DETAILED ACTION
2. Claims 1, 7-10, 12-37, 43, 44 and 52-59 are pending upon entry of amendment filed on 6/5/26.
Claims 14-37 stand withdrawn from further consideration by the Examiner, 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to nonelected invention.
Claim 1, 7-10, 12, 13, 43-44 and 52-59 readable upon SEQ ID NO:1-2 are under consideration in the instant application.
3. The following rejections remain.
5, The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action:
6. Claim 1, 7-10, 12, 13, 43-44 and 52-58 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over U.S. Pub. 2015/0352224 (IDS reference, of record) in view of U.S. Pub.2007/0031402 (of record) for the reasons set forth in the office action mailed on 12/8/25.
The ‘224 publication teaches antibody drug conjugates set forth in claimed formula I (p. 79-129) with various antibody of interests (claims 1-52) and pharmaceutical compositions thereof. The ‘224 publication further teaches exatecan conjugates (e.g. a part of conjugate of the claimed formula I) acts as topoisomerase I inhibitor exhibiting antitumor effect ([0002]).
The disclosure of the ‘224 publication differs from the instant claimed invention in that it does not teach the use of histidine buffer, sucrose, and or surfactant as in claim 1 and use of SEQ ID NO:1-2 as in claims 7-9 of the instant application, respectively.
The ‘402 publication teaches immunoconjugate compositions comprising trastuzumab, 5-20 mM of histidine buffer at pH 5-6 in the presence of 5-10% sucrose and 0.005-0.2 % polysorbate (claims 1-21). The concentration of conjugate ranges from 0.01-25mg ([126]). Given that the trastuzumab (note p. 46-47 of the instant application) comprises claimed SEQ ID NO:1-2, it meets the limitations of claims 7-9 of the instant application.
Further, the ‘402 publication teaches cytotoxic effect of immunoconjugates (p. 9-10) and the formulation improves stability by reducing particles and aggregates (examples). IN example 1, black background container is used and claim 43 reciting brown vial is included in this rejection.
In addition, the ‘402 publication teaches that the composition may be frozen, lyophilized (p. 11) and the administration routes include injections ([0117-119]) as well as the aqueous injection (e.g. intravenous) as in claim 39 of the instant application.
Claims 12-13 reciting specific excipient concentrations are included in this rejection as optimization within prior art condition or through routine experimentation is not inventive. See MPEP 2144.05.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to utilize histidine, sucrose, polysorbate and trastuzumab as in the ‘402 publication into the immunoconjugate taught by the ‘224 publication.
One of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made would have been motivated to do so because the excipients are known to improve stability by reducing aggregates and utilization of trastuzumab extends therapeutic applicability.
From the teachings of references, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art to combine the teachings of the references and there would have been a reasonable expectation of success in producing the claimed invention. Therefore, the invention as a whole was prima facie obvious to one of the ordinary in the art at the time of invention was made, as evidenced by the references, especially in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
Applicant’s response filed on 6/5/26 has been fully considered but they were not persuasive.
Applicant has asserted that the evidence of record contradicts obviousness and Applicant revisits the declaration of Nishimoto, Kamath and Akbarian filed on 10/13/23. The declaration and exhibits stated ADC required specific properties of drug-linker component and types of linkers, types of conjugates impact ADC clearance and teachings of the ‘402 publication is not applicable to the ADC of the ‘224 publication. There is no reasonable expectation of success in combining the references of record. Applicant has further asserted that the formulation of the ‘402 publication is to stabilize huN901-SPP-DM1, huMy9-6-SPDB-DM4 or huC242-SPDB-DM4, ADC of ‘224 publication may not be substituted.
Although it is true and widely recognized and specific linker, drug and components impacts ADC clearance as discussed by the Nishimoto declaration and exhibits as referenced by Kamath and Akbarian, Applicant is reminded that the specific ADC constructs of the claimed invention is taught by the ‘224 publication as known as extecan, camptothecin derivatives ([00663]). In addition to the huN901-SPP-DM1, huMy9-6-SPDB-DM4 or huC242-SPDB-DM4 of the ‘402 publication, the suitable immunoconjugate extends to any cytotoxic drugs, taxane or CC1065 (note claim 8) and CC1065 analogs include duocarmycin, daunorubicin, doxorubicin evidenced by the structurally related cytotoxic drugs ([0103-106]) where the antitumor cytotoxic drugs shares the structural similarities as in the [0663-670] and succimidyl or sulfhydryl linker derivatives of the ‘224 publication, respectively. As such, unlike Applicant’s assertion, the there is reasonable expectation of success in combining the reference as ADC’s of the ‘224 publication and ’402 publications share structural similarities.
In addition, the exhibits provided discuss unique challenges and the linker in antibody drug conjugate (ADC) dictates stability and one of the ordinary skill would not select the formulations that is suitable for one linker to another. Closer studies of the ‘224 publications result in the linkers include sulfhydryl, maleimidyl or succimidyl derivatives (note p. 43-44).
As discussed previously, the ‘224 publication teaches addition of buffering agent corresponding to administration ([1581-1582]) and physiological pH encompassed by the claimed pH is suggested. Indeed, pH 6 in PBS is used throughout the examples and pH 5-6 is supported by the ‘402 publication (claims). Applicant is reminded that the structure and characteristics are inseparable and the combination of the prior art is expected to show the properties. Although the drug conjugate is dissolved in water and exhibits pH of 5-6, the claimed composition is in lyophilized form. If the criticality relies on the pH of intermediate form of the ADC, the unexpected property should be recited.
In addition, Applicant’s assertion that the ‘224 publication does not teach or suggest GGFG, [400-423] of the ‘224 publication suggests GGFG motives the additional amino acid such as D or K on the N terminus is where the linker is conjugated and the GGFG motives is suggested. As such, the GGFG motif required by the claimed invention it taught by the ‘224 publication and the combination of the references remains obvious.
However, the exhibits are silent about specific linker. The linker is defined to include SPDB, SMCC by the ‘402 publication ([109-111]) share the same structures or inclusive of the derivatives (p.9-11, 32). The ‘224 publication discusses formulation of ADC in any buffer solution or bolus for administration (p. 68). As such, one of the ordinary skill in the art would have expected reasonable success in combining the references. Applicant is advised to recite specific excipient concentrations and/or unexpected properties of the claimed ADC. The rejection is maintained.
7. Claim 1, 7-10, 12, 13, 43-44 and 52-59 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over U.S. Pub.2007/0031402 (of record) in view of U.S. Pub. 2015/0352224 (IDS reference, of record) for the reasons set forth in the office action mailed on 12/8/25.
The teachings of the ‘402 and 224 publications have been discussed, supra.
The disclosure of the ‘402 publication differs from the claimed invention in that it does not use the claimed Formula I as in claim 1 of the instant application.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to utilize the different immunoconjugate as taught by the ‘224 publication into the immunoconjugate composition taught by the ‘402 publication.
One of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made would have been motivated to do so because the immunoconjugate taught by the ‘224 publication is known to acts as topoisomerase I inhibitor exhibiting antitumor effect ([0002]) with different mechanism of antitumor effect.
From the teachings of references, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art to combine the teachings of the references and there would have been a reasonable expectation of success in producing the claimed invention. Therefore, the invention as a whole was prima facie obvious to one of the ordinary in the art at the time of invention was made, as evidenced by the references, especially in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
Applicant’s response filed on 6/5/26 has been fully considered but they were not persuasive.
Applicant has asserted that there is no motivation to combine the references and lack reasonable expectation of success.
IN light of the discussion above in section 6 of this office action, the rejection is maintained.
9. Claims 1, 7-10, 12, 13, 43-44 and 52-59 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-45 of U.S. 9,872,924 in view of U.S. Pub.2007/0031402.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the ‘924 patent recite an antibody conjugate set forth in the claimed formula I and the pharmaceutical compositions thereof.
The claims of the ‘924 patent differ from the claimed invention in that it does not teach the use of histidine, sucrose and surfactant as in claim 1 of the instant application.
The ‘402 publication teaches use of histidine, sucrose and polysorbate in the immunoconjugate formulation and the excipients stabilize immunoconjugate by reducing aggregates and improve stability.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to utilize histidine, sucrose, polysorbate and trastuzumab as in the ‘402 publication into the immunoconjugate taught by the ‘924 patent.
One of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made would have been motivated to do so because the excipients are known to improve stability by reducing aggregates and utilization of trastuzumab extends therapeutic applicability.
Applicant’s response filed on 6/5/26 has been fully considered but they were not persuasive.
Applicant has asserted that there is no motivation to combine the references and lack reasonable expectation of success.
IN light of the discussion above in section 6 of this office action, the rejection is maintained.
10 Claims 1, 7-10, 12, 13, 43-44 and 52-59 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-7, 9-14 of U.S. 9,850,312 in view of U.S. Pub.2007/0031402.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the ‘312 patent recite an antibody conjugate set forth in the claimed formula I and the pharmaceutical compositions thereof.
The claims of the ‘312 patent differ from the claimed invention in that it does not teach the use of histidine, sucrose and surfactant as in claim 1 of the instant application.
The ‘402 publication teaches use of histidine, sucrose and polysorbate in the immunoconjugate formulation and the excipients stabilize immunoconjugate by reducing aggregates and improve stability.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to utilize histidine, sucrose, polysorbate and trastuzumab as in the ‘402 publication into the immunoconjugate taught by the ‘312 patent.
One of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made would have been motivated to do so because the excipients are known to improve stability by reducing aggregates and utilization of trastuzumab extends therapeutic applicability.
Applicant’s response filed on 6/5/26 has been fully considered but they were not persuasive.
Applicant has asserted that there is no motivation to combine the references and lack reasonable expectation of success.
IN light of the discussion above in section 6 of this office action, the rejection is maintained.
11. Claims 1, 7-10, 12, 13, 43-44 and 52-59 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-16 and 18 of U.S. 9,808,537 in view of U.S. Pub.2007/0031402.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the ‘537 patent recite an antibody conjugate set forth in the claimed formula I and the pharmaceutical compositions thereof.
The claims of the ‘537 patent differs from the claimed invention in that it does not teach the use of histidine, sucrose and surfactant as in claim 1 of the instant application.
The ‘402 publication teaches use of histidine, sucrose and polysorbate in the immunoconjugate formulation and the excipients stabilize immunoconjugate by reducing aggregates and improve stability.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to utilize histidine, sucrose, polysorbate and trastuzumab as in the ‘402 publication into the immunoconjugate taught by the ‘537 patent.
One of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made would have been motivated to do so because the excipients are known to improve stability by reducing aggregates and utilization of trastuzumab extends therapeutic applicability.
Applicant’s response filed on 6/5/26 has been fully considered but they were not persuasive.
Applicant has asserted that there is no motivation to combine the references and lack reasonable expectation of success.
IN light of the discussion above in section 6 of this office action, the rejection is maintained.
12. Claims 1, 7-10, 12, 13, 43-44 and 52-59 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-7, 9-14 of U.S. 10,227,417 in view of U.S. Pub.2007/0031402.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the ‘417 patent recite an antibody conjugate set forth in the claimed formula I and the pharmaceutical compositions thereof.
The claims of the ‘417 patent differs from the claimed invention in that it does not teach the use of histidine, sucrose and surfactant as in claim 1 of the instant application.
The ‘402 publication teaches use of histidine, sucrose and polysorbate in the immunoconjugate formulation and the excipients stabilize immunoconjugate by reducing aggregates and improve stability.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to utilize histidine, sucrose, polysorbate and trastuzumab as in the ‘402 publication into the immunoconjugate taught by the ‘417 patent.
One of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made would have been motivated to do so because the excipients are known to improve stability by reducing aggregates and utilization of trastuzumab extends therapeutic applicability.
Applicant’s response filed on 6/5/26 has been fully considered but they were not persuasive.
Applicant has asserted that there is no motivation to combine the references and lack reasonable expectation of success.
IN light of the discussion above in section 6 of this office action, the rejection is maintained.
13. Claims 1, 7-10, 12, 13, 43-44 and 52-59 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-16 and 18 of U.S. 10,195,288 in view of U.S. Pub.2007/0031402.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the ‘288 patent recites an antibody conjugate set forth in the claimed formula I and the pharmaceutical compositions thereof.
The claims of the ‘288 patent differ from the claimed invention in that it does not teach the use of histidine, sucrose and surfactant as in claim 1 of the instant application.
The ‘402 publication teaches use of histidine, sucrose and polysorbate in the immunoconjugate formulation and the excipients stabilize immunoconjugate by reducing aggregates and improve stability.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to utilize histidine, sucrose, polysorbate and trastuzumab as in the ‘402 publication into the immunoconjugate taught by the ‘288 patent.
One of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made would have been motivated to do so because the excipients are known to improve stability by reducing aggregates and utilization of trastuzumab extends therapeutic applicability.
Applicant’s response filed on 6/5/26 has been fully considered but they were not persuasive.
Applicant has asserted that there is no motivation to combine the references and lack reasonable expectation of success.
IN light of the discussion above in section 6 of this office action, the rejection is maintained.
14. No claims are allowable.
15. THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
16. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to YUNSOO KIM whose telephone number is (571)272-3176. The examiner can normally be reached on Mon-Fri 8:30-5. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Misook Yu can be reached on 571-272-0839. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
Yunsoo Kim
Patent Examiner
Technology Center 1600
July 22, 2026
/YUNSOO KIM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1641