DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 1 and 10 are objected to because of the following informalities: L6 from the bottom of the claim recites “the plate” but should recite “the insulative plate” in order to have correct antecedent basis.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 11 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 11 recites the limitation "the insulative plate" throughout the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
For purpose of examination, the Examiner will interpret the claim to recite “the plate” throughout in order to have correct antecedent basis.
Claim 15 is dependent on Claim 11 and therefore is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) for the reasons set forth above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 8-11, and 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Coakley et al. (WO 2017/062886 A1, cited on the IDS dated June 4, 2024) and further in view of Urushihara (US PGPub 2018/0287104 A1), Kimura et al. (JP 2015-099726 A, see also the EPO machine generated English translation provided with this Office Action), and Bae et al. (US PGPub 2019/0280267 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Coakley discloses in Figs. 26 and 27A-F a battery module comprising:
a battery block including a plurality of cell rows, in each of which a plurality of cells (2200) are arranged along a row direction, wherein each of the plurality of cells (2200) includes a first electrode terminal (2206) and a second electrode terminal (2204) disposed on one end part of each of the plurality of cells (2200), a plurality of one end parts of the plurality of cells are positioned on a same side in the battery block, and wherein the plurality of cell rows are arranged in parallel with each other in a column direction crossing the row direction ([0243],[00255]-[00256], see annotated Fig. 27C provided below).
The Examiner notes that Coakley discloses a first electrode terminal (2206) and a second electrode terminal (2204) ([00243], [00247]) and further discloses wherein a cell has a positive electrode terminal and a negative electrode terminal ([00101], [00119]) and therefore Coakley suggests wherein the first electrode terminal (2206) is a positive electrode terminal and wherein the second electrode terminal (2204) is a negative electrode terminal.
Urushihara teaches in Fig. 1 a cell (1) comprising a first electrode terminal (7) and a second electrode terminal (6), wherein the first electrode terminal (7) is a positive electrode terminal and wherein the second electrode terminal (6) is a negative electrode terminal ([0006], [0009], wherein a negative electrode tab is electrically connected to sealing plate 6, and wherein sealing plate 6 and the positive electrode terminal 7 are electrically isolated via the sealing gasket 9, and therefore the sealing plate 6 functions as a negative electrode terminal).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to form the first electrode terminal of Coakley to be a positive electrode terminal and to form the second electrode terminal to be a negative electrode terminal, as taught by Urushihara, in order to successfully form a cell, as desired by Coakley.
Modified Coakley further discloses:
an insulative plate (2110 of Coakley) disposed above the plurality of one end parts of the plurality of cells (2200 of Coakley), the insulative plate (2110 of Coakley) including holes (2112 of Coakley) that are provided in the insulative plate (2110 of Coakley) and through each of which the positive electrode terminal (2206 of Coakley) and the negative electrode terminal (2204 of Coakley) of each of the plurality of cells (2200 of Coakley) are exposed (Figs. 27A-27C, [00243], [00255]-[00256] of Coakley); and
a plurality of conductive members (2122a, 2122b of Coakley) disposed on a surface of the insulative plate (2110 of Coakley) opposite to a surface of the insulative plate (2110 of Coakley) opposed to the plurality of cells (2200 of Coakley) (Figs. 26 and 27A-27C, [00243], [00255]-[00256] of Coakley), wherein:
the plurality of conductive members (2122a, 2122b of Coakley) extend along the row direction (Fig. 27B, [00243] of Coakley),
each of the plurality of conductive members (2122a, 2122b of Coakley) includes terminal connecting parts (2124, 2126, 2128 of Coakley) connected through the holes (2112 of Coakley) of the insulative plate (2110 of Coakley) to the terminals (2206 or 2204 of Coakley) of a same pole of the cells (2200 of Coakley) adjacent to each other along the row direction included in the battery block ([00243], [00245], [00255]-[00256] of Coakley),
each of the plurality of terminal connecting parts (2124, 2126, 2128 of Coakley) has a protruding shape that protrudes from a corresponding conductive member (2122a, 2122b of Coakley) in the plurality of conductive members (2122a, 2122b of Coakley) (Figs. 27B-27C of Coakley), and
the protruding shape protrudes in a corresponding hole of each of the plurality of conductive members (2122a, 2122b of Coakley) (Fig. 27B of Coakley), and
each of the plurality of terminal connecting parts (2124, 2128 of Coakley) connected to the negative electrode terminals (2204 of Coakley) has a fuse (2128 of Coakley) having a fuse function due to having a cross-sectional area of a current flow passage less than or equal to a predetermined area (Fig. 27B, [00232]-[00233] of Coakley).
Specifically, modified Coakley discloses wherein the plurality of conductive members (2122a, 2122b of Coakley) including the terminal connecting parts (2124, 2128 of Coakley) comprising the fuse (2128 of Coakley) are disposed above the insulative plate (2110 of Coakley) and are connected through the holes (2112 of Coakley) of the insulative plate (2110 of Coakley) to the negative electrode terminals (2204 of Coakley) of the plurality of cells (2200 of Coakley) ([00243], [00245], [00255]-[00256] of Coakley) and therefore modified Coakley suggests wherein the fuse (2128 of Coakley) is bent in a thickness direction of the insulative plate (2110 of Coakley) and passes through the corresponding hole of the holes (2112 of Coakley) of the insulative plate (2110 of Coakley) in order to successfully achieve connection between the terminal connecting parts (2124, 2128 of Coakley) and the negative electrode terminals (2204 of Coakley) of the plurality of cells (2200 of Coakley).
Assuming for the sake of argument that modified Coakley does not suggest wherein the fuse is bent in a thickness direction of the insulative plate and passes through the corresponding hole of the holes of the insulative plate, the following is relied upon.
Kimura teaches in Figs. 1 and 3-4 a battery module (1) comprising a plurality of cells (200) and a terminal connecting part (40) connected to electrode terminals of the plurality of cells (10), wherein the terminal connecting part (40) has a fuse (41) having a fuse function ([0013]-[0014], [0023], [0027]).
Specifically, Kimura teaches in Figs. 3-4 wherein the fuse (41) is bent in a thickness direction in order to connect the terminal connecting part (40) to an electrode terminal of the plurality of cells (10) (Fig. 4, [0027]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to bend the fuse of modified Coakley in a thickness direction of the insulation plate of modified Coakley, as taught by Kimura, such that the fuse passes through the corresponding hole of the holes of the insulating plate, in order to connect the terminal connecting parts of modified Coakley comprising the fuses to the negative electrode terminals of the plurality of cells of modified Coakley, as desired by modified Coakley.
Modified Coakley does not disclose wherein, in a direction extending toward a corresponding one of the plurality of cells, the fuse has a portion facing the insulative plate that is longer than a portion facing the corresponding hole, and has a bend point on a cell side.
Kimura further teaches in Figs. 3-4 wherein, in a direction extending toward a corresponding one of the plurality of cells (10), the fuse (41) has a portion that is longer than a portion facing the electrode terminal of the plurality of cells (10), and has a bend point on a cell side ([0027]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to form the fuse of modified Coakley to have the configuration further taught by Kimura, such that in a direction extending toward a corresponding one of the plurality of cells of modified Coakley, the fuse has a portion facing the insulative plate of Coakley that is longer than a portion facing the corresponding hole of Coakley, and has a bend point on a cell side, as such is a known configuration in the art, wherein the skilled artisan would have reasonable expectation that such would successfully connect the terminal connecting parts of modified Coakley comprising the fuses to the negative electrode terminals of the plurality of cells of modified Coakley, as desired by modified Coakley.
Modified Coakley discloses wherein each of the holes (2112 of Coakley) is a circle that is sufficiently large so that the plurality of terminal connecting parts (2124, 2126 of Coakley) overlaps each of the holes (2112 of Coakley) (Fig. 27C, [00256] of Coakley).
Modified Coakley further discloses wherein the shape of the holes (2112) is not limited to such so long as the plurality of terminal connecting parts (2124, 2126 of Coakley) overlap with the holes (2112 of Coakley) in order to electrically connect the positive electrode terminal (2206 of Coakley) and the negative electrode terminal (2204 of Coakley) of each of the plurality of cells (2202 of Coakley) to the plurality of conductive members (2122a, 2122b of Coakley), thereby interconnecting the plurality of cells (2202 of Coakley) (e.g. Fig. 21A, 22B, 27A, [00231] of Coakley).
Thus, modified Coakley discloses wherein the shape of the holes (2112 of Coakley) is a design choice (e.g. Fig. 21A, 22B, 27A, [00231] of Coakley).
However, modified Coakley does not disclose wherein each of the holes has a circular portion and a protruding portion protruding from the circular portion and consequently does not disclose a distal end of each of the plurality of terminal connecting parts connected to the positive electrode terminals is located within the circular portion of a corresponding hole of the holes of the insulative plate in plan view, a distal end of each of the plurality of terminal connecting parts connected to the negative electrode terminals is located within the protruding portion of a corresponding hole of the holes of the plate in plan view, and does not extend into the circular portion, in plan view, the negative electrode terminal is exposed only from the protruding portion of the corresponding hole of the holes.
Bae teaches in Figs. 1-2B and 9 a battery module (1) comprising a plurality of cells (100), an insulative plate (500) disposed above a plurality of one end parts of the plurality of cells (100), and holes (500h) that are provided in the insulative plate (500) and through each of which a positive electrode terminal and a negative electrode terminal of each of the plurality of cells (100) are exposed in order to form the battery module (1) ([0049], [0053], [0063]).
Specifically, Bae teaches in Figs. 1-2B, 4, 6, and 8-9 wherein each of the holes (500h) has a circular portion and a protruding portion protruding from the circular portion, wherein a distal end of each of a plurality of terminal connecting parts (402) connected to the positive electrode terminals is located within the circular portion of a corresponding hole of the holes (500h) of the insulative plate (500) in plan view, and a distal end of each of a plurality of terminal connecting parts (301) connected to the negative electrode terminals is located within the protruding portion of a corresponding hole of the holes (500h) of the insulative plate (500) in plan view, and does not extend into the circular portion (Figs. 4, 6, 8-9, [0083], [0094], [0104]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to form each of the holes of modified Coakley to have a circular portion and a protruding portion protruding from the circular portion, such that each of the positive electrode terminal of modified Coakley and the negative electrode terminal of modified Coakley of each of the plurality of cells of modified Coakley are exposed, as taught by Bae, as the shape of each of the holes are a design choice and such is a known configuration in the art and therefore the skilled artisan would have reasonable expectation that such would successfully allow for interconnection of the plurality of cells, as desired by modified Coakley.
Thus, modified Coakley discloses wherein:
a distal end of each of the terminal connecting parts (2126 of Coakley, corresponding to 402 of Bae) connected to the positive electrode terminals (2204 of Coakley) is located within the circular portion of a corresponding hole of the holes (500h of Bae, corresponding to 2112 of Coakley) of the insulative plate (2110 of Coakley, corresponding to 500 of Bae) in plan view (Figs. 4, 6, 8-9, [0083], [0094], [0104] of Bae),
a distal end of each of the terminal connecting parts (2124 of Coakley, corresponding to 301 of Bae) connected to the negative electrode terminals (2206 of Coakley) is located within the protruding portion of a corresponding hole of the holes (500h of Bae, corresponding to 2112 of Coakley) of the insulative plate (2110 of Coakley, corresponding to 500 of Bae) in plan view, and does not extend into the circular portion (Figs. 4, 6, 8-9, [0083], [0094], [0104] of Bae),
in plan view, the negative electrode terminal (2206 of Coakley) is exposed only from the protruding portion of the corresponding hole of the holes (500h of Bae, corresponding to 2112 of Coakley) (Figs. 4, 6, 8-9, [0083], [0094], [0104] of Bae).
Regarding Claim 2, modified Coakley discloses all of the limitations as set forth above. Modified Coakley further discloses wherein the battery block includes more than two cell rows (see annotated Fig. 27C of Coakley provided above).
Regarding Claim 3, modified Coakley discloses all of the limitations as set forth above. Modified Coakley further discloses wherein each of the plurality of conductive members (2122a, 2122b of Coakley) is made of a plate-shaped metallic material (Fig. 27B, [00242] of Coakley, aluminum).
Regarding Claim 4, modified Coakley discloses all of the limitations as set forth above. Modified Coakley further discloses wherein each of the plurality of conductive members (2122a, 2122b of Coakley) is made of a metal foil (Figs. 26 and 27B, [00235], [00242] of Coakley, aluminum, e.g. [00156]).
Regarding Claim 8, modified Coakley discloses all of the limitations as set forth above. Modified Coakley further discloses wherein the protruding shape of the plurality of terminal connecting parts (2124, 2128 of Coakley) connected to the negative electrode terminals (2204 of Coakley) has the fuse function (Figs. 26 and 27B, [00232]-[00233] of Coakley).
Regarding Claim 9, modified Coakley discloses all of the limitations as set forth above. Modified Coakley further discloses wherein the plurality of conductive members (2122a, 2122b of Coakley) has a shape hanging over at an edge part of each of the holes (2112 of Coakley) of the insulative plate (2110 of Coakley) (Figs. 27A-27C of Coakley).
Regarding Claim 10, Coakley discloses in Figs. 26 and 27A-27F a battery module comprising:
a battery block including a plurality of cell rows, in each of which a plurality of cells (2200) are arranged along a row direction, wherein each of the plurality of cells (2200) includes a first electrode terminal (2206) and a second electrode terminal (2204) disposed on one end part of each of the plurality of cells (2200), a plurality of one end parts of the plurality of cells are positioned on a same side in the battery block, and wherein the plurality of cell rows are arranged in parallel with each other in a column direction crossing the row direction ([0243], see annotated Fig. 27C provided below).
The Examiner notes that Coakley discloses a first electrode terminal (2206) and a second electrode terminal (2204) ([00243], [00247]) and further discloses wherein a cell has a positive electrode terminal and a negative electrode terminal ([00101], [00119]) and therefore Coakley suggests wherein the first electrode terminal (2206) is a positive electrode terminal and wherein the second electrode terminal (2204) is a negative electrode terminal.
Urushihara teaches in Fig. 1 a cell (1) comprising a first electrode terminal (7) and a second electrode terminal (6), wherein the first electrode terminal (7) is a positive electrode terminal and wherein the second electrode terminal (6) is a negative electrode terminal ([0006], [0009], wherein a negative electrode tab is electrically connected to sealing plate 6, and wherein sealing plate 6 and the positive electrode terminal 7 are electrically isolated via the sealing gasket 9, and therefore the sealing plate 6 functions as a negative electrode terminal).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to form the first electrode terminal of Coakley to be a positive electrode terminal and to form the second electrode terminal to be a negative electrode terminal, as taught by Urushihara, in order to successfully form a cell, as desired by Coakley.
Modified Coakley further discloses:
an insulative plate (2110 of Coakley) disposed above the plurality of one end parts of the plurality of cells (2200 of Coakley), the insulative plate (2110 of Coakley) including holes (2112 of Coakley) that are provided in the insulative plate (2110 of Coakley) and through each of which the positive electrode terminal (2206 of Coakley) and the negative electrode terminal (2204 of Coakley) of each of the plurality of cells (2200 of Coakley) are exposed (Figs. 27A-27C, [00243], [00255]-[00256] of Coakley); and
a plurality of conductive members (2122a, 2122b of Coakley) disposed on a surface of the insulative plate (2110 of Coakley) opposite to a surface of the insulative plate (2110 of Coakley) opposed to the plurality of cells (2200 of Coakley) (Figs. 26 and 27A-27C, [00243], [00255]-[00256] of Coakley), wherein:
the plurality of conductive members (2122a, 2122b of Coakley) extend along the row direction (Figs. 27A-27C, [00243], [00255]-[00256] of Coakley),
each of the plurality of conductive members (2122a, 2122b of Coakley) includes terminal connecting parts (2124, 2126, 2128 of Coakley) connected through the holes (2112 of Coakley) to the terminals (2206 or 2204 of Coakley) of a same pole of the cells (2200 of Coakley) adjacent to each other along the row direction included in the battery block (Figs. 27A-27C, [00243], [00245], [00255]-[00256] of Coakley),
the plurality of conductive members (2122a, 2122b of Coakley) are separated by slits from each other having a zigzag shape (see annotated Fig. 27B of Coakley provided below).
Modified Coakley further discloses wherein each of the plurality of terminal connecting parts (2124, 2128 of Coakley) connected to the negative electrode terminals (2204 of Coakley) has a fuse (2128 of Coakley) having a fuse function due to having a cross-sectional area of a current flow passage less than or equal to a predetermined area (Fig. 27B, [00232]-[00233] of Coakley).
Specifically, modified Coakley discloses wherein the plurality of conductive members (2122a, 2122b of Coakley) including the terminal connecting parts (2124, 2128 of Coakley) comprising the fuse (2128 of Coakley) are disposed above the insulative plate (2110 of Coakley) and are connected through the holes (2112 of Coakley) of the insulative plate (2110 of Coakley) to the negative electrode terminals (2204 of Coakley) of the plurality of cells (2200 of Coakley) ([00243], [00245], [00255]-[00256] of Coakley) and therefore modified Coakley suggests wherein the fuse (2128 of Coakley) is bent in a thickness direction of the insulative plate (2110 of Coakley) and passes through the corresponding hole of the holes (2112 of Coakley) of the insulative plate (2110 of Coakley) in order to successfully achieve connection between the terminal connecting parts (2124, 2128 of Coakley) and the negative electrode terminals (2204 of Coakley) of the plurality of cells (2200 of Coakley).
Assuming for the sake of argument that modified Coakley does not suggest wherein the fuse is bent in a thickness direction of the insulative plate and passes through the corresponding hole of the holes of the insulative plate, the following is relied upon.
Kimura teaches in Figs. 1 and 3-4 a battery module (1) comprising a plurality of cells (200) and a terminal connecting part (40) connected to electrode terminals of the plurality of cells (10), wherein the terminal connecting part (40) has a fuse (41) having a fuse function ([0013]-[0014], [0023], [0027]).
Specifically, Kimura teaches in Figs. 3-4 wherein the fuse (41) is bent in a thickness direction in order to connect the terminal connecting part (40) to an electrode terminal of the plurality of cells (10) (Fig. 4, [0027]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to bend the fuse of modified Coakley in a thickness direction of the insulation plate of modified Coakley, as taught by Kimura, such that the fuse passes through the corresponding hole of the holes of the insulating plate, in order to connect the terminal connecting parts of modified Coakley comprising the fuses to the negative electrode terminals of the plurality of cells of modified Coakley, as desired by modified Coakley.
Modified Coakley does not disclose wherein, in a direction extending toward a corresponding one of the plurality of cells, the fuse has a portion facing the insulative plate that is longer than a portion facing the corresponding hole, and has a bend point on a cell side.
Kimura further teaches in Figs. 3-4 wherein, in a direction extending toward a corresponding one of the plurality of cells (10), the fuse (41) has a portion that is longer than a portion facing the electrode terminal of the plurality of cells (10), and has a bend point on a cell side ([0027]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to form the fuse of modified Coakley to have the configuration further taught by Kimura, such that in a direction extending toward a corresponding one of the plurality of cells of modified Coakley, the fuse has a portion facing the insulative plate of Coakley that is longer than a portion facing the corresponding hole of Coakley, and has a bend point on a cell side, as such is a known configuration in the art, wherein the skilled artisan would have reasonable expectation that such would successfully connect the terminal connecting parts of modified Coakley comprising the fuses to the negative electrode terminals of the plurality of cells of modified Coakley, as desired by modified Coakley.
Modified Coakley discloses wherein each of the holes (2112 of Coakley) is a circle that is sufficiently large so that the plurality of terminal connecting parts (2124, 2126 of Coakley) overlaps each of the holes (2112 of Coakley) (Fig. 27C, [00256] of Coakley).
Modified Coakley further discloses wherein the shape of the holes (2112) is not limited to such so long as the plurality of terminal connecting parts (2124, 2126 of Coakley) overlap with the holes (2112 of Coakley) in order to electrically connect the positive electrode terminal (2206 of Coakley) and the negative electrode terminal (2204 of Coakley) of each of the plurality of cells (2202 of Coakley) to the plurality of conductive members (2122a, 2122b of Coakley), thereby interconnecting the plurality of cells (2202 of Coakley) (e.g. Fig. 21A, 22B, 27A, [00231] of Coakley).
Thus, modified Coakley discloses wherein the shape of the holes (2112 of Coakley) is a design choice (e.g. Fig. 21A, 22B, 27A, [00231] of Coakley).
However, modified Coakley does not disclose wherein each of the holes has a circular portion and a protruding portion protruding from the circular portion and consequently does not disclose a distal end of each of the plurality of terminal connecting parts connected to the positive electrode terminals is located within the circular portion of a corresponding hole of the holes of the insulative plate in plan view, a distal end of each of the plurality of terminal connecting parts connected to the negative electrode terminals is located within the protruding portion of a corresponding hole of the holes of the plate in plan view, and does not extend into the circular portion, in plan view, the negative electrode terminal is exposed only from the protruding portion of the corresponding hole of the holes.
Bae teaches in Figs. 1-2B and 9 a battery module (1) comprising a plurality of cells (100), an insulative plate (500) disposed above a plurality of one end parts of the plurality of cells (100), and holes (500h) that are provided in the insulative plate (500) and through each of which a positive electrode terminal and a negative electrode terminal of each of the plurality of cells (100) are exposed in order to form the battery module (1) ([0049], [0053], [0063]).
Specifically, Bae teaches in Figs. 1-2B, 4, 6, and 8-9 wherein each of the holes (500h) has a circular portion and a protruding portion protruding from the circular portion, wherein a distal end of each of a plurality of terminal connecting parts (402) connected to the positive electrode terminals is located within the circular portion of a corresponding hole of the holes (500h) of the insulative plate (500) in plan view, and a distal end of each of a plurality of terminal connecting parts (301) connected to the negative electrode terminals is located within the protruding portion of a corresponding hole of the holes (500h) of the insulative plate (500) in plan view, and does not extend into the circular portion (Figs. 4, 6, 8-9, [0083], [0094], [0104]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to form each of the holes of modified Coakley to have a circular portion and a protruding portion protruding from the circular portion, such that each of the positive electrode terminal of modified Coakley and the negative electrode terminal of modified Coakley of each of the plurality of cells of modified Coakley are exposed, as taught by Bae, as the shape of each of the holes are a design choice and such is a known configuration in the art and therefore the skilled artisan would have reasonable expectation that such would successfully allow for interconnection of the plurality of cells, as desired by modified Coakley.
Thus, modified Coakley discloses wherein:
a distal end of each of the terminal connecting parts (2126 of Coakley, corresponding to 402 of Bae) connected to the positive electrode terminals (2204 of Coakley) is located within the circular portion of a corresponding hole of the holes (500h of Bae, corresponding to 2112 of Coakley) of the insulative plate (2110 of Coakley, corresponding to 500 of Bae) in plan view (Figs. 4, 6, 8-9, [0083], [0094], [0104] of Bae),
a distal end of each of the terminal connecting parts (2124 of Coakley, corresponding to 301 of Bae) connected to the negative electrode terminals (2206 of Coakley) is located within the protruding portion of a corresponding hole of the holes (500h of Bae, corresponding to 2112 of Coakley) of the insulative plate (2110 of Coakley, corresponding to 500 of Bae) in plan view, and does not extend into the circular portion (Figs. 4, 6, 8-9, [0083], [0094], [0104] of Bae),
in plan view, the negative electrode terminal (2206 of Coakley) is exposed only from the protruding portion of the corresponding hole of the holes (500h of Bae, corresponding to 2112 of Coakley) (Figs. 4, 6, 8-9, [0083], [0094], [0104] of Bae).
Regarding Claim 11, Coakley discloses in Figs. 26 and 27A-F a battery module comprising:
a battery block including a plurality of cell rows, in each of which a plurality of cells (2200) are arranged along a row direction, wherein each of the plurality of cells (2200) includes a first electrode terminal (2206) and a second electrode terminal (2204) disposed on one end part of each of the plurality of cells (2200), a plurality of one end parts of the plurality of cells are positioned on a same side in the battery block, and wherein the plurality of cell rows are arranged in parallel with each other in a column direction crossing the row direction ([00243], [00255]-[00256], see annotated Fig. 27C provided below).
The Examiner notes that Coakley discloses wherein a first electrode terminal (2206) and a second electrode terminal (2204) ([00243], [00247]) and further discloses wherein a cell has a positive electrode terminal and a negative electrode terminal ([00101], [00119]) and therefore Coakley suggests wherein the first electrode terminal (2206) is a positive electrode terminal and wherein the second electrode terminal (2204) is a negative electrode terminal.
Urushihara teaches in Fig. 1 a cell (1) comprising a first electrode terminal (7) and a second electrode terminal (6), wherein the first electrode terminal (7) is a positive electrode terminal and wherein the second electrode terminal (6) is a negative electrode terminal ([0006], [0009], wherein a negative electrode tab is electrically connected to sealing plate 6, and wherein sealing plate 6 and the positive electrode terminal 7 are electrically isolated via the sealing gasket 9, and therefore the sealing plate 6 functions as a negative electrode terminal).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to form the first electrode terminal of Coakley to be a positive electrode terminal and to form the second electrode terminal to be a negative electrode terminal, as taught by Urushihara, in order to successfully form a cell, as desired by Coakley.
Modified Coakley further discloses:
a plate (2110 of Coakley) disposed above the plurality of one end parts of the plurality of cells (2200 of Coakley), the plate (2110 of Coakley) including:
holes (2112 of Coakley) that are provided in the plate (2110 of Coakley) and through each of which the positive electrode terminal (2206 of Coakley) and the negative electrode terminal (2204 of Coakley) of each of the plurality of cells (2200 of Coakley) are exposed (Figs. 27A-27C, [00243], [00255]-[00256] of Coakley); and
a plurality of conductive members (2122a, 2122b of Coakley) disposed on a surface of the plate (2110 of Coakley) opposite to surface facing the plurality of cells (2200 of Coakley) (Figs. 26 and 27A-26C, [00243], [00255]-[00256] of Coakley), wherein:
the plurality of conductive members (2122a, 2122b of Coakley) extend along the row in which the plurality of cells (2200 of Coakley) of the battery block are arranged (Fig. 27B, [00243], [00255]-[00256] of Coakley),
two of the plurality of conductive members (2122a, 2122b of Coakley) are disposed in the battery block (Figs. 26 and 27A-27F, [00255]-[00256] of Coakley), and
each of the plurality of conductive members (2122a, 2122b of Coakley) includes terminal connecting parts (2124, 2126, 2128 of Coakley) extending into and passing through the holes (2112 of Coakley) and connected to the terminals (2206 or 2204 of Coakley) of a same pole of the cells (2200 of Coakley) adjacent to each other along the row direction included in the battery block (Figs. 26 and 27A-27F, [00243], [00255]-[00256] of Coakley).
Modified Coakley further discloses wherein each of the plurality of terminal connecting parts (2124, 2128 of Coakley) connected to the negative electrode terminals (2204 of Coakley) has a fuse (2128 of Coakley) having a fuse function due to having a cross-sectional area of a current flow passage less than or equal to a predetermined area (Fig. 27B, [00232]-[00233] of Coakley).
Specifically, modified Coakley discloses wherein the plurality of conductive members (2122a, 2122b of Coakley) including the terminal connecting parts (2124, 2128 of Coakley) comprising the fuse (2128 of Coakley) are disposed above the plate (2110 of Coakley) and are connected through the holes (2112 of Coakley) of the plate (2110 of Coakley) to the negative electrode terminals (2204 of Coakley) of the plurality of cells (2200 of Coakley) ([00243], [00245], [00255]-[00256] of Coakley) and therefore modified Coakley suggests wherein the fuse (2128 of Coakley) is bent in a thickness direction of the plate (2110 of Coakley) and passes through the corresponding hole of the holes (2112 of Coakley) of the plate (2110 of Coakley) in order to successfully achieve connection between the terminal connecting parts (2124, 2128 of Coakley) and the negative electrode terminals (2204 of Coakley) of the plurality of cells (2200 of Coakley).
Assuming for the sake of argument that modified Coakley does not suggest wherein the fuse is bent in a thickness direction of the plate and passes through the corresponding hole of the holes of the plate, the following is relied upon.
Kimura teaches in Figs. 1 and 3-4 a battery module (1) comprising a plurality of cells (200) and a terminal connecting part (40) connected to electrode terminals of the plurality of cells (10), wherein the terminal connecting part (40) has a fuse (41) having a fuse function ([0013]-[0014], [0023], [0027]).
Specifically, Kimura teaches in Figs. 3-4 wherein the fuse (41) is bent in a thickness direction in order to connect the terminal connecting part (40) to an electrode terminal of the plurality of cells (10) (Fig. 4, [0027]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to bend the fuse of modified Coakley in a thickness direction of the insulation plate of modified Coakley, as taught by Kimura, such that the fuse passes through the corresponding hole of the holes of the insulating plate, in order to connect the terminal connecting parts of modified Coakley comprising the fuses to the negative electrode terminals of the plurality of cells of modified Coakley, as desired by modified Coakley.
Modified Coakley does not disclose wherein, in a direction extending toward a corresponding one of the plurality of cells, the fuse has a portion facing the plate that is longer than a portion facing the corresponding hole, and has a bend point on a cell side.
Kimura further teaches in Figs. 3-4 wherein, in a direction extending toward a corresponding one of the plurality of cells (10), the fuse (41) has a portion that is longer than a portion facing the electrode terminal of the plurality of cells (10), and has a bend point on a cell side ([0027]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to form the fuse of modified Coakley to have the configuration further taught by Kimura, such that in a direction extending toward a corresponding one of the plurality of cells of modified Coakley, the fuse has a portion facing the plate of Coakley that is longer than a portion facing the corresponding hole of Coakley, and has a bend point on a cell side, as such is a known configuration in the art, wherein the skilled artisan would have reasonable expectation that such would successfully connect the terminal connecting parts of modified Coakley comprising the fuses to the negative electrode terminals of the plurality of cells of modified Coakley, as desired by modified Coakley.
Modified Coakley discloses wherein each of the holes (2112 of Coakley) is a circle that is sufficiently large so that the plurality of terminal connecting parts (2124, 2126 of Coakley) overlaps each of the holes (2112 of Coakley) (Fig. 27C, [00256] of Coakley).
Modified Coakley further discloses wherein the shape of the holes (2112) is not limited to such so long as the plurality of terminal connecting parts (2124, 2126 of Coakley) overlap with the holes (2112 of Coakley) in order to electrically connect the positive electrode terminal (2206 of Coakley) and the negative electrode terminal (2204 of Coakley) of each of the plurality of cells (2202 of Coakley) to the plurality of conductive members (2122a, 2122b of Coakley), thereby interconnecting the plurality of cells (2202 of Coakley) (e.g. Fig. 21A, 22B, 27A, [00231] of Coakley).
Thus, modified Coakley discloses wherein the shape of the holes (2112 of Coakley) is a design choice (e.g. Fig. 21A, 22B, 27A, [00231] of Coakley).
However, modified Coakley does not disclose wherein each of the holes has a circular portion and a protruding portion protruding from the circular portion and consequently does not disclose a distal end of each of the plurality of terminal connecting parts connected to the positive electrode terminals is located within the circular portion of a corresponding hole of the holes of the plate in plan view, a distal end of each of the plurality of terminal connecting parts connected to the negative electrode terminals is located within the protruding portion of a corresponding hole of the holes of the plate in plan view, and does not extend into the circular portion, in plan view, the negative electrode terminal is exposed only from the protruding portion of the corresponding hole of the holes.
Bae teaches in Figs. 1-2B and 9 a battery module (1) comprising a plurality of cells (100), a plate (500) disposed above a plurality of one end parts of the plurality of cells (100), and holes (500h) that are provided in the plate (500) and through each of which a positive electrode terminal and a negative electrode terminal of each of the plurality of cells (100) are exposed in order to form the battery module (1) ([0049], [0053], [0063]).
Specifically, Bae teaches in Figs. 1-2B, 4, 6, and 8-9 wherein each of the holes (500h) has a circular portion and a protruding portion protruding from the circular portion, wherein a distal end of each of a plurality of terminal connecting parts (402) connected to the positive electrode terminals is located within the circular portion of a corresponding hole of the holes (500h) of the plate (500) in plan view, and a distal end of each of a plurality of terminal connecting parts (301) connected to the negative electrode terminals is located within the protruding portion of a corresponding hole of the holes (500h) of the plate (500) in plan view, and does not extend into the circular portion (Figs. 4, 6, 8-9, [0083], [0094], [0104]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to form each of the holes of modified Coakley to have a circular portion and a protruding portion protruding from the circular portion, such that each of the positive electrode terminal of modified Coakley and the negative electrode terminal of modified Coakley of each of the plurality of cells of modified Coakley are exposed, as taught by Bae, as the shape of each of the holes are a design choice and such is a known configuration in the art and therefore the skilled artisan would have reasonable expectation that such would successfully allow for interconnection of the plurality of cells, as desired by modified Coakley.
Thus, modified Coakley discloses wherein:
a distal end of each of the terminal connecting parts (2126 of Coakley, corresponding to 402 of Bae) connected to the positive electrode terminals (2204 of Coakley) is located within the circular portion of a corresponding hole of the holes (500h of Bae, corresponding to 2112 of Coakley) of the plate (2110 of Coakley, corresponding to 500 of Bae) in plan view (Figs. 4, 6, 8-9, [0083], [0094], [0104] of Bae),
a distal end of each of the terminal connecting parts (2124 of Coakley, corresponding to 301 of Bae) connected to the negative electrode terminals (2206 of Coakley) is located within the protruding portion of a corresponding hole of the holes (500h of Bae, corresponding to 2112 of Coakley) of the plate (2110 of Coakley, corresponding to 500 of Bae) in plan view, and does not extend into the circular portion (Figs. 4, 6, 8-9, [0083], [0094], [0104] of Bae),
in plan view, the negative electrode terminal (2206 of Coakley) is exposed only from the protruding portion of the corresponding hole of the holes (500h of Bae, corresponding to 2112 of Coakley) (Figs. 4, 6, 8-9, [0083], [0094], [0104] of Bae).
Regarding Claims 13-14, modified Coakley discloses all of the limitations as set forth above. Modified Coakley further discloses wherein both of the positive electrode terminal (2206 of Coakley) and the negative electrode terminal (2204 of Coakley) of each of the plurality of cells (2220 of Coakley) are exposed through a same one of the holes (2112 of Coakley) of the insulative plate (2110 of Coakley) (Figs. 27A-27C, [00243], [00255]-[00256] of Coakley).
Regarding Claim 15, modified Coakley discloses all of the limitations as set forth above. Modified Coakley further discloses wherein both of the positive electrode terminal (2206 of Coakley) and the negative electrode terminal (2204 of Coakley) of each of the plurality of cells (2220 of Coakley) are exposed through a same one of the holes (2112 of Coakley) of the plate (2110 of Coakley) (Figs. 27A-27C, [00243], [00255]-[00256] of Coakley).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to amended Claims 1 and 10-11 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KIMBERLY WYLUDA/Examiner, Art Unit 1725