. The cited portion of Levesque expressly describes tighter co-localization with E-Cadherin, a canonical adherens junction marker, which would indicate increased integrity of adherens junctions in the Wild-type as compared to the disease causing variant. Thus, performing the correction of the 333F genetic variant of C1orf106 to a wild-type as taught by the combination of Schwank and Levesque would result in modifying adherens junctional integrity as claimed. The modification of the adherens junction integrity by the cytohesin-1/ARF6/ubiquitination cascade amounts to the natural result of the combination of the references. The argument is not found persuasive.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
Examiner Contact Information
CONSTANTINA E. STAVROU
Examiner
Art Unit 1632
/TITILAYO MOLOYE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1632